Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 16 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

16 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

16 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-14 of 14 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

off the grid technology
1/13/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/13/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

LOve it. I was looking for something to power my fridge. It works great with my solar panels. I am still looking for more "off the grid" things. So, I look at wal mart more.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Weaverville, N.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Bargain
5/22/2012

Customer review by Irram

5.0 stars 5/22/2012 by Irram
by Irram

I found the exact same item in a truck stop for $50 more than I paid. This has all the power I need. I run a refridgerator, microwave, TV, & sometimes a coffee pot from it. the safety features are great and performance is excelent. I HIGHLY recommend this inverter.

Was this review helpful? (37) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Irram
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very impressed
1/11/2010

Customer review by votech

5.0 stars 1/11/2010 by votech
by votech

I had shopped all over the internet comparing prices and specifications. The Corba inverter had more power and features for the buck. One other thing that helped with my choice was the "Cobra" brand name. I am very satisfied, you might even say impressed. I am using it for back up power for my wood pellet burning stove. It runs it with no problems.

Was this review helpful? (24) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
votech
North Garden, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
NOT FOR A MICROWAVE even though it says it is
3/10/2013

Customer review by Pete359

2.0 stars 3/10/2013 by Pete359
by Pete359

I bought this to power a 700 watt output (1200 at the plug) small sunbeam microwave in my work van, it says on the box AND cobras website that this is possible. Guess what, set it all up microwave basically will just buzz and do nothing. Tried 2 diff micros- no good. After more research i learned that a microwave needs a Pure Sine Wave AC current to operate its inductive motor. This cobra is a modified sine wave. I sent this back to walmart, bought a "pure sine" from lowes, microwave now works great. The pure sine i bought it actually less watts too (1200 for 20 minutes, 1000 continuous, 2000 peak ) I was powering both with a 4ft 4gage set of wires. If your not powering a microwave this seems to be an otherweis great inverter, has a nice digital readout and easy install.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pete359
lancaster, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/19/2012

Customer review by kado37

3.0 stars 11/19/2012 by kado37
by kado37

I researched this inverter through reviews and thought I understood what I was buying,I just bought this inverter and a 700 watt microwave thinking this was plenty of power to run it! I installed according to the directions,48" of 4ga. wire,8ga. chasis ground and an ANL-250 fuse close to the battery. When I turn on the microwave the inverter starts beeping and the microwave just makes a humming noise. If I start the vehicle the microwave will run but my alternater on my vehicle is making a loud whining noise. I called tech support and they told me that it will not work unless the vehicle is running. He said it is drawing 86 amps fom my battery but it will not hurt anything. The voltage meter says it is only putting out 93 volts.I suggest your purchase this at your own risk. It will run a drill or grinder just fine. I was a little dissapointed after spending over $200 for everything to find out it will not do what I want it to do without burning up my alternater,like they say a fool and his money are soon parted!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (19) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kado37
Brodnax,Va. 23920
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
inverter review
4/29/2009

Customer review by r22man

5.0 stars 4/29/2009 by r22man
by r22man

great product, with the best safety features

Was this review helpful? (13) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
r22man
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
EXCELLENT PRODUCT
7/2/2009

Customer review by TRAVELINGMSPAT

5.0 stars 7/2/2009 by TRAVELINGMSPAT
by TRAVELINGMSPAT

I purchased this product for a friend and he said it was excellent, the price was great and he recommend this product highly.

Was this review helpful? (12) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TRAVELINGMSPAT
Sauk Village, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Junk
5/10/2012

Customer review by Mrsolar

1.0 stars 5/10/2012 by Mrsolar
by Mrsolar

This inverter would not power a 900 watt single cup coffee maker or even power up a 250 Watt Amplifier unit all the way. Worked fine for lighting only. Also never would show any draw reading when used. A 30 year old 300 watt Radio Shack inverter operates the same stated Amplifer just fine. Unit Returned to Store!

Was this review helpful? (12) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mrsolar
NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
this unit does what i needed to do.
6/23/2014

Customer review by amindser

4.0 stars 6/23/2014 by amindser
by amindser

I wanted my coffee maker and tv in the morning not having to run the generator.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
amindser
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best inverter ever!
3/16/2013

Customer review by Carolan12

5.0 stars 3/16/2013 by Carolan12
by Carolan12

We have purchased other brands that were no match to the Cobra. The last inverter lasted over 5 yrs with heavy use in a semi truck. I highly recommend a Cobra hands down. Also the Walmart online is over $69 less than the direct site & got the express shipping & it was still less than the direct site with regular shipping. Walmart & Cobra Inverters ROCK!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Carolan12
Salina, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good broduct
6/22/2014

Customer review by Happydoodlebug

3.0 stars 6/22/2014 by Happydoodlebug
by Happydoodlebug

I think it was cheap to no include a four foot line cable with the unit or to tell me it would not bre shipped with it. this is the first time I have purchased anything that was incomplete. Was not happy to run to the store to get wires and clamps. Dont think it will meet the 1500 w more like 1000w. However it ran the grinder i wanted it to run but not like hooking it to 110v. I am happy with the unit. took a lot of work and cut my time to do the task i wanted it to.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Happydoodlebug
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
difficult to use
7/26/2009

Customer review by tad69

2.0 stars 7/26/2009 by tad69
by tad69

my purpose for this product was to use my sons xbox 360 in my car through my battery (to power it ) but it doesn't come with a cigarette charger, only with battery clamps. i would have to run it through my battery for my son to be able to play while i drive. so it might have been my ignorance. had one professionally installed in my suv, this one had to go back.

Was this review helpful? (16) (59)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tad69
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Unit fit PERFECT with my Solar Start-Up System
10/4/2014

Customer review by HuckleBilly

5.0 stars 10/4/2014 by HuckleBilly
by HuckleBilly

I have owned this very same Inverter since the fall of 2012, and still have it in use. When I began creating my solar system, I wanted something that could be used to power the Product Listed items (i.e... TV, Lights, etc..). Also, I needed something that could handle the power requirements of basic medical equipment that I use ~ Nebulizer Machine for breathing treatments, etc... I like that this item turns itself off when it reads that my deep cycle batteries are getting low, so as to prevent causing them any damage by draining them dry. After having 1st hand experience in using this inverter since the fall of 2012 in my solar system, I can HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT! Follow the recommended setup provided by Cobra and you will have a nice unit that last.

HuckleBilly
Tyler County, WV, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
works so far
9/25/2014

Customer review by jjfunk

3.0 stars 9/25/2014 by jjfunk
by jjfunk

Put this in my work truck. as of yet no problems. only plan on using my television/ps3 possibly a microwave later on.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jjfunk
okla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.