Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 99 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

99 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

99 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
59
4 stars
24
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 stars
6
1-20 of 95 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 95 total reviews
1-20 of 95 reviews
great product A+++++
9/11/2010

Customer review by 1originalbigwad

5.0 stars 9/11/2010 by 1originalbigwad
by 1originalbigwad

I bought the mace security system about a month ago,I hooked it up in less than an hour.Pretty easy instructions to follow,it comes with one door/window sensor and one motion sensor,and 1 keychain remote,i hooked up the door/window sensor with no problems,i dont have any use for the motion sensor,would have been nice to have 2 door/window sensors,I have bought 2 more door/window sensors since then and they are very easy to sync up with the base unit,the local alarm on the sensor units themselves are not very loud but the main alarm is quite loud.If wanting to buy addtional sensors,i would buy off of wal-mart.com or ebay,do not order directly from the mace website,they charge double if not more than that per sensor.Also,programming is quite simple and if the alarm is activated in can call up to 5 numbers,this option works very quickly,about 30 seconds after alarm i get a call right on my cell phone,pretty nice.I work graveyard and this gives me a piece of mind when my wife and kids are home and i am at work.I would recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (33) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1originalbigwad
fort dodge,ia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does everything it claims to!
12/25/2010

Customer review by NachoMan1

5.0 stars 12/25/2010 by NachoMan1
by NachoMan1

I bought this product on sale for $79. At that price I was skeptical that it could do what it claims. Set up was easy. Programming was easy. After setting up by following the directions I started testing. The system triggered by the motion detector just how I expected. The door sensor worked perfectly. The alarm is loud enough to scare anybody. The system called my cell phone just as expected. I have tried all the options with the cell phone over and over and everything works just as they claim. I was able to monitor, broadcast, arm, disarm and end the call. I was able to call the system and do all the above also. The only thing I don't like is the door chime in home mode is too loud to use in the office to let us know there are people around. I have bragged about this product to different businesses and home owners that I know.

Was this review helpful? (35) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NachoMan1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
A product better than expected.
4/9/2009

Customer review by QuixotedelaMancha

5.0 stars 4/9/2009 by QuixotedelaMancha
by QuixotedelaMancha

Easy to install, good price (lower than the factory), expandable (up to 14 sensors), reliable (tested many times, and no false alarm till now). For a system of a professional security co., when alarm triggered they'll call you to ask if you are home or need they call the police. The Mace system can call you then you can choose from 1. listen through the phone to hear what's happening; 2. use the phone to warn the intruder with the loud-speaker of the Mace system; 3. or call the police, your neighbor....just the same, no matter you get the information from a security co such as ADT or from a DIY system such as Mace. So if we can do it by ourselves, easy and cheaper, why should we pay monthly charges? Highly recommend. Have bought extra sensors from Wal Mart to expand the system.

Was this review helpful? (267) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
QuixotedelaMancha
Indio, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Product!
8/15/2010

Customer review by Art555555555

5.0 stars 8/15/2010 by Art555555555
by Art555555555

We purchased this system after a door salesmen from APX came and put they're product in our house. The offer was good ($45per mth.), BUT! we had to be roped into a 4 YEAR contact. We had 3 days to decide, and they would refund our money. My wife and I were very uncomfortable with this contract. Then my wife said, can you do it cheaper? I said, give me 4 hours and $100. I purchased the Mace system and and a couple extra sensors, it does almost everything there's did except a back lighted touch screen. No contract, no getting a city permit (which they don't tell you) for the alarm. And I like that I can decide when to call 911 (no charges for false alarms,usually $50 a pop). AND the system they installed, the network people could listen into my house at anytime. That is unsettling and creepy. I love my Mace. Art from KY.

Was this review helpful? (123) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Art555555555
Lexington,KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome!
11/12/2013

Customer review by 2sticks

5.0 stars 11/12/2013 by 2sticks
by 2sticks
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If you read all the manuals and experiment with it for a day or so...you will find this system as good or better than any service because they use the same technology and put a name on it and bill you...all you get is a call center, a service contract and installation fees which cost much more than the system...The sensors will pick up small pets but they do provide targeting shields to better aim the sensor at doors and windows...you may have to pretend to be a cat to get the proper target area you need...and they work every time. Before I used the Targeting Shields I set the system to call my Cell when triggered...I was sure the cat would set it off and while at work...I received about 40 calls...so target with the shields and experiment. I have also purchased an 8 channel Swann Security Camera System for perimeter...I am a happy customer!

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2sticks
Uniontown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exceptional Quality
7/25/2013

Customer review by raf12341

5.0 stars 7/25/2013 by raf12341
by raf12341
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This system is everything it is advertised to be. I am a beginner and not very technical and I did not have much trouble to get it started and working. When I did hit a road block, I called Tech Support and a nice guy, Mick, helped me through the difficulty. My problem was operator error and nothing wrong with the equipment. The motion detector was placed 75 feet behind my house in my shed and it worked perfectly. I also ordered two additional motion detectors to cover the inside of the garage and the dining/living area. Only one key remote was included so I will be ordering a few more. They are so handy and include a panic button. The system called my cell phone in the trial run and I am very pleased with this product. Best of all, no ongoing monthly charges. Thanks for an excellent product and well priced.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
raf12341
Elkton, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good product
11/4/2009

Customer review by HN001

5.0 stars 11/4/2009 by HN001
by HN001

I have to admit that I was a bit sceptical at first, but after installing the system (5 motion sensors and one door sensor) it works better than I imagined! The fact it calls me on my telephone first and then the other 4 numbers I programed makes it a plus. I have a door sensor at least 300 feet from the control panel and it doesn't have any issues. Improvements would be to have a backlight on the LCD screen, because it's somewhat difficult to see, and on off button on the motion sensors. I simply pull the battery out of my bedroom sensor when I want to turn the system on at night while I'm sleeping. Would be nice to have two remotes instead of the one they send, but I was impressed by the range of the remote. I really don't think anyone could go wrong, it's a good buy.

Was this review helpful? (87) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HN001
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Everybody should own one
3/23/2014

Customer review by justinhammer

5.0 stars 3/23/2014 by justinhammer
by justinhammer

This Mace Security System is such a great product. It eliminates monthly and maintenance fees that alarm companies charge. Also most alarm companies cannot use the VOIP home phone service but this system works great with Magicjack. Just pay the reasonable annual price for the phone number and really the only thing I have to pay is for the internet service. It's also very easy to add the coverage of the system by programming new motion detectors and window sensors. Now every possible entry point in my place is protected. I had a few false alarms a couple months ago due to a fly that got inside and the system alerted me so I could call the police to check on it. To keep an eye on the inside, I purchased two wireless ip cameras. I haven't had any more alarms, but if it is triggered somehow, I will be able to view inside from any internet connection to see if the police need to go or not. The included remote is also handy. I just press the button to arm the system before I leave or go to sleep and I have peace of mind. The only problem I have is that I used to be able to arm or disarm the system from my cell phone but I'm unable to now. I haven't troubleshooted this yet but I'm sure it can be fixed. My system hardly goes off so this is not really an issue at all. I would highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
justinhammer
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great system! But animals set off motion sensor!
9/4/2010

Customer review by M0mOf3Teens

4.0 stars 9/4/2010 by M0mOf3Teens
by M0mOf3Teens

Bought this alarm system about two months ago to keep my teens in the house and their friends out!! Works great - to a point. It seems we have a family of bunnies living under our deck (that is monitored by the motion sensor). These cute bunnies are setting off the sensor in the middle of the night. Maybe 5 times in the last 2 weeks. We have to get these bunnies relocated ASAP and close off their entrance under the deck. Other than this, I do have piece of mind that my kiddos are tucked nicely in their beds! I figure if the bunnies set off the sensor, surely the teens will. (At least the rain doesn't set it off!)

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
M0mOf3Teens
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Impressed
11/24/2010

Customer review by NMMOMOF2

5.0 stars 11/24/2010 by NMMOMOF2
by NMMOMOF2

I read all of the reviews for DIY home security systems, and ended up purchasing this one. It was a very easy setup. A little time consuming, but no stress. I couldn't find anywhere whether this would work if you do not have a landline, as I do not. It will sound a high pitched alarm if armed and a door or window is opened. If in the "home" mode a nice door chime sounds if the door or window is open. A huge plus, because I have a two year old. As I mentioned earlier, I do not have a landline phone, so it will not call anybody if the system is triggered. I am a stay at home mom, and I rarely leave the house, so this works for me. I have peace of mind now at night, when my husband is away on business and don't wake to every little sound, because my alarm didn't sound!!!! If I had one complaint, it isn't as loud as I hoped. It will make your ears ring, but I was hoping for a louder more disorrienting sound. Has a backup battery in case the power goes out. FYI Never let your potential burglar know what kind of alarm you have, I didn't use the "mace" warning window stickers it came with. I ordered ADT ones from ebay as well as 2 yard stakes. 110 Decipals LOVE IT!

Was this review helpful? (23) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NMMOMOF2
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Care-giver's and entire family's!! A must have!!
2/14/2011

Customer review by Canadianboy

5.0 stars 2/14/2011 by Canadianboy
by Canadianboy

I am a care-giver who takes care of my mother, this Security system is excellent for so many reason's #1. you can have the system Armed when you are not home and if someone brakes in, it will call you cell phone and you call Police or your next door nieghbor, that is cool and no monthly service fee's!! #2 if I am out to do daily task's, it helps keep my mother in who at times has left the place and we almost lost her due to her illness, so wether you have a loved one who has Altimerze? or just is elderly, this is an extra percaution and something good for peace of mind! Grate product!! We have friend's who saw ours and bougt as well. Modern tech, it's so cool!! Antonio Disneyland area! California

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Canadianboy
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love it!!
5/5/2009

Customer review by IAM1toRate

5.0 stars 5/5/2009 by IAM1toRate
by IAM1toRate

This was just what I was looking for. The price was great. The product works very well. I was concerned because of my plaster walls whether or not the base unit would "see" all my door alarms. I installed the base and all door and motion sensors on my two story home. It took about two hours and was sooo easy. Programmed the base unit to contact my cell and neighbors phones. Love the key chain remote. Highly recommended to anyone who needs some kind of security at a low price.

Was this review helpful? (56) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IAM1toRate
Inland Empire, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I recommend it, but, only if you have a LAND LINE
9/24/2012

Customer review by Missundaztood

2.0 stars 9/24/2012 by Missundaztood
by Missundaztood

I recently purchased this product online, after opening the packaging I became disappointed when I noticed on the back; REQUIREMENTS: Land Line with "Tone" Dialing. We no longer have a land line, & prefer it that way, our home computer's are "wireless" & I'm not interested in getting "Magic Jack". The product marketing is deceiving because, 1) it's NOT mentioned in product details, 2) it's NOT on the front of packaging, 3) on the front it reads; "WIRELESS HOME SECURITY SYSTEM, Calls Your Cell Phone" & other details except "LAND LINE REQUIRED". I just checked to make sure I didn't miss that valuable information, it's not there, however, found it when searching the Q & A's. In my opinion that's not where one should find product details. I will be returning it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Missundaztood
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great Home Security System!
9/16/2012

Customer review by KNewell2008

5.0 stars 9/16/2012 by KNewell2008
by KNewell2008

I love this Security System so far. It was easy to install, easy to set up, & easy to use. I love that it has all the features of a high priced system, without the monthly bill, or hidden fees. You pay for the System & that's it! You can program up to 5 different phone numbers, set a "siren" alarm or set it on "silent", it has a "panic button", & a fair amount of other features. When the alarm calls the numbers programmed, there are 4 different prompts you can use: Monitor Room (listen in from the phone), Broadcast Into Room (be heard on the intercom of the system), End Call, or Disarm System. I also suggest, if you have animals, to install the Motion Detector Sensor(s) high enough that it won't detect the movement of your animals. I have cats, so I installed the Motion Detector Sensor(s) about 4ft high, & haven't had any issues with the cats setting them off. **The only complaint I have, which is definitely minor, is the LCD display on the unit does not light up. So, seeing it in the dark would probably prove to be difficult. Other than that, I am BEYOND SATISFIED with this purchase!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KNewell2008
Binghamton, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good and bad
9/25/2010

Customer review by guinness77

4.0 stars 9/25/2010 by guinness77
by guinness77

Buying the thing was easy. Picking it up wasn't. The darn Walmart door alarm kept beeping. Installation was easy. Programming the thing was difficult. Getting it to learn additional sensors was difficult. You have to get creative and go beyond the lousy instructions. The 20 second recording time is NOT enough to get a meaningful message off to police. Now that it's working, it will do the job. The sensors are VERY VERY sensitive to the slightest movement.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
guinness77
Oreogn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product
6/6/2010

Customer review by gogeter

4.0 stars 6/6/2010 by gogeter
by gogeter

Well I took 2 days to install, because I like to take my time. I could probably install another one in 2 hours. Reading the manual was the hardest part. But once you try all the setup steps it gets easier. As someone else said do not follow the way the instructions says to leave a message on page 2 step two #3, The correct instructions are on page 6 under telephone controls. Someone had asked about hooking up an external alarm. In the control unit are screw tabs for setting up an ext siren. You will probally need some electrical experience to make it work, such as a relay to activate an ext siren, but I am going to give it try later, I am also go to wire a relay that will turn on security lights in my garage and around the perimeter of the house. I am also going to add a video camara that will begin taping when the system is triggered. This will be my own design. The reason for this is because when the cops show up and no one is there they can't do anything unless they have a video. So as you can see I am serious about protecting my home and holding the theives responsible!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gogeter
Kingsport, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easy to install and does the job for much less!
1/23/2010

Customer review by Wallace1967

4.0 stars 1/23/2010 by Wallace1967
by Wallace1967

This is an incredibly easy to install alarm system at a very low cost. It should save my thousands over the next 3 to 5 years in expensive alarm monitoring cost's alone. I was able to install it myself in less than one hour and believe me my wife can tell ya I am not the handyman type around the house. It was also very easy to program with mine and my wife's cell phone numbers and let me tell you when the alarm goes off, it call's my cell number within 2 seconds, it's that quick! Overall I am very happy with this system and for the ease and low cost of adding more sensors to the system itself. The ONLY complaint I have is in the design of the main keypad box, the main power cord and the telephone line are plugged in at the top of the box which requires for these two cords to be alittle unsightly by having to run them along the top of the box unlike other alarm systems where the cords come in from the bottom. I know that sounds minor but it is alittle ugly! Other than that you cant go wrong with this system!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wallace1967
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good product, poor instructions
3/29/2010

Customer review by Walnetto

4.0 stars 3/29/2010 by Walnetto
by Walnetto

The equipment works well. The installation instructions were obviously translated, but usable. Be aware that some instructions for controlling the system over the phone are just plain wrong, e.g. the suggested alarm phone message does not correctly instruct the person receiving the message on how to disarm the system. Fortunately the correct instructions are included later in the installation instructions, but these are not found unless you read the entire booklet, as they are located toward the back. They obviously contradict the instruction given in the front of the installation/operation booklet. Read the entire installation/operation booklet and there should be no problems. Some experimentation may be necessary. Also definitely keep the booklet for future reference. Have had it installed for two weeks now, and used it extensively in alarm mode, with no false alarms yet. The Mace Security internet sight has more accessories available.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Walnetto
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
home security
3/3/2011

Customer review by erok1862

4.0 stars 3/3/2011 by erok1862
by erok1862

The Alarm does exactly what it says it does. I did have trouble activating it by phone, it was no big deal tho. It comes with a remote that arms or disarms it. I had one incident so far, and the Alarm called my cellphone rite away. I didnt want to add a land line and pay tha extra money a month so I bought a Magic Jack for $20 a year, this Alarm works good with it.

Was this review helpful? (32) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
erok1862
St. Joseph, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Has Worked Flawlessly for Over 1 Year
2/13/2013

Customer review by JustDude

5.0 stars 2/13/2013 by JustDude
by JustDude

I purchased this unit in October of 2011. I have 13 windows and two doors with sensors on them. I do not use the motion detector. The unit has worked flawlessly for over 1 year. No false alarms etc. I have not needed to replace any batteries yet. Only one time after having the windows opened, the alarm would not set. I couldn’t figure out what was wrong because all the windows and doors were closed. I finally decided to open and close all the windows again. This worked; it reset whatever sensor that wasn’t resetting properly. That was many months ago. I have had no problems with the unit since. This unit is way cheaper than paying a company to monitor the house and does the same job.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JustDude
Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 95 total reviews
1-20 of 95 reviews