Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 308 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

308 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

308 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

72%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
136
4 stars
68
3 stars
25
2 stars
19
1 stars
60
1-20 of 277 total reviews
72%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 277 total reviews
1-20 of 277 reviews
Hated the pump.
8/24/2014

Customer review by Justine24

1.0 stars 8/24/2014 by Justine24
by Justine24

I received this before my baby was born, I started using it when he was six weeks old. It was working fine for three months and then it broke down. I contacted the manufacturer and explained to them the issue, that there wasn't any suction coming out of one of the tubes and it was becoming difficult to pump milk properly. Instead of pumping for 20 minutes, I had to pump 20 minutes on one breast and 20 minutes on the other. They mailed me a new pump, but the new one broke down also but in a different way. Now no suction comes out of the pump at all, and I actually would have to hit it to make it start working, the chord didn't work any more also so I would have to use batteries. so I have moved onto a Medla pump and it is much better than a first years mii pump. I also hated when the silicone cups would fall off all the time. It got to the point that I had to tape it to the pump, and breast milk always leaked out. If you can afford it, pay the extra money for the Medla pump and not this one. I am glad I did not pay money for this product since it broke down. I will never use first years again.

Justine24
Hamilton, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
Do not waste your time and money on this...
11/23/2013

Customer review by Mamma2One

1.0 stars 11/23/2013 by Mamma2One
by Mamma2One

Got this product as a shower gift from my sisters.. I was thrilled!  Until the second week of using it...  One side of the suction was not working 100%.. I was lucky if it would suck 25%.  You can tell it wasn't working properly, because one side the nipple was moving with the pump a good 1" and the other side was lucky to move 1mm with every pump. So i returned it.  Unfortunately  I was only able to exchange the product because it was open and that are the policies...  THAT SAME DAY I was back at the store EXCHANGING IT for the same problem....  The Following week, the same problem!!   My NB was only a month old and I had went through 3 Pumps!!  I was fed up...  Thankfully all three times I Returned this product it was the same clerk and she asked her manager to just return it... I said I was okay with Gift Card, but they ended up giving me the money and sad they were gonna deal with the consequences.  They were very apologetic!   My sister also bought this pump for herself and already had returned hers once..  her LO was born last week... So I'm sure it wont be the last time she returns it...   I am now happy with my Medela In Style Pump!

Mamma2One
Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
excellent for occasional pumping
8/28/2012

Customer review by export

5.0 stars 8/28/2012 by export
by export

I have owned this for 3 months and love it. I only use it once or twice a day and not past level 6. The price is perfect for someone who is not pumping full time but wants to put some milk away in the freezer. This is an open pump so if you mess up like I did and get milk in the pump you can't clean it. However I called the help line anyway to see if it could be cleaned and I told them I messed up (it was completely my fault). It was still within 90 days of purchase and they are sending me a new pump. Amazing customer service since the product was not defective just the user. I would buy this again.

export
ontario
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good pump for price.
9/23/2014

Customer review by hobbyfarmmama

4.0 stars 9/23/2014 by hobbyfarmmama
by hobbyfarmmama

I purchased this pump a couple months before our baby was born. When I started using it worked for 2 months then one side started sucking way less. I only pump so I use the pump a lot every day. I had to pump each side separate so it was like having just the single pump. I contacted the company and they sent me a brand new motor and hose and another piece for the pump. The lady on the phone said she couldn't do overnight shipping because we live in Canada and the company is in the states. I had the parts in 1.5 weeks which is pretty quick for delivery to Canada.

hobbyfarmmama
Alberta, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cheaper on Walmart, More Price on Babies r us.
5/11/2014

Customer review by Classic001

4.0 stars 5/11/2014 by Classic001
by Classic001

I was using manual pump which was too slow and required so much effort. Whereas This pump is handy. It depends how much milk flow you have. I have less milk flow with this pump in 15 mins I get 1 ounce milk in the bottle. Its bit noisy not much, my baby doesnt get wakeup while i use this pump. It comes with nice bag and all of the equipment stuff is good. Its easy to clean and steralize. Babies R Us selling the same pump for more price $109, whereas on Walmart same pump is for $ 94-95.

Classic001
Mississauga, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
Works Great!
11/18/2013

Customer review by trekkie

5.0 stars 11/18/2013 by trekkie
by trekkie

So happy with this pump, works way better than the Lansinoh Affinity.  I have both, the Lansinoh is terrible and if I use it, I have to finish pumping with the First Years one. The flanges fit perfectly, they seem to be designed to work with any cup size and even work when engorged.  I wish it did have some extra settings to change the cycle speed, but oh well.  Very easy to assemble and clean.  I am exclusively pumping and it is holding up to the task!

trekkie
Sturgeon Falls, West Nipissing, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
Waste of money
1/8/2014

Customer review by 3dd3r

1.0 stars 1/8/2014 by 3dd3r
by 3dd3r

Do not spend money on this pump. It was terrible, hurt to pump with, and definitely NOT for everyday use. Do your research, buy a pump for everyday use which I will save you time and tell you ameda and Medela are the only brands for this, and I hands down prefer ameda :) this hunk of junk have out easily. I will never ever recommend this to anyone. Unless you get it for free, do not spend a cent on it.

3dd3r
Comox, BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Never
Just okay
6/27/2013

Customer review by shopaholic090909

3.0 stars 6/27/2013 by shopaholic090909
by shopaholic090909

I bought the manual breast pump and it did not last me long so I invested in this one, and it lasted me awhile, the only problem being is the suction started to stop working after a few weeks and even though I cleaned it with every use it would spill and just cause problems. This pump I would suggest only for now and then usage.

shopaholic090909
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great for everyday use
10/11/2012

Customer review by 3muskateers

5.0 stars 10/11/2012 by 3muskateers
by 3muskateers

I pumped exclusively with my first and second, but with this pump, the first one broke after using for a bit with my second, and I replaced it with the newer model. I used it everyday, at least 6 times per day for 3 months and no issues. I would get a great amount from each breast, and for the price, you really can go wrong.

3muskateers
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Do not buy!
9/28/2013

Customer review by camille91xo

1.0 stars 9/28/2013 by camille91xo
by camille91xo

This pump was absolutely horrible. The flanges are big, the suction is painful and poor. I get much MORE MILK with other pumps, such as Medela and Lansinoh, and have an almost PAINLESS experience. Not to mention, the pump lost suction almost completely within a month with frequent use. I regret buying this pump.

camille91xo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
Works well, nice design, good features
1/7/2015

Customer review by Steph1994

5.0 stars 1/7/2015 by Steph1994
by Steph1994

Just bought this product today, and tried it out... works just as well as the pump I used with my older child (which was about 4x the amount). Love the attachment that allows you to pump with one hand (I was unaware it was even included, but it's great). Love the design on the bottles.

Steph1994
Cambridge, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Good at first
4/10/2014

Customer review by Crash

1.0 stars 4/10/2014 by Crash
by Crash

I received this pump as a shower gift. My daughter is 12 days old and the one side of the pump is no longer working at all and the other side works slightly. I wanted to pump exclusively and this is preventing it. Do not waste your money on this. so dissappointing.

Crash
Kingston, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Not worth it! !
11/20/2014

Customer review by hi2222222

1.0 stars 11/20/2014 by hi2222222
by hi2222222

Second round buying and same issue. Section lost one side... now I'm stuck exchanging every month since you can't return it!

hi2222222
Edmonton, AB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Mine stopped working after 4 weeks
1/4/2014

Customer review by reirish

1.0 stars 1/4/2014 by reirish
by reirish

This pump was not one of the best pumps to start with by any means. It has different speeds that you control with buttons...my old one-a medela...would automatically change speeds and suction levels just as a baby would, to make sure you get the maximum amount of breast milk. All you mommies who have breastfed and had to pump and had a good pump know what I'm talking about. While the description said nothing to inspire my purchase of this product...I was on a budget and this fit within that budget. I'm definitely regretting not waiting until my budget was bigger!! The humidity from pumping breast milk causes condensation within the tubing and causes the device to stop sucking. I have to swing the tubing around like a lasso just to get it to work...but even that is starting not to help. My milk comes out too fast for my daughter so I am forced to pump every feeding, so if you are looking for a pump you plan on using quite regularly...dont waste your money on this thing!!

Was this review helpful? (25) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
reirish
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Disappointing Pump given the reviews.
8/5/2012

Customer review by ndch

1.0 stars 8/5/2012 by ndch
by ndch

I purchased this pump when the Medela pump I was using went out. All of the reviews were positive so I went ahead and purchased. It was disappointing in performance. There is not a let down function, so you manually have to start it slow and then increase the suction. At the highest setting the suction is still lacking, it takes much long to complete a pumping session that with my previous pump and many times even after 20-30 minutes, I do not feel as if the pumping was complete. I also had serious issues with milk being sucked back into the tubes, which resulted in algae growing in the tubes (even though the manufacturer says this can't happen). The tubes can't be taken apart, so there is no good way to clean them. Additionally, it is a fairly loud pump, so you have to be aware of that when you are using it. It does an adequate job, but many of the promised features did not deliver and although it is a bargain, I don't think it is worth it if you are actively pumping.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ndch
Seabrook, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
awesome pump!
12/21/2010

