Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 583 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

583 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

583 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
382
4 stars
111
3 stars
26
2 stars
28
1 stars
36
1-20 of 534 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 534 total reviews
1-20 of 534 reviews
Two Thumbs Up!!!!!
12/15/2010

Customer review by bargainhunteronlineshoper

5.0 stars 12/15/2010 by bargainhunteronlineshoper
by bargainhunteronlineshoper

For almost two weeks, I've been digging informations/ratings for a good vacuum cleaner which has a reasonable price (not cheap but also not expensive). I guess this is most of the online shoppers are doing before deciding to click the "place order now" button. I was leaning toward buying a refurbished Dyson but lost confidence because of too much complaints about the quality and the after sales support I've read from online retailer. Decided to buy this product because it was the #1 pick of consumersreport.org as well as the ratings from people who bought. Additionally, the price of Walmart is unbeatable, I paid $189 while hoover is selling it @ 299. Performance wise, the product really works great. It's lightweight, the suction power is incredible, noise level is tolerable and design is very simple. I agree with one of the feedback that the canister is a little bit noisy but I don't think the it lack the suction power. Overall this is one of my best buy and would highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bargainhunteronlineshoper
Galveston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Vaccuum Combo
10/11/2015

Customer review by Sammy

5.0 stars 10/11/2015 by Sammy
by Sammy

I am over 60 and was looking for a lighter vacuum than my current Hoover 17lb. upright. This vacuum is about 12lbs. and moves easily forward and the ergo handle is a nice plus. It definitely is a lot lighter and and easier to handle. This vacuum picks up well, but be careful on lighter throw rugs as it will eat them up even on low setting. The canister has nice suction, but the exhaust in back blows hard and can disturb loose items such as papers, magazines, etc. It is also heavy even with the strap. I use my old extension and tools from my previous Hoover for easier pick up and less strain on the back. I have only had it for 2 weeks and the canister works well for the car. This vacuum arrived the day after I ordered it much to my surprise as I choose the free shipping option. Must have been due to the fact I live close to Walmart distribution center. Only time will tell if this is a good purchase. My older hoover upright is about 15 years old and still working well. Definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sammy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Powerful, light and convenient
5/12/2013

Customer review by WIFIVE

4.0 stars 5/12/2013 by WIFIVE
by WIFIVE
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We've gone through numerous vacuums and all seem to have some type of downside. The Hoover Platinum UH30010COM seems to have the best blend of features and value that we have experienced. The two vacuum design (one standup and one portable) is a great convenience and optimization of features. This allows the upright to be very light (at 11 lbs it is almost 50% lighter than most uprights). The portable is very convenient for tight spaces and especially the stairs. My wife used to dangerously use the hose attachment from our old upright on the stairs. Also I believe the bagged design is superior to a bagless design. The bag is huge and provides a much cleaner sanitary disposal of collected dust and carpet fibers. The one drawback is that the upright can be hard to push on densely packed carpet. To be fair, many vacuums have the same issue. Our Eureka vacuum is impossible to push. This Hoover is difficult to push on some of our carpets but is still acceptable. If it wasn't for this we would give it a 5 star rating.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WIFIVE
Parker, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I actually like my vacuum cleaner
11/1/2010

Customer review by pondlily

5.0 stars 11/1/2010 by pondlily
by pondlily

This is, so far, the best vacuum cleaner I've ever used. It is very lightweight, maneuvers easily, is relatively quiet, and actually CLEANS MY FLOORS. I have two cats, one of which is a long-haired shedding machine. I vacuum every day. This cleaner really does the trick, and effortlessly compared to other machines. It works great on my hardwood and tile, as well, without kicking up clouds of fur. Transitions from hard to textile surfaces smoothly, but watch it on rugs; the suction is so powerful it can grab up lighter rugs. The companion hand-held is pretty slick, too. Easy. I use it more than I thought I would. I'll be interested to see how long this sweeper holds up, since it is the 3rd one I've purchased in almost as many years. It seems to have fewer cheesy plastic parts than most sweepers, but my dear husband still has strict orders to keep his appliance-destroying mitts off. If you want to get your floors clean with a lot less effort, get this sweeper.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pondlily
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome machines for the price
10/1/2013

Customer review by RoboticVacUser

5.0 stars 10/1/2013 by RoboticVacUser
by RoboticVacUser
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Both machines get the job done well. Love that both are bagged. HEPA is a plus. I have used bagless for years, and hate the idea of emptying the dirt bin. Having to empty the dirt bin into a trash can by tapping it defeats the purpose of vaccumming the dirt. Don't you think? The upright is light enough, but not as light as Oreck. It can goes pretty flat. The cord is really long. The light is very good and helpful. The low setting is already very loud, so I would not go for the high setting. If loud means powerful, then that is what I have to live with. The canister is not cordless, but a plus side is that it will not loose suction because it doesn't depend on the battery level. The cord of the caniter unit is several feet long, so it is long enough to stretch acroos at least half of my living room to get the job done. A bagged canister is hard to find, too. The price is pretty reasonable for a high-end machine. Do not know if they will last years. Have owned them for several weeks, and used them every 2-3 days. All in all, a happy purchase.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RoboticVacUser
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this Hoover Vacum
4/26/2010

Customer review by lovemyxmradio

5.0 stars 4/26/2010 by lovemyxmradio
by lovemyxmradio

I looked at all vacums, electrulux, dyson, and bought the electrulux upright and returned it, it was nice looking that was it, very heavy, then I looked at the dysons, all of them at Best Buy, and then the sales rep showed me this vacum cleaner, it is not like the other plastic Hoovers at all. This vacum cleaner is awesome, Very Lightweight !!! no dust to deal with !! no dirt in your face, you can actually vacum without feeling like you need to take a shower , after playing with your dust cup ! It is very easy to move around, it does a very good job on carpet or tile ! I never thought to even look at it, I am so glad the sales rep showed it to me, I Love It, it has a huge bag, and no dust flying around when you empty it. It even comes with a second vacum, which I have not used yet, but it has all the tools you would need ! I am happy I bought this instead of the plastic dyson, it looks like an overpriced plastic vacum cleaner, that does no different than any other vacum cleaner in an upper price range. The Hoover weighs 12lbs. it is GREAT.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lovemyxmradio
Newark, De
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
this is an ideal vacuum
4/25/2010

Customer review by megs1122

5.0 stars 4/25/2010 by megs1122
by megs1122

Pros: (1) At current (Walmart) price, this is an excellent value; (2) sucks up dust/dirt very well; (3) quiet and lightweight; (4) excellent quality, over-sized bags that trap fine dust; (5) the additional hand-vac works exceptionally well, has many attachments, and is very compact; (6) the floor vac and hand vac have a nice, durable appearance; and (7) though Walmart indicated a two week delivery time, I had it at my door two days after placing the order! Cons: (1) if using with a loose pile carpet, the roller spin is strong enough to unravel carpet on the "high" setting, especially at carpet seams. This is not an issue when using the vacuum on the "low" setting. I've used oreck before but have not tested dyson, and the quality of this vacuum is significantly better than oreck. It is just fantastically well built and the current, moderate price point will guarantee you a vacuum that will work well for years (i.e., there is also a long warranty on all parts of the unit, I believe) and will not need a replacement for some time. I'm happy about this because this is my third new vacuum in 8 years.

Was this review helpful? (87) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
megs1122
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
A very good product for a very good price
9/16/2010

Customer review by GoodsLooker

5.0 stars 9/16/2010 by GoodsLooker
by GoodsLooker

I'm a Consumer Reports junkee and I tend to go with their recommendations. The Hoover Platinum got very high marks in their ratings, but I think it was passed over for the CR Best Buy because of its price of $400. That's why I was so surprised to find the same vacuum at Walmart.com for only $219. It was a no-brainer. It arrived very quickly, was professionally packaged, and easy to assemble. I immediately tried it on carpet, because this is one of the areas it was supposed to excel in. It did not disappoint. Even when I ran it along the baseboards where dog hairs accumulate, it did a better job than my previous high-end vacuum (which was twice the price.) It does great on hardwood too, and I switched it into the low setting for my throw rug, and it knew what to do -- suck up the dirt, not the rug. Wonderful product! It has special grips for vacuuming stairs and is easy to handle -- I'm a weakling so I appreciate its light weight. This vacuum was designed by someone that actually does the vacuuming at their own home. I can't comment on its reliability because I've only owned it for a month, but I have no buyer's remorse. I LOVE this vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GoodsLooker
Saratoga, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
keeps shutting off
1/25/2016

Customer review by lisaratts

2.0 stars 1/25/2016 by lisaratts
by lisaratts

Had gotten this vacuum about 4 1/2 years ago. Worked great at first, then after about a year would shut off for not reason (no clogs) then after it sat for a few weeks, would work again for another year then shut off again (after being on for a few seconds) I have had this problem "on/off" the past five years and am fed up. going to Goodwill to buy a used 10 year old metal canister that may not look pretty, but thank goodness, doesnt have any computerized element.... Good luck!

Comment from Kenya - 1/25/2016

Hi lisaratts! That certainly shouldn’t be happening. It sounds like there may be an internal issue going on that we’ll need to take a look at. The good news is that this model carries a 5 year warranty against manufacturing defects. To get your Platinum back up and running as soon as possible we recommend bringing it in for service at an authorized Hoover center. To locate one nearest you please visit: http://hoover.com/locator/. Hope this helps!

lisaratts
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
It really works!
3/8/2010

Customer review by tradrgal

5.0 stars 3/8/2010 by tradrgal
by tradrgal

This is the fourth vacuum I've purchased in the last two months, and the first one I didn't return. I'm very pleased with the performance of both the upright and handheld with attachments. I feel Hoover has come back to producing quality vacuums, and I hope I will be able to say this 6 months down the road. I have 2 terriers that shed constantly, and both vacuums pick up the dog hair quite well. The upright is streamlined and not heavy to pick up--and I'm not a very strong woman. Some reviewers have complained of the noise of the handheld, but I don't think it's inordinately loud. Yes, I would like it to be quieter, but it's average in my opinion. All in all, I'm thrilled with this vacuum pair and expect them to last for many years. One warning though, this upright is NOT for shag carpet! I have a shag area rug, and it is very hard to push and pull the vacuum over it. I must switch it to the low setting and lower the handle as much as possible to lessen the suction. Since I have only this one rug, I still love this vacuum for my regular carpetting, tile and laminate floors. Unless your house is mostly shag carpet, I would recommend this vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tradrgal
Greenacres, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
2/12/2012

Customer review by goldielocks1

1.0 stars 2/12/2012 by goldielocks1
by goldielocks1

I read many reviews before buying this vacuum. From reading the reviews it sounded like this was such an amazing, great value! I did see a few comments about the small handheld vacuum that weren't so good! Listen to them! I have no idea why anyone would keep this vacuum. It is very annoying to not have onboard tools. The small vacuum literally hurt my ears as well as my kids! It sounds like an airplane going off. It was double the work and hassle of a regular vacuum. The large vacuum works ok, nothing spectacular. It is really the small over the shoulder vacuum that makes this a joke. For all the noise it makes you would think it would lift the carpet off the ground, but it barely picks up half the dirt. I really don't know why they are selling it! Especially for so much money! I ended up returning it to walmart (they were very good about the return). I bought a eureka with onboard tools that was 80 dollars and it works a hundred times better!

Was this review helpful? (13) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
goldielocks1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great design, Light Weight, Easy to use
4/23/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/23/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Absolutely love the product......... Quiet (maybe not whisper quiet) but does have the low setting that won't wake the house. Automatically adjusts to any floor setting. The Best feature is that it automatically shuts off if there is the wrong kind of resistance on the beater bar... say you suck up a piece of string or frayed carpet, it shuts off for you to unwrap the string off the beater bar without burning up a belt. When you are ready, just hit the power button and start vacuuming. Very light weight. EXCELLENT suction. I have two full time dogs and several family member pets that visit a lot all of whom are "shedders". This takes care of it great. I can go from berber to shag to wood floors without adjusting anything. When I hit a delicate area rug I just have to turn it to the low setting on the handle with the electronic push button. The cons- the bags are a little pricey, but those should start going down in price as more than just hoover start to manufacture the type Q hepa bag.

An anonymous customer
crestwood, ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Handle Broke in Half
8/6/2015

Customer review by Maureen D

1.0 stars 8/6/2015 by Maureen D
by Maureen D

I bought a Hoover platinum upright wind tunnel a few years ago. My first Hoover I bought was the low end model and lasted at least 15 years so I decided to buy this one to replace it. I absolutely loved the vacuum. It was super light and picked up like a champ. I told all my friends they should get one. Then about 2 years in it just stopped working. After about 2 months I received a replacement through a local dealer. In the meantime I had to borrow one to clean my house. I didn't think the service was the best but they did eventually replace the product. A couple of years later (today) I was vacuuming and the handle broke right in half. I love the vacuum but it doesn't seem to last very long. I only vacuum once or twice a week and have no kids or pets and my house is 1500 square feet. For the price I payed I would expect this vacuum to last longer. I am very disappointed in the product. Sorry to say since I was always a hoover lover in the past. I wish I had my old one back. It was cheap and worked for over a decade!

Comment from Kenya - 8/10/2015

Hi Maureen D! That does not sound like Hoover quality. The handle should be holding up much better than that. We are sending you a private email. We want to help. Thanks!

Maureen D
Ohio, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Worth the buy
5/12/2009

Customer review by Ohdanigurl

5.0 stars 5/12/2009 by Ohdanigurl
by Ohdanigurl

I was chosen to participate in a case study with this vacuum through a site called Cafemom. I fell in love with this product. I have a zoo in my house and it can get rather hairy. It picks up the hair with no issues and is easy to push around. Hi and low settings for different parts of the house and also has an indicator letting you know when to change your bags. The second little gadget that goes with it is easy to cart around and helps with getting gunk off the edges around the baseboards.

Was this review helpful? (139) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ohdanigurl
Nampa, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
wonderful
10/13/2009

Customer review by lgshop

5.0 stars 10/13/2009 by lgshop
by lgshop

I did a lot of research on vacuums before purchasing this one and I love it. The price was good and the vacuum works great. It is easy is get into tight spots, picks up great and it is so nice not to have to adjust it for carpet or tile floors. It adjusts itself. I also love the portable vacuum that comes with it. Before I had to lug my big vacuum to clean my baseboards and now I have a handy, compact vacuum that is easy to carry around. The extra long handle is wonderful and my husband loves it for vacuuming the car. I am so glad that I found this vacuum. Thanks Walmart for having the best price!!

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lgshop
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Best vacuum ever if Walmart stocked the bags!
10/31/2010

Customer review by jim2450

5.0 stars 10/31/2010 by jim2450
by jim2450

My wife has purchase every vacuum cleaner ever invented except the Dyson and I refused to spend that kind of money on something that would not produce an absolute vacuum, which is theoretically impossible. Nevertheless, we bought another, that makes seven now in our possession however; I must say that the Platinum vacuum by Hoover is the best engineered for the money I have ever seen. If only Wal-Mart would stock the bags for it, it would be as close to perfect as I would require.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jim2450
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Product
3/1/2009

Customer review by LotsofAnimals

5.0 stars 3/1/2009 by LotsofAnimals
by LotsofAnimals

In tough economic times it was a bit difficult to spend this much money on a vacuum but my house requires the best vacuum out there to deal with the fur from 3 cats and big dog and two daughters with long hair! This vacuum gets everything, it truly works edge to edge. I can clean right up into the corners without having to switch to the hose feature. It has rubber wheels instead of plastic which are so much more durable and much easier on my wood floors. The true test was whether I could clean cat litter without feeling it spraying out behind the vacuum...a huge success! It's so easy to use and comes with a 6 year warranty. A GREAT vacuum whose weight allows me to carry it up and down the stairs easily.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LotsofAnimals
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
couldn't be more pleased
7/18/2011

Customer review by jowit

5.0 stars 7/18/2011 by jowit
by jowit

I did a lot of research before I bought this vacuum, and I'm glad I did. It has turned out to not only meet, but exceed my expectations. The best things about this vacuum are the excellent suction, low noise, light weight, and the HEPA filtering...not to mention the 35-foot cord. I was a bit disappointed that the upright itself did not accommodate the crevice and upholstrey tools, but have really grown to like the separate cansiter vac that you strap onto your shoulders. It's also lightweight and does a good job cleaning. Some people here have complained about the price of the replacement bags, but shop around online. You can get the bags relatively cheaply on A*****. And the bags last longer than my other bags did in my old Eureka Boss, which I had to change when they were only half-full to assure the best suction. Plus, they are HEPA filtered.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jowit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
Great Product With Some Caveats
2/16/2009

Customer review by criswan

4.0 stars 2/16/2009 by criswan
by criswan

I bought this to replace a Dyson DC21 Canister which was not doing a sufficient job in our new home which is a lot of hardwood and carpet. The upright is of good build quailty, not great. The HEPA cloth bag is fantastic but beware pet owners to buy some baking soda or Pet Fresh to dump in the bag if you follow the manufacturer's directions. You see the bag on the Hoover Platinum is so large that after about two weeks of vacuuming pet hair, the vacuum gets that great pet smell. A little baking soda does the trick though nicely. The cord is a fantastic 35 feet and the headlight is bright and lasts a lifetime since its LED. Th vacuum uses the Windtunnel system and has an aggressive brushroll. It automatically adjusts for rug height and has a dual speed motor. You cannot turn the brushroll off which is a problem when trying to pick up bigger debris off of bare floors. It is very light and easy to carry up stairs. Speaking of stairs, the stair feature is about worthless due to the size of the head. The canister is the saving grace for this setup as it acts well for bare floors and has the same HEPA filtration. The hose however is a measly 5 feet and you will be strained to not have to put the vac on your shoulder while vacuuming. The attachments are also rather measly featuring just a floor brush, dusting brush, and crevice tool. No upholstery brush. Overall a good buy for those with allergies or pets; or if you have a high traffic home like us. It could use some improvements but most products could. Great competition to Dyson, Oreck, and Bissell.

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
criswan
South Bend, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Vaccum
1/13/2016

Customer review by COWOLYN

5.0 stars 1/13/2016 by COWOLYN
by COWOLYN

Easy to use, my rugs look great ! Wonderful on floors too !

COWOLYN
NJ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 534 total reviews
1-20 of 534 reviews