Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 40 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

40 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

40 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

48%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
17
1-20 of 36 total reviews
48%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews
bad
5/31/2009

Customer review by rjcpd

1.0 stars 5/31/2009 by rjcpd
by rjcpd

I bought two and connected them together. Turned the pump on and watched the first heater, inline, blow the clear plastic top off and then blow holes throught the spiral. It was actually funny and I was glad my wife didn't see it, she would still be making fun of me. Specifications reads that it raises temp. @ a rate of 5deg. every two days. The real rate as listed on the box for a 16x32 pool, which I have, is 16 days!!! for 5 degrees. I think those specifications should be listed. The second unit is still hooked up and leaking. I will use teflon paste to try and stop the leak. If that doesn't work I will take that one back as well.

rjcpd
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed
7/28/2009

Customer review by tcve

1.0 stars 7/28/2009 by tcve
by tcve

Bought 2 of these for my 27 round pool. After 2 days the temp had risen about 3 degrees, seemed to be working great! woke up on day three and thought that it had rained??? No, the solar heater had sprung a leak and I had lost all water to below the skimmer!!! The leak was not on hoses or connections, it was from the heater itself, from a seam on the top! When I called the company, the only offer they made me was to send me another...NO THANKS! I cost too much money to refill a pool! Sam's club refunded my money 100%!!! Too bad this doesn't work! Great idea, but not at any cost!

tcve
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
The Sun heats quicker!
7/27/2009

Customer review by Mukgang

1.0 stars 7/27/2009 by Mukgang
by Mukgang

We purchased this hoping to get into our pool earlier and the hoses sprung a leak and drained quite a bit of water from our pool. We called the manufacturer and they said there was a problem with the first ones that went out and they would send us another, which they did. The same thing happened again!! Now we just want to credit our account but its hard to get hold of this company. You always have to leave messages it seems! I guess you get what you pay for! I would not recommend this to anyone, just a hassel!

Mukgang
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Works Great!
7/21/2009

Customer review by poolman7

5.0 stars 7/21/2009 by poolman7
by poolman7

I've had my solar heater for 1 month now and it works great. It's increased the temp of my Intex 24' round by 8 degrees. So easy to install and not and eye sore like some of the large solar panels on the market.

poolman7
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Waste of $$$
7/31/2009

Customer review by grrrmama

1.0 stars 7/31/2009 by grrrmama
by grrrmama

This was a waste of $$$ as far as I am concerned. My pool is only 18 ft round and I can not tell any difference at all with this. Don't waste your money. Buy a heater!

grrrmama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Leaked
7/28/2009

Customer review by Hans

1.0 stars 7/28/2009 by Hans
by Hans

I bought it and returned it the very next day, Worked for 5 mins. then leaked on the inlet side on the round construction!

Hans
SP, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
8/7/2009

Customer review by tobi

1.0 stars 8/7/2009 by tobi
by tobi

Waste of money - it leaked the entire time we had it hooked up to our pool and never warmed the pool not even one degree.

tobi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
poor quality
7/27/2009

Customer review by Cissy

1.0 stars 7/27/2009 by Cissy
by Cissy

The heater tubing busted the first night we hooked it up. The pool water drained below the return.

Cissy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Highly Impressed
6/18/2009

Customer review by WarmPool

5.0 stars 6/18/2009 by WarmPool
by WarmPool

I also decided to buy this product, despite some of the negative reviews. I figured it couldn't hurt, and if it didn't work we could always just return it to a store. I WILL NOT be returning the solar heater. It is awesome! After the first day we installed it, it raised the water temperature four degrees and has continued to keep it at that level or higher. We live in the Chicago area where we've had unseasonably cold and wet weather-most people have not even used their pools yeat, and our 24 foot above ground is four solid degrees warmer than both neighbors. I plan to purchase another unit to hook on for even warmer water. We had no problems with the piping or fits, just take your time and put it together right. My initial concern was how long I'd have to run the filter to see an increase in temperature. I think we ran the filter for about five hours in the middle of the day and saw the increase of four degrees. I highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (34) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WarmPool
Joliet, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I like it
7/8/2009

Customer review by Nightnurse88

5.0 stars 7/8/2009 by Nightnurse88
by Nightnurse88

I have had my 18' round pool for 20 years, and it has been shaded by a maple tree all that time. I am torn between love of my pool, and love of that tree. I have previously owned two of those big 4'x20' black rubber solar heaters. I also paid $500 to have a platform erected to hold them up at an angle towards the sun. Worked fine, but neither one of them lasted more than one season without springing an irreparable leak. Due to age and arthritis, they were a painful challenge to put away for the winter. So this year I bought one aquaquik. During the one week that we had Sunshine, I feel it added one degree/day over what I would normally get without any heater. I followed the advice of another reviewer and used double clamps on the connections; and I have not had any leaks. I like the fact that it has it's own stand to prop it up, and that it will be easy to carry it to the basement for the winter. I plan to buy another one and hook them up in series. And Walmart, can I buy some sun to go with it??

Was this review helpful? (9) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nightnurse88
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/13/2013

Customer review by Innovation

5.0 stars 6/13/2013 by Innovation
by Innovation

ok people, read some bad reviews on this heater but, for 100 bucks thought I give it a shot. Heater arrived packed well to prevent damage to it. I hooked this up to a my jacuzzi pool filter pump which is rated .7 HP. When installing the in/out hoses be careful and dont over tighten the hose clamps, remember the adapters are only plastic and overtightening could crack them. Installing was quick and really simple and its been 3 weeks now and not a leak anywhere. The heater is in full sunlight and has pop up legs on one side to angle it into the sunshine. On the first day I installed it, which was a bright and sunny day, it brought my water up 4 degrees in about 6 hours. I have to say Im impressed after 3 weeks. Good product at a good price, Thanks Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Innovation
Canton, OH.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't Waste Your Money!
4/27/2009

Customer review by 4allunder1roof

1.0 stars 4/27/2009 by 4allunder1roof
by 4allunder1roof

Purchased 3 units and after 24 hours one broke and drained pool below skimmer and pump was running dry. I unhooked the one and shipped back to walmart and rehooked back up the other 2 and after 4 days another one busted and drained the pool and was running the pump dry again. They would break seal betwwen the bubble and the base and drain the pool. After that I sent all 3 units back for refund, they almost cost me a pump not to mention I had to refill the pool back up with cold water everytime one busted, so it defeated the purpose of even having a heater!

Was this review helpful? (47) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
4allunder1roof
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It works!
6/15/2009

Customer review by Meatball38

4.0 stars 6/15/2009 by Meatball38
by Meatball38

I bought this for a 24 ft. round above ground pool. I read all the reviews and despite the negativity, took a chance. I've had it for 2 weeks now, not one leak, and the water coming into the pool is warm. Believe me, I'm no rocket scientist, but the other people having difficulty with this product make me wonder. I did put on extra clamps at all connections just to be safe. The clamps cost a couple bucks at the hardware store.

Was this review helpful? (34) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Meatball38
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
the Solar Heater for my Above-Ground Backyard Swim
4/8/2014

Customer review by chronographguy

2.0 stars 4/8/2014 by chronographguy
by chronographguy

I purchased this product two years ago with the hope of warming my 10 foot diameter backyard above-ground pool for the summer. It was not hard to set up, although I had to go and purchase an extension hose as the one(s) included are only about six feet long each. I have to say that I BARELY noticed any warm up at all, even after weeks of use. Maybe 2-3 degrees, IF that! The price, I suppose, is worth it, but I would not recommend that anyone buy this product with hopes of COMFORTABLY warming the pool whatsoever! I think that if you were to buy a 25-50 foot length of garden house and lay it in the sun, it would work WAY better than this product does with a lot less cost...the simple matter is one of physics: the coiled length of hose provided inside this heater does not provide enough surface area to adequately warm a swimming pool more than 2-3 degrees. SORRY!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chronographguy
Vallejo, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Aquaquik working so far
5/26/2009

Customer review by NJpoolguy

4.0 stars 5/26/2009 by NJpoolguy
by NJpoolguy

Today is May 26, 2009. I live in Northern NJ. We opened our 21ft. round above ground pool on May 18. It’s only been about a week, but the solar heater appears to be working. Our pool water is warmer than usual at this time of year. When we opened the pool the water temperature was 58 degrees. Over the past week it peaked at 72. We had a few sunny and 80 degree days last week and Memorial day weekend, though the nights have been cool which obviously reduces the water temperature overnight. We do have a lot of trees around the yard, so the pool only gets sun from 12;30 to approximately 6:00 pm. We do not use a solar cover. On 2 days where I closely monitored the water temperature, it jumped about 4 degrees from morning to end of day. Set up Our pool filter is located on the shady side of the pool. Purchased 2, 24ft. sections of standard 1 ½” filter hose to connect the solar unit in a sunny spot. Checked stores for black, but had to settle for beige hose. Initially, I connected the extended filter hoses directly to the unit. Had trouble with some minor leaks, and used 2 hose clamps at each connection. A few days later disconnected the unit and started over. This time I used the long and short supplied black hoses to connect to the unit, than connected the black hoses to the long filter hoses (nice tight fit). For all connections, used 2 standard filter hose clamps to ensure no leaks or accidents, and would recommend using the 2 clamps at each connection. Using the long hoses, the pressure through the hoses is fine, the return back into the pool is same as if it were a 4 foot hose directly from the filter. The water returning into the pool feels slightly warmer that the pool water, and the long return hose is slightly warmer than the feeder hose from the filter to the unit. The solar unit is quiet, you can barely hear the water running through it. In summary, so far we are satisfied with the solar heater. We are looking forward to see how it performs when the NJ weather warms up in June and July, and when the nights will be warmer to help reduce the overnight loss in water temperature.

Was this review helpful? (21) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NJpoolguy
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better than expected-Warmest pool ever
6/24/2009

Customer review by fourquarters

5.0 stars 6/24/2009 by fourquarters
by fourquarters

We price shopped these everywhere online and found Walmart to be only a few dollars higher than Sam's Club., but it 'd be easier to return if it was junk so we ordered one. After only 3 days hooked up and in the Chicago burbs we've had terribly cool weather we just got our first 80 degree day 5 days ago and our first 90 degree day yesterday. That said, our pool in 3 days has jumped from 78 to 85 to 90 today our warmest ever in 6 years!! We usually top out at 85 in the middle of July. So I'm gonna give this a huge thumbs up. It's small and easy to hook up, BUT you do need to double check the connections. Many online reviews said it leaks at the connection and ours did too. I got flex pvc(because we needed 20 feet to get this in the sunny side) and the connections is much better than the crummy pastic hose that's standard with filters. I guess for the price you can't beat it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fourquarters
Huntley,Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Follow Up to Previous Post
6/2/2009

Customer review by TBeers

4.0 stars 6/2/2009 by TBeers
by TBeers

As I stated and to be fair, I am updating my product review. I was the guy with the pinhole leaks. I called the numebr on the Owners manual. I expected a hassel with some sales rep, but instead I had Paul. By far the best customer service experience I have ever had over the phone with ANY company. I told Paul the issue, and without question, he is sending me a new one to my home. So, would I recommend this product: Yes...it works and if there is a "craftsmanship" issue, the company stands by their product, which not many people do these days...kudos to Game/Aquaquik.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TBeers
Mentor, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not worth it
10/14/2009

Customer review by LilMomma586

1.0 stars 10/14/2009 by LilMomma586
by LilMomma586

I should have known this was too good to be true. It was decently priced and compact, exactly what I was looking for. However, we used it for the entire summer, and I didn't see any change in the water temperature. Then at the end of the season, the hose busted and created a huge mess and loss of water.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LilMomma586
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Design has flaws!!!Save your money!
6/28/2009

Customer review by fourstringer

1.0 stars 6/28/2009 by fourstringer
by fourstringer

Ordered two. Started leaking around the mold seams 2 minutes after the pump was turned on. Easily sent back and a new one arrived a week later. Hooked both back up again...new one leaked at the seams immediately when the pump was turned on. Left one on...one hour later my back yard was flooded again. This time the mold expanded and then cracked.....Don't waste your money!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fourstringer
Bensalem. PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Complete waste
6/10/2009

Customer review by Circe74

1.0 stars 6/10/2009 by Circe74
by Circe74

I could not be more furious. I just attached this to my pool this morning. I glanced outside this afternoon and half of the water in my pool had emptied out. The hose just fell right out of the bottom of the system -- not where I'd attached it, but where it should be clamped onto the unit. What a complete waste of money! I'm returning it today.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Circe74
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews