Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 295 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

295 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

295 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
132
4 stars
66
3 stars
24
2 stars
19
1 stars
54
1-20 of 264 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 264 total reviews
1-20 of 264 reviews
Mine stopped working after 4 weeks
1/4/2014

Customer review by reirish

1.0 stars 1/4/2014 by reirish
by reirish

This pump was not one of the best pumps to start with by any means. It has different speeds that you control with buttons...my old one-a medela...would automatically change speeds and suction levels just as a baby would, to make sure you get the maximum amount of breast milk. All you mommies who have breastfed and had to pump and had a good pump know what I'm talking about. While the description said nothing to inspire my purchase of this product...I was on a budget and this fit within that budget. I'm definitely regretting not waiting until my budget was bigger!! The humidity from pumping breast milk causes condensation within the tubing and causes the device to stop sucking. I have to swing the tubing around like a lasso just to get it to work...but even that is starting not to help. My milk comes out too fast for my daughter so I am forced to pump every feeding, so if you are looking for a pump you plan on using quite regularly...dont waste your money on this thing!!

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
reirish
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
awesome pump!
12/21/2010

Customer review by cordaena

4.0 stars 12/21/2010 by cordaena
by cordaena

There is a learning curve with this thing, don't get me wrong. I tried to use it a couple of times in the first and second week after my son was born, and could barely get half an ounce. This probably had to do with my traumatized nipples; I couldn't handle the higher suction settings due to pain (from my son, not the pump). In the third week however, my supply evened out and I got the hang of making sure it was positioned correctly and BOOM! 4 oz in 10 minutes. I couldn't do that with the Medela from the hospital, that's for sure. My only complaint is that I should have gotten the single pump, because I am too large breasted to use this with both sides. The part that they connect to in order to use both of them is not spaced far enough apart for me. So if you wear more than a C or maybe a D cup, go with the single because it probably won't work for you as a double pump. Other than that, this thing is FANTASTIC. I love the bottle it comes with, as it requires a proper latch-on to get the milk out of it (compression AND suction needed to keep eating). Great product all around.

Was this review helpful? (357) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cordaena
Bloomfield, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best pump ever!!!
6/25/2014

Customer review by Lovelybray

5.0 stars 6/25/2014 by Lovelybray
by Lovelybray

I usually don't write reviews but this pump is so great that I had to. I read all the reviews before purchasing this product. My money was a little tight so I had to pick something inexpensive. After reading the reviews I figured why not give it a try. I sent my husband to Walmart to purchase the pump. It was very easy to install, also it comes with a very cute lightweight carrying bag much nicer than the last pump I had which was way more expensive. I can pump bottles very fast as it mimics my sons suction. There are adjustable speeds that you can change to meet the needs of your little one. I did have a problem with the suction going out on one side but I called customer service and they sent me a new motor, tubing, and inserts right away. In the mean time I could still use one side. They made it where I did not have to send the old pump in. I just simply wrote the number they gave me on the pump took a picture and emailed to the email address I was given. Such a easy task great customer service.. I love this pump great product great price.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lovelybray
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointing Pump given the reviews.
8/5/2012

Customer review by ndch

1.0 stars 8/5/2012 by ndch
by ndch

I purchased this pump when the Medela pump I was using went out. All of the reviews were positive so I went ahead and purchased. It was disappointing in performance. There is not a let down function, so you manually have to start it slow and then increase the suction. At the highest setting the suction is still lacking, it takes much long to complete a pumping session that with my previous pump and many times even after 20-30 minutes, I do not feel as if the pumping was complete. I also had serious issues with milk being sucked back into the tubes, which resulted in algae growing in the tubes (even though the manufacturer says this can't happen). The tubes can't be taken apart, so there is no good way to clean them. Additionally, it is a fairly loud pump, so you have to be aware of that when you are using it. It does an adequate job, but many of the promised features did not deliver and although it is a bargain, I don't think it is worth it if you are actively pumping.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ndch
Seabrook, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works great!
9/1/2010

Customer review by csmother

5.0 stars 9/1/2010 by csmother
by csmother

I am a first time mother and I am breast feeding exclusively. The first time I used this product it was about four days after the birth of my son and it was quite painful. I think it was because my milk had not completely come in. It did however, relieve some of the pain from my breast engorgment. A few days later I pumped again and it wasn't painful at all. It took me 10 minutes or less to pump 4 oz. That weekend I used the bottle I had made while we were out of town for a few hours. When I got back my breasts were very full and I pumped 8 oz in about 20 minutes. This product gets the job done. When I return to work I plan on using it at least once or twice a day. I feel that this product will work great. Totally worth the money!! **if you plan on freezing your milk and you are using the Playtex drop-in bottles try the "Playtex drop-ins system breast milk storage kit". You freeze the milk in the drop-ins so it is really easy to use.**

Was this review helpful? (88) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
csmother
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Fantastic Product!
5/31/2010

Customer review by LauraGS

5.0 stars 5/31/2010 by LauraGS
by LauraGS

I just had my 4th child, and I always chose to pump exclusively instead of breastfeed. As you can imagine, I've owned many pumps over the years (30 minutes, every 3 hours)! I even had two expensive Medela pumps, but the miPump is the best I've ever owned. At the hospital, the nurses were shocked by how small and quiet it was. That was the first thing I noticed about it as well. The best way to use this pump is to stretch your shirt over it, which keeps it upright and on if you're sitting still. This allows you to type or read a book. The settings are easily adjustable, which is great for various stages of feeding (i.e. just starting out and not needing much suction). I highly recommend this pump! I owned one other First Years pump in the past, and it lasted for a very long time.

Was this review helpful? (212) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LauraGS
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Product and works perfectly as described.
1/23/2013

Customer review by Sum1sBittu

4.0 stars 1/23/2013 by Sum1sBittu
by Sum1sBittu
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The only big drawback with this product is the handle on which you mount the bottles. So if you're a woman who wears bras greater than size 38-40 that might be a big challenge to have a twin sided breast pump, it might just not work. I wish they instead of a cumbersome handle just had some kind of a stretchable bustier to hold the breast bottles in place, so it would be less tiring continuing to hold on to it. But, the breast pump works as mentioned and in fact since I have started using it, the milk production has increased substantially. For the price it is quite comparable to some other brands like Medela or Avent. It has 8 levels of suction and helps draw out milk in less than 15 minutes if you are using the product correctly. I am very happy with the product and would recommend it any day to any one because it is a gr8 product for a great price. It is also a great for heavy duty use .... have been using this product daily for almost 4-5 times a day apart from my breast feeding sessions to my infant.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sum1sBittu
West Palm Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Went way beyond my expectation
4/7/2011

Customer review by buisymom

5.0 stars 4/7/2011 by buisymom
by buisymom

hey alot of people had thier opinion about this product and i take thier opinion pretty serious cause i dont want to mess up on something i bought or something in life.. learn from other people ... anyways.. alot of the opinions make me worry but i bought it and it was great!! my son 9 month and going on 10 and i have used it all day every day and night from every 2 hours for 5 months then every 4 hour for 3 month and these past 2 months i have went to eight and i should have went through about 4 of these machines if i listedn to that women who i talk on the phone about these machines she said that these machine are lnot like the real expensive one and will not stand up to 2 hour pumpin all night and day only made to do it 3 4 time a day well i proved her wrong!!!! i use it all this time and still going but now i am stoppin! weaning.. excellent and went way beyond my expect tation!! here are some helpful hints about this product for you can use it as long as me... clean it routinely like 2 time weekif you want.. make sure that every part it clean toothbrush help to clean it really good..... and let it dry and go by the direction in the package too.... you love it as muich as i do......

Was this review helpful? (223) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
buisymom
Arkanas 71854
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The Handle Makes It a Keeper!
8/10/2011

Customer review by AccordingToHez

4.0 stars 8/10/2011 by AccordingToHez
by AccordingToHez

I bought the mipump because my same pump of the previous model went on the fritz (3 years+ old) and I'm an exclusive pumper. Because I pump about 6 times a day, the handle makes this a life-saver! I can browse on the laptop/etc., help my older kids with stuff, hold a remote, read a book, whatever. I've never used a pumping bra with another double pump but it seems WAY less convenient than this handle. I would give it 5 stars for this feature, except that... 1) I don't love the flanges (sp?). They curl out and just feel weird to me. It works alright, but I preferred the previous design which actually cupped my breasts. 2) I'm finding that the milk is not completely washing out of the filter piece, and now not the bottles either. I think that that has to do with the BPA-free plastic and not First Years' fault, but I'm still left with problem of how to get it totally cleaned. Because of the handle and durability during frequent pumping, I still recommend this pump. (Oh yeah, and the price can't be beat!)

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AccordingToHez
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Surprize
5/25/2011

Customer review by itsallok

4.0 stars 5/25/2011 by itsallok
by itsallok

I needed a double pump because I was going back to work. I didn't have the money to invest in an expensive one so I read some reviews and took a chance... This pump gets the job done. It's not outstanding but, this double pump works better than my expensive single pump I bought years ago. It is worth the price. I can get about 4oz in ten minutes. I have to use the higher settings (the low settings are pointless) but I've never used the highest setting. I pump about three times a day and it is still working. Everyone is different but, if you are like me and need something that works and won't break the bank, this will do.

Was this review helpful? (41) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
itsallok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
wonderful
7/9/2010

Customer review by Cwmesho

5.0 stars 7/9/2010 by Cwmesho
by Cwmesho

The pump works wonderfully! It's great that it's a double pump because it only takes 10-15 mins to pump both breasts instead of 20-30 mins. It's great because the suction is good and I also like that you can up the suction to what feels comfortable to you. The only thing that I didn't really like is the the silicone cups that go on your nipple aren't clear so you can't really see if your nipple is in the center. But that would be my only complaint. Wonderful pump!

Was this review helpful? (40) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cwmesho
Cheektowaga, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Saved my life!
1/13/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/13/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We ordered this pump on my first day back to work because I forgot to take my other pump with me. That day during lunch I manually pumped 7+ oz, because I could NOT have made it until the end of the day. Thank goodness my husband was off and could bring the baby to me 3 hours later to breastfeed. Since I travel a lot for work also, I left this pump at work and took it on the road, while leaving my other one at home for nights and weekends. I breastfed our first child for 15 months and used this pump for 12 of those. I did have a problem with the motor after the first 3 months, but I emailed the company and after troubleshooting failed, they sent me a new one, free of charge. I even loaned it to a friend for a couple of weeks when she left hers at her parents' house (out of town) on accident. She has the same one and used it for both of her kids. I plan on using it for the new little one we're expecting too.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
the only affordable pump that WORKS
2/19/2009

Customer review by Momwith4LOs

5.0 stars 2/19/2009 by Momwith4LOs
by Momwith4LOs

I love my miPump! I have been using it daily for over a month with no complaints! With my first 3 kids, I tried every pump even expensive hospital grade pumps, but always ended up having to stop breastfeeding. miPump works better, is MUCH more comfortable, and is smaller and quieter than any other! This is by far the most enjoyable time I've had as a breastfeeding mother - all thanks to miPump!

Was this review helpful? (38) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Momwith4LOs
Washington DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good for the price.
2/13/2009

Customer review by caramy

3.0 stars 2/13/2009 by caramy
by caramy

I bought this item hoping it would boost my milk production. I could not afford an expensive pump. I tried a manual pump first which did not work well. This pump did get my milk flowing. When you open the package, all the attatchemtns are a bit overwhelming but once it is put together, it is fairly easy to use and move around. This pump is fairly compact and the bag is great. It is very quiet compared to the medela. The T-Bar is great to use because it leaves a free hand; however, it is akward and takes some getting use to. I wish this pump offered more suction power. I have large breasts and have to use the highest power. If there was a stronger power, I think I would get more milk. I think this would work very well if you have smaller more firm breasts.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
caramy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So-So
7/23/2015

Customer review by firsttimemamma

3.0 stars 7/23/2015 by firsttimemamma
by firsttimemamma

I read a multitude of reviews on this product before purchasing it since I had no previous experience with pumping. It was very affordable and for the little to moderate amount of use it's gotten, it has stood up fairly well. I used this pump about once a day to once every other day while on maternity leave (first 9 weeks), followed by 3-4 times daily 3 days a week after that. Around the 4 month mark I started noticing a decrease in suction resulting in a longer period of time necessary to pump as well as less overall production. I tried the higher suction settings but they were just uncomfortable and didn't seem to draw the milk into the bottles any better. Also I have had an issue with the pump itself turning on when plugged in (instead of using batteries). In general the pump is very comfortable to use, easy and fast to assemble and fairly quiet. I would recommend this pump for someone who is looking to pump on occasion, but not all day every day.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
firsttimemamma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great pump
11/27/2010

Customer review by sweetangel0412

3.0 stars 11/27/2010 by sweetangel0412
by sweetangel0412

the T bar takes some getting used to, the pump has great suction. The cons to the product are you cant buy replacement parts for it or at-least I have had trouble getting parts to it. The pump does collect water in the line which can burn out your pump if you are not careful in order to fix that problem you simply have to run the pump disconnected from the bottles for a couple of mins after pumping to prevent water in the tubes.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sweetangel0412
Fort Irwin CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great pump!
5/28/2012

Customer review by newmommytomaddie

5.0 stars 5/28/2012 by newmommytomaddie
by newmommytomaddie

I haven't tried any other pumps so my opinion may be a little one sided but from what I can tell this pump works really great! Once my milk came in I've been able to pump at least 4oz. in about 20 mins and I'm sure this will only increase as I build my supply. I also love the breastflow bottles. However, do NOT buy the Breastflow disposable bottle system, the reusable bottles work ten times better. The ones that came with my breastpump have been the only ones I could use since my LO was born. I am an F cup so very large breasted, have had no issues getting this pump to work for me, I am unable to use the handle but I just cut some slits in an old sports bra and I pump completely hands free! I would definitely recommend this pump to anyone especially for the price! I don't know about you but I don't have $300 to put on a breastpump.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
newmommytomaddie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT BUY!!!!!!!!!!
4/1/2011

Customer review by CurlyQ7978

5.0 stars 4/1/2011 by CurlyQ7978
by CurlyQ7978

I purchased this cuz I did not want to spend too much money on a pump. I have to say I am surprisingly pleased. It works great, easy to clean and quiet. I'm very happy I didn't spend $200-$300 on one of the other well known pumps, cuz this works great. I had one issue with condensation in the tubeing and I contacted the company and they got back to me right away and sent me 2 new tubes. I highly reccomend this pump and this company in general. They are a pleasure to deal with and will definatly be using more of there products. coming from a very pleased first time mom.

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CurlyQ7978
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful pump!
8/20/2010

Customer review by Kmulnix

5.0 stars 8/20/2010 by Kmulnix
by Kmulnix

THIS PUMP IS WONDERFUL AND EASY TO USE! I NEVER HAVE ANY PROBLEMS PUMPING AND MO BOOBS ARE NEVER SORE AFTER PUMPING! GREAT PRODUCT AND IT IS A LOT MORE AFFORDABLE THAT OTHER PUMPS!

Was this review helpful? (101) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kmulnix
Glendale, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Part-Time Use ONLY.. if that...
7/1/2009

Customer review by Customer013

3.0 stars 7/1/2009 by Customer013
by Customer013

I bought this pump with the intention of returning to work. I didn't end up having to, which is good because I'm quite confident that this pump wouldn't have been able to keep my milk supply up at all. The first few times I used it, it was quite painful. But bound and determined to get my moneys worth out of it I kept using it. It got easier, but the "convenient" handle doesn't work at all, and the pump isn't very strong. The battery feature is a waste because you get about one to two sessions out of 4 AA batteries which starts to add up. I recommend you spend the extra hundred and get a Medela pump, after all you can save over $1000 just by breastfeeding for 6 months so save yourself some time and headache and skip this product!

Was this review helpful? (28) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Customer013
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 264 total reviews
1-20 of 264 reviews