Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 443 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

443 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

443 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
275
4 stars
122
3 stars
19
2 stars
11
1 stars
16
1-20 of 354 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 354 total reviews
1-20 of 354 reviews
Best gate for wide openings
7/29/2010

Customer review by LovingLifeWithK

5.0 stars 7/29/2010 by LovingLifeWithK
by LovingLifeWithK

We first purchased a metal gate that was pressure mounted with a gate and almost 3 times the price of this gate. When we installed it in order to get it tight enough that my daughter could not shake it the door would not open, when we had it so the door would open it was not tight enough. This product was less expensive, easier to install, and I find it easy to step over. It is in a 48 inch opening. It took me all of 3 minutes to set it up after reading the instructions and I bet it will take even less time the next time I install it.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LovingLifeWithK
Salisbury, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love It!
1/24/2010

Customer review by kejury

5.0 stars 1/24/2010 by kejury
by kejury

This is perfect for keeping three of my 18 months-24 months old grandchildren out of my computer room (they love turning my computer on and off!) The doorway is 5 feet wide and I didn't expect to be able to find anything for it. This is perfect and sooo easy. I just leave it extended at the length I need it and release the edges so it folds sort of like an accordion, then just store it in some out of the way corner til I need it and then it's already the right width. Piece of cake...love it!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kejury
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Great for kids, bad for pets
12/31/2008

Customer review by BethFromMissouri

3.0 stars 12/31/2008 by BethFromMissouri
by BethFromMissouri

This product was easy to set up and great for keeping my son out of the kitchen. We have a fairly wide space to block off (48") and this was the best gate for the price. If we just needed it to corral our son it would have been perfect. I gave it 3 stars because it's not great for pets. When they jump up on it, the mesh material snags very easily and my dog was able to pop several holes in it and come right through. I would highly recommend it for keeping toddlers at bay. For pets, I'd opt for a metal or wood gate. Also, I tried to get a replacement pad and Evenflo was not the easiest company to work with. I'm just buying a new gate.

Was this review helpful? (43) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BethFromMissouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
If you are looking to get a wide area gate and don
3/16/2010

Customer review by k22k14

5.0 stars 3/16/2010 by k22k14
by k22k14

I am a very big review shopper...... I value the word of the customer over what a company has to say anyday..... So in return I voice my 100% honest opinion on the products that I buy. I bought this product with the hopes that it would keep my very active 2 year old in her room. She has double doors that go to her room and I was worried that I was not going to find something that worked and didn't cost an arm and a leg. I will admit that when I brought this product home I was a little worried about how long it was going to take to put this gate up. Once I read the dirrects (I recomend doing this..... some useful information that will save you time) I was able to get the gate installed. It is very easy to do so once you do it the first time..... It works very much like a pack-&-play so if you can put up and take down a pack-&-play you will be just fine.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
k22k14
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome baby gate!
9/30/2012

Customer review by KayBabe24

5.0 stars 9/30/2012 by KayBabe24
by KayBabe24

We purchased this gate to keep our baby from getting to stairs and it's working perfectly for us. Our needs were pretty specific and we found exactly what we needed. We needed a gate that would adjust to different widths on the top and bottom to accommodate for some moulding at the bottom of our banister, we needed something that would stretch to fit exactly a 50.5" opening, and it had to be pressure mounted (we can't put screws in the banister). Many other wide gates we looked at adjusted in 6, 8, or 12 inch increments and would never work for us, but this one adjusts in small increments (it's hard to tell exactly but it appears to be less than an inch at a time). It was very easy to set up and we had it installed in less than 5 minutes. It is also low enough to walk over without any problems (28") but easy to take down if needed. My 9 month old has tested its strength many times by trying to push and climb it and I'm happy to say that it's still holding strong. A great buy!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KayBabe24
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Disappointing Gate
5/12/2009

Customer review by portorangemom

2.0 stars 5/12/2009 by portorangemom
by portorangemom

We have a 39" opening where we wanted to install the gate. According the directions, this was possible, but when we adjusted it to that length, the fabric netting of the gate had to be very bunched up. It still seemed taut, but it was overlapped a lot in most places. This was supposed to be easy to set up and remove. The directions say to just pull back on the spring-loaded tube to put it in place. I couldn't get the spring-loaded tube to budge at ALL, and my husband really struggled to get it to move a little. This might be because we had it set up for one of its smallest settings, but it was definitely impossible for me to do. This was something we purchased to have up during nap times and at night, but to take down during the rest of the day. Obviously it was going to be a huge pain to take down that often, if it were even possible at all! We took it back to get one with a gate that we could leave up.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
portorangemom
Port Orange, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
very helpful product
8/19/2007

Customer review by kayla1

4.0 stars 8/19/2007 by kayla1
by kayla1

i got this gate about 2 months ago and it works great, my son is 1 year old and likes to go to the kitchen and this is perfect size for big areas. also you can remove the side bars and adjusted at whatever high that you like. good product and great price.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kayla1
tulsa, ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
awful product!
2/18/2012

Customer review by mynicknameismyown

1.0 stars 2/18/2012 by mynicknameismyown
by mynicknameismyown

I cant imagine how this gate would be a useful item to use. You'd have to set it up every time you pass by, and that is no easy feat! My husband and I had a TIME trying to figure out how to get it up the first time. You have to measure each end against a part of the wall where you can extend the sides a half inch, then put it up using the tension, then screw the knob so it gets tight. OK great but there is no locking mechanism or way to keep one end from moving while you are doing this on the other side (id, like if you have baseboards they are different widths). Its just a fiasco and extremely frustrating. Its a bit too high to step over in a heavy traffic hallway and just forget about taking it down because you have to do all the steps all over again because there is no way to keep it set on a certain width. This is a very poorly designed product. We returned it the next day, still looking for an appropriate wide gate that doesnt cost a fortune....

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mynicknameismyown
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Perfect
9/3/2007

Customer review by TXGram

5.0 stars 9/3/2007 by TXGram
by TXGram

This baby gate was purchased to corral our grandchild. She learned to walk before she learned the meaning of the word NO. Our doorway separating the den from the foyer and livingroom is extra wide. It is a snug fit and does absolutely no damage to our doorframe. It is quickly removed by an adult when our precious one is not around. Perfect fit and economical price. We are ready when she comes to visit Grammy and PawPaw.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TXGram
Kingwood, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product, set up a bit confusing
1/16/2010

Customer review by stacey1021

4.0 stars 1/16/2010 by stacey1021
by stacey1021

First I have to say that I love Walmart shipping! My gates weren't even supposed to be here until the 19th but here it is the 16th and they are here. This seems to be the norm when I order something from Walmart. Now onto the product. I set these up immediately and so far I love them. They aren't too bad of an eyesore like an all plastic gate usually is. My daughter is only 8 months and not standing yet so I really can't tell how it holds up to a toddler hanging on it but it seems pretty sturdy. It really all depends on how tight YOU make it too. The only real complaint I have is the the instructions make it more complicated to set up than it really has to be. It took about 15 minutes for me to set up the first one following the instructions, but then I set up the 2nd very easily without so many unnecessary steps. After spending days trying to decide what type of gate I should get because of our large entries, I am very happy with these!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stacey1021
Gettysburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Did the trick!
3/31/2009

Customer review by ARtwinsmom

5.0 stars 3/31/2009 by ARtwinsmom
by ARtwinsmom

I have twins that will be turning one year old soon, and one of them is walking. The other is on the verge. They are extremely mobile now, and our living room connects to several other areas of the house, without traditional doorways. We needed a gate between the LR and the breakfast nook, but the space is larger than most standard gates will accommodate. My husband and I refuse to drill holes into the wall, and so this gate was perfect. It extends plenty wide enough to fit our 52in opening, and it is a tension mount, so we don't have to worry about hardware. It was pretty easy to install (read the directions) and is very sturdy. Several reviews say that its not good for pets because of the mesh center piece. We have a 25# beagle/heeler mix that is 3 1/2 years old and she has never tried to scratch at it, stand up to it, or otherwise permeate the gate. She just finds another way to get where she wants to go. If your pet/s are well trained, you should be fine with this gate. We've had it up for a little over a week now, and it is working GREAT!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ARtwinsmom
Springdale, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/29/2010

Customer review by ThreeMonstersMama

5.0 stars 10/29/2010 by ThreeMonstersMama
by ThreeMonstersMama

I love this gate because it blocks off wide doorways. I used one to block off my kitchen (those safety latches for the cabinets were driving me crazy). I liked it so much I purchased a second for our newest addition. My two older boys have small toys, so we decided it would be a good idea to block off the toy room too. It is essentially two tension rods with netting. I like it because it does no permanent damage to the walls, unlike other gates that need to be screwed in. It is sturdy. My boys launch themselves over it without it falling off the wall, but it keeps the baby out. I also like the color since messy fingers tend to touch the top. Any fingerprints wipe off easily. It services its purpose well.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThreeMonstersMama
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Bought two of these
11/6/2008

Customer review by momofwilliam

5.0 stars 11/6/2008 by momofwilliam
by momofwilliam

This is a fantastic product- I bought two. They blend in with your decor, fit in wider spaces, baby can see through the gate, and the top and bottom "rails" can adjust to different widths. This was great, because I place one between a staircase railing and wall with molding, so it was very uneven. No problem. I can't tell you how wonderful this product is, and WalMart had the cheapest price by far, evencompared to eBay.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momofwilliam
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love this gate!
6/29/2010

Customer review by BremertonMomof3

5.0 stars 6/29/2010 by BremertonMomof3
by BremertonMomof3

This gate is sturdy and well made. Its a little tricky the first time putting it up, but once you know how to do it, its pretty easy after that. I have it in our entry way, so its stationary for now. Our entry way is 58" and it easily and securely spring mounts with extra width to spare to accomodate wider doorways. Once its in place, it doesn't wiggle at all. Its very sturdy, even when my daughter tries to hang on it. Another bonus is the spring mount feature, and not having to use screws in our walls! Even without screws, it is so secure! I love the see through mesh and the fact that it doesn't have anything on the sides that my daughter can use to climb up it. Another well made Evenflo baby product. It even comes with a nice travel bag, so you can bring it to hotel rooms, family homes, etc. We will be using it for travel this summer to corrale our daughter in our hotel room! I am very happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BremertonMomof3
Bremerton, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great until.....
2/3/2011

Customer review by reviewer223

1.0 stars 2/3/2011 by reviewer223
by reviewer223

Product was recieved quickly, went up easily and seemed great, until the locking mechanism on the bottom rail broke without any contact. i bought two of these and they both lasted a few months, but both of them broke in the exact same way.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
reviewer223
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easy to use safety gate
1/9/2009

Customer review by BelleofSyene

5.0 stars 1/9/2009 by BelleofSyene
by BelleofSyene

We purchased this safety gate to fit a stairway with a wall on one side and a newel post on the other after reading another review discussing the same kind of physical setting. It worked very well, kept our grandson from climbing the stairs, was easy to lift and put back into place, and seems to be of sturdy construction. We were pleased with the price and the free shipping to the store. The only reason I gave it a good for durability is because we have only used it for a few days and won't use it again for quite a while.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BelleofSyene
Chippewa Falls, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Just OK, will buy a new one
12/19/2009

Customer review by 07Mommy

3.0 stars 12/19/2009 by 07Mommy
by 07Mommy

We purchased this gate for a wider hallway opening. We live in an apartment, so I liked the fact that we didn't have to damage the walls by installing this gate. Unfortunately, this gate is so hard to get into place. You are supposed to twist the handles on the side to make it move, and they are very difficult to budge. In fact, I cannot move this gate at all, and have to wait for my husband to get home from work if I need it taken down to get the vacuum in the living room. The rubber stoppers fall off all the time, so the gate slides right off the wall. It's also a pain in the butt to step over all the time. We are having another child in April, so we are going to buy a new gate that you can walk through. I am almost 6 months pregnant and can barely get over this thing. The POSITIVE side to this gate...it is very durable. My 2 year old likes to try to climb it, and my 4 year old nephew has kicked it and pushed it and it stays in place and doesn't break. If you don't mind walking over this gate every five seconds and twisting the top until your hands are sore, than it will work fine for you.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
07Mommy
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Versitile Gate
2/1/2011

Customer review by HokieMommie

5.0 stars 2/1/2011 by HokieMommie
by HokieMommie

This is the perfect gate for my family!!! We used this in our Kitchen entryway that is 55.5 inches. This fits great and is very durable. My daughter pulls on it and my cats jump over it just fine. It can be tricky to put up but that's no big deal. Directions are easy to follow. Perfect gate for odd openings.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HokieMommie
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exactly what I was looking for
11/5/2010

Customer review by MomOf2Bubbas

5.0 stars 11/5/2010 by MomOf2Bubbas
by MomOf2Bubbas

This is a great gate. I needed something for an awkward opening at the bottom of our stairs. My 4 1/2 year old can get over it to get up and down the stairs but my 11 month old can't get around it -- no matter how hard he tries to pull it down :) Great product and very easy to install.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomOf2Bubbas
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Until it Breaks
11/6/2010

Customer review by CrazyShopperMom

1.0 stars 11/6/2010 by CrazyShopperMom
by CrazyShopperMom

I purchased this gate less than three months ago. It was great in my extrawide door opening until I broke. The peg that holds the pressure mount on the top completely broke and now the entire gate is useless as it cannot be replaced. This happened after only taking the gate down for the second time. I loved it for the 2 1/2 months before it broke, but I was expecting to be able to get more use out of it before it breaks. Don't get this gate if you need it for more than a few days.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CrazyShopperMom
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 354 total reviews
1-20 of 354 reviews