Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 194 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

194 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

194 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
111
4 stars
54
3 stars
14
2 stars
9
1 stars
6
1-20 of 160 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 160 total reviews
1-20 of 160 reviews
An old geezer's review
1/4/2010

Customer review by BobbyBoy

4.0 stars 1/4/2010 by BobbyBoy
by BobbyBoy

Pros - Lithium battery, good power, lots of attachments, fits the hand nicely. Cons - Abysmal instructions, attachments are a nuisance to change, rubber handle is a magnet for clippings! For many years I've used Remington trimmers. They do a good job and are a snap to use. When my last one died there was none in stock anywhere. Decided to try the Wahl primarily because of the Lithium Ion battery. In my experience the battery is always the first thing to go on a rechargeable trimmer. The Li-ion battery should solve this problem. The Wahl does a good job but requires several attachment changes. They are a little "fiddley" to get on and off. Sometimes they can be downright exasperating. That said, there are several really nice things about the Wahl. It come with 3 "clipper" heads. The medium size is the most useful for me. The small one is great for trimming around nose and ears. It is almost surgical in its precision. (You could perform Uncle Buck's "surgery" on a gnat with this little baby!) One thing that's really neat is the little shaver head. It does a great job; just don't expect to shave with it. It would take forever. But, it is super for final grooming on the ears. (Only old guys understand why this is desireable.) One thing that is disappointing is the "6 in one" attachment for variable trim length. Good idea, just doesn't work very well. It's hard to get on and darn near impossible to get off. And the adjustment doesn't work worth a flip. I finally gave up on using it. Fortunately there are several fixed heads that work quite well. Another reviewer mentioned that clippings stick to the black rubber grips. Do they ever! My beard is white and they show up something terrible. If there is justice, the idiot at Wahl who approved these things will spend eternity cleaning them. Bottom line - this is a good trimmer at a reasonable price. Other brands would have tacked on another $10 to $20 for the Li-ion. Wahl chose not to and I like that. This trimmer takes longer to use because of the attachment changes but will give a superior trim once you figure out the best way to use it.

Was this review helpful? (91) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BobbyBoy
Republic, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Trimmer
12/12/2009

Customer review by BESTREVIEW1

4.0 stars 12/12/2009 by BESTREVIEW1
by BESTREVIEW1

I purchased this trimmer for professional use, as I am a hair stylist for 20 years. This trimmer is a powerhouse, with a solid interchangeable blade and quick recharge. Its great that it can be used with/without electric. Only 4 stars because I have not charged it often enough to have a subjective opinion about its battery. Great price and quick Walmart shipping.

Was this review helpful? (46) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BESTREVIEW1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
simply the best
12/31/2010

Customer review by nightfishing27

5.0 stars 12/31/2010 by nightfishing27
by nightfishing27

I have owned this model now over a month. I have owned several brands most have been cheaper in price but none better in quality. I have charged it once out of the package for the recomended hour charge and the dang thing is still going strong. I have used this numerous times including the shaving head a couple times and every other day on the trimmer attachments. Some complain about the rubber grip on the sides collecting beard shavings but a small price to pay for an excellent rechargable trimmer. Oh yea has more attachments than I will ever use. Would reccomend to anyone looking for a new trimmer. Ps. buy online and ship to site it is cheaper than store stock!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (31) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nightfishing27
missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Unexpectedly amazing
2/14/2009

Customer review by SkippingShopper

5.0 stars 2/14/2009 by SkippingShopper
by SkippingShopper

I bought this for my husband who shaves his head as his previous shaver just died. I figured it would work decently enough but I was AMAZED at how close of a shave it was able give him. I don't think he has used all of the attachments yet, but he keeps saying how great of a shaver this is. Thanks!

