Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 131 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

131 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

131 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
85
4 stars
37
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-20 of 125 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 125 total reviews
1-20 of 125 reviews
Grill beats everything under $1000
4/26/2009

Customer review by ElGeorgeo

5.0 stars 4/26/2009 by ElGeorgeo
by ElGeorgeo

I am a foodie and I love steak & fillet mignon, but my oven broiler and anemic portable grill just couldn't sear meat properly because they didn't get HOT enough. You need high temperatures and INFRARED is the only technology that gets the job done right! We're talking searing temperatures of 1,400 degrees F. READ THIS: The red meat MUST be at room temp and will take only 2 1/2 minutes for EACH side of the steak on the infrared grill. This will give you a medium rare for a 1" thick cut. I used it tonight and the steak was better than the steaks from most steak houses and they use the same infrared type grills which cost over $1000. YOU WILL LOVE THIS GRILL if you like steaks & fillets and they are done in 5 minutes to perfection on the infrared side burner. Google infrared grill and see if you can find anything even close to this price & it's a very nice looking setup to boot. I am one very happy griller!

Was this review helpful? (102) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ElGeorgeo
Dania Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Impressive
5/31/2009

Customer review by dg29102

5.0 stars 5/31/2009 by dg29102
by dg29102

Very impressed with the ease of assembly. Took 45 minutes. Engineers streamlined the process every step of the way, with the major parts being totally pre-assembled. Can't say enough about the great design. Grill looks magnificent. All burners started 1st try and continue to do so. I even added a universal rotisserie purchased from a hardware store.... again the grill is engineered with the user in mind, its rotisserie ready out of the box.. it took less than 5 minutes to get the rotisserie up and running. Gas bottle is a snap to change out in seconds. Overall this grill gives you a lot of bang for your buck. I'd recommend it to everyone. I may not be a very good grill cook yet.... but at least I look great trying. PS: do NOT expect the unassembled grill to fit into a car trunk.... not happening. Bring a pickup, large SUV or a small trailer.

Was this review helpful? (36) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dg29102
Manning, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Just like everybody said
5/28/2009

Customer review by CapnTuttle

4.0 stars 5/28/2009 by CapnTuttle
by CapnTuttle

I purchased the BBQTek grill last Saturday. I read all of the reviews before I purchased it. I shopped several stores with my price range of $300-$600 before making the final purchase. Assembly took me an hour as I was making sure not to miss any hardware as others had said they had. The back piece of the base cabinet had a small dent in it (not worth retruning as it is the back). Everything else was fine. I followed directions and everything went together as it should. I lifted the top (cooking) portion onto the base cabinet by myself (Not too heavy for one person) lined up the holes and inserted the bolts. The grill fired up on the first time. I let all burners and Infrared burn for 3 minutes. I then prepared (on the infrared grill) the best 1" Rib Eye steaks I have ever made. The steaks were cooked perfectly in 4 minutes (2 minutes each side). I've since cooked on it 3 more times this week and I'm really impressed. I also purchased the 70" cover as a few of the other reviewers suggested. You cannot get a better value than this grill.

Was this review helpful? (37) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CapnTuttle
Rockwall, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awsome grill - best for the money
3/15/2009

Customer review by topgriller

5.0 stars 3/15/2009 by topgriller
by topgriller

Bought this grill late on a Saturday, had it together in no time. Used it that night. Assembly is very easy, with very good instructions and pictures. There is not much to assemble, as most of this grill comes pre-assembled. The only part the customer assembles is the cabinet...it's EASY. Do make sure you have someone help you for the final steps of the assembly. As for performance, I must say that I am extremely satisfied with it. I cooked 1 inch thick steaks, on the lowest setting, in under half an hour. The secondary cooking grill uses an infrared burner, a great place to cook vegetables or other food items that need to cook at a different temperature from the main cooking grill. I checked Sears and Home Depot, and for $300, you will not find a better made grill for the money. The grills at those places were very simple, weak, and tinny in construction. I was not impressed. They did not include any extras either. The BBQ TEK came with a storage basket, and hooks for hanging tools with. It also includes 2 drawers that slide on ball bearings...very nice. A well made grill, with only 18 screws used to assemble the entire product. Before buying any grill, swing by Walmart and check this one out, as I was very glad I did.

Was this review helpful? (29) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
topgriller
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Value, Poor Quality
4/20/2009

Customer review by Spellinator

4.0 stars 4/20/2009 by Spellinator
by Spellinator

To get a grill with these features at this price is a great value, HOWEVER, you might want to open the box (if you're getting one that's unassembled) before you leave the store. I bought this grill yesterday and the right angle bracket that supports the left warming grill was unattached. I could see the 6 spot welds, but none of them secured the bracket to the grilling chamber. Since this grill is manufactured in China by Lucas Innovations, it may have come lose in transit. Trying to get in touch with BBQ Tek, but after 20 minutes on hold, I gave up. Scheduled a call back for tomorrow. The grill is easy to setup, but you really need two people. My son-in-law and I set it up in under an hour. The grilling chambers and left/right drawer assemblies are pre-assembled. The only thing you have to do is put the stand together. For the most part, the bolts are in place. All you have to do is loosen them about 1/4 inch, then hang/slide the parts in place and tighten the bolts. It even comes with a small screw driver. One minor problem is that the marketing label is glued to the inside of the lid. It does not peel off cleanly. I view this as a negative. They should have used a static cling decal. So I would give them an A+ for engineering and design, but a D for spot welding. As it stands, I can't use the warming rack. It waits to be seen how BBQ Tek will handle this.

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Spellinator
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
BEST BUY of the YEAR!!
6/20/2009

Customer review by TechDoc

5.0 stars 6/20/2009 by TechDoc
by TechDoc

My wife ane I read the reviews, and inspected this grill at the store. All of our expectations were met when we started the assembly. Less then 45 minutes we were complete. We added the Universal Rotissierie. Our first Grill was T-Bones with our family, and everyone was impressed. We have since done burgers, chicken, and a pork roast. This is the ultimate, solid, sturdy, and reliable grill we have ever owned. I'm still wondering how we got so much grill for so little money. Our Back yard is a second living area in the summer, and now our backyard kitchen is complete, and impressive looking as the food is coming off the grill. Our Hats are off to BBQTEK for this High Quality BBQ Grill and Walmart for the affordable price. A friend of ours has since bought the same grill, and he loads it up to take it camping because he won't cook on anything else.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TechDoc
Sault, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
One for the Money
6/23/2009

Customer review by HitWizard

5.0 stars 6/23/2009 by HitWizard
by HitWizard

I have read many mixed reviews about this grill, but I have had no issues so far. I did have one small dent in the very back of the grill, but it was so miniscule I did not bother returning the grill. This grill is fantastic for the price you pay for it. I love cooking steaks on the Infrared, as well as chicken, and even tenderloin. My favorite method is to light both sides, and sear the meat on the IR side, then finish it on the regular side. It makes for some very tasty meat! I read a review about low temperatures when cooking on this grill, so I tested it, and I got the main unit up to about 600 degrees before lowering the temperature. The IR side was above 600 before I turned it down. Make sur to check your tubes, because they make all the difference. You can but similar but more expensive grills, but I do feel this one does quite comparably against them. If you are a person who just has to have the best of the best, I would definitely get a more expensive grill. If you are, like me, on a budget and want a grill that has the expensive look as well as the features of a $1000, get this grill. I have not been disappointed at all. Oh, and for anyone wanting to get a bit of charcoal flavor, here's a tip: Fill an aluminum foil pouch full of crushed charcoal, poke some small holes in the top, and heat it on the main part of the grill for just a few minutes. I would find the charcoal that is lighter fluid free, so you don't get excess chemicals in your food. Once the pouch gets a good line of smoke coming out, place it on one of the top racks and start cooking. Make sure to close the lid any time you can, because then the food gets smoked by charcoal, just as you would with hickory or any other flavor. Voila!!! Charcoal taste on a gas grill!!! Once again, for anyone who likes a great grill and does not require the grill to raise their "status", this is a great grill with cheap replacement parts, which is also awesome.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HitWizard
Olive Branch, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent grill; Great Value
4/12/2009

Customer review by Cellarboi

5.0 stars 4/12/2009 by Cellarboi
by Cellarboi

I am sitting down to write this after cleaning this grill minutes ago. I bought this from the store Friday night at 10pm. The associates were great with helping me get it from the shelf all the way into the truck. I put the grill together Saturday morning in 45 minutes. My buddy and I had steaks and chops on the grill at 4 p.m. This grill is sharp. It lit right up on the first try and cooked our marinated meat to perfection. This was my first time grilling as a new home owner. My friends that came over all said the grill looked so nice. I am happy with the results. It looks nice after cleaning. I bought some stainless steel cleaner to wipe down the outside after cleaning the inside and a nice cover to put over it. I look forward to more grilling with this excellent product. Very sturdy construction.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cellarboi
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
OFF THE HOOK!!!!
7/24/2009

Customer review by BigKahunaChooChoo

5.0 stars 7/24/2009 by BigKahunaChooChoo
by BigKahunaChooChoo

I bought this grill a few weeks ago.I read all the horror stories of the nicks,scratches,and bangs on the product.I had a few on mine,but that had no effect on how this grill performs!!They say,"you get what you pay for",well not in this case.You get MORE than what you pay for!All my food comes out moist and tender on this grill,unlike the one I had before.I never turn it on high when I cook,or warm up, always on low,and it's the best! This grill is ,"OFF THE HOOK"!!!! get one while you can!!!And for you steak lovers,the grill sear marks are awesome!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigKahunaChooChoo
Shawnee Ks.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
purchased end of season 8/9/09
8/19/2009

Customer review by angryalbino

4.0 stars 8/19/2009 by angryalbino
by angryalbino

My local Walmart was putting bbq's on clearance. I waited a week and missed out on my first choice. Next week they were down to just 4 gas bbq's left. 3 very expensive (not on clearance) webers and this guy at $200. I asked to speak with a manager, walked out with it for $100 plus tax. Never hurts to ask. They wanted these guys gone. But- it was to big for my Pathfinder. I had to take off both side trays. It did have the scratches and scuffs that others have complained about. But for that price who cares. Like I said this was not my first choice. Got it home. Food stuck to the grill hard. Duh! I should have sprayed the grid first with non-stick. Second time using the grill, my wife was alone. She hated our last grill and was nervous about using this one. She loved it. Simple push button start. Easy temperature adjustment with the temp gauge on the cover. She made some wicked chicken. At his point we are both glad that we missed out on the 4 burner Brinkman. We both love this BBQ. Love the very wide shelves, dig on the pull out drawers. Really like not having the worthless side burner. And the infrared burner (which I thought at purchase was just a gimmick) is now my wife's favorite place to cook. There are better BBQ's out there. But lets face it, not at this price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
angryalbino
WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Poor Construction
8/29/2009

Customer review by AJFR

3.0 stars 8/29/2009 by AJFR
by AJFR

I love the grill aspect of this grill but the support of it leaves alot to be desired. If you want to move it, don't buy it. The side boxes are attached with 2 screws/bolts that the side boxes slide onto and are not very sturdy. I have tightened the screws many times. We have had the grill 2 months and yesterday we found the grill part on the ground because the supporting structure fell apart.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AJFR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Exchanged 3 times with every one damaged.....
5/22/2009

Customer review by BigWill1985

1.0 stars 5/22/2009 by BigWill1985
by BigWill1985

Bought it two nights ago, and took it home to discover the bottom of the grill itself was dented in horribly (I was unable to bang it out with a hammer and anvil). I threw it back in the box, and exchanged it for another. This one I put together almost completely before realizing that there was damage to the sheetmetal inside of the grill, keeping the grates from fitting. So, I broke it back down and went back in to Walmart to work something out. They looked at the display model (last one they had), only to see it was damaged worse than either of the ones I had already tried (once again damage to the back corners of the grill assembly). I exchanged it for another grill and got a 15% discount for my troubles.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigWill1985
Norfolk, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Mixed Feelings
6/19/2009

Customer review by msedaka

3.0 stars 6/19/2009 by msedaka
by msedaka

It's hard to say anything about this grill that hasn't already been said, but here are my initial impressions. First the good news. The grill was very easy to assemble and fired right up. Also... thankfully... all the pieces were there and none were damaged. Which I guess brings me to the bad news about this grill. It's cheap. Not only in price, but in construction. I guess I suspected as much, given how many people complained about damaged or missing parts. That's just not something you expect from a quality product. And after assembling it, you can just tell how thin and inferior all the parts are. So, for now, all works well, but I don't have high hopes for the thing lasting more than a couple of seasons. Another thing that's discouraging -- and it's something only a few people have mentioned -- is how small the main grilling area is. I assumed the larger grill would be as big as my old grill and the infrared would be an added bonus, but you really do sacrifice a lot of actual grilling space. I haven't really done much with the infrared side, but it does seem specific to certain foods (steaks most notably) so it's not like you can just make everything there. So why did I choose this grill? Mostly because of all of the storage space which, for me, is one of the highlights. The drawers (one on each side) open smoothly and are deep enough for all my long utensils. No other grill seems to have that feature and I find it very helpful. Bottom line is, I'm kind of mixed on it. Yes, it works well... for now... but I kind of regret not just having a larger grilling surface without the infrared.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
msedaka
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Grill
5/17/2009

