Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 69 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

69 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

69 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
39
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-20 of 64 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 64 total reviews
1-20 of 64 reviews
Great Product Great Value
4/7/2009

Customer review by Damin69

5.0 stars 4/7/2009 by Damin69
by Damin69

I am Garmin GPSMAP 60CSx user. I bought this as a second unit for Geocaching. This unit for the price it nothing but top of the line. The software included is very good. I would recommend this unit to anyone wanting to by at hand held on a budget but wants top of the line features.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Damin69
Muscoda, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product
12/6/2008

Customer review by GetOutside

5.0 stars 12/6/2008 by GetOutside
by GetOutside

DeLorme's maps are the best. I bought this GPS a year ago due in large part to the topo maps DeLorme includes in the package. I have used other GPS units but the map detail has always been disappointing. The Earthmate PN is really the first GPS I have used that puts a great map on a handheld GPS. Finally! I have used it geocaching, hiking, boating. exploring and marking property lines.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GetOutside
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Extremely Powerful for the Price
7/31/2009

Customer review by LivinOutside

4.0 stars 7/31/2009 by LivinOutside
by LivinOutside

I gave this GPS an Excellent rating because if you are expecting more than this for Walmart's price ($147), you probably won't ever be happy. The GPS comes with Topo U.S. 8.0 which is the newest version of Delorme's topo maps. It gives you pretty detailed maps for the whole of the USA, which is quite a deal, given the price. The software is semi difficult to figure out, especially if you are sending stuff to the GPS, but it is quite powerful. Difficulty of use isn't that bad for me because I enjoy fiddling with things. I would by far rather have all the power than a really easy interface. I really like the color screen on the device which can be read without back light during the day. The screen handles direct sunlight so well that the back light is really only for insufficient light, the way it should be. One negative is that the screen updates quite slowly. I'm guessing that the upper models are quite a bit snappier. But again, you didn't pay for the top of the line if you got this. The GPS itself is very easy to use. But, you have to use the GPS in conjunction with the software to be able to do a lot of things you would like. For example, you can't enter addresses directly into the GPS. That is probably my biggest complaint, but I really didn't get it for addresses or driving anyway. However, if you do find a waypoint for where you want to go (it stores tons of points of interest like restaurants, stores, parks, etc) it calculates a driving route. If you really want to make a route using an address you can create a waypoint for the address on your computer and send it to the GPS. Pros: Great color screen that often requires no backlight to be seen during the day Very powerful software with GPS Lots of POI (points of interest) stored on the GPS, helps you find all sorts of things Great price Battery life has been good for me Cons: Can't enter addresses directly into the GPS Software is a little difficult Screen updates slowly/infrequently Can't give feedback: I can't speak to the products durability because I have not had it very long All in all, if you are tight on money, want the most possible features, and don't mind figuring things out a little on your own, this is an excellent buy. Just make sure you know what you are getting it for.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LivinOutside
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Works for me
11/10/2009

Customer review by ARhiker

3.0 stars 11/10/2009 by ARhiker
by ARhiker

Purchased the delorme PN20 from walmart.com. Outside and with wide-open sky the PN20 would show a track of several hundred yards, wandering up to a half mile while sitting on a wall. I tried it out along the Arkansas river- again wide open area, and the PN20 would lose reception. When it loses reception, the PN20 seems to assume you are continuing in a straight line at a constant speed. Therefore by the time it re-acquires satellites, it thinks you are a half-mile away and shows you jumping back to your current location at high speed. It also adds and extra mile to your track by doing this. I searched online for other reviews and forums- found several that had the same experience as I did, but more people said that theirs worked ok. Since I had purchased from Walmart, I returned it for refund and then ordered another of the same. This time the PN20 worked as expected. It works well enough for recording my track but there are large errors in elevation. (I see the similiar errors with other GPS's). It maintains reception most of the time in our Arkansas forests, but couldn't receive through thick Hawaiian rainforest (puu-ohia to manoa falls), or deep valleys (Hemmed-in-Hollow on Buffalo National River). This is the low-end version of their GPS so it can't be compared to the PN40, but low cost was my aim. I already had used the Delorme TopoUSA and liked that the PN20 comes with the latest TopoUSA and that the maps can be loaded into the PN20. The biggest deficiency for me is that the track storage is limited to 10,000 points. That works fine for one day where I can upload to a laptop and continue, but I couldn't record ten days on the trail at Philmont except with very coarse resolution. I thik it also has other storage limits that I haven't discovered. I do recommend it as a low-end way to have a hiking GPS with nation-wide topographic maps included.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ARhiker
Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Frustrating
6/1/2009

