Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 35 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

35 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5 stars
30
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 26 total reviews
Happy BBQing
6/22/2009

Customer review by ILshowgurl

5.0 stars by ILshowgurl

I was looking to replace a "mini" grill I had for eight years before it was stolen from my deck. I use it to grill the basics, hot dogs, hamgurgers etc. It holds a really good fire and with the lid down (closed) the food practically cooks itself. It was really easy to assembly and the lid lock is great to use for traveling to and from the park. With the same TLC hopefully this will last as long as the other. Don't really agree with the price but Walmart had the lowest.

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ILshowgurl
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Grill!
6/6/2009

Customer review by greatdealgirl

5.0 stars by greatdealgirl

This is a great grill to take camping or for use at home. It can fit about 4 burgers and is really portable. I really like that the handle holds the lid on during transport. So glad we got it!

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
greatdealgirl
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
A really awesome grill
7/26/2009

Customer review by OBoneKenOB

5.0 stars by OBoneKenOB

The first charcoal grill I ever owned I bought at the comissary in San Diego in 1970 while I was in the Navy. It was the classic Weber kettle charcoal grill. I had this grill for 25 years and loved it. Then I "graduated" to a gas grill and went through two of them over the next 15 years. I have now "down-sized" my life and thus have purchased the Smokey Joe Gold. I have arrived!! This grill is perfect, easy to handle, and produces the flavor that I loved so much over the 25 years that I owned the classic Weber Kettle grill. Don't hesitate one minute. Buy it!

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
OBoneKenOB
Sunnyvale, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Product
6/2/2010

Customer review by azimmy80

5.0 stars by azimmy80

Great product at a great price. I bought this for my husband's birthday and he loves it. It seems very durable and I think it will be with us for many years to come.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
azimmy80
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great little charcoal grill...
6/25/2012

Customer review by TJ47040

5.0 stars by TJ47040

It is well made and easy to carry and use. The meat has excellent grilled flavor. Be careful not to sit it over grass as the radiant heat will kill it. Plan on putting it in gravel, on concrete or a patio stone. If you put it on a table, put something under it to protect the table.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TJ47040
SE Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Real cool grill
11/17/2012

Customer review by jtooth607

5.0 stars by jtooth607

This grill is well engineered and built. It is really cool! I have had small grills in the past, and they just didn't quite cut it. This one holds the coals hot and ready for at least two hours and cooks quite evenly.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jtooth607
Texas City, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sturdy Convenient Grilll
11/2/2013

Customer review by KentBookTX

5.0 stars by KentBookTX

I just bought a replacement for my first Smokey Joe Gold, the other is still cooking for me, but after 23 years the charcoal grate in the bottom has disintrgrated and it was just time to go with a new one. The reason I bought the Gold over Silver is it has the lid keeper/holder so that you can adjust and hold the lid to body opening allowing better temperature control while cooking--the silver unit doesn't have that benefit. It's large enough to cook 4-5 1/3 pound burgers, 2 full size T-bones and 3-4 good sized ribeyes at one time. One last point, when you're done cooking it closes up and secires the lid and handle allowing you to shut down the coals and still have a base to start up the next time--thus it's charcoal economical. You just add a few more briquets when you begin the next time. I love this grill, but do wish they'd go back to the wooden handle, the pvc one heats up when you are dampening the temperature control with the lid.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
KentBookTX
Allen, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
used the old one for 14 yrs.
2/11/2011

Customer review by SunshineOfLouisiana

5.0 stars by SunshineOfLouisiana

I won my 1st one. My husband and I used it for 14 yrs. It traveled to five states with us. When we retired it this year (2011), I asked my husband to take off the wooded handle and put it in the new one. I wanted to keep a part of it for sentimental reasons.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SunshineOfLouisiana
Ponchatoula, La
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Weber
4/22/2011

Customer review by pthead

5.0 stars by pthead

The Weber little smokey is typical of all Weber products. It is well made and cooks great

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
pthead
Muskogee, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good for grilling foods with lid open
8/12/2013

Customer review by Kalifman

4.0 stars by Kalifman

We purchased this grill based on the reviews. Tried both fish and chicken grilling. Chicken turned out to be excellent but fish was not as expected. One thing we are finding that the coal does not remain hot with the lid closed, even of the side vents and lid vents are kept open. I suppose the coal does not get enough air from the vents. This could be a problem with hard meats like steaks where one needs to grill with lid closed. I am not an expert with grilling, so would like to ask other reviewers (esp the 5 star ones) , how do they grill with lid closed?

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Kalifman
Fremont, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great little grill
6/24/2012

Customer review by Zook308

5.0 stars by Zook308

Great portability and ease of use. Great for doing a couple of burgers or hot dogs without use of a great deal of charcoal. Quick and efficient for a great summer cookout.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Zook308
Germany
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
great design, portable before and after use
10/31/2012

Customer review by jjm5

5.0 stars by jjm5

Tail Gate or Picnic Table , Very stable, good heat

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jjm5
Oxford, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Needs a vent in the bottom.
6/10/2012

Customer review by MACjr2

3.0 stars by MACjr2

I wish I bought the silver. It has a vent in the bottom. This helps keep the Coles going. They need to make one That's portable like the gold but functional like the silver.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MACjr2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
great little grill
10/24/2013

Customer review by greatwhite68

5.0 stars by greatwhite68

great grill a little pricey

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
greatwhite68
freetown in
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Smaller version than the big Weber Gold grill
7/13/2014

Customer review by 2xGranny

5.0 stars by 2xGranny

Bought this smaller version of this grill because my husband already has the large one. He mentioned it several times, knew his birthday was soon, so I ordered it knowing it was something he wanted and did not need. He loves cooking on charcoal instead of gas. Counting our now new small Weber Gold Smokey Joe, I believe my husband has approximately 10 different kinds of grills and smokers. He loves grilling all year long when weather is nice in the Winter. He grills everything from vegetables (especially when fresh for our area), seafood, beef, pork of all sizes, kabobs, whole ears of corn, fruit, etc. This Weber Gold is especially nice because it has a handle that allows you to put the lid to the grill on it and also snaps over the cover if you need to move the grill while it is still cooking or still very hot and would be dangerous to try to move it. Hope you enjoy Weber grills as much as we do because they are well built and will last you for many, many years to come.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
2xGranny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Upgrade to SJ Gold
12/8/2013

Customer review by TGBW

5.0 stars by TGBW

Had the lower-end Smokey-Joe in the past... lasted a few years and worked well. Upgraded this time around ot the SJ Gold... a couple of extra features... Locking top to the bottom for carrying, and side air-flows for heating the coals faster. Product works well, and will get a few years out of this I sam sure!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TGBW
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect small grill
6/14/2011

Customer review by OnePuttDave

5.0 stars by OnePuttDave

Great product and cheap shipping.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
OnePuttDave
Grand Rapids
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
5/10/2013

Customer review by nilabu1

5.0 stars by nilabu1

Love this grill just what I was looking for.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
nilabu1
oak park michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little grill!
6/25/2013

Customer review by Badgrammie

4.0 stars by Badgrammie

Just what he wanted, but I wish it would have arrived the day before Father's Day not the day after. Regardless, he loves it and couldn't wait to use it. I can't wait to build the grill table for him to use it on.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Badgrammie
Hillsborough NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little product at the best price.
7/6/2013

Customer review by KCsmam

5.0 stars by KCsmam

Product arrived in short order with good tracking. This is the second time I have used Walmart online and both were great experiences. Keep up the good work

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
KCsmam
Stanwood, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 26 total reviews