Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 471 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

471 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

471 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
304
4 stars
115
3 stars
11
2 stars
7
1 stars
34
1-20 of 352 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 352 total reviews
1-20 of 352 reviews
Basic Sony DVD Player Definitely Worth The Cost!
12/29/2011

Customer review by BillTheNetter

5.0 stars 12/29/2011 by BillTheNetter
by BillTheNetter

First of all, it's a Sony! I have always owned Sony electronic equipment because they are a great quality machine, from their cheapest units to their most expensive products. I bought this DVD player cuz my other 2 DVD's finally took a dive after 5-7 years of great service! The worst thing about this particular unit is that it is not a full size DVD player that is usually about 17" wide. This unit is only 12 1/2" wide and under 2" tall. It's a small unit, but it does more then both of my $200.00+ machines that finally died. This plays almost all forms of DVD's, CD's, Photo CD's, you name it, it plays it. The remote is also smaller then most remotes, but that's OK with me as it helps me to find it faster out of the 6+ new and old remotes I still use .... hehehe! (I really need to buy one of those remotes that operate up to 8 different units, but that's another review!) All in all, this DVD player is definitely worth the price I paid for it, like $30.00. Great for a kid's room or even your front room if you just like to watch your DVD's without all the bells and whistles! You can control the audio output and subtitles from the remote. Read the: "All About This DVD Player", section to make sure that you get everything you want out of a less expensive DVD player verses a more expensive one! It works well and I am very happy with it! A great deal!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BillTheNetter
Clawson, Michigan USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great DVD Player - Great Value
9/13/2009

Customer review by DrumJunkie

5.0 stars 9/13/2009 by DrumJunkie
by DrumJunkie

I bought this for my wife's grandparents. It was smaller than I thought it would be but that was me not paying attention to the specs listed on the web page. . This player loads thew disc fast. It plays all the formats that are listed and does it well. Picture and sound are great. have had other Sony models that I bought years ago that are still working so I expect this one to last a good long while. Like other Sony DVD players it will remember it's place in up to 6 discs which comes in a lot more handy than you would think especially if you have kids). It will play DVD +/- R discs so home movies or video back ups will play fine. . I didn't really like the supplied cable. Like most it was a little small but I had bought a better one when I ordered it knowing that this is pretty common and for what you are paying for the player this was not an issue with the overall value of the product. The one supplied will work fine but being one that watches a lot of video I will usually buy cables that I know will allow for the best overall picture and sound quality separate from the ones bundles with the package(s). I'd say most people will have no issue with the supplied cable. . If you're looking for a player that has a smaller footprint but still has the features you want this player is a darn good one. You can pay more for much less a player. I had friends see his one and go out and order one because it did better than ones they had that cost a good bit more.

Was this review helpful? (161) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DrumJunkie
S. Central Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sony Products
7/12/2010

Customer review by Lito973

5.0 stars 7/12/2010 by Lito973
by Lito973

What can I say about this Sony DVD player other then it rocks, very good price, sleek looking & plays even better then expected. Great buy for dorm room, spare room or as a birthday gift. I actually am buying another 1 for my spare room, so you can see how sold I'am with this product.

Was this review helpful? (69) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lito973
Newark, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A good Secondary DVD Player
11/23/2009

