Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 251 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

251 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

251 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

99%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
177
4 stars
63
3 stars
10
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 220 total reviews
99%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 220 total reviews
1-20 of 220 reviews
Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar Works as Intended
1/21/2016

Customer review by EfromTexas

5.0 stars 1/21/2016 by EfromTexas
by EfromTexas

This product allows us to put a comfort bicycle with a stepover frame on a hanger type bicycle rack. It has worked well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EfromTexas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Allen Sports Bicycle Adapter Bar
1/18/2016

Customer review by Chuck

5.0 stars 1/18/2016 by Chuck
by Chuck

Works fine,as advertised, no problems.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chuck
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does the job
7/14/2014

Customer review by Word500

5.0 stars 7/14/2014 by Word500
by Word500
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've never bought the $35 adaptor bars, so I have nothing to compare it to, but I bought 3 of these for the women's bicycle and 2 kids' bikes (16" and 18") and it did the job fine on the women's and 18" kids bike. No sense paying more than necessary. The adaptor bar was just a bit too long for the 16" kids bicycle - the seat-post wouldn't clear past the opening of the hook in order to secure the bicycle, but I was able to rig something up and used straps to make it work. The instructions do say it needs a minimum of 18" between seat-post and stem, and not 16" as noted in the Item Description. But otherwise it worked perfectly on the 18" kids bike and for anything larger. The bar seems sturdy and secure and it worked well on the 2300 mile road-trip we just finished with bikes hanging on a hitch-mounted bike rack.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Word500
Roswell, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
a must have
3/28/2010

Customer review by outdoorsey

4.0 stars 3/28/2010 by outdoorsey
by outdoorsey

This is a great adaptor bar, however, it's not really made for mtn bikes and girls (kids) bikes because there isn't enough clearance between the bike and the handle bars to affix the bar. It can be done safely though. Just make sure to use the after market straps to keep your bikes together at the bottem and to strap in the top very tightly. I found that if you e-mail "Allen", the manufacturer, they're VERY helpful and you can look up the instructions for these online BEFORE you buy them! Happy biking!

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
outdoorsey
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great deal
4/3/2011

Customer review by ssracing59

5.0 stars 4/3/2011 by ssracing59
by ssracing59

Product is fine I wish they would carry in our store since most of the new mountain bikes sold need one to use on bike carrier.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ssracing59
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great
6/18/2010

Customer review by MarcJ

5.0 stars 6/18/2010 by MarcJ
by MarcJ

Works like it should. A must for any goofy framed or womens framed bike. Just watch your Fingers. Some other brands sell something like it for over 30 dollars. This works just as good.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MarcJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works well
11/23/2011

Customer review by Cyphear

4.0 stars 11/23/2011 by Cyphear
by Cyphear

I'd give it 5 stars, but the pin side is are metal, which I was warned would scratch my bike. I used one layer of duct tape to create a bit of a barrier. Much easier to transport my bike now so I'm happy.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cyphear
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not really needed
4/6/2009

Customer review by Cubfan4372

3.0 stars 4/6/2009 by Cubfan4372
by Cubfan4372

This is supposed to make a female bike fit an Allen Bike Rack. It does, but you really don't need it. The rack has cradles that twist and can accommodate your bike just fine. Too bad that Wal-Mart didn't say that in the description. On the good side, this fits easily and secures the bike well.

Was this review helpful? (35) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cubfan4372
South Central Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Fits on an women's bike to allow it to be racked
10/18/2014

Customer review by forcednickname2

5.0 stars 10/18/2014 by forcednickname2
by forcednickname2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This adaptor bar loosely clamps around the handle bar mount and the seat post. One end is a J hook that retains pressure by way of internal springs pulling the hook towards the open clamp end. Once the clamp end and J hook are in position the spring hold the bar in place securely. I used this bar on an adult Womens bike attached to a rack on the back of a minivan for a trip through Pennsylvania. It held the bike securely and was easy to remove after removing the bike from the rack. After one trip I would recommend this for use. Price was inexpensive ($13.97) and delivery time was quick.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
forcednickname2
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love 'em!
5/30/2012

Customer review by Soflacpl

5.0 stars 5/30/2012 by Soflacpl
by Soflacpl

We have large, cruiser-type bikes. The frames are a little different, with extra pieces here and there. I was able to put our bikes (men's and ladies') on our carrier without these adaptors, but it was quite awkward and I could see that I would eventually have scratches and dings. These bars install in about 10 seconds and they greatly simplify the process of mounting the bikes onto the carrier. They are exceptionally strong and easy to use. Now that I have tried them I wouldn't be without them.

Was this review helpful? (16) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Soflacpl
Treasure Coast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Fit Issues
8/4/2009

Customer review by IneffectualIntellectual

3.0 stars 8/4/2009 by IneffectualIntellectual
by IneffectualIntellectual

I thought it fit well on my friend's bike with the exception that it could have fit around the handlebar post more snugly. They could have either made both ends of the bar the same spring operated expander or used some rubberized material on the handlebar post end so it grips better. But all-in-all I carried the bike on a rear mounted bike rack for a couple hundred miles without incident.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IneffectualIntellectual
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for bikes without center bar (female bikes).
10/14/2011

Customer review by Nashfaw

5.0 stars 10/14/2011 by Nashfaw
by Nashfaw

I felt like I had to buy this affordable accessory in order for bike (no center bar) to be secured safely on my affordable bike carrier by the same manufacturer. Love the price of this item, especially when the manufacturer's price on their web site was set at $30 and I got this at Walmart.com for over 50% less.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nashfaw
Clifton Park, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Works great
4/4/2014

Customer review by jmshpr

5.0 stars 4/4/2014 by jmshpr
by jmshpr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

For a ladies bike this bar makes all the difference on a bike carrier. Easy on and off with it's internal spring.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jmshpr
So CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy way to use bike rack with cruisers
7/13/2014

Customer review by lbtweety47

5.0 stars 7/13/2014 by lbtweety47
by lbtweety47
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Had to order this as my beach cruiser would not fit on my bike rack. Found it easy to assemble on the bike and to remove when riding. Holds securely. Would recommend to all who have a cruiser.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lbtweety47
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Item works as advertised.
9/29/2013

Customer review by Edjersey

5.0 stars 9/29/2013 by Edjersey
by Edjersey
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If you have a mountain bike or ladys bike and having a hard time putting it on the rear bike rack. this is the item you need. works great!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Edjersey
Piscataway,NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Allen Adapter Bar
10/16/2015

Customer review by Satisfied

5.0 stars 10/16/2015 by Satisfied
by Satisfied

The Allen Bar worked perfectly and was at the store at the expected time for pick up.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Satisfied
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
too big for 16" children's bike
8/17/2011

Customer review by LeSolaGratia

3.0 stars 8/17/2011 by LeSolaGratia
by LeSolaGratia

Bicycle adaptor bar worked great on my adult size bike with non-traditional frame however this adaptor bar is too big for my children's 16' bikes and did not fulfill their purpose. I decided to keep them to use when the kids grow into bigger bikes but for now it will sit on the shelf with the other "extra bike supplies".

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LeSolaGratia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy to Use - Well Made
9/15/2013

Customer review by Chocomath

5.0 stars 9/15/2013 by Chocomath
by Chocomath
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I used this in combination with an Allen 3-bike rack on the spare tire of my 2006 Honda CRV. It's quick to attach and very sturdy. While it is likely theoretically possible to put a women's bike directly on the rack, this attachment made it slick. My only small concern is that the u-shaped end should have the rubberized coating like the hook end. I'm a little concerned it may scratch the bike with repeated use. I may look for something to pad it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chocomath
Harrisburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Did the job well
7/6/2014

Customer review by ao3inca

5.0 stars 7/6/2014 by ao3inca
by ao3inca
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have a Yakima bike carrier and was looking around for their tube top but couldn't find one. I found this one online and picked it up locally. I bought 2 of these to carry a girls and ladies bikes. They performed flawlessly while carrying the bikes on a long road trip - over 1500 miles. They are simple to use and I would definitely recommend them, especially at their price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ao3inca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
works fine
10/17/2011

Customer review by dzzydav

4.0 stars 10/17/2011 by dzzydav
by dzzydav

i used this on a womens schwinn point beach cruiser and allen two bike rear rack. it works like it is supposed to. there is a screw you need to remove to activate the spring action which lets you adjust the length. other than that it is pretty easy to figure out.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dzzydav
So Cal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 220 total reviews
1-20 of 220 reviews