Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 280 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

280 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

280 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
197
4 stars
69
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
6
1-20 of 257 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 257 total reviews
1-20 of 257 reviews
Great Mattress
3/7/2009

Customer review by bearsis

4.0 stars 3/7/2009 by bearsis
by bearsis

I highly recommend this mattress to anyone looking for an affordable and easily transportable product. It began to plump up as soon as I removed the outer fabric wrap, and it's been level and comfortable ever since. We've had it about a month now, and we don't have any complaints. It's a great price, too, and I liked that I could just get the mattress since I already had a box spring. Most stores want you to get a set, and that means $$$$$. If you're looking for a decent mattress at a decent price, try this one. Ours is a Queen size, and the measurements are true, it fits perfect on the spring and no problems with our sheets.

Was this review helpful? (39) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bearsis
Taylor, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I Could Not Believe It!!
5/20/2009

Customer review by ErnDog

5.0 stars 5/20/2009 by ErnDog
by ErnDog

I've been researching mattresses for months. I kept coming back to this Mattress In A Box. Read all the reviews. I figured; "Why Not?" My cousin went with me to pick it up. He thought I was nuts! We got it home, opened it up. Within 5 minutes it expanded. Fantastic. I'm 290, bad back, bad neck and this mattress supports me perfectly. And I got the "twin" size!! Wal-Mar did it again. Great product! Great Value!

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ErnDog
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
UNBELIEVALBLY COMFORTABLE & DOESN'T GET ANY EASIER
7/1/2009

Customer review by CEEDOIT

5.0 stars 7/1/2009 by CEEDOIT
by CEEDOIT

We received this mattress very quickly with site-to-store; less than a week. The boxes are heavy, but we were able to fit both the mattress and steel frame (the Smart Base Frame that I purchased separately) boxes into my compact Saturn easily and with plenty of room to spare. Once we got it into the bedroom and out of the boxes, it was the easiest set-up of any mattress and frame EVER! I recommend having the steel frame set-up and ready to roll the mattress out onto. I'd say it took us about 10 minutes in all to complete the entire set-up (frame and mattress). There was no odor of any kind on the mattress, and it opened up within seconds of removing the plastic wrap. Regular full-size sheets fit the mattress perfectly too. There was almost absolutely nothing to setting up the frame. It folds out, you tighten a few bolts on the legs, and then you just insert a few bars that are used as spacers and for additional support of the full-size mattress. And no tools are needed! NOTE: I didn't notice it at first, but there are different sets of directions for twin-size and full-size set-up. In my packet, the first set of instructions were for the twin; directions for full-size were second. The frame is very strong and sturdy, and the mattress is unbelievably comfortable (and I have a very bad back). IT LOOKS LIKE ANY OTHER REGULAR MATTRESS TOO. I bought it for my guest room, had company over the following weekend (one of whom also has a very bad back), and they raved about it and plan to purchase one for themselves. We'll see how it stands the test of time and use, but for my purposes, it's PERFECT so far, and probably will be for a long time to come (given it won't be used on a regular basis)! I would highly recommend the Smart Base Steel frame alone for any twin or full mattress, as well as the mattress alone if you just want to add it to an existing stand-alone bed frame or box spring. It well met my expectations, and the prices can't be beat!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CEEDOIT
TEXAS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Sleepless in CT
6/22/2009

Customer review by Colleen111

1.0 stars 6/22/2009 by Colleen111
by Colleen111

FLIMSY, UNCOMFORTABLE, WASTE OF MONEY. I purchased a full size slumber 1 mattress to replace a simmons beauty rest mattress that was almost 10 yrs old. I was fooled by a number of positive reviews on this site so i felt i needed to submit my own. I'll start by commenting on how cool it was to be able to pick up a box from wal-mart, unwrap it and have a full size mattress in my bedroom in less than 10 mins. However, that's about the only positive thing i can say about this product. My old mattress, being so old, was no longer very supportive, if you picked it up it seemed to droop and i was starting to feel the springs dig into my hips at night if i slept on my side. So i purchased the slumber 1 mattress due to the low price. This mattress is the flimsiest, thinnest mattress i have ever slept on, and that includes the awful ones i had while in college. I weigh about 100lbs and if i stand on any part of the mattress i can sink all the way to the baseboard of my bed. Its tolerable if i sleep alone, but if there are two people on the bed the heavier one takes away any support, and you can feel every slight movement from the other person ( and i mean every movement, like for instance if they scratch an itch the entire mattress moves). I've been sleeping on it less than a month and i can already feel the springs. If you like a mattress on the firmer side DO NOT purchase this product. I actually like softer mattresses but this is ridiculous. I usually sleep like a baby and i have not had a decent night's sleep since purchasing this. Do yourself a favor and buy a real mattress. If you are interested in the slumber 1 because of the low price or b/c its easy to get into a small apt there is a firmer, foam mattress i know of that was once offered on wal-mart. com. It comes in a box like this one and was relatively inexpensive but is supportive and firm ( no springs) and you wake up without any neck or back pains. Please, do not buy this mattress. You'll be stuck with it and you will hate it. I guarantee it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Colleen111
CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
A GREAT SLEEP:)
6/25/2009

