Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.1out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 | 32 reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
Sort by: 
1-20 of 32 reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews
Better than Home Made!!
11/23/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We have a Home made chicken and dumpling recipie that has been handed down in our family through the years that is a family favorite and an absolute MUST for the holidays. I was recently visiting my Mother in Indiana and we thought we'd try out some of these dumplings we saw at Walmart. I must say, these are absolutely fabulous, I was shocked! I will skip the extra hours of work and just buy these from now on, to me they taste just like home made, maybe even better, without all that work. Each time I make dumplings, the recipe consistency never is exactly the same, they always taste great but sometimes they fall apart and become part of the broth and sometimes they don't, it's always a guessing game. But with Mary B's dumplings, they are the same every time. With these being readily available at Walmart, I will make chicken and dumplings for my family throughout the year (and not just for the Holidays!) Yummy!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (60)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A fantastic substitute for my mothers dumplings!
6/26/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My mother use to make the best chicken and dumplings. What great memories! It would take my mother all day to make it. She'd make the dumpings by scratch and then start the tedius task of rolling them out over the whole kitchen table and then cut them and drop them into the stock that she boiled the chicken in. She'd end up with a huge kettle of these at the end of the day and our whole family would sit and enjoy them. We had many great family gatherings over my mom's chicken and dumplings. My mother has sense passed and as many times as I have tried to make her recipe I can never duplicate them as good as my moms. That is until I found Mary B's open kettle dumplings. They are litterally fool proof. Mary B's dumplings take all the hard work out of my mom's recipe. Now we enjoy a scaled down, easier version of my mom's chicken and dumplings more often. And they taste fantastic too!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (27)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Horrible experience!
8/26/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I made these dumplings .First of all I could not get them out of the package and separate them,all stuck together,Then I cooked as directed and they stuck to the bottom of the pot and started to burn even tho I stirred them. I love Mary B's biscuits but the dumplings were a disaster a waste of chicken,celery,onion and fresh parsley.Had to buy something else for my guests.I'll never buy them again.There is another brand called Mary Hill that is better.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best Dumplings
8/18/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been using Mary B's Dumplings for several years. My Mother who is one of the best Southern cooks told me about them. When I make chicken and dumplings using them, I get requests for the recipe and folks want seconds. They make it easy to fix dumplings that are the best ever.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (56)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
These are delicious and so easy to make.
5/5/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was craving chicken and dumplings and found this at our local Walmart but I had never heard of Mary B's before...Wow I am "so glad" I bought them, they were cheaper than Reames and delicious. I cooked mine in 32oz of chicken broth and added some water and more broth as they cooked, after they were nice and tender (approx 45 mins) I added 1 can of cream of chicken soup and half of a can of cream of mushroom w/ garlic soup and some more broth, I added rotisserie chicken and salt and pepper to taste...let that simmer for about 15 mins, I then served it with corn, green beans and cranberry sauce and my family inhaled it. I will sure be buying these again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (42)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Just Noodles
6/25/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My idea of dumplings are soft fluffy biscuit like balls, these are more like flat dumplings or noodles. The definition of dumpling is so wide that even raviolis are dumplings. Save time and money and buy a bag of egg noodles, they'll taste better! Made a whole pot of these with chicken and tossed it out after 2 bowls, nasty stuff
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
BEST DUMPLINGS!
1/20/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love Mary B's Open Kettle Dumplings. They are foolproof...even the worst of cooks can't mess up these dumplings! I now make Chicken & Dumplings all the time for my family and social gatherings because they are so easy with Mary B's. I got tired of getting requests all the time for me to make my Chicken & Dumplings, so now I give anyone my "ancient Chinese secret" recipe.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Better than Homemade
6/26/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
These taste better than homemade and much easier. Have taken them to potlucks and everyone wants my recipe.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Just like homemade
5/19/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Mary B's Dumplings are of a consistently high quality, easy to use, and always come out light and flavorful, no matter the base in which they are prepared, the seasonings added, or the accompanying foods. Chicken and Dumplings is a specialty in my family for many generations, but because it is a very time-consuming and labor-intensive process, and because of today's busy lifestyle, we look around to see if any company has gotten it right. Mary B's hits the mark! THESE ARE THE BEST COMMERCIALLY MADE DUMPLINGS WE HAVE EVER COME UPON!!! My family and I now use these for ourselves, our friends, and for potluck meals, and we always get rave reviews.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Delicious!
10/3/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I used to make home made dumplings for my Chicken & Dumplings, but since I discovered these, I don't bother with all the work of making them from scratch. The Mary B's are just as delicious as the home made, so it saves me so much work and time. I highly recommend these.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best.Storebought.Dumplings.Ever.
12/6/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Best.Storebought.Dumplings.Ever. Almost as good as grandma's.... I Love, Love, Love these dumplings. They make fixing an old favorite comfort food very easy. WHY WHY WHY did Walmart stop carrying these wonderful dumplings??? Please Walmart hear my cries and bring these back into our stores in Roanoke VA!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The best frozen dumplings thus far......
1/11/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I made chicken and dumpling today. 01/10/2017 I used Mary b's dumplings and they made my aunt recipe even more delicious. They are thing just like I like them. My seasoning made the dumplings full of flavor. I won't be making a mess in my kitchen any more because I'm using these for now on. Oh, the bag says cook for 45minutes. However, I let mines cook for 1hr and 45 minutes. They are real tender. Just add a lil seasoned hot water to them when they start to thicken. Its just like cooking them homemade. I made hot water cornbread with them..
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Used to be great
7/11/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I used to buy these dumplings all the time and they were great. Now they are thick and take hours to cook. they are not what they used to be. I buy another brand now. Please change them back.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
good dumplings to save time and mess
8/14/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I use to love these dumplings but the last few times I've cooked them, they are tuff, with following the same directions as I always have..any ideas that would help them be more tender..they seem to be thicker, and I always cut them in half and drop in boiling broth, great same taste just very tuff..
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Almost as GOOD as my Mothers........
10/29/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I grew up with Dumplings & Chicken back in the 1940s and 50s. My Mother was a great cook and made dumplings from scratch. I have tried to master the making from scratch, what a mess. Mary B's Open Kettle Dumplings are as close to my Mother's as I have ever found, BAR NONE
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very easy
10/17/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Very easy to use the instructions are very clear how to cook them. And my family loves them.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Just like homemade!!!!
1/10/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is wonderful and quick. Taste like homemade
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Mary B's dumplings
7/25/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I WISH I'D KNOWN THEY WERE TOO THICK,i LIKE MY DUMPLINGS VERY THIN,THIS IS MY FIRST TIME BUYING THEM,iI WILL NOT GET ANY MORE OF THEM..
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
These dumplings are the pinnacle ~ totally amazing
12/28/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
for several decades I have used this brand and am well pleased with every batch of not only chicken and dumplings, but blueberry delight desserts as well
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Dumplins!
8/8/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I spent many years mixing, rolling & cutting dumplings! I was taught how to make dumplings by my mom who was raised in the south and these dumplings taste exactly the same as my moms; without the mess and horrible clean-up time.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641747, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-