Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1364 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

1364 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

1364 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
837
4 stars
396
3 stars
77
2 stars
29
1 stars
25
1-20 of 1033 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1033 total reviews
1-20 of 1033 reviews
Used for Online Sales.
2/23/2008

Customer review by slvrdollrprod

5.0 stars 2/23/2008 by slvrdollrprod
by slvrdollrprod

Don't shop on an empty stomach! If you are working on a budget like me, consider your memory and operating system when buying as primary. Vista needs a full 1GB memory to run. You'll short-change yourself if you are only buying 1GB. Also consider that buying 2GB is good, but will probably be minimal in a couple of years. Consider giving up a little foo-foo fluff for more power and speed. A 20-inch monitor won't make your computer run faster. The $50 you save by going with 19-inches can be used for a better processor or more memory. Many of the things I would have loved to have are things I can currently live without. Yes, eventually I want a webcam and wireless keyboard, but these are all things I can get a little later. It's much easier to install a new keyboard than to take the computer apart to install a new memory card (and then hope it works). Lastly, double check to make sure you are getting the Wireless Card! I noticed at the last second my system didn't have one when I was ready to buy! That would have been a big, $30 mistake!

slvrdollrprod
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not that expandable
6/17/2009

Customer review by adsfasdf

2.0 stars 6/17/2009 by adsfasdf
by adsfasdf

Power supply is weak in wattage, so do research before upgrading. Power supply has no 4-pin plugs for video cards, so if your card has one of those inputs, then you're out of luck. Power supply has almost no extra cables like any other power supply on the market, so I'm not sure how Dell envisioned you expanding this thing outside of replacing components. To replace the power supply, you have to take out the motherboard first because of the way it's crammed into the box (and you can't remove it from the back). The selling point for me was that I could buy a cheap core system without falling victim to analysis-paralysis due to researching and bargain-hunting for processors, motherboards, RAM etc.; then I could just upgrade as I went. Dell built these so that it's very difficult to upgrade anything except the memory, the hard drive, or add a non-video card. If I had to do it over again, I would've built my PC myself since the time I saved in research has been spent screwing around with this thing to get it to do what Dell promises it can do.

adsfasdf
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good value from Dell
9/10/2007

Customer review by KLex

4.0 stars 9/10/2007 by KLex
by KLex

I am happy now with my new Dell inspiron 530, once the initial problems were fixed (1.Returned the PCI wireless card - no working driver for Vista 2. DVD interface cable had to be reseated on the motherboard ). It does exactly what I expected and I had a good deal on it. My configuration : 1 222-9194 Inspiron 530,Intel Core2 Duo processor E4400 (2.00GHz 800FSB) w/Dual Core Technologyand 2MB cache 1 311-7239 2GB DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz 1 310-8647 Dell USB 4 Button Premium Optical Mouse with Scroll 1 310-8025 Dell USB Keyboard 1 320-3000 Video ready option w/o monitor 1 320-5746 128MB NVIDIA GeForce 8300GS 1 341-4810 320GB Serial ATA 2 Hard Drive (7200RPM) 1 420-6540 Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium Edition, English 1 430-0412 Integrated NIC card 1 313-4593 56K PCI Data Fax Modem 1 430-2519 Internal PCI 802.11g wireless network card,Full Height 1 313-5270 16X DVD+/-RW Drive 1 313-2758 Integrated Audio 1 313-4032 Dell A525 30 Watt 2.1 Stereo Speakers with Subwoofer 1 320-5608 Combo TV Tuner with Remote Control 1 950-3337 1 Year Limited Warranty I got that for under $690, tax included.

KLex
Lexington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Exeeded My Expectations
1/27/2008

Customer review by Raze

5.0 stars 1/27/2008 by Raze
by Raze

This is a GREAT computer for the price paid. Nearly silent operation as I hear not even a whisper coming from inside the case, the box itself is an attractive silver and white with bay doors and rubber front feet, and the blue power / hard drive light looks cool. The monitor gives a clear, sharp picture, and Windows Vista Premium is like XP on steroids and runs flawlessly with 2.5 gigs of RAM. The case is easily upgradeable as it came with 1 gig of RAM which I immediately upgraded to 2.5 gigs by opening the side cover and snapping more in after initial set up. I added a sound card and extra DVD drive myself, as well. Easy as cake. The computer is FAST for everyday computing needs, multimedia applications, spreadsheets, and music / video encoding. It plays newer games such as Bioshock, Call Of Duty 4, Crysis, Stalker, and Company Of Heroes without a hitch on at least 1024X768 screen resolution and high settings. And it eats older games such as FEAR, HL2, DOOM3, Call Of Duty 2, Prey, etc...for breakfast. Just an altogether great, powerful, and well rounded computer. And a great value, too.

