Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 365 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

365 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

365 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
275
4 stars
63
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 stars
15
1-20 of 348 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 348 total reviews
1-20 of 348 reviews
Good...but get an in-line amplifier!
8/22/2009

Customer review by BH797

5.0 stars 8/22/2009 by BH797
by BH797

After buying a couple (rather expensive) indoor HDTV antennas and having no success I was about to give up on this "free tv" idea. THEN I went to Radio Shack and they advised me to try an outdoor antenna. Although they didn't have the size I wanted in stock (not too small, not too large) they suggested I try Wal-Mart. This antenna was simple to hook up and started bringing in the channels I wanted immediately. Although this antenna stated a limit of 40 miles, my broadcast stations are a good 60 miles away and I still got decent reception! A couple channels were a wee bit pixelated so I decided to try an amplifier. I added a Philips in-line 18db amplifier (Wal-Mart also sales these at 24.95) and the result was excellent. I now get all my channels in crystal clear quality and WITHOUT a huge antenna. This is the one to buy, just get an in-line amplifier if you still need a little more reception and you should be fine. I now get a dozen or so free channels and no more cable bill. Not bad for about 100 bucks total spent!

Was this review helpful? (418) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BH797
Wise, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
RCA Suburban Mini Yagi TV Antenna
1/28/2009

Customer review by projectionist44

5.0 stars 1/28/2009 by projectionist44
by projectionist44

This little antenna works great. I live about 20 miles from the local tv transmitters, all located west of me. I installed the antenna in the attic of my two story home with a hundred feet of antenna cable and no amplifier, pointed it west, locked it in and went downstairs to program the tv. It pulled in a total of 25 channels analog and digital. HD picture and sound quality is great with this antenna. When i compared it to my satellite dish i couldn't tell the difference. Time to ditch the dish and save a few bucks a month.

Was this review helpful? (187) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
projectionist44
Wynantskill, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Amazing reception with proper installation
12/21/2009

Customer review by tbase

5.0 stars 12/21/2009 by tbase
by tbase

First of all let me say that the vast majority of local stations in my area are all in the same direction. If you're trying to pick up stations in different directions, this may not be the antenna for you. I'm in Navarre, FL, and this antenna picks up stations from Pensacola and Mobile, AL with no problem. It says on the box it's good for up to 40 miles away, but I'm getting one station that's 60 miles away and another that doesn't even show up on antennaweb.org. I installed it about 20 feet up in a tree and pointed it in the general direction shown for most of the stations on the street-level map on antennaweb. I used a 50 ft. QUAD SHIELDED cable also purchased at Walmart. That's one of the keys here- don't cheap out on the cable! I could have saved $5 on the cable, but I'm sure my results wouldn't have been nearly as good. I unplugged the cable from the street and plugged in the antenna in its place- running through 2 quality 4-way splitters, resulting in 7 feeds into the house. Just for kicks I tried it like that, and to my amazement it worked! The one station that isn't shown on antennaweb (Fox 10 out of Mobile) came in, but would freeze up every minute or so. After tracking down the outlets I wanted active, I narrowed it down to 3 and ended up with a single 4-way splitter feeding 3 outlets in the house. After doing that, I get NO freezing on any of the channels. In short, I'm extremely pleased with this little gem, I only wish I had gone this route before wasting so much time and money trying to find a good indoor antenna. Just make sure you're using Quad-shielded coax cable, and if splitting it, make sure you're using high-quality splitters. Also a word about amplifiers- remember that they're going to amplify whatever you feed them- if you have a long, poor quality cable run from the antenna to the amplifier, you're going to be amplifying a garbage signal and you're just going to get "louder" garbage. The quality of your cable and splitters will do far more than an amplifier will. That being said, if you're feeding a large number of outlets an amplifier may help a bit, just make sure you place it as close to the antenna as possible and again, use quality cable.

Was this review helpful? (59) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tbase
Navarre, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Small Size, Big Performance
12/21/2009

Customer review by Samseba

5.0 stars 12/21/2009 by Samseba
by Samseba

I bought this atenna after reading some reviews, and I have to tell you that it really performs. The antenna is a small size, big performance baby that can be easily mounted in an attic. Before having this antenna, I had like 15 channels, and none had 100% signal strength. After installing it, I was able to pick 20 plus channels from 2 to 68 with reception of 100% for almost all of them in the DFW area. I am sure that if I mount this baby outside or add a signal amp, I can get 100% in all of my channels. Antennaweb.org says that I need a Red, Blue, and Violet color antenna, but this baby, which is designed for Yellow, Green, Light Green, and Red color zones performs with a grade of "A". If you are skeptical, be no more. This small size, but big performance antenna will do justice to your television set.

Was this review helpful? (214) (63)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Samseba
Cleburne, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Finally something that works
1/4/2010

Customer review by pdog1974

5.0 stars 1/4/2010 by pdog1974
by pdog1974

I purchased this after reading the reviews, local stations are 30+ miles away , mounted it and got the direction in which to point it from antennaweb.org, and it works like a charm , crystal clear even getting channels 50+ miles away, no booster needed, its mounted on a old tv antenna tower about 15-17 foot up with 2 u-bolts and had to drill the holes larger in the mounting plate, for once a product does what it advertises, A+

Was this review helpful? (108) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pdog1974
northeastern OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Antenna for multiple TV's
4/14/2012

Customer review by Jeff1001

5.0 stars 4/14/2012 by Jeff1001
by Jeff1001

This antenna was everything I was hoping for and more. It was very easy to install and I was able to mount it on my existing dish mounting pole. I just removed the dish and connected the existing coaxial cable to the new antenna and the installation was complete. It took me less than 10 minutes to remove my old dish satellite and install the new antenna in it's place. The reception and signal strength is excellent and I know I have made a great purchase on this antenna. I cancelled my dish satellite service and decided to try streaming with netflix and the experience thus far has been great. This little antenna allows me to watch all of the local tv stations and the national evening news. I purchased two new internet ready tv's and now I can watch all the movies I want including many tv series via netflix at a fraction of my previous cost from dish. The picture quality is excellent and I can't see a difference between my old Dish signal and the current antenna.

Was this review helpful? (73) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jeff1001
Henderson, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works Surprisingly Well
4/30/2010

Customer review by OtherBears

4.0 stars 4/30/2010 by OtherBears
by OtherBears

I've seen that most antenna reviews are mixed and tend to be influenced by people's locations. This one looked pretty consistent, so I tried it out. If you're ditching your dish, it will hook onto your exiting dish bracket (DirecTV), so the install is pretty easy. Reception is great with no booster. I just used the cabeling and signal splitter that DirecTV installed. On one tv (both of mine have Apex digital converter boxes also purchased from Walmart) I don't get one channel and on the other TV I don't get a different channel, which is odd. The mounting location is pointing through a tree, so I was very surprised at the reception I'm getting. Without this antenna, using just TV antennas, my reception is shotty and I don't get NBC at all. Now I get NBC on one of two TVs. The other channel I don't get on the other TV is Ion Life. Either way, we're saving $75 a month not having DirecTV. It's fine now, but it's going to hurt come football season. I live in Centennial, CO zip 80015. I fully recommend it for this area.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OtherBears
Centennial, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Antenna!
7/24/2009

Customer review by Wyldfyre1

5.0 stars 7/24/2009 by Wyldfyre1
by Wyldfyre1

Installed this antenna about 10 Ft. above the ground on a tree and ran approx. 50 Ft. of coax to an exterior wall and then approx. 10 Ft. of coax to my HDTV and WOW! what a difference. I was picking up only 4 channels with my old rabbit ears, out of a possible 14 channels that were available to me, and after installing this antenna and aiming it at the transmission tower locations, I am able to receive all 14 channels with excellant clarity. The box states that this antenna is good for up to 40 miles and all of my transmission towers are over 50 miles away and it works great. I am considering purchasing another one of these to hook up an additional HDTV that is located on the opposite end of the house. Definately a "keeper".

Was this review helpful? (29) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wyldfyre1
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
well worth the few extra dollars
12/9/2009

Customer review by PvtPilot

5.0 stars 12/9/2009 by PvtPilot
by PvtPilot

I purchased the Philips indoor outdoor first and was generally pleased with it. My first intention was this RCA mini yagi but it was not in stock at my local Walmart. After getting tired of the picture freezing every couple of minutes I descided to find a Walmart that had this one in stock. The extra 40 mile drive and $30 was well worth it. Outstanding reception! I bought the 18 db inline amp based on other reviews, but honestly this antenna does not need any help.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PvtPilot
Westwood NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
As good as advertised
8/10/2014

Customer review by Kosice

5.0 stars 8/10/2014 by Kosice
by Kosice

After much research and reading reviews I decided to buy this antenna from Walmart. The reason for my decision was that if the antenna did not work I could easily return it. Before installing the antenna, I tried it in the living room and then, after getting decent receptions, I installed it outdoors. Our house was built on a sloped lot, so the antenna is installed almost at a street level. There are also tall trees around our house. We live west of Charlotte, about about 30-40 miles from the TV towers. As I don't have a rotator, I just directed the antenna to east. With approx. 70 feet of coax cable, we have access to 18 channels in HD and a couple of channels with poor reception. I could not believe the strength reception of this light antenna. My next plan is to try a signal amplifier. The monthly cost of local channels only at Time Warner is between $20 and $30 dollars. No one really knows the exact amount because of TW's confusing pricing practices. The math was easy. With the coax cable and grounding wire, I spent less than $80, or 2-3 month of cable subscription. The bottom line is that I was happy to get rid of cable TV. TW is still the only monopolistic service provider in our area. With the upcoming possible merger with Comcast, the situation will get worse. According to the box, this antenna was made in the USA, which is very important to me. The RCA trademark is a good indicator of expert engineering. I definitely recommend this antenna.

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kosice
Charlotte, NC area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works as advertised
7/9/2014

Customer review by KayakTourer

4.0 stars 7/9/2014 by KayakTourer
by KayakTourer

We ditched Dish Network and put this antenna up in about 45 minutes. Using an INDOOR antenna, we only received 5 stations and now with this unit we get 24 stations. We added a 10db gain preamp from Radio Shack (it was on sale for only $6.50) and the reception is excellent. We live in Flagstaff, Az. so mountains are a factor in TV reception. Clearly an indoor antenna doesn't work as well as this outdoor unit. The RCA Mini Yagi was easy to install and hook up. It will pay for itself in the first month of use given that Dish is close to $100 per month and this antenna gives us FREE TV. Add Netflix or a similar product and you'll save substantial dollars on your TV entertainment.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KayakTourer
Flagstaff, Az.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wide Range RCA Antenna
6/6/2014

Customer review by Scrutiny

5.0 stars 6/6/2014 by Scrutiny
by Scrutiny

Delivery was fast, in perfect condition. Easy to unfold antenna arms and came with mounting bracket. First time I ever hooked up house antenna, so the easier the better. I didn't have an antenna stand, and I couldn't handle a heavy metal pipe by myself, so I asked advice from local hardware store. Showed clerk the mounting bracket, which is the exact bracket used by satellite TV. I bought a five-foot-long, inch and one quarter PVC pipe that had a four-inch deep wide end. I already had an old satellite bracket mounted on side of house, so I installed 100 foot coax wire, tightened clamp to small end of PVC pipe and slipped wide end over the satellite mount. Easy and light, pipe thick enough to withstand strong wind and hold antenna. Bought coax by-the-foot and put ends on wire for $10.00 less than buying ready made coax. Ran coax to front of house and hooked to TV. Range is 100 miles. From Fresno, CA, I get Bakersfield and 83 more channels. I love this antenna. Now I can sleep in front of TV again.

Was this review helpful? (24) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Scrutiny
Reedley, CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
RCA Mini Yagi
4/16/2010

Customer review by pazz

5.0 stars 4/16/2010 by pazz
by pazz

When I first looked in to buying this & read the flowering reviews I thought some of these guys must be embellishing. They weren't. I'm at the fringe of it's suggested 40 mile range (35 miles from the broadcast towers of the DFW area) & it works great. Over the air does have it's inherent limited selection but I get the majors & PBS. So now I can dump the satellite dish & the $75 monthly fee that goes w/ it.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pazz
Roanoke. TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great reception for an economical price
8/17/2014

Customer review by bornlastcentury

5.0 stars 8/17/2014 by bornlastcentury
by bornlastcentury

After I got tired of paying a high cable bill for things I did not watch I ordered one for myself and liked it. I live in Carson City, NV but picked up all the local Reno stations; ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX, PBS (3 but one is Spanish), the CW (a smaller network but does have some of their own shows) and other retro channels, which are Antenna TV, THIS TV, RTV and METV. We have about 19 channels to watch but 4 are Spanish so its good for those folks also. We always have something to watch at any hour of the day. I like the retro channels because I was born in 1949 and grew up with some of those shows and I do not mind some of them in black & white because that is what I grew up with. After paying about $65 for the antenna in a local Walmart I no longer have a cable bill and get free TV. I recently got one for my mother and she gets the same channels I get and she also likes the old shows on the retro channels and she does not have to pay for TV anymore on her fixed retirement income. I ordered hers online from Walmart and it was even less expensive at about $50. I have done handyman work before and for me they were easy to install.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bornlastcentury
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Can't beat the price and performance
6/2/2012

Customer review by Doc34711

5.0 stars 6/2/2012 by Doc34711
by Doc34711

This little antenna is not even supposed to work in my area according to the color band chart printed on the box. I figured that if my local Lowes was selling it at a vastly inflated price then I'd give it a shot and buy from Walmart and save myself $40.00. I installed this in my attic to save me the possible grief with lightning strikes and I'm pulling in digital TV channels from 42+ miles away. We were with Directv and paying about $95 per month without HD and mainly watching the local channels anyway. Now we're paying zero per month and watching the local channels, Can't beat free HD programming.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Doc34711
Clermont, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Antena for the money
11/28/2009

Customer review by douggla

5.0 stars 11/28/2009 by douggla
by douggla

For the price, when you consider that it has a mast, it is a good value. I live around 16 miles East of Downtown Cincinnati. I am able to get nearly full strength on all of my local channels and am able to pick up Dayton stations (65 miles away) with about 65% strength. It is installed in my attic and pointed towards the signal source. Nice antenna. I'd buy again!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
douggla
Amelia, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
All I Ever Wanted
10/20/2009

Customer review by tpanc13

5.0 stars 10/20/2009 by tpanc13
by tpanc13

Don't know why I never installed an OFF-AIR antenna before. Great addition to my DISH satellite. The High Definition on the local channels is top quality with strength of 100% on all channels. The only channel I have a problem with is PBS which for some reason will not continuously stream -- picture stutters all the time and is unwatchable. I'm sure this is local transmitter problem since all other stations are excellent. I was first going to install this outside, but thought I'd give the attic a try since it is out of the weather and static problem. Couldn't be happier. Football is again watchable.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tpanc13
Amarillo, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Bang for the Buck
9/14/2012

Customer review by TripleJackInGA

4.0 stars 9/14/2012 by TripleJackInGA
by TripleJackInGA

I have the most basic of sattelite service, which doesn't include local channels. Now that Football season is here, I wanted to catch some games, and see what else was available Over The Air (OTA). I'm in Newnan, GA (30265), on the very North end of the county. Elevation is approximately 1041 feet ASL, but line of sight to transmitters is blocked by fairly thick trees. Most of the transmitters I'm looking for are off to the NW. I have this antenna mounted approximately 25' above ground level, on a pole. Cable is Quad Shielded RG6. 50' directly from the antenna to the TV, and not split. Looking elsewhere, I think this antenna is rated at approximately 40 miles, but I'm getting excellent signal from transmitters 57 miles away (14.1, 14.2, 14.3) & even 65 miles West of me in Alabama (7.1, 7.2, 7.3). Keep in mind this is a non-amplified antenna. First channel scan, I'm receiving signal from *67* channels. Keep in mind that there are a few that are way too far away to have usable signal, and many religious/non English speaking channels, so after getting rid of what I won't be using, I have 31 new channels. I get all major networks, plus multiple independents, several PBS & movie channels, and sub-channels. On all except the most distant (PBS Alabama 65+ miles away), the picture is rock solid, with no pixelization. Very happy with this purchase, and the price at WalMart.com is the best anywhere, especially with free Site To Store shipping. The only place locally that had this specific antenna in stock (a big box home improvement chain) had it for $79+! Walmart.com only $40! Overall, if you're within 30-50 miles of transmitters, and not in mountainous terrain, I'd give this a shot before you spend a ton on something else. TIP: When you connect the transformer to the antenna (so you can connect coax), tighten the 2 nuts carefully. You can twist the connectors right off of the wires.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TripleJackInGA
Newnan, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just buy this one
7/6/2014

Customer review by NG25

5.0 stars 7/6/2014 by NG25
by NG25

Save your time and money and just buy this antenna. We cut the cord on satelite a few weeks ago, and I wish this was the first antenna I put up. I've tried many others, including other RCA antennas, none can compare to the reception we get with this one.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NG25
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
SIMPLE, AND WORKS GREAT
6/1/2012

Customer review by ThriftyPeach

5.0 stars 6/1/2012 by ThriftyPeach
by ThriftyPeach

I am extremly pleased with this antenna. We bought it to get rid of our cable bill (like most). We previously had 2-3 channels with a fairly expensive indoor antenna. They would go in and out often. We knew we needed to get an outdoor antenna for our area, but didn't want a huge ugly one on our house, so we decided on this one. You CANT beat this PRICE and QUALITY! it comes with a mounting bracket and was so simple to assemble. To be honest, When we first picked it up i was dying to try it so i put it together myself (no hubby help# and just proped it against the wall of our living room, not pointed in any particular direction, just straight up. Got 12 chanels with it inside our house and no amplifier attached yet! Only comment i would have to anyone purchasing it is that you will need to buy your amplifier and connecting cable seperate, it does not come with one #no big deal). All antennas will need an amplifier if your cable is over 10-15', it just pushes the signal for you. Most people need a longer cable anyways and i would prefer to get a good amplifier so i can run it to 2 TV's. This product exceeded my expectations for the price. You can't beat it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ThriftyPeach
Albemarle, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 348 total reviews
1-20 of 348 reviews