Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 72 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

72 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

72 reviews | 4 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
39
4 stars
15
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 stars
10
1-20 of 57 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 57 total reviews
1-20 of 57 reviews
Awesome Router
8/18/2011

Customer review by MikeNYNYNY

5.0 stars 8/18/2011 by MikeNYNYNY
by MikeNYNYNY

Excellent Router. It's very Affordable, Compact and very Light as well. After almost a year, I never got Disconnected or any Errors so far. I would buy more TrendNet Products in the future. Thanks Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MikeNYNYNY
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Keeps DISCONNECTING! NOT good.
12/22/2010

Customer review by AnonymousReviews123

1.0 stars 12/22/2010 by AnonymousReviews123
by AnonymousReviews123

For the first few hours, the produce worked beautifully. The set up was extremely easy (in fact, no set up necessary, it doesn't even come with a CD-rom like the other routers). The start-up time was lightning fast, and I was happy initially. ****Unfortunately, that did NOT last very long.... After a few hours, the router keeps on disconnecting and restarting itself, like every 10-15 mins or so. I tried the reset button, tried disconnecting, tried everything, but nothing worked. I then read up some more about the router on forums, and many users have similar problems with the disconnecting and restarting. It's impossible to deal with since the router works only 50% of the time after it automatically restarts. THe other 50% of the time, you had to manually turn off both the router and modem to get things working. LITERALLY, it restarted itself every 10-15 mins or so, can you imaging how extremely annoying that is?. I returned the product afterwards.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AnonymousReviews123
Lebanon, NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
OK, but...
12/26/2010

Customer review by InCarlsbad

3.0 stars 12/26/2010 by InCarlsbad
by InCarlsbad

This unit has gotten poor reviews (on this and other sites) based on old features that I found have been updated. Things like auto channel selection, and other features that are new compared to reviews done in mid-year 2010 negate a lot of those negatives. The big complaint of heat was never an issue. The install was easy. I did compare this (literally) side by side with my 802.11n laptop and a 2-Wire wireless G unit and I sat 5 feet away from the two - I switched between the two transmitters with no measurable difference between the two units. I did speed tests with nearly identical results. For the price that I paid (it was on sale for <$25 at the time) it seemed to perform well. It did not reach up to the 5gHz range, it was down in the 2.4 (or whatever it is) neighborhood. Because I was having problems with the new service provider, I had an easy return at my local Wal Mart. If the new service provider worked out, I probably would have kept the unit just because of the great price. The web browser menu and setup was intuitive and simple. TrendNet seemed have listened to all the complaints.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
InCarlsbad
Carlsbad, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Worth every penny
12/8/2010

Customer review by DavidNC

5.0 stars 12/8/2010 by DavidNC
by DavidNC

This router is inexpensive but does the job. I've had it for about a week and so far it works very well. I had issues setting it up, so I called the customer service number from the website. The customer service folks sounded like they were in India but they were very professional and helpful. They helped me set it up and I am thankful. Overall, I'll recommend this product, after all what do you have to loose, it's inexpensive.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DavidNC
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Great price - but you get what you pay for
12/16/2010

Customer review by hawaiistyle

2.0 stars 12/16/2010 by hawaiistyle
by hawaiistyle

Saw this router on the Walmart website at an unbelievable low price and thought I would give it a try. Now I wish that I would have spent the few extra dollars and bought the name brand wireless N router instead. This router was very easy to set up and install. Extremely simple and fast setup to get it encrypted and passcode protected. It has a great warranty. Unfortunately the performance is nowhere close to where it should be. The reason for going N is that N is advertised as an upgrade from G to get a faster and much larger broadcast area with more power to reach your entire house. Unfortunately this router that is supposedly N rated has even less power and coverage than my name brand old G router had. But it gets worse. If I plug in with an ethernet cable directly to my Motorola cable modem my download speeds from speedtest are about 21.5mbs which is fairly good. If I unplug and go wireless at distances less than 18 inches away from this router the average usable wireless speed is only 4mbs. At 10 feet it drops to half and at 20 feet it is nearly useless dial up speeds. At 40 feet I show no signal at all regardless of the wireless device trying to be used. My old name brand G router maintained fairly high transmit speeds at 11mbs to 14mbs and didn't really seem to fade much for distance. It also would go 50 feet through an 8 inch concrete wall and still have signal at G specs. I figured that this new N technology would be simply amazing and go 80 to 100 feet with lightning fast transmission speeds close to my hard wired speeds. Maybe this is true with a name brand 300N router but not with this router. The price was cheap, but unfortunately there is a reason. Performance is extremely poor. I wish I hadn't gotten rid of my old name brand router now. It was WAY better and WAY faster even being the old G technology that it was. All of my wireless devices crawl now and I have to wait for things to load. This is a new horrible experience for me. The point was to upgrade and get faster, not slow back down to a snail pace because of the inferior cheap equipment. Now I will have to wait and save to buy a real one next time as I am out the money that I paid for this one apparently. I would recommend that if you are looking for a wireless N router for your home to definitely look elsewhere as this one does not perform like it should. Invest the extra money into a name brand product and you will more than likely be pleased that you did. I am extremely disappointed with the performance, or lack of performance I should say with this cheap off brand router. Hopefully this information helps somebody avoid the same pitfall that I encountered.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hawaiistyle
SLC, UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product after connecting issue was resolved.
7/22/2011

Customer review by MisterBradshaw

5.0 stars 7/22/2011 by MisterBradshaw
by MisterBradshaw

I usually don't write reviews for products however I wanted to share my story in hopes of helping others with the same issue. I purchased my router during the Christmas sale of 2010. I was excited about going wireless and not having to plug in my laptop to use the internet. I found that my router would drop my connection at random times and I would not be able to reconnect. I also experienced a problem trying to connect everytime I powered off my laptop. I found through trial and error that if the problem occured I could unplug and then replug my router into the power supply and wallah, it would work! For the last 7 months I lived with the problem until I finally had enough and called customer service for help. After going over some of the router settings the customer service rep notice that WPS was enable. It can be enabled by pressing the button on the side of the router which I assumed was some type of reset button. After disabling Wi-Fi Protected Setup (WPS), I have not had a problem since. I am able to connect every single time. I am so happy with my router now and would recommend it to anyone. I have no problem getting a signal anywhere in my 2000 sq ft home. I feel silly that I waited so long to get help... This product was well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MisterBradshaw
Lakeland, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not good .. frequent connection drops
2/2/2011

Customer review by Routershopper

1.0 stars 2/2/2011 by Routershopper
by Routershopper

There are frequent disconnects when using 'N'.. Updating firmware does not help. Tech Support will make you go through same procedure again and again... Dont buy..

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Routershopper
Redmond WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Trendnet Wireless Router
12/30/2010

Customer review by Sistersin

4.0 stars 12/30/2010 by Sistersin
by Sistersin

I got this router to use with my DSL service so I could put a Sony Bluray player and Dish Network box online as well as my PC. I didn't really know much about routers, but I took it out of the box and set it up from the instructions and had no problems. I'm using it with Cisco-Linksys PLK300 Powerline adapter set. So far it seems to be working fine. I chose this because it said it worked for streaming video and music and also the 3 year warranty is great as well. The network I created using the above mentioned is working pretty well for us. We use netflix a lot and you can also go on you tube with the bluray player. It has been keeping us entertained while our regular shows have been reruns. Would recommend this router for the price and warranty and so far the performance. But I am no expert or anything.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sistersin
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Basic N router for small dwellings
4/1/2011

Customer review by mmsumulong

3.0 stars 4/1/2011 by mmsumulong
by mmsumulong

This router is a basic N router which is relatively easy to setup. Once setup you can actually notice the difference. My Sony Media Player and BD player can stream Netflix with almost no lags. I tested my Asus netbook which has an N wireless adapter using Speedtest,net and I got a 22 mbps throughput. Setting the rfouter on B/G mode and I only got a max of 17 mbps. The only downside for this model is that its range and antenna signal is rather weak. Using both this and my old Netgear WGR-614 v7, the latter has a much stronger signal as measured by the InSSIDer program. Also, I live in a small apartment/condo which is only 900 sq st. The signals in our bedrooms is intermittent that our Android phones can barely connect. Laptops and media players fare better. Due to this, I connected my old router which has better connectivity to this router. It's actually redundant but I might as well use the old router for G connections and the Trendnet router for N connections since I got this from Walmart cheap. Getting a more expensive unit is not an option for me right now. So if you have a small place and can get this on the cheap (as low as $20 w/ free shipping) then I recommend this. Otherwise another router may be better for you.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mmsumulong
Azusa, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
High speed wireless at lowest cost
12/16/2010

Customer review by ItPaysToLook

5.0 stars 12/16/2010 by ItPaysToLook
by ItPaysToLook

Bought this to replace a TrendNet wireless g router to get wireless n speed. Installation was smooth and easy with step- by-step instructions on the included CD. Performance is fantastic with wireless computer speed pumped up from 54 to 144 on moderate speed DSL connection. Price was fantastic - less than $25 including tax with free shipping to my home by FedEx Ground. This price compares with prices for the identical unit at other on-line stores, including "discount" electronic stores, ranging in the $40 to $55 range plus shipping. I had not originally thought of Walmart for this product - it's not on their store shelves - but I'm glad I searched them on-line. They will be an obvious choice for researching a purchase in the future.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ItPaysToLook
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
You get what you pay for
12/26/2010

Customer review by sky304

1.0 stars 12/26/2010 by sky304
by sky304

This was the most frustrating equipment I have ever bought. I thought it was simple to install but I was wrong then trendnet sent me instructions on how to fix it, but that did not work either. This product does not come with a installation CD you have to type in a website to use the install wizard to configure it which seemed very simple but afterwards I still was unable to get online and I did what trendnet told me to do but then their website for the wizard would not load. I returned product and bought a more expensive one and installed it and was online in 30 minutes or less

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sky304
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works well...good price
7/9/2011

Customer review by freeiam524

4.0 stars 7/9/2011 by freeiam524
by freeiam524

I have had this purchase for about two weeks now. Set up was easy. I stream Netflix with it (Vizio Blu-ray payer) and have not had any problems with the picture. I need to mention that the router is in the same room as the tv. When I go to other rooms signal does weaken some. Not enough to tell a difference with your internet surfing. I do stream ESPN3 and get a good enough signal in other rooms to get a decent picture. Overall I am happy with the router for the money. Based on my experience I would recommend this item.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
freeiam524
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Home router
12/18/2010

Customer review by jambat

5.0 stars 12/18/2010 by jambat
by jambat

Great Router. Covers a 2200 sqft house with ease. Its range is so powerful, my neighbors are able to get on it! Easy set up, for me. Probably the best router available under $25. Total set up time was about 30 minutes, most of that time was spent arguing with my wife that the set up could not be as easy as it was. Don't be a fool. Buy this router and be done with your shopping, for a router at least.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jambat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fast!
12/16/2010

Customer review by T04z71

5.0 stars 12/16/2010 by T04z71
by T04z71

I had no idea that a new router would improve the overall use of my computer from speed to performance. If you think your computer is getting old and acting slow, if you have a router that is more than a few years old and have more than 2 people using your router, get this router! for under 25.00 you will be amazed. Don't spend more than 100.00 on a computer tune-up. You probably don't need it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
T04z71
Newport, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wireless+
12/16/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/16/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This router replaced my linksys router. i must say this router is great for my laptop, i use to always use lan to play games and download, but this wireless is faster than my wired connection in my old router. i have a 20mb connection. Wired when tested on speedtest.com it came at 18.XXmb/s and wireless it was at 16.XX mb/s, so it is not even noticeable. Dont know why i didn't buy one sooner.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/15/2010

Customer review by Mac1000

5.0 stars 12/15/2010 by Mac1000
by Mac1000

Great find. I replaced my Belkin router with the Trendnet. The setup was flawless and fast. I am running 3 computers and 2 TIVOs. With the TIVOs I run cable (cat5) connections. One cable to each DVR (Fast transfer). Two wireless computers & one on main desk with cat5 cable. I have 2 each 150Mbps "n" adapters & I am running @ 150Mbps. The computers are- 2 XP & 1 Vista.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mac1000
Crossville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
inexpensive - easy to install
6/30/2011

Customer review by sat2

4.0 stars 6/30/2011 by sat2
by sat2

this is a good N router for the price. I am a bit disappointed that I do not get all the bars on my laptop two walls away. Installation and set up was very easy using the CD which comes with the device. energy saving is a plus. I am inclinded to buy an antenna extension available at newegg. to see if it improves the number of bars in the second room

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sat2
ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worked as needed....
6/20/2011

Customer review by MrsVRS

4.0 stars 6/20/2011 by MrsVRS
by MrsVRS

Got it home almost 7 months ago, called Trendnet customer service to help with setup and it has been working since. I have had absolutely no problems at all with this router which I use everyday almost all day. BTW I called customer service on Christmas day and they were there to assist me. Now thats outstanding service in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsVRS
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works as advertised
3/27/2011

Customer review by Mungerilal

5.0 stars 3/27/2011 by Mungerilal
by Mungerilal

Not very customizable, but got it at a good price (just shy of 25 bucks), works as advertised. Pretty good range, and adequately 'powers' three different computers, two Roku's, one Internet-enabled TV and a Wii without any problem whatsoever. I believe that you can now get it dd-WRT enabled, but I have not tried it yet.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mungerilal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Keep Looking
12/17/2010

Customer review by jackalel

1.0 stars 12/17/2010 by jackalel
by jackalel

Remember you get what you pay for. This product was cheap and that is exactly how it performs. Setup took longer than it should have. After set up, unless I am sitting 5 feet away from the device my signal strength is marginal at best. I will be replacing this as soon as possible.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jackalel
Jackson, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 57 total reviews
1-20 of 57 reviews