Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 183 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

183 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

183 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
127
4 stars
20
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 stars
23
1-20 of 181 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 181 total reviews
1-20 of 181 reviews
comparable to higher end moisturizers
1/5/2009

Customer review by xraymommy2

5.0 stars 1/5/2009 by xraymommy2
by xraymommy2

I purchased this product looking for an alternative to a higher end designer moisturizer that I usually purchase cosmetics from. The ingredients, quality & overall benefit have been very comparable if not exact. Price was the difference, what a value and a substantial amount less that what I normally purchase. I'm a complete convert. Have started purchasing other Neutrogena products as needed.

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
xraymommy2
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Skin burns
1/18/2016

Customer review by Minap

1.0 stars 1/18/2016 by Minap
by Minap

I don't usually give such bad reviews and I'm sure this product works for many, but just keep in mind it's not for all. After using this product for a few days, I realized that it burned when I put it on, and it left my skin being very very dry.

Comment from Neutrogena - 1/18/2016

Hello Minap. Thank you for taking the time to review our Neutrogena Oil-Free Moisture for Sensitive Skin. You mentioned that this product burned and caused some dry skin and that's not what we would expect from this product. Here at Neutrogena we take matters like this very seriously and we'd like to learn more about your experience. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048 between the hours of 8am-8pm ET Monday through Friday. We look forward to speaking with you.

Minap
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
Proactive and Neutrogena!
3/19/2013

Customer review by swingkid

5.0 stars 3/19/2013 by swingkid
by swingkid

I have been a Proactiv user since I was 18 and I am now 33. I have found the best way to clear acne and this Oil-Free Non-Comedogenic (does not clog pores) lotion is essential. Use a quarter size or more of the highest percent benzoyl peroxide and rub in completely and then use an even greater amount of this lotion you will see major improvement and clarity! Benzyol Peroxide WILL dry out the skin so you NEED THIS lotion to keep your skin in PH Balance!!!! You can find Benzoyl Peroxide in as great as 10% very cheap at the WalMart or Dollar stores! THIS LOTION IS A MUST AND I ONLY BUY AT WALMART! They do even carry the Equate version which I have used and LOVE AS WELL!!! My skin was the same no matter which brand I used!!! PLEASE DO THESE @ THINGS for your acne and you WILL BE HAPPY!!!! I AM!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
swingkid
Woodbury, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful!
1/16/2011

Customer review by LadyViolet

5.0 stars 1/16/2011 by LadyViolet
by LadyViolet

I've been using this product for almost a year now and it has been fantastic. My skin gets really dry in the winter and this moisturizer is heavy enough to keep my skin from peeling, but light enough to use during the summer when my skin get oily. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone with sensitive or oil-prone skin.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LadyViolet
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
my skin broke out
1/5/2016

Customer review by rach

1.0 stars 1/5/2016 by rach
by rach

I was looking for a good moisturizer and came across this, after the 2nd day of using it my skin broke out. i dont ever get pimples or have any breakouts so this was very upsetting to wake up and find big red pimples on my cheeks.

Comment from Neutrogena - 1/6/2016

Thanks for reaching out to us, rach! We wouldn't expect you to see more breakouts while using any of our products, and we want to learn more about what happened. Please call our consumer care center at 1-800-582-4048, Monday through Friday, 8AM to 8PM ET. Have a great rest of your day, and we're looking forward to your call!

rach
winchester, va
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
awesome facial product
6/18/2009

Customer review by hggirl29

5.0 stars 6/18/2009 by hggirl29
by hggirl29

I bought this product after trying proactive and it worked wonders compared to proactive. I used it just before i put makeup on and it never clumped my make up or made my face look weird. It actually made my face look really smooth. I also have oily skin so this was nice because it didn't add to the oil i accumulated over the course of a day. Awesome product, i would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hggirl29
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
less breakouts
12/15/2015

Customer review by dryskin

5.0 stars 12/15/2015 by dryskin
by dryskin

My skin gets dry easily. This provides good, lightweight moisture without causing me breakouts ( I have large pores).

dryskin
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Dry
Gender:Female
Great for sensitive skin
12/10/2015

Customer review by C from OC

5.0 stars 12/10/2015 by C from OC
by C from OC

This is the only moisturizer my daughter can use when her face is irritated. She can use other moisturizers normally, but when her face is irritated this is the only one that doesn't bother her.

C from OC
Oregon city,OR
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Female
Dont try this!
11/22/2015

Customer review by Eggo2

1.0 stars 11/22/2015 by Eggo2
by Eggo2

This is the worst moisturizer I've used! Gave me a rash all over my face the first time I used it! :( very disappointed in this product, especially cause it's supposedly for sensitive skin.

Comment from Neutrogena - 11/23/2015

Thank you for your review, Eggo2. We are so sorry that this happened! We'd like to chat more about your experience since this is not typical of our product. Please give us a call at 1-800-582-4048 between 8AM and 8PM ET Monday-Friday and specialist will gladly help you. Thanks again for contacting us and we wish you a wonderful day!

Eggo2
Santa Barbara ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Dry
Gender:Female
THE Best moidturizer for Rosacea
10/8/2015

Customer review by rexellamarie

5.0 stars 10/8/2015 by rexellamarie
by rexellamarie

I love this product. I have extremely sensitive, irish rosacea prone skin and this is is the only product that does not irritate it! Love it, buy it, you won't be sorry.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rexellamarie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
SOY causes irritation
11/12/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 11/12/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This product exacerbates my rosacea and causes me to break out terribly. Any one with a soy allergy must avoid this product! If you don't know why you are breaking out try to avoid soy. It is a known allergen.

Comment from Neutrogena - 11/13/2015

Thank you for your review. We would like to speak with you directly about your experience with this product. Please give us a call at 1-800-582-4048 Mon-Fri 8am-8pm ET. We look forward to hearing from you!

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Please Neutrogena-Never Discontinue this product!
5/31/2014

Customer review by anonymous001a

5.0 stars 5/31/2014 by anonymous001a
by anonymous001a

Oh, Neutrogena Oil Free Sensitive Skin Moisturizer, where have you been all my life? Over the years and across the country, I have had five dermatologists recommend this product to address the dryness and sensitivity caused by prescription acne medications without resulting in more acne blemishes. Recently, I read numerous Members Comments in Beautypedia which also stated they found this to be a great non-acnegenic moisturizer for acne prone skin that is dry and sensitive from prescription acne medication. So, I finally purchased a bottle and I 100% agree with the dermatologists and other reviewers. My skin is hydrated, calm, soft, dewy and acne free when used in combination with my prescription acne medication. This is the FIRST time I have ever been able to say this. This is a simple moisturizer which does what it says it will. Less is best sometimes. Thank you Neutrogena for this product. Please NEVER discontinue it!

anonymous001a
Planet Earth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Love this moisturizer!
5/28/2012

Customer review by EvaK

5.0 stars 5/28/2012 by EvaK
by EvaK

I just tried this for the first time and I love it! Its consistency is more similar to lotion. It is not oily and heavy, which I like. This is great for people with normal skin, but it might not be enough moisture for people with very dry skin. I also really like that I get the perfect amount of moisturizer in one pump! Sometimes I have the tendency to put too much (or not enough) on, but this lets me do less guesswork.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EvaK
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product.
2/27/2011

Customer review by CarolynnO

5.0 stars 2/27/2011 by CarolynnO
by CarolynnO

Goes on smooth and silky without any oily feel or look. Great product works very well.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CarolynnO
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Oil Free Moisture
11/21/2015

Customer review by Kathleenic52

5.0 stars 11/21/2015 by Kathleenic52
by Kathleenic52

Used this product for many years and love it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kathleenic52
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A staple in my collection
8/20/2015

Customer review by shopgirl3544

5.0 stars 8/20/2015 by shopgirl3544
by shopgirl3544

I have been using this product for a decade now. It is a must-have in my collection. It moisturizes, does not irritate or leave any oily-greasy feeling, and lasts all day long. It goes perfectly under makeup or for a fresh look. It is affordable and one bottle lasts a few months, with daily use.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shopgirl3544
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Moisturizer I have ever used.
10/29/2013

Customer review by patriska

5.0 stars 10/29/2013 by patriska
by patriska
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am 78 yrs. old and have very dry skin. I hope to never be with out this product.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
patriska
canon,Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
won't break you out
12/25/2010

Customer review by vacyn

4.0 stars 12/25/2010 by vacyn
by vacyn

This is nearly the only moisturizer I can use. It never breaks me out, goes on smoothly, and sinks in immediately. Frankly, I think oil-based products probably are more effective as wrinkle reducers, but if you need oil free, this is a great choice.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vacyn
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Burns/irritates the skin-nightmare
12/2/2014

Customer review by jg9000

1.0 stars 12/2/2014 by jg9000
by jg9000

This product is a nightmare if you either (1) use any retinoid, or (2) are a male who shaves his face. I switched to this product from Neutrogena's Healthy Defense product line (which was a dream) because stores in my area have stopped stocking it, and every time I use this new one I feel a painful burning sensation on my cheeks, beard area, and neck. It also makes my beard/neck area bright red for about 10-15 minutes. I shave in the shower to avoid irritation; I apply this moisturizer within three minutes of getting out of the shower in the morning (as recommended by the American Academy of Dermatologists and my own dermatologist); nothing seems to keep it from causing mayhem on my skin. It may be a reaction with Retin-A Micro (my non-professional thought), but seeing as Retin-A Micro used to be manufactured by OrthoNeutrogena and *suggested* Neutrogena moisturizers in conjunction, these products should be compatible. All that said, it does a fair job at keeping the skin from being dry and does last all day (if you can stand the pain from initially putting it on). I never had these problems with Healthy Defense.

Comment from Neutrogena® - 12/2/2014

We are so sorry that you are having this experience with our moisturizer. This is not typical of the product and we want to learn more about what happened. Please call us at 1-800-582-4048, we're open Monday through Friday, 8 AM-8 PM EST. We hope to hear from you soon.

jg9000
Orange County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Male
To the Rescue!
9/8/2015

Customer review by PikkoPink

4.0 stars 9/8/2015 by PikkoPink
by PikkoPink

This is one of a few moisturizers that have worked great for me. I have a bad problem with breaking out every now and then and was afraid to use other moisturizers in case it clogged up my pores. I found this product listed under the "non-comedogenic" and gave it a try. It worked GREAT. I use this after every wash (day and night) in case my skin starts to dry with the facial wash. It has helped so much with moisturizing my skin and not clogging my pores!

PikkoPink
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Female
1-20 of 181 total reviews
1-20 of 181 reviews