Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 224 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

224 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

224 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
139
4 stars
47
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 stars
21
1-20 of 213 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 213 total reviews
1-20 of 213 reviews
Decent Dyson Alternative
9/11/2009

Customer review by Jiblvr

4.0 stars 9/11/2009 by Jiblvr
by Jiblvr

We were ready to take the plunge and get a Dyson when I stumbled upon the Hoover Platinum Bagless Upright. It was $298 at Walmart - over $150 cheaper than I have seen it elsewhere, had a fantastic warranty and decent reviews. I decided to pocket the other $200 I would have spent on the Dyson and give this one a go. This thing SUCKS...in a good way! I'm a clean freak who gets excited by carpet lines left by vacuums. I cannot express the pleasure I get by using this vacuum. It's really, truly powerful and I'm really confident my house is dust and allergen-free by what I see this thing sucking up everytime I use it. Other pros: Extra long cord - I can do my entire 1700 sq. ft first floor without replugging. It is super easy to move the brush up or down or turn it off all together for the hardwoods with a touch of a button located right at the top of the handle. And the headlights on this thing are cooler than the ones on my car. It also has a neat little "clean" vs. "dirty" sign that pops up when it senses ground in dirt. It's also much quieter than it's competitors which is nice. Things that are so-so: Cleaning the dirt chamber...not exactly easy or foolproof. But I've read the same with all bagless vacuums including the Dyson. I now empty it in a bag outside. Lesson learned. I also wish the attachments were slightly improved...a longer hose and bigger brush. There are no other attachments on this machine, but that didn't bother me...I never use anything else but those two anyway. Things I would change: I have to admit, it has pretty poor front and side suction. It's not a dealbreaker, but definitely not a strength on this vacuum. Would love to see that improve. But my biggest complaint is that it is virtually impossible to vacuum the stairs with this machine because there is no lower handle to grab to bring it up and down. I somehow manage to manhandle it and get the job done, but it's not easy. Not sure why that was overlooked in the design of this thing. Overall, I'd buy it again and recommend it to a friend. Like I said, I can't imagine a more powerful machine. But it's not perfect...though with a couple of changes it could be!

Was this review helpful? (95) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jiblvr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love it!
4/22/2009

Customer review by kdjhflaig

5.0 stars 4/22/2009 by kdjhflaig
by kdjhflaig

I love the fact that I am able to vacuum not only my carpets, but at the touch of a button, I am able to vacuum my bare floors. It was a little spendy and a bit heavy, but I wanted to get a good quality vacuum. It could use a few more accessory tools and a wand extension to reach the very low and high places. But overall, I am very satisfied with my Hoover vacuum. I would definitely recommend this to anyone. It really gets the dirt and lets you know with the dirty/clean indicator.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kdjhflaig
Milbank, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Looks like Hoover is back in the game
2/3/2009

Customer review by productcritic1

5.0 stars 2/3/2009 by productcritic1
by productcritic1

Wow this is one nice vacuum cleaner. This platinum series is a very nice looking product. I love the colors. The unit works great on my plush, levelloop and my hardwoods. I really like the long cord, I can clean the whole first floor from one outlet. No more bending over and trying to figure out how to change the height settings, a push of the button and it's done. I was amazed at the amount of dirt it picked up. I just got this so I will keep you informed.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
productcritic1
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Wow!!
10/1/2009

Customer review by SaraAnn1979

5.0 stars 10/1/2009 by SaraAnn1979
by SaraAnn1979

This vacuum blew me away on how much it picks up. I thought my old vacuum was ok but dang. The first time I used it I vacuumed up entire dogs worth of hair off my carpet and two full canisters of dirt that had been in the carpet. I was grossed out to think that had been in my carpet for god knows how long. This vacuum is worth every penny spent and then some. If you want clean carpets this is the right vacuum for you!!!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SaraAnn1979
Crystal Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
PowerHouse
8/18/2009

Customer review by brownbagshopper

5.0 stars 8/18/2009 by brownbagshopper
by brownbagshopper

AWESOME vacuum! Received it yesterday evening and tried it out. My floors where in desperate need d/t my other vacuum broke. It has great suction power!!! It not only got out the dog hair I saw it also got all the dust and dirt I did not see. I have wood floors mostly, but also a area rug and did I mention the DOG. It made my area rug look like new. I did not think that was possible. I was ready to buy another one, but no need!! I can't wait to see what else I can get super clean. I have no complaints at this time. I was definetly impressed! The only thing I can think of is maybe a longer extension hose, but its not a necessity nor would I return it for that.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
brownbagshopper
Indpls., IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Purchased After Extensive Review
3/15/2010

Customer review by CautiousShopper2

4.0 stars 3/15/2010 by CautiousShopper2
by CautiousShopper2

OK, I am one of those shoppers that take awhile to make a decision on any reasonably higher end purchase. I wanted a very good vacuum that lasts. My initial attention was towards the Dyson, then the Electrolux Versatility and then the Hoover Platinum Bagless Upright. I spent time online researching from every possible angle. Dyson was very expensive, decent reviews, but did not seem to live up to the price and looked a bit odd. Electrolux was cheaper, very good reviews, but on the heavy side and the filter needed replacement, which cost about $30.00 abt every 6 months. That could quickly add up! This Hoover has cyclonic technology, is very powerful, has a lifetime filter (or at least should last for a long time,)very long cord and I like the clean/dirty indicator. Only consistent criticism I read was that the attachment hose could be longer. Although it perhaps could be longer, unless you have very high ceilings this should be fine. Easy to set up and easy to empty. Did take about 1 minute to figure out how to close it (a complaint of some.) After that it was fine. OH noticed the price just came down from when I purchased it 2 weeks ago! Oh well…. Walmart delivered in less time than indicated!!!Thanks =)

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CautiousShopper2
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
less than 24 hours
6/14/2011

Customer review by KansasSunflower11

2.0 stars 6/14/2011 by KansasSunflower11
by KansasSunflower11

I picked this vac up at the store one day and returned it the next. After months of reading reviews of various vacs, this one seemed like an excellent option. Before I could even complete 2 rooms, the beater bar quit. The assembly had shifted and the belt began to over heat. I don't think I want to chance another one.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KansasSunflower11
kansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Piece of Junk
5/18/2010

Customer review by daHat

1.0 stars 5/18/2010 by daHat
by daHat

Terrible vacuum. Had it for 4 months and now Hoover won't honor their so called 6 year warranty to repair it. The belts are fine, but the beater bar isn't turning and there is no suction. Repair will only be about $50, but we already paid $300 for this white elephant!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
daHat
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
An Excellent Product - Great Suction!
4/1/2010

Customer review by dude2008

5.0 stars 4/1/2010 by dude2008
by dude2008

I own a cleaning business and I bought this vacuum to take with me from job to job. At first, I was kind of leery about purchasing this vacuum because it seemed to me that a high-quality vacuum cleaner should cost at least $500 or more. Well after a lot of research, I chose this vacuum because it was highly recommended by a consumer product review company. When it arrived, I just had to try it out, so I plugged it in and started it up. The vacuum cleaner worked Extremely Well!!! The height-control feature on the handle is priceless-no more having to bend over to change the setting! It worked well on both bare floors and carpeting! The suction is great; it has a lot better suction than some of the vacuums I have used before. The bagless feature is very nice! I was amazed at how much dirt and pet hair it vacuumed up on a floor that was just recently vacuumed(less than one-week ago). It is easy to push on carpet and bare floors; however the maneuverability on bare floors does take some getting used to. The onboard cleaning wand/tools and 8-ft stretch hose are great! The extra-long 40-foot cord is really great as well! Overall, I am extremely satisfied with this vacuum cleaner! Hoover did a great job designing and building this vacuum cleaner. I would highly recommend this vacuum to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dude2008
Wylie, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A great vacuum with a decent price tag
5/10/2011

Customer review by ValueProductBuyer

5.0 stars 5/10/2011 by ValueProductBuyer
by ValueProductBuyer

After doing lot of research based on merits of cleaner, i decided 3 vacuum cleaners 1) Dyson DC 28 2) Dyson DC 33 3) Hoover platinum bagless upright vacuum I did look at all 3 in stores. DC 28 is expensive and felt it does a good job. I do not want to spend 480$ for a vacuum cleaner. Next is Dyson DC33. This costs around 320$ at walmart. It has got decent reviews. Good suction power, nice attachments and 5 year warranty. Hoover platinum costs 240$ and it has few extra features than DC 33 such as dirtfinder, LED, carpet height adjustment. Suction power is 220 Air Watts and this is slightly less than DC 33 which is 240 Air watts. I think this is OK. What I liked about hoover is it has got carpet height adjustments that is not available in DC33 and available in DC28 which is crazy expensive. Though Hoover platinum weighs more than DC33, it is self-propelled. So I don't feel like pushing much. It is a breeze to do vacuum. So weight should not matter much unless you want to carry often in stairs. Hoover Platinum is put to work. WOW!.. This vacuum does what it claims. It suction all kinds of micro and macro dust, particles and what not. I can feel that my house is lot more clean. Everytime i vacuum, i can't believe my house had so much dirt and now not anymore. HEPA filter is a blessing. You feel and smell clean air after vacuuming. Pros 1) Great suction power + Self-propelled 2) Nice features (Carpet adjustment - This is a great feature, LED & DirtFinder) 3) Washable filter 4) Power cord length (40ft length) 5) 6 year warranty 6) Price (80$ less than DC 33 and half the price of DC 28) Cons 1) HEPA filter is not washable. You just need to tap the dirt out and reuse it for lifetime. When hoover says it is lifetime, i believe it is for 6 years. HEPA filters in Dyson DC 33 & DC 28 are washable. However the price of HEPA filter is 15USD. Say if i replace every 2 year, i still use 3 filters for 6 year period and spend 60$, it still costs less than DC33. I think this should help your decision. I can certainly tell you that you will not get disappointed. I'm happy and wish you will also be, if you have this one. Do not look elsewhere just buy from walmart.com for best price and no hassle return policy

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ValueProductBuyer
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good at first..
7/14/2010

Customer review by LittleFoxx

2.0 stars 7/14/2010 by LittleFoxx
by LittleFoxx

I've had this vacuum for about 6 months now. We have 2 medium haired dogs and a cat. Our carpet is a little longer then most. I bought this as an alternative to a Dyson, I wish I wouldn't have. While it worked great for the first month or two now it barely sucks up anything not even small pieces of cereal. We got this model in hopes that it would work well for everyday vacuuming. We only have 4 rooms that are carpeted so you would think it would still be running well. When we first got it we used that powdered carpet cleaner and the vacuum stopped sucking after the first week. So you definitely can not use that. We exchanged it and got a new one. Now approx. 6 months later it no longer sucks up anything. We changed the filter and cleaned it COMPLETELY inside. The suction is just not there anymore. It doesn't come with anything to clean the stairs and it is TERRIBLE on hardwood floors(better off using a swiffer vac) I would NOT recommend this for an active or pet home unless you want to replace it 1-2 times a year.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LittleFoxx
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great vacuum
4/2/2010

Customer review by avidvacuumer

5.0 stars 4/2/2010 by avidvacuumer
by avidvacuumer

I have owned this vacuum for about a month, so I feel I have given it a true test. My old vacuum was also a Hoover, the Self Propelled Wind Tunnel and was still working, but the latch that held it upright when not in use was broken. When looking for something new I decided to try the Dyson. Returned it after one use, just didn't seem to pick up as good as my old wind tunnel. I decided to go on line and do some reserch and look around .After doing alot of reading I decided on the platinum bagless. I have not been sorry for one minute! this vacuum picks up and makes the carpet look like new. It's a heavy vacuum but after trying the light weight ones I decided for the job I want done this is the machine! and Walmart had the best price! My only recommendation is to Hoover it would be nice to have an extra on board extension wand. I think any one who buys this vacuum will love the extra long cord and be very surpised at how much dirt their old vacuum was leaving behind, even if you are avid vacuumer as I am. I highly recomend the Hoover Platinum Bagless vacuum!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
avidvacuumer
s. cal mountains
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
This was a lemon
4/18/2010

Customer review by Customer211

1.0 stars 4/18/2010 by Customer211
by Customer211

The first time I used this vacuum cleaner, it ran for about 10-15 minutes, then shut itself off. I turned it on again and it ran for another couple of minutes, then shut itself off again. This went on for the next 15 minutes or so.. on/off on/off. I had read other reviews where people had had this problem, but I figured there must be just a few lemons out there since there were 100 people who loved this vacuum. I thought I would give it a chance. It has great suction and picks up dirt and pet hair extremely well... it just won't stay on. I did not get anything caught in the vacuum (as one other person did who had this problem). I waited an hour to see if it needed to cool off, and it still would not stay running. It had power (all the lights were on) and it would turn on... it would just turn itself back off again. I returned it. I don't recommend anyone else going through this hassle until Hoover figures out what this problem is.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Customer211
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Impressive
1/30/2012

Customer review by rik28

5.0 stars 1/30/2012 by rik28
by rik28

Had looked at Dysons and just could not imagine spending over $600.00 for one when it looks like such thin, flimsy plastic. Like everything, this Hoover is mostly plastic as well but at least it looks like thicker sturdier plastic for less than half the price. Very impressed with it so far. As vacuums go, it's quiet. Does an amazing job on carpet or hard floors and we have 3 house cats. It edges well. Easy to empty. The 40' cord lets me do almost the entire house from the same outlet. It has the best headlight of any vacuum I've ever used. The carpet height adjustment and brush roll/off is all on the handle. This combined with the fact that to use the wand you simply lift straight up on the handle at the top of the wand means you never have to bend over for anything but winding the cord when you're done. At a certain customer review site the wand/tool air flow was rated as only "Good" but I wonder if it was a little deceiving because of the larger diameter of the tube and hose than most. I see no problem with it and is as good as most I've used. The first time it sucked up a sock through the wand and into the hose while still far enough from it I did not expect it. Durability? Time will tell but it has a 5 year warranty and I can almost buy 3 of these for the price of 1 Dyson Animal. Hoover scores! Highly recommended. Hope I can still say that in a few years but it does feel & sound solid for what that's worth.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rik28
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome!!
12/20/2009

Customer review by WeLoveOurPets

5.0 stars 12/20/2009 by WeLoveOurPets
by WeLoveOurPets

So, I have 2 small indoor dogs, which like to shed. We had this old dumpy vacuum and thought that it was doing an "ok" job but decided it was time to look around for something with a little more power. We were looking at some of the really high end vacuums ($500) when I ran across this guy. We decided to save some cash and went for it. Let me tell you, this thing was picking the saw dust from between our hardwood floor from when the house was built 7 years ago. We were totally amazed at how well this guy works. I vacuumed up 2 small dogs worth or hair from our house. We were totally shocked! This is the vacuum for any house hold!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WeLoveOurPets
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Suction-Awesome Vac!
1/8/2010

Customer review by ChinaDoll123

5.0 stars 1/8/2010 by ChinaDoll123
by ChinaDoll123

I bought this vacuum in Aug 2009 after my Bissell stopped working. I didn’t rush to write a review so that I could be sure that this item would stand the test of time. (Unlike my swivel sweeper). After reviewing prices Wally World had the best price online for this vacuum. The suction it great, the weight is great (a lot lighter than my old one) and the pickup sensor (clean/dirt) is awesome! The on board tools have great suction, just enough to clean without sucking things up or even tearing things. The cord is extra long-now I can start and finish without unplugging. There are a couple of things that I wish were designed better….I don’t like is the design of the vacuum head. It’s a little wide, so narrow areas are not easy to get to. (Areas in the bathrooms and some areas in the kitchen are hard to reach.) On the other hand, the height is just right in my opinion. I’m impressed with the fact that I can just push a button for height adjustment. My Bissell was controlled manually. Finally, the dirt canister omg…the container is easy to open but not as simple and easy to reclose as I feel it should be. In spite of it all, I would recommend this product. My husband and I both use this item on a daily basis, but he finds himself emptying it more than I do.  Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChinaDoll123
Southaven, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
Excellent
2/1/2011

Customer review by MTriolo3

5.0 stars 2/1/2011 by MTriolo3
by MTriolo3

wow this vac is so unreal, my carpet was a mess and so pack, after using it for a week strait my carpet was not only clean but has so much more bounce to it. Trust me it is well worth the price

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MTriolo3
Revere, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Vacuum I have ever used
2/14/2012

Customer review by MistyE

5.0 stars 2/14/2012 by MistyE
by MistyE

I was a little skeptical at first because of the weight (25.6 lbs) but the vacuum is extremely easy to operate even for me, a senior citizen. This vacuum picks up much better than my old Hoover but I do really miss the retractable cord which does make life a lot easier and neater.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MistyE
Jacksonville, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1/4/2012

Customer review by tiggerific0807

4.0 stars 1/4/2012 by tiggerific0807
by tiggerific0807

I have had this vacuum for alittle over a month. The suction is great! The canister is a 2 hand job to empty because the bottom door doesn't shut easily and you have to force it shut! The clean/dirty light only works with dirt not dust. Also the light stays on dirty if it is picking up even a grain of sand, its kind of useless! Over all its an okay vacuum it gets the job done but I wouldn't purchase it again.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tiggerific0807
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Platinum hoover collections
5/17/2010

Customer review by kearbear19

3.0 stars 5/17/2010 by kearbear19
by kearbear19

I got this product in december 2009 and I am buying a new one, but I did love it while it work properly. I would not recommend this product for the price. Because I am disappoint in this product. Never again will i buy this product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kearbear19
Beckley, wv
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 213 total reviews
1-20 of 213 reviews