Was this review helpful? (28) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SkippingShopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best head shaver money can buy
9/12/2010

Customer review by pipes234

5.0 stars 9/12/2010 by pipes234
by pipes234

I shave my head and have tried all kinds of shavers ! IF you will take the time to learn to use this shaver and shave aginst the garin of the hair it will shave closer than the expensive blades !Very well made high power motor and easy to use ! It works just as well on your face and the trimmer attachements work great also . If you a nit picker about a little noise when the shaver heads is on then that might be a nit for you ! But for the job it does a tiny bit a noise is NBD . Iam just a plain customer no one special and I highly recomend this trimmer shaver specialy if you shave your head it can not be beat at aany price .

Was this review helpful? (26) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pipes234
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for men in the armed forces
3/16/2009

Customer review by dizzygurl

5.0 stars 3/16/2009 by dizzygurl
by dizzygurl

if you have a husband or friend in the military that pays to have their the shaven then buy this it is the best product if you just want to shave it all off

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dizzygurl
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Another great Wahl product.
4/7/2013

Customer review by Bobcat1947

5.0 stars 4/7/2013 by Bobcat1947
by Bobcat1947

. I had an earlier model by Wahl that was much the same; the interchangeable cutters and combs fit either one, in fact. Best feature, I found, is the addition of a wider trimmer head that does much better on my moustache and hairline on my neck. Only needed replacement because I had damaged the main trimmer head on the old one through neglect (not oiling), and being too rough when attaching the plastic combs over the trimmer head; you can break a trimmer "tooth" if you do this with the motor running, and you'll likeley chew up the plastic comb to some extent. Don't be afraid to buy it. Wahl makes good stuff. Takes only a short time to re-charge, once you've exhausted the battery. Lithium-Ion technology assures a long-lasting charge, too. Dot com buying with warehouse to store will save you substantially. If there's a weak point at all, it is the storage tray for the device and all the attachments. Getting them all in place was a challenge that I soon gave up on, (as with the older model, too) and elected instead to put everything in a simple tray that keeps it all at the ready. Trying to use the provided tray is the reason for 4 stars instead of 5 on "ease of use". :)

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bobcat1947
Port Richey, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT Product
9/30/2011

Customer review by Bakersfieldfan

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by Bakersfieldfan
by Bakersfieldfan

Very nice looking, VERY well made and works like a charm. Very easy to use. This is the best one on the market. Would buy again.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bakersfieldfan
Bakersfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great trimmer for the price
12/6/2012

Customer review by IALaker

4.0 stars 12/6/2012 by IALaker
by IALaker

I have only owned two trimmers in my life, this being the second one, and it is way better than the first I owned. The battery life on the trimmer is very long. I have never had the the trimmer die while I was using, and it does not run on batteries. Another thing I like about it is the rubber grip, so your hands can be wet and the trimmer won't flying out of your hands. On the down side changing the heads on the trimmer is a little difficult when you first get it, and be careful with them too. I dropped one of the heads 2-3 feet and it broke. Otherwise you get what you pay for with this trimmer without busting your budget. I would strongly recommend this for anyone going into beauty/barber school, any college student, or generally anyone needing a trimmer.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IALaker
Esterville, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Worked great for a year
1/6/2014

Customer review by jgnaz

3.0 stars 1/6/2014 by jgnaz
by jgnaz

Have uesed this trimmer serveral times a week for the last year, and loved it, would have recommended it in a heartbeat, up until now. It just stopped working, no warning, no slow death, just stopped. Was great up until this point, but I was execting it to last more than one year.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jgnaz
phoenix, az
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Product
11/22/2010

Customer review by Chasola

5.0 stars 11/22/2010 by Chasola
by Chasola

This is a beautiful total trimmer/hair cutting tool. Everything changes easily , comes with a great assortment of combs and cutters. Read the manual carefully , and you shouldn't have any problems with the unit. This is the best total hair cutting/trimmer I have ever owned , and I've had quite a few of them , the battery is Lithium battery , and lasts quite long. I highly reccomend this , you wont be dissapointed.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chasola
Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
WAHL 17-Piece Lithium Ion All-In-One Trimmer, Mode
5/8/2014