Customer review by MySelections

5.0 stars 6/25/2009 by MySelections
by MySelections

I brought this matress for my daughter and because she loved it so much I ordered a queen size for myself:) I LOVE WAL-MART THEY MAKE EVERYTHING EASIER!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MySelections
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good mattress for price!!!!!!
5/14/2010

Customer review by WalmartshopperinDENCO

4.0 stars 5/14/2010 by WalmartshopperinDENCO
by WalmartshopperinDENCO

I just bought this about a week ago, and haven't had a problem with the 9" coil mattress. I work for Wal- Mart, and there are some produces that we sell that isn't what it lives up to. However this one isn't it, its firm enough to have at-least a restful nights sleep. VERY VERY easy to assemble, would agree with earlier posts, that it takes two people to set up a Queen size mattress. You wont find a better deal then this one TRUST ME, I've been looking for sometime. But its like the old saying goes " you get what you pay for". I would recommend it to anyone in the market for a mattress to hold them over, until they can get a better one. It is definitely BETTER than a AIR BED!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WalmartshopperinDENCO
Denver,Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Perfect for me!
2/22/2010

Customer review by GratefulGradStudent

5.0 stars 2/22/2010 by GratefulGradStudent
by GratefulGradStudent

I waited to write a review until I had slept on this mattress for nearly a year. After moving across the country for school, I had this mattress delivered to my apartment based on the other reviews listed. The size is true, the bed was interesting to watch straighten out of the box, and I have had no problems with buckling or bowing. It is comfortable and sleeps nicely! I expect to sell my furnishings before moving on to my first "real" job after grad school, but I will purchase this mattress again for the ease of delivery and the comfort. Enjoy your purchase!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GratefulGradStudent
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
deep sleep impressions after 3 months
1/24/2010

Customer review by lizajayne

2.0 stars 1/24/2010 by lizajayne
by lizajayne

when we first got this it seemed like a great deal, it was so comfortable, but after 3 months we had deep impressions in the mattress where we sleep, we are not large or heavy people(under 300lbs total).now 6 months later and after turning the foot end up to headend we have deep divots again its very uncomfortable. it might work for guest bed or cottage.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lizajayne
west michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Much Better Than Expected
5/23/2009

Customer review by delmagedj

5.0 stars 5/23/2009 by delmagedj
by delmagedj

This mattress turned out to be much better than expected! After reading all of the positive reviews from other purchasers regarding this product, my husband and I figured we might as well give this mattress a try. The product comes prepackaged in a box, which may seem somewhat strange, but trust me, it is much easier to transport and quite ingenious if you ask me. The package will definitely fit in most any vehicle. When setting the mattress up, you simply remove it from the box, cut off the nylon banding and plastic, and the mattress takes form in a matter of seconds. We placed the mattress on the foundation while we stripped off the plastic and banding, that way it we wouldn't have to move it once it had taken shape. After sleeping on this bed for a few months now, I would most definitely recommend it to others. You cannot beat the price and the mattress provides firm yet comfortable support. Overall this mattress has already outperformed our last bed, which was a Serta Perfect Sleeper.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
delmagedj
Kalkaska, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT mattress! COOLEST pkging ever!
10/14/2009

Customer review by jkwmommy

5.0 stars 10/14/2009 by jkwmommy
by jkwmommy

Not that it matters but how these are packaged is so cool! Kinda like space saver bags!! Besides that, the mattress is really thick and comfortable! Got 2 twins and 1 full for our 3 kids because we didn't need mattress sets for their beds just top mattress. Pleased with our purchases and would recommend these to anyone. Love Walmart.com, can find almost anything and always great prices and free site to store shipping~ hard to beat!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jkwmommy
Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Such a COOL mattress.
11/17/2010

Customer review by Cambrialee

5.0 stars 11/17/2010 by Cambrialee
by Cambrialee

I have never bought a mattress before this purchase. It was relatively cheap for a king, running $250. Even though it came in a box, my fiance and I were willing to take a leap of faith and buy it. The box was probably 1-2 ft all the way around and about 5 ft tall. We took it out of the box and the mattress was folded in half and rolled up to fit. I just skimmed the directions. As soon as I cut one corner of the plastic it was in, it immediately began to expand. All the air was vacuum sucked out and that's how it fit in the box. As long as you're a fast cutter or you have someone to help, open it and there's your mattress. I believe the instructions say to let it stay out and expanded for a full 24 hours but ours was done in a matter of minutes. We went ahead and played it safe and didn't sleep on it until the next night. That's your call. We use it on a platform bed from walmart with no box spring and it couldn't be any better. Love this mattress!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cambrialee
Hermitage, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Ingenius!
8/19/2009

Customer review by Tiki92

5.0 stars 8/19/2009 by Tiki92
by Tiki92

I don't know why someone didn't think of this concept sooner! The box fit in the back of my van with plenty of room to spare and was simple to carry, even upstairs. Once you get it out of the box and undo the wrapping around the mattress, it begins to fluff up in seconds...quick, easy, and entertaining! I would strongly recommend this to anyone, especially college students. It does not seem to be a true "queen" size, based on my comparison to my parents' queen size bed which seems a bit larger, but I think it will work fine with all bedding. Its very comfortable, soft on top yet firm and supportive. A great buy!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tiki92
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
COMFY COMFY COMFY!
7/9/2010

Customer review by FlyinHawaiian

5.0 stars 7/9/2010 by FlyinHawaiian
by FlyinHawaiian

I was hesitant to purchase this mattress, however it arrived in a box. Rolled up and air sealed--after opening the plastic and letting it "puff up" I was really surprised at how quick it puffed up and how COMFORTABLE this mattress is! You will NOT be disappointed. I purchased this mattress for my guest room, but I have slept on this mattress and my guests will NOT be disappointed :)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FlyinHawaiian
Woodbridge, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Great Product!
9/5/2010

Customer review by aidan80

5.0 stars 9/5/2010 by aidan80
by aidan80

Excellent value, firm supportive mattress shrink wrapped in a box! This is a one side only mattress so if your feeling springs poking into you it might be because you've got it back to front. Otherwise good product for the money. I should mention that I bought Laguna platform bed and this mattress is about 4" too short lengthwise but fits very snugly width.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aidan80
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great !!!
9/20/2009

Customer review by Lu

5.0 stars 9/20/2009 by Lu
by Lu

I brought this for my new apartment. The mattress is just great! Very comfortable and supporting my back nicely. I have no regret to this product... 9" from the ground, excellent... Recommend to everyone with limited $$$ like me...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
bedinabox
11/20/2009

Customer review by sleepinglady

5.0 stars 11/20/2009 by sleepinglady
by sleepinglady

Ordered bed in a box for my daybed and it is absolutely awesome, much higher quality than I expected. And completely comfortable. I have severe arthritis and have difficulty lying on many expensive mattresses, but happily spent 3 days of the flu lying on this one watching movies on tv. It is without a doubt the best budget buy I ever made. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this for anyone looking for a child's mattress, daybed, or in the larger sizes, a replacement mattress for that old saggy worn out expensive one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sleepinglady
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
If you need a mattress
12/26/2009

Customer review by rcf1

5.0 stars 12/26/2009 by rcf1
by rcf1

and don't want to spend your life savings, this is for you. I have spent most of the last 5 years sleeping on the floor due to a bad back, I have now spent the last two weeks sleeping in heaven. I am using the queen sized mattress on a platform bed with no box spring and it works great. I have already recommended this mattress to several people who are looking for a great nights sleep. On average I would wake up 8 to 10 times a night, making me more tired than when I went to bed. Since I have owned this mattress I am sleeping through the night like a baby. And the best part is waking to no back pain.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rcf1
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pretty basic mat
6/18/2009

Customer review by kdddaaa

4.0 stars 6/18/2009 by kdddaaa
by kdddaaa

I bought this mattress at another site. I'm sure it's the same because upon close inspection the pictures used are exactly the same. I'm 240lbs and I find this mattress to be really firm, too firm for me. I ordered a cushion mattress topper for another $50, so that will probably help. Even with that it's still less than half the price of a regular mattress and should work for the next couple of years until I upgrade. If you like very firm mattresses you'll probably like this. It does actually have real springs in it like a normal mattress and you can't feel them jab into your or anything which is good. Back sleepers may like this but for a side sleeper like me it seems a bit firm.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kdddaaa
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good mattress.. great value for money
9/13/2010

Customer review by HappyShopper112

4.0 stars 9/13/2010 by HappyShopper112
by HappyShopper112

I love this mattress. It is very sturdy. It may not be the most comfortable mattress, but its very good for this price. I use it everyday and like it a lot. I purchased a mattress pad to go with it. I especially liked the way it was packaged. There was no smell (as some ppl had complained). All in all, a great buy!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyShopper112
Folsom, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
a futon type mattress
1/25/2011

Customer review by lovinglive2

2.0 stars 1/25/2011 by lovinglive2
by lovinglive2

we thought this mattress was a conventional mattress but it wasnt. Its a futon mattress and isnt good for a bed with slats. The mattress falls through the slats.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovinglive2
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
1-20 of 257 total reviews
1-20 of 257 reviews