Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 30 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

30 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

30 reviews | 3 out of 5

53%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
10
1-20 of 26 total reviews
53%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews
Don't Waste Your Money!
4/27/2009

Customer review by 4allunder1roof

1.0 stars 4/27/2009 by 4allunder1roof
by 4allunder1roof

Purchased 3 units and after 24 hours one broke and drained pool below skimmer and pump was running dry. I unhooked the one and shipped back to walmart and rehooked back up the other 2 and after 4 days another one busted and drained the pool and was running the pump dry again. They would break seal betwwen the bubble and the base and drain the pool. After that I sent all 3 units back for refund, they almost cost me a pump not to mention I had to refill the pool back up with cold water everytime one busted, so it defeated the purpose of even having a heater!

Was this review helpful? (46) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4allunder1roof
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It works!
6/15/2009

Customer review by Meatball38

4.0 stars 6/15/2009 by Meatball38
by Meatball38

I bought this for a 24 ft. round above ground pool. I read all the reviews and despite the negativity, took a chance. I've had it for 2 weeks now, not one leak, and the water coming into the pool is warm. Believe me, I'm no rocket scientist, but the other people having difficulty with this product make me wonder. I did put on extra clamps at all connections just to be safe. The clamps cost a couple bucks at the hardware store.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Meatball38
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Highly Impressed
6/18/2009

Customer review by WarmPool

5.0 stars 6/18/2009 by WarmPool
by WarmPool

I also decided to buy this product, despite some of the negative reviews. I figured it couldn't hurt, and if it didn't work we could always just return it to a store. I WILL NOT be returning the solar heater. It is awesome! After the first day we installed it, it raised the water temperature four degrees and has continued to keep it at that level or higher. We live in the Chicago area where we've had unseasonably cold and wet weather-most people have not even used their pools yeat, and our 24 foot above ground is four solid degrees warmer than both neighbors. I plan to purchase another unit to hook on for even warmer water. We had no problems with the piping or fits, just take your time and put it together right. My initial concern was how long I'd have to run the filter to see an increase in temperature. I think we ran the filter for about five hours in the middle of the day and saw the increase of four degrees. I highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WarmPool
Joliet, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Aquaquik working so far
5/26/2009

Customer review by NJpoolguy

4.0 stars 5/26/2009 by NJpoolguy
by NJpoolguy

Today is May 26, 2009. I live in Northern NJ. We opened our 21ft. round above ground pool on May 18. It’s only been about a week, but the solar heater appears to be working. Our pool water is warmer than usual at this time of year. When we opened the pool the water temperature was 58 degrees. Over the past week it peaked at 72. We had a few sunny and 80 degree days last week and Memorial day weekend, though the nights have been cool which obviously reduces the water temperature overnight. We do have a lot of trees around the yard, so the pool only gets sun from 12;30 to approximately 6:00 pm. We do not use a solar cover. On 2 days where I closely monitored the water temperature, it jumped about 4 degrees from morning to end of day. Set up Our pool filter is located on the shady side of the pool. Purchased 2, 24ft. sections of standard 1 ½” filter hose to connect the solar unit in a sunny spot. Checked stores for black, but had to settle for beige hose. Initially, I connected the extended filter hoses directly to the unit. Had trouble with some minor leaks, and used 2 hose clamps at each connection. A few days later disconnected the unit and started over. This time I used the long and short supplied black hoses to connect to the unit, than connected the black hoses to the long filter hoses (nice tight fit). For all connections, used 2 standard filter hose clamps to ensure no leaks or accidents, and would recommend using the 2 clamps at each connection. Using the long hoses, the pressure through the hoses is fine, the return back into the pool is same as if it were a 4 foot hose directly from the filter. The water returning into the pool feels slightly warmer that the pool water, and the long return hose is slightly warmer than the feeder hose from the filter to the unit. The solar unit is quiet, you can barely hear the water running through it. In summary, so far we are satisfied with the solar heater. We are looking forward to see how it performs when the NJ weather warms up in June and July, and when the nights will be warmer to help reduce the overnight loss in water temperature.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NJpoolguy
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/13/2013

Customer review by Innovation

5.0 stars 6/13/2013 by Innovation
by Innovation

ok people, read some bad reviews on this heater but, for 100 bucks thought I give it a shot. Heater arrived packed well to prevent damage to it. I hooked this up to a my jacuzzi pool filter pump which is rated .7 HP. When installing the in/out hoses be careful and dont over tighten the hose clamps, remember the adapters are only plastic and overtightening could crack them. Installing was quick and really simple and its been 3 weeks now and not a leak anywhere. The heater is in full sunlight and has pop up legs on one side to angle it into the sunshine. On the first day I installed it, which was a bright and sunny day, it brought my water up 4 degrees in about 6 hours. I have to say Im impressed after 3 weeks. Good product at a good price, Thanks Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Innovation
Canton, OH.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I like it
7/8/2009

Customer review by Nightnurse88

5.0 stars 7/8/2009 by Nightnurse88
by Nightnurse88

I have had my 18' round pool for 20 years, and it has been shaded by a maple tree all that time. I am torn between love of my pool, and love of that tree. I have previously owned two of those big 4'x20' black rubber solar heaters. I also paid $500 to have a platform erected to hold them up at an angle towards the sun. Worked fine, but neither one of them lasted more than one season without springing an irreparable leak. Due to age and arthritis, they were a painful challenge to put away for the winter. So this year I bought one aquaquik. During the one week that we had Sunshine, I feel it added one degree/day over what I would normally get without any heater. I followed the advice of another reviewer and used double clamps on the connections; and I have not had any leaks. I like the fact that it has it's own stand to prop it up, and that it will be easy to carry it to the basement for the winter. I plan to buy another one and hook them up in series. And Walmart, can I buy some sun to go with it??

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nightnurse88
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Follow Up to Previous Post
6/2/2009

Customer review by TBeers

4.0 stars 6/2/2009 by TBeers
by TBeers

As I stated and to be fair, I am updating my product review. I was the guy with the pinhole leaks. I called the numebr on the Owners manual. I expected a hassel with some sales rep, but instead I had Paul. By far the best customer service experience I have ever had over the phone with ANY company. I told Paul the issue, and without question, he is sending me a new one to my home. So, would I recommend this product: Yes...it works and if there is a "craftsmanship" issue, the company stands by their product, which not many people do these days...kudos to Game/Aquaquik.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TBeers
Mentor, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Better than expected-Warmest pool ever
6/24/2009

Customer review by fourquarters

5.0 stars 6/24/2009 by fourquarters
by fourquarters

We price shopped these everywhere online and found Walmart to be only a few dollars higher than Sam's Club., but it 'd be easier to return if it was junk so we ordered one. After only 3 days hooked up and in the Chicago burbs we've had terribly cool weather we just got our first 80 degree day 5 days ago and our first 90 degree day yesterday. That said, our pool in 3 days has jumped from 78 to 85 to 90 today our warmest ever in 6 years!! We usually top out at 85 in the middle of July. So I'm gonna give this a huge thumbs up. It's small and easy to hook up, BUT you do need to double check the connections. Many online reviews said it leaks at the connection and ours did too. I got flex pvc(because we needed 20 feet to get this in the sunny side) and the connections is much better than the crummy pastic hose that's standard with filters. I guess for the price you can't beat it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fourquarters
Huntley,Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not worth it
10/14/2009

Customer review by LilMomma586

1.0 stars 10/14/2009 by LilMomma586
by LilMomma586

I should have known this was too good to be true. It was decently priced and compact, exactly what I was looking for. However, we used it for the entire summer, and I didn't see any change in the water temperature. Then at the end of the season, the hose busted and created a huge mess and loss of water.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LilMomma586
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
NO Problems
6/24/2009

Customer review by MemaPapa2ktk

4.0 stars 6/24/2009 by MemaPapa2ktk
by MemaPapa2ktk

We live in Northern NY where the weather has been horrible, rainy, cloudy, and no sun... yuck! We hooked ours up the last part of May. we have seen an improvement in temp. We have had no leaks or complaints thus far... However, our pool is located in trees where we only get sun for part of the day.. My husband bought longer hoses and we move it in the morning and in the afternoon to get full sun exposure. It is light weight and easy to move.... He also bought smaller clamps to clamp the hoses down... We will be getting at least another one of these heaters...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MemaPapa2ktk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
uhoh!
8/11/2009

Customer review by poollady70

1.0 stars 8/11/2009 by poollady70
by poollady70

Broke within 30 minutes. I read all the reviews before buying and bought 2 anyway. Oh, No! It blew the covers off and would have emptied the pool if I weren't standing right there. Nice idea, poor design.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
poollady70
racine, wi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Design has flaws!!!Save your money!
6/28/2009

Customer review by fourstringer

1.0 stars 6/28/2009 by fourstringer
by fourstringer

Ordered two. Started leaking around the mold seams 2 minutes after the pump was turned on. Easily sent back and a new one arrived a week later. Hooked both back up again...new one leaked at the seams immediately when the pump was turned on. Left one on...one hour later my back yard was flooded again. This time the mold expanded and then cracked.....Don't waste your money!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fourstringer
Bensalem. PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Waste of money
7/16/2009

Customer review by MotherOfTwoTN

1.0 stars 7/16/2009 by MotherOfTwoTN
by MotherOfTwoTN

We purchased this product for our 8 foot Intex pool. The heater does not help at all. We monitor the water temperature with a thermometer, but we haven't noticed any increase in temperature after running the heater for hours every day.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MotherOfTwoTN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Complete waste
6/10/2009

Customer review by Circe74

1.0 stars 6/10/2009 by Circe74
by Circe74

I could not be more furious. I just attached this to my pool this morning. I glanced outside this afternoon and half of the water in my pool had emptied out. The hose just fell right out of the bottom of the system -- not where I'd attached it, but where it should be clamped onto the unit. What a complete waste of money! I'm returning it today.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Circe74
Would recommend to a friend? No
Bad luck with this product
5/12/2009

Customer review by jsred

1.0 stars 5/12/2009 by jsred
by jsred

I was not happy the 2nd day I had it on the pool it started leaking and was taking the water out of the pool so I took it back. Don't know if I will try it again or not.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jsred
Commerce, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/29/2009

Customer review by valarie38

5.0 stars 6/29/2009 by valarie38
by valarie38

they didnt give you enough rubber gaskets for the houses but we compremised by using the plastic cupling inside our white hoses that came with the pool.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
valarie38
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Too expensive, but it works ok.
6/23/2009

Customer review by IShopAtWalmartMichigan

4.0 stars 6/23/2009 by IShopAtWalmartMichigan
by IShopAtWalmartMichigan

I read all the above reviews plus I did several days of research online to find out that Walmart had the best price for this item. $129 is still a lot of money for this product, and I would have never bought it if it hadn't been a birthday gift. As I am writing, the product went for sale for $99, which really is the cheapest you will find online. First of all, don't get fooled by the word "solar". Don't expect this to run on a solar panel that converts the sun energy into powering a light bulb. This item is pure and only molded black plastic, that when the sun hits it, it gets warm and therefore, it warms the water that runs through the sprilal tubing. Also, it says it it cost effective as it doesn't require any power. This is not true. It will only work if it is hooked to your pool's filter. I mean that the filter needs to work in order to circulate the water. No problem if you have your filter going 24/7, but some people with smaller pools or inflatable pools might chose to run their filters just a few hours a day, or maybe it's a small pool with no filter at all. We ended up purchasing an outdoor timer, that makes the filter, and therefore the solar heater, run from 10:30am to 4:30pm, when the sun is at its warmest. Also, we've had this for about 3 weeks now, and we have a leak between the filter pipe and the heater that we haven't been able to fix. It's just a few drops so it is not a huge deal, but the leak is there, and for $129 worth of pure plastic, I thought it was worth mentioning. Finally, keep in mind that if there is no sun, or if there is partial sun, the unit will not get warmed up, and therefore, the water circulating through will be cold. When it's hot outside and lots of sun, the water gets warm on its own anyway. We also have a solar cover (looks like bubble wrap) and that helps too and it is much much cheaper. So in the end, I am partially happy with the product. I trully want to believe that it has raised the pool temperature a few more degrees, but I don't know for sure.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IShopAtWalmartMichigan
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Aquaquick Universal Solar Heater
5/15/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 5/15/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I had to return them. They were leaking at the hose connection due to the pressure of my pump. It was not something I could adjust, it was the design of the unit. I dont think they are made for large pools. If you have a small Intex pool it would probably be okay. I dont know if they will actually heat your pool because I was not able to them. I do know the price is very good. The pool store sells them for $199.00

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Livonia, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Warm!
6/24/2009

Customer review by ADogLoverInfinite

5.0 stars 6/24/2009 by ADogLoverInfinite
by ADogLoverInfinite

It works! :-)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ADogLoverInfinite
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great alternative to solar panels!
5/26/2009

Customer review by fidget64

5.0 stars 5/26/2009 by fidget64
by fidget64

So much easier than those big solar panels. Just hook it up through your filter and watch your water heat up. I have 2 connected together and they work great! I would definitely recomend this to anyone look to heat their above ground pool!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fidget64
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews