Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 62 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

62 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

5 stars
41
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
8
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 54 total reviews
Side Kick Glucose Meter
3/23/2009

Customer review by bullet7

5.0 stars by bullet7

This is one of the nicest glucose meter in the market today. The meter comes with 50 strips. It is very convenient to carry around because it is small and compact. It is extremely easy to use and it takes a very "tiny" drop of blood to obtain results. It is also very accurate, with results in only five (5) seconds. The price varies a lot .... The best price so far has been at Walmart, where I purchased it for $20 dollar a bottle.

Was this review helpful? (130) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bullet7
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great meter when used with proper blood draw.
6/9/2013

Customer review by Tiggero

5.0 stars by Tiggero

~*~**Based on research findings- good handwashing, testing the first drop of blood and not putting pressure on the finger are important and necessary components of accurate blood sugar testing. Most people do not know how to test properly, a little known fact is NOT squeezing your finger to get blood...It DOES make a difference, as I have seen first hand in my own testing, also washing your hands! Please take the time to read this exhort from a Diabetes Care review. "The researchers also found that when study participants tested fruit-exposed hands without washing, 88 percent had blood sugar levels that were at least 10 percent off from their clean-hand readings -- at least when using the first drop of blood. They fared better when using the second drop. But 11 percent still had results that differed substantially from their clean-hand measurements As for squeezing the finger, the researchers found that too much pressure did appear to interfere with accurate test results. Anywhere from 5 to 13 percent of study participants had a significantly different blood sugar result (versus no squeezing), depending on how much pressure they put on the finger. On average, blood sugar readings were lower when people put pressure on the finger." Hope this is helpful, Tiggero

Was this review helpful? (85) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Tiggero
Shreveport, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
reat and low cost..
4/24/2009

Customer review by Snarfaxae

5.0 stars by Snarfaxae

I love this product. I have not had any problems with it at all.I use it all of the time because I can't afford my supplies any other way I have no medical insurance at all

Was this review helpful? (67) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Snarfaxae
St.Petersburg,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/14/2009

Customer review by NewChanges29

5.0 stars by NewChanges29

Although this is only the 2nd meter/strip I have used (new to diabetes) I found that while I need to test and wait for the diagnosis, this is the most affordable way to go. Never had an error unless I did not put enough blood on the strip. Fast, seems to be accurate and affordable. I can't believe the cost of the other strips. Wow.

Was this review helpful? (40) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
NewChanges29
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/21/2011

Customer review by TheCup

5.0 stars by TheCup

This is cheaper then buying strips alone, $20 for 50 strips and a new meter. never need to change batteries and if you ever doubt the meter you get anew one every time you run out of strips. I do not know why it is not the number one selling meter. Small compact and simple to use.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TheCup
Vero BEACH, fLORIDA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not accurate
2/21/2012

Customer review by schnoodie

1.0 stars by schnoodie

This meter isn't even close to being accurate. I tested it against my regular meter which matches my lab results, and it went from 20 points higher to 25 points lower than my actual readings every time I used it!

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
schnoodie
Flemington, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Better than I expected
1/30/2011

Customer review by AlwaysLooking4Bargain

5.0 stars by AlwaysLooking4Bargain

Purchased this item as an alternative to carrying full size meter when eating out or on trip. Fits perfectly in purse. Easy to use and most of all - ACCURATE. Will definitely purchase again.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
AlwaysLooking4Bargain
College Station, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Horrible Product
4/20/2009

Customer review by JustaCountryGal

1.0 stars by JustaCountryGal

We purchased these because the strips for our regular meter were more expensive. I used one thing and most of the strips errored. I figured well maybe I got ahold of a bad container. So I tried another and SAME THING! DO NOT waste your money. Yes they are cheaper than alot of strips but now I see why, you only get results on about half of them! The rest just error out. Ive been checking for years so I know I am not doing anything different with these strips than I have any others!

Was this review helpful? (36) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JustaCountryGal
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Affordable blood glucose moniter
11/9/2011

Customer review by mollie1129

5.0 stars by mollie1129

I bought these for my son-in-law who is a brittle diabetic. He has been using these all in one strips for a few years and really appreciates the accuracy of the results.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mollie1129
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Cheap and very inaccurate
6/7/2014

Customer review by NealH

2.0 stars by NealH

I got this meter about a month ago and starting using it. My wife bought it for me since it was cheap and included test strips since I ran out of strips for my normal OneTouch ultra 2. I didn't do a side by side comparison but that wasn't a big deal to me. This all in one meter I found out is VERY inaccurate. I have read other meters and people complain about them being inaccurate since those meters, in a comparison, were like 20-30 points higher. Well this meter is different. From poking multiple fingers I have gotten readings as much as about 90 points off from each other. This meter meet my expectations since I figured from the beginning it was not going to be very accurate but being as much as 90 points off is a bit too much off for me. So I would not recommend using it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
NealH
Would recommend to a friend? No
The best one, affordable and convenient.
4/20/2014

Customer review by Walmartguy501

5.0 stars by Walmartguy501

It helps me. I have no medical insurance and can afford this product.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Walmartguy501
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
awesome product great vaule for the money
3/9/2014

Customer review by earllene

5.0 stars by earllene

This is a great all in one blood glucose testing system with the strips

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
earllene
chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Blood meter for on the go
9/24/2013

Customer review by Dizeez

5.0 stars by Dizeez

I love this blood meter. It doesn't come with lance but everything else is there all small and compact. It is great for my purse I have sugar drops so it is good that I can check anytime and do what I Ned to do. I was so disappointed the walmart quit carrying it in the store. I have bought it in the store many times and used it there when I was feeling sick. This meter fits in very small place

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Dizeez
Beaumont CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good glucose monitor
5/20/2011

Customer review by LBARBER

5.0 stars by LBARBER

This unit is simple, easy to use, dependable. Very economical. Comes with 50 test strips. Unit and strips are much cheaper than strips alone for other units. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LBARBER
Memphis TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love this meter!
1/23/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars by An anonymous customer

I find it very convenient because it is so small and lightweight. I keep my insulin pen and my testing instrument, etc in one small case I had left from another glucometer. That might be one drawback to this meter--it needs a little case to keep everything together. Another problem is that it is hard to find. Everyone loves this one so much it is hard to keep in stock.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Billings, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Unsure of accuracy, but easy to use
8/4/2010

Customer review by BetsC

4.0 stars by BetsC

I was not sure of the accuracy of this product because I received a 105 the first time I tested. I also purchased a Bayer kit because it was less than $20 and was a name-brand. I received a 107 on that kit. The next time I checked my blood sugar, it was 117 with the Bayer, but 99 with this unit. I checked my sugar again with the Bayer and it was 121. I have not been told I am diabetic so don't know how accurate either of this units are. My Bayer A1C said 5.9 in July 2010 and my doctor's A1C test back in April 2010 was 6.0. My doctor's blood sugar test in October 2009 was 98.

Was this review helpful? (8) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BetsC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I really like this product.
11/12/2012

Customer review by joycems6393

5.0 stars by joycems6393

I really like this product. I needed a monitor but didn't have a lot of money. I got the monitor and strips for less than $20. It's very compact and looks like a pill bottle. I love it!!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
joycems6393
Danville, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I love it!!!!!!!
10/18/2011

Customer review by urbonangel

5.0 stars by urbonangel

I love it!!!!!!! Its so handy and compact

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
urbonangel
KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
SideKick Glucose monitoring
6/14/2012

Customer review by lionking1

4.0 stars by lionking1

Before i start my review let me say i am not a diabetic or a pre-diabetic hence insurance will not cover those expensive meters being sold in the big brand drug stores.The SideKick is fairly accurate in its readings .It has 50 strips which are more than enough for me . I have a family history of diabetes and wanted a meter to check my blood sugar occasionally between routine physicals and this meter does the job.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
lionking1
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Handy to carry, easy to use
3/1/2014

Customer review by mooseduds

5.0 stars by mooseduds

Have used this meter system for years. Truly smallest on the market and it all fits in the little Velcro bag that comes with it, even with the addition of a lancing device and handful of lancets. Very convenient and low priced, too. Good value.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mooseduds
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 54 total reviews