Customer review by Jimmy58

3.0 stars 6/1/2009 by Jimmy58
by Jimmy58

I found the Interface to confusing. Satilite images not of the quality I expected, and not all areas available for download for New Mexico. Sent it back, looking for a more user freindly GPS unit.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jimmy58
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Fragile
6/22/2009

Customer review by outdoormom101

1.0 stars 6/22/2009 by outdoormom101
by outdoormom101

I spent a lot of time doing research for a handheld gps. I have lots of experience with others and I wanted a unit that I could carry with me for geocaching with my son and for in the car for maps. This was one of the only units out there that would accomplish this task and the price was right. No store carries this model so I had to order it online. The unit is rather easy to use but the driving directions are completely off the wall and useless. I have had this item for less than 3 months and I carry it not in my purse, but in a diaper bag that does not get tossed around but stays in my car 90% of the time. The outer screen that makes it water resistant shattered. I could understand if I was camping or threw it, but I kept it in a clean dry bag with diapers and clothes and it still broke. I called the company and for $47 I can mail it to them and get it fixed. It was suppose to come with a 1 yr warranty but since this damage is not normal damage, then it is not covered. I will never buy a Delorme product again.

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
outdoormom101
Truxton, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
quick delivery, great price, great product
9/7/2009

Customer review by Patman80919

5.0 stars 9/7/2009 by Patman80919
by Patman80919

This is a decent product, works as expected, and the price was right. The TOPO USA is Version 8.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Patman80919
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DeLorme Earthmate GPS
1/7/2009

Customer review by ZippOnThru

2.0 stars 1/7/2009 by ZippOnThru
by ZippOnThru

I bought this for my husband for Christmas because he is an avid hunter. He was happy when he opened it and saw what it was. He kept trying to use it and figure it out for about a week and all he got was frustrated and mad. I finally decided to send it back because my husband says it was just to complicated to use.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ZippOnThru
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
1/4/2009

Customer review by BargainBountyHunter

5.0 stars 1/4/2009 by BargainBountyHunter
by BargainBountyHunter

Bought this GPS for my husband, so this is his review... Overall, an excellent product. Setup was pretty easy, but it takes a while to figure out all the functions. Maps are very accurate and easy to read. Casing is very durable. Would suggest getting the car mount to go with this if you plan on using it while driving. Haven't used it off-road and in thick cover yet, but very impressed so far. Only disadvantage so far is screen size. Got this on sale, and it was a great deal for what we paid!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BargainBountyHunter
Erie, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Best value for geocaching!
6/4/2009

Customer review by DeepWoodsCacher

5.0 stars 6/4/2009 by DeepWoodsCacher
by DeepWoodsCacher

Like the company itself, the Delorme PN-20 has evolved. Unlike many other makes/models, the Delorme team is constantly raising the bar on the performance and features of their devices. Periodically those developments are passed on to the consumer in the way of "firmware" revisions which are easy to download. I have been using the PN-20 for about 4 months now and absolutely love the performance and custom geocaching features it provides. Besides allowing me to go "paperless", I can use the unit to both "drive" and then "hike" directly to the cache. After finding (or not) the cache I can immediately record my Find or DNF in "Field Notes". After a day of caching those same notes can be accessed directly via the internet and the PN-20 for a quick and accurate recording of the days activities. Too cool! With the coupons, the 1G SD card, the USB/SD reader,cable, coupons and upgrade coupon (good for 6 months for the latest greatest TOPO maps).... the value cannot be beat! In the field the PN-20 has never let me down. It is both rugged and weather resistant and performs well under various weather and terrain conditions. I did add a military grade screen protector (I do go down some mean trails) and I also purchased a generic auto/12v USB power adapter to use while driving, just to save the batteries for the woods. Thanks to the great programming and constant upgrades from Delorme I am spending way less time on the keyboard and more time on the trails!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DeepWoodsCacher
North Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
GPS PN-20
7/13/2009