Customer review by Drchugz

5.0 stars 5/17/2009 by Drchugz
by Drchugz

I bought this grill four days ago, as the other reviews say...it takes less than an hour to put together. I had the unit sent to the store for free shipping (took only 4 days). Cooking wise...its performs fantastic! I prefer my hamburgers and steaks cooked well done, and with this grill, it cooks them quickly and more importantly evenly. The infrared section, did take some getting used to (I walked away for a minute, and burned some burgers), so practice with the flame settings. oh, Another great thing about the grill is the insides of the grill can come out easily for sink cleanings. I had no issues with damage during shipping. If you plan on using a electric screw driver (as I did), please put on light setting, as the bolts can get worn down easily.. Bring on the SUMMER!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Drchugz
Upper Moreland,PA36
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good grill
7/18/2009

Customer review by newgrillbee

5.0 stars 7/18/2009 by newgrillbee
by newgrillbee

excellent grill for the price. Bought the grill in store for $200 was assembeled, it had slight dent at the bottom, which doesnt cause any grill problems. Also purchased the 70" cover. First time grill. Grilled steaks, pork chops was fun experience. I would recommend for someone to buy. Time will tell if this grill will last for long.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
newgrillbee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AWESOME! Only took 28 years of marriage to get it!
11/16/2009

Customer review by Striving2BAGourmetCook

5.0 stars 11/16/2009 by Striving2BAGourmetCook
by Striving2BAGourmetCook

This grill is awesome! We were fortunate to be able to purchase the grill totally assembled. We found it at our local store fully assembled for $275.00. It was simply a charm to light. The infrared burner worked beautifully searing 2 inch filets. We seared them on high for 3 minutes on each side. We then moved them to the main burner for an additional 3 minutes on each side. They were cooked medium rare to medium and tasted totally awesome. The grill cools down very quickly which made it easy to clean up the grates/grills as soon as we had finished eating dinner. Clean up was quick and easy! Buy yours today. You won't regret it! I will never go back to the charcoal kettle grill! I guess I only have one complaint... Why did I wait until my 28th year of marriage to insist that my husband take me out to buy a gas grill? I suppose the lesson here is that "with age comes wisdom"... evidently I am just a bit of a slower learner than others.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Striving2BAGourmetCook
Corona, CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
The best BBQ Grill ever!!
5/27/2009

Customer review by bumonatrain

5.0 stars 5/27/2009 by bumonatrain
by bumonatrain

Stop looking at those Weber Grills and buy this one. You wont be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bumonatrain
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BBQ GRILL
6/1/2009

Customer review by pdlaser

5.0 stars 6/1/2009 by pdlaser
by pdlaser

THIS Grill is Great! my wife and I pick it up as a early fathers day gift. when we got it home it took only 45 min to put together, the instruction are great to follow, this is my first gas grill and I am hook, this grill fire up on the first try. We cook on it the same day it has great heat and food taste great. this is a great buy I read all the reviews on this item and everyone was right this is a great grill.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pdlaser
memphis, tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
O M G
6/6/2009

Customer review by BBQBOB13

5.0 stars 6/6/2009 by BBQBOB13
by BBQBOB13

NICE GRILL FOR THE BUCK. EASY SET UP AND EASY CLEANING. STEAKS ARE GREAT ON THE INFARED SIDE JUST BE CAREFULL IF COOKING LEAN MEETS. I GAVE MY DOGS MY$20.00 BEEF TENDERLOIN THE FIRST TIME AROUND. I HAVE THE MOJO NOW. LOBSTER ON THE GRILL NEVER TASTED BETTER. NO MORE COOKING THEM IN THE POT. MAKE SURE TO PUT A BAMBO STICK UNDER THE SHELL SO IT WILL NOT CURL. THE LIDS ARE A BT THIN BUT I GUESS YOUR NOT TO SIT ON THEM. HA ?

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BBQBOB13
KENOSHA,WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Grill for the price
8/8/2009

Customer review by DeBajan

4.0 stars 8/8/2009 by DeBajan
by DeBajan

Was a bit skeptical when my wife suggested this...can't be to good at that price, turns out to be a great grill, good temperature control, the infrared is excellent for searing steaks, my friends love it. The assembly was a bit challenging and my doors aren't perfectly aligned...but for under $300 who cares. GREAT GRILL does the job, remember to get a grill cover, it will be worth it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DeBajan
Barbados
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
1-20 of 125 total reviews
1-20 of 125 reviews