Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 391 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

391 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

391 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
228
4 stars
119
3 stars
22
2 stars
13
1 stars
9
1-20 of 336 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 336 total reviews
1-20 of 336 reviews
Great Value, buy a couple Walmart Plastic bungies
6/5/2009

Customer review by sailndays

4.0 stars 6/5/2009 by sailndays
by sailndays

Best Deal for the money. Have taken two bikes to the Lake. Worked great! Love the fold down aspect so one can get in the back end of the SUV while bikes are mounted. The rack performs well. Based on bike shop guy's recommendation, used some duct tape to wrap a hand towel around the post, this padding protected the bike from scuffing. (wife has a new, expensive Electra, no scratches allowed). The mounting bolt has an extra anti-wobble thingy built in if you tighten the bolt enough. A bungie helps keep front tire from wobbling. True on any rack. Walmart sells bungies that have plastic or hard rubber hooks. They are large and won't scratch your bike. As with any bike carrier, always use a Bike Rack Adapter Bar (goes from the handle bar neck to the seat post) when mounting a ladies bike. Walmart's inexpensive Allen adapter bar works OK, but... recommend getting the Yakima branded one at a sport shop. The Walmart Allen model has bare metal that could scuff your bike, the Yakima one is coated with something that resists scuffing. From experience, mount the Front tire to opposite side of car as your exhaust pipe. This prevents frying your bike tire.

Was this review helpful? (283) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sailndays
No. Calif., CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good product for the price
4/14/2011

Customer review by Aollero

4.0 stars 4/14/2011 by Aollero
by Aollero

Good product great price. Pros:easy assembly, great price, holds bikes really well, able to pull pin on bracket to lean rack over for access to rear door, over all good rack Cons: hitch screw included was smaller than standard size, although screw came with anitwobble Fitting it still had alot of wobble during normal driving. Tip replacing the 3/8" hitch screw (included) with a 1/2 hitch pin (sold separetly) made the rack more stable...

Was this review helpful? (63) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Aollero
Anaheim, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Allen 3 Bike Rack VS Bell 2 Bike Rack
10/18/2011

Customer review by jangels

3.0 stars 10/18/2011 by jangels
by jangels

The Allen bike rack will hold 3 bikes, where the Bell will hold 2. We only have 2 bikes to haul, but considered the Allen 3 Bike Rack simply to try and space our bikes further apart, so they didn't rub each other. The Allen Bike Rack is a much taller rack which places the bikes further up into the back window of our SUV. We found it harder to load the bike at the higher level (due to our height and weight). The Bell allows the bikes to be a lower level, not affecting the view out the back window as much, plus easier loading. Its true what other reviewers are saying about their concern on the receiver of the Allen 3 Bike Rack. The Allen Rack receiver has rounded corners instead of being squared off. Both the Allen and Bell Bike Rack will fit a 2" or 1 1/4" hitch. Both racks have spacer parts to leave on for the 2" hitches or remove the spacer for them to fit the smaller hitch. There tends to be some play in the connection of the Allen Receiver, due to rounded corners (where the Bell receiver is square and leaves no play). The Allen Receiver has to be installed and removed with 2 tools. Plus, the Allen uses a bolt that only slides into the side of its receiver with a nut screwed onto it. The No Wobble Bolt that Allen provides does take almost all of the play out of the rounded corner receiver. However, you have to be careful putting their bolt in the correct hole. There is a larger hole in the receiver for a larger bolt intended for the 2" hitch. The smaller hole intended for a smaller bolt is meant for the 1 1/4" hitch. We mistakenly slid the smaller bolt into the larger hole and the play was horrible. Trial and error, we found the problem. The Bell Receiver has a threaded hole in the receiver and a bolt that screws into it and then a nut that screws onto that. Bell includes 2 factory made tools in their packaging. It only takes ONE tool to install the nut, but they provide you an extra tool for another vehicle in case you switch the rack back and forth between vehicles. Takes a little more fumbling to install the Allen Bike Rack with the two tools, but overall its almost the same amount of time to remove either rack. The Allen Bike Rack has straps that feed back through a latch (much like a motorcycle helmet) to strap down the bikes, where the Allen 2 Bike Rack uses latches with velcro straps. Both racks pivot and both racks lay down the bike holder arms when you aren't transporting. While the Allen Bike Rack has used heavier steel (maybe because its meant to hold more weight), the Bell Bike Rack looked overall better to us. The Allen Bike rack will hold up to 100 pounds and its suggested you put the heaviest bike closest to the vehicle. The Bell Bike Rack will hold up to 70 pounds. The width of the arms that you feed the bikes onto varies on both units also. With my husband's bike, it was almost a tight fit on the Allen Bike Rack. The arms on the Allen are 16" wide to feed the bike up and onto. The Bell Bike Rack arms were 14" wide. For the Approx. $21 difference between the prices of the Bike Racks (with the Allen 3 bike rack being lower) AND with us only needing a rack to hold 2 bikes....we decided after comparing both units side by side, we were more impressed with Bell 2 Bike Rack and it fit our needs much better. Hope this review helps!

