Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.3out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 | 95 reviews
5 stars
53
4 stars
30
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 stars
2
Sort by: 
1-20 of 78 reviews
1-20 of 78 reviews
Terrific Product
7/10/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I did not mind the windshield mount, but hated leaving it in my car to annouce "GPS was here!" This vent mount is more discrete and closer to driver for viewing/adjusting. Unit mounted to vent easily and solidly, sturdy as a rock. Keeps GPS unit out of sun and cool. Great design....
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
very good product
6/5/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is an excellent product. Much better than having the Nuvi stuck to your windshield where it blocks your view. This is in the vent....convient and out of the way and you can see the full view of the road.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (36)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Garmin Accessory
5/28/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This item is quite helpful primarily because I do not like to leave the GPS unit in plain site when we leave the vehicle. By using this attachment to the Garmin GPS unit we are able to see the unit easily while driving, and, remove it from site when we park. It fits the a/c air vents on the dash quite well.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Much better then the supplied mount
5/29/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Easily clips on to the air vent without putting weight on it. Easy to assemble. Places GPS unit in a great location. Far superior to the dash or window mount.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
5/28/2009
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
it was a little aggravating to get it clipped because my vents are half mooned shaped i have a f150 truck.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It does the job
11/16/2009
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
An inexpensive answer to an alternate place for mounting the Garmin Nuvi. Much better than mounting on the windshield, and with no flat surface to use the alternate method provided by Garmin, it does the job. The only complaint is that it is not as stable as other methods, but it rides pretty good. For the price its a good value.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Product
10/25/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was looking for a cheap option to hold my GPS other than sticking to the glass or dashboard (cause I am always too cautious of things sliding off the dashboard) This product takes care of worries off the dashboard. Now I have it installed on the air-vent and don't have to worry. Been using it for about a month and would recommend anybody who care to ask. It feels smaller when you hold than the image. The material also looks doubtful. So when I got it, I was not impressed and felt as if yet another product that does not do justice to online shopping. But when I installed and used, I changed my opinion. I am very-very impressed, I may even jinx it ;-) Also great ease at taking out and putting back, as we were advised by our community -- not to leave GPS and even the holders in the car. This gets the job done -- efficiently. Go for it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Product, Great company!
8/30/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I use this is my Chevy Tahoe; it works pretty well in the vent. It is not very solid, but it is connected to the vents so you can imagine it moves a little side to side but I don’t think it would ever fall off. Well taking it an out over the last 15 months I actually broke the clips that hold it down. I called Akron directly and in 2 minutes the guy I spoke to was mailing me out new clips at no cost. It’s great to see excellent customer service like this. I will consider Akron products every time they are applicable to my application needs.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great solution to a blocked view
5/13/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
this product works great in my 2009 scion tc it frees up my windshield from being obscured by the suction cup mount and because its placed over the air conditioning vent you never have to worry about the gps unit over heating. i bought this mount for my garmin nuvi 755T only problem i have with this mount is the arms that hold the unit to the air conditioning slots would be better if they were rubber coated
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good little item - good little price!
11/28/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Not expecting much for an inexpensive item, I was pleasantly surprised when this Vent Mount for my Garmin GPS actually did what it was advertised to do. It's in perfect view and so much better than the suction cup provided by Garmin. When I want to hide my GPS, it is so easy to remove and re-connect as often as necessary and the mount stays "mounted." Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A good alternative to the bean bag
9/24/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I like the ability to have my GPS at the same level as my speedometer. This product allows that by clipping onto the vent. The only drawback is that I don't think it will survive repeated clipping and un-clipping. If you are willing to leave this holder in place, it is a great alternative to the bean-bag style holder.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Product
5/11/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Very easy to install on air vents. Keeps the GPS out of the direct sunlight, and the GPS has cool air blowing on it when running the A/C. That has to be good for the GPS circuits. Also, makes the GPS more accessible for looking up information, and viewing the data.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
6/7/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Item shipped on time with no issues. So far it has worked great and has worked out perfect for the wife. Just make sure that you have vents with the horizontal flaps, because I dont think it will fit anything other kind.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
happy, but----
4/10/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
works excellant on my car, but I have a F150 also and the clips are not long enough to get a secure fit on the air vents of the truck. still works, but have to be a little more careful.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
11/19/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Works wonderfully ! Good Product for it's price...Comes in Handy on the road
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great bargain
8/20/2009
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Almost bought one of those $20-35 beanbags or other fancy devices for my GPS, but I didn't like thte idea of having to move the beanbag from my dash everytime I leave my car. The vent device is not totally secure and it does wiggle around some, but at least I can leave it installed and just remove the GPS for easy hiding. The vent mount isn't very obvious when left hanging in place by itself. And, the GPS doesn't sit in the hot sunlight and it doesn't get any glare on the screen. I like the location in the center of the car and it doesn't get in the way on my Equinox. Hey, can't beat the price for getting the job done.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Does what it claims
11/29/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This vent-mount for Garmin GPS puts my device where I can reach it. Compared to the original windshield-mount which forces one to remove seatbelt and lean wayyy forward just to touch the GPS device. Additionally, I can see my GPS better and it is not in my line-of-sight like when it is stuck to the windshield. At night, this vent-mount places the GPS device in a location where it does not affect my nighttime vision. (because of the GPS brightness) The clips on this product are kind of tricky to grab onto and squeeze to get it mounted on the air-vent. After that, it stays put even over bumpy roads.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
good buy.........
7/11/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Work's great easy to change to other vehicles.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
WORKS 4 ME
3/14/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
Have a 99 Suburban and installed clip in center lower vent and works great. Stable because also rests on cup holder. GPS unit is out of the way and have a clear view thru the windshield while driving. THe GPS is also out of view if looking thru the windshield by passerbys. With the GPS removed from the clip it is out of the way and still get air flow thru air vent. It also makes it easy for both driver and passenger to view GPS. It works for me
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Its an OK product
5/20/2009
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
For all intents and purposes the vent mount works as described. When I first saw the vent mount however, I thought it would install a little more solidly than what it did. It would be nice if there would be a slide lock of some sort to prevent the mount from tipping over sideways when the NUVI gets installed, or when the touchscreen gets pressed near the sides. Other than that a capable product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642876, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-