Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 109 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

109 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

109 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
55
4 stars
40
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 stars
4
1-20 of 96 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 96 total reviews
1-20 of 96 reviews
Good value for the price
12/6/2008

Customer review by Pynekone

4.0 stars 12/6/2008 by Pynekone
by Pynekone

My husband and I have purchased 4 of these heaters over a period of about two years or so, and three of them are still going strong. One stopped working after the first year. We have found that these heaters heat smaller rooms better than large ones. On really cold days or nights, it's best to turn them on at least an hour before you want to enter the room. I really like the fact that it has an automatic tip over switch. It came in handy when one of our dogs decided to use our living room as a race track. It turned off automatically before the heater hit the ground. After using two of the heaters this past month on medium heat, we noticed that our heating bill increased by about $100. I'm not sure if this is attributable to the wattage use or the fact that it just seems a little colder out this year. Also, the heater in our master bedroom has tripped our circuit and shut itself off on at least two occasions when my husband has increased the temperature from medium to high heat. So I do like the safety features that these heaters have. I also like the fact that you can push the heater out of the way due to its relatively small size. Its portability is really convenient. It's a good value overall, and it has worked better than some of the oil-filled heaters that tend to be more expensive and that take much longer to heat. I am pleased with our purchases overall. It would be nice if it had a timer. If you keep it on overnight with the door shut, the room gets really hot.

Was this review helpful? (71) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pynekone
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Heats Very Large Room In 5 Minutes
3/10/2009

Customer review by onlineNYL

4.0 stars 3/10/2009 by onlineNYL
by onlineNYL

The size of the heater will discourage you. The price of it is exceptional because it goes for double and above at any other retailer. It is easiest to operate. It has a 3 prong plug so be prepared. The on and off switch is the only thing that shuts off the heater; that protective feature if tipped over works proficiently. If that happens in the process of carrying it tilted, position it and leave it be then turn it on and it should operate properly. You can position it against a wall unlike most other heaters that have to have a 3-foot radius of space. The heater adjusts automatically to the temperature in the room, but it is favorable to check and adjust the dial until you hear the click. It has a convenient (built into the body of the heater) handle to carry sufficiently. Keep the grate free from lint and debris using a dry lint-free cloth as preventative maintenance. The flow of the heat/air is located at the bottom so it flows to the floor. The room it is used for is over 17-feet by 21-feet (got tired of measuring) and is not well-insulated and the heater was turned on and dialed to highest and door closed and went downstairs grabbed a juice-box for toddler and returned and the room was uncomfortably warm; dialed down the heater until the click and toasty has been the experience ever since. Michigan on day/night 3 below, the heater does this room well. Continuous running of this heater does not cause any hinderance. My toddler got curious and passed it and said "hot" and never goes near it unlike the other heater. But I do not suggest that you stand in front of the heater even if you can stand the flow of heat. When running, the body of the heater does stay cool to the touch, but always carry it by the handle for safety purposes. Also when on, the noise is quiet and not bothersome.

Was this review helpful? (58) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
onlineNYL
Detroit, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best money I have ever spent!
9/21/2011

Customer review by ToastyintheFingerlakes

5.0 stars 9/21/2011 by ToastyintheFingerlakes
by ToastyintheFingerlakes

First thing I was GREATLY surprised and pleased by was how fast Walmart and FedEx shipped my order! YAY FOR WALMART! I received my package a full TWO DAYS EARLIER than the earliest expected received date! But now on to the review.. For those of you considering other heaters, DON'T!! This heater is hands down the best money I have ever spent! My fiance and I just moved into a 1000 sq ft trailer on private land that is heated ONLY by fuel oil. Between upstate NY fall and winters, the prices of fuel oil these days, and the fact that trailers are NOTORIOUS for not holding heat; this can be a very expensive bill. We were looking at supplementing with electric heaters to try and cut our bills a bit. We have the small Sunbeam heaters at work so we knew they heated well but ONLY in small spaces, so we were looking at having to buy multiples and spending almost the same amount of money as if we were to heat with fuel oil alone. I stumbled across this heater and decided to take a chance based on others reviews. I've had this heater for just over an hour and already our whole trailer is comfortably toasty! The money I saved on buying this one heater rather than multiple smaller heaters or using only fuel oil was well worth the chance I took. I am absolutely in love! If you are reading these reviews and wondering if it is worth the chance, TAKE IT! By all means, take it! You won't regret it!

Was this review helpful? (37) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ToastyintheFingerlakes
Upstate / Fingerlakes, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent heater
12/6/2008

Customer review by sappho123

5.0 stars 12/6/2008 by sappho123
by sappho123

I bought this heater almost two years ago, and it works better than two other larger ones we have. It is a powerhouse that keeps going. You'll need to keep the fan area clean, as the top vents pull air in to blow out the bottom vents. I think I had to clean it out once or twice in a year. The larger heaters we have only heat and run for a few minutes and then cut off for what seems like a very long time. On the highest setting, this little heater will run continuously. The only problem I have is that I was stupid and sold the thing at a garage sale. I will be going to purchase another one!

Was this review helpful? (33) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sappho123
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Warms me up!
2/10/2009

Customer review by Buckeye1986

5.0 stars 2/10/2009 by Buckeye1986
by Buckeye1986

I purchased this product for my apartment, it gets very cold in the winter time. It is fairly small, but it really heats it up in no time so I don't think it would have much trouble with a larger space. It is pretty quiet also. I like the fact that once you get comfortable, you can turn the knob down and it will automatically regulate to keep your room at that temperature. All in all, I have really enjoyed it!

Was this review helpful? (26) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Buckeye1986
columbus, ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
EXCELLENT GARAGE HEATER
1/22/2009

Customer review by CollectOldies

5.0 stars 1/22/2009 by CollectOldies
by CollectOldies

I purchased one in 2 of 2006 and I bought this second one to assist the other one. A single one will heat a 10.5 ft. x 25 ft garage that has air leaks to 68 degrees farenheit and maintain that temp as long as the heater is on mid to high level. The outside temp can be 35 or in the 20's and the single heater will keep 68. Two of them if you like the area warmer will definitely do the job.Be careful because temp can get 80 or higher with 2 of these heaters. If heater fails to turn on try shaking the heater because the tipover does get stuck at times. All in all I highly recommend the Lasko Model 5812 Automatic Air Flow heater

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CollectOldies
Kenner La
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Very happy I bought it
12/18/2013

Customer review by Jaxsyaya

4.0 stars 12/18/2013 by Jaxsyaya
by Jaxsyaya

Works great, pretty quiet and is very light to carry from room to room. Glad there is a handle in the back also. One star for Walmart shipping - they didn't bother to put the item in a shipping box for protection and privacy and also the shipping label and invoice were put right on the box the heater came in. Just glad this wasn't supposed to be a Christmas present or I would of had to return it because of the label stuck on the box.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jaxsyaya
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wonderful heater
3/31/2010

Customer review by jtsmamakat

5.0 stars 3/31/2010 by jtsmamakat
by jtsmamakat

I ordered this heater to replace an old one. This heater is so much more than expected! It warms my bedroom with no problem, even when temps are in the teens. It is so quiet, you forget it is running. My Power bill actually decreased after I started using it. I would recommend this heater for any one.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jtsmamakat
Laurel, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It just never stops blowing!
3/6/2010

Customer review by DeOsee

4.0 stars 3/6/2010 by DeOsee
by DeOsee

I would have given this heater a top rating, but one feature about it, I highly dislike. It never stops running. Although it has a thermostat, it keeps blowing as long as the switch is on. I think the heater quits blowing hot air, and adjusts to a lower temperature; however, it keeps blowing. When a room gets to the desired temperature, I want the heater to stop blowing. It's also pretty noisy. But, it does warm a small area quickly, which I like. The tip-over feature works well -- which is an excellent safety feature. I just wish the noisy thing would shut off when the room reaches the desired temperature.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DeOsee
Austin, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product
3/4/2010

Customer review by sbhw

5.0 stars 3/4/2010 by sbhw
by sbhw

Bought 2 of these portable heaters. The heater in our house quit in the middle of the coldest winter we have had in a long time. We had some nights in the lower 20's & it snowed a little. We used these 2 heaters to heat the whole house. Our house is 2000 sq ft. They kept us very warm & boy did it cut down on our power bill. We will most likely use them again next year and not use the central heater.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sbhw
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Perfect for small room and cold feet
11/8/2013

