Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 60 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

60 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

60 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
45
4 stars
13
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 58 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 58 total reviews
1-20 of 58 reviews
Excellent Results
12/28/2009

Customer review by ArizonaGuy

5.0 stars 12/28/2009 by ArizonaGuy
by ArizonaGuy

I've used the scanner for both photo prints and negatives and the results are excellent. It scans quickly, with little lag time for warm-up. This scanner replaced one 10-years old that was beginning to malfunction. This scanner is a big leap forward in technology improvement. I'm very pleased with this product and it is well worth the investment. The photo I've included was scanned from a faded print that was over 30 years old, that I auto-adjusted with software after scanning.

Was this review helpful? (51) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ArizonaGuy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
8/30/2009

Customer review by Lady33

5.0 stars 8/30/2009 by Lady33
by Lady33

It is all it claimed to be, easy to install and just push a button to use. I give it Super Raves!!

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lady33
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Canon CS5600F Scanner
8/7/2009

Customer review by MoWoodworker

5.0 stars 8/7/2009 by MoWoodworker
by MoWoodworker

I particularly like the 35 mm film strip scanning capabilities. This scanner comes with basic photo enhancement software, and is generally easy to use. I had some difficulty with USB port selection, and recognition of the new hardware. That may be linked to incompatabilty and recognition problems with my laser printer. I unplug the printer from the pc when I want to use the scanner.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MoWoodworker
Mid Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Awesome
8/2/2010

Customer review by BusyMom9

5.0 stars 8/2/2010 by BusyMom9
by BusyMom9

This scanner is fast, reliable, great quality, and I wouldn't change if I could. It's easy to use and scans so fast I couldn't believe it. get it. you wont be dissappointed.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BusyMom9
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very good scanner for the money
7/24/2011

Customer review by tcp1

4.0 stars 7/24/2011 by tcp1
by tcp1

the canon 5600F scanner is doing all that I set out to do. my focus is to conver a large number of slides to a digital format and it is meeting the challenge

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tcp1
virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
scanners
4/30/2009

Customer review by TGUIDO44

4.0 stars 4/30/2009 by TGUIDO44
by TGUIDO44

This product was a little bigger than I expected, overall I am happy I bought this scanner. Pics are excelent,even comes with a rack to scan film or slides. Documents come out great. Downloaded with no problem's.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TGUIDO44
Birmingham, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better than expected
8/25/2011

Customer review by rocksinmyhead

5.0 stars 8/25/2011 by rocksinmyhead
by rocksinmyhead

Easy to use Exceeds expectations in quality and performance

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rocksinmyhead
Fredonia, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Great Scanner
2/8/2012

Customer review by frankyzz

5.0 stars 2/8/2012 by frankyzz
by frankyzz

I purchased this mainly to scan 35mm negatives. My negatives are badly curled and don't want to fit into the supplied holder. I positioned a strip of negatives under the holder and held them in place while removing the holder. I put two strips of masking tape to mark the position of the negatives. Now I place the negatives on the glass between the tape and place the holder on top. A little scooting is necessaary sometimes but it works for me. Good images and color.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
frankyzz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
9/27/2011

Customer review by Grandmom611

4.0 stars 9/27/2011 by Grandmom611
by Grandmom611

Product is a great scanner however I bought it to scan old negatives and slides and to date I can't seem to get this feature to work. I appears to have all the components to do the scanning, I just can't get it to work as of yet. Very easy to load software to computer. Because of the problems I'm having I have to say I wouldn't recommend it to a friend. If I can work out this gliche I'm be happy to change my recommendation.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Grandmom611
Perkiomenville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A very nice product...easy to operate
2/15/2009

Customer review by MartyMoose56

5.0 stars 2/15/2009 by MartyMoose56
by MartyMoose56

A very good product. Easy to operate, excellent photos.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MartyMoose56
Powder Springs, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great scanner..
5/21/2010

Customer review by iwokeupfat

5.0 stars 5/21/2010 by iwokeupfat
by iwokeupfat

Very easy to set up... easy to use... works great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iwokeupfat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very happy.
10/6/2013

Customer review by electron

5.0 stars 10/6/2013 by electron
by electron

I cannot remember how many photos I `ve scanned from old family pictures. Add to that, 33 reels of slides. But I`ve found out I can `fudge` old negatives by laying them on the opening for slides and scanning 35mm worth of them. So far I`ve brought back images from as far back as the `30`. Some look like they were taken yesterday! So by accident, Canon has added another feature to this wonderful scanner! Thanks!

electron
Westland,Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Canon means quality
4/29/2011

Customer review by Sci Fi Junky

5.0 stars 4/29/2011 by Sci Fi Junky
by Sci Fi Junky

I purchased this product to replace another Canon scanner that was not compatible with Windows 7. I also wanted/needed one with its own power supply as I connect it to a laptop. The scans, even on the default settings are true to the originals. I use it to save important documents to pdf files and for saving old photos in digital format. Another great use for this, or any scanner is for enlarging those pesky wallet cards with way too much information on them to be read by a normal person. I can scan my pocket baseball season schedule and print it as a 4x6 photo, and it is easy as pie to read. I have not tried the negative/slide scanning yet but expect the results to be just as good as I have already experienced. It is quite a bit larger than my previous scanner, but since it has a dedicated shelf, this is not an issue.

Sci Fi Junky
Westmont, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great buy
3/4/2011

Customer review by CD

5.0 stars 3/4/2011 by CD
by CD

This was purchased as my first scanner purchase in about 15 years. Thing shave improved. The scanner is faster with better resolution. The connection to my Mac was nothing, the software loaded perfectly and is intuitive and easy to use

CD
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great slide/photo scanner
5/26/2012

Customer review by JDB

5.0 stars 5/26/2012 by JDB
by JDB

I purchased this scanner to continue my multi year project of digitizing over 30 years of slides and old family photos. After several years of constant use, my old Canoscan scanner was in need of replacement and due to availability issues due to the weather in AP, the 5600F was the only one readily available. My original choice was the 9000F. I have been using this scanner nearly daily, splitting my scanning time between slides, negatives and old photos. the 5600F has worked flawlessly for everything I have asked of it. The only place where I encountered a problem is more due to a piece of Canon software rather than the actual scanner. I wanted to scan an 11X14 print and enlarge it to 13X19. I encountered no problems taking the 2 high resolution scans, but when trying to merge them into a single image using PhotoStitch I encountered a problem. The program created an image for me, but it seamed the images together right in the middle of someone's face and created a lopsided eye in the process. I retried creating the final image several times using different resolutions and rotating the image, still no good. Finally I decided to try Photoshop CS5's PhotoMerge feature and was rewarded with a perfect image on the first try. PhotoMerge placed the seam between 2 people where it only affected the background.

JDB
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
glad I made the investment
10/29/2010

Customer review by flame402000

5.0 stars 10/29/2010 by flame402000
by flame402000

I love this product. It was easy to set up, easy to begin scanning my negatives. After scanning and viewing the photos, I was amazed at the brilliant colors and the high resolution. They looked every bit as good as the original photos. The higher the resolution, the longer it takes to scan. I did 8 negatives in about 20 minutes, but it is worth it. The PhotoShop software that comes with it is not very good, according to my son who is a big PS user. I'm hoping to find an accessory so that I can scan my old 110 film negatives.

flame402000
Lynnwood, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Supports Windows 7
2/22/2010

Customer review by Texdawg

5.0 stars 2/22/2010 by Texdawg
by Texdawg

I purchased this scanner for three major reasons. One, it is fully Windows 7 compatible. Two, great reviews. Three, I got it at a good price.

Texdawg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So far So Good
6/3/2010

Customer review by Paschal

5.0 stars 6/3/2010 by Paschal
by Paschal

I purchased this scanner to replace another CanoScan unit that I have been very pleased with for the no wait LED document scan feature, which works quite well. Almost every day I have 1-10 documents I need to scan and save to an encrypted pdf data base, but not all at once, so several times through the day I had to wait out the warm-up time, which was often frustrating. The 5600f filled my need on that front, and waiting is no longer an issue. My 4200f is being deployed to another PC in the house, and is still working quite well. I do have a massive slide and photo project that covers a ton of inventory, but I knew going in that it used the warm up flouresant tube, but that is different because it is a project where you scan non-stop until you are tired of scanning. For those who have used Canoscan Toolbox for a long time, like myself, will find the new software package very, very, different. I had the Toolbox doing what I needed without much thought, and slowly the new version is starting to click.....I will future post should I find problems with it. I will also future post to give my opinion on photo....so far, only done a few, but the quality looks pretty high end considering the price of the 5600.

Paschal
Southeast U.S.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I'm Happy
5/4/2009

Customer review by Gma

5.0 stars 5/4/2009 by Gma
by Gma

I purchased this scanner to scan pictures my Dad took when I was a teenager. I have boxes and boxes of slides. I am happy with the time it takes to scan the slides. I have not been able to master the tools to enhance the slides. The online help hasn't helped much!

Gma
Eastern North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2/14/2009

Customer review by Grandma

5.0 stars 2/14/2009 by Grandma
by Grandma

Received it as a Christmas present for 08. So far I have scanned old photos from the 40's with it and was able to email them to cousins. I have copied documents for the tax etc. and got nice clear copies. So far I have not done anything with negatives but will. It is a little big for my desk but I will find another table or shelf for it. But It was a great gift.

Grandma
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 58 total reviews
1-20 of 58 reviews