Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 25 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

25 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

25 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-20 of 20 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Pure Awesomeness
5/7/2009

Customer review by TexasStateCowgirl2006

5.0 stars 5/7/2009 by TexasStateCowgirl2006
by TexasStateCowgirl2006

This tool is something everyone should have. It does exactly what it is advertised to do. It is one of the best investments I have ever made. I think this tool should be included when you buy a car. So if you have car problems...which everyone does... I think you should have the smart scan in your glove box or trunk.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TexasStateCowgirl2006
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
B&D OBDII Reader
4/11/2009

Customer review by smcc

4.0 stars 4/11/2009 by smcc
by smcc

If you are like me and keep your vehicles well beyond the warranty expiration a tool like this can really be handy. There are over 200 causes for a check engine light. Some serious, some spurious, and some in between. It is nice to know which type you are dealing with. I have been looking for something like this for quite a while. Most of the offerings were well over $200. When I saw B&D had this one for under $100 I snapped it up. The only reason I don't give it a 5 star rating is that it gives you no option to look up manufacturer specific codes on line. That would be a perfect addition to this product.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smcc
Belleville, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent
7/2/2009

Customer review by Duff52302

5.0 stars 7/2/2009 by Duff52302
by Duff52302

Piece of cake to use, worth every penny. I quit playing the game of taking my car in everytime the light came on years ago when I overheard a GM service manager tell one of his mechanics,"Reset the light and charge him an hour labor. That light is set to go on automatically after the warranty expires." Now I can do it and feel safe thanks to this product because it tells me if the problem is serious or dangerous to drive my vehicle with the check engine light on.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Duff52302
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
inefficient
12/10/2009

Customer review by eggirl

2.0 stars 12/10/2009 by eggirl
by eggirl

I returned this item after investigating other simular products. This product only scans a minimum amount of data,others display the OBDII codes and give definitions of exactly what is wrong and scan for CAN which all newer cars have,

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
eggirl
EG,RI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
B & D Car Diagnosis Tool
3/23/2009

Customer review by Carrett

5.0 stars 3/23/2009 by Carrett
by Carrett

I purchased this as a gift for my husband who had previously tried another brand diagnostic tool which didn't work properly. We used the tool to diagnose a problem with our vehicle just days before driving to Florida. We were able to repair the car ourselves, save money and trust our vehicle as we journeyed on our vacation. We would recommend this tool to anyone who repairs and tinkers their own vehicles. It also reinforces and confirms diagnoses done at auto repair shops.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Carrett
Houston TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
good for diagnosing
6/19/2009

Customer review by revv54

3.0 stars 6/19/2009 by revv54
by revv54

the tool is good, but the infomercial is not like what is shows. Nobody knows the cable type to be use to be connected to computer as what is shown in the box and the video. Their promotion is good and too much that their tech don't know what they are showing the public. I called them and no one knows the answer.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
revv54
Eureka, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works great!
8/26/2009

Customer review by nordicwinds1969

5.0 stars 8/26/2009 by nordicwinds1969
by nordicwinds1969

You'll be pleased with this OBD-II reader.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nordicwinds1969
Ukiah, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
5/21/2009

Customer review by donr7310

1.0 stars 5/21/2009 by donr7310
by donr7310

this scanner does not work on all cars

Was this review helpful? (5) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
donr7310
balto md
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
10/16/2009

Customer review by horsepro

5.0 stars 10/16/2009 by horsepro
by horsepro

This is very easy to use and does everything advertised. I could not be happier with a product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
horsepro
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Useful product
2/28/2009

Customer review by Idonotwantastupidnickname

5.0 stars 2/28/2009 by Idonotwantastupidnickname
by Idonotwantastupidnickname

My 11 year old scans the codes for me and looks them up. It's that easy! My regular mechanic charges $65 to run a scan, so it almost pays for itself with the first use, not to mention avoiding the hassle taking the car in.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Idonotwantastupidnickname
Towson, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
code scanner
9/12/2009

Customer review by Oldude28

5.0 stars 9/12/2009 by Oldude28
by Oldude28

I have had my scanner for about one month and used it twice. It is very easy to use and seems to be pretty accurate. My only complaint is that you have to buy additional software to use it with your computer and they don't tell you that up front. Othr than that 2 thumbs up.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Oldude28
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great Product
3/23/2009

Customer review by Budmutt

5.0 stars 3/23/2009 by Budmutt
by Budmutt

Plugged it, turned it on in seconds showed me the number for my particular trouble. Went to the enclosed users manual and Bingo found out exactly what was wrong with my car. Can you believe it a product that really works B&D strikes again...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Budmutt
Newport News, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Black and Decker Smart Scan
3/31/2009

Customer review by Jiggy4

5.0 stars 3/31/2009 by Jiggy4
by Jiggy4

Great to have around in case a car panel light goes off. You can find out what codes mean before you go to the mechanic. You can also clear a light in case you have to go through inspection.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jiggy4
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Exactly what i needed
6/3/2009

Customer review by PlumbBum

5.0 stars 6/3/2009 by PlumbBum
by PlumbBum

this product is the perfect gift for any car lover or enthusiest. though you may not use it often, when you do, it comes in handy. it is a perfect tool for the garage

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PlumbBum
Brewster, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Amazing
3/31/2009

Customer review by pavlovsdog

5.0 stars 3/31/2009 by pavlovsdog
by pavlovsdog

This product works exactly as advertised. It paid for itself in one use. It is so simple that you can hook it up and reset the check engine light in less than a minute. It is built good and has a 2 year warranty.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pavlovsdog
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Excellent product
6/5/2009

Customer review by graddad

5.0 stars 6/5/2009 by graddad
by graddad

Very easy to use, results display within minutes, very easy to clear codes. Excellent product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
graddad
Lancaster, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
6/4/2009

Customer review by zippythepinhead

5.0 stars 6/4/2009 by zippythepinhead
by zippythepinhead

Used it on a 99 Buick And it worked GREAT.Showed the code and was pin point perfect.After repairing the problem,I used the tool to erase the code with no problem encountered,it did what it said it would do.Yes I would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zippythepinhead
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great shipment time
7/6/2010

Customer review by angiehope111

4.0 stars 7/6/2010 by angiehope111
by angiehope111

The gift was purchased a few days before Father's Day for my father and arrived with standard shipping 3 days before expected!! As for the actual product, my dad loved it and said it was great! Would DEFINITELY recommend this and Wal-Mart online!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
angiehope111
Pikeville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
good scanner
4/1/2009

Customer review by kevon

4.0 stars 4/1/2009 by kevon
by kevon

i,ve used 2 times was able to clear the codes easily.when it displayed one of the codes it displayed an 800# to call for explanation when i called the# it was the wrong#

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kevon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4/3/2009

Customer review by Wrencher1

4.0 stars 4/3/2009 by Wrencher1
by Wrencher1

Codes could use a expanded explanation

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wrencher1
Hamlin NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month