Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 379 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

379 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

379 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
213
4 stars
114
3 stars
20
2 stars
13
1 stars
19
1-20 of 319 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 319 total reviews
1-20 of 319 reviews
sturdy but has its limitations
3/27/2010

Customer review by skinnybob

3.0 stars 3/27/2010 by skinnybob
by skinnybob

This product is only made for for Plain Regular bikes If you have a cruiser or a bike with wide bars.. your gonna have trouble I tried loading my cruiser on the rack, and because the bar was too wide it didnt sit in the holder too good...and as i tried it tighten down the buckle it broke - Note:- the Buckles (that hold the bicycle down) are made of plastic. Its real easy to install ...and i did it without any trouble having never installed one before 2 - be very careful if you have a spoiler I have a 2004 corolla with a factory spoiler and the rack took some of the paint of....you might want to put some tape on the point where the rack touches it or something like that Hope this review was helpful

Was this review helpful? (198) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skinnybob
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Bike Rack
6/22/2010

Customer review by ShankarGTech

5.0 stars 6/22/2010 by ShankarGTech
by ShankarGTech

Review Date: June 22, 2010 I decided to finally buy a bike so I can enjoy the outdoors. To transport the bike, I did ALOT of research on the different bike racks available on the market. I looked at bike racks at Walmart, Sports Authority, Dicks Sporting Good, REI, and local bike stores in the D.C. area. I also looked at the different web retailers and the comments section on Amazon, eBay, Walmart.com, SportsAuthority.com, and others. After this pretty extensive research, I decided on the Allen Deluxe 2-Bike carrier that I bought via the Site-to-Store option on Walmart.com. Total price (including tax and Free shipping to store) = $39.96. First off, that is the least expensive bike rack you'll find. I received the rack a week after placing the order. Installation of the rack is SUPER EASY. It is stable against the trunk (I own a 2002 Dodge Stratus sedan), with nice cushions to protect the paint on the car. (make sure to pull the straps tight) Yet it is still very light weight. I bought a bike at Walmart and it took virtually no time at all to secure the bike to the bike rack. I drive daily on I-270 in the D.C. area, about 32 miles each way to and from work, and the bike doesn't move at all. Best of all, as soon as I find someone who'd like to bike as well, the rack has plenty of room to accommodate their bike. I'd absolutely recommend this bike rack for everyone. Hope this helps! Regards Shankar

Was this review helpful? (134) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShankarGTech
North Bethesda, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
One tough bike rack.
5/29/2009

Customer review by BobC1973

5.0 stars 5/29/2009 by BobC1973
by BobC1973

I bought this model initially because it was the least expensive, one on the site. When it arrived though, I was immediately impressed with it's construction, and fit. This bicycle carrier is really easy to install, and remove. Make a few slight adjustments, and its ready to go. It holds the bike firmly in place, I use a rifle cable lock around the front wheel and frame to hold the wheel straight and keep it off my taillight but that's the only problem I had with it in the 4 times I've used it so far.

Was this review helpful? (98) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BobC1973
St. Louis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very nice product!
6/25/2009

Customer review by syzfr

5.0 stars 6/25/2009 by syzfr
by syzfr

We travelled about 700 miles at 55 to 65 mph with this bike carrier and didn't have any problem! I am impressed with the quality and price. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? (87) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
syzfr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Incredibly well built
3/28/2009

Customer review by C832

5.0 stars 3/28/2009 by C832
by C832

Well worth the few extra dollars. No plastic connectors to break. This looks like it's built for years of service. Easy to attach, even on a hatchback. The ship to store was fast and easy, too. Great experience. It was exactly what I wanted... and a hundred dollars less than a comparable one at my local bike shop. Yeah, Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (52) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
C832
Clearwater, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good value for the money
6/12/2009

Customer review by kytopbutton

4.0 stars 6/12/2009 by kytopbutton
by kytopbutton

This is an excellent entry level bike carrier priced to please. It is not quite as stable as a bike carrier with 4 -6 straps, however they also cost 2 - 3 times as much. It is easy to mount to my Ford Escape and I am able to transport two bicycles without any problems.

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kytopbutton
Lawrenceburg, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Product, just not for certain bikes...
4/8/2010

Customer review by clinicalfailure

3.0 stars 4/8/2010 by clinicalfailure
by clinicalfailure

Purchased this product to carry two mountain bikes on my car. Was very easy to install and seemed very sturdy. However, I didn't realize until I got it that it could not be used with my mountain bikes. There is no place to hook the bikes on due to the way their frames are made. Wish the manufacturer would have specified what types of bikes this carrier worked with instead of saying "accomidates a wide range of bicycles"...overall its a great product, just be aware that it does not fit some of the mountain bikes, particarlly the NEXT mountain bikes like I have. Sadly, had to return the product.

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
clinicalfailure
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Better than expected
9/13/2009

Customer review by OldGeezerButAvidRider

5.0 stars 9/13/2009 by OldGeezerButAvidRider
by OldGeezerButAvidRider

At about $40 it was a great value and yet really performed. We took it on the interstate with no problem. It goes on/off quickly and we are able to use it on multiple cars, SUVs, and a mini-van.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OldGeezerButAvidRider
Chicago area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
no specific details
10/10/2012

Customer review by ddcar

1.0 stars 10/10/2012 by ddcar
by ddcar

Walmarts listing does not state that this rack will only fit specific vehicles. You are not aware of this until you have spent your time and money on getting this item and it shows a list on the back of the box. Before you purchase this item, make sure it fits your vehicle by going to the makers website and locate your car.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ddcar
Would recommend to a friend? No
Buy this!!!
10/31/2011

Customer review by josh67

5.0 stars 10/31/2011 by josh67
by josh67

I was wanting to take advantage of the new bike trails that San Antonio has developed in its park systems. I was interested in the more expensive 2 bike rack by Allen, just because of the space saving design. Even though most of the reviews were good, I saw a few that concerned me. I also noticed that this model had even better reviews, so I bought this one (especially since I was going to save $20). I had never used a bike rack and was nervous about using it. Nevertheless, I opened this one up and set it up in no time. Once I put this on my car, a 2005 Malibu Classic, and wasn't really quite sure if it would do the job. I had quickly read the instructions and looked at the pictures, and set this on my car easily. I own a basic mountain bike, and it went on the just as quick as the rack went on the car. My neighborhood has a lot of streets that are under construction so they are pretty bumpy. After strapping it in, I took it for a 3 miles or so on some bumpy roads and uphill and downhill just to test it out. When I arrived back at home, the rack was on as secure as when I left the house. I was a little dissappointed to read in the reviews that it did not work with all mountain bikes as I had wanted to buy a better mountain bike with suspension on front and rear. However, I wanted to give it a shot, so I went to Walmart and bought a Next Power X bike, the kind that has a seat post that doesn't go all the way to the bottome because of the suspension with the spring. Did a little bit of measuring at the store and went ahead and bought, thinking I might have to fuss with it a little bit in order to stay on. Got it on in no time as the holders for the frame rotate easily to accomadate different types of bike. I'm sure it doesn't accomadate all types of bikes, but it sure helped me to transport my new bike without any problems and without the hassle of trying to bug someone with a pickup truck to do me a favor and transport the bike home. I now I can enjoy all those new trails!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
josh67
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
5/16/2009

Customer review by shoppor

4.0 stars 5/16/2009 by shoppor
by shoppor

You need to know the metal clips that connect to your car will scratch the paint w/o a piece of rubber or cloth. The product is excellent just understand this short coming.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shoppor
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Two Bikes is Very Optimistic
9/18/2009

Customer review by MarissaSmartShopper

2.0 stars 9/18/2009 by MarissaSmartShopper
by MarissaSmartShopper

This carrier is really only equipped for 1 bike. The weight restrictions are unrealistic. The average bike weighs 35lbs minimum but the restrictions of this carrier are 50 lbs - then if you add the adaptor for womens bikes, which weighs 3lbs by itself, you have a sagging bike rack that you are constanyly checking because the bikes wiggle all over the place....and yes, it was installed properly. I am VERY dissappointed.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MarissaSmartShopper
South River, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Great complement to buying a bike.
9/5/2010

Customer review by wowsheeka

4.0 stars 9/5/2010 by wowsheeka
by wowsheeka

I love bike riding, however, I'm not comfortable riding alone--my riding partner lives 20 miles away, so having a car carrier for my bike was critical. I bought this one in store and am very pleased with it. If you're concerned whether this rack works with your car--you can confirm this on Allen's website before making this purchase--just go to www.allenracks.com. I'm highly pleased that the bike is secured on the rack and the rack causes no damage and is easily installed/removed from the car (I have a P.T. Cruiser). There is no drilling or bolting involved--this works entirely on straps that are secured by tension. It takes me roughly 15 min. to install the rack and bike on the car, which I feel is very reasonable.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wowsheeka
South-central AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good product
4/12/2010

Customer review by kjkmr

5.0 stars 4/12/2010 by kjkmr
by kjkmr

Easy to install. Very secure. Works on cars with spoilers.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kjkmr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worst rack I ever used
3/21/2012

Customer review by kuchukapal

1.0 stars 3/21/2012 by kuchukapal
by kuchukapal

The rack broke on a freeway. The aluminium came out of the supporting hole. My bike almost drop in the road. I had to take an emergency stop. Ultimately took the bike in the car. This one is going back to store tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kuchukapal
Would recommend to a friend? No
the discovery comes in parts
9/21/2010

Customer review by fortheloveofwalmart

5.0 stars 9/21/2010 by fortheloveofwalmart
by fortheloveofwalmart

so I bought a bike and bike rack using ship to store. great employees at ship to store by the way. anyway, I bought the bike rack for the bike I was buying. I thought I could easily put it together in the parking lot. It was easy enough, but I had to ask people if they had a knife on them. I looked crazy, but at least my bike was pretty. Eventually a lady had one and she actually helped me put the bike rack together. I love stories of compassion. and that not everybody who shops at walmart are in a rush to get in and out. It was a very good experience, and the bike rack was SOLID.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fortheloveofwalmart
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/27/2012

Customer review by wagator

5.0 stars 8/27/2012 by wagator
by wagator

From Stillwater, OK to Duluth, MN and back. About 2000 miles. Two bikes - mountain and heavy cruiser. NO problem!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wagator
Stillwater, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good, but...
7/26/2009

Customer review by Hepcat

4.0 stars 7/26/2009 by Hepcat
by Hepcat

I bought this for my SUV, a 2004 Chevy Trailblazer. My truck is listed on the box as a vehicle this rack fits. Well, it does - but only if you hook it onto plastic pieces which is unacceptable by both my standards and the manufacturers. In the end, I had to get a little creative. I ran the straps through the glass on the lift gate (opens separately) and used o-type connectors to bypass the hooks and tie the straps directly to the anchor points in my bed. For the bottom strap, I removed the hook and ran the strap through the tie down loops on either side of my hitch receiver. If I had to do it again, I would still buy it though. The construction is much better than I anticipated and even though the installation was not as simple as I'd hoped it would be, mine is the exception, not the rule.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hepcat
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
High quality but blocks license plate
6/6/2009

Customer review by MikeURL

3.0 stars 6/6/2009 by MikeURL
by MikeURL

This is an extremely well made strap on bike rack and it is rated to fit my year Camry. However, there is absolutely no way to put it on without completely blocking the license plate. I'm almost certain that a cop can write a ticket for that so it is a source of stress when I ride with the bike on the back.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MikeURL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Disappointing
6/5/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 6/5/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is very handy because it doesn't need a trailer hitch. However, it requires too much effort to take off, put on frequently. More important, when you put the bike on, it swings back and forth. It's secure, but will swing and hit the car if you hit a bump. AND, putting it on requires tying straps to it. Finally, it's mainly meant for a men's bike. You have to connect it to the back fork for a woman's. Very disappointing...

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 319 total reviews
1-20 of 319 reviews