Customer review by cordaena

4.0 stars 12/21/2010 by cordaena
by cordaena

There is a learning curve with this thing, don't get me wrong. I tried to use it a couple of times in the first and second week after my son was born, and could barely get half an ounce. This probably had to do with my traumatized nipples; I couldn't handle the higher suction settings due to pain (from my son, not the pump). In the third week however, my supply evened out and I got the hang of making sure it was positioned correctly and BOOM! 4 oz in 10 minutes. I couldn't do that with the Medela from the hospital, that's for sure. My only complaint is that I should have gotten the single pump, because I am too large breasted to use this with both sides. The part that they connect to in order to use both of them is not spaced far enough apart for me. So if you wear more than a C or maybe a D cup, go with the single because it probably won't work for you as a double pump. Other than that, this thing is FANTASTIC. I love the bottle it comes with, as it requires a proper latch-on to get the milk out of it (compression AND suction needed to keep eating). Great product all around.

Was this review helpful? (357) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cordaena
Bloomfield, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Works great!
9/1/2010

Customer review by csmother

5.0 stars 9/1/2010 by csmother
by csmother

I am a first time mother and I am breast feeding exclusively. The first time I used this product it was about four days after the birth of my son and it was quite painful. I think it was because my milk had not completely come in. It did however, relieve some of the pain from my breast engorgment. A few days later I pumped again and it wasn't painful at all. It took me 10 minutes or less to pump 4 oz. That weekend I used the bottle I had made while we were out of town for a few hours. When I got back my breasts were very full and I pumped 8 oz in about 20 minutes. This product gets the job done. When I return to work I plan on using it at least once or twice a day. I feel that this product will work great. Totally worth the money!! **if you plan on freezing your milk and you are using the Playtex drop-in bottles try the "Playtex drop-ins system breast milk storage kit". You freeze the milk in the drop-ins so it is really easy to use.**

Was this review helpful? (89) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
csmother
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Best pump ever!!!
6/25/2014

Customer review by Lovelybray

5.0 stars 6/25/2014 by Lovelybray
by Lovelybray

I usually don't write reviews but this pump is so great that I had to. I read all the reviews before purchasing this product. My money was a little tight so I had to pick something inexpensive. After reading the reviews I figured why not give it a try. I sent my husband to Walmart to purchase the pump. It was very easy to install, also it comes with a very cute lightweight carrying bag much nicer than the last pump I had which was way more expensive. I can pump bottles very fast as it mimics my sons suction. There are adjustable speeds that you can change to meet the needs of your little one. I did have a problem with the suction going out on one side but I called customer service and they sent me a new motor, tubing, and inserts right away. In the mean time I could still use one side. They made it where I did not have to send the old pump in. I just simply wrote the number they gave me on the pump took a picture and emailed to the email address I was given. Such a easy task great customer service.. I love this pump great product great price.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lovelybray
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic Product!
5/31/2010

Customer review by LauraGS

5.0 stars 5/31/2010 by LauraGS
by LauraGS

I just had my 4th child, and I always chose to pump exclusively instead of breastfeed. As you can imagine, I've owned many pumps over the years (30 minutes, every 3 hours)! I even had two expensive Medela pumps, but the miPump is the best I've ever owned. At the hospital, the nurses were shocked by how small and quiet it was. That was the first thing I noticed about it as well. The best way to use this pump is to stretch your shirt over it, which keeps it upright and on if you're sitting still. This allows you to type or read a book. The settings are easily adjustable, which is great for various stages of feeding (i.e. just starting out and not needing much suction). I highly recommend this pump! I owned one other First Years pump in the past, and it lasted for a very long time.

Was this review helpful? (213) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LauraGS
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Product and works perfectly as described.
1/23/2013

Customer review by Sum1sBittu

4.0 stars 1/23/2013 by Sum1sBittu
by Sum1sBittu
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The only big drawback with this product is the handle on which you mount the bottles. So if you're a woman who wears bras greater than size 38-40 that might be a big challenge to have a twin sided breast pump, it might just not work. I wish they instead of a cumbersome handle just had some kind of a stretchable bustier to hold the breast bottles in place, so it would be less tiring continuing to hold on to it. But, the breast pump works as mentioned and in fact since I have started using it, the milk production has increased substantially. For the price it is quite comparable to some other brands like Medela or Avent. It has 8 levels of suction and helps draw out milk in less than 15 minutes if you are using the product correctly. I am very happy with the product and would recommend it any day to any one because it is a gr8 product for a great price. It is also a great for heavy duty use .... have been using this product daily for almost 4-5 times a day apart from my breast feeding sessions to my infant.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sum1sBittu
West Palm Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 277 total reviews
1-20 of 277 reviews