Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 315 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

315 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

315 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
196
4 stars
98
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 stars
9
1-20 of 280 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 280 total reviews
1-20 of 280 reviews
BUY IT!
6/8/2009

Customer review by turnedleft

5.0 stars 6/8/2009 by turnedleft
by turnedleft

I was worried this product, because of the price, would be junk. I researched bike racks with the same features for triple the price, but took the chance on this model. I was pleasantly surprised to see how sturdy it is. I made sure to use it before writing the review. I put it on my hitch myself (no man required!) I am very happy with it and even happier to have the extra $ in my pocket that I saved by taking a chance on the less expansive bike rack!!

Was this review helpful? (135) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
turnedleft
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent rack for the price
5/18/2009

Customer review by Bikerguy

5.0 stars 5/18/2009 by Bikerguy
by Bikerguy

I initially bought a flimsy rack that is a clone to the Bell rack they sell at Walmart or Target. It developed a hairline crack at the knee joint between the post and the bike carrier arm the first time I used it. Luckily I was not on the freeway where I could have caused a terrible accident. As a structural engineer, I made some calculations and determined that 1.25" x 1/16" tubing is stressed too highly. I would suggest not buying a 4-bike rack for 1.5" receiver. The stresses are simply too high, and the consequence of failure could be a serious accident in addition to losing bikes. The Allen rack is approximately twice as strong (section modulus) as the Bell rack, being made of 2"x 1/16" square tubing, assuming the steel grade is the same. It easily supports me (150 lbs) with very little deflection. After buying the rack, I saw on the internet that one reviewer said his Allen rack failed when one of the 3/8" bolts shear off. It was not this rack, but a previous design. This concerned me, so I made a structural calculation on the rack and the 3/8" pins. The most highly stressed pin, the pin holding the knee joint between the post and bike carrier is well under the allowable stresses. The weakest component is the tearout stresses through the hole that that pin goes through. Although it would seem it would be prudent to make that stronger, that part is still 66% of the allowable stress. Not sure why they cheaped out on a little bit more steel. I would suggest checking the pins regularly for nicks and cracks, since the stress concentrations would severely weaken the pin. Maybe buy some extra pins from Allen so that you wouldn't be tempted to use a damaged pin. Also, install the rack so that the bolts are tight and the threads are outside the faying surfaces. Bolts are weakest at the threads due to high stress concentrations. Functionally, this rack is good. I agree with the other reviews. Some racks are a lot more expensive and is better quality and has more features. But the most import criteria in my book is that it is structurally sound. This Allen rack fits that bill for structural strength and a good balance between function and value.

Was this review helpful? (279) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bikerguy
Oakland, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Product, but be careful
11/7/2009

Customer review by markm5242

4.0 stars 11/7/2009 by markm5242
by markm5242

I purchased this rack in July to carry 4 bikes while on vacation. We drove approximately 2000 miles and we never had a problem until the last 100 miles. We stopped to take a break and I noticed that the safety latch that keeps the pin keeping the rack from folding down had broken. The pin had slipped halfway out and we almost had a disaster. I decided to purchase a Thule to replace the Allen rack and guess what; Thule has the same latch system. The Thule has a solid vertical support bar that makes it a little more stable, but other than that, it's basically the same rack. I would still recommend this rack to anyone that asks.

Was this review helpful? (101) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
markm5242
winston-salem, nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great for the money
9/29/2009

Customer review by urloved

5.0 stars 9/29/2009 by urloved
by urloved

Was a little reluctant because of the price. I read other reviews and seemed to read mostly positive. I must say, I am pretty impressed. Great product and pretty cheap. I just used it for 4 bikes on a weekend get-away and 2 adults (1 male, 1 female) and 1- 20" and 1- 24" bikes fit perfectly. By the way.... It's made in the USA!!! Love to support my great country.

Was this review helpful? (78) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
urloved
Reno NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
8/9/2010

Customer review by Chihuahuis

3.0 stars 8/9/2010 by Chihuahuis
by Chihuahuis

I liked the product but there was one small issue, my SUV´s 2" hitch is a bit deep and the bike rack's reach is quite limmited (I guess they wanted to save a couple of inches of square tubing). The result was that I had to buy a $40 dollar 2" extension. Make sure that your hitch is fluch with your bumper, otherwise you are in for a surprise.

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chihuahuis
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Bike Rack
4/4/2011

Customer review by Snwmtskier

4.0 stars 4/4/2011 by Snwmtskier
by Snwmtskier

The bike rack met all my expectations from previous reviews I read prior to purchasing. I can still open my rear window on my Yukon without tilting the rack. The only option this rack does not have that I actually wanted was rubber tie-downs instead of the straps. For the money invested, this is a nice and functional rack!

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Snwmtskier
Arvada, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Product!
10/18/2010

Customer review by CranbrookLady

5.0 stars 10/18/2010 by CranbrookLady
by CranbrookLady

I bought this bike carrier and was amazed at how easy it was to install. It is equally easy to load bikes onto. You do NOT need to purchase the extra converter piece just because you have a women's bike. I can load the bikes onto the carrier and be on my way in minutes! Very sturdy too! Love it!

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CranbrookLady
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
It works great but I modified it slightly ;)
10/4/2010

Customer review by SNOWHOMIE

4.0 stars 10/4/2010 by SNOWHOMIE
by SNOWHOMIE

The bike rack is great. It does everything I need but since I am a mechanic I decided to improve it. I did not like that it uses a bolt and nut to secure it to the hitch and of course it is not a 5/8" hole. Therefore, I drilled out the hole to 5/8" on each side with a uni-bit so I could use my standard locking hitch pin. I also snaked a coiled cable lock through the fold down mechanism in order to lock my bikes to the rack. Last but not least I use a small strap on each bike to tie the front wheel off to the frame of the bike in order to keep the front wheel straight and keep it from spinning. You may have noticed that I am using a not standard bike on the rack. So far it is fine and rides even.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SNOWHOMIE
Larkspur, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bike rack
7/7/2009

Customer review by whatsupdock

4.0 stars 7/7/2009 by whatsupdock
by whatsupdock

I think the product was well worth the money spent. Only thing I would change is include a removeable pink to disconnect easily from the truck hitch. I would also recommend pictures on how to hang a ladies bike. Found that I needed to buy frame adapter bars for ladies bike and special receiver pin. This should have been listed as accessiories as they are shown on the box.

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
whatsupdock
piscataway
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
I do not recommend this bike rack.
4/20/2012

Customer review by siskmom3

1.0 stars 4/20/2012 by siskmom3
by siskmom3

I was only able to use this bike rack once. I put 4 bikes on it, 2 adult and 2 child size bikes. The rack is not very sturdy. While driving, it sways excessively. I drove about 15 miles to ride. When I unloaded the bikes, the arm on the left side was bend down at about a 45 degree angle. I had to bend it back to reload the bikes, and when I got home, it had done the same thing. I took it back for a refund. Don't buy this bike rack.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
siskmom3
Rutherfordton, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Not for the whole family
8/15/2011

Customer review by sugardogmom

2.0 stars 8/15/2011 by sugardogmom
by sugardogmom

This would be an OK bike rack if you only had adult road bikes. Unfortunately we bought it for our 2 mountain bikes and 2 children bikes. The mountain bikes fit only by hooking them in other areas than under the main bar. Only one children's bike fit (other had to load in back of truck) and we had to attach it by the handle bar on one side to make work. I wish the description would of defined what this bike rack should be used for...again, adult only road bikes.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sugardogmom
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
A±± product for an active family
2/12/2012

Customer review by ActiveFamily1

5.0 stars 2/12/2012 by ActiveFamily1
by ActiveFamily1

We purchased this product using site-to-store. The price was the lowest around. My husband and I called multiple bike stores to compare prices. The average price was easily $80.00 more than Walmart. The low price closed the deal for us. The product arrived sooner than expected. My husband said it was super easy to put together by himself. The bikes fit perfect. On our first bike ride I drove over a rather large speed bump. We all gasped and crossed our fingers. The rack held strong and the bikes did not budge.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ActiveFamily1
peoria, arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great bike rack for a great price
7/22/2011

Customer review by lecook88

5.0 stars 7/22/2011 by lecook88
by lecook88

I reviewed and priced several bike racks before making my purchase. I put approximately 1600 miles on the rack in a weeks time hauling four bikes (2 mountain, 1 BMX, 1 kid bike - the kid bike being the heaviest) on a trip from TX to FL and back. The rack exceeded my expectations. The bikes were secure. They didn't bounce, vibrate or move. I am very impressed and would recommend this to anyone looking for a carrier for four bikes. There's no need to spend over $250 for a name-brand carrier.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lecook88
N. Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Doesn't fit my mountain bike
1/29/2011

Customer review by STEVEtheELECTRICIAN

4.0 stars 1/29/2011 by STEVEtheELECTRICIAN
by STEVEtheELECTRICIAN

I just received this rack. Tried to load my bike on it and the shifter cables and brake lines won't clear the arms. They should have made the arms not so wide. Before purchasing, measure the distance between the saddle post and head tube taking into account your shock location to see if this rack will fit your bike. Other than not fitting, it seems like a well made bike rack. Unfortunately I have to return it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
STEVEtheELECTRICIAN
Tampa, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great for 2 bikes not for 4
7/3/2012

Customer review by GGCOOK

3.0 stars 7/3/2012 by GGCOOK
by GGCOOK

I bought this to use on the back of my travel trailer. We took a trip with 2 bikes and it worked fine. Then we took a trip with 4 bikes and the horizontal bars that hold the bikes bent downward more and more then 2 of the plastic clips broke. We tried tieing it to the ladder to support it but it ended up nearly tearing our ladder off. We ended up putting 2 bikes inside the Trailer. It might be ok for light bikes. All 4 of these were 26 inch Mongoose XR-75 mountain bikes. They are fairly heavy.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GGCOOK
FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Arms not sturdy enough for 4 bikes
7/26/2011

Customer review by thecpaman

2.0 stars 7/26/2011 by thecpaman
by thecpaman

Carried 4 bikes from KY to FL and was very pleased how there was no noise from the rack. However, upon arrival, I noticed that the right arm had bent downward 4-5 inches. We had driven through the night so I could only assume that the weight of the bikes had caused the bend. Although nervous about it, I did use the rack on the return trip home. The bend didn't get worse but I did return it for a refund due to not trusting the strength of the arms while hauling 4 bikes.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thecpaman
KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Same product as in Bike Shop for half the price!
9/6/2011

Customer review by chaimamma

5.0 stars 9/6/2011 by chaimamma
by chaimamma

I just returned from a 4000 mile/3 week vacation with 4 bikes on this rack. It held up from New York to New Orleans and all stops in between! My husband installed in just minutes and we used the Allen adapter for my girl bike. Everything worked great!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chaimamma
geneva, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Nice rack
7/23/2013

Customer review by Nasb

5.0 stars 7/23/2013 by Nasb
by Nasb

Bought this to replace our massive Thule rack that held only 2 bikes. This is a great sturdy rack. We transported 2 adult bikes on a 2 hour drive for its first use and had no problem. Easy to put together and install into hitch. Read the instructions for how to mount a ladies' bike by twisting the mounting grip; it can be done without purchasing the optional bar. A great product at a great price.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nasb
NYC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/7/2009

Customer review by GaneshB

5.0 stars 8/7/2009 by GaneshB
by GaneshB

This is a very strong durable bike rack. It holds four bikes. I love not having to place bikes in my truck anymore. I have used it several times with no issue. Great product at an excellent price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GaneshB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BUY this rack AWSOME RACK
4/8/2013

Customer review by Outdoormom42

5.0 stars 4/8/2013 by Outdoormom42
by Outdoormom42

This is my second Allen rack and again awsome rack now we have an SUB and this was my first brand choice this rack is easy to place in hitch did have to drill the hole bigger on the rack but it was worth the extra work the price is amazing and love love all the features you can bring the arm down when bikes are off rack and th awsome part is that you cam tilt the rack over to open the back door when bikes are off perfectly built sturdy stron and not heavy at all im 42 and i have mounted this by my self REMEMBER larger bikes go first straps are fine but make sure you buy a long cable to wrap you bikes together so they wont be atolen you can buy cable cheap at harbor freight stores lock is cheap as well.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Outdoormom42
houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 280 total reviews
1-20 of 280 reviews