Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 99 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

99 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

99 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
59
4 stars
24
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 stars
6
1-20 of 95 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 95 total reviews
1-20 of 95 reviews
A product better than expected.
4/9/2009

Customer review by QuixotedelaMancha

5.0 stars 4/9/2009 by QuixotedelaMancha
by QuixotedelaMancha

Easy to install, good price (lower than the factory), expandable (up to 14 sensors), reliable (tested many times, and no false alarm till now). For a system of a professional security co., when alarm triggered they'll call you to ask if you are home or need they call the police. The Mace system can call you then you can choose from 1. listen through the phone to hear what's happening; 2. use the phone to warn the intruder with the loud-speaker of the Mace system; 3. or call the police, your neighbor....just the same, no matter you get the information from a security co such as ADT or from a DIY system such as Mace. So if we can do it by ourselves, easy and cheaper, why should we pay monthly charges? Highly recommend. Have bought extra sensors from Wal Mart to expand the system.

Was this review helpful? (266) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
QuixotedelaMancha
Indio, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Product!
8/15/2010

Customer review by Art555555555

5.0 stars 8/15/2010 by Art555555555
by Art555555555

We purchased this system after a door salesmen from APX came and put they're product in our house. The offer was good ($45per mth.), BUT! we had to be roped into a 4 YEAR contact. We had 3 days to decide, and they would refund our money. My wife and I were very uncomfortable with this contract. Then my wife said, can you do it cheaper? I said, give me 4 hours and $100. I purchased the Mace system and and a couple extra sensors, it does almost everything there's did except a back lighted touch screen. No contract, no getting a city permit (which they don't tell you) for the alarm. And I like that I can decide when to call 911 (no charges for false alarms,usually $50 a pop). AND the system they installed, the network people could listen into my house at anytime. That is unsettling and creepy. I love my Mace. Art from KY.

Was this review helpful? (121) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Art555555555
Lexington,KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very good product
11/4/2009

Customer review by HN001

5.0 stars 11/4/2009 by HN001
by HN001

I have to admit that I was a bit sceptical at first, but after installing the system (5 motion sensors and one door sensor) it works better than I imagined! The fact it calls me on my telephone first and then the other 4 numbers I programed makes it a plus. I have a door sensor at least 300 feet from the control panel and it doesn't have any issues. Improvements would be to have a backlight on the LCD screen, because it's somewhat difficult to see, and on off button on the motion sensors. I simply pull the battery out of my bedroom sensor when I want to turn the system on at night while I'm sleeping. Would be nice to have two remotes instead of the one they send, but I was impressed by the range of the remote. I really don't think anyone could go wrong, it's a good buy.

Was this review helpful? (86) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HN001
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love it!!
5/5/2009

Customer review by IAM1toRate

5.0 stars 5/5/2009 by IAM1toRate
by IAM1toRate

This was just what I was looking for. The price was great. The product works very well. I was concerned because of my plaster walls whether or not the base unit would "see" all my door alarms. I installed the base and all door and motion sensors on my two story home. It took about two hours and was sooo easy. Programmed the base unit to contact my cell and neighbors phones. Love the key chain remote. Highly recommended to anyone who needs some kind of security at a low price.

Was this review helpful? (56) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IAM1toRate
Inland Empire, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does everything it claims to!
12/25/2010

Customer review by NachoMan1

5.0 stars 12/25/2010 by NachoMan1
by NachoMan1

I bought this product on sale for $79. At that price I was skeptical that it could do what it claims. Set up was easy. Programming was easy. After setting up by following the directions I started testing. The system triggered by the motion detector just how I expected. The door sensor worked perfectly. The alarm is loud enough to scare anybody. The system called my cell phone just as expected. I have tried all the options with the cell phone over and over and everything works just as they claim. I was able to monitor, broadcast, arm, disarm and end the call. I was able to call the system and do all the above also. The only thing I don't like is the door chime in home mode is too loud to use in the office to let us know there are people around. I have bragged about this product to different businesses and home owners that I know.

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NachoMan1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
great product A+++++
9/11/2010

Customer review by 1originalbigwad

5.0 stars 9/11/2010 by 1originalbigwad
by 1originalbigwad

I bought the mace security system about a month ago,I hooked it up in less than an hour.Pretty easy instructions to follow,it comes with one door/window sensor and one motion sensor,and 1 keychain remote,i hooked up the door/window sensor with no problems,i dont have any use for the motion sensor,would have been nice to have 2 door/window sensors,I have bought 2 more door/window sensors since then and they are very easy to sync up with the base unit,the local alarm on the sensor units themselves are not very loud but the main alarm is quite loud.If wanting to buy addtional sensors,i would buy off of wal-mart.com or ebay,do not order directly from the mace website,they charge double if not more than that per sensor.Also,programming is quite simple and if the alarm is activated in can call up to 5 numbers,this option works very quickly,about 30 seconds after alarm i get a call right on my cell phone,pretty nice.I work graveyard and this gives me a piece of mind when my wife and kids are home and i am at work.I would recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1originalbigwad
fort dodge,ia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
home security
3/3/2011

Customer review by erok1862

4.0 stars 3/3/2011 by erok1862
by erok1862

The Alarm does exactly what it says it does. I did have trouble activating it by phone, it was no big deal tho. It comes with a remote that arms or disarms it. I had one incident so far, and the Alarm called my cellphone rite away. I didnt want to add a land line and pay tha extra money a month so I bought a Magic Jack for $20 a year, this Alarm works good with it.

Was this review helpful? (32) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
erok1862
St. Joseph, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome!
11/12/2013

Customer review by 2sticks

5.0 stars 11/12/2013 by 2sticks
by 2sticks

If you read all the manuals and experiment with it for a day or so...you will find this system as good or better than any service because they use the same technology and put a name on it and bill you...all you get is a call center, a service contract and installation fees which cost much more than the system...The sensors will pick up small pets but they do provide targeting shields to better aim the sensor at doors and windows...you may have to pretend to be a cat to get the proper target area you need...and they work every time. Before I used the Targeting Shields I set the system to call my Cell when triggered...I was sure the cat would set it off and while at work...I received about 40 calls...so target with the shields and experiment. I have also purchased an 8 channel Swann Security Camera System for perimeter...I am a happy customer!

Was this review helpful? (27) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2sticks
Uniontown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Everybody should own one
3/23/2014

Customer review by justinhammer

5.0 stars 3/23/2014 by justinhammer
by justinhammer

This Mace Security System is such a great product. It eliminates monthly and maintenance fees that alarm companies charge. Also most alarm companies cannot use the VOIP home phone service but this system works great with Magicjack. Just pay the reasonable annual price for the phone number and really the only thing I have to pay is for the internet service. It's also very easy to add the coverage of the system by programming new motion detectors and window sensors. Now every possible entry point in my place is protected. I had a few false alarms a couple months ago due to a fly that got inside and the system alerted me so I could call the police to check on it. To keep an eye on the inside, I purchased two wireless ip cameras. I haven't had any more alarms, but if it is triggered somehow, I will be able to view inside from any internet connection to see if the police need to go or not. The included remote is also handy. I just press the button to arm the system before I leave or go to sleep and I have peace of mind. The only problem I have is that I used to be able to arm or disarm the system from my cell phone but I'm unable to now. I haven't troubleshooted this yet but I'm sure it can be fixed. My system hardly goes off so this is not really an issue at all. I would highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
justinhammer
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Impressed
11/24/2010

Customer review by NMMOMOF2

5.0 stars 11/24/2010 by NMMOMOF2
by NMMOMOF2

I read all of the reviews for DIY home security systems, and ended up purchasing this one. It was a very easy setup. A little time consuming, but no stress. I couldn't find anywhere whether this would work if you do not have a landline, as I do not. It will sound a high pitched alarm if armed and a door or window is opened. If in the "home" mode a nice door chime sounds if the door or window is open. A huge plus, because I have a two year old. As I mentioned earlier, I do not have a landline phone, so it will not call anybody if the system is triggered. I am a stay at home mom, and I rarely leave the house, so this works for me. I have peace of mind now at night, when my husband is away on business and don't wake to every little sound, because my alarm didn't sound!!!! If I had one complaint, it isn't as loud as I hoped. It will make your ears ring, but I was hoping for a louder more disorrienting sound. Has a backup battery in case the power goes out. FYI Never let your potential burglar know what kind of alarm you have, I didn't use the "mace" warning window stickers it came with. I ordered ADT ones from ebay as well as 2 yard stakes. 110 Decipals LOVE IT!

