Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 134 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

134 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

134 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

41%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
27
4 stars
22
3 stars
13
2 stars
22
1 stars
50
1-20 of 130 total reviews
41%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 130 total reviews
1-20 of 130 reviews
get what you pay for
12/20/2013

Customer review by jane

1.0 stars 12/20/2013 by jane
by jane

I went for this pump because of price. Sorry but it's AWFUL! Ridiculously LOUD! One of the plastic adapter pieces broke because it's so hard to snap it into the horn, leaving no suction. I was able to exchange it in-store and then the same thing happened! On both pieces this time. Also with the 2nd pump, after about a month of use I was mid-pump and literally heard the pump lose power. There was so much less suction after that. My daughter wouldn't latch on so I depended solely on my pump. I had horrible supply issues from the get go (at best 20oz a day total# and wonder if the weak motor might have contributed to my problems. I had planned to pump the first year but after all this, I quit at 6 months. The broken pump made that decision for me. One positive was when I called the company, they said all I to do was send it back and I would be reimbursed retail value #as I couldn't find my receipt) and shipping. Very disappointing because I LOVE the bottles. Wish I would have read reviews before buying this pump.

jane
illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
For sensitive ladies & no replacement parts
11/12/2013

Customer review by searching

4.0 stars 11/12/2013 by searching
by searching

I bought this pump for my first child 5 years ago and used it steadily for 1 year...on the plus side it was just the right pressure for me at level 2 but on the minus side it lost suction and increasingly got louder over time and is a bear to clean. Thinking it was broken I tossed everything (foggy plastic, yellowed filters, broken & torn tubes, loud pump) into the trash. I then bought the deluxe version for my 2nd child this year and it already is loud! After sterilizing the new plastic parts and finding NO REPLACEMENT PARTS anywhere, on Playtex website, stores, internet, I wish I'd kept the original and just sterilized it all. I also wish I'd read it could be taken apart & cleaned.

searching
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The double electric breast pump is easy to use, and easy to travel with.
11/15/2013

Customer review by Firstmommy

4.0 stars 11/15/2013 by Firstmommy
by Firstmommy

I have not had any real problems with this device. As a first time mom, I really enjoy the travel bag that comes with the product, and how easy it is to take apart to store and/or clean. The cons about this product is it is noisy. I put a pillow on it at night to help muffle the sound. Also the breast pump cups have both broke. You can't find replacement parts in stores, but online with the product number it's very easy to, also if you have your receipt and within warranty time frame, playtex customer service with help out with getting the parts to you. Like I mentioned the pros are the travel bag, ease of cleaning, also very comfortable on the breast itself.

Firstmommy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product
5/21/2013

Customer review by Claudia

5.0 stars 5/21/2013 by Claudia
by Claudia

I used this pump with my first son and it was great. The motor did break after 2 months (i think i just got a defective one)but I called the warranty and got it replaced at no cost and that replacement pump has LASTED me for 5 YEARS( keep in mind breasts pumps warrantys are normally 1yr). I just recently had my third son and finally after 5 years had to replace the motor. Overall very satisfied. It's comfortable to use with adjustable settings. If you want just a basic inexpensive pump, I would buy this one. The only way you can slow down your milk supply is by not pumping often or not pumping at all so I don't understand those other reviews.

Claudia
Humble, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I don't love it, but i don't hate it
4/3/2013

Customer review by christina515

3.0 stars 4/3/2013 by christina515
by christina515

I received this pump as a gift. I knew the price was decent for a gift, that's why i put it on the baby registry. I used this for 12 months. and it worked well. I also used another brand name, high end pump and that one was not as comfy as this one. the suction was fine on this Playtex pump. it didn't hurt like the high end pump. I thought maybe it could be a little stronger though. the sound of the motor is a little louder than i would like. overall the pump got the job done. i would go with the saying, "you get what you pay for". i'll be using it for my second child due this month. we'll see how it goes with a second round.

christina515
iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Lasted 1 month
2/28/2014

Customer review by NewDad

1.0 stars 2/28/2014 by NewDad
by NewDad

Like most, I bought this one for the price. At first it was pretty coonvenient. It was loud and took about 30mins every time. My son is now 1 month old, so I guess the pump actually lasted more like 2 or 3 weeks before it stopped working. This morning it just stopped sucking. We had to drop everything to go and get a new pump because she likes to pump after he eats so breastfeeding wasn't an option. Such a dissappointing product. I'm sure customer service would replace parts, maybe even the whole thing, but it would be too little too late. We can't go a day without a pump. Save yourself a headache and don't buy this.

NewDad
Anaheim, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Highly recommend!
8/3/2013

Customer review by HollyLC3

4.0 stars 8/3/2013 by HollyLC3
by HollyLC3

I have used this pump to express milk for almost 4 years (with 3 babies)! I do not work outside the home, so I don't use it as a full source of expressing milk. However, I use it frequently to express extra milk. It is small, quick, has 3 settings, and is THE MOST COMFORTABLE breast pump. For me, that is the most important. Other pumps are hard plastic, cold, and seem rigid. This pump is comfy, and adjustable. The bottle nipples work great, and it is convenient to pump, pop a nipple on top, and feed to baby. My downsides: not so easy to clean, and kinda loud.

HollyLC3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Product!
6/6/2013

Customer review by Rebecca4263

4.0 stars 6/6/2013 by Rebecca4263
by Rebecca4263

My husband and I truly love using these bottles. We used them with both of my children, who both have/had acid reflux and these seemed to be a good fit for them. The automatic tilt of the bottle makes it easy to determine that no air is getting though. We have never had a problem with these bottles, cleaning them can be a little time consuming, but no more than any of the other ones. Should we have another child, we will definitely stick with these, as these worked for both my children. They are also very durable, easy to hold and a good value.

Rebecca4263
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Pump
12/17/2013

Customer review by amatrey17

4.0 stars 12/17/2013 by amatrey17
by amatrey17

My insurance company paid for a pump and I chose this pump due to the closed system. I have been pumping for three months and still going strong. The silicone cups are comfortable and have good suction and I love the black tote that I can store everything in. I do wish it was a little quieter but it's easy to assemble. Cleaning is a bit difficult to get to some of those hard to reach places but everything comes apart very easily. Be careful when taking the pieces apart as they do crack easily.

amatrey17
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lost suction but we fixed it easily!!!!!!!!!!!!
9/30/2013

Customer review by Danielle23

4.0 stars 9/30/2013 by Danielle23
by Danielle23

I've had the pump for 4 months barely using it and it lost suction. My husband took it apart, cleaned out the insides of the motor with a Q-Tip (black deposits), and rubbed a little bit of Vegetable Oil on the black seals. He put it all back together and it worked like new! If any parts need to be replaced it would only be the O Rings (black rings) Take them to any hardware store and they will match the size. :) My hubby is a mechanic but even just watching him do this it was so simple!

Danielle23
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
comparison to other pumps
10/1/2013

Customer review by lynn3311

2.0 stars 10/1/2013 by lynn3311
by lynn3311

Im a first time mom and I received a Medela pump in style as a gift. I wasn't able to readily purchase additional parts so I opted for this pump that was provided to my by insurance. This pump is definitely easy to use, comfortable, and lighter, but does not perform nearly as well as I thought it would. (Or what I guess I'm used to) I would probably recommend this product only if you plan on pumping once in a while or prefer the drop in bag feature.

lynn3311
Would recommend to a friend? No
Medela wins the contest
10/6/2013

Customer review by Martha

3.0 stars 10/6/2013 by Martha
by Martha

I didn't think I would use a pump until we got home from the hospital. I realized that I needed one ASAP. Playtex was the only pump we were able to find on Sunday afternoon... The pump is or, I've already broken the second plastic adapter and wonder where to get a replacement. And cleaning is nightmare. I bought Medela to use in the office and it's easier to clean, more durable, more compact and I get the same amount of milk in 30% less time.

Martha
New Jersey, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
suction makes it unusable
12/9/2013

Customer review by mommy2boys

1.0 stars 12/9/2013 by mommy2boys
by mommy2boys

This pump is terrible. I couldn't ever use the double pump because it would lose suction through the hoses. I would use it as a single pump until the cup bases started losing suction and became unusable. The was after 2 months. Plus it is not convenient to take on the go since there is no battery. I've had an evenflo single breast pump since my first son was born 3 years ago and it is still going strong.

mommy2boys
Would recommend to a friend? No
affordable but not made to last
4/6/2013

Customer review by hannahg

2.0 stars 4/6/2013 by hannahg
by hannahg

This pump worked great for my first child, but now that we have a second BOTH the pumps have already cracked. To get enough suction to pump I need to squeeze it together with both hands, which is really inconvenient. I liked it a lot when I used it at first, but wouldn't buy it again only because of the lack of quality. (Our daughters are only 17 months apart so it isn't even that old!)

hannahg
Hawaii, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Parts keep breaking!
6/3/2013

Customer review by Badd

2.0 stars 6/3/2013 by Badd
by Badd

I bought this pump as it was cheap and I thought playtex was a good brand. 3 months later I broke a piece of the base. I've since gotten 3 replacement parts and also bought a second so I had spare parts. I'm down to two bases and I would not recommend this as they keep breaking! Other than the parts breaking, if you're not going to heavily use a breast pump it may work better for you.

Badd
Kansas, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Poor quality
1/7/2014

Customer review by braedensmommy25

1.0 stars 1/7/2014 by braedensmommy25
by braedensmommy25

This pump is not designed for a working mom-even part-time! I couldn't use it as a double pump because it would lose suction. The piece broke after only 4 months use causing a decrease in suction and it is EXTREMELY loud! After 6 months, the motor starting dying, so it began taking an hour to pump both breasts! I wish I had spent the extra $ to get an efficient/good quality pump.

braedensmommy25
Georgia, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not worth the low price
1/31/2013

Customer review by Unsatisfied

1.0 stars 1/31/2013 by Unsatisfied
by Unsatisfied

Price was what attracted me to this pump but now is costing me more since I have to buy a new pump after on my 2.5 months of use. The material rubs skin off nipples, pump is so very slow and extremely loud. Is losing suction every time I use it now. Going to buy something else. I will not be buying playtex that's for sure. Very disappointed in this product.

Unsatisfied
Minneapolis
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good price, bad product
1/16/2014

Customer review by MomM

2.0 stars 1/16/2014 by MomM
by MomM

I bought this pump because of its price. It worked ok for the first few weeks and then my nipples would turn blue and painful while pumping. The lactation consultant said I needed bigger flanges, but the company doesn't make different sizes. I'm not even. A big busted woman ether. Wish I would have spent the extra money and gotten a better pump.

MomM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Would not recommend
2/7/2013

Customer review by Wrknmomof2

2.0 stars 2/7/2013 by Wrknmomof2
by Wrknmomof2

The price attracted me. Not the cheapest , not the most expensive. And my initial thought was Playtex has been around for ever, it's a good brand.. Just disappointed all around. It's pretty noisy, and one of my pieces broke after only a couple of months. It just doesnt get good suction, I can still hand express another 1/2-1 oz after 30 min.

Wrknmomof2
Arizona, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nipple Torture
3/21/2013

Customer review by PainedMama

1.0 stars 3/21/2013 by PainedMama
by PainedMama

The pain from this pump is worse than when you first ever start nursing. The way the rubber rubs on your nipples is absolute torture. It's extremely loud, pumps very slowly and parts of it have broken off making one side unusable. I now have to pump one side at a time because the other is broken. You definitely get what you pay for.

PainedMama
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 130 total reviews
1-20 of 130 reviews