Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 183 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

183 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

183 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
112
4 stars
21
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 stars
33
1-20 of 180 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 180 total reviews
1-20 of 180 reviews
Feverfew related to ragweed
1/13/2016

Customer review by AEMM

1.0 stars 1/13/2016 by AEMM
by AEMM

It's actually been awhile since I tried Aveeno Ultra-Calming Daily Moisturizer, but the experience isn't one that I'll soon forget. In the last few years, I've had issues with rosacea and decided to give Aveeno a try. Within a short time of applying the moisturizer, my face started burning and itching. I checked in the mirror and found that my face was becoming red and blotchy. I have never had a reaction to fragrances or moisturizers before, so I googled feverfew to find out more about it. What I found out is that it is related to ragweed, which I am allergic to as are many, many other people. (It's the main culprit that causes hayfever.) So, in trying to calm my skin, I actually smeared my #1 allergen all over my face. Thanks for that, Aveeno. I took a Benedryl and put hydrocortisone on the rash, but it took a couple of days for the inflammation to go completely away. Perhaps feverfew is calming to those who don't have ragweed allergies, but it was the polar opposite to me and my ragweed allergies.

Comment from Aveeno - 1/13/2016

Thanks for your review, AEMM. We would like to speak with your about your experience since this is not typical. When you have a moment, please call our consumer care center at 1-866-428-3366 between 8AM-8PM ET. We look forward to speaking with you!

AEMM
Columbus
Would recommend to a friend? No
Need Fragarance-Free
5/31/2013

Customer review by Mooseberry45

1.0 stars 5/31/2013 by Mooseberry45
by Mooseberry45

I have been using the Ultra-Calming Daily Moisturizer SPF 30 Fragrance-Free & can no longer find that product - I cannot tolerate ANY fragarance no matter how "pleasant" & I am very frustrated that my favorite product must have been replaced. I purchased this & had to wash it off immediately because of the fragarance. Can you PLEASE make the Fragarance-Free version again since this is the only product I can use on my neck. My face is even sensitive to this, but it worked great close to my face. I see sereval other reviews requesting the same thing. Over the years I have at times been able to find a Fragrance-Free product only to have the line changed to include fragrance. There are MANY of us out there who cannot tolerate fragrance of any kind & need a company to be willing to serve us. I use other of your products, soaps & cleansers that are Fragrance-Free & hope that you will go back to evaluate the need for this product line again in a facial moisturizer. PLEASE, we need a company to serve us! Let Aveeno be OUR line!

Mooseberry45
Weston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
bad reaction
12/12/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 12/12/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have very normal skin, not dry nor oily and have never had allergic reactions to anything. I regularly use Aveeno calming daily moisturizer so thought this would be a great add to my regimen. The first time I used it I woke up the next morning with my entire face red, hot, itchy and swollen. It took about 2 days to go away. I hadn't changed anything else that day besides this cream so needless to say it was the culprit.

Comment from Aveeno - 12/12/2016

We're sorry to hear about your experience. We definitely wouldn't expect this kind of reaction while using our product, and we'd like to learn more. Please call us at 866-428-3366 Monday-Friday between 9am-7pm ET. We hope to hear from you soon.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Moisture, Slight Sting.
5/31/2014

Customer review by TinaM

4.0 stars 5/31/2014 by TinaM
by TinaM

I do love this product, I just want to give some background info! I used to use this religiously, but then I decided to switch things up and try some other brands. I honestly regret that a lot, I was looking through older pictures and I knew at those times I was ONLY using Aveeno products and ever since I stopped my skin never looked that great again. Recently I started switching back to Aveeno skincare only, I'm breaking out slightly more than normal, but I think it's because change in weather and stress from school. I pulled out this moisturizer again because my skin has been so dry and flakey, it makes my skin feel amazing, I have also noticed redness starting to fade quite a bit which is a big bonus for me. But, I have noticed it stings quite a bit, which I do not remember happening before. Is this normal? The stinging does go away after a bit of time but it is very irritating. It's not expired or anything either, is there such a thing as a product just sitting too long that causes it to turn bad? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Comment from AVEENO® - 5/31/2014

Thank you for your feedback, TinaM. We are sorry to hear about the experience you had with our AVEENO® product. This is not typical of our products and we would like to speak with you to gather more information about this. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-866-428-3366. Our specialists are available Monday-Friday 8AM-8PM EDT. We look forward to hearing from you, TinaM.

