Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 208 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

208 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

208 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
156
4 stars
39
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 stars
2
1-20 of 207 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 207 total reviews
1-20 of 207 reviews
My dog loves taste I love health benefits
5/1/2009

Customer review by Lexis67

5.0 stars 5/1/2009 by Lexis67
by Lexis67

My dog is an Iams dog, he loves the taste and I love the health benefits of this food. I noticed after he came to me from the shelter he was skinny, his black coat dull, after a few weeks his coat was shinier and looked healthier and he gained weight and his energy level was higher. I fed Iams to my last dog and had excellent results as well.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lexis67
Haverhill, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product
10/11/2010

Customer review by griff317

5.0 stars 10/11/2010 by griff317
by griff317

We have two great danes and they love this dog food. Of course we go through 200pounds a month but they love eating it and we haven't had any problems at all.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
griff317
Havelock, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Iams Large Breed Proactive Dry Food
12/31/2009

Customer review by CDEK

5.0 stars 12/31/2009 by CDEK
by CDEK

I've been feeding IAMS dry food exclusively for 15 years now. Recently had my 14 year old Husky to vet for wellness check-up which included blood work. The Vet called and left this message "if I didn't better I'd swear this dog is only 7 or 8 years old looking at his lab results. Don't know what you're doing but keep it up." My Vet recommends Science Diet, which he sells and cost a great deal more than IAMS. As stated above the what I'm doing is feeding ONLY Iams dry food 100% of the time.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CDEK
Warren, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product.
12/2/2011

Customer review by CurleySue2010

5.0 stars 12/2/2011 by CurleySue2010
by CurleySue2010

Iams is recommended by my dog's vet so we have used this brand for around 12 years. My dogs seem to love it. I use it as a treat too and for training. I don't think that my dogs have anything negative to bark about this dog food. I like the beneficial ingredients in the product. Thanks

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CurleySue2010
Palm Coast, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
AN EXCELLENT DOG FOOD....
1/9/2012

Customer review by MIKEBOAT

5.0 stars 1/9/2012 by MIKEBOAT
by MIKEBOAT

AN EXCELLENT DOG FOOD....

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MIKEBOAT
98248
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Same Ingredient as Biofuel
9/18/2014

Customer review by lilhags06

2.0 stars 9/18/2014 by lilhags06
by lilhags06

We were excited to try the Iams ProActive Health Large breed dog food after receiving it on our front door. I started out by reading the ingredient list, which I have to say I was not very impressed. Meat is the first ingredient, that is the positive note here. However, corn meal, ground whole grain sorghum, & chicken by-product meal are the top 3 ingredients besides real meat. I didn’t know what Ground Whole Grain Sorghum was so I looked it up. It is used to make molasses, alcoholic beverages, and biofuel. I don’t want my dog eating something that can be used as a biofuel. Corn is also hard for dogs to digest, so corn meal is not a top ingredient for my dog. Neither is any by-product meal. By-product meal is ground up feet, brains, heads, feathers, necks, intestines and even undeveloped eggs. That is the LAST thing I’d want my dog to eat on a daily basis. Even though he had no problem chowing down on his food, I had a problem with him doing so. I will be sticking with Blue Buffalo.

lilhags06
O Fallon, MO
GREAT PRODUCT
7/7/2009

Customer review by L2BAB2

5.0 stars 7/7/2009 by L2BAB2
by L2BAB2

It's still a little expensive but not as expensive what you can buy at the vets office... This product has my 3 dogs in great condition. The little one will only eat the big breed kind but as healthy as can be and not over weight. My Rottweiler was developing tight tendons in his joints and this food helped solve the problem. This is an awesome product that Wal-Mart has to offer to the public!!! The vet is amazed with their health and he recommends this food.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
L2BAB2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Dogs Love Iams
9/18/2014

Customer review by kas859

5.0 stars 9/18/2014 by kas859
by kas859

I have 2 dogs and they both love the Iams ProActive Adult Large Breed dog food. Our older dog is definitely a large breed; she weighs about 90-100 pounds. Our younger dog just thinks she is a large breed, but she only weighs about 10 pounds. I usually give large breed food to the older dog and small/toy breed food to the younger dog, but sometimes they both get the large breed food. Both of them love the Iams ProActive Adult Large Breed. My sister and I know if the dogs enjoy their food by how much their tails wag when they are eating, and they both wag their tails the entire time they eat the Iams ProActive Large Breed. They also get very excited when it is time to give them more food because they enjoy it so much. The younger one will actually start jumping up to try to get to the food before it is even in her bowl and the older one will follow us and guide the scoop of food into her bowl. We will definitely continue to buy Iams ProActive Large Breed dog food.

kas859
Fort Smith, AR
Iams ProActive Health Large Breed Dog Food Review
9/18/2014

Customer review by EmpyrealOwl

5.0 stars 9/18/2014 by EmpyrealOwl
by EmpyrealOwl

With the Iams ProActive Health Large Breed Dog food that I received awesomely free to try out, I have lucked out greatly. I Love that the first ingredient was not corn, which in most cases with dog food, it usually is. That is what I look for with animal products over anything else, the ingredients quality. And with this brand, you all can be rest assured that your beloved pets are getting the proper diet they need. I followed the directions, and started my dog Katana out with a mixture. At first, because of this dreaded heat, she didn't eat much of anything, which has been the case over the past few weeks with her old, regular dog food. But then once I measured out the correct amount with the measuring cup that was also in the package, (as well as an Iams keychain) with just the Iams ProActive, she has been gobbling it up better! My doggy and I approve! To those unsure about the brand, I recommend Iams ProActive Health Large Breed Dog food.

EmpyrealOwl
Gaston, SC
Unappealing for Dog
9/18/2014

Customer review by edalberg

1.0 stars 9/18/2014 by edalberg
by edalberg

My dog has had traditional Iams food since the day we brought her home (initially the puppy brand, now the adult brand). She always enjoys eating and will remind me if I am late in putting food in her bowl. She always eats every last piece. I assumed that she would like this new product would be just as enjoyable, if not more so given the emphasis on the first ingredient being chicken. When I first gave her the food, she would take some bites and then would be done. I assumed that she was not feeling well. However, after a few days of that eating pattern (whining for food, eating a few bites, then walking away) I decided to try the original Iams food again. She cleaned her bowl and has every night since, except when I tried the ProActive Health formula again. I really wanted to like this, as I have always had a great experience feeding my family dogs with Iams. However, we will be sticking to the original product, not switching to this one.

edalberg
Elk Grove Village, IL
Dogs loved it!
9/18/2014

Customer review by rylivers

5.0 stars 9/18/2014 by rylivers
by rylivers

When the bag of Iams ProActive Health Adult Large breed arrived, I brought the bag inside and placed it on the floor in the kitchen. I have a 13 year old English Bulldog and a 7 year old Bischon Frise. They immediately walked over to the bag and laid down beside it with their nose facing the bag. I had some things to do before I fed them but they waited right beside the bag until it was time. They both ran outside to where their bowls stay and paced around me while I filled their bowls. They did not hesitate once they started eating and neither of them stopped before they were finished. I was excited that they enjoyed the food. I have always bought Iams for my dogs and now that they are getting older, especially the bulldog, I am glad there is food made for them. I really like that the food is made from chicken and eggs. After feeding my dogs this food for a couple of weeks now, I can tell that my dogs really enjoy their food and I know that they are getting something healthy that maintains strong bones and helps with aching joints.

rylivers
Mebane, NC
Good food just not for my pooch.
9/18/2014

Customer review by Nublina

3.0 stars 9/18/2014 by Nublina
by Nublina

Well my dog is just about done with his free bag of Iams Proactive Health for Adult Large Breed dog food that I received from Iams and I have to say I wasn't terribly impressed. I fed it to my 3 year old German Shorthair dog. At first my dog Scout was so excited for the new dog food. He happily gobbled it up the first couple of days after he completely transitioned over to Iams but as time passed I noticed his enthusiasm for his new food subsided. It got to the point where he was actually leaving food in his bowl which is unheard of for him. German Shorthair dogs are a very active breed so he likes to eats a lot. I did not find a reason to switch my dog to Iams though. I actually noticed a slight dulling of his coat and it gave him gas. I really don't like feeding my dogs any food with any type of grains but after reviewing the ingredients I gave it a chance. I usually feed my dogs grain free dog food. I will stick to a grain free diet for my dogs. Grain free food is a little bit more expensive but I believe that's what is best for them anyway.

Nublina
Saint Charles, MO
Healthy food lasts longer and my dog loves it!
9/18/2014

Customer review by romeosfaves

5.0 stars 9/18/2014 by romeosfaves
by romeosfaves

I was excited to have my dog try the Iams Proactive Health dog food mostly because the first ingredient is chicken. But then I found out that it also has minerals and prebiotics that would keep my dog healthy and make sure his bones stay strong. The big question was if he would like the food. I followed the directions by gradually increasing the amount of the Iams into his usual food until there was a complete switch over. My dog loved the Iams Proactive Healthy kibbles more than his old food! As a bonus the directions on the bag said that I didn't have to feed as much of the Iams compared to my dog's old food. Additionally I noticed that there were smaller waste deposits left in the yard to clean up. I feel super good about feeding Iams Proactive Healthy to my dog because I know it's good for him AND he likes it. While it does cost a bit more than some other dog foods, the benefits outweigh that little extra cost!

romeosfaves
Appleton, WI
If Only She Could Speak
9/18/2014

Customer review by ednamarie

4.0 stars 9/18/2014 by ednamarie
by ednamarie

My sweet Endo has completely transferred over to Iams® ProActive Health™. As far as taste and whether or not she enjoys it, I'd say we have a winner. There aren't many dry dogs foods that she will even touch but she gobbles this up. Happy as this makes me, I was a little confused come review time. The product being for aging dogs or shall i say middle aged,I assume some review points should be based on whether or not Iams ProActive Health has kept "members strong, healthy and playful from puppyhood into their golden years". Unfortunately I don't understand how I could notice in such a short time or even predict my dog's future. There has been no change in her playfulness though she has always been strong, as her breed is. Overall what matters to me is that Iams is a trusted brand by my Vet and I.My sweet girl actually likes it therefore its worth the buy. Before you purchase talk to your vet to see what the best option is for your dog and know that dog foods aren't miracle cures and dogs aren't going to be puppylike whenthey are 10. If only she could talk lol.

ednamarie
North Wilkesboro, NC
my dogs love it
9/18/2014

Customer review by jojo2014

5.0 stars 9/18/2014 by jojo2014
by jojo2014

my dogs love this food. i normally buy other brands of food, but i got a free sample from #iams. apparently it's good stuff. the first time i poured it into their bowls, they scarfed it in under a minute. i thought they were going to explode because they ate it so fast. haha! then they started begging me for more. i don't know what they put in this dog food (i did check the ingredients and i'm no pet nutrition expert but it does seem pretty healthy) but my dogs LOVE it. now every time i feed it to them, i gotta make sure to limit what they eat because they eat it so fast and want more of it. my dogs say "woof woof!" translated into "more more!" hey, if my dogs are happy, i'm happy. now i don't have to wait forever for them to finish their food or make them eat their dinners (like a kid hahaha!). i've heard about IAMS for a while now. haven't really gotten around to checking them out. but now i see why i hear about them all the time. they apparently make really good stuff. right now, i'm curious what it tastes like. maybe i'll try a bite. hhaaha! just kidding!!

jojo2014
Dublin, CA
Iams dog gone good
9/18/2014

Customer review by wld70schld

5.0 stars 9/18/2014 by wld70schld
by wld70schld

I want to start by saying that my dogs have always eaten Iams food, the lamb and rice version. I was unsure if they would even try this version being that they are picky eaters. I was also not sure that they would try it because the pieces of food are much bigger than the food they eat normally. I started feeding by mixing the both foods equally in their bowls for three days . There were no issues with them eating the food , they also had no issues of getting sick from trying a new food . The fourth day on they were feed only the Iams large breed. They ate it up as if it was their normal food. They had no issues with chewing it and no digestive issues. I would recommend this food as my dogs had no negative issues. I have attached 2 pictures , one is my border collie , Lefty eating the food and the other is a piece of the Iams large breed ( the large piece of food ) next to their normal food Ians Kamb and rice.

