Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 219 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

219 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

219 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
120
4 stars
43
3 stars
13
2 stars
9
1 stars
34
1-20 of 219 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 219 total reviews
1-20 of 219 reviews
I Loved This Product Upon The First Use
1/29/2016

Customer review by AClearFaceIsAHappyFace

5.0 stars 1/29/2016 by AClearFaceIsAHappyFace
by AClearFaceIsAHappyFace

I really love this product because it's not harsh on my skin and it leaves my face feeling very clean and protected. I like to use this at night just before going to bed when it can be the most beneficial. I use this toner with the Rapid Clear Daily Scrub and amazingly the scrub and the toner together are still not too harsh. I like how the toner reduces pores and smooths the skin and it leaves my face feeling ultra clean in a way that no other products have done. A little goes a long way. It's a little scary how you can think that your face is very clean until you run a cotton ball of this toner over your face and see what the cleansers have missed. This is a great reinforcement and preventive measure against break outs for me. My skin stays clear and that is wonderful provided that I don't touch my face during the day and I don't ever fall asleep with foundation on.

AClearFaceIsAHappyFace
Pottsville PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
Ehh
1/30/2016

Customer review by Julia

2.0 stars 1/30/2016 by Julia
by Julia

I bought this looking for something primarily to help fade my acne scars. I also have some current break outs and thought it could help with that as well. I have been using this everyday, twice a day at least, for a week and I don't notice any fading with my acne scars and nothing special about helping my break outs. It does gradually dry up pimples if used more than once a day but honestly this isn't anything special.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Julia
Would recommend to a friend? No
My skin is now dry :(
10/14/2015

Customer review by Aggie2017

1.0 stars 10/14/2015 by Aggie2017
by Aggie2017

I haven't used a toner in a long time and read so many great reviews on this one, so I thought I would give it a try. Turns out I shouldn't have. I noticed there was a very strong alcohol smell which made my eyes water a lot and made my nose burn after applying it. I used it only a few times a week. My skin, which is usually oily, became extremely dry the day following my firat use. I noticed my skin felt tight and even a little flaky the next day. I even started to break out more than I usually do. During the day my skin produced a little bit of oil, but not as much as usual in. I thought my skin was just trying to adjust to the toner, so I waiting a day before trying it again. After doing so, the day after, my skin was incredibly dry, and no matter how much moisturizer I applied, it was still dry and flaky. Even today, my skin feels tight, dry, and flaky. I do not recommend this product at all. Not only did it ruin my skin, but the smell of alcohol that lingered after application is not something I find satisfying after using a face product. Not only that, but my acne scars are darker.

Comment from Neutrogena - 10/14/2015

Thanks for your review, Aggie2017. Your reaction is not something we'd expect while using our product, and we'd like to learn more about your experience. Please give us a call at 1-800-582-4048 Monday-Friday between 8AM-8PM ET. We look forward to speaking with you.

Aggie2017
College Station, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Dry
Gender:Female
I like it
12/18/2010

Customer review by BexReviewz

5.0 stars 12/18/2010 by BexReviewz
by BexReviewz

I use this with other products and I like it. I wash my face with a benzoyl peroxide soap, and use Neutrogena 3-1 Hydrating Acne Treatment Oil-Free Acne Stress Control, and Neutrogena Triple-Action Toner Oil-Free Acne Stress Control all over my face, and this stuff on the trouble spots. (Don't mix benzoyl peroxide and salicylic acid treatments unless you know your skin can take it. I had to work up to it, and I give my skin a few minutes to rest in between products) Anyway, now that I'm in my 30s I noticed my skin was taking longer to heal from blemishes. Spots would take weeks to heal. This stuff really helps to make those older spots disappear more quickly. I use it in the morning (under makeup) and before bed. When I wake up I can see the skin lightly peeling away on the spots I put it. It does have a funny smell, but I'm used to it now, and it goes away after it dries.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BexReviewz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
3/25/2012

Customer review by brittanybelle

5.0 stars 3/25/2012 by brittanybelle
by brittanybelle

i have tried many things on my face and have had no luck clearing up my acne or my some what of scars. i tried this product and was amazed by how quickly i saw my face clearing up. i saw a difference the day after i started to use this. i highly recommend this product to anyone wanting to clear up their skin.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brittanybelle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A waste of money...
7/14/2013

Customer review by FarsiGirl

1.0 stars 7/14/2013 by FarsiGirl
by FarsiGirl

My two go-to products for fighting acne flare ups used to be Rapid Clear Eliminating spot gel (for day-time use under my makeup) and the spot gel for fighting acne that came in a pen-style dispenser (for clearing up pimples overnight). I can't remember the exact name of the stuff in the pen-style dispenser but it has apparently been discontinued (I went to FIVE stores in one day but couldn't find it) and I wish it was back. It would shrink my emerging pimples overnight. The gel was very thick so it can't be used under makeup but was an amazing overnight product with a handy application method! Then I tried this new product and I hate it. The liquid in the Rapid 2-in-1 Clear gel is watery and smells disgusting. It also doesn't work as well as the thicker gel from the pen-style applicator to make zits go away. I haven't even used a fourth of it but I'm probably going to just throw it out. At least the aforementioned daytime product I use still works.

FarsiGirl
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Female
Amazing!
12/17/2015

Customer review by Anab

5.0 stars 12/17/2015 by Anab
by Anab

I've been using this product for a week now and it finally helped me get rid of my stubborn acne! I get pimples here and there but they're usually there for a LONG time and with this as soon as as was about to come out the neutrogena stopped it!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Anab
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Burned my skin
10/13/2015

Customer review by mrs_ruval

1.0 stars 10/13/2015 by mrs_ruval
by mrs_ruval

I have been using other Neutrogena products and i have had absolutely no issue. Normally i do not have sensitive skin. I recently had a baby and have had some serious acne issues and i purchased this to help tone and fight the acne that kept attacking my face. Within one day of use my face would burn after using this product. I expected some sort of tingling effect since it is used to combat acne but this was a true burn. Anything i put on my face after the toner would aslo set my skin on fire. Even if it was a simple mosturizer. My face also got red and blotchy because of it. Normally i love neutrogena products because they are effective and normally dont agitate my skin, but this is one i definately dont reccomend.

Comment from Neutrogena® - 10/13/2015

Thank you for your review, mrs_ruval. We are sorry to hear about your experience. We would like to speak with you to gather more information since this is not typical. Please call our consumer care center at 1-800-582-4048 between Mon-Fri 8AM-8PM EST. We look forward to hearing from you. Thank you!

mrs_ruval
Riverside, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
Great results
11/12/2015

Customer review by Am2Classy

5.0 stars 11/12/2015 by Am2Classy
by Am2Classy

I have stubborn acne that will stick around for weeks normally. This is the first product I have tried that clears it up in about a day. I am impressed.

Am2Classy
Beaverton, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
ACNE IS WORSE
10/28/2015

Customer review by S.M.

1.0 stars 10/28/2015 by S.M.
by S.M.

I got this product on the weekend, and now it's Tuesday night. I admit that's not an awful lot of time, but it's disappointing how ineffective this is. I have a small patch of regular, red acne on my cheek, and I have applied the toner to said patch since purchase. But now there is a large whitehead there, which is SO not what I was going for. What can I say? Definitely not looking forward to school tomorrow. :(

Comment from Neutrogena® - 10/28/2015

Hi there. We're sorry to hear that our product didn't work out for you. We'd like to speak with you to learn more about this. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our care specialists are available Monday through Friday 8am to 8pm EDT. We look forward to speaking with you.

S.M.
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
Doesn't help my skin
10/31/2015

Customer review by Jake

1.0 stars 10/31/2015 by Jake
by Jake

This cleanser doesn't really help my skin its given me more black heads its also still oily i'm having more pimples than i had before starting to use it. i'm honestly disappointed.

Comment from - 11/1/2015

Hey Jake! Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We wouldn't expect an experience like this, so we would like to learn more. If you could, please call our consumer care center at 1-800-582-4048 Monday- Friday 8am- 8pm EDT. Thank you!

Jake
Oakland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Male
Finallyyy!
8/12/2012

Customer review by jvictoria

4.0 stars 8/12/2012 by jvictoria
by jvictoria

I have been searching for a good acne product as I have mild acne, and am constantly under stress and breaking out (I'm a college student & work full time)! This product works so well! When using cotton pad, even AFTER I wash my face, I can still literally SEE the access oil (I have oily skin) coming off, and I don't wear a lot of makeup. This doesn't make my skin dry out, but perhaps if you have sensitive skin I would recommend using a lotion 15 mins afterwards. You immediately see results if u stick with the routine (1-Oil Eliminating Foaming Cleanser, 2-in-1 Fight and Fade Toner, followed by spot treatment and or lotion) using 2-3 times per day! I like the smell not too strong. I have been using this product for 2-3 months now, and still have great results. I btw am STILL using the same bottle I bought in the first place, and I use 2-3x per day, or more if I'm working out/sweating to remove access oil (like this summer!) This product lasts forever! I only gave it 4/5 stars bc I still get a few zits during my menstrual cycle, but I would reccommned this to anyone! TRY THIS!

jvictoria
Jackson, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Acne is worse!
9/29/2015

Customer review by ambersimps

1.0 stars 9/29/2015 by ambersimps
by ambersimps

After researching and reading reviews, I gave this toner a shot. Not only did it not clear any of my acne, it actually made my skin worse!! I've been using the product for 2 weeks, and have started getting huge pimples in places I never get pimples. It also has an overpowering scent of alcohol, but I pretty much expected that. I'm so disappointed in this product! I guess the search continues......

Comment from Neutrogena - 9/29/2015

Thank you for your review, Ambersimps. This is not typical of our product and we’d like to learn more about your experience. Please give us a call at 1-800-582-4048 and a representative will gladly help you. Thanks again for contacting us and have a wonderful day!

ambersimps
OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
BURNED MY SKIN; WORSE NOW THAN BEFORE
10/2/2015

Customer review by princess

1.0 stars 10/2/2015 by princess
by princess

I have only used this product for a few days, however, my skin is worse than it was before. My skin is starting to peel terribly and it burns all day. My face feels tight constantly even after moisturizing it several times a day. I have oily skin, however, I did not expect my skin to feel dry and tight. I will be discontinuing this product.

Comment from Neutrogena - 10/3/2015

Thanks for your review, princess. We wouldn't expect this reaction while using our product and would like to learn more. Please give us a call at 1-800-582-4048 between 8AM to 8PM EST Monday-Friday. We look forward to hearing from you.

princess
S Chesterfield, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
Love this toner.
3/14/2013

Customer review by Heather728

5.0 stars 3/14/2013 by Heather728
by Heather728

I have never been a big user of toner but recently discovered how important it is. I have been having a lot of problems with my skin breaking out lately and I have tried so many other products. I know Neutrogena is a good brand so I looked into this line because of the word "rapid" in the name. That's what I needed something to get rid of my acne FAST! I bought this toner along with the facial scrub and lotion from the line to make my own three step system like other acne systems out there. I wash my face with the scrub, use the toner, and then apply the lotion. This toner is so refreshing, you can smell that it has alcohol in it but it doesn't burn like other toners. It has done wonders for my skin. I can also notice my old acne marks fading after a few weeks of continued use which is awesome. This line also does a good job of controlling my oily skin without over drying.

Heather728
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
Neutrogena 2-In-1 Fight & Fade Gel Rapid Clear
9/16/2010

Customer review by Koukla124

5.0 stars 9/16/2010 by Koukla124
by Koukla124

Seems to fade and decrease blemsihes as indicated. I must have liked it becuase I bought another one.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Koukla124
Astoria, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
AWESOME toner!
9/21/2013

Customer review by mistyl35

4.0 stars 9/21/2013 by mistyl35
by mistyl35

I started using this toner about a month ago. I had a few old acne scars, and a large new one right by my mouth, it was almost a purple shade, hideous! So after using for about a week, I couldn't really see a difference, like other reviews had claimed. Now that it has been a month, the large acne scare by mouth has faded 75%. I've had people notice that it's no longer visible. I use it once a day, after washing my face and follow it up with moisturizer to keep it from drying my face out. I think the smell is a little alcoholy, but it doesn't last long. So if you've been using this for 1-2 weeks and are discouraged you haven't seen results yet, GIVE IT TIME!!!! This isn't a miracle toner that will heal marks in a few days. It has also helped my overall skin tone. I love this product and with regular use, I have no doubt it will fully clear up my scars!!

mistyl35
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
Not what I was hoping for
8/11/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 8/11/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I wish I could say this product worked for me, so far it hasn't. Since using it my face has broken out in acne even more than usual. I was hoping that it was just an initial reaction to the product and that it would subside after a little while, but it's been about two weeks and it's still worse. I wanted it to help get rid of my acne scars and so far it's only created more. Wish it worked as well for me as it did for others.

Comment from Neutrogena® - 8/12/2015

We are so sorry that our toner made your skin break out. This is not what we would expect from our product and we want to learn more about what happened. Please call us at 1-800-582-4048, we're open Monday through Friday, 8 AM-8 PM ET. One of our care specialists will be happy to help you. We look forward to your call, have a great day.

An anonymous customer
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
Works pretty well ...
4/21/2015

Customer review by AsherK

4.0 stars 4/21/2015 by AsherK
by AsherK

I like this stuff and will likely repurchase. Is it a miracle product that will make all blemishes disappear without a trace overnight? No, that's not realistic for any product. But, I've found that it does significantly reduce the amount of time it takes for pimples to go away and also really helps with the marks left behind with regular use. Like most anything else, it's more effective if you use it regularly. With little blemishes that are just popping up, this gets rid of them super quick. With bigger ones that are deeper within the skin, it takes a few days but it does really help. It noticeably fades acne marks if you apply on a daily basis. It doesn't really do much for cystic acne, but most spot treatments aren't designed for that.

Comment from Neutrogena® - 4/22/2015

Hi AsherK! Thank you for taking the time to stop by. We would love chat more about your experience. Please give us a call at 1-800-582-4048, we're open Monday through Friday, 8 AM-8 PM EDT. Looking forward to speaking with you! Thank you!

AsherK
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Female
Don't break your routine!
6/8/2012

Customer review by woahmama

5.0 stars 6/8/2012 by woahmama
by woahmama

I bought the Fight and Fade toner for that exact reason... to fight my stubborn cheek acne (which, at 21, just started getting) and to diminish my scars from past acne. I will first say, don't break your face care routine when using this! At least in my experience, I would be lazy a night or two out of the week and would go to bed with the day's makeup on my face. I know this is a huge no-no in general, but once I would stop using this stuff for a night, I had the worst acne of my life on my cheeks that week. Now, to the good stuff. I had a terrible acne mark on my cheek from a blemish (sounds nicer that pimple/zit) I had from about 8 months ago. I never thought this dark mark/indentation would go away. IT DID!!! Long story (already told) short, it works, keep up with your face-care routine and I hope you are not dissatisfied. :)

woahmama
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 219 total reviews
1-20 of 219 reviews