Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.5out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 | 48 reviews
5 stars
31
4 stars
10
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
Sort by: 
1-20 of 41 reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
Awesome Timex Reputation
5/8/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Timex has produced another fine product with this watch. My previous Timex watch (the one this is replacing, in fact) finally went to the big watch factory in the sky and I needed a replacement since I rely heavily on my watches. The previous watch held on for nearly ten years without a battery change so I stayed with the brand. Thus far, this watch has given me every reason to stay with Timex. The ONLY gripe I have, but it is merely a matter of preference, is the band. I was not impressed with the feel nor the function of the stock band. I replaced it with a Timex leather band and have had no complaints since. If you are looking for a good watch that hold true to the claim 'Takes a lickin' and keeps on tickin'' then this is the watch for you. Based on my previous experience and my current experience, I have no reason to switch to another brand...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Only problem is with the band.
1/11/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Previous reviews of this watch mention the difficulty of replacing the band. If you will purchase the band at Walmat the associtate in jewlery will gladly replace it for you. I know this because I have done so many times. Their bands are of good quality and reasonably priced. I bought this watch for my husband who cannot have his cell phone out while on the job. He is a supervisor and therefore needs to know the time frequently. The reason I was drawn to this paticular watch is the durability listed in previous reviews. My spouse received this wactch Christmas '11 and it is still working. I have always been a fan of Timex, but he has even had problems with its' durability. For some reason watches simply quit working on him. This watch is keeping perfect time. The only problem has been with the band.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great timepiece !!!
7/22/2009
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 250 contributer
You get exactly what you order, a great little watch for not a lot of cash. It is very comfortable to wear and the watch itself seems very rugged and will last for many years. Easy to read dial and also has "Indiglo" so you can see it very well in the dark. I got this particular watch for the times I go up into the Smoky Mountains hiking and it hasn't failed me yet and it's been through mud, rain and heat... I highly recommend this watch for anyone who loves the great outdoors...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good watch for the money
1/23/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this watch at my local Walmart as a replacement for my Victorinox Swiss Officer's watch and my Swiss Army Original. Both have given me about 25 years of solid service, but the crystals are scratched up making it harder to read the time and are, quite frankly, beat up pretty good. It was time for a new watch, but I didn't want to plunk down the money I did on the Swiss Army watches. I chose this watch because it met all the requirements I was looking for: 24 hour markings; black dial with white numbers; luminescent hour and minute hands; second hand; date; light weight; nylon or similar band; preferably with a mineral crystal; ability to change the battery myself (it takes a CR2016 battery available at Walmart); water resistant; inexpensive. This watch met my requirements except that it does not have a mineral crystal. It has an acrylic crystal. This will work for me considering the price I paid. It is exceptionally lightweight and comfortable. I hardly know it's on my wrist. It has been keeping excellent time, and it looks great. The dial and numbers are larger than on my Victorinox watches making it easier to read. Those have white dials with black numbers, while the Timex Expedition Camper has a black dial with white numbers which I find easier to read. Not sure why that is, but it works better for me. The band is just fine. It is stout, and I don't doubt that it can stand up to a good bit of abuse with no problem. The end that feeds through the buckle is not tapered which makes it a little harder to take off and on, but it is not a big deal. After some breaking in, it should be fine. If you have a big wrist, possibly greater than 8 inches, then this band may not fit. The color of this band is unusual: Depending on the light, it can appear olive drab, tan, and even grey. Not a deal breaker at all. I kind of like it. If you are active and get sweat and dirt on the band, then it can be easily washed. That's a plus! There are a lot of reviews mentioning loud ticking of the watch. That may well be, but I don't notice anything unless I place it next to my ear. The date can be easily changed; however it does require carefully pulling the stem out half way and finding the right position to only change the date without also changing the time. Yes, it does require some "fiddling" to do this. But once the stem is in the right position, it's easy to quickly change the numbers to arrive at the date. It lacks precision in that regard, but it is an inexpensive watch. The hour, minute, and second hands have that luminescent/"glow in the dark" stuff on them and work OK in low light/darkness; but the Indiglo feature is very nice and works well on this watch when needing to read the time in low light/darkness. As expected the quality is not the same as my old Victorinox watches, but the Timex Expedition Camper also costs much less while still delivering a lot for the price. I'm happy with it and recommend it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great watch for the price!
1/31/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
For the price, this is a great value. Nothing fancy -but a great, simple watch, with just the basics. Looks great, tough exterior, strong band, waterproof. It does have a pretty loud ticking sound, which hasn't really bothered me, but my wife has commented that it keeps her awake at night, even when the watch is across the room. Other than that, there are no complaints at all!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
timex
12/6/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love this watch. I did not have to buy a bigger band. Thank You.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
case too big
8/4/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I liked the watch, but the case is too big for my small wrist -- looks clunky and gets in the way. I returned it. I am hoping for a larger selection of watches with 35 to 37mm width.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
WATCH REVIEW
8/5/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had previously purchased a TIMEX EXPEDITION watch from my local WM in Alamosa CO, which I liked very much. After about 2 years, the watch ceased to function: Always stopping at 1:50 or 13:50. I didn't consider this unusual for a $28 timepiece...so I returned to my local WM to see if it could be replaced. Unfortunately, the inventory of watches was so incomplete, I returned home to see if I could order the same watch by Internet. Alas...the model I liked so much, with leather band was no longer available, apparently. The new EXPEDITION model I chose is of much cheaper construction, i.e. plastic case and nylon band, but I ordered it anyway, despite my disappointment.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
WHAT TIME IS IT? YOUR TIMEX EXPEDITION KNOWS!
1/15/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Timex designed a very attractive masculine-looking rugged-looking time piece which I am proud to wear. In addition to the nice large white numerals on a black background, the lighted dial function is a favorite with me. Just press he button and dial is all aglow in the dark -- very chic indeed. Especially useful when wearing to bed and want to checkout the time when awakening during sleepy time. It's a cool watch for a modest cost....and you'll be sporting a very sophisticated time piece that others will admire.... you must get one bro! Have a nice day! And, oh, order your Timex Men's Expedition today!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very good Watch for the price!
1/1/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this watch to replace an old military timex watch used in Vietnam that finally broke and am very please with the replacement. Hopefully it will last as long as my old windup military watch.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Worth every penny
8/11/2011
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The watch is exactly as I expected. Good timekeeper, easy to read facia, lightweight and night viewing features. The nylon strap, because of the sharp corners, caught on clothing etc., but I soon clipped them away with nail clippers and it's now fine. I just don't understand why it took so long to get to the store.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
nice watch
12/27/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I gave it 4 stars because because the band should be longer for the larger man to wear. I bought this for my husband who is a big man and this watch barely goes around his wrist. Other than that the watch is nice and made well.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
1/1/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I purchased this for my husband for Christmas as a work watch. Although he liked the watch, we had to purchase a different band, as the band that came with the watch was too small.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great watch
1/23/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this watch because I needed a watch that I could wear to work. I've owned 2 other Timex Expedition watches in the past and was always pleased with the quality and affordability of the watch. I've been wearing this watch for 2 weeks now and I am very pleased with it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
9/14/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It's a simple, inexpensive, waterproof watch. Perfect for my work outdoors.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love it!
9/19/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Very light weight.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Super watch.
10/24/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
An excellent, easy wearing, no nonscense product, for the money.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Timex watch
1/16/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Or fits good. Attractive. No bells and whistles. I just wanted a watch
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Watch
12/25/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this watch to use on our camping trips and it meets all exspectations. All I would change would be to make the band a little longer for us big men.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome watch
12/9/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Its a grand slam with this watch. Has all the important features of a great watch.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640688, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-