Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 326 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

326 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

326 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
203
4 stars
75
3 stars
23
2 stars
13
1 stars
12
1-20 of 292 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 292 total reviews
1-20 of 292 reviews
the best
8/12/2009

Customer review by spiffydoodle

5.0 stars 8/12/2009 by spiffydoodle
by spiffydoodle

Our Irish Setter jumps like a deer, when I was getting home from work, I'd find a mess in my bathroom, cat litter everywhere. Since I have had this gate I don't find any more messes and the cat is happy too!! He can also escape from the dogs. I am so happy with this product, Thank you Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (63) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
spiffydoodle
Clackamas Or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very nice product
6/3/2009

Customer review by shoppingtonight

5.0 stars 6/3/2009 by shoppingtonight
by shoppingtonight

I bought this gate to keep my cats out of the kitchen and dining room. I tried everything but they always managed to get over or around it, so I figured they couldn't get over this gate and we would be able to walk thru it, and it worked. My cats can't get through it except one little cat that can fit through the bars but she is the only one, all the rest just sit there and look in. Thank goodness.

Was this review helpful? (39) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shoppingtonight
Harrisburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Small door too large, nice gate
8/20/2009

Customer review by ccdmjd

4.0 stars 8/20/2009 by ccdmjd
by ccdmjd

Excellent quality and price. Two issues: "Small" door is almost 8" wide x 10" tall. Won't work for our original purpose as "small" pet door allows our large sized (35 lbs) dachshund right through. We bought it to keep her on one side with us and to let our 6 lb Yorkie come and go. We need a gate with a small door. I would not want to tangle with the "cat" that this door was sized for when they made the "cat" door. 2nd issue - The unlatch and lifting process requires either a very big hand to reach across the latch to slide the lock, or, two normal hands to open as well as securely close the gate. Unless the locking step is taken when closing the gate, the gate is not secure and can be bumped open by a pet. While it is not a problem, be careful when installling this unit, the door opens ONE WAY so check the swing path before installing. Other than the size of the NOT small "small" door, I like this gate. Easy installation, easy to clean and the gate looks very nice. I may try to rig a header and weld it over the top of the pet door to make the opening LESS than 10 inches tall. If that's a cat door, I do not want to meet that cat!

Was this review helpful? (48) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ccdmjd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
perfect dog gate
9/12/2009

Customer review by SatNam

5.0 stars 9/12/2009 by SatNam
by SatNam

This gate is very durable...enough to withstand both of my dogs! My dogs are 65 lbs. and 40 lbs..they both have jumped up on the gate, but failed to knock it over, and the gate is tall enough so that they can't get over it..I haven't even screwed the braces to the wall yet..I might not have to. This is a great product, and I would recommend it to anyone!!

Was this review helpful? (44) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SatNam
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BUYER BEWARE
1/19/2010

Customer review by mrspeeperz

4.0 stars 1/19/2010 by mrspeeperz
by mrspeeperz

We are owned by a large and powerful mastiff PUPPY. This gate fits OUR needs until he is out of his "training" stages. ONLY because he has been taught NOT to jump up on anyone or anything, for ANY reason. HOWEVER, if he did choose to jump on this gate, it would fall easily. The gate was easy and quick to assemble and arrived quick with site to store option. The BOTTOM portion on the pressure mount is great. The problem is the TOP pressure points. because of the gap in this gate to allow a walk through. u can only put so much pressure to hold it secure before u loose the option to open and close the gate. i added a picture to give u an idea of what i mean. u could make this work if u decided on screw the mounts tighter or looser before and after u needed to walk through each time. but thats ridiculous. in summary, i would recommend this gate to those whose dogs would NOT jump on this gate or who have the patience in tightening the mounts with each use.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrspeeperz
texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Almost perfect
4/21/2010

Customer review by 4catsandadog

4.0 stars 4/21/2010 by 4catsandadog
by 4catsandadog

I'm using this to keep 4 cats out of a section of the house upstairs. The gate isn't very wide, but you can get an extension if needed. It's very expensive for what you get, but tall pet gates are rare. The only issue I had was that even though the bars are narrow enough to keep the cats from getting through, the 2 spaces on either end are much wider and I had to rig it with some additional wood strips. However, the ability to walk through it is fabulous.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4catsandadog
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Disappointed
2/9/2012

Customer review by Harleymood

1.0 stars 2/9/2012 by Harleymood
by Harleymood

Although this could be a decent gate, and the bottom secures nicely, there's no possible way to get a secure fit across the top and still be able to open and close the walk thru door. We've tried everything...even making sure our walls were even. We ordered this gate because we don't want to screw into our walls, yet without screwing the "surprise" cups and screws that were included, it WILL NOT fit securely across the top. I feel the product information was misleading. The walk-thru door is also very narrow, making it difficult to carry much of anything through, and as many people have commented in their reviews, the cat door is way too large, allowing even medium sized dogs to pass through. This defeats it's purpose. I was looking so forward to receiving the gate, unfortunately I will be returning it. There doesn't seem to be many options out there for a pressure mount, extra tall, walk thru gate with a cat door.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Harleymood
Wadsworth, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My Cats Hate it!!!!!, I love it!!!!
12/7/2010

Customer review by Darmy

5.0 stars 12/7/2010 by Darmy
by Darmy

I just received and installed this well made gate door. WOW! I am going to need to order another one for another room. Much easier than keeping a door closed and having no circulation through the house. It installed easily, the cats tried to get past it but no way. It being so tall we will see if they eventually attempt to jump over it. Guess who gets to sleep a bit later tomorrow morning!

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Darmy
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't Waste Your Money
12/14/2009

Customer review by redcard24

1.0 stars 12/14/2009 by redcard24
by redcard24

If you have a dog that weighs more than 25 pounds, this is not the gate for you. I have a 9 month old Boxer that bent this gate like a paper clip. The metal is cheap and not durable and can easily be manipulated by a dog with half a brain.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
redcard24
Would recommend to a friend? No
gate to keep dog and cat separate
4/1/2011

Customer review by columbusshopper82

5.0 stars 4/1/2011 by columbusshopper82
by columbusshopper82

Saw this gate on a website somewhere and picked it due to price and height, i'm 5'10' and it's waist length. It's been working great, turns out my cat, who is 10lbs (maybe more?) can fit through the bars so I don't even open the cat door. The extension would have been good, but as it's all or nothing, it was about 1 inch too wide with the extension, so we screwed the cups in the wall and I feel totally confident with it. Occasionally the dog will put it's paw on it, but as not tried to do anything else (thankfully...and mostly he would be in giant trouble if he did). For someone integrating 2 adult (3 year old) pets who have not been around any opposite cat or dog before, this gate is awesome, the cat feels safe, the dog knows he can't go in the bedroom, which is also good bc he smells like a dog and has long hair. Pros - feels really sturdy -Cat can fit thru the bars without the cat door open -Great height -easy to open the gate to walk through -Good price Cons - the extension is one size, cannot be adjusted (still keeping it in case the next place needs it) but you can unscrew the grips pretty far and it still feels sturdy The picture is me at an odd angle, but you can see with the wrapping paper just how tall it is. And also you can see how the extension would have been nice, but not a big deal in the end. Definitely recommend if you are trying to keep a dog out of a space and if you are integrating new pets!!...if you are trying to keep a cat out, probably just want to close the door :)

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
columbusshopper82
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Construction
4/25/2011

Customer review by Pepperonicat

4.0 stars 4/25/2011 by Pepperonicat
by Pepperonicat

The construction far exceeded anything I expected. I purchased this gate to keep my pet cat out a couple of rooms. It didn't work; she was able to figure out how to fit between the bars (the space between the gate and the fixed section and also where the fence fit against the door jamb). It just wasn't narrow enough. My cat weighs 11 pounds so if you want it for a cat I recommend it for a bigger cat than I have. The description doesn't mention it but the gate comes with an extra 6" section. I did not use it but I did need the 4" extension which I had to order separately. Unless you permanently use the supplied "cups" and attach them to the wall or jamb where you are installing the gate, the tension at the upper part of the fence is insufficient to keep it in place if a dog or person pushes on the fence. The cups are screwed into the wall or jamb and the rubber tipped tension screws are placed into the cups to prevent the gate from shifting. I believe the cups are a must if you are using the fence for dogs or children. Overall a great product but not for small cats.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pepperonicat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
not for a puppy that can jump high
4/29/2009

Customer review by xexl

1.0 stars 4/29/2009 by xexl
by xexl

The cat door, served as a foot step for my dog to jump over the gate. The latch was broken by my dog the second day. I didn't return it because i ended up rigging it myself, by removing the cat door and two bars connecting to the cat door. I had some heavy plexi glass, that i cut to the width of those two middle bars and drilled it to the gate. I liked that the gate was tall and how the door opens. I have this installed at the door to the utility room. I did end up buying a second pet gate from petsmart, and installed it above the metal gate. The walmart gate i have it permanently installed and the plastic sliding pet gate can be easily and quickly place on and off.

Was this review helpful? (10) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xexl
arlington
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
poor customer service
4/20/2009

Customer review by doggotoutanyway

1.0 stars 4/20/2009 by doggotoutanyway
by doggotoutanyway

I had purchased similar products that were shorter and had no installation problems but when I installed these--(I bought 3) I could not get the gate to work.If I screwed it in tight enough to hold the frame in place the door would not open. It's really not rocket science to install these things so I called customer service where I got a voicemail telling me someone would call me back in 24 hours --it's been weeks and I'm still waiting--returned them and got my money back

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
doggotoutanyway
Louisville , KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
5/2/2011

Customer review by pgm590

5.0 stars 5/2/2011 by pgm590
by pgm590

Fits perfectly at end of staircase to keep dog off second floor. I did cut off one of the bars to fit over banister on one side of wall.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pgm590
Pembroke Pines, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great dog gate....if you don't need the kitty door
4/18/2012

Customer review by K9geek

4.0 stars 4/18/2012 by K9geek
by K9geek

Nice sturdy gate. Dogs can't knock it down. Nice construction. Unfortunately, the cat door is too large. I got it so the cat could escape from the dogs if he so desired. A cat can only take so much grooming before its too much. Well......My 85 lb 26" tall German shepherd can squeeze through it...Heard the gate rattling AND there he was. My 2 smaller dogs 45 lbs each can cruise right though without even rattling the gate

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
K9geek
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Perfect
5/1/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/1/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Perfect for my needs and much less expensive than others that are almost exactly the same. Keeps our Great Dane from getting into the kitchen!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Valley Forge, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Carlson Extra Tall Gate
5/8/2011

Customer review by SprocetMokey

5.0 stars 5/8/2011 by SprocetMokey
by SprocetMokey

This product was very easy to install. While it worked okay without the cup holders I did install the top holders to make the door more solid and rigid. Our 5 month old puppy did figure out how to get through the cat door. Once he is full grown I don't think he will be able to do that as he will be too big to fit through. I also used the extension as the gate is mobile and it again was easy to install.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SprocetMokey
Oregon, Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great gate for the price.
2/12/2014

Customer review by scpetowner

5.0 stars 2/12/2014 by scpetowner
by scpetowner

this gate does an excellent job for holding my german Shepard in her room.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scpetowner
S.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent gate
1/25/2012

Customer review by NJFarmergirl

5.0 stars 1/25/2012 by NJFarmergirl
by NJFarmergirl

This gate is easy to install (opted for non-permanent). Tall enough that cat/dog cannot jump over it. The only thing is that the cat I wanted to keep out of the room is slim enough to get thru the gap between slats. Plastic snow-fence type grid prevents that. Normally, this wouldn't be an issue. My family has several of these gates, which is how I knew of them. They work very well. Solid construction.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NJFarmergirl
Hackettstown, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Well worth getting, coming back for another...
3/7/2012

Customer review by CinVa

5.0 stars 3/7/2012 by CinVa
by CinVa

We adopted a very strong mixed breed dog. He's about 60 lbs of all muscle. He was supposedly okay with cats, but in reality he was not happy with my two. I had a baby gate at my bedroom door to keep him penned in at night, but I know he only stayed in there because I was in there, as he jumped the gate with ease one day. I was able to easily install this gate (I did use the mounting cups). The dog is not able to jump it or push it over, and the door is easy enough for my 5 yr old to come and go as she pleases. I am purchasing another today to replace the old swinging baby gate in the stairs. *As an aside, I am working with him daily towards desensitizing to the cats using positive reinforcements, gates are needed for the safety of all involved. *Also, I think the other reviewers complaints about the cat door being too big are ridiculous. The cat door is great.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CinVa
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 292 total reviews
1-20 of 292 reviews