Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.9out of 5 stars
3.9 out of 5 | 193 reviews
5 stars
116
4 stars
21
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 stars
38
Sort by: 
1-20 of 190 reviews
1-20 of 190 reviews
Favorite Under Makeup Lotion
12/27/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Having several anniversaries of my 29th birthday under my belt, my skin is not as "young" as it used to be. I was diagnosed with rosacea (mild) and work outside and ride a motorcycle in extreme temperatures. This is rough on the face!! My dermatologist recommended Aveeno w/ Feverfew (Ultra Calming) to wear as an under makeup base, and to apply anytime the wind or weather began drying my face. BOY, does this stuff work!! Not greasy, not smelly, and it makes my makeup glide on! The cooling feverfew pulls the "fire" out of my skin's surface vessels and the tone of my cheeks almost instantly looks a degree or two lighter. UV protection is an added plus! If you are worried about clogged pores from applying lotion too often, for me that has NOT even been an issue. I quit using any soap or typical facial washes, and only wash my face in lotion. Have used Aveeno as a complete facial lotion and under makeup base for over 3 years and my skin hasn't aged a bit, and I can honestly say it looks better than ever!! Thanks J&J for another WONDERFUL staple in my family's personal care cabinet!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (50)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Smells terrible!
9/24/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The ultra calming face wipes have been a life saver for my rosacea so I thought I’d give the lotion a try. Unfortunately it smells so bad that I’ll never use it again. Why wouldn’t it smell the sa,e as the wipes? Sad.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A miracle for my skin!!
9/12/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been so frustrated trying to find a facial lotion that helps with combination skin (dry in spots, slightly oily in others) and a mild case of Rosacea...everything I tried broke me out...I needed something extremely mild that actually moisturized, yet didn't turn me into an oil slick. A daunting task for any skin care product! I had just started using a Clinique lotion called "Redness Solutions". It worked great, with the only negative side being the cost ($36) and no SPF. I was in Walmart a few weeks later and stumbled across this Aveeno product by accident (hubby likes Aveeno body wash). The saving grace about buying from Walmart, is if the product doesn't work, you can always return it...I know and like the Aveeno line, so I decided to give this lotion a try. The expensive jar of Clinique is now in the closet. The Aveeno works as well as the expensive Clinique , plus Aveeno is cheaper ($14 here) and has an SPF 15. My skin is clear and I no longer have any acne problems. The broken capillary I had on my right cheek is healed and gone. No more mild redness in my cheeks..it's like I never had Rosacea (yippee!). I apply the Aveeno after my shower in the morning and normally apply my makeup on top. No problems and my skin feels great all day. When I come home, I now use the Aveeno Ultra-Calming foaming cleanser to gently remove all the makeup and finished up with another quick dab of the lotion...super easy! Any negatives? NONE...except that I wish I had found this years ago! My neighbor's teenage grand daughter has extremely fair and sensitive skin...and is now using Aveeno Ultra-Calming Daily Moisturizer with amazing results. So no, you do not have to have Rosacea...just super sensitive skin.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (36)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Highly recommended! Reduces redness.
9/13/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is an excellent product for calming skin to reduce redness. I wish I had known of this long ago. I have redness on my chest, neck and arms. Daily use of this lotion and redness actually is gone. I never can find this on shelves in store so I buy it online for site to store.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Feverfew related to ragweed
1/13/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It's actually been awhile since I tried Aveeno Ultra-Calming Daily Moisturizer, but the experience isn't one that I'll soon forget. In the last few years, I've had issues with rosacea and decided to give Aveeno a try. Within a short time of applying the moisturizer, my face started burning and itching. I checked in the mirror and found that my face was becoming red and blotchy. I have never had a reaction to fragrances or moisturizers before, so I googled feverfew to find out more about it. What I found out is that it is related to ragweed, which I am allergic to as are many, many other people. (It's the main culprit that causes hayfever.) So, in trying to calm my skin, I actually smeared my #1 allergen all over my face. Thanks for that, Aveeno. I took a Benedryl and put hydrocortisone on the rash, but it took a couple of days for the inflammation to go completely away. Perhaps feverfew is calming to those who don't have ragweed allergies, but it was the polar opposite to me and my ragweed allergies.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Rough, dry, painful patches
8/28/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
First want to put it out there that I LOVE Aveeno products and have used them for years. Purchased this because they were out of the usual stuff I buy (Aveeno® Positively Radiant® Daily Moisturizer With Sunscreen Broad Spectrum SPF 15). After repeated use (daily & nightly) I have rough, dry, painful patches of skin on my face. I don't know if I have an allergy to one of the ingredients or what. I have not exfoliated or been wearing any foundation- just the lotion.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Aveno ultra calmin moisturizer, face wash, night cream
9/1/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I started using this product three days ago my skin is completely red it looks as if I got burned, my face is completely in pain, I can't believe this is happening, I had a wedding to go this Sunday and due to this I would not be able to attend to my bestfeiends wedding... I feel so depressed and I been out of work since yesterday...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
LOVE IT
6/3/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I personally have roscea and I have to tell you this product work great. I used it for over a year. like everything once you use it soo much it becomes redundant, so I would recommend that maybe after 6 month try using another one from the Aveeno line. I did love that this wasn't like the typical greasy moisterizer, and the spf was perfect. Also this goes perfect with the ultra calming facial cleanser - absolutely love it too!!! MUST TRY! However i do wish they would make it in SPF 30 so i wouldnt have to put on additional sunblock when i head out to do outdoor activities.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Is it really for sensitive skin?
5/11/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have sensitive, dry skin and I breakout very easily so I tend to avoid moisturizers with fragrances or oils in them. This moisturizer was recommended to me by a friend after they noticed I used the calming foaming cleanser, and I thought, why not? I have only used the product four times over the past two days, once in the morning then at night, and my cheek has already begun breaking out in a small patch on my jaw. I realised whilst applying this product that it had a scent to it, but figured it couldn't be too much as it was targeted towards people with sensitive skin. I was wrong, obviously. Why have a moisturizer for people with sensitive skin then add fragrance to it? If it were fragrance free then this would be a perfect moisturizer, but alas, it is not. I would not recommend it to anyone with sensitive skin, especially if they are highly allergic to any fragrances.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Moisturizer for Redness
1/21/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This moisturizer is the best I have found to calm the redness on my face, especially around my nose. I use the Aveeno Ultra Calming cleanser also and it works great with this moisturizer.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Will reorder when needed.
8/23/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Have used Aveeno for years - just began using the Ultra-Calming version with sunscreen - wonderful. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Need Fragarance-Free
5/31/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been using the Ultra-Calming Daily Moisturizer SPF 30 Fragrance-Free & can no longer find that product - I cannot tolerate ANY fragarance no matter how "pleasant" & I am very frustrated that my favorite product must have been replaced. I purchased this & had to wash it off immediately because of the fragarance. Can you PLEASE make the Fragarance-Free version again since this is the only product I can use on my neck. My face is even sensitive to this, but it worked great close to my face. I see sereval other reviews requesting the same thing. Over the years I have at times been able to find a Fragrance-Free product only to have the line changed to include fragrance. There are MANY of us out there who cannot tolerate fragrance of any kind & need a company to be willing to serve us. I use other of your products, soaps & cleansers that are Fragrance-Free & hope that you will go back to evaluate the need for this product line again in a facial moisturizer. PLEASE, we need a company to serve us! Let Aveeno be OUR line!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Too
8/7/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had redness and flaky dry skin on my face for about 2 weeks. Aveeno is my go to brand when my skin gets irritated. Unfortunately the Calming Lotion did not help as I anticipated. In the first two days my redness cleared up but the 3rd and 4th day my face begin to breakout and have more dry patches. I read the packaging and trusted this product to "fix my face" but was disappointed. There is also "fragrance" in this product which should not be used to treat sensitive skin.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Moisture, Slight Sting.
5/31/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I do love this product, I just want to give some background info! I used to use this religiously, but then I decided to switch things up and try some other brands. I honestly regret that a lot, I was looking through older pictures and I knew at those times I was ONLY using Aveeno products and ever since I stopped my skin never looked that great again. Recently I started switching back to Aveeno skincare only, I'm breaking out slightly more than normal, but I think it's because change in weather and stress from school. I pulled out this moisturizer again because my skin has been so dry and flakey, it makes my skin feel amazing, I have also noticed redness starting to fade quite a bit which is a big bonus for me. But, I have noticed it stings quite a bit, which I do not remember happening before. Is this normal? The stinging does go away after a bit of time but it is very irritating. It's not expired or anything either, is there such a thing as a product just sitting too long that causes it to turn bad? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Cleared up my acne!
7/21/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I know this product isn’t designed to fight acne, but if your skin is very, very sensitive it does. Okay, I have tried everything – absolutely everything to cure acne. First, I tried everything I could find over the counter, randomly picking one thing after another. I also tried Proactive only to discover that like everything else designed to fight zits, Benzoyl Peroxide is so strong it only irritates my sensitive skin and makes it break out worse. So I decided to try a more gentle approach and followed a book’s regimen for vitamin and herbal remedies. This also, was to no avail. Then I went to the dermatologist. The solution he had me put on my face had the potency of airplane paint stripper…and the same effects. After a year of going to the dermatologist, my face was breaking out worse than it ever has before or since. Let me tell you, by this time, my face was worse than just breaking out. It was so sensitive to so many product I had tried that it was constantly itching and bright red all over! After realizing the products I had been using were the problem I went through quite a long stage when I wouldn’t let anything but water touch it. The after-effects of these products still would not reverse. I bought the book, “The Skin Type Solution,” and took the quiz, which referred me to my chapter. (This book is absolutely the Bible of skincare.) I was surprised when my chapter said that my face might not tolerate Benzoyl Peroxide – something I already knew very, very well. The book recommended “Aveeno Ultra Calming Moisturizing Cream” instead – a product so gentle that it doesn’t even claim to cure acne. But for my sensitive skin, it did!!! It didn’t take near as long as I had expected before the pimples vanished. Then the redness went away. It took a little longer for my face to feel normal again, but gradually, even the constant itching vanished completely. I have been using this product for the last three years and it really works! I’m beginning to get really worried because I can't find the night cream version of this product anywhere. I hope Aveeno never stops making this.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A great product
7/21/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have extremely sensitive skin. I have never had a problem with this product and am pleased with how it works for me. I will certainly keep using it. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nightmare!!
4/18/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I use the ultracalming face wash my face is so sensitive to everything this works great so I tried the daily moisturizer within a few min of applying my face was itching burning @ had hives washed it off applied hydrocortisone cream @ took a benadryl would be nice to have an ultracalming fragrance free / dye free product !!! Had to give a star this is a 0 star
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
wonders for my rosacea
3/4/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Aveeno Ultra-Calming Moisturizer works great for my rosacea. It soothes my face and reduces redness. The price from walmart is much cheaper than anywhere else.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Saved my sanity!
6/24/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Red, itchy, bumpy face. Still not sure about the cause. Probably stress... This cream settled it right down and gave me peace of mind. I stopped using all of my skin care products when this started and I was afraid to try anything new. But when I saw "ultra-calming" I decided to take a chance. Sure glad I did. Thank you Aveenl!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Confidence boost in a bottle!
4/7/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Pretty much my whole teenage life I have had acne, and luckilly it stopped when I was 20 (minus the usual pms-related breakout) but now I am stuck with acne scars and red skin. I started using Aveeno Ultra Calming 5 years ago and it has worked miracles! My face looks so much less scarred, the only color on my face is a healthy pink on my cheeks! This has greatly increased my confidence and I can finally go out without makeup with confidence! Definately trying out the SPF 30 variation this summer!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640682, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-