Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 225 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

225 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

225 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
140
4 stars
47
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 stars
21
1-20 of 214 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 214 total reviews
1-20 of 214 reviews
Good, but a few changes would be nice
11/15/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 11/15/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Thought long and hard between this product and the comparable Dyson. Went with Hoover because it was cheaper and had better reviews for its suction. Some things need to be changed however: (1) the vacuum hose is too short. It should extend at least another few feet so I can reach the cobwebs around the ceiling; (2) When winding up the power cord around back, the cord ends at the bottom hook. This is a pain; it would be better if the cord was about 12 inches longer; (3) The top hook that holds the power cord could be a little bigger so that the cord doesn't slide off when it is being stored; (4) the vacuum cleaner (like other quality cleaners) is heavy; (5) the light could be brighter; and (6) the dirt canister release is near the bottom and it is impossible not to get your hands dirty when reattaching the canister lid (not sure why they can't design this better). Notwithstanding these minor grips, I would still buy this product again. Nevertheless, I hope Hoover Engineers address these issues.

An anonymous customer
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
You will be disappointed.
12/4/2012

Customer review by Marine Vet

1.0 stars 12/4/2012 by Marine Vet
by Marine Vet

I lke the way it cleans carpets, but only so-so on bare floors. Only two attachments, and light weight ones at that. No wand extention availble so if you have drapes or spider webs on the ceiling you can't reach them. Also unit is too large to fit under and around furniture, so the lack of an extension for the hose, and a smaller power brush is a very large negative. Apparently the accountants who cut manufacturing costs on this unit never consulted the engineering department about its lack of standard cleaning applications that every home owners uses. For the price and the name I expected a premium Hoover vacumn cleaner, but my older $100.00 Hoover out performed this model, and is built out of more heavy duty and metal parts, with more cleaning tools and a longer hose. I don't advise this unit for anyone who wishes to clean their home. Its like a car with no doors, seats, window glass, or hood or trunk lid. The basis rug cleaning works, but nothing else works properly because of lack of good design.

Marine Vet
Reno, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Finally a great bagless with one flaw
7/26/2009

Customer review by Goateeguy

4.0 stars 7/26/2009 by Goateeguy
by Goateeguy

There is a big issue with closing the the trap door when you empty the dirt cup. It takes several tries and just the right touch to close it. I spend more than one or 2 minutes trying to get it closed. It's a shame because it really is easy to empty. The dirt falls out the bottom and you dont' have to reach in like others that have the Hepa filter next to the dirt collection like the Hoover Convertible models. It feels much better built than a Dyson and has absolutely great power. The suction is great and is even super strong when using the wand or or dusting brush. Does a fab job on hardwood too. Like the longer cord too. One thing that is great is there is absolutely no odor when you use the vac the next time. The Hoover bagless Convertible stinks from one time to the next even though the container is emptied. I hope they improve the trap door closing mechanism and notify those of us who bought this model that we can obtain a replacement part. It's a great vac with top notch features you cant get in other vacs.

Goateeguy
Dayton, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good vacuum cleaner
12/2/2009

Customer review by Jenna Swift

4.0 stars 12/2/2009 by Jenna Swift
by Jenna Swift

Well seeing as this is a vacuum - I use the "product" to vacuum! (seriously??) I saw the Platinum Bagless when it first came out and wanted to try it SO bad - but [$] for a VACUUM??? [...] I used it right after I got home... whew - I hate cleaning and vacuuming ranks right up there, but I was SO surprised at how much dust and dog dander came up. I filled the small cup twice and I have a small apt! I am missing quite a few pieces because it was an open stock item and the human species is overrun by theives who just had to take pieces and parts, but the vacuum does it's job and gets the dirt out! I really just wish it was a little quieter. And not so heavy. The dirt cup issue - I was surprised that they made it so you have to push in the release tab to close, but that took 5 seconds to figure out once I looked at what was goin' on. Over all, yes I would recommend this vacuum to ppl (so long as they don't mind spending boo-koo bucks).

Jenna Swift
Kent, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great alternative to a Dyson!
5/24/2010

Customer review by SkyGuy79

4.0 stars 5/24/2010 by SkyGuy79
by SkyGuy79

I purchased this model at a chain wholesaler (wish I could tell you the AWESOME deal I got on it but I'm not supposed to) after considering the famed Dyson but I didn't want to pay twice what I got this one for! I took it home and was amazed at how much dirt came out of a "clean" rug. This thing can really SUCK! It is incredibly quiet for such a powerful machine, and the suction doesn't stop even with a full dirt cup. I am glad I chose this instead of a Dyson as it has features the Dyson doesn't have: Windtunnel Technology DirtFinder LED light on the front I wish there was a way to purchase the turbo handheld that seems to come with some models but didn't with mine even though it is supposedly a top-of-the-line model! If Hoover truly wants to meet/beat/exceed Dyson, they should include more attachments and make the hose longer. Also, the one thing the Dyson DOES have on this is the ability to open the dirt cup from the main handle. On this one you have to hit a release and can get your hands very dirty trying to close it. You can do even better Hoover!

SkyGuy79
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
WOW WHAT A VACUUM!!!!!
7/14/2010

Customer review by Da Plumber

5.0 stars 7/14/2010 by Da Plumber
by Da Plumber

This is our second Hoover. Our first which is a Savy, is at our cabin. We totally abused this vacuum, during remodeling, by the way it still works like new. We have owned an Electrolux that we paid $1,200.00 15 years ago that we thought was a great machine. Pulled our new Platinum out of the box, attached the handle with the two screws, easy! Vacuumed half of our family room and had to empty the canister twice. Took the old vacuum and vacuumed the other half, then took the platinum and still had to empty the canister twice. Vacuumed the entire house and we pulled a minimum of 5-7 lbs of gross dirt, dust, and pet hair out. It was gross!! Since the new vacuum has been here, less than a week I can see a huge difference in our carpeting and home. Thanks Hoover, just hope that it will hold up as our Savy, but with the 6 year warranty we feel real confident that it will perform for years to come. THANKS AGAIN HOOVER

Da Plumber
Waukesha, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing Power and Ease
9/10/2010

Customer review by Eric & Jamie F.

5.0 stars 9/10/2010 by Eric & Jamie F.
by Eric & Jamie F.

Last Saturday, during our weekly scrub-down of the apartment, our Hoover Savvy finally died after 6 long years of weekly use and abuse. I decided to get this one after much deliberation and research on this site and a couple others. I'm very impressed with what I got, and the thought of getting some other vacuum didn't even slip my mind seeing how impressed I was with our Savvy. I got home from work today, completed the minor assembly of our new Bagless Cyclonic Upright, and moved furniture around each room as my Wife chased my steps with our new vacuum at a very slow pace. We had to empty the canister 8 or 9 times! We clean this place weekly, and in one hour, I felt as if we had never cleaned this carpet. In conclusion, I highly recommend this vacuum. The suction is extremely powerful, it is easy to use, it isn't accompanied by 15 attachments that no one uses . . . just the ones everyone does use, and even though it is shown to be 19 pounds, it is quite effortless to push it around the carpet. It's a little tricky to empty the canister the first couple of times, but once you got it, you got it.

Eric & Jamie F.
Albany, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worst vacuum I have EVER used!!
5/20/2011

Customer review by Nannygoat the cleaner

1.0 stars 5/20/2011 by Nannygoat the cleaner
by Nannygoat the cleaner

I have cleaned houses for 25 years. A dear family that has used my services for over twelve years recently bought a Hoover Cyclonic Upright Bagless. I absolutely dread having to use this machine!! It is by far the heaviest vacuum I have ever used. Trying to navigate up and down stairs is a back breaking endeavor. Forget about trying to actually vacuum the stairs themselves. There is NO grip or handle to assist in carrying. I have never been a fan of bagless as the cost of the filters is ridiculous and emptying the canister just raises a cloud of filth!! Save your money and get the Hoover Tempo bagged for $80 bucks on-line. A bag of bags cost about 6 bucks. And the suction on this thing is amazing. There is so much suction on the tool part that I have actually had to retrieve articles of clothing from the bag when not being careful. Best vacuum I have owned.

Nannygoat the cleaner
Houston, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
No more chances...
6/30/2013

Customer review by Sorry

1.0 stars 6/30/2013 by Sorry
by Sorry

I purchased two hoovers, both were the platinum series.  What a disappointment!  Unfortunately both the service and products were disappointing.  This motor's ball bearing went bad.  This bearing should have been a shielded bearing.  (Shielded bearings keep dirt out and allow the bearing to last.).  It seems that the design intent was to make the vacuum fail on purpose. It should also be noted that other issues arose.  None as serious as the motor failure.  Most were just cosmetic, for example the wheels falling off.   My other platinum hoover was for  shampooing. For service, I drove 45 minutes each way to the closest service center.  After the third time I took the hoover in for repair, the service center said that they no longer serviced hoovers.  In the end, they 'disposed' the cleaner. I believe that if you purchase the top of the line and both fall apart, something is wrong.  For the vacuum, do not expect it to last like your mothers vacuum.  (Built in failure points.) Sorry Hoover, you lost a long time loyal customer. I'm going to give Bissell a try.  (At least the learning experience with them will be less costly.)

Comment from Ian - 7/1/2013

Hi, we know that has to be frustrating but we're here to help. We have a few questions about your Platinum and will be reaching out to you via e-mail. Thanks so much.

Sorry
L.A. CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Watch out other bagless uprights
3/10/2009

Customer review by MM kid

5.0 stars 3/10/2009 by MM kid
by MM kid

All I can say is this is by far the best upright that Hoover has ever made, I'm looking forward to using the canister as well, I had other leading bagless upright,what a thing of junk it was, The thing had no carpet height or light , nothing to tell when the carpet was clean.plus it was lossing is power , tTo the other leading vacuum you miss lead me , That's not cool.This new hoover blow's that other leading vacuum right out of the water, All I can say to the "The Hoover company "great Job, Nice idea that has been put to use. What a great concept. Now make one that it selfproprelled and I have that as well .I wopuld love to test the new canister for your company and give you my opinion on this new canister as well. , But back to the upright, this upright is so easy to use, [...]. I would like to know if the Hoover company will be making a long 20 foot hose to add for extra reach on the step's and over head. Once again I love this. I could tell right from the frist time using it it was a winner. Again great Job Hoover please keep this up!!! You are on the right track with this new line of vacuum's You all should be very proud of this new line . GREAT JOB!!!!!!!!

MM kid
Arnold,Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The winner of a week's long search
9/28/2009

Customer review by DTamer116

5.0 stars 9/28/2009 by DTamer116
by DTamer116

It picked up a lot of sand out of the carpet I didn't even know was there, and I vacuumed the day before. I love not having to clean filters after every use. This was the one thing I was looking for. This is my fourth vacuum in 4 years, (first Hoover) and the first to leave me satisfied. The dust cup not closing isn't great, but can be worked with. Not being able to go under furniture very far is disappointing, but the head is fairly low profile. The hose is readily available though, and reaches 8 feet. The dirt sensor is not standard I found. Mine turned out not to have it, but this is not a deal breaker. Don't have to look at the head all the time now. 6 year warranty is a bonus. I researched a long time, and the competitors all had issues the Hoover did not. Five stars well earned.

DTamer116
Winnipeg, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
love love it
6/11/2011

Customer review by vaccum queen

5.0 stars 6/11/2011 by vaccum queen
by vaccum queen

this was the best vaccum I've ever bought I would not trade it for anything. I had a place come out to tell me all about their vaccum and how theres was to beat anyone else just say the hover out did it because they couldn't pick up anything off my living room area rug because I just vaccumed it before they came but I did let them use it on my kitchen area rug and yes it did pick up and he told me that it was clean and that he would give me half off the vaccume if I couldn't pick up any thing with mine the thing was I went over the exact spot he did and the vaccum ended up reading dirty and it picked up a whole lot that his vaccumed missed so never say the least he packed up his stuff and left and never heard from him since.

vaccum queen
Ramsey Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Horrible life expectancy
5/12/2013

Customer review by elisakers

1.0 stars 5/12/2013 by elisakers
by elisakers

A year ago I would have given this vacuum 5 stars. But that's all the longer it's lasted. I originally had to have my first version replaced by Hoover with the same model, because the thing just stopped turning on. That was a month after I bought it. Now, a year later, #2 not only won't turn on, but when it does, the raising and lowering mechanism in the vacuum head won't work, and the brushes don't engage. The Hoover-authorized warranty center tried once to fix it and didn't. They've now had it for 2 months and have continued to say that they can't get the parts from Hoover to fix it. $200 down the drain. If you don't mind buying a new vacuum in a year, go for this one. The year you have with it will be lovely.

Comment from Ian - 5/15/2013

Hi elisakers, we agree that this is unacceptable. We are contacting you via e-mail so that we can make this right. Thanks so much.

elisakers
Akron, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Worst vacuum i have ever had
3/22/2012

Customer review by BigMann623

1.0 stars 3/22/2012 by BigMann623
by BigMann623

I thought to myself lets spend some money on a good vacuum this time. Well i have now found out that my old cheap vacuum work better and far much longer. I used this vacuum for about a month then all of a sudden we had issues. The headlight flashes every time i unplug it and wont restart until it has sat unplugged for 30 mins or longer. So if i switch rooms i cant unplug or i wont be able to finish. Of course i e-mailed support and all i got was take it to a service center. A little help would have been nice maybe i can fix this at home without spending time and money. In short hoover has now lost my business and i will not recommend this product to anyone. Mainly due to poor support!!

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 3/22/2012

We are sorry to hear about the issue with your vacuum and understand your frustration! We recommend having the vacuum checked to determine the issue. Your cleaner has a manufactures defect warranty; please visit http://hoover.com/locator/ for a listing of local service dealers for assistance.

BigMann623
Greenwood, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
I now enjoy vacuuming
10/21/2009

Customer review by Kent the clothesman

5.0 stars 10/21/2009 by Kent the clothesman
by Kent the clothesman

I am a 55 year old male and vacuuming is not the kind of activity I normally look forward to. That has changed with this cleaner. I think it is a great unit and does a superb job. quick story: there is a carpeted area right past the kitchen where all foot traffic and three dogs must pass to get into the house. When I started using this unit it took 30 minutes to clean that one area as the light kept saying dirty. I knew it was working fine because in the dining room, which has very little traffic, it took only a couple minutes for the entire room and then the green clean light stayed on the entire time. After spending 30 minutes going over and over the same 3' by 3' area, I was finally relived to see the clean light stay on. What I ended up dumping out of the canister left me speechless as I had no idea how dirty that area was. Now the green light comes on in about 30 seconds when I do that same spot. Speaking of dumping the canister, I read many comments about how hard it is. All you have to do is pull the little lever back a bit, close the thing, and then release the lever. very easy. The unit is great looking and the long cord is wonderful as that pretty much covers everything. I would hate to be Dyson or Kirby at this point. It smoked my old Kirby and I ended up giving it away. Thanks Hoover. Kent

Kent the clothesman
greensboro NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AWESOME PRODUCT MUST BUY
1/10/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/10/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I had grown tired of purchasing a new cleaner every couple of years. I had purchased another brand that was marketed as being designed for pet hair. I have a Saint Bernard so you can imagine how much hair is sucked up. The cleaner marketed for pet hair was no where close to the efficiency of the Hoover. My Hoover hasnt gotten clogged once from pet hair. I love the design and look of the vaccum as well as the bright LED lighting on the front of it. You know this is a great product when you have a 24 year old college student excited about using it and finally having a hair free carpet and home. Thank You Hoover for finally ceasing my frustration with cleaners.

An anonymous customer
Dublin, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dirt Doesn't Stand a Chance!
2/28/2009

Customer review by Carpet Cleaning Meister Wayne

4.0 stars 2/28/2009 by Carpet Cleaning Meister Wayne
by Carpet Cleaning Meister Wayne

The Platinum Cyclonic Upright kick's "dirt butt". The suction power is simply awesome. The new finger-touch control on the handle makes it very easy to operate. Also, it does not create a giant mess when emptying out the dirtcup, which was / is a big problem with the last series of bagless Windtunnel models (blue, orange, red and green models). For the price, I am disapointed that it does not come with extra hose and bare-floor cleaning tools, as found with the Windtunnel Complete (green-colored unit) that was the previous "top of the line" model from Hoover. Based on cleaning performance and ease-of-use, you will love this great new vacuum.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 2/28/2009

Hoover® Cleaning Tip: The Cyclonic Bagless Upright is compatible with most Hoover® upright hoses and accessories.

Carpet Cleaning Meister Wayne
Florham Park, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worst sweeper I've ever purchased
2/7/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 2/7/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have always purchased Hoover products and loved them but this is the worst product ever. I have to take the sweeper apart weekly and blow out each piece with an air compressor. The filters have been replaced two times and cleaned often and it picks up slightly for about a month and then were back to taking it apart. The hose comes off when using the attachments. It has been serviced so many times that the repairman knows me well. If Hoover won't replace this vac, I'm done buying their products. When in use it leaves dust balls on the floor. When carrying dirt falls out from the sweeper.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 2/7/2012

Thank you for your feedback! We are sorry to hear about the issues you have had with your vacuum. The issues as you describe would indicate clogging. Please call in to our Customer Care Department with your model number for assistance 1-800-944-9200, Mon-Fri 8am-7pm EST.

An anonymous customer
Lake Milton, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Blows the others out of the running!!!
6/9/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/9/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I am a previous Hoover Windtunnel owner and Loved it, but after 8 years one side of the rollers quit, I thought it did a great job, but this new one blows it out of the waters. It picks up cat hair and dander fantasticly and I have long hair, it works great on that too and doesn't get caught around the roller. Also my old Hoover attachments work on this one too. I would defently recomend to my friends and family and have. Price is higher then most but it's worth it if you don't have to buy one every couple of years like with others, check out wharehouse stores for good prices too.

An anonymous customer
Ottawa Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Utterly impressed
3/20/2010

Customer review by Pike

5.0 stars 3/20/2010 by Pike
by Pike

This unit Blows the Dyson out of the water. We have been using a Dyson for 5 years and thought it was terriffic. Until things started to break, like the Handle cracking and the Hose ripping in two, very dissapointing. When we purchased our Dyson it only had a two year warranty, so you gotta love the six year with hoover. Would reccomend this unit to anyone, and will never own another Dyson,ever. We ran our Dyson in the family room twice, Then 5 minutes later ran our Platinum Hoover and filled the canister. That pretty much summed it up for us. Hope this helps future Vacuum Buyers.

Pike
Wilmington, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 214 total reviews
1-20 of 214 reviews