Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 383 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

383 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

383 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
214
4 stars
115
3 stars
21
2 stars
13
1 stars
20
1-20 of 323 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 323 total reviews
1-20 of 323 reviews
Good, but...
7/26/2009

Customer review by Hepcat

4.0 stars 7/26/2009 by Hepcat
by Hepcat

I bought this for my SUV, a 2004 Chevy Trailblazer. My truck is listed on the box as a vehicle this rack fits. Well, it does - but only if you hook it onto plastic pieces which is unacceptable by both my standards and the manufacturers. In the end, I had to get a little creative. I ran the straps through the glass on the lift gate (opens separately) and used o-type connectors to bypass the hooks and tie the straps directly to the anchor points in my bed. For the bottom strap, I removed the hook and ran the strap through the tie down loops on either side of my hitch receiver. If I had to do it again, I would still buy it though. The construction is much better than I anticipated and even though the installation was not as simple as I'd hoped it would be, mine is the exception, not the rule.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hepcat
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Just what we needed!
7/3/2010

Customer review by ArlFromNC

5.0 stars 7/3/2010 by ArlFromNC
by ArlFromNC

The images on the instruction sheet didn't exactly match the product, but I was able to figure it out pretty easily. I don't know if the carrie would be sturdy enough for a long-distance trip, but it's great for in-town. We use it to carry a 16" BMX-style bike with training wheels and a 24" women's hybrid. I've attached pictures of the back of the box showing what models the carrier will fit, but I don't know if the resolution of the uploaded photos will be high enough to actually read online.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ArlFromNC
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
8/27/2012

Customer review by wagator

5.0 stars 8/27/2012 by wagator
by wagator

From Stillwater, OK to Duluth, MN and back. About 2000 miles. Two bikes - mountain and heavy cruiser. NO problem!

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wagator
Stillwater, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
2 Bike Carrier
4/23/2009

Customer review by SuperDave1

5.0 stars 4/23/2009 by SuperDave1
by SuperDave1

This is without a doubt, the easiest & quickest way to carry a regular boys bike. Now, if you have a girls bike, a mountain bike, or something without the usual flat horizontal crossbar from seat to front end of frame, you'd better put your thinking cap on. Otherwise, I can have the 10 spd loaded & secured & ready to drive off in less than 4 minutes (inludes putting the rack on the car)

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SuperDave1
St. Louis, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Worked Great on My MonteCarlo
8/18/2011

Customer review by lolag

5.0 stars 8/18/2011 by lolag
by lolag

Great price worked great on My 2004 Monte Carlo with a low spoiler on the trunk. I't wouldn't work if My spoiler flared up like the new style. Easy to put on and take off.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lolag
MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works Well - but tough to install
6/12/2013

Customer review by EKTX

4.0 stars 6/12/2013 by EKTX
by EKTX
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The directions for this are terrible. No photos and difficult to understand the steps. I found a video on YouTube which helped tremendously. The shipping was SO fast. I was shocked when I came home a day later and found it had delivered. Way to go Walmart.com!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EKTX
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
sturdy but has its limitations
3/27/2010

Customer review by skinnybob

3.0 stars 3/27/2010 by skinnybob
by skinnybob

This product is only made for for Plain Regular bikes If you have a cruiser or a bike with wide bars.. your gonna have trouble I tried loading my cruiser on the rack, and because the bar was too wide it didnt sit in the holder too good...and as i tried it tighten down the buckle it broke - Note:- the Buckles (that hold the bicycle down) are made of plastic. Its real easy to install ...and i did it without any trouble having never installed one before 2 - be very careful if you have a spoiler I have a 2004 corolla with a factory spoiler and the rack took some of the paint of....you might want to put some tape on the point where the rack touches it or something like that Hope this review was helpful

Was this review helpful? (206) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
skinnybob
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Bike Rack
6/22/2010

Customer review by ShankarGTech

5.0 stars 6/22/2010 by ShankarGTech
by ShankarGTech

Review Date: June 22, 2010 I decided to finally buy a bike so I can enjoy the outdoors. To transport the bike, I did ALOT of research on the different bike racks available on the market. I looked at bike racks at Walmart, Sports Authority, Dicks Sporting Good, REI, and local bike stores in the D.C. area. I also looked at the different web retailers and the comments section on Amazon, eBay, Walmart.com, SportsAuthority.com, and others. After this pretty extensive research, I decided on the Allen Deluxe 2-Bike carrier that I bought via the Site-to-Store option on Walmart.com. Total price (including tax and Free shipping to store) = $39.96. First off, that is the least expensive bike rack you'll find. I received the rack a week after placing the order. Installation of the rack is SUPER EASY. It is stable against the trunk (I own a 2002 Dodge Stratus sedan), with nice cushions to protect the paint on the car. (make sure to pull the straps tight) Yet it is still very light weight. I bought a bike at Walmart and it took virtually no time at all to secure the bike to the bike rack. I drive daily on I-270 in the D.C. area, about 32 miles each way to and from work, and the bike doesn't move at all. Best of all, as soon as I find someone who'd like to bike as well, the rack has plenty of room to accommodate their bike. I'd absolutely recommend this bike rack for everyone. Hope this helps! Regards Shankar

Was this review helpful? (143) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShankarGTech
North Bethesda, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works well
6/21/2010

Customer review by duderonomy

4.0 stars 6/21/2010 by duderonomy
by duderonomy

I have a 94 Camry with a spoiler on the trunk lid. I was concerned the carrier would not fit over the top of the spoiler and I was right-it doesn't. It does, however fit BETWEEN the spoiler and trunk lid, near the rear edge. The grey pads on the upper arm of the carrier are just small enough in diameter to squeeze into the gap, while the top straps just clear the top of the spoiler. I am able to snug down all the straps and anchor the carrier very well to the car. I'm confident that it will support my bike(s) adequately. The directions mention that the two arms that hold the bike itself are supposed to be slightly above horizontal, but don't discuss why. I think it may be just to increase ground clearance for the bike's wheels. While the bikes do sit a little low with the carrier mounting position on my car, I'm not too worried about scraping them. I will be checking the clearance when entering parking lots, etc. to see just how close it is, but it should be ok. The carrier seems sturdy and is well-built.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
duderonomy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
One tough bike rack.
5/29/2009

Customer review by BobC1973

5.0 stars 5/29/2009 by BobC1973
by BobC1973

I bought this model initially because it was the least expensive, one on the site. When it arrived though, I was immediately impressed with it's construction, and fit. This bicycle carrier is really easy to install, and remove. Make a few slight adjustments, and its ready to go. It holds the bike firmly in place, I use a rifle cable lock around the front wheel and frame to hold the wheel straight and keep it off my taillight but that's the only problem I had with it in the 4 times I've used it so far.

Was this review helpful? (103) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BobC1973
St. Louis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great complement to buying a bike.
9/5/2010

Customer review by wowsheeka

4.0 stars 9/5/2010 by wowsheeka
by wowsheeka

I love bike riding, however, I'm not comfortable riding alone--my riding partner lives 20 miles away, so having a car carrier for my bike was critical. I bought this one in store and am very pleased with it. If you're concerned whether this rack works with your car--you can confirm this on Allen's website before making this purchase--just go to www.allenracks.com. I'm highly pleased that the bike is secured on the rack and the rack causes no damage and is easily installed/removed from the car (I have a P.T. Cruiser). There is no drilling or bolting involved--this works entirely on straps that are secured by tension. It takes me roughly 15 min. to install the rack and bike on the car, which I feel is very reasonable.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wowsheeka
South-central AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very nice product!
6/25/2009

Customer review by syzfr

5.0 stars 6/25/2009 by syzfr
by syzfr

We travelled about 700 miles at 55 to 65 mph with this bike carrier and didn't have any problem! I am impressed with the quality and price. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? (89) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
syzfr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product, just not for certain bikes...
4/8/2010

Customer review by clinicalfailure

3.0 stars 4/8/2010 by clinicalfailure
by clinicalfailure

Purchased this product to carry two mountain bikes on my car. Was very easy to install and seemed very sturdy. However, I didn't realize until I got it that it could not be used with my mountain bikes. There is no place to hook the bikes on due to the way their frames are made. Wish the manufacturer would have specified what types of bikes this carrier worked with instead of saying "accomidates a wide range of bicycles"...overall its a great product, just be aware that it does not fit some of the mountain bikes, particarlly the NEXT mountain bikes like I have. Sadly, had to return the product.

Was this review helpful? (34) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
clinicalfailure
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Good & Sturdy
9/18/2011

Customer review by KTRose51782NH

4.0 stars 9/18/2011 by KTRose51782NH
by KTRose51782NH

This carrier is well made/strong with good sturdy materials. It stays in place and keeps my bike in place w/ minimal movement (even when riding on the highway... though I stayed to the low end speedwise when driving down the highway with it... was worried about wind/drag/etc.). The instructions that came with this carrier however... left a little bit to be desired. They are not 100% clear about how you should assemble the carrier for the first time prior to use... and also some of the pictures/diagrams for how to secure it to your car were kind of vague/unclear. Luckily I had seen a video here on the Walmart Website (I think it was linked from youtube) on how to secure it to my car (which has to use an alternative method to attach the straps, since I Have no metal to clip the lower metal bracket to behind my rear bumper). All in all though, this was a good buy, and a great value for the money (much less expensive than I'd seen the same model sell for at a sports equipment store)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KTRose51782NH
Milford, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good Value Good Performance
10/14/2013

Customer review by AdamHossAndJoe

4.0 stars 10/14/2013 by AdamHossAndJoe
by AdamHossAndJoe

Usage: I attached this to my 2005 Honda civic and it performed well on a 150 mile round trip carrying a 26" mountain bike. The rack was exactly where I installed it when I reached my destination with no slack in the straps. My only concern was that the side hooks would stay in place, because the civic has minimal support there. But it held. Installation: The spring arms that support the top horizontal piece require a bit of oomph to put it the holes the first time and you'll have to make use of your body weight. Place the rack on the floor, stand over it, and press with your palm close to the end. Also, be sure you get the side straps to the outside of the rack. Improvements: If I were to improve this, I'd include an extra hook for the bottom of the car. The one included is a flat hook, like the ones that go over the trunk. However, the bottom/under carriage hook on the civic is better suited for a hook shaped like an open end eye bolt. Therefore, I took off 1 star.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AdamHossAndJoe
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Good value for the money
6/12/2009

Customer review by kytopbutton

4.0 stars 6/12/2009 by kytopbutton
by kytopbutton

This is an excellent entry level bike carrier priced to please. It is not quite as stable as a bike carrier with 4 -6 straps, however they also cost 2 - 3 times as much. It is easy to mount to my Ford Escape and I am able to transport two bicycles without any problems.

Was this review helpful? (31) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kytopbutton
Lawrenceburg, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Incredibly well built
3/28/2009

Customer review by C832

5.0 stars 3/28/2009 by C832
by C832

Well worth the few extra dollars. No plastic connectors to break. This looks like it's built for years of service. Easy to attach, even on a hatchback. The ship to store was fast and easy, too. Great experience. It was exactly what I wanted... and a hundred dollars less than a comparable one at my local bike shop. Yeah, Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (53) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
C832
Clearwater, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Better than expected
9/13/2009

Customer review by OldGeezerButAvidRider

5.0 stars 9/13/2009 by OldGeezerButAvidRider
by OldGeezerButAvidRider

At about $40 it was a great value and yet really performed. We took it on the interstate with no problem. It goes on/off quickly and we are able to use it on multiple cars, SUVs, and a mini-van.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OldGeezerButAvidRider
Chicago area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
5/16/2009

Customer review by shoppor

4.0 stars 5/16/2009 by shoppor
by shoppor

You need to know the metal clips that connect to your car will scratch the paint w/o a piece of rubber or cloth. The product is excellent just understand this short coming.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shoppor
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
no specific details
10/10/2012

Customer review by ddcar

1.0 stars 10/10/2012 by ddcar
by ddcar

Walmarts listing does not state that this rack will only fit specific vehicles. You are not aware of this until you have spent your time and money on getting this item and it shows a list on the back of the box. Before you purchase this item, make sure it fits your vehicle by going to the makers website and locate your car.

Was this review helpful? (25) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ddcar
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 323 total reviews
1-20 of 323 reviews