Was this review helpful? (47) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jangels
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Hitch Bike Rack
3/9/2011

Customer review by cady10

3.0 stars 3/9/2011 by cady10
by cady10

The deal is good but the product is made for the tradition mens bike with thin frames. I was able to find an adapter (called a bike beam) that allows womens bikes to fit BUT an added $40.00 for each beam.

Was this review helpful? (43) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cady10
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great bike rack and highly recommended
9/3/2013

Customer review by stefs3balleffect

5.0 stars 9/3/2013 by stefs3balleffect
by stefs3balleffect

this is a very well made bike rack that gives any purchaser the security and value of bike racks costing 3 times as much. it mounts easily to my truck hitch without any movement once the pin/bolt has been tighten inside of the hitch. the fold down carrier arms are excellent and the ability to tilt this rack without being required to touch/remove your mounted bikes makes this product a steal for your money.

Was this review helpful? (31) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stefs3balleffect
washington DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
keeper
3/10/2014

Customer review by Scottisinatlanta

5.0 stars 3/10/2014 by Scottisinatlanta
by Scottisinatlanta

put this on today and it works like a charm. follow instructions. i had returned two that were 2x as much. very pleased and seems sturdy and prepared for decades of use

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Scottisinatlanta
Atlanta GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice Rack no pun intended
11/16/2009

Customer review by banditoman

4.0 stars 11/16/2009 by banditoman
by banditoman

This works as expected. It doesn't have the convenience options that a Thule or better brand would but great deal for the money. I put at least 1-2 bikes on there twice a week and no problems or worries. Straps have held strong, 2 months now. Only issue is that i have a 2" mount and you have to use the no-wobble bolt, works great but that makes it permanently attached for the most part because of the locking threads on the nut. If you try to use something else to secure it suchas a key locking-bolt for security purposes, it will wobble in the hitch. Great deal for the money, get what you pay for and then some! Ride 20" mountain bike fram, hardtail.

Was this review helpful? (33) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
banditoman
Poway, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Top Notch Rack!!
10/17/2012

Customer review by Jarhead1970

5.0 stars 10/17/2012 by Jarhead1970
by Jarhead1970

I've used this rack for several months now both on short and long distance car trips. I've nothing to say but good about it. It is well built and loading and unloading bikes is easy and fast. The tie down straps provides a secure platform. I've only put 2 bikes on it so far but carrying 3 bikes won't be any problem. The ability to lower the rack away from the rear door or trunk without removing the rack from the car is a real plus and takes only seconds. Those who complain about wobble are probably not securing the rack to the receiver hitch properly. I use the 1-1/4 hitch access. The smaller anti-wobble bolt which Allen supplies reduces wobble to a minimum. Just be sure to use the 1-1/4 inch hole on the rack with the 1-1/4 inch bolt. Also ensure that the thicker end of the bolt is pushed all the way through until it comes up against the hitch receiver, then tighten down. I'm glad I spent less than half on this Allen rack than would have cost me for a Thule or Yakima. It works well.

Was this review helpful? (30) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jarhead1970
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
You get what you pay for...
3/20/2011

Customer review by ScubaJoy

1.0 stars 3/20/2011 by ScubaJoy
by ScubaJoy

I'm really disappointed. I'm returning the product today. Everything about it seemed perfect, until... I went to bolt it to my SUV. The non-wobble bolt is not designed properly. The wobble factor is intense and scary; especially when you've spent a lot of money on your bikes and want to ensure they don't become road kill. I even took the rack to my local bike shop and asked for help to secure the rack to my SUV. No matter which way you sliced it, the rack wobbles. Apparently there are no threads inside the hitch connector for the non-wobble bolt to thread into - - ergo it wobbles. It is too bad, because everything else about this product is great!

Was this review helpful? (17) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ScubaJoy
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Excellent Bike Rack!
1/29/2012

Customer review by Flaqui

5.0 stars 1/29/2012 by Flaqui
by Flaqui

This rack is just what I need it!. The 3 bikes holds excellent and the anti-wobble screw is excellent! I recommend four your buy. Have used for a month and it's great. You will not regret it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Flaqui
Puerto Rico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Allen bike rack
4/2/2010

Customer review by M20JDriver

5.0 stars 4/2/2010 by M20JDriver
by M20JDriver

I had a minor problem with hole alignment. I called Allen and they are shipping a new bike rack direct to my home. The rack is very solid and I can't imagine better service.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
M20JDriver
NE Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great bike rack for the price
5/28/2010

Customer review by ScubaDuba

5.0 stars 5/28/2010 by ScubaDuba
by ScubaDuba

Quality is fine. the "anti-rattle" bolt is time consuming when installing and removing the rack from the hitch. It is ok if you leave the rack attached to the hitch. It would be better if it came with a quick release pin system. But the price is very reasonable and its build-quality I consider top-notch with all holes and welds being quite precise. The design has clever features that were new to me, such as being able to fold down the bike support arm when not in use so one doesn't accidentally run into it and also the ability to fold down the whole rack allowing quick and easy access through the rear door. The strap cinching system seemed cheap and goofy at first but after using it a few times I've now become quite adept at strapping and unstrapping the bikes to where it only takes a few seconds for me to do so. I now feel its quite clever in that this strapping system will accommodate any size bike tube (unlike some other bike racks I've had in the past). Its important to note that the spacing between the supports is quite wide at 14" and that might limit its use for smaller bikes, as our adult bikes just barely fit (with <2" to spare). All hitch mounted bike racks will wobble to some extent and that's why most have some sort of anti-wobble system that basically draws the bike rack tight to one side of the receiver to prevent it wobbling. Well, the anti-wobble bolt that is supplied with the bike rack works well for a 2" receiver hitch. The price at WalMart is incredible. Was almost $120 at Amazon.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ScubaDuba
Montverde, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Trailer Hitch Bike Carrier
11/15/2010

Customer review by FuzzyChin

4.0 stars 11/15/2010 by FuzzyChin
by FuzzyChin

This bike rack is a very high quality product. Goes together very easily, directions not really required. It is sent in 3 main sub-assemblies that bolt together. There is a little slop in the fit to the receiver, but it is very solidly built. Good product at any price.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FuzzyChin
Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great Bike Carrier...BUT...
5/30/2010

Customer review by AZPathfinder

5.0 stars 5/30/2010 by AZPathfinder
by AZPathfinder

After researching hanging bike carriers, the Allen seemed to be the best value. I just bought my first bike after 40 years of not riding and needed one to put behind our motor home. If you're looking for a hanging type bike carrier, I'd definitely recommend looking at any of the Allen products. Sturdy, simple to use, well engineered and the lowest cost if you watch for on-line prices. After getting it, however, I decided I wanted more protection for 2 new expensive bikes and opted for a much more expensive Yakama cradle style carrier where both wheels are secure and bikes completely separated. My Walmart purchase and return experience was 5+ stars. Very easy to order on-line and used the ship to store option. Arrived at my local Walmart store for pickup and in this case a return. Much easier on bigger items. Walmart's price was much better than any on-line store. I was very pleased with the overall Walmart purchase experience, but unfortunately the Allen bike rack just wasn't the one for my purpose.

Was this review helpful? (10) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AZPathfinder
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
3 bicycle hitch rack
10/21/2010

Customer review by BARNEYCAT

5.0 stars 10/21/2010 by BARNEYCAT
by BARNEYCAT

Very good product with great features. I like the fold down feature when not carring bicycles,also the strap that secures the bike in place.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BARNEYCAT
Quincy IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
For those that have wobble issues on 1.25" hitch
8/16/2012

Customer review by p00kienrayray

4.0 stars 8/16/2012 by p00kienrayray
by p00kienrayray

So when I received this bike rack and assembled it, everything felt pretty solid. Pretty impressed with the quality. If I didn't read other reviews here, I wouldn't even know that it was made in China. I installed it onto my 1.25" hitch receiver and boy did it wobble! So much so that I contemplated shimming it or even returning it. Then I read one reviewer here that explained that there were two different holes in the rack where you can fit either the 1/2" or 3/8" bolt that are both included (there's actually 3 holes in the rack, the biggest fits the 1/2" bolt for 2" hitches; the medium sized hole fits the 3/8" bolt for 1.25" hitches; and the smallest hole I'm not sure what that's for). It is important to note what I mentioned previously in parantheses, because I see a lot of reviewers complaining about wobble and I think using the wrong bolt for the wrong hole is the reason. After using the 3/8" bolt on the medium hole on my 1.25" hitch, there is no wobble at all and it feels pretty solid. Would give 5 stars, but the spacers between bike straps are made of cheap plastic and prone to cracking, and the straps could have been more convenient and quick to load/unload with a velcro type design like found on the Bell brand racks.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
p00kienrayray
Long Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
WELL WORTH IT!!
9/27/2010

Customer review by Kee2success

4.0 stars 9/27/2010 by Kee2success
by Kee2success

I ALMOST spent 150 - $200on a bike rack, SO glad I didn’t. This rack is great the ONLY negative is that there is no way to keep your bike/s from swinging back and forth while you drive, but I bungeed the peddle to the vertical bar and i was set. the 'no wobble' bolt works like a champ and makes my rack seem tighter in the hitch than my buddies $200 rack. oh yeah, its a 3 bike rack but I’m not sure I would try to cram 3 expensive bikes on it, but i would probably say the same for any rack on the market; just seems like a tight fit, but I’m sure it can be done. oh, one last thing, I did pad the vertical bar with a short piece of pipe insulation just to be sure my bike didn’t hit it when I brake.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kee2success
Rock Hill, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not a bad carrier for the money
5/11/2014

Customer review by Alefric

4.0 stars 5/11/2014 by Alefric
by Alefric

I originally wanted a 2 bike carrier but after reading the reviews of it I noticed some people had trouble with a draw-tite hitch so I purchased this one instead. Was glad I did. I have a draw-tite 1.25 hitch and after installing it ( which only took 5 minutes or so)there was no wobble what so ever. Someone mentioned make sure you use the right hole and it does make a difference. I used it once so far in the first week I had it and no problems. No problems with the tilt back feature. The only negative things I can think of is there is a bit of rattle because the joints on all 3 connections have a bit of play so maybe a couple washers in the right areas might help. will try it later. Also while I have not tried it but I am not sure 3 bikes will fit comfortably on it. It will hold 2 but I admit I have used only 1 bike on it so far. and that was the basis of the 4 star rating and not a 5 would have done 4.5 if there was an option for it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alefric
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Walmart associate
Heavy and wabbly
7/17/2012

Customer review by jgault1

1.0 stars 7/17/2012 by jgault1
by jgault1

Had to buy a seperate extention to fit around the tire on my Jeep. This added to its weight and it rocks back and forth. I have to strap it to the tire to keep it stable.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jgault1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Flimsy and shaky
6/9/2012

Customer review by Justneededalamp

1.0 stars 6/9/2012 by Justneededalamp
by Justneededalamp

Returned to store. Although the bikes holds are nice and the weight is good. The fit into the receiver is poor and the whole thing seems flimsy and shaky while driving. There is also no place to attach a lock to the carrier.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Justneededalamp
Butler pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 336 total reviews
1-20 of 336 reviews