Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 44 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

44 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

44 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

47%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
8
3 stars
7
2 stars
10
1 stars
7
1-20 of 42 total reviews
47%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews
Flimsy at best
10/14/2009

Customer review by shadowrider97

2.0 stars 10/14/2009 by shadowrider97
by shadowrider97

I bought this as part of a system. I wanted to build the Combo #9 from the kittycityusa.com website. There's a total of 9 modules in this combo pack, this being one of them. I ended up spending nearly $180 for everything. The only instructions I had for building the whole combination unit was a 13 minute video with no audio on their website. You have no idea where the parts they're using are coming from. After 2 hours I finally got it put together. I could tell the individual units were lightweight and flexible but I hoped as I put it all together they'd reinforce each other. When it was finished it was still so flimsy my cats were terrified of it and wouldn't use it. The one time one of them got near the top he fell through because the only thing holding that part together was a strip of Velcro. It might be ok for kittens or VERY small cats, but no way a 15-20 pound cat will enjoy this thing. It rattles and shakes and slides across the floor every time they touch it. Returning to store! One additional note on this particular item: This thing needs a more solid floor. There's no support under the fabric floor and it flexes and stretches when your cat walks on it. My cats were never comfortable with it and I couldn't get them to spend any time in the thing. Waste of money.

Was this review helpful? (25) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shadowrider97
Would recommend to a friend? No
What a waste...
1/19/2011

Customer review by ORMama1126

2.0 stars 1/19/2011 by ORMama1126
by ORMama1126

I bought this product for our 2 1/2 year old Persian who is not a very big girl (weighing only 6.5lbs). First off, it was easy to put together, however the end result is flimsy by itself which is how we purchased it. We wanted to put this in a corner in our downstairs living room to give her a place to hide-a-way except, she hardly fits! Secondly, the crinkly material its made of is noisy and she hated it from the second she got in. We put a blanket in there to see if that would be less noisy for her but she has refused to acknowledge it. Today, 3 weeks after purchase, I notice she is in there except, upon further inspection, she has apparently decided the only thing its good for is a litter box. I can't blame her, the material does sound EXACTLY like the crystal litter we use :( Overall not happy, and now have to throw away, a complete waste!

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ORMama1126
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
too lightweight
6/27/2009

Customer review by playadreamer

1.0 stars 6/27/2009 by playadreamer
by playadreamer

The sleepy corner is decent size, made of nice material, well constructed, but much too lightweight to stand on its own. It tips over very easily.....you have to have it attached to other units of Kitty City, or you will be very disappointed....and kitty too!!!!

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
playadreamer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Cat loved it!
2/22/2010

Customer review by markcsoul

5.0 stars 2/22/2010 by markcsoul
by markcsoul

Picked up the Sleepy Corner at my local Walmart this weekend to give to my parent's cat to use. The setup was really simple, I almost didn't even need the instructions. Abu took a little while to get used to it, but before long he was playing with the ball toys and doing some scratching on the scratching post (not in the picture on this site). He liked lounging on top of the unit, as well as taking a nap inside as well. Great product!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
markcsoul
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
cool kitty
6/4/2009

Customer review by walmartbugg

5.0 stars 6/4/2009 by walmartbugg
by walmartbugg

my kitten just loves it . was trying to get in it before had it together. she is all over it

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
walmartbugg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/13/2011

Customer review by Bugsy616

5.0 stars 6/13/2011 by Bugsy616
by Bugsy616

We have six kittens just 6 weeks old. They love all the kitty city products we have so far. The products are easy to assemble, sturdy, and well made. I would highly recommend these products to every cat owner.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bugsy616
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Would not recommend
6/23/2013

Customer review by priestc6223

1.0 stars 6/23/2013 by priestc6223
by priestc6223

Plan on returning the one I purchased tomorrow. It is very flimsy, and the materials seem cheap like they would easily rip. This may be great for kittens, but definitely would not recommend for an adult cat.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
priestc6223
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Awesome!
8/19/2014

Customer review by Jade33

5.0 stars 8/19/2014 by Jade33
by Jade33

This is a great product, especially for how cheap it is. Two toys, a scratch post, the inside and top for my kitten to climb on just for $20? That's a steal. Plus this brand offers multiple items to combine this with that I'm looking forward to using in the future. For the reviews saying this comes apart easily . . . I've had a bar pop out on occasion when my kitten is being rough. But it snaps back in. It's really easy to put together so I have no issue with it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jade33
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good
7/4/2014

Customer review by Empyrean

5.0 stars 7/4/2014 by Empyrean
by Empyrean

The frame slides together and if cat is rough it can come apart - also needs to be anchored - will fall when cat tries to jump up on it - need to tape down part with ball hanging from it because it will come off and cat would like better if string longer.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Empyrean
Oklahoma City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
kitty city---happy cats
11/7/2010

Customer review by workingcatmom

5.0 stars 11/7/2010 by workingcatmom
by workingcatmom

My cats love it; I have the tunnel, sleepy corner, hideaway cave, cozy bed, climbing hill and hideaway. Keeping any cats especially 5 happy and busy is not easy~~

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
workingcatmom
St. Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Important to know how/where you'll use it.
8/4/2013

Customer review by WorthalookifIpost

4.0 stars 8/4/2013 by WorthalookifIpost
by WorthalookifIpost

I bought these for our cattery residents in a Pet Adoption Center. Our cats are crated half of a 24 hour day. In their kennel/crate (3x6) this is perfect! *** FIRST & A MUST *** Use Glue when you assemble! EVERYBODY !!! I zip tied them in the corners up off the slide out bottom tray for easy clean. Be sure to support by placeing linens,bedding, rugs etc. beneath for support & cushion for lower hidey hole. This corner utilization for where they bed allows for so much more usable space in that rectangle area they have 12 hours a day. I have used parts of extra (female) connectors supplied to support bottom curve tube to better support the top tube for our medium to heavy cats w/zipties & placed/spaced to both sides of (lower) entry opening. I use the extra tubing or poles that's supplied for connecting to other units for this. Our PAC cats Love Love Love these. These are a small corner of their world that belongs only to them. *** BE SURE TO WAIT 24 HOURS AFTER CONSTRUCTING FOR GLUE TO DRY/CURE ! If you crate, don't hesitate !

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WorthalookifIpost
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My cat seems to like it
5/12/2014

Customer review by bitswt02

4.0 stars 5/12/2014 by bitswt02
by bitswt02

He hides there and knows it's his space.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bitswt02
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Falls Short of Recommendation
4/22/2010

Customer review by hungysalisbury

3.0 stars 4/22/2010 by hungysalisbury
by hungysalisbury

When I purchased "Sleepy Corner", I had great expectations. I liked the fact that this unit was part of a modular system which could create a whole world of possibilities for expansion by adding simply adding more units. Unfortunately, "Sleepy Corner" is too light and top- heavy to be satisfactory as a stand-alone unit. Our 13 lb. cat tipped it over on his first attempt to get on the top perch. Although I believe this system has potential, some design changes are clearly needed to make this particular unit fully useful and worthy of recommendation.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hungysalisbury
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not for cats, maybe for kittens
12/16/2013

Customer review by KatMom56

3.0 stars 12/16/2013 by KatMom56
by KatMom56

My experience with this was when we were fostering rescued kittens. It's not very sturdy. The hanging balls were the first to go, and I'd recommend removing those at once, throwing the strings away, and letting them just roll the balls around, although if a ball gets stepped on by a person it's history. The rest of this item is not very durable even with small kittens using it. I would not buy it again, but we needed something to keep some kittens occupied and an extra place for them to nap, temporarily, so it worked out alright. The biggest annoyance was that the parts don't connect together permanently, and it kept collapsing, so we had to reassemble it once or twice a day. Eventually one of the supports broke and we could no longer use it, but by that time the kittens had new homes, so it went into the trash. The collapsing nature of it would make me definitely hesitant to add on components, and this is definitely not for a full grown cat or even a kitten over twelve weeks or so.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KatMom56
San Diego County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't waste your money
5/17/2011

Customer review by dmvd

1.0 stars 5/17/2011 by dmvd
by dmvd

I only had it about 3 weeks before the plastic bars broke and the fabric ripped. The joint where the curved plastic support bars meet can not support the weight of an average-sized cat. I already had the Kitty City Tower and plush bed and loved the quality, so I decided to add the corner. I was extremely disappointed. It's been over a year and even with the cats using it every day, the tower and bed are still in good shape. Just don't waste your money on the corner!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dmvd
Mason, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Too Wobbly For My Kitten
5/18/2014

Customer review by Mae89

1.0 stars 5/18/2014 by Mae89
by Mae89

I wanted to get something for my new kitten. I saw this and thought it would be awesome because, as she gets bigger, I can add on to it. I built it and she showed interest in the scratcher and the toys, but wouldn't go near it on her own once I'd built it and put it in a corner (for a little extra support). I was trying to teach her to like it and set her on the top where a cat's supposed to be able to lay. It was super wobbly! And she doesn't even weigh two pounds! It may work better if it's connected to other Kitty City pieces, but if you're planning to buy this as a standalone piece, it's not particularly strong.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mae89
Vallejo, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Not good for standalone
9/29/2013

Customer review by REB5299

1.0 stars 9/29/2013 by REB5299
by REB5299

I am on a limited budget and thought this would be good for my cat. Unfortunately, it should never be sold as a standalone product. Tipped over when my cat tried to use the scratching post. Then it tipped over when he stood against it to see what was on top. He has never gone near it again! What a waste of money!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
REB5299
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
WASTE OF MONEY
12/20/2013

Customer review by lovemykitty9704

1.0 stars 12/20/2013 by lovemykitty9704
by lovemykitty9704

Every time cat attempts to scratch on rope side, it flips over and scares cat away. This was a waste of money for me.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovemykitty9704
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
my 3 kitties just love it...
3/29/2012

Customer review by evcuev

5.0 stars 3/29/2012 by evcuev
by evcuev

5 pcs. & still building. Great for normal weight kitties.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
evcuev
RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/26/2011

Customer review by Brrenda

5.0 stars 7/26/2011 by Brrenda
by Brrenda

Nice addition or stand alone piece for cats

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brrenda
Vacaville, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews