Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 5 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

5 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

5 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-5 of 5 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Black & Decker, 750W Power Inverter
10/27/2009

Customer review by Mikeguen

5.0 stars 10/27/2009 by Mikeguen
by Mikeguen

I installed this unit in a 2006 Ford Freestar. My son uses it for his PS3. It works great. As stated in previous reviews, you must hardwire (wire direct) to your battery. This is because the cigarette lighter outlets are for 10 amperes and this unit needs 62.5A to run at full capacity. Even if you run at half capacity which is the requirement for the PS3, you are at 31A and the small wire feeding the cigarette lighter outlet is too small and will have too much resistance. This will cause a large voltage drop between the car battery and the inverter and will cause the inverter’s own protection circuits to shut down the inverter before the PS3 gets fully loaded. You can use No.: 4 copper cable (105A @ 60°C capacity). This will supply the 62.5A and stay cool. 5 Stars for a job well done Black and Decker.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mikeguen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fooled by the box
7/26/2009

Customer review by Hazegrey

2.0 stars 7/26/2009 by Hazegrey
by Hazegrey

Let me start off by saying that this product is available in stores. I bought this product because it had all the overload and surge protection that I have been looking for in an inverter. The dual A/C outlets and the pictures on the box are what sold me on this product but the picture hid the truth about this product. The pictures show that you can plug this product into the cigarette lighter, but when I got home and opened the box I quickly found that this was not the case. This item can "only" be hooked up to the battery or as the last review states "hardwired". I am off to the store again today to look for the one I want.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hazegrey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Black & Decker, 750W Power Inverter
2/13/2009

Customer review by 68dodgeramman

5.0 stars 2/13/2009 by 68dodgeramman
by 68dodgeramman

I installed this in my 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. You need to wire it directly to the battery if you want to run things that draw more electricity. I run my son's XBOX 360 with it and it works perfectly. I can also run my laptop with it. It's simple to hard wire to a vehicle, just make sure that you get the right sized wire. This is a great inverter for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
68dodgeramman
Northern Lower Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Exceeded expectations
3/14/2010

Customer review by pkovo

5.0 stars 3/14/2010 by pkovo
by pkovo

There was a bad rainstorm coming, and we had a high water table from a severe snowmelt. I don't have a backup sump pump, and decided I should buy a portable generator in case we lost power (high winds predicted). Of course I couldn't find a generator, so I bought this as a last resort. Wasn't sure it would even work based on the output (rated at 6.something amps and my pump is 9.7), but figured it was better than having nothing. Sure enough, power went out, and at the time my pump was cycling about every half hour. Got this thing out, and was pleasantly surprised to find it powered my 1/3 HP sump pump without a problem. The sump pump nameplate claims draw of 9.7 Amps, but I believe that is only for a fraction of a second on startup as electric motors pull a big load on startup then settle to about 60% of that after the initiall surge. The great thing about this little inverter is it can handle a peak load of 1500W, which is around 12.5A. In the literature that came with the unit it states it has protection built in so it shuts down if it senses too high of a load but it states that doesn't happen until 15A! Anyway, this thing saved my butt, and was well worth the money. I cycled my sump pump as needed for about 3-4 hours til power came back, and also cycled a 1/2 HP utility pump (8 amp) to pump from a different area in between cycles on the main pump. Because of the load I was pulling, I had to have my truck running when I used it. I would definitely recommend this thing to anyone. Now, I'll probably not press my luck, and instead buy a generator for the next time we get one of these types of storms, but I intend on using this for powertools, radios etc, when I'm in remote areas.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pkovo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Works Great
3/23/2010

Customer review by clearthought

5.0 stars 3/23/2010 by clearthought
by clearthought

Ok so I did a ton of research and was not sure that this would work for the purpose I intended it but it was a champ. I and the family took a road trip that was 4600 miles long. I have teenagers so needless to say I wanted silence. LOL. I purchased an Xbox and a tv/dvd player combo (19"toshiba) and installed them in a 1995 GMC 2500 conversion van. Everything I read said that a modified sine wave inverter(this one) would not work for an xbox. However, this one handled the beastly load of power needed like a champ and showed absolutely no issues. Mission accomplished. Advice: 1. You must direct wire this to your battery. 2. You must use an inline fuse setup. 3. Turn off the inverter every time you turn off the engine other wise you will come out to a dead battery. Also don't turn it on until the engine is running. The way I hooked it up was I purchased (2)4 gauge battery wires (from walmart) (one positive lead and one negative lead)and I purchased an 80amp inline fuse (also walmart) to do this job. Consult the directions that come with unit and it will explain perfectly how to hook this up. If you have any questions take it to a certified mechanic and they will do it for you and of course charge you a fee(I did it myself and it took about 2 hours). Good luck and happy shopping!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
clearthought
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day