Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 554 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

554 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

554 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
364
4 stars
108
3 stars
25
2 stars
24
1 stars
33
1-20 of 505 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 505 total reviews
1-20 of 505 reviews
Terrific Vacuum!
3/15/2009

Customer review by JBecker

5.0 stars 3/15/2009 by JBecker
by JBecker

Hoover Platinum Lightweight Bagged Upright with Canister (UH30010COM) (3/14/09) Overall, this is a terrific vacuum. The person who will be happiest with this combination is the person who: (1) wants a lightweight vacuum, (2) has mostly carpet in their home, (3) has carpeted stairs, and (4) uses attachments. I liked my old vacuum, so using the LBU has been an eye-opening experience for me: I didn’t realize how much effort I was exerting with my old upright with attachments - not only heavier, but so much bending and stooping to change settings or get tools. At 11 pounds, the LBU is 2 to 3 pounds heavier - but less expensive - than competing models. Bonuses: it has a longer cord and a stair cleaning handle. Competing models – Hoover LBU, 11 lbs list $400/retail $400 (includes canister), 6 yr warranty Riccar RSL5; 8 lbs list $710/ retail $500 (without canister), 3 yr warranty Oreck XL Gold: 9 lbs list $600/ retail $500 (includes canister), 5/10 warranty Oreck XL Platinum: 9 lbs list $800/ retail $600 (includes canister), 10 yr warranty All are similar to commercial models, but you don’t get the same auto carpet height adjustment, lifetime belt, HEPA filtration, and warranty on commercial models. The supplementary canister has a strap & 25 foot cord. The canister carries the crevice and brush attachments on board, so switching is easy, and the wand is extendable. (I don’t use the floor tool, because I use a stick vac on my hardwoods.) PROS FINGERTIP CONTROLS – Wonderful. Many models have this type of control now, and now that I have used it I wouldn’t buy one that didn’t have it. HEPA SYSTEM – Remarkable. My old vacuum was a HEPA model with HEPA bags, but there is no comparison to this model. The air on this vacuum comes out smelling fabulous. I bought and returned a top rated Kenmore canister that had the exact same amazingly clean exhaust (turns out I don’t like using a canister), so I think this is the new hallmark of quality vacuums. AUTO CARPET HEIGHT ADJUSTMENT - Works beautifully. I used to have to stoop down to change the carpet height adjustment on different rugs, but the LBU self-adjustment really works – no problem pushing vacuum over even the thickest pile. CORD PLACEMENT – Smart! It comes out the behind the top of the bag rather than the bottom. This means I have even more useable cord, because I don’t have to hold part of the cord up to avoid running over it. CLEANING ABILITY - VERY effective carpet cleaner, my 15 year-old carpets look & feel remarkably cleaner & newer. Excellent at removing pet hair from carpet. The upright is 5.5 amps with direct air flow, like the Riccar & Oreck models listed. The canister is 7 amps. (The combined total is listed in the product description – very confusing. I suppose Hoover thought consumers want a 12 amp machine, but amps are like gas mileage; if you get more suction for less amperage it’s like getting better mileage. That’s good, not bad. Plus you won’t blow your fuses!) EASILY MANEUVERABLE – One expects this of a lightweight model, and all the models I tried handled easily, but the Riccar & Orecks I tried had to be kicked or tipped up over the edge of an area rug placed onto another carpet. In my home I have area rugs in several rooms on top of the wall-to-wall carpeting, and the LBU moves seamlessly over the edges (even on my thickest area rug) without needing a kick or an extra hard push. LIFETIME LED HEADLIGHT – Brilliant! (Literally!) It is brighter than any other light I have ever had on a vacuum, and is it actually aimed at the carpet! I think having the LEDs has allowed them to aim the light better than with a standard bulb. I am sure other LED equipped models are comparable, so look for this feature, LIFETIME BELT - YES! I’ve replaced SO many belts over the years and I won’t have to do THAT anymore, thank goodness. STAIR-CLEANING HANDLE – Finally. It is comfortably shaped & works well. To use competitors’ models on stairs, you have to hold them by the back tube, which I’ve tried, and it isn’t nearly as easy as using the handle. However, see cons below. CORD RELEASE – Doesn’t have one. This worked out to be a pro for me, because it caused me to wind up the 35’ cord on my arm and just plop it into the top cord holder. The LBU doesn’t threaten to tip over at all when I do this, so it works just great and saves yet another bend and stoop. CONS STAIR-CLEANING HANDLE – Good grief! I assume it really WAS necessary to vent the motor exhaust toward the stair-cleaning handle (!), so rather than curse the engineers, hold the handle on the right-hand side. It’s big enough to do that, thank goodness. Or vacuum the stairs first, before the motor gets warm. NO BRUSH ROLL ON/OFF – Hmmm. This is in the description (and competitors’ models are the same), so it means that the vacuum is intended ONLY for people with mostly carpet. I have about 80/20 carpet/bare floor, so it works for me. I use a stick vac on my hardwood, and the other person I talked to that has hardwood floors and this vacuum says she doesn’t care because her hardwood floors aren’t new anyway. But if you have brand-spankin’-new hardwood floors, will you really want to use a brush-roll on them? EXPENSIVE BAGS – Really, $5 each? But they are huge, and they are the very high quality type with fabric-like paper, so we’ll see. I used to have to change my old ones ($3) fairly often, so maybe this will work out the same or even cheaper. CORD RELEASE – Doesn’t have one. But see pros above. CARRY-STRAP FOR CANISTER – Not padded. Anyone know where I can buy a pad for a 1 ½ inch strap? Sorry for the length, but since there are so few reviews out there as yet, I wanted to be thorough.

