Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 60 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

60 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

60 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
45
4 stars
13
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 58 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 58 total reviews
1-20 of 58 reviews
Excellent Results
12/28/2009

Customer review by ArizonaGuy

5.0 stars 12/28/2009 by ArizonaGuy
by ArizonaGuy

I've used the scanner for both photo prints and negatives and the results are excellent. It scans quickly, with little lag time for warm-up. This scanner replaced one 10-years old that was beginning to malfunction. This scanner is a big leap forward in technology improvement. I'm very pleased with this product and it is well worth the investment. The photo I've included was scanned from a faded print that was over 30 years old, that I auto-adjusted with software after scanning.

Was this review helpful? (51) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ArizonaGuy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome
8/2/2010

Customer review by BusyMom9

5.0 stars 8/2/2010 by BusyMom9
by BusyMom9

This scanner is fast, reliable, great quality, and I wouldn't change if I could. It's easy to use and scans so fast I couldn't believe it. get it. you wont be dissappointed.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BusyMom9
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
8/30/2009

Customer review by Lady33

5.0 stars 8/30/2009 by Lady33
by Lady33

It is all it claimed to be, easy to install and just push a button to use. I give it Super Raves!!

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lady33
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Canon CS5600F Scanner
8/7/2009

Customer review by MoWoodworker

5.0 stars 8/7/2009 by MoWoodworker
by MoWoodworker

I particularly like the 35 mm film strip scanning capabilities. This scanner comes with basic photo enhancement software, and is generally easy to use. I had some difficulty with USB port selection, and recognition of the new hardware. That may be linked to incompatabilty and recognition problems with my laser printer. I unplug the printer from the pc when I want to use the scanner.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MoWoodworker
Mid Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
very good scanner for the money
7/24/2011

Customer review by tcp1

4.0 stars 7/24/2011 by tcp1
by tcp1

the canon 5600F scanner is doing all that I set out to do. my focus is to conver a large number of slides to a digital format and it is meeting the challenge

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tcp1
virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
scanners
4/30/2009

Customer review by TGUIDO44

4.0 stars 4/30/2009 by TGUIDO44
by TGUIDO44

This product was a little bigger than I expected, overall I am happy I bought this scanner. Pics are excelent,even comes with a rack to scan film or slides. Documents come out great. Downloaded with no problem's.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TGUIDO44
Birmingham, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Rocket science at it's best!
11/8/2009

Customer review by eveready

5.0 stars 11/8/2009 by eveready
by eveready

finally, a scanner that's made 35mm slides. The Canon5600Fis simple and basic that i scaned, croped, edit and categorized into custom files over 200 by the next day. these slides weremy chilodhood slides from the sixties and seventies. i used the middle resolution setting which is 1200. At this setting it will scan 4 color 35 mm slides and film in under 4 minutes. The program puts all scanned items in one area for renaming , editing, and file for easy viewing. The hardest thing to do is pick which slides to scan. After buying a 5600F i came home, unpacked scanner, connected cable and cord, and briefly glancede at a quick manuel and within 5 minutes had my first set of slides scanned. This scanner will match up to any other at half the price and without headaches. Here's simple, i forgot to use the start up disk, ooopps! this one is a No Brainer!

eveready
malibu, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Canon means quality
4/29/2011

Customer review by Sci Fi Junky

5.0 stars 4/29/2011 by Sci Fi Junky
by Sci Fi Junky

I purchased this product to replace another Canon scanner that was not compatible with Windows 7. I also wanted/needed one with its own power supply as I connect it to a laptop. The scans, even on the default settings are true to the originals. I use it to save important documents to pdf files and for saving old photos in digital format. Another great use for this, or any scanner is for enlarging those pesky wallet cards with way too much information on them to be read by a normal person. I can scan my pocket baseball season schedule and print it as a 4x6 photo, and it is easy as pie to read. I have not tried the negative/slide scanning yet but expect the results to be just as good as I have already experienced. It is quite a bit larger than my previous scanner, but since it has a dedicated shelf, this is not an issue.

Sci Fi Junky
Westmont, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better than expected
8/25/2011

Customer review by rocksinmyhead

5.0 stars 8/25/2011 by rocksinmyhead
by rocksinmyhead

Easy to use Exceeds expectations in quality and performance

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rocksinmyhead
Fredonia, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Great Scanner
2/8/2012

Customer review by frankyzz

5.0 stars 2/8/2012 by frankyzz
by frankyzz

I purchased this mainly to scan 35mm negatives. My negatives are badly curled and don't want to fit into the supplied holder. I positioned a strip of negatives under the holder and held them in place while removing the holder. I put two strips of masking tape to mark the position of the negatives. Now I place the negatives on the glass between the tape and place the holder on top. A little scooting is necessaary sometimes but it works for me. Good images and color.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
frankyzz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
So far So Good
6/3/2010

Customer review by Paschal

5.0 stars 6/3/2010 by Paschal
by Paschal

I purchased this scanner to replace another CanoScan unit that I have been very pleased with for the no wait LED document scan feature, which works quite well. Almost every day I have 1-10 documents I need to scan and save to an encrypted pdf data base, but not all at once, so several times through the day I had to wait out the warm-up time, which was often frustrating. The 5600f filled my need on that front, and waiting is no longer an issue. My 4200f is being deployed to another PC in the house, and is still working quite well. I do have a massive slide and photo project that covers a ton of inventory, but I knew going in that it used the warm up flouresant tube, but that is different because it is a project where you scan non-stop until you are tired of scanning. For those who have used Canoscan Toolbox for a long time, like myself, will find the new software package very, very, different. I had the Toolbox doing what I needed without much thought, and slowly the new version is starting to click.....I will future post should I find problems with it. I will also future post to give my opinion on photo....so far, only done a few, but the quality looks pretty high end considering the price of the 5600.

Paschal
Southeast U.S.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
9/27/2011

Customer review by Grandmom611

4.0 stars 9/27/2011 by Grandmom611
by Grandmom611

Product is a great scanner however I bought it to scan old negatives and slides and to date I can't seem to get this feature to work. I appears to have all the components to do the scanning, I just can't get it to work as of yet. Very easy to load software to computer. Because of the problems I'm having I have to say I wouldn't recommend it to a friend. If I can work out this gliche I'm be happy to change my recommendation.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grandmom611
Perkiomenville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Who needs a fax machine
1/9/2011

Customer review by Brucine

5.0 stars 1/9/2011 by Brucine
by Brucine

I bought my CanoScan 5600F when I was in the Middle East working for a defense contractor. There were many times when I need a fax machine to take care of personal business. I decided to buy the Canon scanner and it made things very easy. The scanner is very easy to use, the documents are as clear as the media from which it is copied and once I scanned a document, I could email it and also save an electronic copy just in case the hard copy was lost. I am now back in the US, and I still used my scanner. I have to scan my timesheets and expense reports and send them to my company's headquarters since I work out of my home office and this makes my life so much easier. This was one of the smartest investments I have ever made. Thanks, Canon! J. L. H.

Brucine
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pretty decent value
8/30/2009

Customer review by John

4.0 stars 8/30/2009 by John
by John

This scanner provides excellent quality scans, but the software included is pretty limited. Not being able to correct 48-bit color photos is a bit puzzling. I guess that's part of the trade-off for a lower price. Higher resolution scans are painfully slow, but the results are pretty spectacular when they are done. By the way, you can only scan at the highest resolutions using PhotoStudio. Settings need to be tinkered with to get the best results. I don't like the Unsharp Mask being on by default, since it can make photos and negatives that don't need it look grainy. But that is easily changed. Unfortunately, this scanner, and virtually every other scanner out there, only allows scanning of 35mm film, which is a HUGE drawback. Hundreds of my older family photos were taken with 110 film and the scanner leaves no option for those negatives. It really wouldn't be hard for Canon to create an adaptor and re-write the software to enable it to accept such negatives. I tried putting 110 negatives in the 35 mm holder, to try and crop and save, but it won't read them at all. The 8800 is faster and has better software, so if I had a "do-over" I'd buy that one. But nonetheless, this scanner really does do an excellent job and I am happy with the results I get.

John
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for Slides
10/26/2011

Customer review by Dad'sOldSlides

5.0 stars 10/26/2011 by Dad'sOldSlides
by Dad'sOldSlides

Bought this scanner, after reviewing several on-line, to scan a bunch of my Dad's old 35mm slides. It works great for this purpose. I was up and scanning in a matter of minutes. It is a little loud when operating and does take up a fairly large space on the desk, but I see no other negatives. Dad wasn't the best photographer so the photo editing software that comes with it is very handy (anybody with a basic knowledge of PhotoShop should be able to jump in and be adjusting brightness and fixing red eye in no time). I think it is pretty quick too. I'm averaging a little less than a minute per slide (after an hour of use) including editing and saving to a separate file on my computer. Highly recommend this one.

Dad'sOldSlides
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
CANOSCAN 5600F SCANNER
2/20/2015

Customer review by Richard L.

5.0 stars 2/20/2015 by Richard L.
by Richard L.

I have a computer with Windows 7 on it, and my Visioneer one touch ccd scanner would not work with it anymore. I like to scan coins in slabs, and raw coins, and items that are a little 3-d . I emailed Canon , and even though it is not offered by them anymore, I found one on line, and used the drivers avaliable from Canon, they worked great with the MP Navigator download also still on Canon site. I tried to find drivers for visioneer, no luck. Wish Canon still offered this scanner, works perfect, makes PDF, and You can do JPG images with the steps Canon sent me. THANK YOU CANON.

Richard L.
Texas
Great slide scanner
4/26/2015

Customer review by Sophie

5.0 stars 4/26/2015 by Sophie
by Sophie

I've been looking for 20 years for a quality slide scanner to copy my 4000 family slides. The Canon 5600F has been amazing! Scanning through Photoshop at 2600dpi, I have been able to revive old faded photos to nearly perfect condition. I just leave 4 slides to scan at a time while I do other things, then save them to printable size after fixing the color and flaws. The software installed in Windows 7 easily.

Sophie
Seattle, WA
A good purchase for the money
2/12/2011

Customer review by Jr

5.0 stars 2/12/2011 by Jr
by Jr

I purchased the Canon CanoScan 5600F in February of 2011. One reason I chose Canon was I have a Canon digital camera that I get very good pictures and over the years have purchased Canon products. I know the quality of Canon products. I am very pleased with the quality of the scans of photos and 35 mm slides with the CanoScan 5600F. The ability to scan 35 mm slides was the main reason I purchased the ConoScan 5600F. The software and the scan driver was easy to install. It was easy for me to connect to the computer. I was up and running within 10 minutes. I have scanned approximately 500 35 mm slides and a few photos. The only shortcomings, in my opinion, the Quick Start Guide was not very clear as how to setup the scanner for 35mm slides. I almost took back the scanner for a refund before I figured out myself how to set it up for 35 mm slides. The scanner is not a speed demon. It takes 3 minutes to scan four 35 mm slides. I have thousands of 35 mm slides to scan. It is going to take some time. But it isn’t any slower than my old scanner. As the old saying goes, “I have more time than money”. The speed is what one should except at this price. The scanner has several other functions and options I haven’t used yet. I would highly recommend this scanner to a friend noting the speed.

Jr
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great slide/photo scanner
5/26/2012

Customer review by JDB

5.0 stars 5/26/2012 by JDB
by JDB

I purchased this scanner to continue my multi year project of digitizing over 30 years of slides and old family photos. After several years of constant use, my old Canoscan scanner was in need of replacement and due to availability issues due to the weather in AP, the 5600F was the only one readily available. My original choice was the 9000F. I have been using this scanner nearly daily, splitting my scanning time between slides, negatives and old photos. the 5600F has worked flawlessly for everything I have asked of it. The only place where I encountered a problem is more due to a piece of Canon software rather than the actual scanner. I wanted to scan an 11X14 print and enlarge it to 13X19. I encountered no problems taking the 2 high resolution scans, but when trying to merge them into a single image using PhotoStitch I encountered a problem. The program created an image for me, but it seamed the images together right in the middle of someone's face and created a lopsided eye in the process. I retried creating the final image several times using different resolutions and rotating the image, still no good. Finally I decided to try Photoshop CS5's PhotoMerge feature and was rewarded with a perfect image on the first try. PhotoMerge placed the seam between 2 people where it only affected the background.

JDB
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does exactly what I wanted it to
7/22/2011

Customer review by TN Scrapper

5.0 stars 7/22/2011 by TN Scrapper
by TN Scrapper

Years of photos that need preserving and my best solution would be digital scrapbooking. My Canon scanner did a beautiful job on an 80 year old wedding picture of my parents and is easy and fast to use (I can scan four snapshots at one time and file them in folders for later use. I am up to the 1980s with scrapbooking and would not be able to complete my goal without my scanner. It has done an admirable job of scanning newspaper articles and pictures as well as old slides. One of the best purchases I have made and it was so easy to set up and service has been available when I bought new computers and needed drivers to make the switch. Thank you.

TN Scrapper
East Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 58 total reviews
1-20 of 58 reviews