Customer review by rbsnoho

1.0 stars 7/13/2009 by rbsnoho
by rbsnoho

Instruction "manual" is a joke. It assumes you know all about related topics and does not go into proper detail on how to ACTUALLY start using it. Manual looks like it was written by someone who was trying to impress you with vague instructions. It is like a maual teaching you how to drive saying, Start car, press gas pedal, drive. No matter how good it may or not be, you will not learn how to use it unless you have a degree in electronic engineering. Buy a Garman 60X or the like. Much easier to use.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rbsnoho
Washington State
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Good Value
1/5/2009

Customer review by WindRiverMtnMan

5.0 stars 1/5/2009 by WindRiverMtnMan
by WindRiverMtnMan

I picked up the PN20 for Christmas. Bought one for a relative & myself. Although I really like the unit and feel that it is by far the best value out there, it isn't something that you can just pick up and use. At least not any of the more involved features. Plan on spending a little time in the manual and don't throw it away. I took some time to check out some geocaches and worked well, also put in some short routes to test accuracy and I was impressed. The mapping software is terrific, as are the coverages. Nothing else in this price range comes close. If you're willing to take a little time to learn to use all of the features, it's a great value. I recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WindRiverMtnMan
Lander, WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A very good value
4/14/2009

Customer review by hiker1963

5.0 stars 4/14/2009 by hiker1963
by hiker1963

The Earthmate pn-20 is one of the best deals I've found. It does everything that you can ask of a gps. It draws maps and plots your course where ever you want to go off road, on road and in the city.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hiker1963
Batesburg,SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Amazing Product For A Great Value
4/14/2009

Customer review by doubss

5.0 stars 4/14/2009 by doubss
by doubss

This is a great value for what you get. The topographical software is amazing. I have used the GPS to do a cross-country trip and didn't get lost. I have also used it hiking in the backcountry and it has worked amazing for me. If you are looking for a GPS get this one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
doubss
Mulino, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Product For The Price
2/16/2009

Customer review by WheresMyBailOut

5.0 stars 2/16/2009 by WheresMyBailOut
by WheresMyBailOut

The DeLorme Earthmate GPS PN-20 is a great product for the price. Every thing you need is in the box. Very easy to start, but I did have problems with Topo USA software on downloading maps. They even throw in $100 worth of maps. We were hiking the next day using most of the functions. Can not comment enough on such a great value.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WheresMyBailOut
Las Cruces, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Price
12/20/2008

Customer review by RITwins

5.0 stars 12/20/2008 by RITwins
by RITwins

I purchase this unit (PN-20) over a year ago and it is great. We love to use it for Geocacging. It is portable and easy to use. The maps included are great and accurate.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RITwins
Rhode Island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great Priced GPS
1/12/2009

Customer review by RVandHunt

5.0 stars 1/12/2009 by RVandHunt
by RVandHunt

This is the first GPS for me to own. The GPS works great and is very quick to get a Sat Fix. The only draw back is the TOPO 7.0 software, I am having trouble with it. However, Delorme is being very helpful in diagnosing the problem.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RVandHunt
Gadsden, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
No comparison
2/26/2009

Customer review by Meldrak

5.0 stars 2/26/2009 by Meldrak
by Meldrak

I have owned Garmin GPS units for years. I have been using a Etrex HCX for awhile and liked it. I wanted a GPS that could load USGS topo maps and sat images. That means this unit, or the Magellan unit. I got the Magellan unit first and hated it. The maps were low quality once on the unit and it had way too many useless features. I returned it and have loved my DeLorme. The maps are perfect, you can layer them and turn off layers on the fly. The best part: you pay $29.95/yr for as many USGS topo, NOAA nauticals, Color/B&W Aerial Photos, or Sat images as you want. I did the math and to get the maps that covered my hometown I would have spent about $250 through the Magellan unit and I got them all on this for $29.95, and I could download as many maps as I want for the next year! Totally worth it. The only drawback (which in my opinion weeds out low grade users) is that the software is a little complex. I was able to plot my own trail for the first segment of the CDT, order and load the maps, print out the maps and print out elevation profiles the second night I played with it. It does work fine on an iMac running Fusion.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Meldrak
Denton, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
excellent product
1/12/2009

Customer review by wapitioro

5.0 stars 1/12/2009 by wapitioro
by wapitioro

good product, very good price, more than meets my expectations

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wapitioro
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
1/11/2009

Customer review by meloveelectronics

5.0 stars 1/11/2009 by meloveelectronics
by meloveelectronics

This product has everything you need in a handheld GPS Topol maps are awesome.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
meloveelectronics
Tacoma, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 64 total reviews
1-20 of 64 reviews