Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 40 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

40 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

40 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

63%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
14
4 stars
8
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 stars
10
1-20 of 39 total reviews
63%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews
Over 20 yrs and still going strong!
11/28/2013

Customer review by patti6608

5.0 stars 11/28/2013 by patti6608
by patti6608

I just had to write a review for this snowblower after reading the bad reviews people have left. I have owned this same exact snowblower that I purchased from Walmart in 1992..yes 1992! That is 21 years. I want to also state that I live in upstate New York where we average 100+ inches of snow per winter and I love this snowblower. It has never failed us. In 20 yrs all we have had to do is replace a spark plug every few years and after maybe 15 yrs and 100s of uses the pull string. I would recommend this too anyone and would buy another one in a heart beat. So judge for yourself not by these bad reviews...

Was this review helpful? (104) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
patti6608
Upstate New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Not worth the money
11/30/2016

Customer review by ceecee1325

1.0 stars 11/30/2016 by ceecee1325
by ceecee1325

Ordered this & had it sent to the house. Got it- put it together, rolled it to the driveway to start it. Got ready to PULL the cord, it went about 6 inches and stopped. Bruised my hand since I had such a hold on it. The cord just would NOT come out at all. No matter what I tried. SO I had to call & have them send me a return label so I could return it. I am getting my money back. NOT trying another one. If this was brand new- why did it have the *pass* sticker on it. Someone didn't do their job and try things before it got sent down the line to be shipped. Such lazy workmanship/workers we have now days. I would NOT recommend anyone buying one of these.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ceecee1325
Would recommend to a friend? No
Beware the Oil!
2/4/2015

Customer review by John

5.0 stars 2/4/2015 by John
by John

Bought this snow thrower and used it once today. This is a little workhorse, even tackling 3' snow drifts, patiently. Doesn't like small chunks off ice but throws them anyway. Easy to start and run! Drive is sufficient and chute really throws snow! Walked it into snow covered dirt and acorns and it didn't slow it a bit. Easy to assemble out of box -however- beware engine oil issue! I read manuals, and checked the engine dipstick before starting. No oil was apparent on the dipstick so I added way too much oil! Tried to,start the engine And it seized up on me in seconds. Why? Way too much oil. The engine oil MTD Puts in at the factory is crystal clear! You can't see it on the dipstick!! Run your finger down and feel if it is oily. If so, add only a tiny tiny bit at a time until oil is at H mark. DO NOT overfill. Do NOT overfill! If you do overfill, drain the oil and refill to proper level and clean spark plug and blower will start after a few pulls.

Was this review helpful? (17) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
John
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointed
12/21/2016

Customer review by Karl

1.0 stars 12/21/2016 by Karl
by Karl

Bought blower in 2011. First use: flat tire. Warranty shop put tube in. Second year: el.starter spinning and not engaging. Had to load blower on truck and take it to shop. Luckily machine was still under warranty and starter was replaced. 4th year, after warranty: other tire flat, just when I needed it after snow storm. Took wheel off and had tube put in, cost $48 incl.labor. Then the first wheel had low air pressure and tube valve sheared off, another $48. 5th year: unit won't start, just after snow storm. Had to call plow yesterday, cost $38. Still trying to start it, probably dirt in carb. All in all, a piece of junk. Also: forget slushy snow, chute will plug frequently.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Karl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Give it a chance, it won't disappoint!
12/16/2013

Customer review by JaMn1

5.0 stars 12/16/2013 by JaMn1
by JaMn1

I'm not sure what other reviewers were expecting? My only problem with this is I didn't buy it five years ago. I went to store to purchase single stage( I didn't want to spend 500-600 ) we got 7-8 inches yesterday and this was last one at store. Not wanting to shovel, bought this. Right out of truck filled with gas, pushed primer 4 or 5 times, started on first pull. WHAT? Plowing down driveway, not throwing snow very far like other review said, tip chute up a bit. Throws snow easily 25-30 feet across my yard. If you need more power than this, you need a 4x4 with a plow. Only downside is it's over $500. - Told my wife I'm actually looking forward to getting more snow!

Was this review helpful? (48) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JaMn1
Northern IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Something is ALWAYS broken when I need it.
2/13/2016

Customer review by Chuck

1.0 stars 2/13/2016 by Chuck
by Chuck

I have had Yard Machine mowers and been very pleased so when it came time to buy a snow thrower I had no reservations. Unfortunately I have had so much trouble with this item that I'm selling it after using it only twice in 4 years! Specifically it seems like whenever I need it (very early morning with a healthy, NorthEast Ohio snow) this product lets me down! The tires do not stay inflated and come off of the rim (twice). Unfortunately this seems to happen when the temps drop to single digits and it literally happens over night. Both times I had my annual tune-up and the machine was ready to go...so I thought. I have also had problems with the auto-drive wire coming disengaged and the pull cord snapped on me. While these are not major issues and solvable they happen when I am trying to get the driveway cleared and the family off to work and school. Completely let down by this product and will not keep it although its in brand new condition

Was this review helpful? (5) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chuck
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not for New England.
1/12/2010

Customer review by Marabuntus

3.0 stars 1/12/2010 by Marabuntus
by Marabuntus

Works well on light snow. Constantly jamming with wet snow. Not enough power to throw snow far enough. On heavy snow from plows at end of driveway needs to be manually pushed. The single speed drive does not have enough power to get through the pile. Can only attack the pile by cutting into it a few inches at a time instead of the entire 22" cut. Starts easily. Doesn't use a lot of gas. Transmission slipping after two seasons. Repair costs almost as much as new one. For heavy New England snows this just doesn't make the grade.

Was this review helpful? (74) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marabuntus
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Don't Buy
2/7/2010

Customer review by Oman64

1.0 stars 2/7/2010 by Oman64
by Oman64

This snow blower was junk right from the beginning. In the first year i used it once then the pull string seized up and wouldn't start back up. 2nd year used it 3 times on the forth time went to use it and it wouldn't start at all. I took it to the repair shop for the 3rd time in 2 years and the shop said the piston was shot. All i can say is i got a lemon !!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (49) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Oman64
Danielson
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Major Issues
1/29/2015

Customer review by Russ

1.0 stars 1/29/2015 by Russ
by Russ

I purchased this snow blower in 2008. It worked great for a few years and then I thought the sheer pins broke as the auger wasn't going. Come to find out the pins are all there, belt is fine, but the gear box was destroyed. I had a local small engine repairman fix it and showed me the vinyl gears that were contained inside. I was surprised to find out they were not metal. About a year later the plastic receiver for the cables busted and would require a complete replacement of the auger cable as the little unit is fixed to the cable. Then as of the other night during a huge winter blizzard, all of a sudden the wheels stopped spinning. Again thinking it was the belt or a cable, it turned out to be the gear box for the drive. At this point I give up and purchased a more solid unit. Hopefully this one will last and doesn't contain plastic/vinyl parts.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Russ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Snowblower
12/27/2016

Customer review by Lisa

4.0 stars 12/27/2016 by Lisa
by Lisa
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We just purchased this item and have not had any measurable snow yet. It is well built and sturdy. My only complaint so far is the packaging was stained with a considerable amount of oil and the outer box was pretty banged up. Luckily there was no visible damage to the item. Overall I am pleased with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lisa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for our needs
3/7/2014

Customer review by gregoryel

5.0 stars 3/7/2014 by gregoryel
by gregoryel

We bought this before the last storm that hit our area. We have an electric snow blower that did well with 20" of snow, but it took a long time to clear the driveway. This time we had 10" and this machine cut through it like a hot knife through butter. It performed as we expected and were very satisfied with it. The only thing I would change is to add a reverse speed.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gregoryel
Charles Town, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
So far so good
1/1/2010

Customer review by IfYouWantMyOpinion

3.0 stars 1/1/2010 by IfYouWantMyOpinion
by IfYouWantMyOpinion

Haven't had a chance to use it for a heavy snowfall yet, but cleared basic snow well after a 3-4 inch fall. Doesn't handle ice/slush well, but that's not unexpected. The chute is a little flimsy - concerned that it will break in a short period of time.

Was this review helpful? (28) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IfYouWantMyOpinion
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
Worked so far
1/31/2011

Customer review by maryland20879

3.0 stars 1/31/2011 by maryland20879
by maryland20879

Used it in the first snow (1/26/11) and it worked OK. We had a heavy wet snow and the Yard Machine didn't seem to have enough power to throw the snow very far so it had the move the same snow several times. The only bad thing I found was that the second stag blades are made of platic so they where nicked when it picked up an accational rock. However, it was easy to start, and easy to use and it moved 11 inches of wet snow pretty well.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
maryland20879
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
stopped running
12/22/2010

Customer review by davepan

1.0 stars 12/22/2010 by davepan
by davepan

ran for 2 minutes and then stopped defeated the purpose of on line ordering and delivery as i had to load it in my car and take it back

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
davepan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Lasted three weeks before breaking down
2/4/2014

Customer review by DSNorthern

2.0 stars 2/4/2014 by DSNorthern
by DSNorthern

Purchased 1-9-2014 and put it to immediate use clearing my driveway and sidewalk. Started fine and did a good job for as long as it lasted. Worked great four times but halfway through the fifth snowfall in three weeks the blades and auger stopped turning. Checked the four shear pins but they were intact. I suspect an internal belt or something broke so I returned it on 1-29-14, 20 days after purchase. Our driveway and sidewalks are normal paved surfaces, nothing a normal snowblower shouldn't be able to handle.

Was this review helpful? (13) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DSNorthern
Galesburg, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
life saver
2/5/2010

Customer review by snowQueen2010

4.0 stars 2/5/2010 by snowQueen2010
by snowQueen2010

My hisband and I have used this snow blower for our business twice this year. It was a really big help. It did not do so well in the slush , but I have not yet seen the first one that does do well in the slush. It is a real back saver. You wont regret buying it. ( It really paid for itself in just two driveways)

Was this review helpful? (16) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
snowQueen2010
Culpeper,Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
22" two-stage snow thrower
12/30/2015

Customer review by Elias

1.0 stars 12/30/2015 by Elias
by Elias

When I opened the box containing the snow thrower, it was soaked with oil. Apparently the oil contained in the thrower spilled out when the box was handled. The oil plug was not immediately in sight. Hopefully, it is somewhere in the box. I would not recommend ordering it to be delivered. I do not know yet if it will work, but if it does, I would recommend to a friend that he either pick it up or buy it elsewhere. What terms and conditions??

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Elias
Would recommend to a friend? No
A Worthy Investment
1/23/2016

Customer review by BargainHuntingShopper

4.0 stars 1/23/2016 by BargainHuntingShopper
by BargainHuntingShopper

I just bought this snow blower in the past week, anticipating the 6 to 10 inch snow estimate for south central PA. As it turned out, there was 18 inches on the ground when I went out, and still snowing steadily. For a smaller snow blower, it did good, although 18 inches was almost too deep for the intake. At the end of the driveway, the plowed snow was over waist deep. It was a little difficult, and took a little time, but was able to break it down. The only advantages I would see in a larger one would be reverse gear, and a selection of forward speeds to move from one area to another. Also, of course, a little more height for the intake. The snow wasn't a wet snow, and it threw it plenty far enough, and didn't run out of power. I think it would perform sufficiently in a wet snow too, but may be difficult in 20 inches or more.

Was this review helpful? (4) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BargainHuntingShopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good snow blower
11/17/2014

Customer review by Jacob58ynn

5.0 stars 11/17/2014 by Jacob58ynn
by Jacob58ynn

It is just the right size for the side walks and is very easy to handle and has lots of power and easy to start very good snow blower now I will have a fun winter thank you

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jacob58ynn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not a bad machine for the price but consider other
2/16/2015

Customer review by James

3.0 stars 2/16/2015 by James
by James

I purchased this snow blower in 2013 for $588 including the tax. I've used it in different conditions and I would rate it as average. It handles the light dry snow easily up to 12". It does have problems handling any wet snow and the chute has clogs up easily in those slushy conditions. If I had to purchase again I would spend a little more and get more horse power.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
James
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews