Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 171 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

171 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

171 reviews | 4 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
109
4 stars
19
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 stars
27
1-20 of 168 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 168 total reviews
1-20 of 168 reviews
Feverfew related to ragweed
1/13/2016

Customer review by AEMM

1.0 stars 1/13/2016 by AEMM
by AEMM

It's actually been awhile since I tried Aveeno Ultra-Calming Daily Moisturizer, but the experience isn't one that I'll soon forget. In the last few years, I've had issues with rosacea and decided to give Aveeno a try. Within a short time of applying the moisturizer, my face started burning and itching. I checked in the mirror and found that my face was becoming red and blotchy. I have never had a reaction to fragrances or moisturizers before, so I googled feverfew to find out more about it. What I found out is that it is related to ragweed, which I am allergic to as are many, many other people. (It's the main culprit that causes hayfever.) So, in trying to calm my skin, I actually smeared my #1 allergen all over my face. Thanks for that, Aveeno. I took a Benedryl and put hydrocortisone on the rash, but it took a couple of days for the inflammation to go completely away. Perhaps feverfew is calming to those who don't have ragweed allergies, but it was the polar opposite to me and my ragweed allergies.

Comment from Aveeno - 1/13/2016

Thanks for your review, AEMM. We would like to speak with your about your experience since this is not typical. When you have a moment, please call our consumer care center at 1-866-428-3366 between 8AM-8PM ET. We look forward to speaking with you!

AEMM
Columbus
Would recommend to a friend? No
Favorite Under Makeup Lotion
12/27/2008

Customer review by GatewayGirl

5.0 stars 12/27/2008 by GatewayGirl
by GatewayGirl

Having several anniversaries of my 29th birthday under my belt, my skin is not as "young" as it used to be. I was diagnosed with rosacea (mild) and work outside and ride a motorcycle in extreme temperatures. This is rough on the face!! My dermatologist recommended Aveeno w/ Feverfew (Ultra Calming) to wear as an under makeup base, and to apply anytime the wind or weather began drying my face. BOY, does this stuff work!! Not greasy, not smelly, and it makes my makeup glide on! The cooling feverfew pulls the "fire" out of my skin's surface vessels and the tone of my cheeks almost instantly looks a degree or two lighter. UV protection is an added plus! If you are worried about clogged pores from applying lotion too often, for me that has NOT even been an issue. I quit using any soap or typical facial washes, and only wash my face in lotion. Have used Aveeno as a complete facial lotion and under makeup base for over 3 years and my skin hasn't aged a bit, and I can honestly say it looks better than ever!! Thanks J&J for another WONDERFUL staple in my family's personal care cabinet!!

Was this review helpful? (39) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GatewayGirl
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I use the ultra calming cleanser, thought this would work for me
1/27/2016

Customer review by nikkie4728

1.0 stars 1/27/2016 by nikkie4728
by nikkie4728

I have been using the ultra calming foaming cleanser for over a year now and it is the only cleanser I have found that does not make me break out in red spots. I love it, so I thought I would try the ultra calming daily moisturizer. I used it once it felt great nice and light soaked right in not greasy at all, I loved it. The second time I applied it, I broke out with red spots all over my face and my skin is extremely dry and tight. I am on the third day now after the second application and I am still broken out. I am very confused and disappointed.

Comment from Aveeno - 1/28/2016

We're very sorry to hear about this, nikkie4728. We definitely wouldn't expect you to break out in red spots while using this product, and we'd like to speak with you to learn more about your experience. Please give us a call at 866-428-3366 Monday-Friday between 9am-7pm ET. We hope to hear from you soon.

nikkie4728
Would recommend to a friend? No
My favorite product
1/18/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/18/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I love this moisturizer, it doesn't feel greasy or thick on face. It smells nice and is very good for my sensitive skin. The only thing i would say negative about it is i wish the SPF came in 30 or 50, i have very fair skin and would appreciate the higher SPF.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A miracle for my skin!!
9/12/2009

Customer review by SUtahShopper

5.0 stars 9/12/2009 by SUtahShopper
by SUtahShopper

I have been so frustrated trying to find a facial lotion that helps with combination skin (dry in spots, slightly oily in others) and a mild case of Rosacea...everything I tried broke me out...I needed something extremely mild that actually moisturized, yet didn't turn me into an oil slick. A daunting task for any skin care product! I had just started using a Clinique lotion called "Redness Solutions". It worked great, with the only negative side being the cost ($36) and no SPF. I was in Walmart a few weeks later and stumbled across this Aveeno product by accident (hubby likes Aveeno body wash). The saving grace about buying from Walmart, is if the product doesn't work, you can always return it...I know and like the Aveeno line, so I decided to give this lotion a try. The expensive jar of Clinique is now in the closet. The Aveeno works as well as the expensive Clinique , plus Aveeno is cheaper ($14 here) and has an SPF 15. My skin is clear and I no longer have any acne problems. The broken capillary I had on my right cheek is healed and gone. No more mild redness in my cheeks..it's like I never had Rosacea (yippee!). I apply the Aveeno after my shower in the morning and normally apply my makeup on top. No problems and my skin feels great all day. When I come home, I now use the Aveeno Ultra-Calming foaming cleanser to gently remove all the makeup and finished up with another quick dab of the lotion...super easy! Any negatives? NONE...except that I wish I had found this years ago! My neighbor's teenage grand daughter has extremely fair and sensitive skin...and is now using Aveeno Ultra-Calming Daily Moisturizer with amazing results. So no, you do not have to have Rosacea...just super sensitive skin.

Was this review helpful? (31) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SUtahShopper
Southern Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product
1/11/2016

Customer review by Birdboy2000

5.0 stars 1/11/2016 by Birdboy2000
by Birdboy2000

Absorbs into the skin quickly and reduces redness and irritation over night... Over all great product, will be repurchasing

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Birdboy2000
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Need Fragarance-Free
5/31/2013

Customer review by Mooseberry45

1.0 stars 5/31/2013 by Mooseberry45
by Mooseberry45

I have been using the Ultra-Calming Daily Moisturizer SPF 30 Fragrance-Free & can no longer find that product - I cannot tolerate ANY fragarance no matter how "pleasant" & I am very frustrated that my favorite product must have been replaced. I purchased this & had to wash it off immediately because of the fragarance. Can you PLEASE make the Fragarance-Free version again since this is the only product I can use on my neck. My face is even sensitive to this, but it worked great close to my face. I see sereval other reviews requesting the same thing. Over the years I have at times been able to find a Fragrance-Free product only to have the line changed to include fragrance. There are MANY of us out there who cannot tolerate fragrance of any kind & need a company to be willing to serve us. I use other of your products, soaps & cleansers that are Fragrance-Free & hope that you will go back to evaluate the need for this product line again in a facial moisturizer. PLEASE, we need a company to serve us! Let Aveeno be OUR line!

Mooseberry45
Weston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE IT
6/3/2009

Customer review by SoFLRocks

5.0 stars 6/3/2009 by SoFLRocks
by SoFLRocks

I personally have roscea and I have to tell you this product work great. I used it for over a year. like everything once you use it soo much it becomes redundant, so I would recommend that maybe after 6 month try using another one from the Aveeno line. I did love that this wasn't like the typical greasy moisterizer, and the spf was perfect. Also this goes perfect with the ultra calming facial cleanser - absolutely love it too!!! MUST TRY! However i do wish they would make it in SPF 30 so i wouldnt have to put on additional sunblock when i head out to do outdoor activities.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SoFLRocks
Pembroke Pines, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Clearer skin in just a few weeks! Miracle in a bottle.
11/25/2015

Customer review by Evita90

5.0 stars 11/25/2015 by Evita90
by Evita90

This product is the only product that actually worked on me. I have dry to normal skin and I never really had a major issue with my skin, but this year with the stress of nursing school and not being to careful for my face I noticed redness on my cheek and chin. It got so bad that it was embarrassing. After a few weeks of applying AVEENO ULTRA-CALMING® my skin was clearing up. I love this product and I use it daily. I highly recommend it. Also smells great. Thank you AVEENO for this product! #HappyCustomer

Evita90
Concord
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
I am 61
12/1/2015

Customer review by Dee

5.0 stars 12/1/2015 by Dee
by Dee

Have tried many products in my life and have been using this for 3 months now and my breakouts have finally stopped and my skin looks clean and clear. I use to use expensive cleansers and creams. This cleanser cleans my skin better then anything I had used previously. Since I am older I would like to try positively raident but am afraid to switch since the products I am using now are doing so well.

Dee
Tucson
Great Moisturizer for Redness
1/21/2009

Customer review by LynnwoodShopper

5.0 stars 1/21/2009 by LynnwoodShopper
by LynnwoodShopper

This moisturizer is the best I have found to calm the redness on my face, especially around my nose. I use the Aveeno Ultra Calming cleanser also and it works great with this moisturizer.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LynnwoodShopper
Lynnwood, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Aveeno ultra calming daily moisturizer
12/18/2015

Customer review by Sally

5.0 stars 12/18/2015 by Sally
by Sally

Great product, does what it says, calms senstive skin!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sally
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AWESOME LOVE IT!! Smaller size though?
11/24/2015

Customer review by rachel

5.0 stars 11/24/2015 by rachel
by rachel

love this stuff!!!! Can you make the Ultra Calming Lotion in a travel size though? or in a slimmer 2 ounce bottle perhaps? I only use the Ultra Calming Lotion and I have a bottle for home, car, work but would like a slimmer version to keep in my purse or for travel and I have only found slimmer bottles for the other types but not the Ultra Calming Lotion.....just a suggestion...

rachel
prattville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Moisture, Slight Sting.
5/31/2014

Customer review by TinaM

4.0 stars 5/31/2014 by TinaM
by TinaM

I do love this product, I just want to give some background info! I used to use this religiously, but then I decided to switch things up and try some other brands. I honestly regret that a lot, I was looking through older pictures and I knew at those times I was ONLY using Aveeno products and ever since I stopped my skin never looked that great again. Recently I started switching back to Aveeno skincare only, I'm breaking out slightly more than normal, but I think it's because change in weather and stress from school. I pulled out this moisturizer again because my skin has been so dry and flakey, it makes my skin feel amazing, I have also noticed redness starting to fade quite a bit which is a big bonus for me. But, I have noticed it stings quite a bit, which I do not remember happening before. Is this normal? The stinging does go away after a bit of time but it is very irritating. It's not expired or anything either, is there such a thing as a product just sitting too long that causes it to turn bad? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Comment from AVEENO® - 5/31/2014

Thank you for your feedback, TinaM. We are sorry to hear about the experience you had with our AVEENO® product. This is not typical of our products and we would like to speak with you to gather more information about this. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-866-428-3366. Our specialists are available Monday-Friday 8AM-8PM EDT. We look forward to hearing from you, TinaM.

TinaM
I live in Canada, but that isn't an option.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Cleared up my acne!
7/21/2009

Customer review by 54321ItsMe

5.0 stars 7/21/2009 by 54321ItsMe
by 54321ItsMe

I know this product isn’t designed to fight acne, but if your skin is very, very sensitive it does. Okay, I have tried everything – absolutely everything to cure acne. First, I tried everything I could find over the counter, randomly picking one thing after another. I also tried Proactive only to discover that like everything else designed to fight zits, Benzoyl Peroxide is so strong it only irritates my sensitive skin and makes it break out worse. So I decided to try a more gentle approach and followed a book’s regimen for vitamin and herbal remedies. This also, was to no avail. Then I went to the dermatologist. The solution he had me put on my face had the potency of airplane paint stripper…and the same effects. After a year of going to the dermatologist, my face was breaking out worse than it ever has before or since. Let me tell you, by this time, my face was worse than just breaking out. It was so sensitive to so many product I had tried that it was constantly itching and bright red all over! After realizing the products I had been using were the problem I went through quite a long stage when I wouldn’t let anything but water touch it. The after-effects of these products still would not reverse. I bought the book, “The Skin Type Solution,” and took the quiz, which referred me to my chapter. (This book is absolutely the Bible of skincare.) I was surprised when my chapter said that my face might not tolerate Benzoyl Peroxide – something I already knew very, very well. The book recommended “Aveeno Ultra Calming Moisturizing Cream” instead – a product so gentle that it doesn’t even claim to cure acne. But for my sensitive skin, it did!!! It didn’t take near as long as I had expected before the pimples vanished. Then the redness went away. It took a little longer for my face to feel normal again, but gradually, even the constant itching vanished completely. I have been using this product for the last three years and it really works! I’m beginning to get really worried because I can't find the night cream version of this product anywhere. I hope Aveeno never stops making this.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
54321ItsMe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
LOVE IT!!!
9/28/2015

Customer review by Julie

5.0 stars 9/28/2015 by Julie
by Julie

I have tried all of the Aveeno moisturizers and this one, the Ultra-Calming is very soothing to the skin. It is gentle and does not irritate my sensitive skin. I prefer the Positively Radiant moisturizer, but my sisters who also have sensitive skins all love this one. It does not break you out of clog up any pores.

Julie
Greenville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
i just cannot rave enough about this product
4/2/2015

Customer review by Red

5.0 stars 4/2/2015 by Red
by Red

i have used this product for YEARS. i have dry, acne prone and sensitive skin. i get huge cystic acne and just the smallest change in product can wreak havoc on my skin for weeks. I recently tried another Aveeno moisturizer with awful results so i'm back to this after realizing my error. My skin just glows when i use this moisturizer. Just enough SPF for daily use (i use additional sunscreen when outside) and it does not irritate my skin at all. No clogging of pores and it absorbs wonderfully so that when i apply my makeup, it goes on fluidly and evenly. Just right for my dry skin without being heavy. I would reccomend this to anyone that has skin issues, problems with irritation or acne or redness. i have issues with all of the above and this moisturizer does not exaggerate those problems at all. i will not stray again!

Comment from AVEENO® - 4/2/2015

Thank you for your review, Red. We are sorry to hear about your experience. We would like to speak with you to gather more information since this is not typical. Please call our consumer care center at 1-866-428-3366 between Mon-Fri 8AM-8PM EST. We look forward to hearing from you. Thank you!

Red
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Confidence boost in a bottle!
4/7/2011

Customer review by Thrashel

5.0 stars 4/7/2011 by Thrashel
by Thrashel

Pretty much my whole teenage life I have had acne, and luckilly it stopped when I was 20 (minus the usual pms-related breakout) but now I am stuck with acne scars and red skin. I started using Aveeno Ultra Calming 5 years ago and it has worked miracles! My face looks so much less scarred, the only color on my face is a healthy pink on my cheeks! This has greatly increased my confidence and I can finally go out without makeup with confidence! Definately trying out the SPF 30 variation this summer!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thrashel
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for sensitive skin
10/18/2015

Customer review by Darcy

5.0 stars 10/18/2015 by Darcy
by Darcy

The older I get the more sensitive my face gets. I finally found something that works.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Darcy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ok
10/14/2015

Customer review by dslc

3.0 stars 10/14/2015 by dslc
by dslc

I bought the Aveeno for my rosacea. My skin is very dry and I hoped it would help. It has soften my skin alittle. Not sure yet if I will keep it or not. I have only had it for a week

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dslc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 168 total reviews
1-20 of 168 reviews