Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 69 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

69 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

69 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
39
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-20 of 64 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 64 total reviews
1-20 of 64 reviews
1/11/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/11/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

An excellent "serious" tool for my Geocaching needs! The Topo map software is easy to use. The buttons and screen display are fantastic for GPS "newbies" or seasoned enthusiasts. I used to be a Garmin fanatic, but now Delorme has won me over.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Uncasville, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Fragile
6/22/2009

Customer review by outdoormom101

1.0 stars 6/22/2009 by outdoormom101
by outdoormom101

I spent a lot of time doing research for a handheld gps. I have lots of experience with others and I wanted a unit that I could carry with me for geocaching with my son and for in the car for maps. This was one of the only units out there that would accomplish this task and the price was right. No store carries this model so I had to order it online. The unit is rather easy to use but the driving directions are completely off the wall and useless. I have had this item for less than 3 months and I carry it not in my purse, but in a diaper bag that does not get tossed around but stays in my car 90% of the time. The outer screen that makes it water resistant shattered. I could understand if I was camping or threw it, but I kept it in a clean dry bag with diapers and clothes and it still broke. I called the company and for $47 I can mail it to them and get it fixed. It was suppose to come with a 1 yr warranty but since this damage is not normal damage, then it is not covered. I will never buy a Delorme product again.

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
outdoormom101
Truxton, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great Product Great Value
4/7/2009

Customer review by Damin69

5.0 stars 4/7/2009 by Damin69
by Damin69

I am Garmin GPSMAP 60CSx user. I bought this as a second unit for Geocaching. This unit for the price it nothing but top of the line. The software included is very good. I would recommend this unit to anyone wanting to by at hand held on a budget but wants top of the line features.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Damin69
Muscoda, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Big Dissapointment
6/28/2009

Customer review by spectrevmfp3

1.0 stars 6/28/2009 by spectrevmfp3
by spectrevmfp3

I fish the canals and bays in Miami. I spend a lot of time on Google Earth planning my next outing. I saw the PN-20 would overlay sat photos and I thought this was just what I needed. Well, imagine Google Earth on a screen the size of your thumb. There is no practical application for this product. If you try to ride a bike, or drive a boat while looking at this screen you will get hurt fast. The software (topo 8) was slow and clunky. The directions were pretty poor, there was no flow to the directions. It took me three nights to get the first map on the unit. You actually have to click little squares about the size of a city block and download them onto the unit, FOR EACH TYPE OF MAP. The downloads are very slow, it would take a week to do all the types of maps just for S. Florida. I felt like I got sucked into a really good high school science project. Neat stuff, just not at all usable. I have about 12 hours and a $30.00 non refundable subscription in this. Go buy a Garmin.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
spectrevmfp3
Miami, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product
12/6/2008

Customer review by GetOutside

5.0 stars 12/6/2008 by GetOutside
by GetOutside

DeLorme's maps are the best. I bought this GPS a year ago due in large part to the topo maps DeLorme includes in the package. I have used other GPS units but the map detail has always been disappointing. The Earthmate PN is really the first GPS I have used that puts a great map on a handheld GPS. Finally! I have used it geocaching, hiking, boating. exploring and marking property lines.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GetOutside
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Extremely Powerful for the Price
7/31/2009

Customer review by LivinOutside

4.0 stars 7/31/2009 by LivinOutside
by LivinOutside

I gave this GPS an Excellent rating because if you are expecting more than this for Walmart's price ($147), you probably won't ever be happy. The GPS comes with Topo U.S. 8.0 which is the newest version of Delorme's topo maps. It gives you pretty detailed maps for the whole of the USA, which is quite a deal, given the price. The software is semi difficult to figure out, especially if you are sending stuff to the GPS, but it is quite powerful. Difficulty of use isn't that bad for me because I enjoy fiddling with things. I would by far rather have all the power than a really easy interface. I really like the color screen on the device which can be read without back light during the day. The screen handles direct sunlight so well that the back light is really only for insufficient light, the way it should be. One negative is that the screen updates quite slowly. I'm guessing that the upper models are quite a bit snappier. But again, you didn't pay for the top of the line if you got this. The GPS itself is very easy to use. But, you have to use the GPS in conjunction with the software to be able to do a lot of things you would like. For example, you can't enter addresses directly into the GPS. That is probably my biggest complaint, but I really didn't get it for addresses or driving anyway. However, if you do find a waypoint for where you want to go (it stores tons of points of interest like restaurants, stores, parks, etc) it calculates a driving route. If you really want to make a route using an address you can create a waypoint for the address on your computer and send it to the GPS. Pros: Great color screen that often requires no backlight to be seen during the day Very powerful software with GPS Lots of POI (points of interest) stored on the GPS, helps you find all sorts of things Great price Battery life has been good for me Cons: Can't enter addresses directly into the GPS Software is a little difficult Screen updates slowly/infrequently Can't give feedback: I can't speak to the products durability because I have not had it very long All in all, if you are tight on money, want the most possible features, and don't mind figuring things out a little on your own, this is an excellent buy. Just make sure you know what you are getting it for.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LivinOutside
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Works for me
11/10/2009

Customer review by ARhiker

3.0 stars 11/10/2009 by ARhiker
by ARhiker

Purchased the delorme PN20 from walmart.com. Outside and with wide-open sky the PN20 would show a track of several hundred yards, wandering up to a half mile while sitting on a wall. I tried it out along the Arkansas river- again wide open area, and the PN20 would lose reception. When it loses reception, the PN20 seems to assume you are continuing in a straight line at a constant speed. Therefore by the time it re-acquires satellites, it thinks you are a half-mile away and shows you jumping back to your current location at high speed. It also adds and extra mile to your track by doing this. I searched online for other reviews and forums- found several that had the same experience as I did, but more people said that theirs worked ok. Since I had purchased from Walmart, I returned it for refund and then ordered another of the same. This time the PN20 worked as expected. It works well enough for recording my track but there are large errors in elevation. (I see the similiar errors with other GPS's). It maintains reception most of the time in our Arkansas forests, but couldn't receive through thick Hawaiian rainforest (puu-ohia to manoa falls), or deep valleys (Hemmed-in-Hollow on Buffalo National River). This is the low-end version of their GPS so it can't be compared to the PN40, but low cost was my aim. I already had used the Delorme TopoUSA and liked that the PN20 comes with the latest TopoUSA and that the maps can be loaded into the PN20. The biggest deficiency for me is that the track storage is limited to 10,000 points. That works fine for one day where I can upload to a laptop and continue, but I couldn't record ten days on the trail at Philmont except with very coarse resolution. I thik it also has other storage limits that I haven't discovered. I do recommend it as a low-end way to have a hiking GPS with nation-wide topographic maps included.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ARhiker
Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Works great for Geocaching
4/29/2009

Customer review by 2DirtyKids

4.0 stars 4/29/2009 by 2DirtyKids
by 2DirtyKids

Selected this product based on price and included software and features. Our primary use is for geocaching. DeLorme seems to be very active in developing products for that hobby. Since purchasing there have been two new firmware (Beta) that have increased the units geocaching support. When I received the product the included 1GB SD card was defective. It was not a big deal since I have several others. I am sure if someone that did not have extras. It would have been a real problem. since I was not in a rush I emailed DeLormes support and they sent out a replacement with any problems. After using the GPs for almost a month now I tend to take it with us everywhere we go. This unit is not designed for routing on the road. It can do it and includes all the required maps for the US that I need. But the routing takes very long to perform. And, the audio alerts are so low that you could not really hear them in the car with the radio on.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2DirtyKids
Tillson, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Frustrating
6/1/2009

Customer review by Jimmy58

3.0 stars 6/1/2009 by Jimmy58
by Jimmy58

I found the Interface to confusing. Satilite images not of the quality I expected, and not all areas available for download for New Mexico. Sent it back, looking for a more user freindly GPS unit.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jimmy58
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great GPS for the $$$$
3/19/2009

Customer review by GPSNEWBE

4.0 stars 3/19/2009 by GPSNEWBE
by GPSNEWBE

I ordered the PN20 and when I got it the Topo maps were not in the package and the clip for the SD card holder was flopping around inside the battery compartment and the battery compartment door would not seal. Screw was stripped. I called DeLorme and they sent the Topo maps but I had already sent the unit back to Walmart. I reordered the PN20 and had played around with the Topo maps and software, am so glade I reordered. I love the detail they have in the maps. Before I sent it back I did put the batteries in to see how well it would pick up Satellites a little slow but I think it will be fine. Mean while I also ordered an Garmin Venture HC ( to at first replace the PN20 ) But after I got the maps and just wanted to take a look at them I reordered the PN20. I will be keeping both. I wrote a review for the Garmin also if you want to read it. I like both units and can't say for sure which one is better. Where one is lacking the other is not. Just so you know I kept both because it is close to my sons birthday and I will give him one but dang I don't know which one. Hope I don't have to buy him one of each!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GPSNEWBE
Bedford Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
No comparison
2/26/2009

Customer review by Meldrak

5.0 stars 2/26/2009 by Meldrak
by Meldrak

I have owned Garmin GPS units for years. I have been using a Etrex HCX for awhile and liked it. I wanted a GPS that could load USGS topo maps and sat images. That means this unit, or the Magellan unit. I got the Magellan unit first and hated it. The maps were low quality once on the unit and it had way too many useless features. I returned it and have loved my DeLorme. The maps are perfect, you can layer them and turn off layers on the fly. The best part: you pay $29.95/yr for as many USGS topo, NOAA nauticals, Color/B&W Aerial Photos, or Sat images as you want. I did the math and to get the maps that covered my hometown I would have spent about $250 through the Magellan unit and I got them all on this for $29.95, and I could download as many maps as I want for the next year! Totally worth it. The only drawback (which in my opinion weeds out low grade users) is that the software is a little complex. I was able to plot my own trail for the first segment of the CDT, order and load the maps, print out the maps and print out elevation profiles the second night I played with it. It does work fine on an iMac running Fusion.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Meldrak
Denton, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Love it!!
7/12/2009

Customer review by res0ha9p

5.0 stars 7/12/2009 by res0ha9p
by res0ha9p

I did a lot of research before buying a gps unit as we didn't have a lot of money to spend on one but still wanted to get the most out of what we did have. I mainly use this unit for geocaching and it is great! I have just recently started using it to route my way to caches or to get me home when I've gotten lost going to garage sales! I like that the buttons are on the front panel rather than the sides where you hold the unit. The fact that the topo maps come with the unit are a great deal plus I got $140 worth of gift certificates for more maps that I haven't even needed to use yet! My dad is a Garmin user and has spent hours on the phone with customer service for his gps and he says that their topo maps are worthless. I haven't had a single problem with my Delorme and I have been using it daily since the beginning of April.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
res0ha9p
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good GPS but Maps Need Better Instructions
9/1/2009

Customer review by Smorgie

4.0 stars 9/1/2009 by Smorgie
by Smorgie

I purchased this item solely for my Geocaching adventures. I was drawn to this model because I had heard very good things about the Delorme brand GPS for Geocaching. Pretty much everyone said good things about it on the Geocaching site. I really wanted the newer PN-40 model which has the electronic compass feature and faster load times, but didn't want to spend twice as much as the PN-20. I decided on the PN-20 but when I received it, I really struggled with the map installation process. I found the map software extremely frustrating, even though it comes "free" with the unit. All other manufacturers provide only a base map and then you have to spend extra money for the topo or other maps. The $150 price was excellent for what you get, but in the end I ended up returning this for a Garmin 60CSx instead.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Smorgie
Oswego, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
DeLorme Earthmate GPS
1/7/2009

Customer review by ZippOnThru

2.0 stars 1/7/2009 by ZippOnThru
by ZippOnThru

I bought this for my husband for Christmas because he is an avid hunter. He was happy when he opened it and saw what it was. He kept trying to use it and figure it out for about a week and all he got was frustrated and mad. I finally decided to send it back because my husband says it was just to complicated to use.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ZippOnThru
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
quick delivery, great price, great product
9/7/2009

Customer review by Patman80919

5.0 stars 9/7/2009 by Patman80919
by Patman80919

This is a decent product, works as expected, and the price was right. The TOPO USA is Version 8.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Patman80919
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great, but complicated
1/20/2009

Customer review by Brendevjayemkk

4.0 stars 1/20/2009 by Brendevjayemkk
by Brendevjayemkk

This is a great gps once you figure out how to use it. The software is very complicated and you really need to read the manual to figure it out. It took us a full weekend to really get started with it. Now that we know the basics I think its great and would definitely purchase it again. First time you turn it on it takes about a half hour to get a 3-d fix, but once you get it the first time it only takes about a minute every other time, we can even use it for driving, went on a 4 hour trip and got there using it no problem the only thing I didn't like is it doesn't list exit #'s just the name of the road your taking, but it still worked out great. We did receive a flawed sd card and reader but walmart was great about taking care of the problem.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brendevjayemkk
Eastern CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1/4/2009

Customer review by BargainBountyHunter

5.0 stars 1/4/2009 by BargainBountyHunter
by BargainBountyHunter

Bought this GPS for my husband, so this is his review... Overall, an excellent product. Setup was pretty easy, but it takes a while to figure out all the functions. Maps are very accurate and easy to read. Casing is very durable. Would suggest getting the car mount to go with this if you plan on using it while driving. Haven't used it off-road and in thick cover yet, but very impressed so far. Only disadvantage so far is screen size. Got this on sale, and it was a great deal for what we paid!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BargainBountyHunter
Erie, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Use it all the time
6/7/2009

Customer review by Rob444

4.0 stars 6/7/2009 by Rob444
by Rob444

Great Product at a great price. It comes with a card inside you can send in for Topo Maps 8.0 for 9.95 which is S&H. You can also pay $29 for unlimited downloads of specialty maps for one year which is great. All the special maps can transfer over to the GPS Unit. There are only 3 things that could use improvement. First is the redraw speed of the map on the GPS unit (it is fine for me because i use it for hiking not driving). Second is that you can not enter coordinates into GPS unit itself. and third on the back of unit where it connects to cord for computer does not have a cover. Look up unit on youtube to see what i mean. Other then that its a great product with great software

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rob444
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Value
1/5/2009

Customer review by WindRiverMtnMan

5.0 stars 1/5/2009 by WindRiverMtnMan
by WindRiverMtnMan

I picked up the PN20 for Christmas. Bought one for a relative & myself. Although I really like the unit and feel that it is by far the best value out there, it isn't something that you can just pick up and use. At least not any of the more involved features. Plan on spending a little time in the manual and don't throw it away. I took some time to check out some geocaches and worked well, also put in some short routes to test accuracy and I was impressed. The mapping software is terrific, as are the coverages. Nothing else in this price range comes close. If you're willing to take a little time to learn to use all of the features, it's a great value. I recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WindRiverMtnMan
Lander, WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
downloads extremely complicated
8/11/2009

Customer review by 1unknown

3.0 stars 8/11/2009 by 1unknown
by 1unknown

Owners manua/ instructions are some of the worst I have ever encountered. No logical order. Assumes intimate knowlede of the product straight out of the box. After 16 frustrating hours of trying to select and load maps I boxed it up and returned it. Back to paper map and compassl It would probably been worth the price if it had instructions that could be followed step by step with examples. I had already returned a Garmin after finding I had to purchase another $100 of maps to get it to work any where close to reasonable mapping. I give up on GPS. Just not worth it for the average person. Cost can not be justified. Just another drawer gaget.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1unknown
maryville,tn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
1-20 of 64 total reviews
1-20 of 64 reviews