Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 62 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

62 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

62 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
46
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-20 of 56 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 56 total reviews
1-20 of 56 reviews
Outstanding product
3/5/2010

Customer review by qws123

5.0 stars 3/5/2010 by qws123
by qws123

Works perfectly!! I have tested it on IDE drives and SATA drives on both USB 1 and USB 2 ports. IT WORKS!! Very eazy to use. Comes with drive cloning software. I have not tried that yet. I work in IT and I use this this at least once or twice a week for recovering data from crashed hard drives. I have tried other cheaper products like this. Too many cables and adapters and they didn't work on every type of drive.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
qws123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
A Most Triumphant Success
3/12/2010

Customer review by VirtuousTex

5.0 stars 3/12/2010 by VirtuousTex
by VirtuousTex

I bought this product because I needed to recover data off my father's old 2.5in HDD. I could not get my PC at home to recognize the drive to save my life using a simple 2.5in to 3in adapter. But, I was able to get it to work with this one. Using a third party app, I was able to scan and recover all the important data. The product has also been a favorite tool for my fellow computer guy friends here at work. It has worked without fail on ever computer and hard drive we've hooked it up to. We expanded a drive on a server using it. A buddy migrated over to Windows 7 using it as did I. We've hooked it up to SATA, 2.5in, and 3.0 in Hard drives, and they all worked without a hitch. I also uploaded a pic of the cables it uses and som HDDs we've used it on.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VirtuousTex
San Angelo, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Hard Drive Rescue Device
12/10/2010

Customer review by SDShack

5.0 stars 12/10/2010 by SDShack
by SDShack

This was a great device for rescuing almost all of my personal files from a laptop hard drive that crashed preventing Windows XP from loading. I pulled my laptop hard drive and hooked it up to this adapter on my desktop. It was easy to do by just following the instructions. Immediately, I got access to the old laptop hard drive through Windows Explorer on my desktop. This adapter worked just like a big flash drive or memory stick. I simply created a folder on the desktop for my laptop hard drive files, then dragged my personal files from the bad laptop hard drive to my new desktop folder. I only had about 2 dozen files out of over 13,000 (5 GB) that did not transfer, and these were not critical. I did not use the EZGig Clone feature to clone my bad hard drive because I got a new hard drive preloaded with Windows XP. So all I had to do was reinstall my Microsoft Office Applications, and other applications, as well as my personal files from the desktop. I did that using a 16GB flash drive. So far, everything is working fine, so I am very happy with this device.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SDShack
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Exactly what I was looking for
6/15/2010

Customer review by WamartFan

5.0 stars 6/15/2010 by WamartFan
by WamartFan

If you ever want or have the need to change your hard drive on your laptop (or desktop), this is the device for you. This will give you a cloned bootable drive from your old hard drive in a simple and quick way. It will handle any type or size drive and is great for backing up your data on any blank hard drive. This adapter is small and easy to store, and I recommend it to anyone. A great product.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WamartFan
Palmdale, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
storage
3/18/2010

Customer review by binarycbasicgeek

4.0 stars 3/18/2010 by binarycbasicgeek
by binarycbasicgeek

I had 2 drives from old computers and wanted some files and this worked perfectly to retreve the files and back up some files on stored hard drives

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
binarycbasicgeek
boston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Awesome Little Gadget
3/28/2011

Customer review by LadyStarBaar

5.0 stars 3/28/2011 by LadyStarBaar
by LadyStarBaar

I have been extremely pleased with my purchase of this Hard Drive Adapter because it has allowed me to retrieve data from several hard drives that have crashed when nothing else was working. With the adapter I was able to connect them to my laptop and run test on them along with data retrieval programs that I was not able t do with them in their respective computers. So far I have only run across one hard drive that would not connect to this adapter and that was one from an HP laptop computer although it is a SATA drive the connections are designed differently instead of the normal flat circuit board connections the HP drive (made by Hitachi) has a series of "U" shaped wire connectors, making it a non standard SATA hard drive, and will not connect to the adapter. Over all though I am extremely pleased with this adapter and will use it quite frequently for retrieving data from various hard drives that I have and to aid in fixing or repairing hard drives of friends, family and others when needed.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LadyStarBaar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Universal hard drive adapter works as advertised
7/16/2012

Customer review by w8qn

5.0 stars 7/16/2012 by w8qn
by w8qn

I needed to transfer some data from a desktop PATA drive to my laptop. Adapter worked the first time, without problem, and quickly transfered several multi-gigabyte files. The fact that it will work with all the current desktop and laptop disk drives is a bonus. I can now re-use several drives that I have sitting on the shelf as backups for my laptop.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
w8qn
Midland, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent
3/30/2013

Customer review by MotherStarChild

5.0 stars 3/30/2013 by MotherStarChild
by MotherStarChild

It did just exactly what I needed and now I can use my old hard drive as an external one if need be :)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MotherStarChild
Fort Worth TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This adapter does exactly what Apricor Claims.
5/27/2013

Customer review by Sastesni

5.0 stars 5/27/2013 by Sastesni
by Sastesni

When hundreds of hours of accumulated information is lost in a nanosecond, a feeling of panic is soon followed by shear fear, all your information is gone...... forever or is it? The Apricorn Universal Hard Drive Adapter becomes that hope that what is lost can be retrieved. Indeed, this adapter worked with my old HDD from 1998 and a slightly newer HDD from 2002, with zero issues. The Apricorn adaptor was a no-brainer to use (user-friendly, to be polite) and attaching the HDD and adapter to your computer, simple and easy. Within minutes of unpacking the Apricorn adapter the lost data appeared on my screen. I know what Apricorn claims about the Apricorn Universal Hard Drive Adapter is true. Thank you..... it worked.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sastesni
Jensen Beach Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is a great product and well worth the money.
10/31/2013

Customer review by TobiasJ

5.0 stars 10/31/2013 by TobiasJ
by TobiasJ

I bought this product to salvage the data from my hard drive on a Gateway Computer which crashed. I wasn't sure if the hard drive was destroyed or not as it wouldn't do anything. The fan would run and that was all. I connected the Apricorn Universal Hard Drive Adapter as per instructions and it brought up everything that was on my old hard drive. It acted as though it was just another flash drive. All I had to do was begin transferring the data from the old hard drive to my new computer and I'm back in business without loosing anything. I will definetly recommend this product. It is well worth the money I paid for it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TobiasJ
Paris, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product, easy to use
11/22/2013

Customer review by DEVOLADA

5.0 stars 11/22/2013 by DEVOLADA
by DEVOLADA

I used this to clone my laptop hard drive and it worked flawlessly. Its easy to use and I would recommend this product to anyone wanting to clone their hard drive

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DEVOLADA
escondido, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Simply wonderful
1/11/2014

Customer review by itsangel

5.0 stars 1/11/2014 by itsangel
by itsangel

Item worked exactly the way I expected it to. Save me a lot of grief

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
itsangel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works as advertised
8/15/2012

Customer review by MichiganianCustomer

4.0 stars 8/15/2012 by MichiganianCustomer
by MichiganianCustomer

I like that the external drive gets it's electricity from the Apricorn device and so doesn't put a burden on a computer with a small power supply. I would have liked to have been able to clone a single partition instead of the whole hard drive, but Apricorn's software is flexible in reducing the size of the partitions on the target drive to make them fit if the target drive is smaller than the source drive. My clone Solid State Drive didn't work at first. Once I ran software to "repair the startup" then the drive worked. Apparently the change in types of hard drive needed drivers that weren't already on the computer.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MichiganianCustomer
MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Top 1000 contributor
Hardware Works Fine -- Software Doesn't
9/22/2010

Customer review by saberman

3.0 stars 9/22/2010 by saberman
by saberman

I purchased this specifically to clone an IDE drive. I connected the target drive to the interface and power, plugged the connector into a USB port and booted from the CD. I chose the Clone option. All of the SATA and USB drives were shown in the list but the IDE drive was not. I posted a problem report on the Apricorn site over three business days ago and have not even received a confirming email.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
saberman
Would recommend to a friend? No
did not work as described
3/8/2011

Customer review by danbear

1.0 stars 3/8/2011 by danbear
by danbear

I bought tgi because i wanted to recover some things out of another ide drive but when i follow the instructions as stated it does not even recognize the drives. The only drive i found it works on is the laptop. Not even the new sata. hope every one else has better luck.Will not buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
danbear
kansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Not worth it!
10/30/2011

Customer review by Shakoo

1.0 stars 10/30/2011 by Shakoo
by Shakoo

I tired this device on a couple of computers and two different hard drive but it did not work. Included software doesn't support cloning from smaller drive to larger drive. Other cloning software don't recognize adapter. I will return to Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shakoo
Olympia, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works perfectly
3/15/2010

Customer review by paleolith

5.0 stars 3/15/2010 by paleolith
by paleolith

I purchased a lower priced adapter on Ebay. It did not work. Then I purchased this one from Walmart. It works perfectly. I give it a sincere recommendation. Now I am able to rescue data from an extracted drive.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
paleolith
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Outstanding Product
3/23/2010

Customer review by CSMMc

5.0 stars 3/23/2010 by CSMMc
by CSMMc

We're using this to clone computers in a lab. It's simple to set up and very fast!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CSMMc
Jackson, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very handy tool to have in your arsenal
4/11/2010

Customer review by RAYJAY193B

5.0 stars 4/11/2010 by RAYJAY193B
by RAYJAY193B

The Apricorn converter does just what it says it will do. No problems at all. I plugged it in and it started reading the hard drive immediately. In less than a few minutes I had recovered all the data from the drive! Since then, Ive also recovered some data from a couple really old computers. This is a truly awesome product. Its worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RAYJAY193B
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great device
4/19/2010

Customer review by mooseheadwillie

5.0 stars 4/19/2010 by mooseheadwillie
by mooseheadwillie

This works just like they say it will. My old laptop hard drive failed, and the computer would not boot up. I bought a new hard drive, and this device was able to clone the entire drive. I love it. $39 is a great deal.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mooseheadwillie
Winchester, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 56 total reviews
1-20 of 56 reviews