TinaM
I live in Canada, but that isn't an option.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Okay Skin to Nightmare Skin
3/29/2016

Customer review by KittenLitten

1.0 stars 3/29/2016 by KittenLitten
by KittenLitten

First off, I love Aveeno everything. I even love their shampoo and conditioner lines. I thought I'd try this as I was running out of my normal moisturizer from another brand. Oh my goodness, worst mistake of my life. I was on vacation and I used this at night when I washed my make up off. When I woke up in the morning, my face was kind of tight and burny. I thought "huh weird", slathered on more moisturizer and went about my day. I don't have what you'd call super sensitive skin or anything. It's usually oily if any thing. By that night, my skin was red and peeling/flakey. I quickly took some antihistamines and slathered on layers of hypoallergenic moisturizer out of fear of some sort of allergic reaction. I stopped using this lotion after I put two and two together. Which didn't take long. I've been using some extreme moisturizing creams and no make up what so ever to combat this. It's been 4 days. No improvement on my skin. My face still burns and is still peeling and flaking. Can't get in to see my dermatologist until next month. This is the first and only Aveeno product I will never look at ever again.

Comment from AVEENO - 3/29/2016

Thank you for your review, Kittenlitten. We're very sorry to hear about your experience. We would not expect this to happen and we would like to speak with you directly. When you get a chance, please call our consumer care center at 1-866-428-3366 Mon-Fri 9AM-7PM ET. We look forward to your call!

KittenLitten
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Combination
i just cannot rave enough about this product
4/2/2015

Customer review by Red

5.0 stars 4/2/2015 by Red
by Red

i have used this product for YEARS. i have dry, acne prone and sensitive skin. i get huge cystic acne and just the smallest change in product can wreak havoc on my skin for weeks. I recently tried another Aveeno moisturizer with awful results so i'm back to this after realizing my error. My skin just glows when i use this moisturizer. Just enough SPF for daily use (i use additional sunscreen when outside) and it does not irritate my skin at all. No clogging of pores and it absorbs wonderfully so that when i apply my makeup, it goes on fluidly and evenly. Just right for my dry skin without being heavy. I would reccomend this to anyone that has skin issues, problems with irritation or acne or redness. i have issues with all of the above and this moisturizer does not exaggerate those problems at all. i will not stray again!

Comment from AVEENO® - 4/2/2015

Thank you for your review, Red. We are sorry to hear about your experience. We would like to speak with you to gather more information since this is not typical. Please call our consumer care center at 1-866-428-3366 between Mon-Fri 8AM-8PM EST. We look forward to hearing from you. Thank you!

Red
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Miracle Cream!
7/21/2013

Customer review by ultracalmingfan

5.0 stars 7/21/2013 by ultracalmingfan
by ultracalmingfan

I have white patches (depigmentation) of various sizes all over my body, but they are the worst on my arms and chest. I have recently discovered quite by accident that the Ultra Calming Daily Moisturizer SPF 15 is diminishing the white marks. I even showed my doctor, who has diagnosed the marks as vitiligo, and she agreed. I have taken before and after photos because after the first time I used it, I noticed a difference. I truly witnessed the improved results within about 2 minutes. Now I've used up my first bottle and my arms and chest have been transformed. I know every skin type is unique, but if you have blotchy skin, give it a try, especially on white or depigmented skin. I am now applying it liberally to a small scar I have on my upper lip, and I think it is working! For me, this product is miraculous!

ultracalmingfan
Dublin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Used to Be Good...
8/28/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 8/28/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was using this product for a while when my face was getting dry blotchy patches. I have very sensitive skin that tends to get red, sometimes gets zits, and is sometimes oily. I found the Aveeno Ultra Calming Moisturizer SPF 30 and to my delight, it totally turned my face around. I used the product for almost a year with great results. One time I ran out and noticed that the box was different when I went to buy again...I couldn't put my finger on it. I tried this product for a while and my redness came back. After looking around online I realized that it was the SPF 15 with fragrance...apparently they don't make the unscented SPF 30 one I was using anymore. I gave this 2 stars because it used to be wonderful...but now is just a "meh" product. If it didn't have the scent, my score would be a 5, hands down.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
This product has really changed my face
3/26/2016

Customer review by James

4.0 stars 3/26/2016 by James
by James

I don't normally write reviews, but I am very pleased with the Ultra Calming Daily Moisturizer. My face was always red and I was self conscious about it. I decided to try it and at the end of the first day I caught a look at myself in the mirror and I wasn't beet red like usual. I have been using it 5 days and my skin color is well, calmer! I'm very happy about it. The first day I used it alone and I did not like how it felt on my face. It felt waxy or pasty, but this is just normal for SPF products in my experience which are not very moisturizing used alone. After the first day I decided to use an oil free moisturizer first and then apply this product and it as worked well. One pump is more than enough! So far I am very happy.

Comment from Aveeno - 3/27/2016

Thanks for your feedback, James! We're glad to hear that it's working so well for you. We wouldn't expect your skin to feel waxy or pasty at first while using our moisturizers, and we'd like to learn more about your experience. Please call us at 1-866-4AVEENO, Monday through Friday 9AM to 7PM ET. We look forward to hearing from you!

James
Dallas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Drying affect
8/25/2016

Customer review by KJ

1.0 stars 8/25/2016 by KJ
by KJ

Product is great for being in sun, but does not moisturize my skin as I expected. I am 70 years old, very dry skin and this did not seem to help. Sorry!

Comment from AVEENO® - 8/26/2016

Thank you for your review, KJ. We're sorry to hear about your experience with this product. We would not expect this to happen and we would like to speak with you directly. When you get a chance, please call our consumer care center at 1-866-428-3366 Mon-Fri 9AM-7PM ET. We look forward to your call!

KJ
Myrtle Beach
Would recommend to a friend? No
irritated skin
5/21/2014

Customer review by GlutenFree

1.0 stars 5/21/2014 by GlutenFree
by GlutenFree

I was searching for a skin care/ moisturizer that does not contain wheat. I tried AVEENO® ULTRA-CALMING® DAILY MOISTURIZER BROAD SPECTRUM SPF 15. Unfortunately, after using this product my face responded within 2 days with an inflammatory response and the skin broke open, especially around the mouth and cheeks. My lips were swollen and the skin was red. This inflammatory response lasted two weeks after stopping this product and only two month after stopping this product my skin turned to normal again. Understandable, that I will not use this product again. I previously used a different Aveeno product, but unfortunately Aveeno has recently revised its composition of a large number of products and added wheat germ, an ingredient not tolerate by wheat and gluten intolerant individuals.

Comment from AVEENO® - 5/21/2014

Hi, GlutenFree. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for this product. We are sorry to hear that you experienced a skin reaction from using this product, this is not typical of our AVEENO® products. We would like to talk to you more about your experience, and answer any questions you may have. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-866-428-3366 Monday-Friday from 8am-8pm EDT. We look forward to speaking with you.

GlutenFree
Would recommend to a friend? No
You have to find your fit!
9/25/2011

Customer review by Alejandra637

5.0 stars 9/25/2011 by Alejandra637
by Alejandra637

I have used skin care products since I turned thirteen. My mother treated it like a rite of passage. In the past thirteen years I have used moisturizers from Clinique, Christian Dior, Lancome, Chanel, Origins and back again. But my skin has always been extremely sensitive and red. While I can get over the redness as I have accepted it, I could not get over my breakouts or small bumps. As a result of the recession, I decided to "down grade" and go to Target to get an Aveeno moisturizer. I already used the body lotion because I am allergic to scents. And I was already using the shaving cream because is was the only cream that didn't give me razor bumps. It seemed only logical to try their face cream. And ladies, even now, three years after, that I can semi afford to go back to the other brands, I will stay true to Aveeno as long as my skin will take it. I have paired it with Origins products and my skin is as smooth, clear, and radiant as ever. I hope that a complementing night cream comes out with it. I love love love love the calming affect and how well it nourishes my skin. Even the Origins counter lady said, it is a phenomenal buy for the quality. Thank you Aveeno! Loyal customer for life.

Alejandra637
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
bring back the "Ultra-Calming SPF30, Fragrance-Free"
11/12/2013

Customer review by Jesusfollower

1.0 stars 11/12/2013 by Jesusfollower
by Jesusfollower

I looked at 3 reliable stores for the old line only to find Aveeno had dropped the SPF down to 15 and added the fragrance. Very Disappointed!!! Been using the Ultra-Calming, SPF30,w/o fragrance for a good long while...loved it! On the days I am off work & at home, or the days I need extra moisturizing this was my base. If you suffer extreme sensitive skin and roscea (spelling?) like I do...what a disappointment with the product change. The calm & improvement the old product gave my skin is now replaced with irritation from the fragrance in the new product. And Don't even get me started on the reduction of the SPF...They need to change the product back or I am going to have to change product lines. FYI-love the tinted moisturizer! Hope they don't mess with that product too .

Jesusfollower
Ravenna
Would recommend to a friend? No
Please don't EVER discontinue this product!
9/11/2014

Customer review by egoldsch

5.0 stars 9/11/2014 by egoldsch
by egoldsch

I am someone who is willing to save my money to buy expensive skincare if it works for my skin- but when it comes to my daily moisturizer, I don't have to. This is the only moisturizer I will ever use. I have oily, breakout-prone, and irritated (red) skin, and this moisturizer has been a GODSEND. I've used it regularly for the past few years, and every time I've switched to something else, I've always regretted it. It sinks into my skin effortlessly, leaves no greasy residue, instantly calms my redness (and after prolonged use, the redness in my skin has significantly decreased), and it's a fantastic base for makeup. Please, Aveeno, don't ever discontinue this product! It is a very effective and unique formulation, and I don't think I could ever survive without it!

egoldsch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So upset and embarrassed
4/3/2016

Customer review by Meleeskers

1.0 stars 4/3/2016 by Meleeskers
by Meleeskers

Not going to lie, for the first couple days of using this product I was so excited. My skin felt so soft and healthy that I immediately told friends and family they had to get it. Then it happened. I noticed I was itching my cheeks. I blamed pollen and was in denial of this new amazing product I thought I had found. Then the bumps formed. My cheeks and chin are now raised with tiny bumps. They are dry and red and difficult to cover up. I have never had this extreme of a reaction before, especially to a product that claims "sensitive skin." I don't know what to do to get my skin back to its normal self!

Comment from Aveeno - 4/3/2016

Thank you for sharing your experience, Meleeskers. This certainly ins't typical with any of our Aveeno products and we'd like to learn more. Please call us at 1-866-428-3366, we're open Monday through Friday 9AM - 7PM ET, and one of our specialists will be happy to help. Looking forward to hearing from you soon!

Meleeskers
Raleigh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good product for skin irritation but caused dryness
12/20/2014

Customer review by Alisonpbdy

3.0 stars 12/20/2014 by Alisonpbdy
by Alisonpbdy

I tried this product recently after my face broke out in a rash. I had never used Aveeno products but after reading the reviews, decided to give them a try. I tried both this product and the Ultra Calming Foaming Cleanser. I loved the cleanser, however, have mixed feelings about this one. When I started using it, my skin was very irritated. This product did not cause any burning or redness. The rash went away quickly after using this product. However, it did cause a lot of drying on my face. I'm sure this product works great for lots of folks, but did not work so well for me. I would still recommend because it was helpful with the rash. As soon as the rash went away, I started using another Aveeno product which better suited my needs.

Comment from AVEENO® - 12/20/2014

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are sincerely sorry to hear about this experience, but we appreciate the time you have taken to bring it to our attention. So we may best assist you, we ask you to please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-866-428-3366, Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m - 8:00 p.m. ET. We look forward to speaking with you.

Alisonpbdy
Beaverton
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Angry Skin
6/2/2016

Customer review by TeeNuh14

3.0 stars 6/2/2016 by TeeNuh14
by TeeNuh14

Dear Aveeno, I wish I could send you a photo of what angry skin looks like! I am hoping I can be a good example of before and after! Today is day one of me switching from Clinique skin care to your Calming line! I can't give a legitimate rating yet, but I hoping to change this to 5 stars. I took a great closeup shot of just how bad my skin is right now.

TeeNuh14
I've developed a terrible rash!
2/28/2016

Customer review by jenh

1.0 stars 2/28/2016 by jenh
by jenh

I have always like Aveeno products and I thought this would be the answer to my need for a great day cream with sunscreen. I don't like to use scented products, but since this was a "calming" product, I thought I'd give it a try. I've broken out in a terrible rash with bumps on my face and a lot of redness. It's embarrassing! It's getting worse each day. Why would you label a product "calming" and then load it up with a strong fragrance? This doesn't make sense to me. I wish I still had the box so I could take it back to the store and get my money back.

Comment from AVEENO - 2/29/2016

Hi jenh, and thank you for taking time out of your day to review our moisturizer. We're sorry to hear about the reaction you're experiencing. We can assure you that this is not typical and we take matters like this very seriously. We would like to learn more by having you call us at 1-866-428-3366 Monday through Friday from 9am to 7pm ET. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to speaking with you.

jenh
Fresno
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Combination
I use the ultra calming cleanser, thought this would work for me
1/27/2016

Customer review by nikkie4728

1.0 stars 1/27/2016 by nikkie4728
by nikkie4728

I have been using the ultra calming foaming cleanser for over a year now and it is the only cleanser I have found that does not make me break out in red spots. I love it, so I thought I would try the ultra calming daily moisturizer. I used it once it felt great nice and light soaked right in not greasy at all, I loved it. The second time I applied it, I broke out with red spots all over my face and my skin is extremely dry and tight. I am on the third day now after the second application and I am still broken out. I am very confused and disappointed.

Comment from Aveeno - 1/28/2016

We're very sorry to hear about this, nikkie4728. We definitely wouldn't expect you to break out in red spots while using this product, and we'd like to speak with you to learn more about your experience. Please give us a call at 866-428-3366 Monday-Friday between 9am-7pm ET. We hope to hear from you soon.

nikkie4728
Would recommend to a friend? No
Makes my eyes burn!
2/17/2014

Customer review by Bee

1.0 stars 2/17/2014 by Bee
by Bee

This lotion go on nicely, smooths my skin, but does nothing for redness, and actually causes my skin to burn a little bit. My eyes burn as well when using this product (which is a common issue with sunscreens for me -- I wish I could find which ingredient is to blame). Most distressingly, this lotion has an overpowering, powdery-sweet perfume that makes me smell like an old lady. It makes me want to run away from myself. This has been sitting mostly unused on the shelf for almost a year, and I used it again the other day when I discovered I had left my preferred moisturizer in the upstairs bathroom. That was the last time. It's going in the trash.

Bee
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 180 total reviews
1-20 of 180 reviews