Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 316 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

316 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

316 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
197
4 stars
98
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 stars
9
1-20 of 281 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 281 total reviews
1-20 of 281 reviews
Great Bike Rack
4/4/2011

Customer review by Snwmtskier

4.0 stars 4/4/2011 by Snwmtskier
by Snwmtskier

The bike rack met all my expectations from previous reviews I read prior to purchasing. I can still open my rear window on my Yukon without tilting the rack. The only option this rack does not have that I actually wanted was rubber tie-downs instead of the straps. For the money invested, this is a nice and functional rack!

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Snwmtskier
Arvada, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
BUY this rack AWSOME RACK
4/8/2013

Customer review by Outdoormom42

5.0 stars 4/8/2013 by Outdoormom42
by Outdoormom42

This is my second Allen rack and again awsome rack now we have an SUB and this was my first brand choice this rack is easy to place in hitch did have to drill the hole bigger on the rack but it was worth the extra work the price is amazing and love love all the features you can bring the arm down when bikes are off rack and th awsome part is that you cam tilt the rack over to open the back door when bikes are off perfectly built sturdy stron and not heavy at all im 42 and i have mounted this by my self REMEMBER larger bikes go first straps are fine but make sure you buy a long cable to wrap you bikes together so they wont be atolen you can buy cable cheap at harbor freight stores lock is cheap as well.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Outdoormom42
houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
It works great but I modified it slightly ;)
10/4/2010

Customer review by SNOWHOMIE

4.0 stars 10/4/2010 by SNOWHOMIE
by SNOWHOMIE

The bike rack is great. It does everything I need but since I am a mechanic I decided to improve it. I did not like that it uses a bolt and nut to secure it to the hitch and of course it is not a 5/8" hole. Therefore, I drilled out the hole to 5/8" on each side with a uni-bit so I could use my standard locking hitch pin. I also snaked a coiled cable lock through the fold down mechanism in order to lock my bikes to the rack. Last but not least I use a small strap on each bike to tie the front wheel off to the frame of the bike in order to keep the front wheel straight and keep it from spinning. You may have noticed that I am using a not standard bike on the rack. So far it is fine and rides even.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SNOWHOMIE
Larkspur, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice rack
7/23/2013

Customer review by Nasb

5.0 stars 7/23/2013 by Nasb
by Nasb
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this to replace our massive Thule rack that held only 2 bikes. This is a great sturdy rack. We transported 2 adult bikes on a 2 hour drive for its first use and had no problem. Easy to put together and install into hitch. Read the instructions for how to mount a ladies' bike by twisting the mounting grip; it can be done without purchasing the optional bar. A great product at a great price.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nasb
NYC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent bike rack!
4/19/2014

Customer review by Tshachar

5.0 stars 4/19/2014 by Tshachar
by Tshachar
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Fits well to my 2' hitch. Well built. Easy to mount to your car. I haven't used it with 4 bikes, but it seems to work. I'm very pleased with this item.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tshachar
Rockville. MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I used it with 3 bikes worked great!
9/20/2014

Customer review by michigansunset

5.0 stars 9/20/2014 by michigansunset
by michigansunset
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

worked great but you do want to bogy cord it to the up right frame so you don't get bikes rocking back and forth. I do recommend a bike lock, I put it around all bikes and hitch.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
michigansunset
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great system.
4/20/2014

Customer review by MONCHO964

4.0 stars 4/20/2014 by MONCHO964
by MONCHO964
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

the system is strong and good. I have only one problem and that is that the first bicycle with metal sticks and grater and me painting new bike. otherwise very good system and strong

Was this review helpful? (0) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MONCHO964
BROOKLYN,NEW YORK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Had one bike on it for a week going everywhere!
5/20/2014

Customer review by dlitedbaby

5.0 stars 5/20/2014 by dlitedbaby
by dlitedbaby
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have a 2009 Toyota rav 4 it has a right side hinge rear door with spare tire on it. First good thing about this rack is that it doesn't hit the spare cover and the pivot pin can be removed with bikes in place such that the door can be swung opened about two feet allowing access to stuff in back. Since my kids will not be as careful, I cable tied some pipe insulation to the rack where the door hits to act as a bumper. After a week I thought how it would be good if the empty bike rack could pivot all the way to the ground and allow the door to open fully. The fix is simple; I stopped at a welding shop and had them make one saw cut to the bottom of the main vertical tube. The cut is at the contact point of the pivot tube and 2” receiver bracket. A small triangle of metal approximately (45 degree by 1/4 deep) is removed allowing the tube to pivot past its normal stop point. The tube is still strong and I painted it so it will not rust. My brother has a Honda CRV with a swing door and he just bought this rack too.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dlitedbaby
Dracut,MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
BUY IT!
6/8/2009

Customer review by turnedleft

5.0 stars 6/8/2009 by turnedleft
by turnedleft

I was worried this product, because of the price, would be junk. I researched bike racks with the same features for triple the price, but took the chance on this model. I was pleasantly surprised to see how sturdy it is. I made sure to use it before writing the review. I put it on my hitch myself (no man required!) I am very happy with it and even happier to have the extra $ in my pocket that I saved by taking a chance on the less expansive bike rack!!

Was this review helpful? (136) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
turnedleft
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great Product, but be careful
11/7/2009

Customer review by markm5242

4.0 stars 11/7/2009 by markm5242
by markm5242

I purchased this rack in July to carry 4 bikes while on vacation. We drove approximately 2000 miles and we never had a problem until the last 100 miles. We stopped to take a break and I noticed that the safety latch that keeps the pin keeping the rack from folding down had broken. The pin had slipped halfway out and we almost had a disaster. I decided to purchase a Thule to replace the Allen rack and guess what; Thule has the same latch system. The Thule has a solid vertical support bar that makes it a little more stable, but other than that, it's basically the same rack. I would still recommend this rack to anyone that asks.

Was this review helpful? (102) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
markm5242
winston-salem, nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Excellent Product!
10/18/2010

Customer review by CranbrookLady

5.0 stars 10/18/2010 by CranbrookLady
by CranbrookLady

I bought this bike carrier and was amazed at how easy it was to install. It is equally easy to load bikes onto. You do NOT need to purchase the extra converter piece just because you have a women's bike. I can load the bikes onto the carrier and be on my way in minutes! Very sturdy too! Love it!

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CranbrookLady
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent rack for the price
5/18/2009

Customer review by Bikerguy

5.0 stars 5/18/2009 by Bikerguy
by Bikerguy

I initially bought a flimsy rack that is a clone to the Bell rack they sell at Walmart or Target. It developed a hairline crack at the knee joint between the post and the bike carrier arm the first time I used it. Luckily I was not on the freeway where I could have caused a terrible accident. As a structural engineer, I made some calculations and determined that 1.25" x 1/16" tubing is stressed too highly. I would suggest not buying a 4-bike rack for 1.5" receiver. The stresses are simply too high, and the consequence of failure could be a serious accident in addition to losing bikes. The Allen rack is approximately twice as strong (section modulus) as the Bell rack, being made of 2"x 1/16" square tubing, assuming the steel grade is the same. It easily supports me (150 lbs) with very little deflection. After buying the rack, I saw on the internet that one reviewer said his Allen rack failed when one of the 3/8" bolts shear off. It was not this rack, but a previous design. This concerned me, so I made a structural calculation on the rack and the 3/8" pins. The most highly stressed pin, the pin holding the knee joint between the post and bike carrier is well under the allowable stresses. The weakest component is the tearout stresses through the hole that that pin goes through. Although it would seem it would be prudent to make that stronger, that part is still 66% of the allowable stress. Not sure why they cheaped out on a little bit more steel. I would suggest checking the pins regularly for nicks and cracks, since the stress concentrations would severely weaken the pin. Maybe buy some extra pins from Allen so that you wouldn't be tempted to use a damaged pin. Also, install the rack so that the bolts are tight and the threads are outside the faying surfaces. Bolts are weakest at the threads due to high stress concentrations. Functionally, this rack is good. I agree with the other reviews. Some racks are a lot more expensive and is better quality and has more features. But the most import criteria in my book is that it is structurally sound. This Allen rack fits that bill for structural strength and a good balance between function and value.

Was this review helpful? (283) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bikerguy
Oakland, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
8/9/2010

Customer review by Chihuahuis

3.0 stars 8/9/2010 by Chihuahuis
by Chihuahuis

I liked the product but there was one small issue, my SUV´s 2" hitch is a bit deep and the bike rack's reach is quite limmited (I guess they wanted to save a couple of inches of square tubing). The result was that I had to buy a $40 dollar 2" extension. Make sure that your hitch is fluch with your bumper, otherwise you are in for a surprise.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chihuahuis
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
I do not recommend this bike rack.
4/20/2012

Customer review by siskmom3

1.0 stars 4/20/2012 by siskmom3
by siskmom3

I was only able to use this bike rack once. I put 4 bikes on it, 2 adult and 2 child size bikes. The rack is not very sturdy. While driving, it sways excessively. I drove about 15 miles to ride. When I unloaded the bikes, the arm on the left side was bend down at about a 45 degree angle. I had to bend it back to reload the bikes, and when I got home, it had done the same thing. I took it back for a refund. Don't buy this bike rack.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
siskmom3
Rutherfordton, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Heavy, not as close fitting as I'd have expected
7/24/2011

Customer review by lsvpt

4.0 stars 7/24/2011 by lsvpt
by lsvpt

By and large this carrier does what I expected. Two unpleasant surprises 1. This is very heavy. I knew the weight from the specs, but actually holding it up drove it home. 2. Tightening the nut that connects the carrier to the hitch receiver is a real pain. So much that when uninstalling it, I'd prefer to disassemble two bolts on this carrier, and leave the bottommost portion of the carrier permanently attached to the van. If you need to take it out frequently, get a deep socket ratchet wrench. Other minor points: Also, the telescoping assembly rattles a little. The tolerances are not as good as I'd have expected. The bike mount rack is pretty high. It could have been a good 10 inches lower (easier for lifting for short people!) and still been way off the ground. Finally, I think this is an ill-designed carrier. The functionality is good, but with some sensible design with tubular aluminum or even tubular steel, it would have been easy to reduce its weight by a good 40%.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lsvpt
pittsburgh PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great for the money
9/29/2009

Customer review by urloved

5.0 stars 9/29/2009 by urloved
by urloved

Was a little reluctant because of the price. I read other reviews and seemed to read mostly positive. I must say, I am pretty impressed. Great product and pretty cheap. I just used it for 4 bikes on a weekend get-away and 2 adults (1 male, 1 female) and 1- 20" and 1- 24" bikes fit perfectly. By the way.... It's made in the USA!!! Love to support my great country.

Was this review helpful? (78) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
urloved
Reno NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great bike rack for a great price
7/22/2011

Customer review by lecook88

5.0 stars 7/22/2011 by lecook88
by lecook88

I reviewed and priced several bike racks before making my purchase. I put approximately 1600 miles on the rack in a weeks time hauling four bikes (2 mountain, 1 BMX, 1 kid bike - the kid bike being the heaviest) on a trip from TX to FL and back. The rack exceeded my expectations. The bikes were secure. They didn't bounce, vibrate or move. I am very impressed and would recommend this to anyone looking for a carrier for four bikes. There's no need to spend over $250 for a name-brand carrier.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lecook88
N. Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Great Rack!!
6/21/2012

Customer review by sandsprite

5.0 stars 6/21/2012 by sandsprite
by sandsprite

Quick delivery... I ordered this last night, received an email that it would be shipping (this morning) and by 5pm it had been delivered...And for the shipping price of $1.97!! Good quality. I wasn't sure what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised. My 10 year old son put it together (he's mechanically inclined# and we put the bikes on it. 4 bikes can easily be put on the rack, but depending on the types of bikes you have, you may need to tilt some. We have two adult mountian bikes #26"# and two kid mountain bikes #24" & 20"). The kids bikes had to be tilted a bit because of the way the frames were, but they all fit. The rack seems to be made of good material and is heavy duty. I was woried that it would be flimsy - especially since it only cost $89.00, but like I said before, I was pleasantly surprised. We are planning on taking it out tomorrow morning to ride. I will add an update to let you know if we had any problems.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sandsprite
Spring Valley, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Missing parts
6/27/2013

Customer review by Roadglide05

4.0 stars 6/27/2013 by Roadglide05
by Roadglide05

I'm sure this bike carrier will work well when I finally get to try it out. The box was delivered this morning by Fedex and the box was in great shape, no crushing, tears, etc. When I opened the box and removed the components, it was missing the hardware kit, consisting of 3 bolts/nuts and the 'no wobble' bolt/nut. I've read many other reviews regarding this, so buyer beware. Without these parts, the rack is useless! I called Allen Sports USA in Florida and they immediately agreed to ship out the hardware kit the next day. This, however, didn't allow me to use the carrier for another week! I could've picked up the standard bolts/nuts at a local hardware store, but I wouldn't have had the 'no wobble' bolt. To use a std. hitch locking pin, I would've had to drill out the carrier hole, which would've meant the 'no wobble' bolt wouldn't work when it finally showed up. The bike carrier is heavy-duty, and the powder coating is very good. It should last a long time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Roadglide05
SF Bay Area, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great for 2 bikes not for 4
7/3/2012

Customer review by GGCOOK

3.0 stars 7/3/2012 by GGCOOK
by GGCOOK

I bought this to use on the back of my travel trailer. We took a trip with 2 bikes and it worked fine. Then we took a trip with 4 bikes and the horizontal bars that hold the bikes bent downward more and more then 2 of the plastic clips broke. We tried tieing it to the ladder to support it but it ended up nearly tearing our ladder off. We ended up putting 2 bikes inside the Trailer. It might be ok for light bikes. All 4 of these were 26 inch Mongoose XR-75 mountain bikes. They are fairly heavy.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GGCOOK
FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
1-20 of 281 total reviews
1-20 of 281 reviews