Customer review by Luckland

4.0 stars 11/23/2009 by Luckland
by Luckland

I have this DVD player connected to my secondary TV (Sony LCD 32 inch). I picked up this DVD player locally and brought the first one back, because something inside was moving as I shifted the DVD player - sounded like loose solder across the bottom of the player. The second one was OK. I purchased this DVD player, because of the following useful options: 1. Multi-disc resume from a stopped position (6) 2. Multiple sound-fields through the TV, which transfers through to my Sherwood stereo amplifier, two small bookshelf speakers and an unpowered sub. The sound-fields add punch to movie and TV soundtracks. 3. Multiple picture modes (Dynamic, Cinema, etc), including a custom mode, which I can manually adjust the picture in greater detail. This works great for some of the TV series on DVD with grain. 4. Does not up-convert - This is what I wanted - a basic DVD player, with 480P progressive output. 5. The remote will control my TV power; volume; and TV input (video 1, component 1, etc) While the picture and sound are very good, my Panasonic player from 2003 connected to my 50 inch Panasonic TV seems better. I think this may be attributed to the difference in the TVs, the video source and better cables. The Sony DVD player video is crystal clear for DVDs, like Finding Nemo (Most are), but needs some tweaking for TV series, even new ones that are in widescreen. I have a better component cable connected now, but will be upgrading to see if there is a difference. The menu is fairly simple and easy to use, once the operating instructions are reviewed. I can navigate through multiple options while the movie is playing, but can not change the TV Set UP - Custom Menu for various settings, such as output from 16x9 to 4x3 (Full or Normal) while watching a movie- I have to stop the movie. Luckily, my Sony TV has the option to switch via one button on the remote from normal to full to wide. Unfortunately, the zoom is limited to 2x or 4x, without multiple screen sizes, nor a manual adjustment. The 2x will zoom up the older wide screen movies that are in the older narrow format, like Nixon. Lastly, I was hoping this DVD player would play damaged DVDs that I have. I have a Tombstone special edition DVD that has had problems on other players (Panasonic, Toshiba, Sanyo, etc), where it played half way and froze, pixilated after starting, skipped, etc. On the Sony DVD player it loaded, played the initial generic warning message featured on the video, but would not even jump to the menu. Overall, this player is a keeper for my secondary TV, but I will keep looking for another back-up for my 2003 Panasonic as my primary player.

Was this review helpful? (207) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Luckland
Upstate, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Good Product
5/19/2010

Customer review by ShipLover

5.0 stars 5/19/2010 by ShipLover
by ShipLover

Works well, simple to operate, and does what I want it to do. Am pleased with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (56) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShipLover
Lewisburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Good value
12/23/2010

Customer review by Jest61

5.0 stars 12/23/2010 by Jest61
by Jest61

I don't watch many DVDs and am not a techno. I switched from a TV with a built in dvd for a wall flat screen and needed a dvd player. Extremely easy to set up (GOOD instructions) and use. Amazingly good price.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jest61
Ocean Shores, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Item
7/22/2010

Customer review by jmarie911

5.0 stars 7/22/2010 by jmarie911
by jmarie911

This DVD player gets the job done. Sleek design and simple controls. If you don't need all the hoopla and just want to watch your discs, this is the machine. The price is great and the performance is outstanding.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jmarie911
Atlanta, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great DVD/CD Player
12/17/2010

Customer review by Cipota

5.0 stars 12/17/2010 by Cipota
by Cipota

It plays DVDs and CDs too. It looks great! It remembers where you left off even when you take the DVD out and play something else. I bought one for myself this Summer. Then, I went back and bought one for my son's birthday. I am now going back to buy one for my brother for Christmas. I love it! I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cipota
Santa Rosa, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good product for the price
6/6/2009

Customer review by Isaza30

4.0 stars 6/6/2009 by Isaza30
by Isaza30

a little slow to react when pressing remote or buttons on the device, but you cant beat a sony product for $40.

Was this review helpful? (25) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Isaza30
huntsville, al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A Good DVD player
7/30/2009

Customer review by Carlover28

5.0 stars 7/30/2009 by Carlover28
by Carlover28

A fair DVD player. The hassel is that the zoom is in the display menu. Would recomend the Magnavox $30 DVD player if you are not very "tech savy."

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Carlover28
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Slick little player!
10/4/2010

Customer review by ArtyG

4.0 stars 10/4/2010 by ArtyG
by ArtyG
Top 250 contributor

This is a great little player that I have used every day for the passed 18 months or so. I watch a Netflix DVD literally every day, sometimes two, which speaks to its durability. This little player works great and is a true bargain. I had to modify mine by putting white tape on the function keys so I could find them: the sleek piano black finish does not offer enough contrast in subdued lighting. At first I was disappointed with the lack of an open tray function on the remote but then I realized there was no reason to open the tray if you weren't standing in front of it. "Sony, no baloney!"

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ArtyG
Indian Trail, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
DON'T BUY THIS
9/5/2010

Customer review by TaosWebMaster

1.0 stars 9/5/2010 by TaosWebMaster
by TaosWebMaster

The first one stopped playing dvds about one week into ownership. Brought it back and exchanged it. The second unit worked for two weeks and then it decided not to play dvds. Unplugging it and resetting it did nothing. A total waste of money. I've bought cheap dvd players that have lasted years but this model is worthless.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TaosWebMaster
Taos, NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Stoped working after less then a month of purchase
4/7/2009

Customer review by Frama

1.0 stars 4/7/2009 by Frama
by Frama

I bought this dvd player and it played fine for about 2 weeks. then one day it just stopped working. It would never load the dvds. I know it is the player because the DVDs work on other DVD in the house. I would not buy this product. You get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (21) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Frama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good Product Great Value
1/13/2011

Customer review by hazelaries

5.0 stars 1/13/2011 by hazelaries
by hazelaries

This slim design dvd player meets and exceeds expectations. I needed a player that played all kinds of formats because i have burned a lot of movies and shows and this dvd plays them all. it doesn't have many extra features but for $39 its a great player and doesn't take up much space.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hazelaries
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sonys going downhill
2/28/2010

Customer review by jayduba

1.0 stars 2/28/2010 by jayduba
by jayduba

After 2 months of using this machine I'm getting out of area message and the machine refuses to play discs that it played previously. There are no software updates to fix it with . And by the way there isn't an eject button on the remote. ??????

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jayduba
Would recommend to a friend? No
2/18/2010

Customer review by walheartmart

1.0 stars 2/18/2010 by walheartmart
by walheartmart

I bought this DVD player about 6 months ago and it played great. Then just recently it has been giving me an error message saying DVD cannot load and the DVD just spins in the player. Very disappointed! What a waste of 40 bucks.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
walheartmart
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
BAD QUALITY SONY ITEM!
9/19/2009

Customer review by LabLuver4Life

2.0 stars 9/19/2009 by LabLuver4Life
by LabLuver4Life

This product only lasted 6 months with minimal usage of an average use of once per week. After six months the disc would not load anymore and it had trouble spinning, making a grinding sound. I trusted Sony products in the past, but not this one!! Nice playback picture but did not stand the test of time.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LabLuver4Life
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1/9/2011

Customer review by KTBoi

3.0 stars 1/9/2011 by KTBoi
by KTBoi

For the first 6 months it worked fairly well but then it stopped playing my dvd's or froze in the middle of the movie. I was really surprised because Sony usually puts out a great product that last forever

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KTBoi
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Just what I needed
1/6/2011

Customer review by divagran2

4.0 stars 1/6/2011 by divagran2
by divagran2

This DVD player was economical and convenient. It was easy to install and after reading some of the directions, the remote was a cinch. So far it has served it's purpose well.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
divagran2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
PRICED WAS TEMPTING
5/28/2009

Customer review by DOMINICAN30

5.0 stars 5/28/2009 by DOMINICAN30
by DOMINICAN30

IS A LITTER MUCH SMALLER ,THEN I THOUGH! EVERYTHING IS FINE,BUT IT DOES NOT REWIND,OR FAST,FOWARD,WITHOUT THE REMOTE,WONT PAUSE NITHER,THOSE 3 FUNCTIONS ARE ONLY ON THE REMOTE, SO DONT LOSE YOUR REMOTE,OR YOU WILL BE LOST!

Was this review helpful? (15) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DOMINICAN30
JACKSON HEISHTS,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 352 total reviews
1-20 of 352 reviews