Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 365 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

365 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

365 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
228
4 stars
85
3 stars
26
2 stars
13
1 stars
13
1-20 of 331 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 331 total reviews
1-20 of 331 reviews
BUYER BEWARE
1/19/2010

Customer review by mrspeeperz

4.0 stars 1/19/2010 by mrspeeperz
by mrspeeperz

We are owned by a large and powerful mastiff PUPPY. This gate fits OUR needs until he is out of his "training" stages. ONLY because he has been taught NOT to jump up on anyone or anything, for ANY reason. HOWEVER, if he did choose to jump on this gate, it would fall easily. The gate was easy and quick to assemble and arrived quick with site to store option. The BOTTOM portion on the pressure mount is great. The problem is the TOP pressure points. because of the gap in this gate to allow a walk through. u can only put so much pressure to hold it secure before u loose the option to open and close the gate. i added a picture to give u an idea of what i mean. u could make this work if u decided on screw the mounts tighter or looser before and after u needed to walk through each time. but thats ridiculous. in summary, i would recommend this gate to those whose dogs would NOT jump on this gate or who have the patience in tightening the mounts with each use.

Was this review helpful? (38) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrspeeperz
texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Almost perfect
4/21/2010

Customer review by 4catsandadog

4.0 stars 4/21/2010 by 4catsandadog
by 4catsandadog

I'm using this to keep 4 cats out of a section of the house upstairs. The gate isn't very wide, but you can get an extension if needed. It's very expensive for what you get, but tall pet gates are rare. The only issue I had was that even though the bars are narrow enough to keep the cats from getting through, the 2 spaces on either end are much wider and I had to rig it with some additional wood strips. However, the ability to walk through it is fabulous.

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
4catsandadog
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
gate to keep dog and cat separate
4/1/2011

Customer review by columbusshopper82

5.0 stars 4/1/2011 by columbusshopper82
by columbusshopper82

Saw this gate on a website somewhere and picked it due to price and height, i'm 5'10' and it's waist length. It's been working great, turns out my cat, who is 10lbs (maybe more?) can fit through the bars so I don't even open the cat door. The extension would have been good, but as it's all or nothing, it was about 1 inch too wide with the extension, so we screwed the cups in the wall and I feel totally confident with it. Occasionally the dog will put it's paw on it, but as not tried to do anything else (thankfully...and mostly he would be in giant trouble if he did). For someone integrating 2 adult (3 year old) pets who have not been around any opposite cat or dog before, this gate is awesome, the cat feels safe, the dog knows he can't go in the bedroom, which is also good bc he smells like a dog and has long hair. Pros - feels really sturdy -Cat can fit thru the bars without the cat door open -Great height -easy to open the gate to walk through -Good price Cons - the extension is one size, cannot be adjusted (still keeping it in case the next place needs it) but you can unscrew the grips pretty far and it still feels sturdy The picture is me at an odd angle, but you can see with the wrapping paper just how tall it is. And also you can see how the extension would have been nice, but not a big deal in the end. Definitely recommend if you are trying to keep a dog out of a space and if you are integrating new pets!!...if you are trying to keep a cat out, probably just want to close the door :)

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
columbusshopper82
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Disappointed
2/9/2012

Customer review by Harleymood

1.0 stars 2/9/2012 by Harleymood
by Harleymood

Although this could be a decent gate, and the bottom secures nicely, there's no possible way to get a secure fit across the top and still be able to open and close the walk thru door. We've tried everything...even making sure our walls were even. We ordered this gate because we don't want to screw into our walls, yet without screwing the "surprise" cups and screws that were included, it WILL NOT fit securely across the top. I feel the product information was misleading. The walk-thru door is also very narrow, making it difficult to carry much of anything through, and as many people have commented in their reviews, the cat door is way too large, allowing even medium sized dogs to pass through. This defeats it's purpose. I was looking so forward to receiving the gate, unfortunately I will be returning it. There doesn't seem to be many options out there for a pressure mount, extra tall, walk thru gate with a cat door.

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Harleymood
Wadsworth, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Small door too large, nice gate
8/20/2009

Customer review by ccdmjd

4.0 stars 8/20/2009 by ccdmjd
by ccdmjd

Excellent quality and price. Two issues: "Small" door is almost 8" wide x 10" tall. Won't work for our original purpose as "small" pet door allows our large sized (35 lbs) dachshund right through. We bought it to keep her on one side with us and to let our 6 lb Yorkie come and go. We need a gate with a small door. I would not want to tangle with the "cat" that this door was sized for when they made the "cat" door. 2nd issue - The unlatch and lifting process requires either a very big hand to reach across the latch to slide the lock, or, two normal hands to open as well as securely close the gate. Unless the locking step is taken when closing the gate, the gate is not secure and can be bumped open by a pet. While it is not a problem, be careful when installling this unit, the door opens ONE WAY so check the swing path before installing. Other than the size of the NOT small "small" door, I like this gate. Easy installation, easy to clean and the gate looks very nice. I may try to rig a header and weld it over the top of the pet door to make the opening LESS than 10 inches tall. If that's a cat door, I do not want to meet that cat!

Was this review helpful? (53) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ccdmjd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Good Construction
4/25/2011

Customer review by Pepperonicat

4.0 stars 4/25/2011 by Pepperonicat
by Pepperonicat

The construction far exceeded anything I expected. I purchased this gate to keep my pet cat out a couple of rooms. It didn't work; she was able to figure out how to fit between the bars (the space between the gate and the fixed section and also where the fence fit against the door jamb). It just wasn't narrow enough. My cat weighs 11 pounds so if you want it for a cat I recommend it for a bigger cat than I have. The description doesn't mention it but the gate comes with an extra 6" section. I did not use it but I did need the 4" extension which I had to order separately. Unless you permanently use the supplied "cups" and attach them to the wall or jamb where you are installing the gate, the tension at the upper part of the fence is insufficient to keep it in place if a dog or person pushes on the fence. The cups are screwed into the wall or jamb and the rubber tipped tension screws are placed into the cups to prevent the gate from shifting. I believe the cups are a must if you are using the fence for dogs or children. Overall a great product but not for small cats.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pepperonicat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
the best
8/12/2009

Customer review by spiffydoodle

5.0 stars 8/12/2009 by spiffydoodle
by spiffydoodle

Our Irish Setter jumps like a deer, when I was getting home from work, I'd find a mess in my bathroom, cat litter everywhere. Since I have had this gate I don't find any more messes and the cat is happy too!! He can also escape from the dogs. I am so happy with this product, Thank you Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (69) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
spiffydoodle
Clackamas Or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very nice product
6/3/2009

Customer review by shoppingtonight

5.0 stars 6/3/2009 by shoppingtonight
by shoppingtonight

I bought this gate to keep my cats out of the kitchen and dining room. I tried everything but they always managed to get over or around it, so I figured they couldn't get over this gate and we would be able to walk thru it, and it worked. My cats can't get through it except one little cat that can fit through the bars but she is the only one, all the rest just sit there and look in. Thank goodness.

Was this review helpful? (45) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shoppingtonight
Harrisburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best Doggie/Kitty Door EVER
5/30/2015

Customer review by azbizkid2

5.0 stars 5/30/2015 by azbizkid2
by azbizkid2

This gate with kitty door is purrrrfect! Keeps my doggies out of the side of the house they should not be in when I am gone but lets the kitties easily access their kitty boxes. I was a bit confused at first because I assumed that the long screws ("spindle rods" as they are referred to in the instructions) should screw into the sides. However, they are NOT supposed to screw in. The screws just slip into the holes on each corner and the adjustment wheel is what screws in and out to adjust the tension. Maybe I should have read the instructions before trying to install it! I feared the kitties would not go through the small door. So, I put the gate in place & let them sniff around it a few minutes. Then I shook their treats while on the other side of the gate & they ran through the small door without hesitation. It was easy. I did leave it up a few hours while I was home to make sure they would use it to access their potty box. This is so wonderful that I am ordering another one for the vacation house.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
azbizkid2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Well worth getting, coming back for another...
3/7/2012

Customer review by CinVa

5.0 stars 3/7/2012 by CinVa
by CinVa

We adopted a very strong mixed breed dog. He's about 60 lbs of all muscle. He was supposedly okay with cats, but in reality he was not happy with my two. I had a baby gate at my bedroom door to keep him penned in at night, but I know he only stayed in there because I was in there, as he jumped the gate with ease one day. I was able to easily install this gate (I did use the mounting cups). The dog is not able to jump it or push it over, and the door is easy enough for my 5 yr old to come and go as she pleases. I am purchasing another today to replace the old swinging baby gate in the stairs. *As an aside, I am working with him daily towards desensitizing to the cats using positive reinforcements, gates are needed for the safety of all involved. *Also, I think the other reviewers complaints about the cat door being too big are ridiculous. The cat door is great.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CinVa
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Pet door
7/1/2016

Customer review by Paula

4.0 stars 7/1/2016 by Paula
by Paula
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The gate is fine. The door worked. I bought it to confine kittens and they were able to walk right through the bars.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Paula
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This Pet Gate is Pet GREAT!
5/16/2011

Customer review by JenniferMarie614

5.0 stars 5/16/2011 by JenniferMarie614
by JenniferMarie614

I was moving into a new place and wanted to keep my two boxers from roaming free throughout the new condo. I needed something tall and durable since anyone who knows the boxer breed knows they are jumpers. I also needed something to with stand them jumping up on their hind legs and putting their weight on the gate with their front paws. This gate does both! It fits most all my common "door" spaces and the height is PERFECT. I also love that it has the walk through door so I don't have to constantly take it off and put it back on the wall. This makes my life easier! I don't have a cat so I'm not quite sure how workable the small door at the bottom is. But the dogs don't even notice it and neither do I. Worth the buy and the online price you just can't beat it! Most pet stores sell similar products for over $100 bucks a pot! And I also know this gate has extensions which you can purchase separately if you need to gate off a longer space!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JenniferMarie614
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
perfect dog gate
9/12/2009

Customer review by SatNam

5.0 stars 9/12/2009 by SatNam
by SatNam

This gate is very durable...enough to withstand both of my dogs! My dogs are 65 lbs. and 40 lbs..they both have jumped up on the gate, but failed to knock it over, and the gate is tall enough so that they can't get over it..I haven't even screwed the braces to the wall yet..I might not have to. This is a great product, and I would recommend it to anyone!!

Was this review helpful? (48) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SatNam
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful product
6/16/2016

Customer review by Alicia

5.0 stars 6/16/2016 by Alicia
by Alicia
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The gate works absolutely wonderful for our Bloodhound puppy. He is only 6 months old and already 80 lbs. I love the kitty door. My cats can still go room to room when the gate is closed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Alicia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Found a gate that works!
6/11/2016

Customer review by starlite12185

4.0 stars 6/11/2016 by starlite12185
by starlite12185
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The gate works great! A little hard to open with one hand but definitely does the job when installed correctly! It fit in my doorway perfectly, is pretty sturdy, and will keep my two cats in my bedroom when I can't keep an eye on them!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
starlite12185
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exactly what I wanted
5/29/2016

Customer review by MiTeJo

5.0 stars 5/29/2016 by MiTeJo
by MiTeJo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It is quite tall. We bought it for the top of the stairs. We have a two year old and two cats.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MiTeJo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Should Have Bought It Sooner
12/21/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/21/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Wonderful. I have a bright dog visiting me who sees the room with the carpet in a way that is naughty. This gate is metal except for latch, and 40" tall, which keeps the dog from chewing or jumping it. It has a very nice swinging door to pass thru with a latch that's almost incomprehensible to open unless you know how. The gate even has a kitty door in the middle at bottom, so the cat can come and go; it can be shut closed. Installs pretty easily with four pressure pads that screw out to brace against the sides of the doorway. I had to use one 'cup' for keeping pads from slipping, and a longer screw(provided screw was too short) to insure the gate would not budge once installed. Extra metal panel provided for larger opening door way. This is my second Carlson extra tall gate, and this is by far the cheapest I've found it. HIGHLY recommend this gate for anyone with large dogs they want to keep out of a room, etc. You probably WILL have to drill a hole or two to properly secure it so keep that in mind. I did on both gates.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Pawtucket, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
hight is good. ........
5/23/2016

Customer review by mrbillwej

4.0 stars 5/23/2016 by mrbillwej
by mrbillwej
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The hight is good but the width fell short... I had to screw a piece of wood to the wall to get a tight enough fit for it to lock .

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrbillwej
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My Cats Hate it!!!!!, I love it!!!!
12/7/2010

Customer review by Darmy

5.0 stars 12/7/2010 by Darmy
by Darmy

I just received and installed this well made gate door. WOW! I am going to need to order another one for another room. Much easier than keeping a door closed and having no circulation through the house. It installed easily, the cats tried to get past it but no way. It being so tall we will see if they eventually attempt to jump over it. Guess who gets to sleep a bit later tomorrow morning!

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Darmy
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works great
5/15/2016

Customer review by RickInSanAntonio

5.0 stars 5/15/2016 by RickInSanAntonio
by RickInSanAntonio

Easy to install and works great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RickInSanAntonio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 331 total reviews
1-20 of 331 reviews