Customer review by Parentsof6kids

1.0 stars 5/8/2014 by Parentsof6kids
by Parentsof6kids

WAHL 17-Piece Lithium Ion All-In-One Trimmer, Model 9854-600 Always post the product title and model # so they cannot post your review on other items. I know stores and manufactures do that. The Wahl 9854-600 has an awesome packaging and look. After opening you have to charge for a day or (16 hrs). It is a smooth running unit. FYI Lithion Ion batteries DIE when they get low. They will be 100% power then dead. Not like other battery technology that slows down so you know to get another battery Lithion Ion dies immediately. You cannot take the battery out of the Wahl 9854-600 so yes another (16 hrs.) or a little less and you are back in business. I was able to get 1.5 month of use and then no work. There is no charging light or indication that the Wahl 9854 is fully charged. Wahl makes great trimmers but quality is going away. I would not recommend this trimmer.

Was this review helpful? (13) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Parentsof6kids
Nashville TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Product
1/4/2011

Customer review by jewelsInMA

5.0 stars 1/4/2011 by jewelsInMA
by jewelsInMA

I bought this for my husband, to replace his older broken one. He loves this one. Its wireless, which is very convenient. It trims, cuts, shaves and does general clean up very well. He was a little concerned that it was smaller than his old one, but it works twice as good. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jewelsInMA
Uxbridge, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
6/13/2012

Customer review by hairyguy107

1.0 stars 6/13/2012 by hairyguy107
by hairyguy107

It lasted a month on first charge then it died and won't come back on. I have tried charging it several times over the last few days. Most expensive desposable trimmer I ve ever bought!

Was this review helpful? (11) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hairyguy107
corinth, ms
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very versatile product.
1/3/2010

Customer review by WizNat

5.0 stars 1/3/2010 by WizNat
by WizNat

This product is very versatile and can be used for all personal grooming needs. I'm in the United States Armed Forces and I absolutely love this product. It has everything I need. It's perfect.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WizNat
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
And excellent choice at a great price
8/6/2012

Customer review by Hairypirate

5.0 stars 8/6/2012 by Hairypirate
by Hairypirate

The first time I used this shaver, I thought, 'Wow, this thing cuts like a hot knife through butter!' A year later and it still cuts wonderfully. I charge it maybe once every six weeks, and I shave one a day to once every other day, so the Ion battery is no joke. When #if# my shaver ever dies, at this price I will buy another one in a heartbeat. I have absolutely nothing negative to say about this shaver. Buy it!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hairypirate
College Station, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good product
12/14/2010

Customer review by rkay48

4.0 stars 12/14/2010 by rkay48
by rkay48

Excellent double shaving head. More power than you'd expect in a battery shaver. Difficult to judge which plastic trimmer you might use, however, and attachment of these to shaver not the most robust. But it was what I needed for trimming my beard/mustache.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rkay48
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/15/2011

Customer review by Ysosirius

3.0 stars 3/15/2011 by Ysosirius
by Ysosirius

As the manual stated you will have an 5oclock shadow, but most important knock on wood no razor bumps.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ysosirius
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
GREAT!!!
9/13/2009

Customer review by davey321

5.0 stars 9/13/2009 by davey321
by davey321

does everything a Italian needs in a trimmer. i have thick facial hair an this little guy cuts it like nothing!! lots of power! just a great Trimmer!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
davey321
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Li-ion Battery-Excellent Quality
12/15/2009

Customer review by SilverFox44

5.0 stars 12/15/2009 by SilverFox44
by SilverFox44

This is the battery chemistry which is by far the most durable and resilient on the market!! If the product does not include a Li-ion chemistry battery, I do not purchase. Leave the alkaline, NiCad (Nickle Cadmium), and NiMH (Nickle Metal Hydride) alone!! I am an Amateur Radio Operator and have been using DC voltage for some 45yrs. now. All three of my smaller HT's (Handy Talkies) have Li-ion batteries. And, this unit has a high quality "FEEL" to it, also. Just be very cautious with exchanging the the different heads on and off the unit. Many movable plastic parts in this area! Be gentle and enjoy! "MERRY CHRISTMAS"

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SilverFox44
Gate City, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 160 total reviews
1-20 of 160 reviews