wld70schld
Hubbard, OH
Crunchy, meaty, and wholesome.
9/18/2014

Customer review by BearCx

5.0 stars 9/18/2014 by BearCx
by BearCx

I have used Iiams for over 25 years, unfortunately, I hate the price, but it has always been good for my dogs. Easy on the stomach, great coats, and less poo. I have tried cheaper foods, which have upset my dogs stomachs and the dyes end up staining my carpet. Our Golden Retriever has been on Iams since he was a puppy. It was what our breeder was feeding, so we just continued using it when we brought Tucker home at 8 weeks old. He was on the Iams large breed puppy formula up until he was 7 or 8 months old and then we switched him to this Iams adult large breed and he has done wonderfully on it. He has a shiny and soft coat, lots of energy, and he is at a perfect weight for his age. He also seems to like this food. He always cleans his bowl. We are huge Iams fans. Our 4 cats also eat Iams cat food and our 10-year-old German Shepherd also eats this Iams large breed formula. We will continue using this food for our dogs! We are actually going to be getting a new Golden Retriever puppy this coming winter from the same breeder we got Tucker from and he will also be on Iams!

BearCx
Espanola, NM
Dog Foodilicious
9/18/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/18/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I'm skeptical of changing my dogs food because of his sensitive stomach...but I hear great things about the Iams product and wanted to give it a try for our Americam Bulldog, Skylar. I first started by adding small amounts of the Iams food to his regular food. He seemed to take the new food well. Normally it would upset his belly to the point of puking. By day 4 I was giving him all Iams. He loved it. NO upset belly at all. We rescued our dog at the beginning of this year. He was abandoned in a home that his humans were evicted from. He was thin, dehydrated and scared. Our local humane league nursed him back to health and now he is a very important part of our family. We want only the best for him and in our opinion, Iams food is the absolute best. Our Skylar is happy, healthy and has a beautiful shiney coat. I would recommend Iams to any and everyone. We will only buy and feed our dog Iams food.

An anonymous customer
Lancaster, PA
IAMS Proactive Health Dog Food
9/18/2014

Customer review by ghpc70

5.0 stars 9/18/2014 by ghpc70
by ghpc70

I was so excited that my dogs were chosen by IAMS to sample IAMS Proactive Health dog food. When the free sample bag arrived in the mail, my dogs were so excited, as well! They were able to sniff out the scent of the food immediately. That same evening, I made the switch and my dogs absolutely loved this food and because they loved it, I loved it too! I am thrilled at how much they enjoyed eating it - it has such an irresistible taste to them. I love that it has all of the essential nutrients my dogs need to live a happy, healthy life. My dogs are like my children and as such, I could not be happier to have found a healthy and nutritious dog food that they will enjoy throughout the remainder of their lives. I will be recommending IAMS to all of my family and friends with dogs. If they do not already eat IAMS, they need to transition to IAMS as quickly as possible! What a hit with my dogs and I!

ghpc70
Crown Point, IN
Good dry dog food
9/18/2014

Customer review by metallou

4.0 stars 9/18/2014 by metallou
by metallou

We tried the Iams Proactive Large breed for our two dogs. Our older dog is rather picky and has trouble eating dry kibble, so we ended up having to mix it with water and canned food from Iams as well. Both of the dogs seem to love the food. When we feed the younger dog, a boxer mix, lunch we give her the food we received from BzzAgent without adding canned food. She eats it almost as quickly as when we add the canned. All in all I would say that they enjoy the Iams food as much as the more expensive food we were feeding them previously. I have not seen any drops in their energy levels or appetites. Their coats are still shiny and they both came back with a clean bill of health from a recent vet visit. Iams seems to be a very good option to replace higher priced dog food without losing quality. A few family members with dogs that we have spoken to also use Iams and like the quality and price.

metallou
Austin, TX
1-20 of 207 total reviews
1-20 of 207 reviews