Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 165 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

165 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

165 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
70
4 stars
66
3 stars
11
2 stars
5
1 stars
13
1-20 of 147 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 147 total reviews
1-20 of 147 reviews
Descent Bed with Storage
6/21/2009

Customer review by 0828dawn

4.0 stars 6/21/2009 by 0828dawn
by 0828dawn

I purchased this for two reasons... 1) because it was black & would match the rest of the furniture --and-- 2) because it had 3 drawers for extra storage (which is great if you have a small room). -->The bed arrived much faster than originally estimated (site to store) & was in about a 6 foot long box that was extremely compact at only about 4" inches in thickness. *DO NOT BUY A BOXSPRING FOR THIS BED...it utilizes what used to be referred to as a "posture board" to hold the mattress. Bascially, this is a piece of particle board that the mattress lays on top of. OVERALL.... I was pleasantly suprised with the bed. It sat VERY low to the floor even with my pillow top twin mattress on top of it (about 25 inches from floor to top of mattress). Finding a quality twin bed to fit my tight spacing proved nearly impossible! And with this bed I was thrilled to have the extra storage (drawers)! The only thing I was a bit disappointed in (as with most furniture products today) is that it was made of mostly particle board, but being extra cautious I reinforced it with pine slats and a piece of plywood. My FUTURE time saving Quick suggestion (past experience with a captains/mate bed: if you have kids that like to "camp" on their bed playing vid games with their buds I'd recommend reinforcing it Under the posture board...in addition to placing a sheet of plywood UNDER the posture board for additional support.

Was this review helpful? (126) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
0828dawn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good product
6/14/2009

Customer review by 24574AZ

5.0 stars 6/14/2009 by 24574AZ
by 24574AZ

I bought this for my two year old son. It seems to be made well and he loves it. It is very attractive and clean looking. The only down sides are the drawers are very tight when you try to open and close them but I expect they will get easier with time. We also could not use the toddler bar we purchased so that he does not fall out of bed because there is a lip around the bed and the bar will not fold down. We have had the bed for about a month and he has not fallen out so it doesn't seem to be a problem.

Was this review helpful? (44) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
24574AZ
AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
South Shore Cosmos Twin Mates Bed, Charcoal and Bl
9/27/2010

Customer review by Babygirlnumba1

5.0 stars 9/27/2010 by Babygirlnumba1
by Babygirlnumba1

This bed is well worth the price. It is made of partical board but it is so compressed you can barely notice the difference from wood. If assembled correctly it is a solid, sleek, modern looking bed. I am still waiting for the matching headboard to arrive and can't wait for that finishing touch! And yes it comes with plastic sliders for the drawers but if you make sure you hammer the plastic attachments completely down flush with the pieces you are attaching them to, you will have no problem with the sliding of the drawers. Also the boards they supply that support the mattress are totally strong enough for even a person my size, 145lbs. I am a 31yr. old single mother of two small boys and I was able to assemble this entire bed in 2hrs. ALL BY MYSELF!!! Easy instructions... Great bed... My son LOVES his new bed!!!

Was this review helpful? (41) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Babygirlnumba1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice Bed Teen Boys love it
3/1/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/1/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I would recommend this bed to anyone with teens...or for anyone actually. My boys have loved them I ordered two they love the fact they have storage for all their computer and ipod stuff right there so when they need it is close. I had read all the reviews and there was concerns about the bottom of the drawers well my boys have put some heavy stuff in them and as of yet have not had any trouble. the drawers pull a little hard at first but they seem to loosen up..what do you expect with plastic runners? For the price it is a wonderful purchase. If you choose to put them together with your children you get a bonus of bonding time...and teaching them all at the same time..we laughed every time we put a piece on wrong....what can I say it was like midnight and it was funny! :) The directions were easy to read the second bed went together in less than 1/2 an hour...the first took a little longer due to the humor issues of letting a 13 year old put his own bed together...spending time with your children...priceless!

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Hershey, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Bed!
1/14/2009

Customer review by hippiechickie67

5.0 stars 1/14/2009 by hippiechickie67
by hippiechickie67

This bed is actually black which is exactly what I was wanting. It looks like dark brown in the online pictures but it is not. It is a great deal for the money and arrived sooner than expected. This was able to be assembled in about 2 hours by one person. This person is very handy. (It would have taken me longer.) Overall I am very satisfied!!

Was this review helpful? (36) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hippiechickie67
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sharp looking product
12/2/2009

Customer review by ScrapMa

5.0 stars 12/2/2009 by ScrapMa
by ScrapMa

I purchased this product for use in a multi-purpose home office/craft area/guest room. Since the desks that I had purchased were black, I had wanted a black twin storage bed but could not at first find it at Wal-Mart. I was very pleased to find it when I checked again sometime later. It looks great! Everyone who has seen it agrees that it is a very nice looking bed. The drawers are plenty big enough to store extra scrapbooking supplies like 12x12 papers, page kits, etc., which is what I wanted them for. The construction was not too difficult at all, everything was well labeled and in good shape. It definately takes two to get it in the house, but I put it together myself without much difficulty. My 6 foot tall son slept on it over the Thanksgiving holiday and he had no complaints. I would definately recommend this product to anyone; it looks very nice and sleeps well.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ScrapMa
Bella Vista, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Piece of Junk
11/20/2010

Customer review by JZShopper1

1.0 stars 11/20/2010 by JZShopper1
by JZShopper1

The review title says it all. I wasn't expecting a lot to begin with based upon the price, but this blew even my low expectations away. Cracked press-board, peeling veneer. The call to the manufacturer South Shore (Rive Sud), in Quebec, was even more infuriating. The call service associate told me she would relay my concerns forward and didn't even ask what product I was complaining about. At least the Wal-Mart return was easy. That is after I had to drag the 120 lb. bed components up and down the two flights of stairs in my home and the packaging disentegrated. Well live and learn, you often get what you pay for. In the end all it cost me was most of a Saturday morning..... and that was too much.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JZShopper1
Suburban Philadephia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
GREAT.....!
7/5/2009

Customer review by MSSUPERWOMAN

5.0 stars 7/5/2009 by MSSUPERWOMAN
by MSSUPERWOMAN

THIS PRODUCT LOOKS JUST LIKE THE PICTURE. IT IS EASY TO ASSEMBLE & STURDY. I LOVE IT! TT'S PERFECT FOR KIDS.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MSSUPERWOMAN
MIAMI, FL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great produt
8/18/2010

Customer review by Memo6

5.0 stars 8/18/2010 by Memo6
by Memo6

easy to assemble and my kids love it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Memo6
Hoschton,GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Beautiful, no-fuss bed.
3/7/2014

Customer review by ButterscotchAlley

5.0 stars 3/7/2014 by ButterscotchAlley
by ButterscotchAlley

With an already-tiny bedroom, my queen-sized bed monopolized most of the space, the mattress was uncomfortable, and the bed-frame was a massive cast-iron and marble monstrosity, and so I was looking for something cheap that would take up the least amount of space, as well as look really nice. This South Shore Cosmos Twin Mates Bed met all of these points for me. I chose the black onyx color, which is gorgeous, though both colors would have went well with anything. Assembling it wasn't too terribly difficult (though you will need another pair of hands for set up)--there was even a handy little touch-up marker just in case I accidentally made any scratches--and the result was a bed that didn't take up unnecessary amounts of space, and even gave me extra space to store things down underneath and out of the way in large drawers. It was the perfect purchase (I even got free shipping)! Overall, a great product for a great price! A very satisfactory bed!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ButterscotchAlley
Three Rivers, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beautiful Twin Bed for a growing child:)
11/15/2011

Customer review by Leela21

4.0 stars 11/15/2011 by Leela21
by Leela21

Me and my husband recently purchased two of these beds for our twin daughters. When we picked up the beds the come in a long, large box, so make sure you have a van or large SUV when picking up the package if you choose to do so. The instructions were easy to follow and the packaging of the parts help when figuring out what goes where. The overall product when complete was two beautiful twin beds. The drawers on the bottom can be tricky to install but when complete offer great storage, since they are rather roomy.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Leela21
Cleveland, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/12/2011

Customer review by WestCoastDave

4.0 stars 9/12/2011 by WestCoastDave
by WestCoastDave

Bought this for my son for college - along with the dresser and desk. Overall pretty happy. Took a while to put together - but not too long. Used some glue also. Pretty idiot proof - since the directions were jsut ok...but not bad. Nice to have the extra storage space. The drawers are solid - but the bottom is a fiberboard - so I wouldn't over stuff them. Handles are metal.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WestCoastDave
alabamaa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
DO NOT BUY
2/24/2014

Customer review by cmml1987

1.0 stars 2/24/2014 by cmml1987
by cmml1987

First of all...... I can't even give a review on the quality of this bed put together because I am not able to do that yet! I opened the box today thinking I was going to have my son in his new bed tonight.... but the quality of the parts is "bottom of the barrel" in my opinion. We have all seen the screws on quality furniture pieces that screw in to certain boards and then lock into metal washers on another board.... these people have apparently found a "better" CHEAPER way to do this.... these pieces are now supposed to be pushed into a predrilled hole and little "fins" catch the sides and keep them from coming back out. WRONG! The holes are drilled too big so they freely slide in and out. Thank god for construction adhesive! It is sad that I had to resort to this... but a little adhesive in each hole.... overnight to harden.... and im sure the rest will go together without a hitch. That being said.... spend the extra money and get something that will go together RIGHT with the materials provided. Nobody should have to "redneck it" to assemble a prefabricated piece of furniture. ENOUGH SAID

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cmml1987
Whitehouse, tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome
12/4/2012

Customer review by Oreo1128

5.0 stars 12/4/2012 by Oreo1128
by Oreo1128

I was a bit hesitant to order this bed because it looks brown in the picture and I wanted black but after opening the package I was extremely relieved to see that the bed actually is black. I'm not sure why they make it look brown in the picture. It took me and my mom about 3 hours to put both the bed and the matching headboard together but MAN it looks sharp. It's sturdy and modern looking. I love it!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Oreo1128
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/5/2010

Customer review by Wondrwmn

5.0 stars 7/5/2010 by Wondrwmn
by Wondrwmn

After much searching and comparing I settled on this bed and I am totally pleased. Nice, solid piece of furniture and for me was fun to assemble. Would recommend to anyone. The picture makes it look brown but its actually black. I bought several items from this South Shore line to redecorate my 10 year old's very small bedroom and am pleased with them all.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wondrwmn
Staten Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for younger child
7/28/2011

Customer review by LALovely

4.0 stars 7/28/2011 by LALovely
by LALovely

I was glad when I received this and it did turn out to be black, which is what I wanted. The picture looks dark brown to me. My husband put it together without too much difficulty, just a little time consuming. The mattress we have (twin) appears to be too small for the bed and there is a small gap that runs all the way around it. The drawers are great! Lots of space! I am a little concerned about stability. It's for our 11 yo son, who hasn't come home from the summer away. My husband layed on it for a minute (he's 6' 200 lbs) and said it seemed sturdy to him, but I wasn't going to do it myself (I'm currently pregnant and was just afraid I was going to break it, lol). Overall though, it looks great and I am pleased with it. I think my son will be too.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LALovely
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great but one problem
12/29/2012

Customer review by AmericnDad

4.0 stars 12/29/2012 by AmericnDad
by AmericnDad

Everything is perfect with the bed except one thing- the boards that hold the mattress are flimsy and unstable. I had to secure them to the bed using some brackets I bought from the hardware store. If you don't secure the boards in some way, they will lift on the ends when you sit on the mattress. Minor gripe and minor fix but still should be fixed by the manufacturer. 4/5 stars due to this one thing.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AmericnDad
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Adequate, but not very sturdy bed
7/19/2010

Customer review by mulchqueen

3.0 stars 7/19/2010 by mulchqueen
by mulchqueen

The bed arrived on time, but the plywood bottom had a crack in it. I went to a home supply store and had a thicker piece of plywood cut to fit the bed. The bed looks nice, but beware that the drawer bottoms are actually made of cardboard and sagged horribly once clothes were put in. I will replace them with some stronger, thin wood when I get a chance. Overall, the bed is attractive and can be dressed up to look nice. If it's to be used though, it needs extra support and sturdier drawer bottoms.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mulchqueen
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice bed
1/25/2014

Customer review by LoveToShop2255

3.0 stars 1/25/2014 by LoveToShop2255
by LoveToShop2255

It's a nice bed for the price. Pretty easy to put together just takes a bit of time. The color is way darker than the picture (almost black) and the bed frame is a little too big for a twin mattress. Be carefull when assimbling---the wood scratches easily.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveToShop2255
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
poor quality
8/7/2010

Customer review by dinz

1.0 stars 8/7/2010 by dinz
by dinz

The beds are a fake wood grain of black and gray. I bought 2 beds. One bed was never received because it was broken during delivery. The second bed also had broken parts. The bed is made of particle board. It did not seem that the bed would withstand much weight.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dinz
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
1-20 of 147 total reviews
1-20 of 147 reviews