Was this review helpful? (23) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NMMOMOF2
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great system! But animals set off motion sensor!
9/4/2010

Customer review by M0mOf3Teens

4.0 stars 9/4/2010 by M0mOf3Teens
by M0mOf3Teens

Bought this alarm system about two months ago to keep my teens in the house and their friends out!! Works great - to a point. It seems we have a family of bunnies living under our deck (that is monitored by the motion sensor). These cute bunnies are setting off the sensor in the middle of the night. Maybe 5 times in the last 2 weeks. We have to get these bunnies relocated ASAP and close off their entrance under the deck. Other than this, I do have piece of mind that my kiddos are tucked nicely in their beds! I figure if the bunnies set off the sensor, surely the teens will. (At least the rain doesn't set it off!)

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
M0mOf3Teens
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exceptional Quality
7/25/2013

Customer review by raf12341

5.0 stars 7/25/2013 by raf12341
by raf12341

This system is everything it is advertised to be. I am a beginner and not very technical and I did not have much trouble to get it started and working. When I did hit a road block, I called Tech Support and a nice guy, Mick, helped me through the difficulty. My problem was operator error and nothing wrong with the equipment. The motion detector was placed 75 feet behind my house in my shed and it worked perfectly. I also ordered two additional motion detectors to cover the inside of the garage and the dining/living area. Only one key remote was included so I will be ordering a few more. They are so handy and include a panic button. The system called my cell phone in the trial run and I am very pleased with this product. Best of all, no ongoing monthly charges. Thanks for an excellent product and well priced.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
raf12341
Elkton, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good and bad
9/25/2010

Customer review by guinness77

4.0 stars 9/25/2010 by guinness77
by guinness77

Buying the thing was easy. Picking it up wasn't. The darn Walmart door alarm kept beeping. Installation was easy. Programming the thing was difficult. Getting it to learn additional sensors was difficult. You have to get creative and go beyond the lousy instructions. The 20 second recording time is NOT enough to get a meaningful message off to police. Now that it's working, it will do the job. The sensors are VERY VERY sensitive to the slightest movement.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
guinness77
Oreogn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Care-giver's and entire family's!! A must have!!
2/14/2011

Customer review by Canadianboy

5.0 stars 2/14/2011 by Canadianboy
by Canadianboy

I am a care-giver who takes care of my mother, this Security system is excellent for so many reason's #1. you can have the system Armed when you are not home and if someone brakes in, it will call you cell phone and you call Police or your next door nieghbor, that is cool and no monthly service fee's!! #2 if I am out to do daily task's, it helps keep my mother in who at times has left the place and we almost lost her due to her illness, so wether you have a loved one who has Altimerze? or just is elderly, this is an extra percaution and something good for peace of mind! Grate product!! We have friend's who saw ours and bougt as well. Modern tech, it's so cool!! Antonio Disneyland area! California

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Canadianboy
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I recommend it, but, only if you have a LAND LINE
9/24/2012

Customer review by Missundaztood

2.0 stars 9/24/2012 by Missundaztood
by Missundaztood

I recently purchased this product online, after opening the packaging I became disappointed when I noticed on the back; REQUIREMENTS: Land Line with "Tone" Dialing. We no longer have a land line, & prefer it that way, our home computer's are "wireless" & I'm not interested in getting "Magic Jack". The product marketing is deceiving because, 1) it's NOT mentioned in product details, 2) it's NOT on the front of packaging, 3) on the front it reads; "WIRELESS HOME SECURITY SYSTEM, Calls Your Cell Phone" & other details except "LAND LINE REQUIRED". I just checked to make sure I didn't miss that valuable information, it's not there, however, found it when searching the Q & A's. In my opinion that's not where one should find product details. I will be returning it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Missundaztood
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Bad Controller
7/21/2009

Customer review by rhino72160

1.0 stars 7/21/2009 by rhino72160
by rhino72160

Purchased Controller w/remote, Door/Window sensor and Motion Detector. Also purchased 11 additional D/W sensors. Controller would not sense when Door/Window sensor on door was closed, kept saying "close please". Called Mace and left message with representative- No Response! Called again next day and spoke to rep. Said sounded like Controller was bad, suggested open additional D/W sensor and try that, still did not work. Sent ALL back!

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rhino72160
Hot Springs AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Mace Security System
6/22/2010

Customer review by didrill

5.0 stars 6/22/2010 by didrill
by didrill

Have used it for about 1 month, and I love it. I had one intrusion already, and it scared them off right away. I since changed the lock on this rental, and have not had a problem. I really like the remote, so I can keep the control unit hidden from easy access from destruction. It calls me within 2 seconds from the alarm going off anyway. If I forget my remote, I can call the unit, and then turn it off before entering.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
didrill
Bakersfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
very helpful
3/8/2011

Customer review by xluzx18

5.0 stars 3/8/2011 by xluzx18
by xluzx18

We had considered going through adt and getting that set up but it was too expensive! This does almost the same thing! It calls the numbers that are programed if triggered. I programmed 911 as the last number and it really work! Awesome!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xluzx18
las vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good value, needed one workaround
5/17/2009

Customer review by beb319

4.0 stars 5/17/2009 by beb319
by beb319

This seems to be a good alarm system for the DIY person. It's a very good price point, and offers some nice features like the phone number dialing and remote control capability (ability to listen/speak/disarm system from the phone). This feature was most important to me, that is why I bought it. Two things I wish Mace had done better. I wish they had an audio alarm sensor like Skylink so it could alert you when your smoke detector goes off. 2nd, I wish they would allow you to arm/disarm individaul zones. What I wanted was to be able to arm the system during the day with the motion detector on, and at night with it off (so my kids don't set it off). When I contacted Mace, they came up with a stupid solution (delete motion detector from system and add it back via LEARN every day). I came up with a better one. I had an AC/DC converter that you could set for different voltages with a 9V battery plug on it. I plugged the adapter into an outlet where I wanted the motion detector that also happened to be controlled by a wall switch, and powered the motion detector off the 9V battery connector on the AC/DC adapter with the adapter set to deliver 9VDC. Now with the flick of a wall switch my motion detector is either on or off. It works like a charm! So with this workaround I really like the system. I just wish they had a way of detecting when my smoke detector goes off!

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
beb319
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product
2/28/2010

Customer review by Alex4Carmen

5.0 stars 2/28/2010 by Alex4Carmen
by Alex4Carmen

this product works as great as the commercially monitored alarm systems. the additional benefit of this product is that you don't have a monthly payment. if alarm triggered the system will call your cell phone to let you know that alarm has triggered off. it does the job. i highly recommend for this product. ideal to set it around the perimeters as well as inside the house. however, the accuracy of this product might annoy you after a while, because any moving object in front the motion detectors will set the alarm off. birds, rabbits, squirrels, etc. this unit has two modes to set on. Home mode and Alarm mode. home mode works as a buzzing signal to let you know as the motion detector has detected a moving object, and Alarm mode works as a commercial alarm system, which can be armed and disarmed either with included remote control or by pressing the button on the dial pad. remote control feature i found to be a very convenient asset to the system. buying this system will do the job not less greatly than paying $30-50 per month for commercially monitored systems. the principle of both is nearly the same. commercially monitored systems calls to the monitoring units and privately monitoring system will call your cell phone (up to 2 numbers) and you can call the police. perhaps you'll do a better job for your own benefit than relying on others to care for you inasmuch as they would care for themselves. and if you have camera security system in addition to this security system, then you can actually see what's going on your property. get this product and save yourself bucks!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alex4Carmen
LA, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 95 total reviews
1-20 of 95 reviews