Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 25 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

25 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
10
56%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 24 total reviews
good enough
9/17/2010

Customer review by nvburner

4.0 stars by nvburner

It attracts and zaps the bugs, but, lamp has short lifespan. The replacement lamp is not available at WM and is somewhat pricey at Ace Hardware.

Was this review helpful? (37) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
nvburner
Orovada, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
8/29/2010

Customer review by bigguy21

1.0 stars by bigguy21

Did not work on camping trip. Returned it when got back home. Would not recommend not worth it!

Was this review helpful? (20) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bigguy21
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
just what i wanted
4/15/2009

Customer review by jrourk

5.0 stars by jrourk

I can just say one thing it works great i will give it 5 stars. well worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jrourk
Checotah, ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Waste of time and money
4/15/2011

Customer review by Wigglebig

1.0 stars by Wigglebig

I bought two of these at the same time. The first, in a sealed box, with original unbroken tape ( I always look for the box/packaging in the best condition) turned out to be obviously used and full of dead bugs. Maybe it would have worked for me, but as I paid for a new one, I took it back, The second one worked brilliantly.....for an hour at best, then died. I've read/heard a lot about these units having a very short life....but 1 hour? It went back as well and I'll never buy another. From the reviews I read there's about a 50% chance of getting a good unit that lasted, but both of mine were either bad or used. Used? Really? Take my advise and don't waste your time or money.

Was this review helpful? (17) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Wigglebig
Would recommend to a friend? No
I loved it...kill them all
12/12/2011

Customer review by MZiggy1977

5.0 stars by MZiggy1977

While I was skeptical from the other reviews, I was also desperate (We are on well water and I try to absolutely avoid chemical pesticides whenever possible) and tried it anyway. I am so glad that I did. I did not experience the let down expressed by other reviews, in fact the exact opposite. I used the 1 provided mosquito lure and also attached a fly lure/trap bag just behind the zapper and ran the unit 24/7 all summer long with very little increase to my electric bill. It worked so well, that I had to use an air hose to blow out the grids every few days because there were so many dead carcasses built up everywhere. It was constantly zapping, and for some it may be somewhat of an annoying sound to be hearing frequently, but I didn't mind, knowing what it was doing for me. The mosquito lure was recommended for change once a month, but they are pricey (about $8 each) and Walmart does not stock them readily, online or in store, so I used the same lure all summer and it seemed to work very well for at least for 2 months before slowing down. I eventually found a good deal for a 3 pack on ebay to prepare for next summer. I am definately getting another for my garden area and one for my dad for Xmas for use at his campsite next year. For those with questions about the bees, I imagine you could try and put sweet bait near this as I did for the flies. It does not directly attract them to the light, but at least they get close enough to the grids to get zapped.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MZiggy1977
Jefferson, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Seems to be designed for large insects only
10/3/2011

Customer review by Mer1man

4.0 stars by Mer1man

I purchased this to use indoors to help with fly control but it couldn't kill the house flys, mesquitos, or other small insects. The two metal mesh screens were too far apart (an insect must get between and very close to both of the mesh screens to get zapped by the electrical current). I ended up taking it apart and tightening the outer screen so it was closer to the inner screen (with only about 1/4 inch gap instead of nearly a 3/4 inch gap). It's much more effective now, it even kills small fleas or fruit flys - they're piled up at the base of it (perhaps from the heat of the lamp which attracts them very well). I've kept it on day and night for nearly a month now and it's shown no problems.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Mer1man
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Absolutely Amazing!!!
3/27/2012

Customer review by BestowedMom

5.0 stars by BestowedMom

We've got a mosquito outbreak where I reside in my area. We're infested with them! They're absolutely horrible! They were had us for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and dessert! We couldn't get into my home or my vehicles without them getting inside. They were everywhere around here! When I got this bug zapper, I didn't know if it would work or not. I was willing to try it, of course. It works GREAT!!! It's awesome!!! It kills thousands, if not millions of mosquitoes each night!!! Seriously! They will work without the mosquito bait lure that comes with it. At least mine does. Take a look at the picture I uploaded on here. Those are mosquitoes the bug zapper on my front porch killed overnight!! If you can't tell those are mosquitoes, enlarge the image. That may help. I sure do hope everyone can tell those are mosquitoes, because I want everyone to know how well the Stinger 1 Acre Ultra 40W Bug Killer works. I bought one for my front porch and after I had it for almost 3 months, I bought another one for my back porch. I wouldn't spend that kind of money on something that didn't work! Both of them work great

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BestowedMom
Somewhere along the gulf coast.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
weak bulb?
8/7/2010

Customer review by aCountryBoy

3.0 stars by aCountryBoy

I have owned mine for about 2 months now, and the bulb has gone out, or it has quit working. It has power to the unit but now light does not come on. another 15 to 20 bucks down the tube. It worked fine up to now.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
aCountryBoy
rural Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great product
12/11/2011

Customer review by formit

4.0 stars by formit

I've had my bug zapper for almost 3 years now and only have to replace the bulb maybe once a year...I know this product works as I have to clean it out quite frequently as it really does a nice job on all bugs...only one issue, is that when lizards get into it you get a really nasty smokey smell as its almost impossible to get the lizard out before its too late...i would recommend hanging it somewhere they dont have such easy access...otherwise buy one they are worth it..

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
formit
lakeland florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Stinger Bug Zapper works great!
6/19/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars by An anonymous customer

I have had a Stinger Bug zapper for 4 years, it was the Bug zapper that was the next size bigger than this. I had to replace my old one with this newer one, as I dropped my old one getting it out of storage, and damaged the electrical components in the fall. I have used this Stinger #UVB45 now for about a month, and it stands up just like it's former 'bigger brother'. The Blue light attracts all flying and biting insects at night, and draws them into the electrified screen zapper. It's a welcome sound in the backyard at night to hear all the pesky insects getting zapped. I bought the recommended Mosquito Lure NS16 for this, and it draws the mosquito's too. Easy to clean out with an air hose.... and gets right back to zapping... I would recommend this product. It works as advertised.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Hudson, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
awesome just awesome
6/17/2012

Customer review by cjason23

5.0 stars by cjason23

ignore what everyone else says on here i live 500 feet from a lake and this thing not only attracts bugs but it kills around 2000 bugs a night here as for cleaning it that nobody seems to know how so ill tell you how to do it easily use an air can or use a shop vac and put it on reverse takes like 40 seconds to blow them all out this was well worth the cost i have 90% less bugs on my property during the day now hope this helps

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
cjason23
saratoga springs, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
works as advertised
8/25/2011

Customer review by wmtrucker

5.0 stars by wmtrucker

live in country. works well. daylight to dusk switch very handy.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
wmtrucker
roaring springs, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Killed one bug!
5/2/2012

Customer review by lljww

1.0 stars by lljww

Received as a christmas gift. The grid stop working after zapping one bug. Had to call manufacturer for return and send back at my expense. It is a hassel to return because of size. This is the second one received as gift and did not work. Will not keep nor buy another.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
lljww
Columbus,TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
works well
8/15/2010

Customer review by biggerbeck

5.0 stars by biggerbeck

kills bugs effectively.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
biggerbeck
baldwin, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
4/11/2012

Customer review by Cking109

3.0 stars by Cking109

The item worked very well until we unplugged it. Then it wouldn't come on again. We did try other outlets but it still wouldn't come on. When it did work, it did an outstanding job. I'll be returning it and buying a different one.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Cking109
Walker, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
not too sure yet...
4/8/2009

Customer review by ImperialGoddess

4.0 stars by ImperialGoddess

I was all excited about the thought of killing bugs. It's just not warm enough for many bugs to be out yet, so I haven't seen the results I want. I want to go out and see death all around/under this thing. That hasn't happened. It will soon enough, I'm sure. It puts on a heck of a show if a june bug gets in there though...lol. I'd definitely say buy it.....if it's warm. =)

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ImperialGoddess
Lafayette, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Horribly defective
9/3/2012

Customer review by youtoonixa

1.0 stars by youtoonixa

Save your money. Didn't even last a month before it quit working. For those of you that are seriously considering buying this piece of junk, go read some more reviews on Amazon and you will see other people with similar stories about it dying within the first few months.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
youtoonixa
Nixa, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not adequate for common housefly
6/1/2013