Raze
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Good No-Frills System
9/24/2007

Customer review by EmeryH

4.0 stars 9/24/2007 by EmeryH
by EmeryH

While the on-board graphics aren't bad - they still allow Vista Aero effects and perform decently in my limited gaming forays, it is the weakest performing part of this system. I installed an old X700 (1st generation PCIE card) and the Vista Windows Experience Gaming Graphics index jumped from 3.4 to 4.6. While improved, the graphics score was still the slowest part of the system. When the 8600GT card was installed the score jumped up to 5.5, making the 6550 processor the limiting factor with a score of 5.3. I'm running Vista Home Premium with 2 GB of RAM. This much memory allows simultaneous running of IE, Word, Excel. and a game such as Command & Conquer with no ill effects. When exiting the game it instantly returns to the desktop. My old XP system with only 1GB of RAM would experience a significant delay while swapping memory to/from the hard drive before returning to the desktop. More than 2 GB of memory might be better, but for my purposes (so far) it is not needed. A couple of eSATA ports should have been designed into the basic system. They couldn't have added any significant cost.

EmeryH
Marietta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Inspiron 530
6/13/2009

Customer review by GDJaton

5.0 stars 6/13/2009 by GDJaton
by GDJaton

Upon initial setup encountered problems resulting in un-install and clean install of Vista and re-install of all Dell software. This took almost a week of frustrating and lengthy sessions at the computer. With the EXCELLENT help from Dell support and Microsoft The computer finally was in the out-of-the-box state I expected. I am very happy with the 530. My previous is a Dimension 2400 and satisfaction with it led me to Dell for a new system. The only regret I have is not having XP installed instead of Vista. I am very unhappy with the Vista program and should the occasion arise where I were to purchase a new computer I would not have it installed. This is no reflection on Dell, of course. I will continue to consider Dell as my first choice for any future needs. I would again like to express my thanks to your great support team for their patience and help.

GDJaton
Warrenton, Or, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great PC - But a few niggles
4/25/2009

Customer review by DataRascal

5.0 stars 4/25/2009 by DataRascal
by DataRascal

The PC arrived on the allotted date. It's worked fine so far. I did have a little trouble with the (D) Recovery Drive not having a Windows flag on it. It still has no flag on it & I don't know how to get it sorted. The Roxio CD/DVD Writing software went a bit funny. I couldn't uninstall, then reinstall, as I had no Roxio disk with the PC. I expect it's not supposed to be there. Compared to my previous Windows 98SE PC, this one is superb! Also, I don't connect to the Internet, so contacting Dell is somewhat difficult. I purchased the book, 'Windows Vista Annoyances' by o'REILLY, for about £20.00. Withoubt doubt, this book tells me all I will ever need to know about using Vista. Believe me, the Dell PC is superb! Everyone has niggles with their PC's, but that's a learning experience, it makes one a better PC user. Thank you and have a nice Dell day :)

DataRascal
Birmingham
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Computer, Great Price
3/3/2009

Customer review by Settie

5.0 stars 3/3/2009 by Settie
by Settie

Love it! If I had to buy this computer all over again I think I would have upgraded to the down grade. I still think about getting XP sometimes and doing it myself. I bought the low-end dell speakers when going through the build process, and they are great! I'm glad I got them. I think the speakers were the only thing I got extra. The Logitech wireless mouse and keyboard I already owned, I'm glad I have it, the one it came with is fine, but I loooove the one I use. This computer was bought as an office computer. I regularly have two different browsers with a bunch of tabs open, sometimes several Excel and Word docs open, chat, adobe, a photo editing program etc. all at once! This computer handles the load. Processor is actually Intel Core2 Duo E7300 @ 2.66 GHz (not what's listed on the left), not an option when it asked for the one I had.

Settie
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellant Product
4/20/2009

Customer review by Caladave

5.0 stars 4/20/2009 by Caladave
by Caladave

I bought my first PC, a Dell 6 years ago and although I have not had any problems with it, I thought it was about time I updated for something a bit bigger and faster, so straight to the Dell site. Monday, picked out the Dell Inspiron 530 and all the extra's I required. Received an email later that day stating order received. Email Tuesday stating pc in manufacture and email on Wednesday stating pc being delivered the next day. What service in these days when most company's cant even tell you what day they will be coming. Was a bit wary of Vista having always used XP both at home and work but no problem whatsoever with it. My other concern was reconnecting to the internet, no need, did it all in a flash with no help from me whatsoever. Exceptional value for money for such a first class product. Cannot keep off the thing now !!!!

Caladave
Nottingham, UK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
nice looks; impossible to use as barebone
5/23/2009

Customer review by sammertan

3.0 stars 5/23/2009 by sammertan
by sammertan

Pros: - really nice looks, silver front and top, white sides - motherboard can really take 4 x 2 GB Cons: - motherboard is Foxconn G33m02 mATX but the BIOS is DELL's proprietary so forget about overclocking - the BIOS chip can't be replaced with your own, its soldered - the back plate of case is not removable which means you can't put another motherboard in unless its backpanel fits the backplate holes which is unlikely; other option is to cut off the back plate - hard to do I bought a $200 refurbished 530 with the idea to have a nice looking barebone and to add memory, my processor, overclock it etc. Forget about that, DELL has made everything possible to prevent that. As a result I returned it, built my own desktop and DELL lost my money. Congratulations for another smart choice Dell LOL

sammertan
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
A super product
5/26/2009

Customer review by Beeelieve

5.0 stars 5/26/2009 by Beeelieve
by Beeelieve

Needed a computer in a hurry. I have kids and my old computer kicked it. I read the reviews about the Inspiron 530 Desktop. Was glad it was so affordable and included a monitor. The computer arrived very quickly. Took no time to set up. It is beautiful and is everything I wanted and needed. Great quality product from Dell.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beeelieve
Westminster,MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value but needs a little tweaking for gaming
3/4/2008

Customer review by benky

4.0 stars 3/4/2008 by benky
by benky

If you plan to use this system for gaming you will be disappointed with the 128MB 8300 video card. I had to replace the power supply with a 500W with all the necessary power connectors to use my EVGA 8800GT card. After adding the power supply and video card in the system Crysis runs phenominally, as my son says. Dell should strongly consider making at least a 400W power supply standard in these systems if it is to be fully upgradable as suggested. The service tech was helpful in answering my questions on warranty issues and such. Other than that it is a good deal. By the way, the upgrades cost me almost $400 so if you can get it preconfigured with what you want it for you would probably do better with Dell instead of after the fact. In other words, spend the money up front.

benky
Fairfield, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good computer, but being cheap comes with a price
2/27/2008

Customer review by modemman11

4.0 stars 2/27/2008 by modemman11
by modemman11

There are in fact 8 USB ports, 4 in the back, and 4 in the front. The front USB ports are under the bottom flap, which slides down. HOWEVER, when I first got the computer, all 4 of the back USB ports were already taken up by devices that came with the computer (mouse, keyboard, etc), so I really only have 4 USB ports to spare. The specs to the left are as close to my actual specs as possible, since my actual specs aren't listed in these drop down boxes. The differences being that my CPU is 2.2 GHz, and my monitor is a SE178WFP. This is a good cheap computer if you're just looking for a computer, but being cheap does have its costs. If you want high quality, I would recommend you looking at a more expensive model, or perhaps building your own, if you have the expertise.

modemman11
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dell + Ubuntu just plain ROCKS!
5/21/2009

Customer review by trukfixer1

5.0 stars 5/21/2009 by trukfixer1
by trukfixer1

After building several custom PC's and tossing Linux on them (Usually Fedora, but fell in love with Debian Linux) I finally decided to just get a whole package from Dell, with warranty and everything. It is also my first Ubuntu machine, and I am absolutely in awe of this machine. It is well put together, and everything just works. Has almost everything you need to get started, and even for a non-geek type, this is very easy to use. I'm more than pleased with the machine, delivery, and how it is put together. Although I wish they would make them with lint screens , or make the air inlets easier to clean. (Air inlets are a bit hidden, hard to get to on this design) I did have to install firefox 3 and Thunderbird (My favorites) but it was ready to use out of the box.

trukfixer1
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Outstanding
3/30/2009

Customer review by BradM

5.0 stars 3/30/2009 by BradM
by BradM

I had a 6 year old computer that I finally replaced, so obviously I saw a humongous difference. Only problem is the monitor has a little piece of blue plastic inside the webcam itself, so Dell is sending me a replacement free of charge. Support was fast and easy also. If you do any sort of gaming though, I highly recommend buying a graphics card separately and installing it yourself. Dell doesn't give you the best options for those, but its cheaper to buy it from like newegg anyway. Great computer, highly recommended for a replacement desktop or gaming desktop. Very cheap also, especially if you use a coupon like I did to save 15% off the total purchase. Apparently I can't choose quad core for the time of processor I got, but I purchased a 2.33ghz quad core.

BradM
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Machine for the Money
5/4/2009

Customer review by dcon36

4.0 stars 5/4/2009 by dcon36
by dcon36

The first thing I do when I buy a new computer is uninstall all the useless "crapware" that usually comes with OEM machines, but I was shocked with how little extra software there was on this machine. Dell won my heart over right then and there. I had always been a faithful customer of another computer manufacturer (who will remain nameless, but their initials are HP), but was getting sick of the stuff they were doing to save/make extra money on your computer (no user manual, no restore disc, loads of useless third-party programs). Dell, in my opinion, is treating the customer right. This computer makes a great home computer. I loved it so much I talked my Mother-in-Law into buying one, and I wouldn't mind replacing all my computers with the Inspiron 530.

dcon36
Amarillo, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Inspiron 530- Excellent Purchase
11/26/2008

Customer review by techgurl

3.0 stars 11/26/2008 by techgurl
by techgurl

Liked the customizable feature on Dell's website for ordering a computer. Would like if there was additional information on some of the features that could be added to the computer for reference purposes. I did not have time to complete this review sooner and realize that the processor, memory, and sound card that I have are not listed below as options so, I have decided to list the information here: Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad processor Q6600 (8MB L2, 2.4GHz, 1066FSB) Memory: 3GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 800MHz - 4 DIMMs Video Card(s): Integrated Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 3100 Note: I could not bypass the "Processor" field without choosing an option, so I selected the closet match to my processor. Hope this makes sense!

techgurl
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great!
4/25/2009

Customer review by Pardue

5.0 stars 4/25/2009 by Pardue
by Pardue

I purchased this computer after my old one suddenly stopped working. I initially disliked Dell greatly, but this computer was affordable and it was there as a last minute pickup. I brought this PC home with extremely low expectations, but after a few days of using this product i'm convinced. Dell has made one great computer for such an affordable price. There's plenty of room for upgrades too. It's pretty good with gaming. I play a fast paced first person shooter on the internet and this computer can play it with no problems. The only flaws i found were an initially slow startup, and when it boots up it can tend to be loud (but quiet overall). Dell blew me away with this product and i would reccomend it to anyone who is looking for a budget computer!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pardue
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Inspiron 530
8/6/2009

Customer review by RodSmith

4.0 stars 8/6/2009 by RodSmith
by RodSmith

So far I'm pretty happy with my new computer. Purchasing my computer on dell.com was a little difficult to figure out at times. I like how it steps you through the list of upgrades and options. But bundles and discounts (including shipping discounts) are very confusing, probably by design. The standard keyboard is very small and basic but I didn't want to spend $50 to upgrade to a normal sized one. One of the primary reasons I bought at this time, a free Windows 7 upgrade is available for new systems purchased after a certain date. But when I logged in to register my computer, model 530 was not in the list of eligible models. Fortunately, a couple weeks later it was added. If it hadn't been eligible, this would have been my last Dell purchase. As I understand it, this free upgrade is provided by Microsoft and doesn't cost Dell anything except the cost of processing/shipping the upgrade discs. THIS IS WHY I PAID A PREMIUM PRICE FOR A DELL COMPUTER. I upgraded my system with a faster quad processor, more RAM and a larger hard drive so I have no complaints about speed or capacity. Would have been nice if Dell included a firewire port like Gateway does. It was available as an option but I'll pull the firewire card out of my old computer and save the $$$.

RodSmith
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Well worth the Money!
8/6/2009

Customer review by HomeUserToo

5.0 stars 8/6/2009 by HomeUserToo
by HomeUserToo

This computer replaced a 6 year old (1.5 GHz) hand-me-down my Wife used and she couldn't be more pleased. Understandedly this computer does more and does it much faster. The thing that clinched the deal for me on this computer was the fact that I could get XP pre-installed with the option to upgrade to Vista(or Windows 7) at a later time. My wife is used to XP and didn't want to have to learn something new. Review: Excellent value for the money. It does everything my Wife want's very well and very fast. Excellent service, the Vista Upgrade kit wasn't in the box when it arrived but a request for the missing disks resulted in everything arriving at my door 3 days later at no charge. Well Done.

HomeUserToo
Upstate New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 1033 total reviews
1-20 of 1033 reviews