Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.7out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 | 35 reviews
5 stars
30
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
Sort by: 
1-20 of 34 reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews
Bakers, cake decorators, dessert makers, Rejoice!
11/10/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This product is a very thick, smooth, creamy taste sensation of rich milk caramel that can be used with any number of desserts: Cakes, cookies, brownies, caramel bars, caramel 'anything', candy filling; the possibilities are endless. Why on earth would anyone spend 3-4 hours boiling a can of sweetened condensed milk to make caramel when this is available? Buy just 1 can, open it and eat with a spoon. You will NOT be sorry! The fall and winter holidays are perfect for Dulce de Leche since there are so many opportunities to create desserts. NOTE: Be SURE that the can says La Lechera DULCE DE LECHE. La Lechera also makes other sweetened condensed milk products as well as other caramel products that are NOT the same, and it is easy to grab the wrong can.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I wasted years.
9/30/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We grew up boiling a cans of Sweetened Condensed Milk in water for 3-4 hours to achieve this. I had just boiled a batch and picked this up to see what it was about. Dang I never knew they sold this! My grandmother would make a thin cake, spread the caramel add crushed nuts, than roll it up and slice it like a jelly roll....yummmmmmm....If I only had her recipe for the thin cake, I could stroll down sentimental lane. I now skip the cake and spoon it from the can to my mouth.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (36)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best tasting, easiest cupcake topping ever!
5/30/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I made Dulce de Leche cupcakes for graduation, using Duncan Hines caramel cake mix. I slathered the top with this sauce, then added crushed Heath bars or salted cashews. The texture stays soft enough that you can add your topping a day later, but does not slide off the cupcake. Broken pretzel pieces and chocolate are also delicious, salty-sweet. Highly recommended! Great texture at room temp straight out of the can. Very easy to work with. People were impressed!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (24)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Delicious
5/7/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Latinos know all about this wonderful product. If you're not, you're in for a real treat. This is basically the best tasting Caramel in a can. It is thick and light to dark brown in color. It is delicious on a spoon straight out of the can. Even better on vanilla wafers or heated over ice cream. Try spooning it into a batch of brownies just before going in the oven for an amazing experience. It makes a great filling for any pasty. Server it to your non-latino friends and hear them say Ooooh! what's that!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (39)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
So delicious
7/6/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I search all my local stores after seeing this product on one of my favorite cooking shows without luck, but was able to order on line. It is thick, rich, & very delicious. I've used it on ice cream, made chocolate caramel brownies, etc. will definitely order more.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
AT LAST!!!
6/3/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 500 contributer
I found this dulce de leche on my last trip to Walmart and got several cans. This is an excellent product, the quality is unsurpassed and so is the price. For the history buffs: This spread was invented in Spain centuries ago and they made it by hand stirring sugar, milk, vanilla, etc. and they had to cook it for hours, stirring non stop. Now we have a great product ready to eat. I use it on toast, or as a cake or pastry fillings, you can add fresh fruit. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (29)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Where have these been all my life.
8/15/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Dulce De Leche is the absolute best caramel I've ever tasted. It's thick in the can but when placed in the microwave for 10 seconds it softens. You'll love just eating it thick from the can. Wow!!! Trust me, if you love caramel, Dulce De Leche is La Dolce Vita!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Heaven
12/8/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
If you have never tried this your missing out. It's AMAZING. It's from Chile which is where I am from so I use it to make Chilean cookies called Alfajor. You can use this like reg caramel. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent I got them in 4 days!
8/6/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I use dulce de leche for baking and everybody loves it
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wonderful Caramel
2/21/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love the convenience of this product. I try to keep a can in my pantry at all times. When blended with the Nestle' sweetened condensed milk, this makes an excellent ingredient and topping for desserts of all kinds. I use this very often and have never been disappointed with the caramel.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
candy in a can!
5/15/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I used this in place of regular sweetened condensed milk in an ice cream recipe. It made the most wonderful caramel flavored ice cream.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great taste.
3/9/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Unfortunately some of the cans were dented but the taste is still amazing. They need to handle them with more care. That's why I'm giving them 4 stars. The product itself it's pretty good.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
i like it
8/24/2016
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I liked it was a little thicker then I expected
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Delicious
8/13/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Always good product and price
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great
1/5/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Delicious used in desserts.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good for me
3/10/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The product is what I need to do my recipe, however, the cans were all dented. Not sure what Walmart is doing when they pack their shipment. Maybe all they have is dented cans. Could not get this in store, so I had them shipped. Not sure I would ship them again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
La lechera
6/22/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I love it
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best Dulce de Leche
2/9/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Best Dulce de Leche at very good price and with great taste and quality. Nestle Brand name is always great
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Makes great fudge
7/30/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I use this along with other ingredients to make caramel fudge. Works out great and even won a tasting contest at a local event.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very rich
1/20/2015
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 25 contributer
I used it in coffee, on a caramel cake and raw apples. Taste wise it is very rich and sweet but not to my liking.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640676, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-