Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 107 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

107 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

107 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
77
4 stars
16
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 stars
1
1-20 of 107 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 107 total reviews
1-20 of 107 reviews
Fantastic Lens
11/5/2007

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/5/2007 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I wish canon would make the same lens in f/2.8 or faster. I'd be the first in line to purchase such a lens

An anonymous customer
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Traveling light without sacrificing quality.
7/29/2013

Customer review by AGO

5.0 stars 7/29/2013 by AGO
by AGO

Sharp. Built quality is good. Quite silent. Good IS performance. Easy to use. Constant f/4 throughout the focal length is great. AF performance is good (even in low light). I have used this lens in different locations under different conditions (mostly architectural and landscape, also portraits, low light and night shots without flash, shots from a boat where IS was a life saver, etc). My experience shows that this is a good lens for travelers who wants to carry one lens only and prefer to travel light. There is distortion at the wide angle but this is acceptable with this focal length. It is easy to correct it with the provided software DPP if needed (I use distortion correction for architectural wide angle shots mostly. Landscape or other photographs usually do not need any correction). 24 mm covers most of the wide angle and 105 mm covers reasonable amount zoom for a traveler. When used as the only lens on the camera, there is some sacrifice below 24 mm and above 105 mm but, carrying many lenses when traveling means a very heavy backpack. Besides, there is always a higher risk of dust accumulation on the sensor when changing lenses especially during traveling. This simple problem may become a major headache if sensor cleaning is not possible during traveling. Recommended for those (especially full frame sensor users), who wants to carry one lens only and prefer to travel light without sacrificing quality. Final word; best kit lens I have ever bought!

AGO
Istanbul, Turkey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Only multi-use lens you will EVER need
12/3/2012

Customer review by Einstein

5.0 stars 12/3/2012 by Einstein
by Einstein

This is an amazing lens, specially when paired with a full frame DSLR. On a full frame body, 24mm is very wide. On a 1.6x body, 24mm is only moderately wide (equivalent of 38.4mm). The lens' color and contrast are excellent. Chromatic Aberration is well controlled with some CA visible in area harsh contrast primarily at full-frame edges at both ends of the focal length range. It features a reasonably fast widest aperture setting of f/4 which remains constant throughout the zoom range. When combined with a Canon 5D Mk iii it really gives great exposures in low light. Eight circular aperture blades provide excellent quality defocused image quality (bokeh - foreground/background blur). While f/4 in this focal length range is not the best at creating diffusely blurred backgrounds, close subjects at 105mm can have pleasingly blurred backgrounds. Canon's latest generation Image Stabilizer (IS) provides an additional 3-stops of handholdability in the Canon EF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM Lens. This is definitely one of my favorite features of the 24-105 L. IS does not stop subject motion blur, but it is excellent for stopping camera shake. The previous reviewer gave it one star for distortion. All lenses in this focal length range will show some distortion. Also common with lenses in this focal length range is distortion. The Canon EF 24-105mm shows some barrel distortion from 24mm until disappearing near 40mm. Pincushion distortion begins at 80mm and becomes mild at 105mm. As usual, this distortion is most noticeable in a full-frame body only under specific circumstances and is a function of the breed.

Einstein
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Essential Lens
5/24/2011

Customer review by Fort Worth Photo

5.0 stars 5/24/2011 by Fort Worth Photo
by Fort Worth Photo

I own a couple of other L lenses and have used a variety of other L series lenses at different times. My only complaint about the lens is its speed. I think it is true to the f/4 advertised, but another stop would be tremendously helpful for a walk around lens. Contrast and color are great. My lens is very sharp, but with an APS-C sensor on a 50D, I can't comment on the corners at 24 mm. The lens is noticably easier to handle than the 24-70mm when shooting for an extended period of time. The 24-105 is also a better size for travel photos, especially when the primary fun on your travel is not photography. I chose the 24-105 over the 24-70 because I could process a photo to brighten it later, but I couldn't get all the shots I wanted without changing lenses. If you don't mind changing lens at 70mm, the 24-70 packs a punch. Really beautiful images. The 24-105 is worth the upgrade from the 28-135mm which I kept as my back-up walk around lens.

Fort Worth Photo
Fort Worth, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great all around lens
11/23/2009

Customer review by eyeidea

5.0 stars 11/23/2009 by eyeidea
by eyeidea

I have an 85mm, a 100-400 and this lens is my favorite walk around lens, at 24 it seems like I can get anything and the 105 is nice when things are a little further away.

eyeidea
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best all around lens ever!
10/11/2012

Customer review by The Peacock Speak

5.0 stars 10/11/2012 by The Peacock Speak
by The Peacock Speak

If you are buying a Canon DSLR and want one lens to use every day, this is the lens. It's expensive, but it takes sharp clear pictures, focuses quickly, and is reasonably portable. You will really see the difference in your images from this versus point and shoot. I use a Canon T2i and almost always mount this lens. Really great.

The Peacock Speak
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent standard lens
5/6/2011

Customer review by Doctor

5.0 stars 5/6/2011 by Doctor
by Doctor

This is one of the two best standard zooms anyone can get for their Canon camera... The other one is the beast itself (EF 24-70mm f/2.8 L USM) which i also have. I can only say good things for this lens... Excellent sharpness, Amazing IS, very good zoom range, super fast AF... I could go on and on... I will say you this. For the last year or so, i almost exclusively use this over the 24-70 for everyday. Don't get me wrong here. The 24-70 is the best of the best!!! Period... But when i started using the 24-105 i found it to be a more versatile and user friendly lens. It is lighter, the zoom range is more useful, it has IS and only looses by an f stop. If you are about to buy one of them, the only big difference between them is the light fall off at 24mm and wide apertures. If you use 24mm at wide apertures buy the 24-70. If at 24mm you stop down to f/11 or so for landscape like me, buy the 24-105 and you will be a very happy man/woman... In the end, your lens is the best, because you learn how to get the best out of it... I even like the light fall off sometimes because using it creatively helps you give emphasis to the main subject...

Doctor
Athens
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best all purpose lens for one lens owner.
11/28/2009

Customer review by Firefighter

5.0 stars 11/28/2009 by Firefighter
by Firefighter

Best all around lens period. If you decide on one all around lens, this should be it. Image stabilizing allows for slower shutter speeds with crisp pics. Some of these can be taken while the camera rests on your knee or lap. Dark edges are coming from people who stack filter lens, UV/skylight and polarizer on top, or use wide polarizer filters. If you stack lenses like this, just back off on the zoom a little or remove them. This will take care of those dark edges. Otherwise this should be in Canon's top 5 lens.

Firefighter
Wausau, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this lens
8/7/2009

Customer review by VW Guy

5.0 stars 8/7/2009 by VW Guy
by VW Guy

I purchased this lens separately from my Canon 5D Mark II recently. If you are reading this, you know that they are in short supply. This lens is perfect for weddings, group portraits, and even head and shoulder portraits. I don't normally need the wide angle view, but it is good to know that 24mm is there if needed in the future. The build quality is superb and the lens is tack sharp throughout the zoom range. Maybe I got a good copy because I have read a report saying their copy is soft. The zoom and focus are smooth and useful. I wholeheartedly recommend this lens.

VW Guy
Central Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Review 24-105mm
3/31/2013

Customer review by Teva

5.0 stars 3/31/2013 by Teva
by Teva

Overall performance, nothing to ask for, as it covers almost every require range for a single All-in-One. At 24, image seems a little light and soft, mid range fm 35 -100, pretty good, especially indoors when light are sufficient, example, seminars, conference, image quality remain sharp throughout.

Teva
Singapore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
One of the best EF Zooms
11/8/2008

Customer review by Blake

5.0 stars 11/8/2008 by Blake
by Blake

Whether used on full-frame or crop cameras, this is one of Canon's best performers, especially considering the resolution at the 24mm side where many other EF lenses can let you down (even more expensive ones). The IS works as advertised (about 3 stops' worth) and makes the f/4 maximum aperture much less limiting for low(er)-light work. It's still no substitute for a fast prime for portraits (where maximum background blur is needed) & low-light motion (no amount of IS will prevent blur of a moving subject), but this is the trade-off one makes to have the convenience of a do-all zoom (I find that f/2.8 zooms are still too slow when I need a fast lens, and too heavy to drag around). As a "main" lens on full-frame/film or crop cameras (on which I don't worry about the 38.4mm equiv. max wide angle as I usually have a dedicated superwide with me) it's hard to think of anything that would surpass the 24-105L at any price.

Blake
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Luv this lens!
6/8/2009

Customer review by Who_Knew_Too

5.0 stars 6/8/2009 by Who_Knew_Too
by Who_Knew_Too

I've had excellent results using this lens. So far, I've used my 24-105mm F/4 L lens on sports jobs, on landscapes, some macro work, and on a few portraits. On all of this differing kinds of work, my results have been consistently excellent. I've used this lens with my 5D and with my 50D, with equally excellent results. I highly recommend this lens with confidence, it is an exceptional everyday lens.

Who_Knew_Too
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Second 24-105mm Lens Purchased
10/21/2012

Customer review by Steve

5.0 stars 10/21/2012 by Steve
by Steve

I opted for the 5DMII kit which included the 24-105mm lens with the 5DMII camera body. I alreday have one 24-105mm lens in my system and wanted a second one as a replacement for the old lens that I was sending in along with my old 5DMII camera body for IR coversion. The 24-105mm lens is my workhorse lens and accounts for well over 75% of my captures. It is tack sharp. The only reason I gave the performance a 4 was because of the lens hood. I sometimes have difficulty securing the lens hood squarely, but other then that It is my go to lens.

Steve
Mid-Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
wise purchase
5/6/2009

Customer review by fredy

5.0 stars 5/6/2009 by fredy
by fredy

i purchased this lense for an all around use. I just find it outstanding. sure its a bit heavy but only what you should expect for a superior lense. its matched to a 50d. great combo. highly recommended.

fredy
maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best walk-around lens
11/23/2008

Customer review by Vishnu G

5.0 stars 11/23/2008 by Vishnu G
by Vishnu G

Probably the best walk-around lens. The weather sealing is superb. The IS works as advertised. The zoom range makes ideal for everyday use. The picture quality is excellent (its an L after all). I use this lens on my 40D and it balances well with the weight of the camera. Not too heavy but heavy enough to make you feel in control. No complaints whatsoever.

Vishnu G
Houston, US
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
solid feel
2/13/2009

Customer review by Davoid

5.0 stars 2/13/2009 by Davoid
by Davoid

This is my favorite lens I've ever worked with. The 24-105 f/4 IS is a very high resolution lens, and edge to edge sharpness is very good. Both the zoom collar and the focus collar are amazingly solid and smooth. The Image Stabilization works well, and the autofocus works better than any other lens I've owned.

Davoid
St Petersburg, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just excellent
3/19/2009

Customer review by AVshooter

5.0 stars 3/19/2009 by AVshooter
by AVshooter

I wanted an 'all-around' lens that would provide great performance, and this lens does not disappoint. Quick and sharp focus, combined with the IS function produces outstanding quality images. My two most used lenses are now the 24-105 L and 100-400 L. The L series is expensive, but when people tell you to put your money into the glass, you should listen. The performance is worth the investment.

AVshooter
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I'm a believer.
6/11/2010

Customer review by S. Vicious

5.0 stars 6/11/2010 by S. Vicious
by S. Vicious

I wasn't a believer in L glass, IS, or zoom. I believe that prime glass is very sharp, I wasn't going to pay for zoom capabilities since I would rather utilize my feet, and I wasn't going to pay for IS since I would rather have a faster lens. Chapter Two... Ok, so I gave in and I bought an EF-S 10-22 and I love the sharp images it produces. This lens is what got me off my high horse named "Prime." Shortly after I bought the wide angle I overheard from other users that the lens was "L" quality without the price. This enticed me to look into a mid range zoom L lens for my arsenal of soul hunting gear. Chapter Three... I struggled between the 24-70 and the 24-105. Since I'm writing a review on the 24-105, chances are I bought the 24-105. I landed on the 24-105 due to the extra length it offers while taking a gamble that IS would counter balance the low light capabilities of the 2.8. The IS isn't as effective as 2.8, but it isn't bad at all. The clarity of this lens is absolutely remarkable and well, I believe in L glass now. I WILL NOT buy any other piece of glass unless it has the letter L on it; this includes my living room windows. I also want to add that the red ring looks very stunning. To those that may be going through a struggle between the F4 and the F2.8; unless you enjoy very shallow DOF then I would suggest to save a couple dollars, get the 24-105.

S. Vicious
North East, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best All-Around Lens
6/12/2009

Customer review by Ron

5.0 stars 6/12/2009 by Ron
by Ron

I traded in my old Canon F-1 "film" gear and purchased a Canon 30D with EF-S, 17-85mm, F/4.-5.6, IS, USM lens. After a while I felt I needed a faster lens with better and more durable quality. I purchased the 24-105mm F/4L and never looked back. It is the best all-around lens I have ever shot with. Great versatility and range, fast focus, great low light performance, just an excellent everyday, all purpose lens. Some say it's heavy, but I like the feel of a solid lens and the 24-105 gives that feel. The price is in the upper range but worth it, plus I received what I thought to be a very fair trade-in value for the 17-85mm kit lens. If you are looking for a high quality, solid every day lens, this is the one!

Ron
Long Island, N.Y.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Superb All-Around Lens!
11/27/2008

Customer review by Theo

5.0 stars 11/27/2008 by Theo
by Theo

The 24-105 f/4L IS stays on my 30D 98% of the time! It is just wide enough and with just enough reach to cover the majority of my shooting styles, All with Excellent resolution, color and clarity! IS is rock solid and fast, just as is AF. Build quality is similar to all of Canon's "L" glass, Superb! Indoor\outdoor results have yielded excellent results!! Complimenting this on the wide end is my 17-40 f/4 L and on the long end, 100-400 f/4.5-5.6L IS... what a Great Trio set for the investment. I've researched long and hard and haven't found any to be better. Great job, Canon!!!

Theo
S.E. La.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 107 total reviews
1-20 of 107 reviews