Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 409 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

409 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

409 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
304
4 stars
73
3 stars
10
2 stars
5
1 stars
17
1-20 of 392 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 392 total reviews
1-20 of 392 reviews
Small Size, Big Performance
12/21/2009

Customer review by Samseba

5.0 stars 12/21/2009 by Samseba
by Samseba

I bought this atenna after reading some reviews, and I have to tell you that it really performs. The antenna is a small size, big performance baby that can be easily mounted in an attic. Before having this antenna, I had like 15 channels, and none had 100% signal strength. After installing it, I was able to pick 20 plus channels from 2 to 68 with reception of 100% for almost all of them in the DFW area. I am sure that if I mount this baby outside or add a signal amp, I can get 100% in all of my channels. Antennaweb.org says that I need a Red, Blue, and Violet color antenna, but this baby, which is designed for Yellow, Green, Light Green, and Red color zones performs with a grade of "A". If you are skeptical, be no more. This small size, but big performance antenna will do justice to your television set.

Was this review helpful? (242) (76)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Samseba
Cleburne, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Excited finally have free football/local tv
10/12/2014

Customer review by Techtobee

5.0 stars 10/12/2014 by Techtobee
by Techtobee

I am a older woman that hooked this up w/ minimal assistance from my hubby. I did my research and listened to the reviews that suggested using the dish set-up that I already had on my roof and to get the quad coax cables. I removed the dish and replaced it w/ the antenna that I purchased from Walmart online, even used the coax from the dish, which it had 2 ends but only used the 1 end, and the other 1 I left hanging, and I used the ground wire that was already there too. Had my hubby hook-up the coax cables interior/tv. We only rec'd 2 channels. So I again went to reviews that suggested to get an amplifier/booster at Radio Shack. He hooked that up and we got 4 of the best local channels! Then I adjusted the antenna as suggested on reviews and I got 6 channels! We already had streaming tv through Roku and a smart TV so we cut our bill from $130 to 7.99 for netflix and amazon prime appox. 7.50 a month, plus I get Gaiam TV 9.99 monthly ....I don't count my internet, since we had that anyway for our computers when we had dish... Now we get football on Sun. The only channel we don't get is channel 5 (CBS), which I have since found out that it is the only channel that is VHF low. So, If anyone has any suggestions, I would be grateful...cuz that channel has Thurs. night football and my Sunday morning show.. I am very pleased! Thanks to all of you that post your reviews! It is because of you (definitely not the directions) that made this possible for me.

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Techtobee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wide Range RCA Antenna
6/6/2014

Customer review by Scrutiny

5.0 stars 6/6/2014 by Scrutiny
by Scrutiny
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Delivery was fast, in perfect condition. Easy to unfold antenna arms and came with mounting bracket. First time I ever hooked up house antenna, so the easier the better. I didn't have an antenna stand, and I couldn't handle a heavy metal pipe by myself, so I asked advice from local hardware store. Showed clerk the mounting bracket, which is the exact bracket used by satellite TV. I bought a five-foot-long, inch and one quarter PVC pipe that had a four-inch deep wide end. I already had an old satellite bracket mounted on side of house, so I installed 100 foot coax wire, tightened clamp to small end of PVC pipe and slipped wide end over the satellite mount. Easy and light, pipe thick enough to withstand strong wind and hold antenna. Bought coax by-the-foot and put ends on wire for $10.00 less than buying ready made coax. Ran coax to front of house and hooked to TV. Range is 100 miles. From Fresno, CA, I get Bakersfield and 83 more channels. I love this antenna. Now I can sleep in front of TV again.

Was this review helpful? (29) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Scrutiny
Reedley, CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
RCA Antenna
1/24/2016

Customer review by Grampy

5.0 stars 1/24/2016 by Grampy
by Grampy

This seems pretty well made and well thought out. It's easy to assemble - You just spread it out and it clicks into place. Hook up two wires and good to go. We live in a marginal reception area so I am very thrilled that it is getting 4 major networks plus three UHF public stations! I grew up in this area during the early 1960's. Before cable came to town we could only pick up two channels on good days. Most days only one. (Of course they signed off at 11pm with a test pattern!) The station we are getting furthest away is about 50 miles.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grampy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good...but get an in-line amplifier!
8/22/2009

Customer review by BH797

5.0 stars 8/22/2009 by BH797
by BH797

After buying a couple (rather expensive) indoor HDTV antennas and having no success I was about to give up on this "free tv" idea. THEN I went to Radio Shack and they advised me to try an outdoor antenna. Although they didn't have the size I wanted in stock (not too small, not too large) they suggested I try Wal-Mart. This antenna was simple to hook up and started bringing in the channels I wanted immediately. Although this antenna stated a limit of 40 miles, my broadcast stations are a good 60 miles away and I still got decent reception! A couple channels were a wee bit pixelated so I decided to try an amplifier. I added a Philips in-line 18db amplifier (Wal-Mart also sales these at 24.95) and the result was excellent. I now get all my channels in crystal clear quality and WITHOUT a huge antenna. This is the one to buy, just get an in-line amplifier if you still need a little more reception and you should be fine. I now get a dozen or so free channels and no more cable bill. Not bad for about 100 bucks total spent!

Was this review helpful? (514) (68)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BH797
Wise, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Really out performs it's size
5/29/2015

Customer review by MoreMoneyForMe

5.0 stars 5/29/2015 by MoreMoneyForMe
by MoreMoneyForMe

I just replaced my directtv service with this rca little gem. It's size is actually a plus because it needs very little room to set it up and it stays out of your way while carrying it up a ladder. But don't let it's size fool you, the colors are jumping out at me from my tv. The picture and sound are much improved. Before installing this antenna I went to antenna web.com and entered my area position and and the site gave the direction to point the antenna in and reported that I receive a maximum of 28 channels. They were spot on. I am now viewing 28 great and most importantly, free channels. Who knew there were three 53 channels. There is 53-1 broadcasting fox. There is 53-2 showing classic movies just like tcm. And there 53-3 called "Grit" showing mainly westerns. There are two channel 2s. One showing cbs while 2-2 is called "decades" showing classic tv shows from "MASH" to Mary Tyler Moore." I could go on but these few examples are enough for me to say, thanks RCA.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MoreMoneyForMe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Antenna for multiple TV's
4/14/2012

Customer review by Jeff1001

5.0 stars 4/14/2012 by Jeff1001
by Jeff1001

This antenna was everything I was hoping for and more. It was very easy to install and I was able to mount it on my existing dish mounting pole. I just removed the dish and connected the existing coaxial cable to the new antenna and the installation was complete. It took me less than 10 minutes to remove my old dish satellite and install the new antenna in it's place. The reception and signal strength is excellent and I know I have made a great purchase on this antenna. I cancelled my dish satellite service and decided to try streaming with netflix and the experience thus far has been great. This little antenna allows me to watch all of the local tv stations and the national evening news. I purchased two new internet ready tv's and now I can watch all the movies I want including many tv series via netflix at a fraction of my previous cost from dish. The picture quality is excellent and I can't see a difference between my old Dish signal and the current antenna.

Was this review helpful? (115) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jeff1001
Henderson, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works Surprisingly Well
4/30/2010

Customer review by OtherBears

4.0 stars 4/30/2010 by OtherBears
by OtherBears

I've seen that most antenna reviews are mixed and tend to be influenced by people's locations. This one looked pretty consistent, so I tried it out. If you're ditching your dish, it will hook onto your exiting dish bracket (DirecTV), so the install is pretty easy. Reception is great with no booster. I just used the cabeling and signal splitter that DirecTV installed. On one tv (both of mine have Apex digital converter boxes also purchased from Walmart) I don't get one channel and on the other TV I don't get a different channel, which is odd. The mounting location is pointing through a tree, so I was very surprised at the reception I'm getting. Without this antenna, using just TV antennas, my reception is shotty and I don't get NBC at all. Now I get NBC on one of two TVs. The other channel I don't get on the other TV is Ion Life. Either way, we're saving $75 a month not having DirecTV. It's fine now, but it's going to hurt come football season. I live in Centennial, CO zip 80015. I fully recommend it for this area.

Was this review helpful? (38) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OtherBears
Centennial, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great reception for an economical price
8/17/2014

Customer review by bornlastcentury

5.0 stars 8/17/2014 by bornlastcentury
by bornlastcentury
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After I got tired of paying a high cable bill for things I did not watch I ordered one for myself and liked it. I live in Carson City, NV but picked up all the local Reno stations; ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX, PBS (3 but one is Spanish), the CW (a smaller network but does have some of their own shows) and other retro channels, which are Antenna TV, THIS TV, RTV and METV. We have about 19 channels to watch but 4 are Spanish so its good for those folks also. We always have something to watch at any hour of the day. I like the retro channels because I was born in 1949 and grew up with some of those shows and I do not mind some of them in black & white because that is what I grew up with. After paying about $65 for the antenna in a local Walmart I no longer have a cable bill and get free TV. I recently got one for my mother and she gets the same channels I get and she also likes the old shows on the retro channels and she does not have to pay for TV anymore on her fixed retirement income. I ordered hers online from Walmart and it was even less expensive at about $50. I have done handyman work before and for me they were easy to install.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bornlastcentury
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I can watch football!
9/29/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/29/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was using a couple of rabbit-ear antennas which worked OK for me until analog switch-off. The signal strength of one of the digital channels which carried most of the local football games dropped at that time. Last Sunday I didn't get to watch the game so decided to buy one of these antennas and install it in the attic above my garage. This is cabled to the basement where a -3dB splitter connects the family room and bedroom to the antenna. The signal strength of this one channel improved incredibly! The channel in question is one of the fwe VHF channels, most local TV is UHF in my area. If you are buying an antenna for digital TV you really must make sure it covers both VHF and UHF TV frequencies. This antenna does, and works very well. It even comes with a mounting bracket. If anything I think the antenna is a little expensive, but I am able to comfortably run two TVs off this one antenna.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Neenah, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No Reception
2/23/2010

Customer review by Ilovemountains

2.0 stars 2/23/2010 by Ilovemountains
by Ilovemountains

I read the reviews on this antenna. We had an old rusty roof top antenna up and picked up some digital channels. Thought that we would replace it with this antenna. We don't get anything with it. We are in a rural area and no stations nearby BUT surely you would think that this DIGITAL antenna would pick up at least one of the channels we get on our old rust bucket of an antenna. I unhooked the antenna and hooked up a set of rabbit ears and got reception when I couldn't with this antenna Very disappointed in it. The thing is that digital is great if you get it - no more watching a football game on a channel that has a little ghosting - you either get the channel in digital or you don't. There are pro's and cons to digital tv if you live in a rural area. We are also in a Federal Quiet Zone which may affect this antenna's reception. Cell service is spotty at best, etc. BUT people GET cell service at our home. It is one of the few places. So I would think that the Quiet Zone is not a problem.

Was this review helpful? (7) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ilovemountains
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Rating the RCA MiniYogi antenna
1/31/2016

Customer review by Nickp

5.0 stars 1/31/2016 by Nickp
by Nickp

I was a little dubious as to how well it would work as I am 30 miles from the metro area, but was pleasantly surprised. After mounting it in my attic in close proximity to my garage ladle and 4-5 small directional adjustments, I got 62 clear stations. By changing out my 13 year old splitter at the service point with a $4.99 high speed splitter , got 82 channels. All three TV's in my rooms have the same clear stations , except 2 rooms without a signal booster ( $16.99) only get around 60. I would definately recommend having any old splitters changed to the high speed splitter. Will be saving $70 + a month from satellite !!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nickp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
SIMPLE, AND WORKS GREAT
6/1/2012

Customer review by ThriftyPeach

5.0 stars 6/1/2012 by ThriftyPeach
by ThriftyPeach

I am extremly pleased with this antenna. We bought it to get rid of our cable bill (like most). We previously had 2-3 channels with a fairly expensive indoor antenna. They would go in and out often. We knew we needed to get an outdoor antenna for our area, but didn't want a huge ugly one on our house, so we decided on this one. You CANT beat this PRICE and QUALITY! it comes with a mounting bracket and was so simple to assemble. To be honest, When we first picked it up i was dying to try it so i put it together myself (no hubby help# and just proped it against the wall of our living room, not pointed in any particular direction, just straight up. Got 12 chanels with it inside our house and no amplifier attached yet! Only comment i would have to anyone purchasing it is that you will need to buy your amplifier and connecting cable seperate, it does not come with one #no big deal). All antennas will need an amplifier if your cable is over 10-15', it just pushes the signal for you. Most people need a longer cable anyways and i would prefer to get a good amplifier so i can run it to 2 TV's. This product exceeded my expectations for the price. You can't beat it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThriftyPeach
Albemarle, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good deal
2/1/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/1/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

For Ha Ha's I Tried it in the same room as the tv and was a little fuzzy so I put it in the attic (one floor house) and it works great. The only disclaimer I would put is according the map that shows what you should get I am in about as good a location as anywhere else in the state!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
HD Antenna
2/2/2016

Customer review by racewalkerII

4.0 stars 2/2/2016 by racewalkerII
by racewalkerII

It is working better than I expected. Still has some blinking out at times but it is OK and the oak trees around me haven't bothered the reception.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
racewalkerII
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Can't beat the price and performance
6/2/2012

Customer review by Doc34711

5.0 stars 6/2/2012 by Doc34711
by Doc34711

This little antenna is not even supposed to work in my area according to the color band chart printed on the box. I figured that if my local Lowes was selling it at a vastly inflated price then I'd give it a shot and buy from Walmart and save myself $40.00. I installed this in my attic to save me the possible grief with lightning strikes and I'm pulling in digital TV channels from 42+ miles away. We were with Directv and paying about $95 per month without HD and mainly watching the local channels anyway. Now we're paying zero per month and watching the local channels, Can't beat free HD programming.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Doc34711
Clermont, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
RCA Suburban Mini Yagi TV Antenna
1/28/2009

Customer review by projectionist44

5.0 stars 1/28/2009 by projectionist44
by projectionist44

This little antenna works great. I live about 20 miles from the local tv transmitters, all located west of me. I installed the antenna in the attic of my two story home with a hundred feet of antenna cable and no amplifier, pointed it west, locked it in and went downstairs to program the tv. It pulled in a total of 25 channels analog and digital. HD picture and sound quality is great with this antenna. When i compared it to my satellite dish i couldn't tell the difference. Time to ditch the dish and save a few bucks a month.

Was this review helpful? (228) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
projectionist44
Wynantskill, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works as advertised
7/9/2014

Customer review by KayakTourer

4.0 stars 7/9/2014 by KayakTourer
by KayakTourer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We ditched Dish Network and put this antenna up in about 45 minutes. Using an INDOOR antenna, we only received 5 stations and now with this unit we get 24 stations. We added a 10db gain preamp from Radio Shack (it was on sale for only $6.50) and the reception is excellent. We live in Flagstaff, Az. so mountains are a factor in TV reception. Clearly an indoor antenna doesn't work as well as this outdoor unit. The RCA Mini Yagi was easy to install and hook up. It will pay for itself in the first month of use given that Dish is close to $100 per month and this antenna gives us FREE TV. Add Netflix or a similar product and you'll save substantial dollars on your TV entertainment.

Was this review helpful? (32) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KayakTourer
Flagstaff, Az.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great antenna so far
1/11/2016

Customer review by maryinva

5.0 stars 1/11/2016 by maryinva
by maryinva

We dropped cable several months ago and had been using a homemade DB4 style antenna. Saw this one online for a bargain price. My husband said installation was easy and the antenna seems well constructed. It took him 2 hours to install on side of brick veneer house, including running 40' ground wire from the antenna bracket to ground rod. We are picking up a few channels in the next state (100 miles south). Highly recommend!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
maryinva
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Don't give up before you try an outdoor antenna
6/29/2012

Customer review by UbeRationale

5.0 stars 6/29/2012 by UbeRationale
by UbeRationale

My mom is sick of the cable bill. She was not getting any digital recption with bunny ears. I found some reviews that said the winegard ss-3000 was one of the best indoor antennas. I tried it, it did not do the job, very poor performance. I returned it and figured my last attempt would be an outdoor antenna. This Mini Yagi outdoor antenna from RCA is doing a great job. It has generally doubled signal strength on all channels and found channels that were not found earlier. It is small and does not look horrible. I hooked up a GE 24DB signal amplifier at the antenna and am running the signal through 80ft of cable. I am happy with this product!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UbeRationale
NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 392 total reviews
1-20 of 392 reviews