Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.9out of 5 stars
3.9 out of 5 | 26 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
Sort by: 
1-20 of 24 reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews
Powerful and dependable!
8/2/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I use this to run power tools and yard tools. I needed mobility, but battery operated hedge trimmers, saws and so forth were quite expensive, lacked the power of corded tools and had limited battery life at best. I bought a good car battery and a battery minder charger. I have a garden wagon that I keep the battery in along with this inverter. When I need to do some trimming, cutting, whatever, I put the appropriate tool(s) in the wagon, unplug the battery from the charger, and pull the wagon to where the work needs to be done. Instant portable power station. I can trim, use my sawsall, even shop vac or impact wrench for extended periods of time with this setup. So far the inverter had supplied all the power I have required of it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
11/19/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I researched this inverter through reviews and thought I understood what I was buying,I just bought this inverter and a 700 watt microwave thinking this was plenty of power to run it! I installed according to the directions,48" of 4ga. wire,8ga. chasis ground and an ANL-250 fuse close to the battery. When I turn on the microwave the inverter starts beeping and the microwave just makes a humming noise. If I start the vehicle the microwave will run but my alternater on my vehicle is making a loud whining noise. I called tech support and they told me that it will not work unless the vehicle is running. He said it is drawing 86 amps fom my battery but it will not hurt anything. The voltage meter says it is only putting out 93 volts.I suggest your purchase this at your own risk. It will run a drill or grinder just fine. I was a little dissapointed after spending over $200 for everything to find out it will not do what I want it to do without burning up my alternater,like they say a fool and his money are soon parted!!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (47)No (21)
Report
Was this review helpful?
NOT FOR A MICROWAVE even though it says it is
3/10/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this to power a 700 watt output (1200 at the plug) small sunbeam microwave in my work van, it says on the box AND cobras website that this is possible. Guess what, set it all up microwave basically will just buzz and do nothing. Tried 2 diff micros- no good. After more research i learned that a microwave needs a Pure Sine Wave AC current to operate its inductive motor. This cobra is a modified sine wave. I sent this back to walmart, bought a "pure sine" from lowes, microwave now works great. The pure sine i bought it actually less watts too (1200 for 20 minutes, 1000 continuous, 2000 peak ) I was powering both with a 4ft 4gage set of wires. If your not powering a microwave this seems to be an otherweis great inverter, has a nice digital readout and easy install.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (52)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
off the grid technology
1/13/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
LOve it. I was looking for something to power my fridge. It works great with my solar panels. I am still looking for more "off the grid" things. So, I look at wal mart more.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (36)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
good price and a fairly good product.
4/29/2016
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
Will not run a 800 watt microwave, but works great on smaller items. Love the voltage readout, helps when monitoring the batteries. Had hooked to rv, with 3-foot long, 4-gauge wires, on two deep cycle batteries. May work great when on a running vehicle with an alternater.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Bargain
5/22/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I found the exact same item in a truck stop for $50 more than I paid. This has all the power I need. I run a refridgerator, microwave, TV, & sometimes a coffee pot from it. the safety features are great and performance is excelent. I HIGHLY recommend this inverter.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (53)No (26)
Report
Was this review helpful?
very impressed
1/11/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had shopped all over the internet comparing prices and specifications. The Corba inverter had more power and features for the buck. One other thing that helped with my choice was the "Cobra" brand name. I am very satisfied, you might even say impressed. I am using it for back up power for my wood pellet burning stove. It runs it with no problems.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (28)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best inverter ever!
3/16/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We have purchased other brands that were no match to the Cobra. The last inverter lasted over 5 yrs with heavy use in a semi truck. I highly recommend a Cobra hands down. Also the Walmart online is over $69 less than the direct site & got the express shipping & it was still less than the direct site with regular shipping. Walmart & Cobra Inverters ROCK!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
inverter review
4/29/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
great product, with the best safety features
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
this unit does what i needed to do.
6/23/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I wanted my coffee maker and tv in the morning not having to run the generator.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Junk
5/10/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This inverter would not power a 900 watt single cup coffee maker or even power up a 250 Watt Amplifier unit all the way. Worked fine for lighting only. Also never would show any draw reading when used. A 30 year old 300 watt Radio Shack inverter operates the same stated Amplifer just fine. Unit Returned to Store!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
EXCELLENT PRODUCT
7/2/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this product for a friend and he said it was excellent, the price was great and he recommend this product highly.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Only used through hurricane Mathew
10/11/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I've used it to charge cell phones through the storm. It will not power a refrigerator though! I will be testing on other power tools and appliances soon
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
good broduct
6/22/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I think it was cheap to no include a four foot line cable with the unit or to tell me it would not bre shipped with it. this is the first time I have purchased anything that was incomplete. Was not happy to run to the store to get wires and clamps. Dont think it will meet the 1500 w more like 1000w. However it ran the grinder i wanted it to run but not like hooking it to 110v. I am happy with the unit. took a lot of work and cut my time to do the task i wanted it to.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
works so far
9/25/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Put this in my work truck. as of yet no problems. only plan on using my television/ps3 possibly a microwave later on.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Y
2/28/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Great inverter
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Unit fit PERFECT with my Solar Start-Up System
10/3/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have owned this very same Inverter since the fall of 2012, and still have it in use. When I began creating my solar system, I wanted something that could be used to power the Product Listed items (i.e... TV, Lights, etc..). Also, I needed something that could handle the power requirements of basic medical equipment that I use ~ Nebulizer Machine for breathing treatments, etc... I like that this item turns itself off when it reads that my deep cycle batteries are getting low, so as to prevent causing them any damage by draining them dry. After having 1st hand experience in using this inverter since the fall of 2012 in my solar system, I can HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT! Follow the recommended setup provided by Cobra and you will have a nice unit that last.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
difficult to use
7/26/2009
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
my purpose for this product was to use my sons xbox 360 in my car through my battery (to power it ) but it doesn't come with a cigarette charger, only with battery clamps. i would have to run it through my battery for my son to be able to play while i drive. so it might have been my ignorance. had one professionally installed in my suv, this one had to go back.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (62)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent value
9/28/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is an excellent value and my head is still spinning for how fast it came to us.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for your semi needs
6/17/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Good price and it works well. A good friend has had one for a long time.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643943, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-