Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 204 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

204 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

204 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
74
4 stars
54
3 stars
16
2 stars
17
1 stars
43
1-20 of 186 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 186 total reviews
1-20 of 186 reviews
Does the job
5/8/2013

Customer review by Teucer

4.0 stars 5/8/2013 by Teucer
by Teucer

I didn't know what to expect when I purchased this dehumidifier given its inexpensive price and diminuitive size. However, I was pleased when I saw the amount of water being drawn from the air every week in the collection tank. The disadvantages include typical thermoelectric electricity inefficiency (compared to refrigerant systems# intirinsic in the design used with this dehumidifier #and ones like it# and the small drain hole that makes it difficult to remove 100% of the water in the collection tank. But, for the price, you REALLY can't beat this unit for controlling the humidity in small to medium sized rooms. I use this unit in a utility room that sits on a concrete slab that is always pulling moisture into the air from the ground beneath the foundation and #with the way it has been performing) I predict it will prevent mold from growing in that space. Buy a WalMart warranty with it....cheap insurance in case you have problems; WalMart Product Assist is great when it comes to making good on warranty claims.

Was this review helpful? (65) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Teucer
Fall River, Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Have gone thru 2 in two years
12/24/2015

Customer review by Heather

3.0 stars 12/24/2015 by Heather
by Heather

Works great like the other reviewers have said for a while then if you unplug it, plug it back it back in , it doesn't sound right and eventually stops working at all. I've had this happen twice- the second one was working great for many months , I never unplugged it, just drained when full. Then the other day I unplugged it to mop and now it won't work at all. Anyone else experience this?

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Heather
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Waste of money...
9/18/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 9/18/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I live in a small single dorm Room in UF. The humidity levels are really high due to different factors such as : old building design, window insulation problems, and an old central AC that does not work efficiently. I borrowed two types of Dehumidifiers for my room. the first one worked very well; then I borrowed the mini dehumidifier that my friend bought recently in wallmart; I let the mini-dehumidifier work for 8 hours, and when I checked the humidity levels I did not noticed any difference!!! I have a digital Hygrometer that helped me take temperature and humidity levels. When I took the humidity levels of my room while the mini-dehumidifier was working, nothing change!!! the humidity levels were still the same after 8 hours!!!!! This mini-dehumidifier is very inefficient; it does condensates water at a very low rate,but it allows humidity to build up continuously. Finally, I just want to say that the humidity level control of this mini-dehumidifier is really poor! please hire better Engineers!!!!

Was this review helpful? (28) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Gainesville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
hasnt filled up in the year I've owned it!
1/30/2016

Customer review by angel115707

1.0 stars 1/30/2016 by angel115707
by angel115707

I cannot believe it is legal to sell this junk! The reservoir hasn't filled yet. Half full after a year. My son and I are allergic to dust mites and have asthma, our allergist told us to get a humidity gauge and a dehumidifier and try to keep the humidity under 50% to prevent dust mites from multiplying. They need moisture to thrive. Well, we live between Houston and the beach.... Humidity is almost always above 50%. often over 60 etc. Well, my air conditioner dehumidifies better than this... I will NEVER buy this brand again!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
angel115707
Would recommend to a friend? No
Sunpentown -Mini Dehumidifer - SD-350
12/31/2015

Customer review by HappyJoyce

4.0 stars 12/31/2015 by HappyJoyce
by HappyJoyce

I bought the dehumidifiers for our bedrooms. I was having a problem with windows sweating and molding. This dehumidifier has taken care of this problem. It works very good and is easy to operate and to empty water tank.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyJoyce
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product
7/19/2009

Customer review by SnowflakeSkier

5.0 stars 7/19/2009 by SnowflakeSkier
by SnowflakeSkier

This mini dehumidifier works great! I think the reason why some people have had problems is due to receiving a defective unit. We use it inside a small bedroom and it works really well at removing water from the air. The unit does not put out too much heat (a wonderful feature when using it on hot summer days). The noise level is similar to a small fan running. You notice it at first right after turning the unit on. But you get used to the sound so quickly that it's easy to work comfortably or even take a nap close to the unit while it's running. In the future we'll be purchasing a second unit for the bathroom. We highly recommend this mini dehumidifier to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (142) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SnowflakeSkier
Saint Cloud, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good for small jobs
1/7/2016

Customer review by Netwitt

4.0 stars 1/7/2016 by Netwitt
by Netwitt

My unit arrived with cosmetic damage, which I'm sure happened in shipping. I went ahead and tried it out since I was desperate to get the high humidity in my house under control The unit is quiet and very compact. Unfortunately, it was not powerful enough for my needs - I have a tiny house on wheels (about 1000 cubic feet) and I ended up buying a much bigger unit. The Sunpentown unit is recommended for small rooms and I hoped it would work since it is so nice and small. Probably best for closets or storage rooms. I did think that the adapter got hotter than I would like.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Netwitt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works Great!
5/29/2009

Customer review by KristiNic

5.0 stars 5/29/2009 by KristiNic
by KristiNic

I lived in an older building, so it tends to get muggy at times. I bought this item after reviewing tons, and I absolutely love it! It is my first dehumidifier, but I noticed a difference in my bedroom the very first day. Over the weekend, it even got really full so I know it's doing it's job. My room is a larger sized bedroom (16 x 12 maybe?), I'm thinking about buying another to put in the common area:) It's a mini, so I am not sure how it will do in a bigger room

Was this review helpful? (257) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KristiNic
Virgina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Skepical at first, but it does the job
9/22/2014

Customer review by hrica1

5.0 stars 9/22/2014 by hrica1
by hrica1

$50, I wasn't expecting a epic gallon a day water removal. I think some people that get the machine "think" it should be that way but, as my friend who is the store manager of the Super Walmart told me "you get what you pay for", so if you don't get the Frigidaire $200+ machine..I would not complain With that said, I am VERY pleased with purchase, I was not expecting a $200 machine that removes a gallon a day, I get about 10oz a day removed from my daughter's damp bedroom. Very, Very, light, nice look to it, does not look out of place with all her other "stuff" teens have in their room, no noise at all....highly recommend for small bedrooms, but nothing really larger AS it says in ITEM DESCRIPTION. .....and NO..I didn't get paid to write this, matter of fact I returned a item last month..just want to give credit where credit is due.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hrica1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Clearing out Humidity from a workroom
10/7/2014

Customer review by triedandtrue

5.0 stars 10/7/2014 by triedandtrue
by triedandtrue
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We have a workroom in a finished basement that is about 7' high by 28' long and about 5' wide, or close to 1,000 cubic feet located off an entertainment room with a closed door that has a vent. After about five days the generous water tank is already half full, the unit very quiet and uses no compressor or coolant. It is thin so it fits almost anywhere. And it has a hide-a-way handle for easy movement to a bathroom sink for simple water removal. What's not to like with a price of around $59. We had bought two crystal static dehumidifiers for $28 each that have a window that turns pink when the crystals have soaked up all the water allowed, the units then required to plug into an AC outlet to change the crystals back to blue. In that 24 hours period, which is what you need for a deep blue color, the units get almost hot seeming to use a lot of electricity to get the water out. While it said the crystals lasts for thousands of charges, they turned pink within three days. So out of four days, they are only working for three. The Sunpentown Mini SD-350 on the other hand works 24x7 and uses a low amount of electricity for what it does with the rating of a 60-watt filament light bulb.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
triedandtrue
Weaverville, North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for Small Area
7/21/2009

Customer review by FSNC

4.0 stars 7/21/2009 by FSNC
by FSNC

I'm using it in an alcove within a larger office. It has dropped the humidity by 10 - 15%. The noise is fairly low and I have had no trouble with the 12V transformer. Nice design and it does what it says.

Was this review helpful? (79) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FSNC
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Ok
12/20/2015

Customer review by Obely

5.0 stars 12/20/2015 by Obely
by Obely

Work very good

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Obely
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It works.
12/15/2015

Customer review by FOG48

5.0 stars 12/15/2015 by FOG48
by FOG48

As described, fairly quiet, big water tank, long cord.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FOG48
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great little dehumidifier
12/14/2010

Customer review by hap123

5.0 stars 12/14/2010 by hap123
by hap123

this is a great little dehumidifier. I had one for years in my trailer. Does a great job and is quiet and uses very little power.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hap123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Had to return
5/18/2014

Customer review by Loveokla

1.0 stars 5/18/2014 by Loveokla
by Loveokla
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Ran for 2 wks in a room of about 300 sq ft had less then 1/2 cup in it and humid level in the 60's.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Loveokla
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great
2/24/2010

Customer review by LiveinHawaii

4.0 stars 2/24/2010 by LiveinHawaii
by LiveinHawaii

I bought this product with little faith. I live in Hawaii and the house that I am in has a mold problem due to the moistyre in the air. It says it is ideal for a small room. I have placed it in my hallway upstairs and it amazes me daily how much moisture is pulled out of the air. I have to dump my unit every other day. I am going to buy anotherone for the downstairs.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LiveinHawaii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
disappointment
7/3/2010

Customer review by disappointedinVA

2.0 stars 7/3/2010 by disappointedinVA
by disappointedinVA

I didn't realize it was so small. It advertises it's good in a small room or a closet. Maybe a closet, but not a small room. My bathroom is always very humid, I left the dehumidifier in there overnight (with the door closed) and there was only a tiny bit of water in there. Another room is pretty small but it just didn't work in there at all. What's too bad is that it is so small then you have the much larger ones which cost at least $200. 00 and are heavy and bulky, there is nothing in between. I saw, I tried, I was disappointed, I'll still look up things online from time to time.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
disappointedinVA
Charlottesville, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Good for the proper application
10/11/2009

Customer review by PlanMan

4.0 stars 10/11/2009 by PlanMan
by PlanMan

I'm using this in my small (8x10) workshop which is outdoors separate from the house and requires reducing humidity due to tools and bicycles stored out there. It puts out some heat so that needs to be considered (for a living space) but otherwise there is always water to discard and the humidity level is lower.

Was this review helpful? (27) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PlanMan
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Worths it value
6/13/2010

Customer review by Wolfpriest

4.0 stars 6/13/2010 by Wolfpriest
by Wolfpriest

For the price is a terrific item. I have been using this item, with no problems, for up to 8 continual hours, when I decide to turn it off, y collect a lot of humidity. probably about a cup every 8 hours, it is worth the money

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wolfpriest
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great
7/2/2015

Customer review by Jbeezy

5.0 stars 7/2/2015 by Jbeezy
by Jbeezy

It pulls alot of moisture out...ill need to get another one or a big one and have this in another room but it works well

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jbeezy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 186 total reviews
1-20 of 186 reviews