Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 524 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

524 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

524 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
319
4 stars
133
3 stars
37
2 stars
15
1 stars
20
1-20 of 504 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 504 total reviews
1-20 of 504 reviews
My Great Mobile Studio
6/24/2009

Customer review by Joseph Zunaid

5.0 stars 6/24/2009 by Joseph Zunaid
by Joseph Zunaid

By The Gods Grace Ive Got an awesome laptop for me, Nice to work, cute to take, great configuration, Best Customer Support.

Joseph Zunaid
Chennai, India
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Buyer beware, software failure out of the box
3/8/2009

Customer review by LP71908

1.0 stars 3/8/2009 by LP71908
by LP71908

My wife was in need of a new laptop for school. I have been a faithful Dell user for years. I gravitated towards the Studio 17 because of the solid features that you get for the price. We purchased the laptop from our local Best Buy and owned it for approximately 30 minutes. After applying the Trend Micro and Windows updates for the first time, the laptop went into a blue screen loop. I later found while searching the issue on the Internet that this is not an isolated incident. The staff at our local Best Buy were very apologetic and great to work with. They took the laptop back without question as this wasn't the first one they ran into. One of the Managers went so far as to have the remaining stock removed from the floor so that they could be evaluated by the Geek Squad staff. Dell makes some nice laptops, just not this particular model. Do your homework before considering a purchase of this laptop. We are now looking into the Studio XPS 16 as well as laptops from the competition.

LP71908
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Upgraded after 12 years...
9/25/2009

Customer review by Dfcogic

4.0 stars 9/25/2009 by Dfcogic
by Dfcogic

Ok, the computer I had was a Packard Bell that I got from my mother Christmas of "97. It had crashed on me and was way beyond it years, so I finally was able to purchase this laptop...I only had one problem...The Internet would not connect...I hacked into one of the neighbors wireless one night for 5 minutes and after that it didn't want to work anymore... I tried the wireless at school with no progress...I even tried to connect to my DSL with no luck...Finally, I called Dell and they gave me the run around about a Software issue and wanted to charge me $150+ because I didn't buy a Software Package...I let a guy at work do something and it has worked every since...I erased all the software in the process of trying to make the computer work and I reinstalled everything again except the fingerprint Software which I can't seem to get reinstalled...Other than that, the computer hasn't given me any problems...Dell really gets you on those warranties, but don't buy them, they're a waste of money...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dfcogic
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Simply The Best.
11/30/2009

Customer review by studio17lover

5.0 stars 11/30/2009 by studio17lover
by studio17lover

I've owned a Studio 17 for a couple of years now. I'm a software developer, so for me, the bigger and more powerful the laptop the better. I need to run programs like the Visual Studio.NET development suite, which are resource intensive. This system is by far the best laptop/desktop replacement I have ever used, and I've been in the IT industry for 10 years. I also do pc/laptop build/repairs/sales on the side, so I have sold and/or repaired hundreds of laptops over the past several years. Once again, I have not yet seen a laptop that even comes close to the power and exceptional quality of the Studio 17. The laptop is appealing in everyway, especially visually. The 17 inch LCD disply is crystal clear and offers a massive amount of screen "real estate". I have not yet found a program that even comes close to making this sytem freeze or even slow down! I literally can't say enough good things about the Studio 17. Dollar for dollar, inch for display inch, this is by far the best laptop on the market.

studio17lover
Columbus, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Studio 17 i5-540 1080p Screen
6/4/2010

Customer review by LaptopUser1749

5.0 stars 6/4/2010 by LaptopUser1749
by LaptopUser1749

Wanted a desktop replacement laptop with a decent spec (i5 processor, 500gig drive, large 1920x1080 screen and blu-ray). Went to a local retailer to check the Studio 17 with the 1600x900 screen which was fabulous but didn't offer the screen resolution that I needed (I am a developer and need the screen real estate). I read an online review which compared the 1600x900 with the 1920x1080 screen and it said that the 1080 screen was much brighter, had better contrast and better viewing angles. My only concern before purchasing was that the size of the text would be too small (1920x1080 on a 17.3" display). Well the laptop arrived last week and I must say that the screen is simply fantastic. It is so bright and sharp that I don't have any problems reading the text. If the text size was too small you could increase the Windows 7 text size (which makes the text larger in every application automatically). Viewing 1080p home videos using the screen is a real pleasure. Overall I am very please with this machine.

LaptopUser1749
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Performance for high end user
6/22/2010

Customer review by Tackaman

5.0 stars 6/22/2010 by Tackaman
by Tackaman

I've owned this laptop for almost a month now, and I am definitely pleased with my purchase. I have an i7 processor with 4GB RAM and it's super fast. The system boots up quickly and is very easy to set up. I was new to Windows 7 and after just a couple of days, found it easy to use and very intuitive. There are two negatives to this laptop that I've found so far, but neither would keep me from recommending this product. 1) the battery doesn't last as long as I'd like. Some of that has to do with the fact that this is a high-end machine, but I wish it would last longer. It lasts about 3 1/2 hours. 2) there are only 2 USB ports. When I use this for work, I don't have enough USBs. If you use this for a workstation, be prepared to get a USB hub. Overall, this was a great purchase. It's a high end PC for someone who needs a high end experience. This is the perfect performance laptop. It's large, so it's not great for a user who needs a lot of mobility. If that's not you, then this is the machine you need to buy.

Tackaman
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Kind of a love-hate relationship
10/2/2008

Customer review by MC428

4.0 stars 10/2/2008 by MC428
by MC428

So I've had my Studio 17 for a little over a month now. I gave it 4 stars across the board because overall it's a pretty solid laptop. But it does have its moments where you just want to throw it against a wall. I don't know if there is a bug or something but sometimes it will take a good five minutes to shutdown/reboot, which is annoying when you are in a rush. Also, the touch pad periodically locks up leaving you with a non-responsive mouse. As others have mentioned, the capacitive media buttons need to be more sensitive. Also, I'm not really a huge fan of Vista and all the added software. The drop down console at the top constantly gets in my way. I'm sure you can disable it. I'm just too lazy to figure out how. The increased security is really stupid and redundant too. The cons aside, I'm happy with my purchase. I upgraded the RAM to 4 GB. Really, you can never have enough of the stuff. I also use a bluetooth printer with it, which has worked pretty well.

MC428
Boston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great bang for the buck!
4/10/2009

Customer review by Andrew34

5.0 stars 4/10/2009 by Andrew34
by Andrew34

I shopped for a laptop for about 3 months, looking at all makes and models, comparing what options were available and at what price, and after using my new computer I am very pleased with my decision. The 17" Studio is very good both in fit and finish and in performance, it runs eveything I have thrown at it, I did not upgrade the screen and am very pleased with the picture, everything is sharp and colourful. I upgraded the processor to the 2.53 duo and it powers through, the boot time is very short 10 to 15 sec maximum. The fingerprint reader is a must, no more remembering all my logins. The DVD player is quiet and not having the tray is great. The only thing I would stay away from is the Aver tv tuner, it is garbage, the picture when watching TV through the tuner is not great at all. If you are on the fence with this computer, dont worry its a great buy. Oh also the built in cam is unbelievable the quality is great, and its smart, it even follows your face when you move, its a little thing but its one of many.

Andrew34
Cambridge, Ontario
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Highly Recommend
4/21/2010

Customer review by Jyams73

5.0 stars 4/21/2010 by Jyams73
by Jyams73

I did extensive research for over a month. My requirements were a 17.3 screen, wireless "n", Bluetooth, Blu-ray, 6gb RAM, backlit keyboard, and dedicated video card with at least 1gb of memory. Sony Vaio made a 16.1 inch laptop that was close, but their screen was not backlit with LED's. Dell finally began offering the Blu-ray option around April 1. With the ability to customize the Studio 17 with a Blu-ray and the other features I needed (including backlit keyboard, Bluetooth, wireless n), I felt like I got the best product. I haven't been disappointed. The screen is wonderful and bright. Watched a blu-ray movie via the HDMI port on my 42 inch big screen plasma this weekend and it was awesome! The 6gb of RAM with the 1gb dedicated video card really makes this laptop perform! 500gb/7200 HDD also came with this model, which was also a deal-maker. Bluetooth performs great with my bluetooth mouse. Had never used wireless N and it is fast! Can't think of anything else to improve this custom design. Way to go Dell!!!

Jyams73
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Product... bad engineering design on hinge.
9/29/2010

Customer review by TickerTape14

3.0 stars 9/29/2010 by TickerTape14
by TickerTape14

I bought 3 of these for my daughters. Before the end of the first year, the hinge where the screen attaches to the body of the laptop broke. Fortunately, it was under warranty and fixed. A month after they came out of warranty, the other 2 broke in the same exact spot. These are not impact breaks, because that is user error not manufacturing issue. If I thought my daughters were abusing the laptop, then that is our fault also. But that is not the case as obviously all 3 broke in the same exact spot and the one had to be fixed under manufacturer warranty. My guess is that the hinge was not engineered strong enough or large enough to handle the weight and torque of opening and closing that large of a screen. Poor engineering design. Other then that issue, the laptop is actually a very good performer. Battery life is acceptable. Nice to have webcam built in. Slot DVD/CD verse tray. Easy side switch to turn on and off the WiFi. Screen has good resolution and 17" size provides no issues for viewing web content, etc...

TickerTape14
Would recommend to a friend? No
superior technology inferior quality, same old del
3/25/2009

Customer review by robo101

5.0 stars 3/25/2009 by robo101
by robo101

the whole point of buying studio 17 is RGB LED HD screen, its beautiful , awesome, the best available. its one step up from studio 15 led screen, much better color reproductions. i bought a refurb unit for $1000 with t2.53/wuxga rgb led/9cell bat/bluray/4gb ram, also paid extra $18 for 2nd hard drive assembly. i would recommend studio 17 to all dell 1720 and xps m1730 users except real gamers. there are a few minor problems with studio 17. speaker is ok loud, clear, but when u push volume up to 75, u will hear shaking, tearing noise from earbud. the screw holds the intel 5100 card was erode and damaged when i tried to pull it out. memory card reader is dead rit out of box. i had to send it back to dell depot and got it repaired which took 2 weeks. seagate hard drive makes constant unusual loud clicking noise, really annoying. i removed seagate and put in my own hitachi 100gb 7200/16mb bought in 2007, the noise is gone! i also replaced trash intel 5100 with dell 1510, which is the best wireless card maker--broadcoms product.

robo101
nyc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Studio 17
3/29/2010

Customer review by Firestryker

4.0 stars 3/29/2010 by Firestryker
by Firestryker

Pros I just received my Studio 17 laptop. This is a very nice, very solid laptop. I ordered mine with a slick art case (Norvus Ordo:Cobaltika - Design by Tweeqim) that makes it stand out in a crowd (this option with cost extra). I love the HD screen and it's crystal clarity. I ordered mine with the back-lit keyboard - I think this is a must have and I'm glad I spent the extra dollars for it. It's a good value for the money. It works very well for MS office and Internet applications. I do not do any online gaming, so I don't know how it handles them. Cons It's HEAVY! 7+ pounds - Not something I was expecting in a new laptop. I do not like the track-pad and think that it is sub-standard to the dell track-pads I've used on the Dimension models. The movement of the cursor is sluggish and seems to "freeze" at times. I've adjusted some of the software controls which seems to have helped. I wish they had the multi-touch screen with the custom cases.

Firestryker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Studio 17
6/2/2010

Customer review by Ochappy

5.0 stars 6/2/2010 by Ochappy
by Ochappy

Pros: -Amazing 1080p HD display, great for gaming and making movies. -Keyboard is smooth, and the back lit keyboard is a must, it has a number-pad which is great for people switching from a desktop to laptop! very good! -Blazing fast, the i7 720 processor is super fast, and is a must for gaming needs -two headphone jacks which allow for multiple people to listen to movies at once, very good! -Arrived very promptly, original arrival date: 6/4/10, date arrived, 5/26/10 Cons: -The monitor is fairly flimsy. -No additional options for extended battery life. -One of the USB ports is small, and it feels like I'm breaking the USB slot when I plug in my external hard drive -Very weird placement for the speakers, they are right where it is comfortable to rest your arms, next to the track pad. -Laptop's fan is not sufficient enough to keep the laptop cool. The track pad, and the area around it get's extremely hot when used for only an hour of gaming. I needed to purchase a fan to keep it cool during extensive amounts of gaming.

Ochappy
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
An Awesome Deal
5/4/2010

Customer review by JustMe2466798

5.0 stars 5/4/2010 by JustMe2466798
by JustMe2466798

I got my Studio 1745 about 6 months ago. Since then, I have been overly satisfied with my laptop. I got a core 2 duo T6600@2.20 Ghz, 4 GB of RAM, a 512 graphics card, 500 GB at 7200, and Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit. My parents got it for me for my birthday. I love having the 500 GB HD, it fits 100s of games, music files, and photos. I have found out it has good heat dissapation, even though the graphics card does get a little hot at times. i would recommend getting another mouse for gaming. It has plenty of USB ports for everything I need, is very fast, despite what other reviews might say, and I love the HDMI slot so I can hook it up to my TV. Also, despite what other reviews might say, I can get 6 hours of battery on power save and 2-4 hours of battery life on high performance with a 6-cell battery. I did notice that the DVD drive lightly vibrates when I burn DVDs or CDs at full speed. Overall I would rank this a 100,000 star. Sincerely, Me

JustMe2466798
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
USB port location and key locations
8/6/2010

Customer review by sunsunsun

4.0 stars 8/6/2010 by sunsunsun
by sunsunsun

Overall, I like Studio 17. It's fast enough to do multiple tasks and has enough space for me. Also, it's quiet and stays cool most of the time. On the other hand, I have a few things that I don't understand why they did this way. One thing is the location of a USB port. They put one of the three USB ports on the right hand side where it directly interferes with a mouse. This is the worst location I have ever had for a USB port! Who wants to have a USB port on this location??? A laptop should never have a USB port here!!! It is so annoying when I need to use this port. Another thing is the location of two keys. Home key and End key are located upper right corner of the numerical keypad, and it requires me to jump far from the home row and is very inconvenient because I use these two keys very often. Since there are two vacant key locations under the right shift key, I wish they would have put these two keys there. If these two keys are placed under the right shift key, it would have been much more convenient to use these two keys.

sunsunsun
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Studio 1749 design flaw?
3/20/2010

Customer review by Studio1749

2.0 stars 3/20/2010 by Studio1749
by Studio1749

Pros: Very good display and sound Cons: This Studio 1749 is a brand new replacement for a previous order that arrived with a deep scratch in the lid. Took 20 days for the replacement to be delivered. This is my third DELL laptop, had a Inspiron 1520 and a Studio 1737 and no problem with these two. My concern with the 1749 is the lid where the top portion with the DELL logo connects to the plastic part housing the screen. Every time I open the laptop I can hear the two parts plastic parts snapping together because the plastic frame where the webcam and array mics are located is really flimsy and not connected very well to the upper lid. This happens every time I open the laptop.The lid is still very tight considering that the laptop is new. Had a talk with tech support and the guy insisted this was normal. I recommend that potential buyers ask around first before buying a 1749 because this might or might not be an isolated problem.

Studio1749
Ca, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disappointing at best
12/4/2009

Customer review by kungfulou

2.0 stars 12/4/2009 by kungfulou
by kungfulou

I bought this Studio 1747 (i7 processor) as an upgrade to my 2.8 P4 (Northwood) single core expecting a massive improvement, however I feel let down. In the 4 days I have been using it, I have had 4 OS freeze-ups with no errors in the event viewer. It takes 4-20 secondes to bring up the Computer Management applet. Windows Media Center hangs in the wind for several minutes while closing and has rebuilt the library about every 4th time it is opened. Windows Media center take 30 sec to open as well. While compressing 2gb of PDFs and only 2% of the processor is utilized, 5-8% Diskdrive bandwidth and 45% of the memory. After 2 hours, I am 60% completed. But on the bright side, every so often I will get this massive speed boost for a few seconds and it feels like I have a top of the line computer again, But just as quick is this thing can scream along, the moment fades away and I am waiting for the SaveAs applet to come up for 30 second. Nice bright screen though! My 6 year old midrange computer is much nicer to work with lightning fast response.

kungfulou
USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
1st laptop
5/14/2009

Customer review by YssaSweetie9

5.0 stars 5/14/2009 by YssaSweetie9
by YssaSweetie9

im going off to college in the fall and needed a laptop. so far i love it.. not 1 thing i can find wrong with it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YssaSweetie9
west palm beach, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Studio 1749 Laptop
5/2/2010

Customer review by Sharyn

5.0 stars 5/2/2010 by Sharyn
by Sharyn

I've been using my new Studio 1749 for several months and I love it. My system is using Intel Core i5 with turbo mode. Windows 7, 64-bit, 4GB memory, intel HD Graphics with TV tuner, 500 GB 7200 RPM SATA Hard Drive, 8X Slot Load CD/DVD Burner (Dual Layer DVD+/R Drive), Bluetooth, Backlit keyboard and Intel Centrino Advanced N + WIMAX 6250 wireless network card. Pros: I'm so glad that I got the backlit keyboard. It's awesome. I'd never buy another computer without it. The system is fast and the screen resolution is great. Windows 7 is a breeze and I had no trouble net-working with my desktop. The wireless card has never let me down. Never lost a connection, including use on my patio, which is all brick and concrete. Cons: It's a bit large and heavy for a laptop, but I don't usually travel with it, other than to another room in the house. The touchpad stinks - too erratic. I'm using a mouse, which is more comfortable for me. This is a great computer and I'm glad that I could personalize it the way I wanted for a great price. I highly recommend the Studio 1749.

Sharyn
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Outstanding Laptop, Exceeded Expectations!
8/13/2010

Customer review by Marek

5.0 stars 8/13/2010 by Marek
by Marek

This is my first Dell laptop, and after owning and being satisfied with other brands was a bit reluctant to make a switch. However after reading many favorable independent reviews decided on the Studio 17. Dell allowed me to customize the laptop exactly how I wanted and offered my final configuration at a very competitive price. I have now had the laptop for a month and am very impressed. I use it several hours a day as it is my business as well as personal computer and it goes with me everywhere. The build quality is outstanding! The case is sturdy and always feels solid including the hinges. Performance wise the i5-450m processor with 4GB DDR3 memory is lightning fast. The LED back-lit screen is crystal clear, keyboard is very responsive with great feed back and the keyboard back light option is outstanding especially when in low lit meeting rooms and conferences. Has well exceeded my expectations. I would definitely recommend the Studio 17 to anyone and already have to many friends and colleagues. Customer service and sales staff are top notch! Great job DELL!

Marek
Miami, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 504 total reviews
1-20 of 504 reviews