Customer review by RockyP9

5.0 stars 11/8/2013 by RockyP9
by RockyP9

Despite its retro look, the Lasko 5812 is probably the best small space heater you can buy at this price point. I've had it for several weeks now and it warms my 200 sq/ft home office and adjoining bathroom in just minutes after turning it on. Its best feature is that the warm airflow is at floor level, keeping your feet nice and toasty.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RockyP9
Dublin, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not what I expected at all.
1/20/2009

Customer review by sisterfoley

2.0 stars 1/20/2009 by sisterfoley
by sisterfoley

It's probably my fault that I didn't read the details carefully enough, but this heat is much smaller than I expected. I gave it a try, but it just didn't put out enough heat for any of the rooms in my house. I live in 100+ yr old Victorian and the rooms are pretty big. I would have put it in one of the bathrooms, but the manual specifically said not to use it in bathroom or laundry room. I couldn't tell for sure I think it was hairdrier style heater which means it's got a thin metal coil in it. They don't retain heat well, and can easily over powered in a drafty room. Your money would be much better spend on ceramic or quartz heater.

Was this review helpful? (11) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sisterfoley
Eldred, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Brings heat into a small room FAST
12/12/2011

Customer review by BethAnne715

3.0 stars 12/12/2011 by BethAnne715
by BethAnne715

It does not heat up the large sized room too quickly, but in small and average sized rooms, it's very quick. I was disappointed that the dial doesn't give very much control as to how much heat is produced. In effect, when it's cold, I turn it on. When the room is toasty, I turn it off. I would rather keep it on and have it on at a lower setting, but this product is unable to do that.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BethAnne715
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
it puts out a lot of heat for its size.
11/3/2014

Customer review by ykhoo

5.0 stars 11/3/2014 by ykhoo
by ykhoo

heats the floor too

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ykhoo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Value for Money
3/2/2010

Customer review by Cruiser5

4.0 stars 3/2/2010 by Cruiser5
by Cruiser5

Heater was priced right, works well, good size & shape & heats up a small room very well with door closed. I have to shut it every now and then room because gets too warm. Only negative is it's designed so thermostat clicks on & off but heater stays on...so I'm not sure what purpose thermostat serves. It has anti-tip safety feature. Definitely worth the money. I'd buy another if I needed one.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cruiser5
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
OK for the price...
1/4/2009

Customer review by MTVs

3.0 stars 1/4/2009 by MTVs
by MTVs

You get what you pay for... no auto shut off, no remote control, a bit too noisy for me, my room size is average 10 X 12, heater too small to warm room up adequately... returned heater.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MTVs
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Good value product
2/23/2011

Customer review by KMcCleve

5.0 stars 2/23/2011 by KMcCleve
by KMcCleve

We've been very pleased with the heater. We wanted it because of it's continual fan - we needed it for white noise purposes as well as keeping the room warm. It doesn't regulate the temp as well as we would have hoped, it just keeps getting warmer and warmer. But it keeps our big rooms very comfortable, and has decreased the amount of time our furnace runs. AWESOME!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KMcCleve
West Point, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome
10/2/2014

Customer review by Rzza

5.0 stars 10/2/2014 by Rzza
by Rzza

This is exactly what I wanted, it blows good, not like the cheap fan heater I had before. I was surprised to see it was all metal, not plastic. It is sturdy and hot, I use it to blow heat on myself but it will heat a room as I have used it in the bathroom while bathing my dog and it got very toasty in there. Walmart has byfar the best price, I used ship to store and paid 40 bucks. The dial is ALWAYS turned to its lowest setting as it get very hot when turned up. The only thing I would change is its color, I wish it came with options, I would choose black.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rzza
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for very small unit
10/2/2014

Customer review by 4926

4.0 stars 10/2/2014 by 4926
by 4926

I wanted a heater that had a low blower to warm my feet. This is great for that while I am at the talble reading. It will heat up a small room fast, but I don't use it in bedroom because it is noisy for sleeping. It is good if you want a quick heat in a small area.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4926
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good quality, solid construction.
10/30/2014

Customer review by Steve553

4.0 stars 10/30/2014 by Steve553
by Steve553

This heater initially did not do the job. For the first two days I owned it, it was only lukewarm. However, after that (and the heater was "broken in") it warmed up considerably. I think it may be likely that owners may have to keep the temp on the maximum setting. The construction is all metal, which is a plus. I give this heater four stars only because it could be a bit hotter. It will only really heat a mid-size (maybe 10x11') room.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Steve553
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 96 total reviews
1-20 of 96 reviews