Was this review helpful? (277) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JBecker
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 1000 contributor
Worth the buy
5/12/2009

Customer review by Ohdanigurl

5.0 stars 5/12/2009 by Ohdanigurl
by Ohdanigurl

I was chosen to participate in a case study with this vacuum through a site called Cafemom. I fell in love with this product. I have a zoo in my house and it can get rather hairy. It picks up the hair with no issues and is easy to push around. Hi and low settings for different parts of the house and also has an indicator letting you know when to change your bags. The second little gadget that goes with it is easy to cart around and helps with getting gunk off the edges around the baseboards.

Was this review helpful? (135) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ohdanigurl
Nampa, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
this is an ideal vacuum
4/25/2010

Customer review by megs1122

5.0 stars 4/25/2010 by megs1122
by megs1122

Pros: (1) At current (Walmart) price, this is an excellent value; (2) sucks up dust/dirt very well; (3) quiet and lightweight; (4) excellent quality, over-sized bags that trap fine dust; (5) the additional hand-vac works exceptionally well, has many attachments, and is very compact; (6) the floor vac and hand vac have a nice, durable appearance; and (7) though Walmart indicated a two week delivery time, I had it at my door two days after placing the order! Cons: (1) if using with a loose pile carpet, the roller spin is strong enough to unravel carpet on the "high" setting, especially at carpet seams. This is not an issue when using the vacuum on the "low" setting. I've used oreck before but have not tested dyson, and the quality of this vacuum is significantly better than oreck. It is just fantastically well built and the current, moderate price point will guarantee you a vacuum that will work well for years (i.e., there is also a long warranty on all parts of the unit, I believe) and will not need a replacement for some time. I'm happy about this because this is my third new vacuum in 8 years.

Was this review helpful? (83) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
megs1122
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Lightweight Vacuum
10/12/2009

Customer review by VaGadgetGuy

5.0 stars 10/12/2009 by VaGadgetGuy
by VaGadgetGuy

After days of reading reviews and driving sales people nuts I finally purchased this Hoover over the Simplicity Freedom 3600. Up front the Simplicity is at least two pounds lighter, pulls about the same or maybe better, is made in the USA, has a 3 year warranty, is more expensive, does not come with a portable canister, and, “made in the USA” or not, they have a horrible business model (try purchasing one on-line, you can’t). My old Windtunnel dual V has dual counter rotating brushes and a 12 amp “clean air” motor (air is drawn through the filter before the motor). The new lightweight has a 5.5 amp “direct air” motor (air is drawn in through the motor and blown into the filter). Before taking the new lightweight out of the box, I cleaned the brush rollers and filter on the old dual V and thoroughly vacuumed the downstairs carpets. I immediately cleaned them again with the new lightweight. The new vacuum did pull more dirt and cat hair up but it wasn’t a shocking amount. The verdict is it’s a great vacuum that is quieter, uses less energy, cleans better, and is far easier to lug upstairs than the heavy old dual V. I must respectfully disagree with a few earlier posts about this product though. The large plastic wheels in the back have hard rubber tires on them. The unit also has rubber rollers under the front. Since the brush roller has no “beater bar” (probably a thing of the past now) I have no reservations about using this vacuum on my hard floors. A close look at the balance weights driven into the brush roller reveals that the brush roller is painted wood not plastic. It does in fact have a cord release although poorly designed. I was reluctant to apply the required force to the upper wrung for fear it would break but it did finally rotate. I was puzzled why the powered brush roller always ran even when upright until I went to clean the stairs. For stair cleaning I found it easier to use the unit upright holding it by the stair handle and the rear lifting handle. Holding the unit this way is awkward at first but will keep your hand away from the motor vent. Moving the unit parallel with the stair will also clean closer to the back of the stair. The LED lights do cast a shadow just in front of the cleaning head but it’s in near constant motion so it didn’t bother me. If I could change the design I would place the LEDs on the front (like most competitors). They are probably less than 1 watt each so I’d run them all the time instead of only when the machine is running.

Was this review helpful? (67) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VaGadgetGuy
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Vacuum of my DREAMS!
1/19/2011

Customer review by Bingaling55

5.0 stars 1/19/2011 by Bingaling55
by Bingaling55

I did research for WEEKS to find a vacuum whose specifications, reviews and price met my specific needs and expectations. I am a professional housekeeper, and I have used every vacuum you can imagine. I had never used/seen the Hoover Platinum vacuum before, so I was leery. Until now, my favorite vacuum in terms of ease of use and quality performance has been the Oreck XL bagged upright. When I first started researching the Hoover Platinum, I found that it was everything I loved about the Oreck with MANY improvements and extra features that I find EXTREMELY helpful; small things such as the swiveling cord release (which Oreck doesn't have), an extra long cord which keeps me from having to unplug and replug all over the house!, two speed settings which allow me to vacuum area rugs without sucking them up, a light indicator to tell me when the bag is full (instead of squeezing the fabric to see if it feels full), Extra handles, a path-light and smoother wheels, just to name a few. The Platinum just seems to effortlessly glide over my floors. Also, I LOVE the canister vac!!! Oreck's XL upright also comes with a canister vac but it is nowhere comparable! The Hoover canister has an attachment caddy right on the back; you can easily and quickly switch from the small brush, to the crevice tool, to the wide path brush. It has an amazing over-the-shoulder strap like a purse (which I strapped on and modeled for my girlfriends), as well as a cord wrap; All things that the Oreck doesn't have. It has great suction power as well. I have used it on my giant staircase several times with no strain on my body. It works wonderfully. I also recommend using it for hardwood or tile floors, especially if you get dust bunnies or pet hair. The wide path brush makes cleaning hard floors AMAZINGLY simple and quick. I am an absolute neat-freak, and this vacuum set has made it easier to feed my obsession. =) THANK YOU, HOOVER! Also, Thank you WALMART for .97 cent shipping straight to my home! Wow! I couldn't believe shipping on such a bulky item was so inexpensive. This definitely swayed my decision on who to purchase from.

Was this review helpful? (35) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bingaling55
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A very good product for a very good price
9/16/2010

Customer review by GoodsLooker

5.0 stars 9/16/2010 by GoodsLooker
by GoodsLooker

I'm a Consumer Reports junkee and I tend to go with their recommendations. The Hoover Platinum got very high marks in their ratings, but I think it was passed over for the CR Best Buy because of its price of $400. That's why I was so surprised to find the same vacuum at Walmart.com for only $219. It was a no-brainer. It arrived very quickly, was professionally packaged, and easy to assemble. I immediately tried it on carpet, because this is one of the areas it was supposed to excel in. It did not disappoint. Even when I ran it along the baseboards where dog hairs accumulate, it did a better job than my previous high-end vacuum (which was twice the price.) It does great on hardwood too, and I switched it into the low setting for my throw rug, and it knew what to do -- suck up the dirt, not the rug. Wonderful product! It has special grips for vacuuming stairs and is easy to handle -- I'm a weakling so I appreciate its light weight. This vacuum was designed by someone that actually does the vacuuming at their own home. I can't comment on its reliability because I've only owned it for a month, but I have no buyer's remorse. I LOVE this vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoodsLooker
Saratoga, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Product With Some Caveats
2/16/2009

Customer review by criswan

4.0 stars 2/16/2009 by criswan
by criswan

I bought this to replace a Dyson DC21 Canister which was not doing a sufficient job in our new home which is a lot of hardwood and carpet. The upright is of good build quailty, not great. The HEPA cloth bag is fantastic but beware pet owners to buy some baking soda or Pet Fresh to dump in the bag if you follow the manufacturer's directions. You see the bag on the Hoover Platinum is so large that after about two weeks of vacuuming pet hair, the vacuum gets that great pet smell. A little baking soda does the trick though nicely. The cord is a fantastic 35 feet and the headlight is bright and lasts a lifetime since its LED. Th vacuum uses the Windtunnel system and has an aggressive brushroll. It automatically adjusts for rug height and has a dual speed motor. You cannot turn the brushroll off which is a problem when trying to pick up bigger debris off of bare floors. It is very light and easy to carry up stairs. Speaking of stairs, the stair feature is about worthless due to the size of the head. The canister is the saving grace for this setup as it acts well for bare floors and has the same HEPA filtration. The hose however is a measly 5 feet and you will be strained to not have to put the vac on your shoulder while vacuuming. The attachments are also rather measly featuring just a floor brush, dusting brush, and crevice tool. No upholstery brush. Overall a good buy for those with allergies or pets; or if you have a high traffic home like us. It could use some improvements but most products could. Great competition to Dyson, Oreck, and Bissell.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
criswan
South Bend, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Two Thumbs Up!!!!!
12/15/2010

Customer review by bargainhunteronlineshoper

5.0 stars 12/15/2010 by bargainhunteronlineshoper
by bargainhunteronlineshoper

For almost two weeks, I've been digging informations/ratings for a good vacuum cleaner which has a reasonable price (not cheap but also not expensive). I guess this is most of the online shoppers are doing before deciding to click the "place order now" button. I was leaning toward buying a refurbished Dyson but lost confidence because of too much complaints about the quality and the after sales support I've read from online retailer. Decided to buy this product because it was the #1 pick of consumersreport.org as well as the ratings from people who bought. Additionally, the price of Walmart is unbeatable, I paid $189 while hoover is selling it @ 299. Performance wise, the product really works great. It's lightweight, the suction power is incredible, noise level is tolerable and design is very simple. I agree with one of the feedback that the canister is a little bit noisy but I don't think the it lack the suction power. Overall this is one of my best buy and would highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bargainhunteronlineshoper
Galveston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Best vacuum ever if Walmart stocked the bags!
10/31/2010

Customer review by jim2450

5.0 stars 10/31/2010 by jim2450
by jim2450

My wife has purchase every vacuum cleaner ever invented except the Dyson and I refused to spend that kind of money on something that would not produce an absolute vacuum, which is theoretically impossible. Nevertheless, we bought another, that makes seven now in our possession however; I must say that the Platinum vacuum by Hoover is the best engineered for the money I have ever seen. If only Wal-Mart would stock the bags for it, it would be as close to perfect as I would require.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jim2450
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
I actually like my vacuum cleaner
11/1/2010

Customer review by pondlily

5.0 stars 11/1/2010 by pondlily
by pondlily

This is, so far, the best vacuum cleaner I've ever used. It is very lightweight, maneuvers easily, is relatively quiet, and actually CLEANS MY FLOORS. I have two cats, one of which is a long-haired shedding machine. I vacuum every day. This cleaner really does the trick, and effortlessly compared to other machines. It works great on my hardwood and tile, as well, without kicking up clouds of fur. Transitions from hard to textile surfaces smoothly, but watch it on rugs; the suction is so powerful it can grab up lighter rugs. The companion hand-held is pretty slick, too. Easy. I use it more than I thought I would. I'll be interested to see how long this sweeper holds up, since it is the 3rd one I've purchased in almost as many years. It seems to have fewer cheesy plastic parts than most sweepers, but my dear husband still has strict orders to keep his appliance-destroying mitts off. If you want to get your floors clean with a lot less effort, get this sweeper.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pondlily
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
wonderful
10/13/2009

Customer review by lgshop

5.0 stars 10/13/2009 by lgshop
by lgshop

I did a lot of research on vacuums before purchasing this one and I love it. The price was good and the vacuum works great. It is easy is get into tight spots, picks up great and it is so nice not to have to adjust it for carpet or tile floors. It adjusts itself. I also love the portable vacuum that comes with it. Before I had to lug my big vacuum to clean my baseboards and now I have a handy, compact vacuum that is easy to carry around. The extra long handle is wonderful and my husband loves it for vacuuming the car. I am so glad that I found this vacuum. Thanks Walmart for having the best price!!

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lgshop
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Powerful, light and convenient
5/12/2013

Customer review by WIFIVE

4.0 stars 5/12/2013 by WIFIVE
by WIFIVE

We've gone through numerous vacuums and all seem to have some type of downside. The Hoover Platinum UH30010COM seems to have the best blend of features and value that we have experienced. The two vacuum design (one standup and one portable) is a great convenience and optimization of features. This allows the upright to be very light (at 11 lbs it is almost 50% lighter than most uprights). The portable is very convenient for tight spaces and especially the stairs. My wife used to dangerously use the hose attachment from our old upright on the stairs. Also I believe the bagged design is superior to a bagless design. The bag is huge and provides a much cleaner sanitary disposal of collected dust and carpet fibers. The one drawback is that the upright can be hard to push on densely packed carpet. To be fair, many vacuums have the same issue. Our Eureka vacuum is impossible to push. This Hoover is difficult to push on some of our carpets but is still acceptable. If it wasn't for this we would give it a 5 star rating.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WIFIVE
Parker, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome machines for the price
10/1/2013

Customer review by RoboticVacUser

5.0 stars 10/1/2013 by RoboticVacUser
by RoboticVacUser

Both machines get the job done well. Love that both are bagged. HEPA is a plus. I have used bagless for years, and hate the idea of emptying the dirt bin. Having to empty the dirt bin into a trash can by tapping it defeats the purpose of vaccumming the dirt. Don't you think? The upright is light enough, but not as light as Oreck. It can goes pretty flat. The cord is really long. The light is very good and helpful. The low setting is already very loud, so I would not go for the high setting. If loud means powerful, then that is what I have to live with. The canister is not cordless, but a plus side is that it will not loose suction because it doesn't depend on the battery level. The cord of the caniter unit is several feet long, so it is long enough to stretch acroos at least half of my living room to get the job done. A bagged canister is hard to find, too. The price is pretty reasonable for a high-end machine. Do not know if they will last years. Have owned them for several weeks, and used them every 2-3 days. All in all, a happy purchase.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RoboticVacUser
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product
3/1/2009

Customer review by LotsofAnimals

5.0 stars 3/1/2009 by LotsofAnimals
by LotsofAnimals

In tough economic times it was a bit difficult to spend this much money on a vacuum but my house requires the best vacuum out there to deal with the fur from 3 cats and big dog and two daughters with long hair! This vacuum gets everything, it truly works edge to edge. I can clean right up into the corners without having to switch to the hose feature. It has rubber wheels instead of plastic which are so much more durable and much easier on my wood floors. The true test was whether I could clean cat litter without feeling it spraying out behind the vacuum...a huge success! It's so easy to use and comes with a 6 year warranty. A GREAT vacuum whose weight allows me to carry it up and down the stairs easily.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LotsofAnimals
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love this Hoover Vacum
4/26/2010

Customer review by lovemyxmradio

5.0 stars 4/26/2010 by lovemyxmradio
by lovemyxmradio

I looked at all vacums, electrulux, dyson, and bought the electrulux upright and returned it, it was nice looking that was it, very heavy, then I looked at the dysons, all of them at Best Buy, and then the sales rep showed me this vacum cleaner, it is not like the other plastic Hoovers at all. This vacum cleaner is awesome, Very Lightweight !!! no dust to deal with !! no dirt in your face, you can actually vacum without feeling like you need to take a shower , after playing with your dust cup ! It is very easy to move around, it does a very good job on carpet or tile ! I never thought to even look at it, I am so glad the sales rep showed it to me, I Love It, it has a huge bag, and no dust flying around when you empty it. It even comes with a second vacum, which I have not used yet, but it has all the tools you would need ! I am happy I bought this instead of the plastic dyson, it looks like an overpriced plastic vacum cleaner, that does no different than any other vacum cleaner in an upper price range. The Hoover weighs 12lbs. it is GREAT.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovemyxmradio
Newark, De
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Where's the bags?
2/9/2010

Customer review by GoodShopping

3.0 stars 2/9/2010 by GoodShopping
by GoodShopping

Love the vacuum..but for the last month been trying to purchase replacement bags! I even ordered online to hoover.com...been three weeks no bags. Whats up with that!!!

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoodShopping
San Fernando, California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It really works!
3/8/2010

Customer review by tradrgal

5.0 stars 3/8/2010 by tradrgal
by tradrgal

This is the fourth vacuum I've purchased in the last two months, and the first one I didn't return. I'm very pleased with the performance of both the upright and handheld with attachments. I feel Hoover has come back to producing quality vacuums, and I hope I will be able to say this 6 months down the road. I have 2 terriers that shed constantly, and both vacuums pick up the dog hair quite well. The upright is streamlined and not heavy to pick up--and I'm not a very strong woman. Some reviewers have complained of the noise of the handheld, but I don't think it's inordinately loud. Yes, I would like it to be quieter, but it's average in my opinion. All in all, I'm thrilled with this vacuum pair and expect them to last for many years. One warning though, this upright is NOT for shag carpet! I have a shag area rug, and it is very hard to push and pull the vacuum over it. I must switch it to the low setting and lower the handle as much as possible to lessen the suction. Since I have only this one rug, I still love this vacuum for my regular carpetting, tile and laminate floors. Unless your house is mostly shag carpet, I would recommend this vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tradrgal
Greenacres, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Excellent - light and easy to use
5/26/2010

Customer review by Tiger542

5.0 stars 5/26/2010 by Tiger542
by Tiger542

My main concern when buying a new vacuum was weight and ease of use on stairs. At 12 pounds this weighs half what my old Sears canister did, and the handles it has for using it on stairs are perfect. I love that the attachments are all on the separate mini canister that has a strap allowing you to carry it around on your shoulder. I really appreciate not having to lug the attachments around on the main cleaner. The main cleaner is so light because all it has is the compartment for the large bag. Both units seem to pick up the dirt really well. I highly recommend this product. It was also rated #2 by Consumer Reports.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tiger542
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
A great picker upper
1/11/2011

Customer review by Bizzimum

3.0 stars 1/11/2011 by Bizzimum
by Bizzimum

I like this product. Th vacuum is self propelled and has hi and lo suction setting. The portable unit is great on stairs. The units look sleek and not heavy at all. I likethe product and don't mind that I have to pull out the portable unit for stairs and upholstery. The only thing that bothers me is finding the replacement bags. I can't believe a company like Hoover cannot keep stock of the bags. I was disappointed that Walmart does not sell the bag yet it sells the vacuum. I've gone on line to amazon and other stores but the bags are backorderd. A real bummer. BTW. The portable unit is a different bag type than the upright. I'd give this a better rating if I can find the bags.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bizzimum
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
2/12/2012

Customer review by goldielocks1

1.0 stars 2/12/2012 by goldielocks1
by goldielocks1

I read many reviews before buying this vacuum. From reading the reviews it sounded like this was such an amazing, great value! I did see a few comments about the small handheld vacuum that weren't so good! Listen to them! I have no idea why anyone would keep this vacuum. It is very annoying to not have onboard tools. The small vacuum literally hurt my ears as well as my kids! It sounds like an airplane going off. It was double the work and hassle of a regular vacuum. The large vacuum works ok, nothing spectacular. It is really the small over the shoulder vacuum that makes this a joke. For all the noise it makes you would think it would lift the carpet off the ground, but it barely picks up half the dirt. I really don't know why they are selling it! Especially for so much money! I ended up returning it to walmart (they were very good about the return). I bought a eureka with onboard tools that was 80 dollars and it works a hundred times better!

Was this review helpful? (12) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
goldielocks1
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 505 total reviews
1-20 of 505 reviews