Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 29 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

29 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

29 reviews | 3 out of 5

59%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
12
1-20 of 29 total reviews
59%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews
you gotta do your homework
4/4/2009

Customer review by UncleDougie

5.0 stars 4/4/2009 by UncleDougie
by UncleDougie

OK,heres the deal...I thought about buying this bookshelf.I mean come on ,this is walmart,they got the best deals.A bookshelf for $20.What's the catch/ So I read the reviews.They were kind of mixed.So reading the not so favorable ones,I knew now what I was getting into.This is going to be one of those pressboard deals that made china famous.So heres what you got to do...just reinforce the corners with corner brackets,dont pull it around on carpet and dont get it wet.If you do these simple things I guarantee you will have a nice looking bookshelf for just $20.Thanks again walmart.I will be back.........

Was this review helpful? (54) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UncleDougie
baltimore,md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
you get what you pay for.
5/16/2009

Customer review by Timebombburger

5.0 stars 5/16/2009 by Timebombburger
by Timebombburger

i love this shelf. it was easy for my bf to put together and looks great in our nursery. we didn't want to spend big bucks on a shelf for a baby's room we would only be putting decorative toys and her board books on. my bf had this same shelf in his old apartment for years without any problems in his bathroom. he kept small hygene items and towels on it and it worked swell. don't expect to put heavy items on this shelf or for it to look like you got it at ethan allen. if you have great expectations for a shelf that costs 20 bucks you are the one with an issue, not the product. it is what it is for the right price.

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Timebombburger
Utica, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/30/2009

Customer review by 9rose

5.0 stars 5/30/2009 by 9rose
by 9rose

I read all the reviews before i brought this product. I had my doubts. however i decided to buy anyway. After receiving the product, even though i have seen better in this category, but this product is totally worthy of the price and more. the quality is not as bad as many other said. its sturdy and easy to assemble. I'm a gal, i have no problem put it together myself alone. it's a great addition to the study. really like it!

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
9rose
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Poor, poor, poor
2/7/2009

Customer review by dot07

1.0 stars 2/7/2009 by dot07
by dot07

I ordered 2 of these Home Trend bookcases expecting them to be like the other 8 Sauder ones I had purchased at my Walmart store last year. However the experience was not the same, and I would never buy another Home Trend product. One of the two bookcases arrived with a tear and dent in the packaging, and consequently one of its sides was broken at that place, plus other areas where there were large chips out of the particle board and laminated covering. The other bookcase had two minor chipped areas, but I used it anyway. The assembly instructions did not make sense, and it took a long time to assemble. Unlike Sauder, Home Trends does not stabilize the unit at all holes and uses flexible plastic connectors. The particle board is very inferior compared to Sauder (coarse, not well-packed, crumbles easily) and when I went to hammer the last connector it just went right through the side. The nails to put the backing on were too thick and caused further chipping, so I used some thinner brads that I had. Wound up with a bookcase that has many chips, a hole in the side, and using my own nails for the backing. The shelves are somewhat thinner than Sauder and because of the poor quality particle board (lighter, coarser, more air spaces) they sag. NEVER buy this product!

Was this review helpful? (13) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dot07
Pacific Northwest
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A Great buy!!!
3/5/2009

Customer review by Andi2002

5.0 stars 3/5/2009 by Andi2002
by Andi2002

I love this bookcase! I purchased this bookcase for my son's room to keep all his small reading books. It looks great and it's sturdy. It was easy to assemble the instructions are pretty clear. There was one part that was a little tricky to me because I had to angle the screwdriver to screw the sides but after you screw it in the sides are secure. I am going to buy another bookcase in white for my daughter's room. You can't ask for a better price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Andi2002
Aliso Viejo, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value
3/16/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/16/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This bookshelf is a great value. I've had mine for several years now and have moved it several times to different apartments. It has held up very well and is very sturdy!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Springfield, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
You get more than what you pay for
10/8/2012

Customer review by ABourbois

4.0 stars 10/8/2012 by ABourbois
by ABourbois

Look, if this is the kind of money you're spending on a bookshelf, don't expect it to perform as well as others. That being said: we've got 3 of these in white, and 3 of the taller versions in black. They are (usually) completely filled with books, so they hold a lot of weight. They've held up for 3 years, through one move, in the process of another one, and they show no signs of falling apart. I expected one or two years tops. They aren't the prettiest, but that's not why we bought them. If you're getting something this cheap, don't expect it to be heavy duty without a little help. If you're just gonna display knickknacks, these should work right out of the box. If you're loading them up with books, the shelves will sag after a while, but we remedied that by screwing a 2x4 vertically across the center of the back, and attaching some L-brackets to it underneath each shelf (through the cardboard backing, into the 2x4), so the middle of each shelf has something to rest on. You could also replace the folded cardboard backing with thin plywood or hardboard if you want. We've made some cheap reinforcements for these cheap bookshelves, and they hold up just fine. If that's too much work for you, spend some more money on your shelf.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ABourbois
RGV, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
terrible
3/19/2009

Customer review by kanji

1.0 stars 3/19/2009 by kanji
by kanji

I purchased this shelf in black, two times... I returned the first one after getting very frustrated trying to put it together with the terrible instructions that come with it. Different pieces (nails, fasteners, or whatever you would call them) broke, kick plate broke, and particleboard chipped like crazy. Not one to give up, I returned it and got another to start over. I got it together quicker, but each time I hammered one side, the other side would come apart. Back and forth... finally after turning the shelf over to get a different angle I saw why that was happening. The particleboard had chipped to the point that whatever I had nailed in had chipped out. What a mess! Now I am returning this 2nd one and going for the Sauder shelf.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kanji
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
good for the price, but don't expect solid oak
5/15/2009

Customer review by jessyev

3.0 stars 5/15/2009 by jessyev
by jessyev

I've had this for about a year. Putting it together was ok, but it helps if you've put this kind of thing together before and know how to be careful about splitting the board. I was a bit dissapointed in the ugly cardboard backing that has visible folds in it, but unfortunately it's necessary for stability. Once carefully together it's not bad. I wouldn't sit on it, but for a temporary fix or something you only need in an out of the way place it'll be fine for a few years. Just be aware that for less than 20 bucks, it's impressive to get something that stands up! If you want something that will be passed down to your grandchildren and be moved to 10 different houses then be ready to shell out a few hundred bucks at a real furniture store!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jessyev
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Garbage
11/22/2012

Customer review by shlbycindy

1.0 stars 11/22/2012 by shlbycindy
by shlbycindy

I never, ever write negative reviews but this bookcase is so bad I just had to do it this time. First of all I'm very experienced at assembling furniture. I've assembled chairs, cabinets, other bookshelves, a table, and an electric fireplace. Some were frustrating but very doable. First of all this is compressed wood. I expected that however when I opened the box one piece was already broken. I determined it wasn't a major piece so I decided to continue to assemble it since the other parts seemed to be okay. First of all, the locks for the bolts don't lock. The pegs won't stay in the holes, and the entire thing wobbles. I finally got fed up with the included hardware and decided to use wood glue and the nails to put it together. You have to use fairly small nails or the wood will split. I think part of the problem is these have been sitting on a shelf somewhere for too long and the compressed wood has gotten so dry it won't hold up to anything larger than a nail like I used. I'm also going to brace the corners to make it more stable. It's not that I'm unable to afford a better bookcase. It's just now become a quest to make this one work.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shlbycindy
Shelby, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Top 1000 contributor
Flimsy!
3/5/2009

Customer review by KatherineTM

1.0 stars 3/5/2009 by KatherineTM
by KatherineTM

This practically fell apart as soon as I got it together as the chipboard was so flimsy. I bought this and it cost about $25 at the time; for the current $19 price it might be an okay temporary shelf, but not something permanent, especially in a high-humidity area as the veneer starts bubbling up.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KatherineTM
Marshall, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
CHEAP AND A WASTE OF MONEY!!!!!
9/30/2011

Customer review by walmartshopperdrum

1.0 stars 9/30/2011 by walmartshopperdrum
by walmartshopperdrum

I bought this because i thought it would go great in an actual bookshelf spot in our home.. I thought the price was great and cheap. YES YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR! I assembled this myself and yes, I know how to assemble things. (BEDS, DRESSORS, TABLES, CHAIRS) and the instructions were backwards! I had to take it back apart and then the PLASTIC screws would not come out! It states on the instructions to not use a power tool bc it can ruin the furniture and I didn't. I used a Phillips screwdriver. The plastic screws would not even budge and the silver screws TORE and RIPPED THE WOOD. It looked horrible! I can't believe how easily the wholes would EXPAND AND TEAR! This was a waste of time waiting on YES I asked a store clerk if they had any in stock andshe got it off the truck for me. And a waste of money. I 'm taking it back tomorrow!!! I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND EVER BUYING THIS! There's a reason it states ''the easily tear of furniture'' on the instructions for a reason... DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
walmartshopperdrum
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great starter bookshelf.
11/27/2011

Customer review by pawmap

5.0 stars 11/27/2011 by pawmap
by pawmap

I bought this bookshelf and put it together myself. Very easy even for a woman to put together. It has worked great for putting books on it. I have moved mine with it being full of books. Held up fine. Still trying to find 4 more of this bookshelves to buy. They are great for the price and value.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pawmap
Jamestown, N.Y.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3 Shelf Bookcase
5/23/2009

Customer review by bsbcat

5.0 stars 5/23/2009 by bsbcat
by bsbcat

Great value for the money, it met my expectations and the bookcase was easy to put togeather!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bsbcat
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worth the price and then some
3/22/2009

Customer review by SRSmith85

5.0 stars 3/22/2009 by SRSmith85
by SRSmith85

My husband and I bought two of these (in black). We have an infant daughter, so obviously stability was a big issue. I managed to put both together in about 20-30 minutes. There were a few extras as far as hardware goes, so that was great. Obviously, it's not a solid build, like you'd get buying a solid oak bookcase, but this is pretty great for the price. Sharp-looking and able to fit a good portion of our books. I don't know how well a taller bookcase of the same material would be, the ones we've gotten are a little shaky (not this brand, though), but in this short, compact build, it works well. Light enough that I can move it around with little difficulty, but heavy enough that I don't have to worry about our daughter pulling it down on herself.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SRSmith85
Bakersfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good little bookcase
3/26/2013

Customer review by kindredfyre

4.0 stars 3/26/2013 by kindredfyre
by kindredfyre

My and my husband have owned many of these over the course of 12 years of all sizes. I have had none break on me or fall over (we do secure to wall though). The only issue is it is made of particle board and laminate...not real wood so the shelves would warp under the pressure of heavy books sitting on it for many years. I just bought two for a craft desk I am making out of them and got a nice piece of wood for the top and secured it with brackets (too thin to screw together really without splitting the particle board). Works great with no issues whatsoever. It supports my sewing machine nicely. I will continue to purchase these for our needs as they come up. Good product for the money.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kindredfyre
Leesburg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works for the price
9/21/2011

Customer review by NiteOwlCarpenter

4.0 stars 9/21/2011 by NiteOwlCarpenter
by NiteOwlCarpenter

For a 15 dollar bookshelf, this unit is a good purchase as long as you're not planning to load it down with oversized college textbooks. It's not the most stable of bookshelves, and I found the back panel a little annoying because the creases were quite noticeable and it didn't fit entirely over the back of of the unit. I'm pretty sure the stability issues are due in part to both the middle shelves being adjustable, and I ended up making the bottom-most shelf permanent, easy with a few nails and some glue, to make it a bit more stable. Creases between the boards were also glued and a few corner-reinforcing brackets added, but if this is more work than you're looking for it's a good bookshelf just after assembling. I tend to do this with a lot of my furniture, so please don't feel that adjustments like these are absolutely necessary. The instructions can be a little confusing at first, but as long as you make sure you have all the necessary parts before you start and you don't try to rush through it, this shelf is easy to assemble for one person in a matter of a half hour. Some of the fasteners are a little confusing to figure out, but if you're patient and don't try to force them into submission it's doesn't need to turn into a bigger issue than it is. I bought the shelf in Alder rather than Oak, since I have a lot of darker wood patterns around my apartment, and with two in my living room and one in my bedroom they're very nice additions and replacements for the plastic shelves I had before.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NiteOwlCarpenter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Walmart associate
1/8/2012

Customer review by TNST05

4.0 stars 1/8/2012 by TNST05
by TNST05

I bought this bookshelf for my mom for Christmas. She uses it for her 22' flat screen tv and pictures. It looks great in her room with all her pictures and tv. It is a good item for its price. It took no time to put together and wasn't too heavy. She ended up getting another one to put her porcelain dolls on so obviously she was pleased enough to buy another one!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TNST05
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Black 3 shelf bookshelf
4/12/2009

Customer review by oklahomavaughns

3.0 stars 4/12/2009 by oklahomavaughns
by oklahomavaughns

My son & I put the first bookshelf up okay...the directions were a little hard, but we figured them out. It looks okay, but I wouldn't move it too many times. We went & bought another one, but received no directions with this one, so we can't put it up. This is a problem when buying this kind of furniture. Either you get no directions or parts are missing or broken.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oklahomavaughns
OKC, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
You get what you pay for
6/22/2009

Customer review by ashleighmommy

3.0 stars 6/22/2009 by ashleighmommy
by ashleighmommy

It does what I need it to. It holds books. It also takes some time to put together, and is not very sturdy. This is actually the second one I bought because the first one fell apart. It is cheap, and will hold books. But, if you are looking for quality, do not get this.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ashleighmommy
College Station, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews