Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 646 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

646 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

646 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
454
4 stars
134
3 stars
29
2 stars
18
1 stars
11
1-20 of 579 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 579 total reviews
1-20 of 579 reviews
Perfect gate for kids and animals!
9/28/2009

Customer review by TooBusyToShopAtTheStore

5.0 stars 9/28/2009 by TooBusyToShopAtTheStore
by TooBusyToShopAtTheStore

This gate is the ideal gate for someone with little kids and pets. I keep my dog in the laundry room. The gate makes it easy for me to walk in and out. The dog door makes it easy to let the dog out while still keeping my little ones from getting to the dog food and water bowls! The gate is made well and is very secure when installed with the mounting brackets. I would highly recommend this gate! Just note the dog door is small and would be a tight fit for a medium or large animal. It is the perfect size for my small terrier (around 12 lbs).

Was this review helpful? (96) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TooBusyToShopAtTheStore
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for Large Dogs
8/10/2010

Customer review by cmc0202

5.0 stars 8/10/2010 by cmc0202
by cmc0202

I have 2 weimaraners one who is food obsessed and the other that learned to open the pantry door and raise the lid on the trash can when I left. In an effort to maintain my sanity while cooking and keep the dogs out of trouble, I purchased 2 of these gates for both entrances to my kitchen. I can only say I wish I had done it earlier. They were easy to install, and the dogs have been unable to knock them down or figure out how to open the doors. They open and close the small pet door and of course stick their heads through that small opening, but the gates have held up and been very sturdy. I will say that my gates are on hardwood floors so the dogs are not able to get enough traction to allow them to jump them. If they were on carpet, I definitely would have needed the tall gates. I also priced these gates at other stores and found that Wal-Mart's price was in some cases 50% less. I worried about the aggravation of having to open and close these gates when going into my kitchen. However, I don't usually lock them so I only have to lift the handle to open the door. Pretty painless. Another benefit: when people come over, I can stick the dogs in the kitchen so visitors can actually come in the front door without having the dogs all over them. For that reason my friends love these gates too. :-)

Was this review helpful? (91) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cmc0202
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value
6/3/2009

Customer review by cnig

5.0 stars 6/3/2009 by cnig
by cnig

Pet doors that are extra wide often run in $75 or more, so this one is a great value if you have wide openings like hallways you want to block off. Metal gate seems to be quite durable. Only confusing part was operating the latch - they put a whole page of instructions for the teeny cat door, which was just a spring loaded pin, but didn't mention the top latch at all! (Pull up toward the ceiling to open; push under the brown plastic tab to lock.)

Was this review helpful? (70) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cnig
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great and easy to install
7/5/2009

Customer review by NanaTimesSeven

4.0 stars 7/5/2009 by NanaTimesSeven
by NanaTimesSeven

The idea behind the gate was to keep our granddaughter out of the pet area. It works great at keeping the pets in their area, but it only took the 18 month old granddaughter less than 10 minutes to figure out how to "unlock" the gate. On the plus side, the gate is simple to install and very sturdy. If you need the optional extender to the gate, you'll have to order it from another site. Walmart does not carry the extension.

Was this review helpful? (30) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NanaTimesSeven
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just what we were looking for!
1/24/2011

Customer review by pinkie1837

5.0 stars 1/24/2011 by pinkie1837
by pinkie1837

We live in a big loft & we don't have normal sized door or hallways. I also didn't want to spend my days leaping over a gate. This solved both issues. We used this for an opening 49 inches wide. SO the gate plus the extensions it came with worked perfect (it would go up to 55 inches). We have a beagle puppy, currently 9 pounds. The width of the bars is not too wide, so she can't stick her head through & get stuck or anything. I love, love, love, the gate to walk through. So much nicer than always having to move it, or step over. Highly recommend!! And it was super easy to put up!

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pinkie1837
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice pet gate -- my dog is too small though!
3/15/2012

Customer review by lotusflwr

4.0 stars 3/15/2012 by lotusflwr
by lotusflwr

I bought this pet gate to keep my corgi from getting into the closet where my cat's food and litterbox resides. Unfortunately, corgis aren't that big, and my dog is kind of on the small side anyway. Much to my chagrin, he was able to walk right through the small doorway once I had the pet gate in place. My husband took the pet door off and worked some magic to zip-tie and duct tape it in such a way to make a small square opening that the cat can squeeze through, but the dog cannot. Just be sure to check the dimensions of the pet door against the dimensions of whatever critter you want to keep out -- that door is bigger than I thought it would be. Otherwise, the gate was easy to set up. I only had to use the smaller extension. The compression fittings hold the gate very firmly. That sucker has not budged. The people gate is easy enough for me to open, and is plenty wide to walk through. It doesn't look bad in the doorway either (except perhaps for our duct tape-rigged cat opening.) Though we did have to modify it, we're very pleased with our purchase. There weren't many other options open to us as far as keeping the dog out of one room while letting the cat have free access to his facilities, and this one gets the job done at a good price. I like that if we move and need to block of a narrower OR wider spot, this gate can accommodate either scenario (assuming I don't lose my extra, larger extension.)

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lotusflwr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Would have been great but....
11/14/2010

Customer review by Kimbo1923

3.0 stars 11/14/2010 by Kimbo1923
by Kimbo1923

Good Idea in theory but my chihauhua could slip between the bars.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kimbo1923
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pet Gate
8/3/2009

Customer review by 5happydogs

5.0 stars 8/3/2009 by 5happydogs
by 5happydogs

Great Product. Sturdy and easy to install and move when I need to.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
5happydogs
Seal Beach, cA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Daisy the Dyson
3/6/2010

Customer review by ArtandMarfamily

5.0 stars 3/6/2010 by ArtandMarfamily
by ArtandMarfamily

I just wanna let Walmart know what a great buy and how happy we are with this gate. We have a little Yorkie puppy and she tries to get into everything . It took me 10min. tops to put everything together and installed . Its been up for over a few weeks now and its doing a great job keeping together, and most important keepin our lil pup away from danger . Awsome product.......!!!!And best price with shipping

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ArtandMarfamily
clark nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It does the job
12/27/2009

Customer review by JuniorPI

4.0 stars 12/27/2009 by JuniorPI
by JuniorPI

I got this for my six month old Rottweiler, to keep him out of the living room. I use it so I can keep the sliding glass door open for him. It's been a couple of weeks now and so far so good; it looks like this gate will last through his adulthood as well. The door was easy to install; I did not anchor it. I just used the tension to hold it up. If not for the sliding door and the frame of the door in the way, a large dog could probably push this gate down with its weight unless it is anchored to the wall. Also, the tension supports (works like a shower rod) tends to move and needs reposition occasionally. It's made of sturdy metal so the door cannot be chewed by the dog. The latch is made of sturdy plastic which usually needs two hands to operate (but I have learned to use one hand.) The cat door stays securely in place when not in use. The entry is a narrow 16 inches. I feel this is a excellent price for a good product. It's a keeper.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JuniorPI
Granada Hills, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
the perfect pet solution
1/11/2011

Customer review by ahappypetlover

5.0 stars 1/11/2011 by ahappypetlover
by ahappypetlover

This is an exceptional product. We bought this so our 7 kitties would have acess to their 'kitty room'---while keeping the puppy out. the kitties love their freedom...i love the gate-it's perfect for us and would highly recommend! very sturdy and i even have MY own access door!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ahappypetlover
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good pet gate
12/3/2010

Customer review by AwwMann

3.0 stars 12/3/2010 by AwwMann
by AwwMann

We got this gate for the top of the stairs to our basement to keep our daughter away from the stairs. We needed one with a pet door so our cat could get down to the litter box. Although the gate says it is for pets only, it seems strong enough for our needs. It doesn't budge when our daughter grabs on and shakes it. None of the actual baby gates we saw online had pet doors. It was easy to install, and the pet door can be mounted to open in either direction. We tried to find the gate in a local store and could not, but the shipping was only $.97 and it got to our house in 3 business days. They do have the same gate at some Petsmarts, but for almost twice the price. I recommend getting it from Walmart, even if you have to get it online.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AwwMann
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great gate
10/28/2011

Customer review by babydriver

5.0 stars 10/28/2011 by babydriver
by babydriver

I was a little hesitant about ordering this but once it arrived was thrilled. A nice addition and have wondered why I had not ordered before. Trying to keep cats and dogs segregated is no easy task. This gate was a blessing. And Walmart's delivery was fast even arrived a week before it's scheduled date.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
babydriver
Portland, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value, very sturdy
7/16/2010

Customer review by FortheLoveofBarkBarks

5.0 stars 7/16/2010 by FortheLoveofBarkBarks
by FortheLoveofBarkBarks

We've been a gate-free house for some time but with the addition of a second (young) dog, the cat finally needed a room of her own. Not sure why my husband had such trouble setting it up (manly inability to read directions?) but I had it up in about 5 minutes and it is very sturdy. I lured the cat through once with a treat and since then she seems to enjoy going back and forth. I've seen handles/locks that I've liked better (Evenflo), and since it's mainly made to keep dogs out don't be surprised if your toddler figures out how to open it within a couple of days. All in all it is a wonderful and well-priced product. And my cat approves.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FortheLoveofBarkBarks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Good product for the money
6/3/2011

Customer review by kitelady

4.0 stars 6/3/2011 by kitelady
by kitelady

The gate is well made. My only complaint would be that the measurements are not accurate. It says it extends to 44 inches with the extensions provided, but the extensions slip on by 2 inches so you lose 2 inches for every extension and that means it will only extend to 40 inches. I needed 75 inches so I ordered a 24 inch and a 4 inch and was eight inches short, so I had to return the 4 inch and order a 12 inch. Also with the tension rods you can gain a couple of inches on each side so take that into consideration when you measure. It's unfortunate that the description for the gate and extensions doesn't explain this, it would have saved a lot of time and hassel returning parts and having to wait for the shipment and refund.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kitelady
Visalia, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Carlson Wide Gate
7/31/2010

Customer review by Maggierudat

4.0 stars 7/31/2010 by Maggierudat
by Maggierudat

This product was easily put together and we didn't have a problem at all in installing it. Everything fit just fine and I was surprised when my wife walked in the door from work and she loved it immediately. Now if only my pup wasn't so small at this point in her life that she figured out how to squeeze her little body through the bars of the gate? Overall this gate will be very useful in the future when she grows a little larger, A Wonderful Gate!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Maggierudat
Attleboro, Ma.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great multi-use product
10/18/2010

Customer review by KMD709

4.0 stars 10/18/2010 by KMD709
by KMD709

I needed a product that would keep our dog out of the laundry room while allowing the cat to come and go freely. This gate proved the perfect solution. We actually removed the little door altogether. It didn't come off easily--we had to use tools--but it did come off and look fine. Our cat can enter the laundry room at her leisure to use the litter box and to eat, but the dog can't get in there to bother her or steal her food. He's a 30lb puppy and he hasn't knocked it down yet. The walk-thru door is great for us because we use the laundry room regularly. It's nice to not constantly step over a tall gate.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KMD709
Newnan, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
minimal investiment for great gate!
9/14/2010

Customer review by kahuna19

5.0 stars 9/14/2010 by kahuna19
by kahuna19

i have 2 black labs that i have been trying to keep out of the litter boxes in the spare room. this gate is perfect! it opens up smoothly and easily. it does have a locking mechanism but i don't need it locked, just closed and it works just great! the small door opening does have a ability to be close/locked as well. i use this door as a great tension rod type of gate it's perfect for my rental home...no permanent damage to repair! the cats instantly began to "tease" the dogs by laying on the carpet just on the other side of the gate, where the dogs can see them but not bother them!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kahuna19
Newport News, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Gate
4/26/2011

Customer review by Nojunkreviews

5.0 stars 4/26/2011 by Nojunkreviews
by Nojunkreviews

After 2 years, my toy schnauzer discovered she could jump over her old gate and met me at the front door one day after work. I then was on a mad dash to find a taller gate that would fit in my laundry room area. After searching many sites and seeing the same gate at different pet stores, Wal-Mart's price could not be beat. I opted to rush the order and it arrived in 3 days! It was easy to assemble and we haven't had any problems. Plus, I love that I can now walk through to the laundry room instead of removing the spring loaded gate each and every time.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nojunkreviews
Addison, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It just OK
7/25/2011

Customer review by warddaman

2.0 stars 7/25/2011 by warddaman
by warddaman

The gates pegs that hold it to the wall would strip my paint away if it was moved. Also I came home one day to find that my dog had pushed the gate over and broke one of the pegs that hold it to the wall. Not what I thought when I bought it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
warddaman
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 579 total reviews
1-20 of 579 reviews