Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 225 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

225 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

225 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
140
4 stars
47
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 stars
21
1-20 of 214 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 214 total reviews
1-20 of 214 reviews
An Excellent Product - Great Suction!
4/1/2010

Customer review by dude2008

5.0 stars 4/1/2010 by dude2008
by dude2008

I own a cleaning business and I bought this vacuum to take with me from job to job. At first, I was kind of leery about purchasing this vacuum because it seemed to me that a high-quality vacuum cleaner should cost at least $500 or more. Well after a lot of research, I chose this vacuum because it was highly recommended by a consumer product review company. When it arrived, I just had to try it out, so I plugged it in and started it up. The vacuum cleaner worked Extremely Well!!! The height-control feature on the handle is priceless-no more having to bend over to change the setting! It worked well on both bare floors and carpeting! The suction is great; it has a lot better suction than some of the vacuums I have used before. The bagless feature is very nice! I was amazed at how much dirt and pet hair it vacuumed up on a floor that was just recently vacuumed(less than one-week ago). It is easy to push on carpet and bare floors; however the maneuverability on bare floors does take some getting used to. The onboard cleaning wand/tools and 8-ft stretch hose are great! The extra-long 40-foot cord is really great as well! Overall, I am extremely satisfied with this vacuum cleaner! Hoover did a great job designing and building this vacuum cleaner. I would highly recommend this vacuum to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dude2008
Wylie, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good at first..
7/14/2010

Customer review by LittleFoxx

2.0 stars 7/14/2010 by LittleFoxx
by LittleFoxx

I've had this vacuum for about 6 months now. We have 2 medium haired dogs and a cat. Our carpet is a little longer then most. I bought this as an alternative to a Dyson, I wish I wouldn't have. While it worked great for the first month or two now it barely sucks up anything not even small pieces of cereal. We got this model in hopes that it would work well for everyday vacuuming. We only have 4 rooms that are carpeted so you would think it would still be running well. When we first got it we used that powdered carpet cleaner and the vacuum stopped sucking after the first week. So you definitely can not use that. We exchanged it and got a new one. Now approx. 6 months later it no longer sucks up anything. We changed the filter and cleaned it COMPLETELY inside. The suction is just not there anymore. It doesn't come with anything to clean the stairs and it is TERRIBLE on hardwood floors(better off using a swiffer vac) I would NOT recommend this for an active or pet home unless you want to replace it 1-2 times a year.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LittleFoxx
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great vacuum
4/2/2010

Customer review by avidvacuumer

5.0 stars 4/2/2010 by avidvacuumer
by avidvacuumer

I have owned this vacuum for about a month, so I feel I have given it a true test. My old vacuum was also a Hoover, the Self Propelled Wind Tunnel and was still working, but the latch that held it upright when not in use was broken. When looking for something new I decided to try the Dyson. Returned it after one use, just didn't seem to pick up as good as my old wind tunnel. I decided to go on line and do some reserch and look around .After doing alot of reading I decided on the platinum bagless. I have not been sorry for one minute! this vacuum picks up and makes the carpet look like new. It's a heavy vacuum but after trying the light weight ones I decided for the job I want done this is the machine! and Walmart had the best price! My only recommendation is to Hoover it would be nice to have an extra on board extension wand. I think any one who buys this vacuum will love the extra long cord and be very surpised at how much dirt their old vacuum was leaving behind, even if you are avid vacuumer as I am. I highly recomend the Hoover Platinum Bagless vacuum!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
avidvacuumer
s. cal mountains
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love it!
4/22/2009

Customer review by kdjhflaig

5.0 stars 4/22/2009 by kdjhflaig
by kdjhflaig

I love the fact that I am able to vacuum not only my carpets, but at the touch of a button, I am able to vacuum my bare floors. It was a little spendy and a bit heavy, but I wanted to get a good quality vacuum. It could use a few more accessory tools and a wand extension to reach the very low and high places. But overall, I am very satisfied with my Hoover vacuum. I would definitely recommend this to anyone. It really gets the dirt and lets you know with the dirty/clean indicator.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kdjhflaig
Milbank, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Decent Dyson Alternative
9/11/2009

Customer review by Jiblvr

4.0 stars 9/11/2009 by Jiblvr
by Jiblvr

We were ready to take the plunge and get a Dyson when I stumbled upon the Hoover Platinum Bagless Upright. It was $298 at Walmart - over $150 cheaper than I have seen it elsewhere, had a fantastic warranty and decent reviews. I decided to pocket the other $200 I would have spent on the Dyson and give this one a go. This thing SUCKS...in a good way! I'm a clean freak who gets excited by carpet lines left by vacuums. I cannot express the pleasure I get by using this vacuum. It's really, truly powerful and I'm really confident my house is dust and allergen-free by what I see this thing sucking up everytime I use it. Other pros: Extra long cord - I can do my entire 1700 sq. ft first floor without replugging. It is super easy to move the brush up or down or turn it off all together for the hardwoods with a touch of a button located right at the top of the handle. And the headlights on this thing are cooler than the ones on my car. It also has a neat little "clean" vs. "dirty" sign that pops up when it senses ground in dirt. It's also much quieter than it's competitors which is nice. Things that are so-so: Cleaning the dirt chamber...not exactly easy or foolproof. But I've read the same with all bagless vacuums including the Dyson. I now empty it in a bag outside. Lesson learned. I also wish the attachments were slightly improved...a longer hose and bigger brush. There are no other attachments on this machine, but that didn't bother me...I never use anything else but those two anyway. Things I would change: I have to admit, it has pretty poor front and side suction. It's not a dealbreaker, but definitely not a strength on this vacuum. Would love to see that improve. But my biggest complaint is that it is virtually impossible to vacuum the stairs with this machine because there is no lower handle to grab to bring it up and down. I somehow manage to manhandle it and get the job done, but it's not easy. Not sure why that was overlooked in the design of this thing. Overall, I'd buy it again and recommend it to a friend. Like I said, I can't imagine a more powerful machine. But it's not perfect...though with a couple of changes it could be!

Was this review helpful? (95) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jiblvr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good, but a few changes would be nice
11/15/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 11/15/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Thought long and hard between this product and the comparable Dyson. Went with Hoover because it was cheaper and had better reviews for its suction. Some things need to be changed however: (1) the vacuum hose is too short. It should extend at least another few feet so I can reach the cobwebs around the ceiling; (2) When winding up the power cord around back, the cord ends at the bottom hook. This is a pain; it would be better if the cord was about 12 inches longer; (3) The top hook that holds the power cord could be a little bigger so that the cord doesn't slide off when it is being stored; (4) the vacuum cleaner (like other quality cleaners) is heavy; (5) the light could be brighter; and (6) the dirt canister release is near the bottom and it is impossible not to get your hands dirty when reattaching the canister lid (not sure why they can't design this better). Notwithstanding these minor grips, I would still buy this product again. Nevertheless, I hope Hoover Engineers address these issues.

An anonymous customer
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This was a lemon
4/18/2010

Customer review by Customer211

1.0 stars 4/18/2010 by Customer211
by Customer211

The first time I used this vacuum cleaner, it ran for about 10-15 minutes, then shut itself off. I turned it on again and it ran for another couple of minutes, then shut itself off again. This went on for the next 15 minutes or so.. on/off on/off. I had read other reviews where people had had this problem, but I figured there must be just a few lemons out there since there were 100 people who loved this vacuum. I thought I would give it a chance. It has great suction and picks up dirt and pet hair extremely well... it just won't stay on. I did not get anything caught in the vacuum (as one other person did who had this problem). I waited an hour to see if it needed to cool off, and it still would not stay running. It had power (all the lights were on) and it would turn on... it would just turn itself back off again. I returned it. I don't recommend anyone else going through this hassle until Hoover figures out what this problem is.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Customer211
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Purchased After Extensive Review
3/15/2010

Customer review by CautiousShopper2

4.0 stars 3/15/2010 by CautiousShopper2
by CautiousShopper2

OK, I am one of those shoppers that take awhile to make a decision on any reasonably higher end purchase. I wanted a very good vacuum that lasts. My initial attention was towards the Dyson, then the Electrolux Versatility and then the Hoover Platinum Bagless Upright. I spent time online researching from every possible angle. Dyson was very expensive, decent reviews, but did not seem to live up to the price and looked a bit odd. Electrolux was cheaper, very good reviews, but on the heavy side and the filter needed replacement, which cost about $30.00 abt every 6 months. That could quickly add up! This Hoover has cyclonic technology, is very powerful, has a lifetime filter (or at least should last for a long time,)very long cord and I like the clean/dirty indicator. Only consistent criticism I read was that the attachment hose could be longer. Although it perhaps could be longer, unless you have very high ceilings this should be fine. Easy to set up and easy to empty. Did take about 1 minute to figure out how to close it (a complaint of some.) After that it was fine. OH noticed the price just came down from when I purchased it 2 weeks ago! Oh well…. Walmart delivered in less time than indicated!!!Thanks =)

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CautiousShopper2
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
PowerHouse
8/18/2009

Customer review by brownbagshopper

5.0 stars 8/18/2009 by brownbagshopper
by brownbagshopper

AWESOME vacuum! Received it yesterday evening and tried it out. My floors where in desperate need d/t my other vacuum broke. It has great suction power!!! It not only got out the dog hair I saw it also got all the dust and dirt I did not see. I have wood floors mostly, but also a area rug and did I mention the DOG. It made my area rug look like new. I did not think that was possible. I was ready to buy another one, but no need!! I can't wait to see what else I can get super clean. I have no complaints at this time. I was definetly impressed! The only thing I can think of is maybe a longer extension hose, but its not a necessity nor would I return it for that.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brownbagshopper
Indpls., IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Looks like Hoover is back in the game
2/3/2009

Customer review by productcritic1

5.0 stars 2/3/2009 by productcritic1
by productcritic1

Wow this is one nice vacuum cleaner. This platinum series is a very nice looking product. I love the colors. The unit works great on my plush, levelloop and my hardwoods. I really like the long cord, I can clean the whole first floor from one outlet. No more bending over and trying to figure out how to change the height settings, a push of the button and it's done. I was amazed at the amount of dirt it picked up. I just got this so I will keep you informed.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
productcritic1
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Wow!!
10/1/2009

Customer review by SaraAnn1979

5.0 stars 10/1/2009 by SaraAnn1979
by SaraAnn1979

This vacuum blew me away on how much it picks up. I thought my old vacuum was ok but dang. The first time I used it I vacuumed up entire dogs worth of hair off my carpet and two full canisters of dirt that had been in the carpet. I was grossed out to think that had been in my carpet for god knows how long. This vacuum is worth every penny spent and then some. If you want clean carpets this is the right vacuum for you!!!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SaraAnn1979
Crystal Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
You will be disappointed.
12/4/2012

Customer review by Marine Vet

1.0 stars 12/4/2012 by Marine Vet
by Marine Vet

I lke the way it cleans carpets, but only so-so on bare floors. Only two attachments, and light weight ones at that. No wand extention availble so if you have drapes or spider webs on the ceiling you can't reach them. Also unit is too large to fit under and around furniture, so the lack of an extension for the hose, and a smaller power brush is a very large negative. Apparently the accountants who cut manufacturing costs on this unit never consulted the engineering department about its lack of standard cleaning applications that every home owners uses. For the price and the name I expected a premium Hoover vacumn cleaner, but my older $100.00 Hoover out performed this model, and is built out of more heavy duty and metal parts, with more cleaning tools and a longer hose. I don't advise this unit for anyone who wishes to clean their home. Its like a car with no doors, seats, window glass, or hood or trunk lid. The basis rug cleaning works, but nothing else works properly because of lack of good design.

Marine Vet
Reno, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great vacuum
3/31/2010

Customer review by WJSS

5.0 stars 3/31/2010 by WJSS
by WJSS

What a great vacuum cleaner! We were looking to replace a moderately priced vacuum cleaner after noticing all of our childrens socks seemed to always be dirty. We borrowed our friends Dyson and were amazed at how much dirt our previous vacuum was leaving in the carpet. We vacuumed until the Dyson seemed to be done picking up dirt and started our search in to buying a Dyson. We ended up searching on the web and found great reviews for this Hoover. Decided to buy it and try it since it was less than half the cost of the Dyson. We were amazed at how much more the Hoover picked up from the carpet after the Dyson had just been used. The dirt sensor on the Hoover is really a neat feature. We were amazed at how you could tell our foot traffic patterns in our house just by watching the sensor. It took a number of more passes for it to register that the carpet was "Clean" in the areas of high use. The option to turn off the brush is great for using it on our woods floors too!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WJSS
Elk River, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Finally a great bagless with one flaw
7/26/2009

Customer review by Goateeguy

4.0 stars 7/26/2009 by Goateeguy
by Goateeguy

There is a big issue with closing the the trap door when you empty the dirt cup. It takes several tries and just the right touch to close it. I spend more than one or 2 minutes trying to get it closed. It's a shame because it really is easy to empty. The dirt falls out the bottom and you dont' have to reach in like others that have the Hepa filter next to the dirt collection like the Hoover Convertible models. It feels much better built than a Dyson and has absolutely great power. The suction is great and is even super strong when using the wand or or dusting brush. Does a fab job on hardwood too. Like the longer cord too. One thing that is great is there is absolutely no odor when you use the vac the next time. The Hoover bagless Convertible stinks from one time to the next even though the container is emptied. I hope they improve the trap door closing mechanism and notify those of us who bought this model that we can obtain a replacement part. It's a great vac with top notch features you cant get in other vacs.

Goateeguy
Dayton, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/1/2010

Customer review by MonikainArizona

5.0 stars 3/1/2010 by MonikainArizona
by MonikainArizona

If you need a vacuum that really sucks, get it. This vacuum is truly powerful. It vacuums up a storm and that is why I love it. Could use an extension hose for vacuuming window sills and so forth. But I was not looking for a vacuum with tons of gadgets. One hassle is that the canister fills up quickly and sucks up hair/dirt...higher into the canister close to the filter where I cannot get to it. It is said that the filter should be cleaned every two months; however, if you want the suction to stay powerful, you have to get the dirt that is stuck inside. Therefore you have to either unscrew it or get it out some other way (with a wire hanger like me). I am sure that most people will not have this issue since I am trying to deep clean a house that probably has not been deep-vacuumed ever. I do like the vacuum because it truly "sucks" and that is what matters to me most. Do not think that it works well on bare floors. I recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MonikainArizona
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
not as good as looks
5/12/2010

Customer review by shondahtlc

1.0 stars 5/12/2010 by shondahtlc
by shondahtlc

I had put way to much time into shopping and reading reviews on vacuums. I had the Dyson and didnt want to spend that much on one again. It was great just really old and worn out. When I got this new one is was so impressed with all of it. It is hard to empty due to the fact you cant just close it you have to make sure you get the latch back in the right spot or will dump all over floor. The clean and dirty feature really isnt important and is one more thing that can go wrong with it. It did such very good at first infact so good I couldnt believe the stuff coming off my what I thought was a clean floor. The cord is long but the hose to reach stuff or to do stairs isnt not long. The suction for the hose is actually very poor and doesnt not come with a flat piece to do the step with. After having my for not even two months it wont suck up stuff anymore and I have to take it back. Not a good buy till Hoover can build something to last.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shondahtlc
San Antonio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Piece of Junk
5/18/2010

Customer review by daHat

1.0 stars 5/18/2010 by daHat
by daHat

Terrible vacuum. Had it for 4 months and now Hoover won't honor their so called 6 year warranty to repair it. The belts are fine, but the beater bar isn't turning and there is no suction. Repair will only be about $50, but we already paid $300 for this white elephant!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
daHat
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good vacuum cleaner
12/2/2009

Customer review by Jenna Swift

4.0 stars 12/2/2009 by Jenna Swift
by Jenna Swift

Well seeing as this is a vacuum - I use the "product" to vacuum! (seriously??) I saw the Platinum Bagless when it first came out and wanted to try it SO bad - but [$] for a VACUUM??? [...] I used it right after I got home... whew - I hate cleaning and vacuuming ranks right up there, but I was SO surprised at how much dust and dog dander came up. I filled the small cup twice and I have a small apt! I am missing quite a few pieces because it was an open stock item and the human species is overrun by theives who just had to take pieces and parts, but the vacuum does it's job and gets the dirt out! I really just wish it was a little quieter. And not so heavy. The dirt cup issue - I was surprised that they made it so you have to push in the release tab to close, but that took 5 seconds to figure out once I looked at what was goin' on. Over all, yes I would recommend this vacuum to ppl (so long as they don't mind spending boo-koo bucks).

Jenna Swift
Kent, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
less than 24 hours
6/14/2011

Customer review by KansasSunflower11

2.0 stars 6/14/2011 by KansasSunflower11
by KansasSunflower11

I picked this vac up at the store one day and returned it the next. After months of reading reviews of various vacs, this one seemed like an excellent option. Before I could even complete 2 rooms, the beater bar quit. The assembly had shifted and the belt began to over heat. I don't think I want to chance another one.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KansasSunflower11
kansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great alternative to a Dyson!
5/24/2010

Customer review by SkyGuy79

4.0 stars 5/24/2010 by SkyGuy79
by SkyGuy79

I purchased this model at a chain wholesaler (wish I could tell you the AWESOME deal I got on it but I'm not supposed to) after considering the famed Dyson but I didn't want to pay twice what I got this one for! I took it home and was amazed at how much dirt came out of a "clean" rug. This thing can really SUCK! It is incredibly quiet for such a powerful machine, and the suction doesn't stop even with a full dirt cup. I am glad I chose this instead of a Dyson as it has features the Dyson doesn't have: Windtunnel Technology DirtFinder LED light on the front I wish there was a way to purchase the turbo handheld that seems to come with some models but didn't with mine even though it is supposedly a top-of-the-line model! If Hoover truly wants to meet/beat/exceed Dyson, they should include more attachments and make the hose longer. Also, the one thing the Dyson DOES have on this is the ability to open the dirt cup from the main handle. On this one you have to hit a release and can get your hands very dirty trying to close it. You can do even better Hoover!

SkyGuy79
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 214 total reviews
1-20 of 214 reviews