Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 25 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

25 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

25 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
21
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 21 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews
Great Price, Super Fast Shipping site to store
3/5/2009

Customer review by FatBellyBBQ

5.0 stars 3/5/2009 by FatBellyBBQ
by FatBellyBBQ

This thing beats all my expectations, its alot larger than I thought. I compete on the BBQ circuit and use WSM as my secondary cooker, but now I may reconsider with the larger capacity now. The 22.5 WSM is great and all the new improvements this thing is much better than the older WSM. I could not beat the price, I should have purchased two.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FatBellyBBQ
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Lives up to its reputation
7/14/2010

Customer review by Grateful4Christ

5.0 stars 7/14/2010 by Grateful4Christ
by Grateful4Christ

The new 22.5 Weber smoker chugs along at a consistent temperature and produces tasty smoked meats, etc. I've never owned a smoker before and bought this one primarily because of positive Internet reviews. I chose the larger size due to our big family. It's more than you'll need if you are cooking for four or less. If that's the case, I'd stick with the 18" regular model. Bottom line: I've been pleased. If you're new to this, clean up is fairly significant with all smokers. With the Weber, lining the water pan with aluminum foil is a very good idea! (Not original to me!) I've also heard good things about the Weber Bullet website...lots of smoking tips...but have not checked it out. For my tutelage, I'm beginning with the book "Low and Slow," which has been a useful, step by step, intro to smoking meats. (Warning: the language is mildly PG at times.)

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grateful4Christ
KC, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Lots of room
3/8/2009

Customer review by ColdWeatherSmoking

4.0 stars 3/8/2009 by ColdWeatherSmoking
by ColdWeatherSmoking

This smoker is much larger than I expected. Much more room than the 18" WSM. There is plenty of foom for eight 8# pork butts. You can also cook racks of ribs without having to pinwheel them. One of the main reasons I purchased is I was looking for a smoker with a longer burn time so I could get a little sleep on over night cooks. I have a stick burner and it requires tending every 1.5 hours. I alos have a hard time keeping my stick burner up to temp on cold Chicago nights in the winter. On the first WSM cook, it was 14 degrees outside and very windy (20+mph). I had no trouble maintaining a steady 225 degrees. It did burn much more fuel than I expected, 30+ pounds of Royal Oak on a 12 hour cook. I hope it becomes much more efficient once I get the smoker seasoned well and the weather outside starts to warm up a bit. Over all I feel the pit is very well made. The only complaint I have is the thermometer reads 15 degrees low (checked in boiling water). I will call Weber about that and I am sure they will send out a new one. So far, based on one cook and other Weber products I own and the customer service I have experienced from Weber, I will recomend this product.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ColdWeatherSmoking
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
WEBER QUALITY CONTINUES
7/15/2013

Customer review by SmokingSam

5.0 stars 7/15/2013 by SmokingSam
by SmokingSam
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Putting It Together: Took 30 min or less. All parts were there and fit perfectly. Just one thing to note....the bottom heat shield don't forget to put it on with the legs...had to take them off and put it on. Now For Cooking: PATIENCE.....PATIENCE....PATIENCE. Unlike me don't be tempted to try the meats early.....won't work. Every time the lid is lifted it adds at least 20 minutes to cooking. Therefore my first ribs and roast didn't turn out right. TOUGH! Learned my lesson! Have done whole chickens a couple of times now and GREAT! My next venture is brisket. Bought it today, seasoned it, wrapped it and tomorrow SMOKING it. Watched Kevins video on Webers web site and plan to follow his instructions exactly. Will advise how it turns out. Things To Watch For: When getting ready to cook make sure the center section and lid are fully seated otherwise the water level will be off and too much smoke will escape. Also I do not recommend leaving the lower tier cooking grate in while cooking unless you are using it for food. It just makes for extra cleaning. Wadded up aluminum foil along with wire brushes are great cleaners. The smoker would have gotten 5 stars for value had it been about $50 less as we are paying for the Weber name. Of course the Weber name assures quality. Over all it's GREAT. Unless you are smoking on a small apartment patio buy the 22.5 (larger one). Happy SMOKING!!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SmokingSam
Santa Fe, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Smoker on the Market!
6/2/2010

Customer review by BackyardPitmaster

5.0 stars 6/2/2010 by BackyardPitmaster
by BackyardPitmaster

I have been a Backyard Pitmaster for many years and used the Weber Kettle, OK Joe and Brinkmann and without a dought the WSM 22.5" is the best Smoker out there today. It's ability to hold a constant 225 - 250 degree cook makes it almost failure proof. You can trust the WSM to produce great color, flavor, and the much desired smoke ring. If you are serious about being the best "backyard Pitmaster" on your block then get this smoker!

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BackyardPitmaster
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Top Notch Smoker
9/22/2014

Customer review by SmokingRyan

5.0 stars 9/22/2014 by SmokingRyan
by SmokingRyan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the best smoker for the money. Hands down, no doubt about it. It is impossible to mess up temperature if your water pan stays full. Heavy steel construction, Old School Weber quality. It is a beast, I smoked two pork butts, and a whole brisket all at the same time. 13 hours later, magic emerged. Only a couple issues, Thermometer doesn't seal super tight, so it gets moisture inside, not a huge deal, but on the first time it is kind of lame. And the Handles are cheap plastic. I wish they were wood, something that felt good when you grab it. Also the removable door handle is super cheap. It all works great, but I would have paid an extra $50 for Great Handles.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SmokingRyan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice
5/21/2016

Customer review by HolySmoker

5.0 stars 5/21/2016 by HolySmoker
by HolySmoker
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It worked nice.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HolySmoker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bought on 04/28/16
5/9/2016

Customer review by NewWsmUsers

5.0 stars 5/9/2016 by NewWsmUsers
by NewWsmUsers

Ive used it twice. On the first run I smoked 2 tri tips, 2 racks of baby back ribs and 10 chicken leg quarters. On the second run I smoked a 10 lb brisket for 8 hrs. Each time the food was phenomenal! The WSM can fit a ton of food and it holds its temperature well. It is extremely user friendly. An absolute must have if you are into smoking or are wanting to learn how to.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewWsmUsers
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
lives up to the hype
6/30/2014

Customer review by waittoolong

5.0 stars 6/30/2014 by waittoolong
by waittoolong
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

For those ready to make an entry/intermediate level jump into smoking food, I strongly suggest this smoker. I was using a standard Weber kettle grill for my smoking but it was becoming more work than I cared for. The continual monitoring of the coals and temperature did make for a great excuse to hang out with friends all day but that isn’t what smoking should be about. It should be about the final product. Along with continually monitoring the heat and adding coals I was not always getting a consistent product coming off the grill. I finally decided it was time to jump into the world of smokers. I purchased this smoker after reviewing hundreds of on-line comments on various smokers. My cousin had a smoker which used a side box to hold the charcoal. We had a couple of cookouts using it and I really liked it. After reading numerous reviews on that type of smoker I saw the same comment “after some modifications the smoker worked great”. Individuals stated that these “modifications” on average ran anywhere from $50 to $75 on top of the purchase price (usually $500-$700 for a quality smoker). Being a novice at smoking meat, I did not want to spend that type of money. I read review after review on the Weber Smokey Mountain Cookers and whether it was the smaller 14.5” or the larger 22.5”, every review was positive. Since I enjoy cooking ribs, I was more interested in the larger 22.5” model. Seeing the cost for the 22.5” smoker was in the price range I was after (around $400) I decided to go with a company that is known for quality products. After using this smoker only twice I thought to myself, “Why did you take so long to do this?” This smoker is everything the reviews say it is. I am able to load the smoker with enough coals to easily last the 6 to 7 hours I like to cook ribs. I just load & start the coals, make sure the temperature levels off at 225, put on the ribs and then walk away. The 2 large grills in the smoker easily allow me to smoke 4 racks of baby back rib. The 22.5” smoker has a water pan that can be filled to add moisture while smoking and thus improve the quality of the ribs. The biggest testament to this product is the consistent quality of the ribs. The ease at keeping a steady temperature is the whole secret. This smoker will take away the excuse to hang out with friends all day while you prepare for your cookout but let’s face, it’s actually better to VISIT with your friends than it is to having them there just so you have someone to talk to in between adding coals.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
waittoolong
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/20/2011

Customer review by thunder71

5.0 stars 7/20/2011 by thunder71
by thunder71

We just used this smoker for the first time this weekend and the chicken turned out great, very juicey and definetely smokey. We wish they had some sort of stand to hold the chicken upright when a recipe calls for it, other that that it was great.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thunder71
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Smoker
1/17/2011

Customer review by JohninGilbertAZ

5.0 stars 1/17/2011 by JohninGilbertAZ
by JohninGilbertAZ

I was ready to move from my small electric smoker to one that uses charcoal. I was not disappointed! My first smoke consisted of 2 butts and 1 shoulder. I was not disappointed with the finished product. The smoke ring was well defined and the meat was perfect. If you love to smoke I would highly suggest you take a look at this smoker. If you have a small family you might be able to get by with the smaller 18 inch model.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JohninGilbertAZ
Gilbert, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
GREAT SMOKER !!!!!!!
10/25/2012

Customer review by BROBQUE

5.0 stars 10/25/2012 by BROBQUE
by BROBQUE

Me and my brother both purchased weber smokey mountain 22.5" cookers, and cooked ribs for our family the first night we bought them. best ribs i have made yet! very easy to control temp, took less than an hour to figure it our with the help of the instruction manual. lots of room, and built very sturdy i would highly recommend!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BROBQUE
INDIANA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Goldilocks
4/15/2016

Customer review by bowbunny

4.0 stars 4/15/2016 by bowbunny
by bowbunny

Have the smallest one; too small. Should have gotten the middle size, this one is VERY large.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bowbunny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
WSM - Playing with BBQ
6/16/2009

Customer review by LilRockBBQ

4.0 stars 6/16/2009 by LilRockBBQ
by LilRockBBQ

I'm having fun learning to use my new smoker. Trying to control temperatures for BBQ is not easy. Need more practice with the dampers. The internal temperature gauges is about 15 degrees hotter than what the thermometer reads. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to cook BBQ.

Was this review helpful? (10) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LilRockBBQ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome smoker
6/4/2015

Customer review by BBQfan

5.0 stars 6/4/2015 by BBQfan
by BBQfan

This was my husband"s birthday present. He loves it. Holds the temperature perfectly for hours without having to do anything. Large enough to smoke brisket and ribs at the same time.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BBQfan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No regrets!
1/6/2016

Customer review by Shane

5.0 stars 1/6/2016 by Shane
by Shane

Assembled in about 30 minutes, immediately smoked 2 pork shoulders that came out wonderful! Easy to hold a steady temperature and easy to clean up. Very happy!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shane
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it
7/21/2015

Customer review by Richard1233

5.0 stars 7/21/2015 by Richard1233
by Richard1233

I've been looking at WSM for years and never bought one because they're kinda pricy. However over the last year or so I've gotten into learning about the art of smoking and it's amazing. I bought this so I can fix up my big stick burner and this wsm is unbelievable. I get it to about 280 grate temp and it sits there the whole time. 10 degree swings from wind picking up and dying down but I don't have to keep an eye on this thing at all. I have smoked the juiciest best tasting chicken I've ever cooked in this thing and I've had it only about 3 weeks. Chicken is so juicy it's still juicy when I eat it cold in a salad. I've cooked some really good tri tip on it already as well, only thing left I need to do is cook some ribs, brisket, and pulled pork on it but I don't think it will be a problem from the way this thing performs. It saves me money on charcoal as well, once u are done close all the vents and it kills the fire so quick u have leftover charcoal in the fire ring still for next time u cook. It's very easy to assemble as well. I'm terrible with instructions for assembly and I put this together in about 10 minutes. It's the most efficient and easy cooker I've ever had. Makes it easy for me to take my time fixing up my stick burner and still producing the quality meat I am used to.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Richard1233
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This thing is huge!
8/11/2015

Customer review by jangu50

5.0 stars 8/11/2015 by jangu50
by jangu50

If you want a super size smoker.This is the one to get,And it is built to last for a long time.Very easy to assemble.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jangu50
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
WSM 22.5
6/10/2015

Customer review by Gruntled001

5.0 stars 6/10/2015 by Gruntled001
by Gruntled001

First time owner of a WSM and I am very happy so far with the grill. I would suggest getting a blower also. A+++

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gruntled001
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Present
1/7/2011

Customer review by Sac0198

5.0 stars 1/7/2011 by Sac0198
by Sac0198

I bought this as a present. The product was easy to assemble. The size is large and you can place a good amount of food to cook at the same time. If you love to grill this is a good choice.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sac0198
Fort Worth, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews