Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 28 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

28 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

28 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

64%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
5
1-20 of 27 total reviews
64%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews
Not for New England.
1/12/2010

Customer review by Marabuntus

3.0 stars 1/12/2010 by Marabuntus
by Marabuntus

Works well on light snow. Constantly jamming with wet snow. Not enough power to throw snow far enough. On heavy snow from plows at end of driveway needs to be manually pushed. The single speed drive does not have enough power to get through the pile. Can only attack the pile by cutting into it a few inches at a time instead of the entire 22" cut. Starts easily. Doesn't use a lot of gas. Transmission slipping after two seasons. Repair costs almost as much as new one. For heavy New England snows this just doesn't make the grade.

Was this review helpful? (56) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Marabuntus
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Over 20 yrs and still going strong!
11/28/2013

Customer review by patti6608

5.0 stars 11/28/2013 by patti6608
by patti6608

I just had to write a review for this snowblower after reading the bad reviews people have left. I have owned this same exact snowblower that I purchased from Walmart in 1992..yes 1992! That is 21 years. I want to also state that I live in upstate New York where we average 100+ inches of snow per winter and I love this snowblower. It has never failed us. In 20 yrs all we have had to do is replace a spark plug every few years and after maybe 15 yrs and 100s of uses the pull string. I would recommend this too anyone and would buy another one in a heart beat. So judge for yourself not by these bad reviews...

Was this review helpful? (59) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
patti6608
Upstate New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Don't Buy
2/7/2010

Customer review by Oman64

1.0 stars 2/7/2010 by Oman64
by Oman64

This snow blower was junk right from the beginning. In the first year i used it once then the pull string seized up and wouldn't start back up. 2nd year used it 3 times on the forth time went to use it and it wouldn't start at all. I took it to the repair shop for the 3rd time in 2 years and the shop said the piston was shot. All i can say is i got a lemon !!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (34) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Oman64
Danielson
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Give it a chance, it won't disappoint!
12/16/2013

Customer review by JaMn1

5.0 stars 12/16/2013 by JaMn1
by JaMn1

I'm not sure what other reviewers were expecting? My only problem with this is I didn't buy it five years ago. I went to store to purchase single stage( I didn't want to spend 500-600 ) we got 7-8 inches yesterday and this was last one at store. Not wanting to shovel, bought this. Right out of truck filled with gas, pushed primer 4 or 5 times, started on first pull. WHAT? Plowing down driveway, not throwing snow very far like other review said, tip chute up a bit. Throws snow easily 25-30 feet across my yard. If you need more power than this, you need a 4x4 with a plow. Only downside is it's over $500. - Told my wife I'm actually looking forward to getting more snow!

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JaMn1
Northern IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
So far so good
1/1/2010

Customer review by IfYouWantMyOpinion

3.0 stars 1/1/2010 by IfYouWantMyOpinion
by IfYouWantMyOpinion

Haven't had a chance to use it for a heavy snowfall yet, but cleared basic snow well after a 3-4 inch fall. Doesn't handle ice/slush well, but that's not unexpected. The chute is a little flimsy - concerned that it will break in a short period of time.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IfYouWantMyOpinion
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
Great for our needs
3/7/2014

Customer review by gregoryel

5.0 stars 3/7/2014 by gregoryel
by gregoryel

We bought this before the last storm that hit our area. We have an electric snow blower that did well with 20" of snow, but it took a long time to clear the driveway. This time we had 10" and this machine cut through it like a hot knife through butter. It performed as we expected and were very satisfied with it. The only thing I would change is to add a reverse speed.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gregoryel
Charles Town, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
life saver
2/5/2010

Customer review by snowQueen2010

4.0 stars 2/5/2010 by snowQueen2010
by snowQueen2010

My hisband and I have used this snow blower for our business twice this year. It was a really big help. It did not do so well in the slush , but I have not yet seen the first one that does do well in the slush. It is a real back saver. You wont regret buying it. ( It really paid for itself in just two driveways)

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
snowQueen2010
Culpeper,Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Worked so far
1/31/2011

Customer review by maryland20879

3.0 stars 1/31/2011 by maryland20879
by maryland20879

Used it in the first snow (1/26/11) and it worked OK. We had a heavy wet snow and the Yard Machine didn't seem to have enough power to throw the snow very far so it had the move the same snow several times. The only bad thing I found was that the second stag blades are made of platic so they where nicked when it picked up an accational rock. However, it was easy to start, and easy to use and it moved 11 inches of wet snow pretty well.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
maryland20879
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Good snow blower
11/17/2014

Customer review by Jacob58ynn

5.0 stars 11/17/2014 by Jacob58ynn
by Jacob58ynn

It is just the right size for the side walks and is very easy to handle and has lots of power and easy to start very good snow blower now I will have a fun winter thank you

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jacob58ynn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lasted three weeks before breaking down
2/4/2014

Customer review by DSNorthern

2.0 stars 2/4/2014 by DSNorthern
by DSNorthern

Purchased 1-9-2014 and put it to immediate use clearing my driveway and sidewalk. Started fine and did a good job for as long as it lasted. Worked great four times but halfway through the fifth snowfall in three weeks the blades and auger stopped turning. Checked the four shear pins but they were intact. I suspect an internal belt or something broke so I returned it on 1-29-14, 20 days after purchase. Our driveway and sidewalks are normal paved surfaces, nothing a normal snowblower shouldn't be able to handle.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DSNorthern
Galesburg, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
stopped running
12/22/2010

Customer review by davepan

1.0 stars 12/22/2010 by davepan
by davepan

ran for 2 minutes and then stopped defeated the purpose of on line ordering and delivery as i had to load it in my car and take it back

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
davepan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Beware the Oil!
2/4/2015

Customer review by John

5.0 stars 2/4/2015 by John
by John

Bought this snow thrower and used it once today. This is a little workhorse, even tackling 3' snow drifts, patiently. Doesn't like small chunks off ice but throws them anyway. Easy to start and run! Drive is sufficient and chute really throws snow! Walked it into snow covered dirt and acorns and it didn't slow it a bit. Easy to assemble out of box -however- beware engine oil issue! I read manuals, and checked the engine dipstick before starting. No oil was apparent on the dipstick so I added way too much oil! Tried to,start the engine And it seized up on me in seconds. Why? Way too much oil. The engine oil MTD Puts in at the factory is crystal clear! You can't see it on the dipstick!! Run your finger down and feel if it is oily. If so, add only a tiny tiny bit at a time until oil is at H mark. DO NOT overfill. Do NOT overfill! If you do overfill, drain the oil and refill to proper level and clean spark plug and blower will start after a few pulls.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
John
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10/21/2013

Customer review by Outdoorsman219

4.0 stars 10/21/2013 by Outdoorsman219
by Outdoorsman219

Bought this at the end of the year, but I did get to use it in Ohio's winter weather a few times. Performed better than I thought it would. Went through 1.5" drifts with ease. 10" of snow was nothing for it. This was a wet snow. Does the chute need to be cleared out? Yes, but not too much that makes the blower not perform, or annoying. Starts easy. Can't comment to much how long the blower will last, but I didn't buy it for commercial usage.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Outdoorsman219
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
snow bound
1/28/2015

Customer review by GotE

5.0 stars 1/28/2015 by GotE
by GotE

I was able to easily put the few parts together and it started on the first pull. Living in the UP of Michigan is beautiful but we do get a lot of snow. Given the money I spent it has proven to be able to get my job done. Before this machine I had a small electric snow blower and it is still useful for the steps and deck but it just did not handle the ice and snow the way this machine does.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GotE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great snowblower for convenience
1/20/2014

Customer review by frogiegirl

4.0 stars 1/20/2014 by frogiegirl
by frogiegirl

this yardman snowblower is priced reasonable and is easy to use and received it in a few days. highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
frogiegirl
Pana, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pretty good
1/6/2014

Customer review by oakforge1

3.0 stars 1/6/2014 by oakforge1
by oakforge1

I have had no problems with this blower during the four seasons of use. My only complaint is the self-propel could move at a quicker pace. My suggestion for Yard Machine is to upgrade this machine to multiple self-propel speeds.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oakforge1
Indianapolis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Have had mine 18 years and love it
1/4/2014

Customer review by jbob53

5.0 stars 1/4/2014 by jbob53
by jbob53

I am not certain about the poor reviews , I can tell you this after 18 years I have changed the oil 1 time and broken 2 sheer pins hitting newspapers that were buried , plus gas used .. total expense. I would not give this up unless I move to Florida or Arizona . It does not do well in the super wet slushy snow but will easily handle a normal 6-12 in snow with no issues . if someone stole it I would buy the Exact same .. dont need elect start

Was this review helpful? (23) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jbob53
st louis mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Starts 1st Time, Every Time - Highly Recommended
2/25/2015

Customer review by DaveP71

5.0 stars 2/25/2015 by DaveP71
by DaveP71

Delivery was painless! Home delivery occurred by a polite young driver who was waiting for me at the garage door. Un-boxing was easy and fast. The "assembly" was also easy and fast - it really is pre-assembled with only the handle extension requiring placement. I checked the oil level - OK. Added fuel to the gas tank. I read the directions - again. Following the directions regarding choke, prime and pull - the machine came to live on the FIRST PULL! I am very impressed and will recommend this machine to others. In Chicago, I thought that my purchase would deflect all SNOW to the Northeast (Boston, etc.). But, snow is predicted for tonite! I am looking forward to the fun!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DaveP71
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it!!
2/22/2015

Customer review by Diane

5.0 stars 2/22/2015 by Diane
by Diane

This has been the best purchase I've made this year! This little machine has tons of snowblowing power. Easy to use right out of the box. For a 5'2" petite female, this was important. Love it!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Diane
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not a bad machine for the price but consider other
2/16/2015

Customer review by James

3.0 stars 2/16/2015 by James
by James

I purchased this snow blower in 2013 for $588 including the tax. I've used it in different conditions and I would rate it as average. It handles the light dry snow easily up to 12". It does have problems handling any wet snow and the chute has clogs up easily in those slushy conditions. If I had to purchase again I would spend a little more and get more horse power.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
James
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews