Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 651 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

651 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

651 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
423
4 stars
121
3 stars
32
2 stars
35
1 stars
40
1-20 of 602 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 602 total reviews
1-20 of 602 reviews
Durable, powerful, lightweight.
10/28/2016

Customer review by SaraJ

5.0 stars 10/28/2016 by SaraJ
by SaraJ

I have been using these two vacuums for SIX years now. I have never had to replace any parts except for ONE time that was totally our own fault and we put a hole in the hose of the canister but we bought another and it has been fine. The bags last a long time, on the canister vac I have even been able to empty and reuse the replaceable bags. The suction is amazing! It still works like new! Which is great! I LOVE not having to replace filters and all that mess, bagged is the way to go. I have recommended this product to everyone over the years. I even clogged it once, I vacuumed some things I should not have tried to vacuum up and so it clogged, but I managed to take it apart myself and pull the clog out and get it back together in about 30 minutes! I could never do that with any other vac. I love this vacuum, if anything ever happens to it I will be buying it again! But I don't foresee it giving out on me. Six years and still going!

SaraJ
TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DEFINITELY TRUE TO FORM....
2/3/2017

Customer review by Cuddles2229

5.0 stars 2/3/2017 by Cuddles2229
by Cuddles2229
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Hoover out-did itself with THIS PRODUCT. WOW...I'M IMPRESSED and perfectly happy with my purchase. The upright canister is everything and more with suction. Pulls itself along on "low" carpeting and is very lightweight. The "tag-along" canister vac for the stairs and bare floors is TOTALLY AWESOME...!! With the wand extension, there's NO bending over. It glides along the floor and cleans under things just perfectly. With all the tools attached, theres' no stopping. I'm thrilled with my purchase. THANK YOU HOOVER FOR MAKING MY LIFE EASIER...!!!

Cuddles2229
Pennsylvania, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great design, Light Weight, Easy to use
4/23/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/23/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Absolutely love the product......... Quiet (maybe not whisper quiet) but does have the low setting that won't wake the house. Automatically adjusts to any floor setting. The Best feature is that it automatically shuts off if there is the wrong kind of resistance on the beater bar... say you suck up a piece of string or frayed carpet, it shuts off for you to unwrap the string off the beater bar without burning up a belt. When you are ready, just hit the power button and start vacuuming. Very light weight. EXCELLENT suction. I have two full time dogs and several family member pets that visit a lot all of whom are "shedders". This takes care of it great. I can go from berber to shag to wood floors without adjusting anything. When I hit a delicate area rug I just have to turn it to the low setting on the handle with the electronic push button. The cons- the bags are a little pricey, but those should start going down in price as more than just hoover start to manufacture the type Q hepa bag.

An anonymous customer
crestwood, ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not that great
2/4/2017

Customer review by Christopher4273

3.0 stars 2/4/2017 by Christopher4273
by Christopher4273

Bag is a pain to clean and the suction is average. I have had it for two years and it is still going, but I would not buy again.

Comment from Kenya - 2/6/2017

Hi Christopher4273! The cloth HEPA bag that came with your unit is a disposable bag and should be replaced about every 2 months depending on usage. A new bag will greatly improve your suction. The replacement bags are always available here: http://bit.ly/2jUvIN6. We hope this helps!

Christopher4273
Charles Town, WV 25414, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
worked until it didn't
1/24/2017

Customer review by Jackie123

2.0 stars 1/24/2017 by Jackie123
by Jackie123

I the Hoover Platinum Collection and was very happy with it. Then one day the on/off switch started blinking and it has not worked since. The motor will run if you hold it at a 45 degree angle but if you try to run it like a regular sweeper it stops running. For the price it should run better. Unfortunately I do not have my receipt, I have the owners manual, but no receipt. Interestingly enough I had an old Hoover Elite Supreme in the basement and that is what I have been using, it still runs:(

Comment from Kenya - 1/25/2017

Hi Jackie123! That seems strange. We want to help. We recommend taking your Platinum Upright in for service. This model actually carries a 5 year warranty against manufacturing defects. To locate an authorized Hoover repair center near you please visit: http://hoover.com/locator/. Let us know if you still need us!

Jackie123
Lakewood, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Handle has broken twice!
1/17/2017

Customer review by MleSmith

1.0 stars 1/17/2017 by MleSmith
by MleSmith

I like this vacuum with the HUGE exception that the handle has snapped in half twice now. It snaps just below where the top cord wrap is located. Last time it took several weeks to get it repaired and service center said it was a challenging fix. Now I'm trying to find somewhere to repair it again. The closest location looks to be an hour away from my house and I'm not sure I want to go without a vacuum for several weeks again. Bad design!

Comment from Karissa - 1/19/2017

Hi MleSmith! The handle for your Platinum Collection Bagged Upright should hold up better than this. We want to help. We will be reaching out to you privately for further assistance in this matter. We look forward to hearing from you!

MleSmith
Utah, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
I love my vacuum
1/14/2017

Customer review by mickiley

5.0 stars 1/14/2017 by mickiley
by mickiley

This is lightweight but very powerful. The HEPA collection must truly 99+ percent because its not all dusty like previous vacuums. The vacuum itself is clean. I love how it moves. Cleans so well, can hear it and see. I also like the light in front, the brushes on the side that help with corners. I also like the high/low setting. And the canister that comes with is super handy too. It's my favorite all time vacuum. My kids know to treat it well.

mickiley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just bought a second one!
1/22/2017

Customer review by C minus

5.0 stars 1/22/2017 by C minus
by C minus
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought one about 2 years ago & love it... especially like the fact that it has a bag versus a canister filter; just bought a second one to use upstairs!

C minus
Indiana, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best there is and at a great price!
12/22/2016

Customer review by mchorba

5.0 stars 12/22/2016 by mchorba
by mchorba

I cleaned houses through college and have used every vacuum at every price point out there and I would choose this vacuum every time! (Even over a Dyson and similar high-end brands)! The pick-up is great and consistent, while not being extremely loud. The upright is light and easy to use, and the canister is light and is easy to throw over your shoulder and get those pesky hard to reach places. Without fail I would choose this Hoover every time.

mchorba
Columbus, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Handle Broke in Half
8/6/2015

Customer review by Maureen D

1.0 stars 8/6/2015 by Maureen D
by Maureen D

I bought a Hoover platinum upright wind tunnel a few years ago. My first Hoover I bought was the low end model and lasted at least 15 years so I decided to buy this one to replace it. I absolutely loved the vacuum. It was super light and picked up like a champ. I told all my friends they should get one. Then about 2 years in it just stopped working. After about 2 months I received a replacement through a local dealer. In the meantime I had to borrow one to clean my house. I didn't think the service was the best but they did eventually replace the product. A couple of years later (today) I was vacuuming and the handle broke right in half. I love the vacuum but it doesn't seem to last very long. I only vacuum once or twice a week and have no kids or pets and my house is 1500 square feet. For the price I payed I would expect this vacuum to last longer. I am very disappointed in the product. Sorry to say since I was always a hoover lover in the past. I wish I had my old one back. It was cheap and worked for over a decade!

Comment from Kenya - 8/10/2015

Hi Maureen D! That does not sound like Hoover quality. The handle should be holding up much better than that. We are sending you a private email. We want to help. Thanks!

Maureen D
Ohio, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Nothing But Trouble
1/5/2015

Customer review by DanM

1.0 stars 1/5/2015 by DanM
by DanM

We purchased this vacuum a few years ago at Wal-Mart for $400.  It seemed great for about a year, then a plastic piece underneath broke.  A call to Hoover resulted in being informed that it was not covered by the warranty.  Since that time, the vacuum has been very loud, but we have put up with it. Then, last week, the handle snapped off while using the vacuum, similar to what a LOT of other owners have complained about.  I tried using epoxy to repair it, but it didn't hold.  A replacement handle assembly runs $121 online.   As I read other reviews here, I see a pattern of Hoover responses similar to "don't despair, we will email you privately and take care of you", but my guess is that all Hoover is doing is offering a discount on a new machine.  I don't have any delusion that Hoover will send a replacement handle for my vacuum that is outside of its 5 year warranty, but I will never pay this much money for a vacuum again, especially a Hoover product!

Comment from Giselle - 1/5/2015

Hi Dan, in no way we want you to be upset with us. We are always here to help and strive for quality/consumer satisfactory products as well as our Customer Care. We want to help make this right. The handle to your cleaner should not have "snapped off". We have a couple questions. You will receive a private email shortly.

DanM
Forest Lake, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Handle snapped right off!
11/25/2014

Customer review by aralph

1.0 stars 11/25/2014 by aralph
by aralph

Bought this new in 2010 and use it almost daily. It's our second Wind Tunnel (previous model lasted about the same amount of time before it bit the dust, decided to give Hoover another try anyway). It has been a fine vacuum and has served us extremely well - until today that it. The upper handle snapped right off while using it! Keep in mind we carry this by the carry handle and not the upper handle as Hoover advises. I looked on the Amazon Q&A for this product and see where others have had the same issue. So I call Hoover, only to learn the product warranty expired six months ago (can you say built-in obsolescence?). The offered me a 40% discount on a new vacuum, which pretty much makes it the same price (after shipping/tax) as the Amazon price. And a new handle costs about as much as a brand new vacuum. What to do? I want to like Hoover, and remember my parents owning a Hoover that lasted forever. Sadly products these days are not built to last. We are supposed to expect poor design, quality, materials and workmanship.

Comment from Giselle - 11/25/2014

Hi aralph! This is not good to hear. Your Platinum should not be giving you any trouble. We want to help make this right. You will receive a private email shortly for better assistance.

aralph
LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Excellent cleaning ability
12/3/2016

Customer review by Happyface

5.0 stars 12/3/2016 by Happyface
by Happyface

I have owned this Hoover Platinum upright for over 6 years now and it is simply the best vacuum I have ever owned. You can maneuver it very easily due to it being lightweight. The suction power on this vac is unbelievable and really cleans my rugs and floors great. I have a yellow lab that sheds so I choose to own a vacuum with bag so this can be tossed out. Great job Hoover for providing an excellent quality machine.

Happyface
Charlotte, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A solid piece of machinery
1/19/2010

Customer review by Mr Vacfettish

5.0 stars 1/19/2010 by Mr Vacfettish
by Mr Vacfettish

I was on the fence about this vac, but once i unpackaged it, and put it together w one screw, I was allready intrigued, then as soon as I hit the power button, i was sold..the brush roll and height adjustmnt is auto, grooming the carpet as well as cleaning it, I like the groomed carpet look, and the color came back some to the carpet as well after several passes, so I knew the old vac, heavy and cumbersome wasnt working well at all, the canister is packed w power and easy to use w the shoulder strap making access to the tools easier than ever. Its retro look is attractive..heavy duty zipper and bag casing. And the best of all, lightweight, cleaning is work enough let alone having to haul the vac around. A bumper to bumper 6 yr warranty made the sale more attractive as well, w a 90 day return policy from [...]. This vac is stayng here though, one of Hoovers best and well built machines..nice Job Hoover..the price was perfect as well..

Mr Vacfettish
Philadelphia, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hoover platinum UH30010 vac, a 5 star
12/2/2016

Customer review by Rupp

5.0 stars 12/2/2016 by Rupp
by Rupp

85 years old and BEST vac I've ever owned. This product is the best Hoover has ever had. I give it 5 stars. Makes those other clumsy and heavy Hoovers second rate!

Rupp
Kansas City, MO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Going Strong for 5 years
4/27/2016

Customer review by Dettat

5.0 stars 4/27/2016 by Dettat
by Dettat

My husband and I bought this as an anniversary gift to ourselves. We have a two story home, and thought that having 2 vacuum cleaners would be nice, so we don't have to drag one up and down the stairs. Our upstairs is mostly carpet, so the upright is there, and the canister is downstairs. It took sometime to get used to using the canister, as it has a strap that you put around your shoulder to carry it. We have been pleased with cleaning with them. We have had to replace on the canister vacuum the carry strap and the wand. The strap metal connectors that hook it to the vacuum bent out and would not stay hooked on. The wand cracked. But the machines themselves have continued to run well. Ordering parts and vacuum bags online has been easy. If you order several packs of bags on one order, you get a discount price. So much easier than going into a store and trying to recall what bag size you need!

Dettat
Pittsburgh, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
love the performance
8/22/2013

Customer review by coryc

4.0 stars 8/22/2013 by coryc
by coryc

So I have to start with I love this vacuum and its performance and would reccomend it to anyone. HOWEVER; that being said. I am Dissapointed in the connection of the handle. The single screw that holds the handle for the power control connected to the vacuum itself is poorly designed or I got a defective one. The handle jiggles in the connection to the vacuum and would trip the power switch and turn it off during use. I had to take the handle off wrap it in newspaper and stick it back on and screwed it back in to stop the handle from disconnecting and  wobbling during use. Now it works great and I still love it and would reccomend it to a friend or family member just would tell to be careful with the handle. I took my vacuum with a new bag in it to my friends and had them vacuum their carpets with they're Dyson and then I vacuumed with my hoover platinum and it picked up so much out of they're carpets the bottom of the bag was full of dog hair and i was impressed. Fix the handle hoover and you got yourselves a fine machine.     Thanks... a loyal customer.

Comment from Ian - 8/22/2013

Hi Coryc, we wouldn't recommend wrapping anything around that handle to stabilize it. The handle should have a strong enough connection on it's own. We're send you a private email so that we can better assist you. Thanks so much!

coryc
seattle wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Applies to most models . . .
11/5/2016

Customer review by JoanInGA

2.0 stars 11/5/2016 by JoanInGA
by JoanInGA

Not sure if this model is affected, but in general, if you want a vacuum that features ease of use and reliability, especially if you have hardwood floors and area rugs. The REAL deal killer for me in the newer Hoovers is the lack of a 3-position handle. The middle position is gone, which means if you let go of the handle momentarily, it drops most of the way to the floor. In addition, there is no simple way to tilt the vacuum back in order to avoid the fringes and edges of area rugs (or anything else in your path) while vacuuming. In order to vacuum my home I have to go from fringed rug to hardwood, to fringed rug, to hardwood, to fringed rug, to hardwood, to fringed rug, to hardwood, to fringed rug. Some of these rugs require vacuuming over 2 fringed ends, which puts me at 8 or 10 times of having to either bend over and lift the vacuum completely off the floor (way too heavy at my age) to avoid the fringe or to avoid beating up the edges of the rugs with the brushes, OR, having to put the Vacuum in the upright position to tilt it in order to avoid the fringe and then having to use the foot release to get it back to the vacuuming position EVERY TIME I want to avoid a fringe. This is ridiculous. Why in the world would HOOVER ruin a perfectly wonderful product by, yes, cheapening it, but more importantly, RUINING one of the most important aspects of the product with respect to ease of use and practicality. Even after having the front wheels break off my current Hoover when it was only 3 years old, as a 56-year owner of Hoover vacs, I was still willing to give Hoover another chance. NEVER AGAIN, this thing with the handle is a REAL deal breaker for me, especially on top of all the other cheapened aspects of the Hoover Vacuum. All of this, and yet it is heaver and far more cumbersome than it was years ago. HOOVER . . . your vacuums are going in REVERSE!

Comment from Kenya - 11/9/2016

Hi JoanInGA! We appreciate your feedback. We are always looking for new ways to improve the user experience. We will pass your comments along. Thanks for your time!

JoanInGA
Atlanta, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love it but.....
4/28/2015

Customer review by Vaqumqueen

4.0 stars 4/28/2015 by Vaqumqueen
by Vaqumqueen

I have had the Hoover - Platinum for several years. Very lightweight, easy to use on the stairs and great suction! Recently I noticed my cord has been compromised by rubbing it up against furniture and now the power is intermittent and therefore unusable. This has never happened to any vacuum I own so I wonder if the cord covering could be a little more durable in the future. I needed a vacuum so I got a Kenmore canister that came highly recommended on Consumer reports. Loved it for 2 weeks but still not as maneuverable as the Hoover. Then their cord refused to retract (a feature that is wonderful - only if it works or can easily fix - neither the case for the Kenmore!) so I returned it. I just bought another Platinum and wanted to purchase a new handle cord - even though it is more than half the price of buying another Platinum! But they are out of stock. Please let me know when you will be getting more in. I brought it to an authorized dealer and he tried to convince me to buy another vacuum he had in stock. Not a good experience even though I am a fan of the vacuum overall!

Vaqumqueen
Massachusetts, United States
Gender:Female
Won't go hoseless again
9/11/2016

Customer review by BethMN

3.0 stars 9/11/2016 by BethMN
by BethMN

I bought into the idea that, in trade for a lighter vacuum, I could go without an attached hose and use the separate shoulder canister for tighter or raised spaces, but that was a mistake. This vacuum worked well (before the expensive handle portion just broke in two during normal use, a few months after the warranty expired), but the shoulder-strap canister is screamingly loud and clumsy, with a cord that was everywhere you didn't want it to be. In my older home, we have a lot of nooks the vacuum just wouldn't go, and it seemed cobwebs always formed one inch above the vacuum's suction. Without an attached hose at the ready, you're just going over everything twice.

Comment from Kenya - 9/19/2016

Hi BethMN! We hate to hear the Platinum Collection didn’t live up to your expectations. We recommend utilizing the extendable wand and crevice tool to reach into those tight nooks. If a vacuum with an attached hose will fit your home needs better, we recommend the Anniversary WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright here: http://bit.ly/1RwtaxR. We hope this is helpful!

BethMN
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 602 total reviews
1-20 of 602 reviews