Customer review by hokun

1.0 stars by hokun

Following is e-mail communication with the maker of this stinging insect control unit that is very much self-explanatory. To sum up, if you are trying to remove common housefly, this unit would not work for you. ----- Original Message ----- From: Nicholas at Kaz Consumer Relations To: (Deleted per posting guidelines) Sent: Wednesday, May 08, 2013 5:44 AM Subject: Re: Concern: Stinger UVB45 Ultra 1 Acre Outdoor Bug Killers <<#141270-193097#>> Dear Consumer, Thank you for your recent email. Based on your description, the unit is working as intended, but is simply not adequate for the type of insect you are trying to remove. I apologize for any inconvenience this has caused. Kaz is committed to offering quality customer service and we hope we have done this for you. Please don't hesitate to contact us if you require further assistance. Please visit our website to view all of our current products and Web Specials/Rebates! The site also contains many Frequently asked questions, pricing, and the Owner Manuals for the products. Nicholas Consumer Relations Specialist Email: ConsumerRelations AT kaz Phone: 800-477-(Deleted per posting guidelines) Web: (Deleted per posting guidelines) Mail: Consumer Relations Department Kaz Incorporated --- Original Message --- From: (Deleted per posting guidelines) Received: 5/7/13 2:22:10 PM EDT To: Nicholas at Kaz Consumer Relations <ConsumerRelations AT kaz> Subject: Re: Concern: Stinger UVB45 Ultra 1 Acre Outdoor Bug Killers The specific type of insect is housefly or common housefly. Is common housefly one of phototropic insects? Bulbs are illuminating, but just would not attract common housefly. ----- Original Message ----- From: Nicholas at Kaz Consumer Relations To: (Deleted per Lowes posting guidelines) Sent: Monday, May 06, 2013 7:16 AM Subject: Re: Concern: Stinger UVB45 Ultra 1 Acre Outdoor Bug Killers <<#141270-193097#>> Dear Consumer, Thank you for your recent email. Our outdoor insect killers are designed to attract and kill many annoying flying insects. They use an ultraviolet light, which excites insects and lures them into an electric grid where they are electrocuted and fall harmlessly to the ground. In order for an insect to be attracted to this type of unit, they need to be attracted to ultraviolet light (also known as phototropic insects). As long as the bulbs are illuminating, the unit is working. Unfortunately, I do not know whether the specific type of insect that you are referring to is a phototropic insect, so I will be unable to confirm your inquiry. Any insect that flies into this unit and gets trapped between the metal grids will be electrocuted and killed. I sincerely apologize that I could not be of more assistance to you. Kaz is committed to offering quality customer service and we hope we have done this for you. Please don't hesitate to contact us if you require further assistance. Please visit our website to view all of our current products and Web Specials/Rebates! The site also contains many Frequently asked questions, pricing, and the Owner Manuals for the products. Nicholas Consumer Relations Specialist Email: ConsumerRelations AT kaz Phone: 800-477-(Deleted per posting guidelines) Web: (Deleted per posting guidelines) Mail: Consumer Relations Department Kaz Incorporated --- Original Message --- From: (Deleted per posting guidelines) Received: 5/3/13 6:21:48 PM EDT To: "ConsumerRelations AT kaz" <ConsumerRelations AT kaz> Subject: Concern: Stinger UVB45 Ultra 1 Acre Outdoor Bug Killers Brought two Stinger UVB45 Ultra 1 Acre Outdoor Bug Killers and noted both does not attract fly at all. Are those UV light bulbs defective? I have used similar device from Flowtron. Their UV light bulbs are much brighter and attract all flies right away! Your help is greatly appreciated. ------ This is the tracking number for this email: ------ <<#141270-193097#>> ------ This is the tracking number for this email: ------ <<#141270-193097#>>

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
hokun
Long Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
lasted 8 hours
9/27/2012

Customer review by msmccabe

1.0 stars by msmccabe

I bought this and took it home and hung it up and turned on the dusk to dawn setting. It did turn on and lasted throughout the night as far as i know. The next night at dawn i went and checked to see if it was working and the blacklight bulb had already stopped working. The funny thing is i took it into the store to get a refund and someone else was returning the same item with the same problem. these things are horrible and i not sure why they keep these in stock and have taken down the flowtron ones.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
msmccabe
San Tan Valley, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
11/24/2012

Customer review by LaiSaan

5.0 stars by LaiSaan

Dengue free :)

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LaiSaan
PR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 24 total reviews