Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 94 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

94 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

94 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
69
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 stars
3
1-20 of 93 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 93 total reviews
1-20 of 93 reviews
Amazing For Acne/Sensitive Skin!
7/25/2012

Customer review by Shadowess

5.0 stars 7/25/2012 by Shadowess
by Shadowess

I bought Neutrogena's Rapid Clear Facial lotion when I learned that moisturizing your face is a big step in combating acne. My acne cleared up with the use of this and the Rapid Clear cleanser, but I still love, love, love this lotion! It goes on very light, doesn't feel greasy at all, keeps my skin soft and moisturized all day without becoming oily, and works exceptionally well under makeup (isn't thick or clogging). I have oily skin, and finding the right lotion was a chore, but once I started using this Rapid Clear lotion, I was hooked. I've been using it for 3 years now, and the quality is still the same - great! You don't need a lot, it spreads well, and I cannot stress how light and great it feels! My skin is also sensitive, and this does not burn, sting, cause irritation or redness at all, like a lot of anti-acne products do! I adore this lotion, and religiously buy another one when I'm getting low. Overall, nothing negative to report, it's a fantastic lotion that works very well. :)

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shadowess
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Second-time purchaser
6/15/2016

Customer review by Stef

5.0 stars 6/15/2016 by Stef
by Stef
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Not harsh on my sensitive skin. Helps except with hormonal acne.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stef
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best thing ever
5/24/2016

Customer review by Goss

5.0 stars 5/24/2016 by Goss
by Goss

This is possibly the best skin care product I have ever bought. And every time I think my bottle is empty I'm able to keep getting more from it for another month. My skin was so clear and soft every day because of this!

Goss
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Effective and non-drying
3/12/2016

Customer review by Liza7

5.0 stars 3/12/2016 by Liza7
by Liza7

This 2% salycilic product helps inmensely with my blemish-prone skin. I love it because it help decrease the frequency of breakouts, doesnt dry my skin out (in fact it moisturizes it some), its not irritating and the sturdy packaging and amount are great. It makes clogged pores come to a head faster, and helps keep my skin nice and smooth. My skin also looks and feels better after I use it, maybe less red? More even? more calm? cant put my finger on it. Anyway, I buy this product in twos because I never want to run out. I really HOPE this never gets discontinued because ill have to start buying my salycilic acid online then. All an all, LOVE it. Reccomend it holehartedly.

Liza7
Mayaguez, PR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Female
Only used because you discontinued THE BEST!!
1/20/2015

Customer review by Feeling let down

3.0 stars 1/20/2015 by Feeling let down
by Feeling let down

I've been using this because you have discontinued Oil Free Acne Stress Control 3 in 1 Hydrating Acne Treatment. I had luckily stockpiled it after the last time it went off the shelves, so I haven't had to use this too long. It works, but it is not even close to as good as the discontinued product. I used the other product every day, 2x. I can't use this product every day. It is irritating and drying. This makes my skin feel tight, the other made it feel soft and smooth on top of treating my pores and acne. My skin looked great before- more even, it looks just ok now. PLEASE bring back the Hydrating Acne Treatment! I don't want to, but if I have to, I will pay more money next purchase for a product that works like the old Neutrogena product (from another company). This has made me rethink using any other Neutrogena products, if you are just going to keep pulling them, when there is OBVIOUS demand for them.

Comment from Neutrogena® - 1/20/2015

We are sorry to hear about your experience with our product. We would like to take the opportunity to gather some additional information about what happened since this is not typical. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our specialists are available Monday-Friday 8AM-8PM EST. We look forward to speaking with you.

Feeling let down
Annapolis, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
Great Product
4/18/2016

Customer review by Jenny

5.0 stars 4/18/2016 by Jenny
by Jenny

This product works, especially if used daily. I've been using it for years, and really notice a difference in my skin. I have fewer major outbreaks and my skin is smoother and more even looking.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jenny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Can't Find
4/2/2016

Customer review by sdlost1

4.0 stars 4/2/2016 by sdlost1
by sdlost1

I like the product but for some reason in the area I live and I have checked in multiple cities and even in different states, the product is no where to be found. Is the product discontinued?

sdlost1
Pierre, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Male
Blemishes bye bye!
10/29/2014

Customer review by glitterSmitter

4.0 stars 10/29/2014 by glitterSmitter
by glitterSmitter

I dread the word acne, I have had the worst experience with adult cystic acne and had to go through a cycle of accutane a year ago. Now that I am off it, my skin is getting oily and the blemishes are coming back. So I got this product to try for sometime and I am pleasantly surprised as to how great it is. Although I changed my skincare routine quite a bit, this product plays a big part in it. I wash my face with Panoxyl with the ecotools konjac sponge. Then follow with using Simple soothing toner. Then I apply this, let it sit for a while then use Smashbox primer/ Olay total seven effects during the day. During the night, I use the Julep serum. My skin feels soft and supple and blemish free. The only downside to this product is that it doesn't have sun protection which would make it the perfect product out there. I recommend trying for a while. Just make sure, you don't overuse and dry out your skin.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
glitterSmitter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It Worked!!!
5/17/2015

Customer review by Paksen

5.0 stars 5/17/2015 by Paksen
by Paksen

I have always had problems with acne and I have used a ton of OTC products searching for something that can clean up my skin without the serious drying issues. The acne was livable in my thirties, but now that I have entered menopause I once again have the skin of a 13-16 year old! Big painful zits, blackeads, large pores and everything else in between. After consulting with my doctor I started a vitamin regimen and made changes to my diet, and that helped a bit, but I still had breakouts and dry patches. I saw the Neutrogena Rapid Clear in a pack wtith the cleanser and the lotion so I thought I would give it a try. One week after I started the dry patches on my face were gone the worst of the acne was cleared up. One month into this and I have noticed the blackheads are gone and the large pores on my nose have shrunk noticeably. I also have some scar tissue from a car accident that is usually pretty sensitve, but the cleanser doesn't bother the scars at all. I hope to find this product on the shelves for a long time! And if my skin changes again I will work with Neutrogena products before anything else.

Paksen
Lomira, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Female
Works.
8/10/2013

Customer review by BellaSun

5.0 stars 8/10/2013 by BellaSun
by BellaSun
Top 1000 contributor

I have adult acne. My skin is above average oily (all over my face...tons of oil). This product worked the first day. My breakouts have calmed down. My very oily skin is somewhat under control and even somewhat dry on my cheeks now. I have not had any new breakouts either. For the rapid results I would have to give this 2 thumbs up. Definitely looking into other Neutrogena products for acne prone and oily skin to go with this product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BellaSun
Southeast Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Good for oily skin / Reduces inflammation
7/3/2014

Customer review by Boxer007

4.0 stars 7/3/2014 by Boxer007
by Boxer007

I think this is one of the better products on the market that contain salicylic acid. Since it's a lotion, the salicylic actually stays on the skin which makes it do the work, unlike washing it off in a scrub or something. I have moderately oily skin, and this is the only product that doesn't make it dry/or more oily. The acne fighting part is both hit and miss. Since using it, I noticed a lot fewer breakouts, and when applied on pimple it usually reduces the swelling/makes heal faster. It's excellent for PIH (red marks) left after acne. Mine have been fading rapidly since using this product. I recommend for people with oily skin that have occasional breakouts/blackheads, or red marks. I usually apply a small pea size dab on cheeks/chin, and the same for forehead. I put some more on actual pimples/or critical zones. The small bottle lasts up about 3 months.

Boxer007
Asheville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Male
It actually works!!
2/17/2016

Customer review by patty

4.0 stars 2/17/2016 by patty
by patty

Bought this product based on the reviews, tried it out and it leaves my skin soft and moisturized.

patty
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
Great Lotion for Oily Skin.
3/14/2013

Customer review by Heather728

5.0 stars 3/14/2013 by Heather728
by Heather728

I have been using this lotion as part of my own self made three step system to clear my acne breakouts for a month. I first use the scrub and toner from the Rapid clear line and finish with this lotion. It is excellent! The lotion is not too thick, not too thin and absorbs quickly into my skin. It doesn't leave me feeling oily either, just soft. I love it. I also like that it has Salicylic Acid in it so I know I am fighting my acne the whole time I have it on. With continued use I have seen a drastic improvement in my acne and the look and feel of my skin. I think I finally found a winner! The only improvement I would make to it would be to add SPF because it is so important, especially when using acne medications. For this reason I only use this lotion at night, and use a different oil free lotion with SPF for the day.

Heather728
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
Absolutely Love This Lotion
12/30/2015

Customer review by Tina

5.0 stars 12/30/2015 by Tina
by Tina

Lotion goes on smooth and coverage is awesome. Keeps shine down. Does not dry out skin. Helps with controlling acne. Great for sensitive skin. I LOVE this lotion.

Tina
Lombard, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
It started good but...
7/25/2013

Customer review by sarah vegas

2.0 stars 7/25/2013 by sarah vegas
by sarah vegas

I'm so mixed about my rating for this product. I used the rapid clear oil-control foaming cleanser, the rapid clear fight and fade gel, and the rapid clear acne defense lotion altogether at the same time. When I first started using this combination, it was ok. No immediate results but it didn't get worse. After the 5th day I noticed a dramatic improvement! It even cleared up my stubborn cluster of pimples on the side of my face. I couldn't have been more pleased even though the acne defense lotion did seem to make my skin look more oily. Then exactly ONE week later - boom - my forehead started breaking out like crazy! And I practically NEVER break out on my forehead! I don't understand and I'm so sad because it started off so well. I don't know which of these three products is responsible for my acne clear-up or break out but I'm afraid to test it out on their own. I'm glad for the people who this worked for but I wished it had worked for me too :( I'm trying the 3 step Neutrogena Complete Acne Therapy System and I will see how that goes. *** Anyway, I really did like the smell of this lotion. The price seems expensive but I only needed a little bit at a time so it would last a while actually if I had continued it. It says "oil-free" but it made my skin look really oily.

sarah vegas
honolulu, hawaii
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Female
This is a miracle product for me.
9/26/2010

Customer review by Marilyn Topchef

5.0 stars 9/26/2010 by Marilyn Topchef
by Marilyn Topchef

I have been searching for years for a product that will stop ugly breakouts and reduce the extreme oiliness of my skin and found this quite by accident when it was purchased by my daughter. After just a few days use, my skin is completely clear and less oily. Breakouts are rare and when they do occur are very small and clear up almost overnight. I can't believe it. My skin is very oily so I do not experience any excess drying as in some of the products prescribed by my dermotologist that never cleared up or prevented blemishes. I've heard that this product is being discontinued and I truly hope that is not the case! I cannot find it in any stores so I purchase it in bulk online.

Marilyn Topchef
Edison, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is the only thing that works on my skin!
1/19/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/19/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This product is so hard to find in stores! I don't know if it's being discontinued or not, but I have a few tubes that I ordered online. It's a little expensive for me (I'm a penny-pincher) but it is DEFINITELY worth it! My skin tends to react to a lot of acne creams/ointments and toners. However, this product works well on my skin. It doesn't make my skin oily, which is great because my skin is oily enough, and it keeps the acne away! Now, I do not have NEARLY as much acne as I used to. My skin still isn't acne-free, however this lotion really helps to minimize the amount/size of acne on my face. This product is simply FANTASTIC! I will DEFINITELY be purchasing some more soon!

An anonymous customer
United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
53 year old skin
10/20/2015

Customer review by god's girl

5.0 stars 10/20/2015 by god's girl
by god's girl

I don't know what I would do without this product! It keeps my skin from breaking out or being too dry. Perfect for me!

god's girl
Gainesville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Dry
Gender:Female
Not sure if i like this
12/2/2011

Customer review by SarahK313

4.0 stars 12/2/2011 by SarahK313
by SarahK313

I have always used Neutrogena products and I just recently stopped using the skinID bc it was too expensive. I like this product so far but can't tell if its work yet because my skin has been funny ever since i stopped using the skinID. So after about a week or two now of using this product it seems to be really working now. I use this in the morning and put it on before bed. I love the way it feel on my face, my face feels moisteirized but not to heavy or oily and it does help with breakouts. I think i'll continue to use this. It seems very similar to a product I used under the skinID program and it much cheaper.

SarahK313
East Amherst, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Over *ahem* 40 skin stays clear!
8/29/2014

Customer review by KurleeEdna

5.0 stars 8/29/2014 by KurleeEdna
by KurleeEdna

I've struggled with acne cysts for many years (not to mention oiliness, enlarged pores, hyper-pigmentation, eczema...), so it's hard to keep my skin looking good. I've been using this product (every morning underneath an SPF 30 moisturizer) for several years now. It's the only one that keeps my skin clear without causing any sensitivity issues. (I've also added the Rapid Wrinkle Repair (w/ retinol) at night, and just today, my boss asked me if I was less stressed because my skin looked so good!) But this product is SO hard to find! Why??? Anytime I do find it, I try to buy several at a time!

KurleeEdna
Anderson, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
1-20 of 93 total reviews
1-20 of 93 reviews