Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 51 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

51 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

51 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
42
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-20 of 46 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 46 total reviews
1-20 of 46 reviews
Just What the Doctor Ordered
3/24/2009

Customer review by StanTheYoungMan

5.0 stars 3/24/2009 by StanTheYoungMan
by StanTheYoungMan

When my modem started showing signs that it was about to fail I started research on what was out there for a guy with my needs. My old system consisted of a DSL modem running through a router networking two computers all hardwired. My research led me to the Actiontech modem and four port router all in one. I liked what I read and the price was good so I bought it and I'm glad I did. It took all of ten minutes to set it up for ATT and after having it for over a month now I can say it's great. Actiontech hit a home run with this unit. It has served without interruption and has met every demand I have made. There are other units like this out there and I'm sure that they are good.I chose this one because all the info was positive, it best met my need, and the price was right. If you have a wired system with four or less computers on consider this modem/router. I think you will be pleased with it.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StanTheYoungMan
Abilene, Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Actiontec DSL Modem
3/12/2010

Customer review by carmibutters

5.0 stars 3/12/2010 by carmibutters
by carmibutters

We bought this item because we thought our att router was bad. Turns out it wasn't the router but we're keeping this one anyway because we feel the speed has increased since switching routers. Just be aware att does not like to play "nice" when you call to have a new password for your new modem. But anyone who has dealt with att for years as I have knows they don't like to play nice very often anyway!!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
carmibutters
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
100% SATISFIED
8/22/2009

Customer review by HesDanTheMan

5.0 stars 8/22/2009 by HesDanTheMan
by HesDanTheMan

This was extremely easy to set up. It seems to run great, and I'm looking forward to using it as a network connector very shortly. Also the Site to Store ordering and delivery from Walmart was exceptional. Where they said it would be 10 - 14 business days, only took 5 days TOTAL from ordering to delivery to my local Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HesDanTheMan
Long Beach, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Actiontec DSL Modem
7/14/2010

Customer review by LoveToJuice

5.0 stars 7/14/2010 by LoveToJuice
by LoveToJuice

I purchased this product after my original Verizon modem finally died. I am very pleased so far. I live in WV and Verizon has switched over to Frontier. I was worried that this would create problems in my set up but it did not. Everything went smooth with the quick set guide.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveToJuice
Charleston, West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Modem but.....
4/3/2009

Customer review by fmlycalderon

5.0 stars 4/3/2009 by fmlycalderon
by fmlycalderon

this is a great and effective modem, BUT at&t does not SUPPORT the modem. It does work with at&t, just have to be patient with at&t. Runs great, works at a faster speed than motorola modems, IMO!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fmlycalderon
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A1 Product
9/23/2010

Customer review by dm70

5.0 stars 9/23/2010 by dm70
by dm70

actiontec dsl modem w/router. a "five star product" without reservation. blows past at@t modems for start-up speed by minutes. one happy camper here with the actiontec modem. easy to install. could not find my password for at@t dsl hook up, had to contact them, let me say- they were extremely helpful and stayed with me until every thing was up and running. 5 stars to them also. p.s. I'm 70 years old and appreciated their help.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dm70
Poplar Bluff, Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
excellent product
1/31/2009

Customer review by shortyman

5.0 stars 1/31/2009 by shortyman
by shortyman

excellent product, affordable&user friendly.(great for at&t dsl internet)

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shortyman
navarre, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/12/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/12/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The modem was very easy to install and works great even though my internet provider said that I should buy their product for $40 more or my computer would not work properly! Ha!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Norton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product
9/20/2010

Customer review by Partner1

5.0 stars 9/20/2010 by Partner1
by Partner1

This was the easiest install I've ever had with a computer periferral. I use AT&T DSL This is a no brainer. Get it

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Partner1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great gateway
6/22/2010

Customer review by CaptCrazyhorse

5.0 stars 6/22/2010 by CaptCrazyhorse
by CaptCrazyhorse

I purchased this particular gateway as I wasn't going to pay $100 for AT&T's when I ordered my new DSL, and since I have an Ethernet network already it dropped right in and replaced the existing switch. I figured it would be cheaply made and rather hard to setup. Was I blown away, It was so easy to put in and setup, it looks nice, and is rather sturdy. The one thing they dont mention is there is an included ISP setup sheet that goes with the quick setup guide. This allowed me to setup my DSL without my self install kit that never came. After one month it has worked great. It handled two power outages from storms without a hitch and I only have had to turn it off once for a few minutes to let something on the ISP's side clear.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CaptCrazyhorse
Novi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better than buying from AT&T
1/1/2011

Customer review by AirforceZack

5.0 stars 1/1/2011 by AirforceZack
by AirforceZack

I'm currently with AT&T internet services and have purchased there DSL Modem. I enjoyed playing online games ( PS3 and XBOX 360 ) and it is soooooooo slow like waiting in line at Kmart that i cant even shoot an enemy at all ( love playing MAG on PS3 )....so then i tried out this Actiontec DSL Modem and it works fast like an F15 Strike Eagle or lightning fast. So to all ya out there, if your going to hook up AT&T internet for the first time, i recommend you not buying one from them. Its so easy to hook this up like peeling a banana. I came so close to canceling AT&T and go with Comcast. Cant afford Comcast....bye bye to my old modem. now that its hooked up to home computer and games without any problem...thanks lol

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AirforceZack
Stockton, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product
3/11/2010

Customer review by Fixitman100

5.0 stars 3/11/2010 by Fixitman100
by Fixitman100

Wanted to get a DSL modem that performed better than the type my ISP provides...read some info on this and decided to give it a try. It did not auto configure which didn't surprise me, my ISP does not like to have you buy your own modems, they want to lease you one, I think they go out of there way to try to convince you not to buy one...(well Sir if you buy your own our tech people may not be able to help you...blah blah blah). I simply needed to get a little extra info from the tech guy on the phone and I had it up and running quickly in the manual mode...it has performed flawlessly and is a little faster than the Westel I had. We are replacing the one at work with this same model. Highly recomended

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fixitman100
Northern WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easy set-up
4/2/2010

Customer review by etownmom

4.0 stars 4/2/2010 by etownmom
by etownmom

Just set up this modem...wow, was it easy! It said I would need my user name & password from my carrier but it was able to configure it all on it's own. It seriously only took 2 minutes or less. I am not real savvy when it comes to computers and I was a bit confused on the modem/router part. I really wanted wireless and thought it would do both but it doesn't, this was my misunderstanding. It does have 4 ports that you can plug up to 4 computers/devices into but a separate router is needed. I am planning to keep this for the modem as I am renting one from my dsl carrier. This modem seems to be a little faster than the one from the dsl carrier also.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
etownmom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Actiontec GT724R, a good DSL modem.
10/17/2010

Customer review by unclerobert

4.0 stars 10/17/2010 by unclerobert
by unclerobert

Once setup, it works fine, a bit slower than I expected. Getting it online was a test in patience. Despite being advertised as "preconfigured for simple setup". But since I was a new DSL customer (finally kicked cables high rates out), and my provider (Centurylink) was not listed as one of Actiontec's preconfigured setups, & Centurylink did not provide the modem, they did not want to help. To his credit, the Phone Tech. did give me the 3 settings I needed to configure. It was my first DSL setup & all I can say is it is not for the novice. I did it because of bad reviews for my providers modems & to save the monthly fee.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
unclerobert
Bassett, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
DSL Modem/Router
10/15/2009

Customer review by NWNY001

5.0 stars 10/15/2009 by NWNY001
by NWNY001

DSL modems can be somewhat difficult to set up. This Actiontec model was very easy, and up and running within 15 minutes of installation. You just follow the instructions (which are easy, and not that many steps), and you're online. It's high speed connection too, being a little faster than the service provider's modem. Of course, don't forget that it's a router as well, so up to 4 computers can be connected. I have only tried it so far with 2 computers, but have not had any problems, or apparent loss in speed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NWNY001
New Windsor, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A great product!
8/30/2010

Customer review by Queen2010

5.0 stars 8/30/2010 by Queen2010
by Queen2010

I had a Motorola DSL modem, the one supplied by AT&T. It lasted only one year and bang, it was dead. In my research for a new one I came across this one Actiontec. I had never heard of it before. All the reviews I had read on this product claimed it was a very good product. So I went ahead and bought it. I am not sorry that I did. It was simple to install and I was up and online in a matter of minutes. This product is perfect for someone who doesn't know much about computers and connections. Great product!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Queen2010
Fanning Springs, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A good value to replace an AT&T modem
4/17/2010

Customer review by NLRWilliam

5.0 stars 4/17/2010 by NLRWilliam
by NLRWilliam

If you are looking for an AT&T Modem replacement, this is the one. I've had it for a month with no problems. There is an automatic setup style available which detects your needs, but that didn't work for me. Luckily, they had a second set of options where you select your ISP. That did the trick! This item was not available in the stores. The cost of shipping was low and quick enough to still make it a great deal. Good luck finding a better deal for a good produce elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NLRWilliam
North Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not to be confused with a Wireless Router
10/9/2010

Customer review by DSLUSER

2.0 stars 10/9/2010 by DSLUSER
by DSLUSER

The description of this product mentions it as "A modem and a router in one box". When they mean router, its just a wired gateway. This product doesn't act like a Wireless Router. If you call the customer service, Actiontec automatic voice prompts will tell you "the approx. wait time of your call is 1 min". But, it takes a minimum of 15 to 20 minutes. This happened to me every time I called them. However, the product was very easy to install and working well with AT&T.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DSLUSER
Peoria IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Modem :D
9/22/2009

Customer review by Abiotic

5.0 stars 9/22/2009 by Abiotic
by Abiotic

My old modem kept dieing on me so I needed a modem fast, ordered this Actiontec modem through one day air. Got it the next day! I'm more impressed of how fast i received it more than the product but don't get me wrong. Since I got it its worked great! Just hooked it up, went to to the modem home page and let it auto configure. Took about 5 minutes in total to auto configure and was surfing in 6. Good buy for good performance. Hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Abiotic
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easy to install
12/23/2009

Customer review by slug

4.0 stars 12/23/2009 by slug
by slug

This modem came with everything that I needed. I am not computer savvy and I was able to install it and it configured everything with little help from me. My internet speed increased greatly after installing this modem. About two weeks into having the new modem, my internet connection completely failed. I called my internet provider and they suggested that I unplug the modem, wait a few minutes, then plug it in again. Problem solved.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
slug
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 46 total reviews
1-20 of 46 reviews