Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 75 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

75 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

75 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
39
4 stars
19
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 stars
3
1-20 of 70 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 70 total reviews
1-20 of 70 reviews
Nice and tuff works better than I expected.
5/13/2013

Customer review by 8964

5.0 stars 5/13/2013 by 8964
by 8964
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My husband and I have horses for dogs "kidding!". Our big yellow female Lab took down our "Expanding Wooden Fence" broken in three places. This one is metal nice and tuff works better than I expected. Con: The screws are too small, have 1/2 inch sheet-rock walls used a stud finder then 1 1/4 phillips deck screws to attach plastic anchors. Con: The door on the gate opening is smaller than the expanding wooden fence but works for us. Pro: At the bottom of the new gate I just turned the gate anchors sideways and attached to the baseboard. Just did some minors custom things for my preference: This new gate has a smaller door on the larger door, I have cats so I removed the smaller door so cats can go through all the time. The smaller door hinges are spring loaded. Last the larger door has a stop so the door swings oneway. I used a pair of vice-grips and bent the door stop up. Now the door swings in both directions. All in All it works!

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
8964
Hesperia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
carlson maxi gate with pet door
1/30/2011

Customer review by Smilesforchris

5.0 stars 1/30/2011 by Smilesforchris
by Smilesforchris

while this gate is sturdy,and easy to install, it`s not effective for small dogs. the spaces between bars are 21/2 inches wide and i have a 4 pound yorkie who can get through the bars. although this is no fault of the gate, i just thought i would pass along. the gate is great and i like that there`s a door that i can unlatch to walk through. like i said,easy to install,sturdy and good value for the money,but if you have a small or toy dog,you may want to look for other options

Was this review helpful? (48) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Smilesforchris
alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not as I expected
4/13/2009

Customer review by petlover39

4.0 stars 4/13/2009 by petlover39
by petlover39

I don't know if I read the info on line incorrectly, but I thought this gate was a pressure gate. Instead, it had to be screwed into the wall. Since my house is new I wasn't exactly thrilled to drill holes into the wall and kitchen cabinet, however, the gate does work and keeps my puppy where she needs to be. The pet door will be really handy once the dog gets bigger. Right now she can fit through it and run after the cat.

Was this review helpful? (42) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
petlover39
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
love the small doggy door
12/21/2009

Customer review by sdbluelake

5.0 stars 12/21/2009 by sdbluelake
by sdbluelake

We installed this gate in an out of the way area of our home to section off a place for our two small dogs and their crate. We love the small dog door within the gate. It allows the dogs to go in and out of their area without the large gate having to be opened. The gate is fairly sturdy, though I'm not sure it would hold up well to small children hanging off of it. It is attractive, and works perfectly for our situation. Great for small dogs. My husband said it was easy to install.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sdbluelake
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Makes Life Easier!
1/14/2014

Customer review by Themyst

5.0 stars 1/14/2014 by Themyst
by Themyst
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We have two five-month old German Shepherd "puppies" and needed to contain them from time to time so they weren't roaming the house getting into anything dangerous. The entryway to the kitchen/dining room was 66", so we bought this Carlson Maxi Gate and also purchased the 24" extension. With the extension, the length was perfect and we attached it to the walls. We used longer bolts as the ones that came with it were kind of short and this gate would have some heavy traffic coming in and out of it. The little pet door is very cute and solved our cat problem, so now they can get in and out of the kitchen without having to manage a colossal jump. However, surprisingly, the door is big enough to allow our "puppies" who are the approximate size of your average Collie, to squeeze through. We solved this by tying some string this way and that to make the little door only open half way, just so the cats can go in but not big enough for the dogs to squeeze through. This will work until they're bigger and then of course we can take the string off. The walk-through gate itself is very easy to use. My only issue with it is that you have to pull up on the lever to open, whereas it would be easier to press down, but the design doesn't allow for that. Regardless, it's very easy for anyone to use, and this was one of my initial concerns before buying it because it was going to be used pretty heavily and I didn't want a struggle every time. Works great, and is much less expensive than many of the other gates I've seen.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Themyst
New England
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/1/2009

Customer review by rynelle

1.0 stars 5/1/2009 by rynelle
by rynelle

This gate would have been perfect if it went the full 60 inches it claims but it does not. It leaves a wide gap at 60 inches that my little puppy could get though.

Was this review helpful? (29) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rynelle
Peculiar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Size matters
2/17/2011

Customer review by BUSTERCAM

2.0 stars 2/17/2011 by BUSTERCAM
by BUSTERCAM

This gate seemed reasonable in price for the size and quality. BUT, when we got the gate home, the specifications were wrong. Our doorway opening is slightly less than 60 inches and the gate did not fit.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BUSTERCAM
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great product
10/21/2011

Customer review by VVC7

5.0 stars 10/21/2011 by VVC7
by VVC7

It was simple to put together by myself and once mounted, the item was very sturdy. I have leather sectional in my livingroom and needed to keep my dogs out. I have two trained pitbulls and occasionally they will lean on the gate and the gate won't flinch. For the most part I would recommend this door to anyone having trained big dogs or untrained little ones, and would like to keep them out of a specific area.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VVC7
MA, Lynn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works like a charm!
8/27/2013

Customer review by NVDan

5.0 stars 8/27/2013 by NVDan
by NVDan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We are very happy with the gate. It did not take too long (half hour or so) to hook up. I recommend using the supplied anchors with the compression fittings to keep the gate from slipping on the door jam. The lever is a little tricky to use with only one hand when the gate is in the locked position; not difficult using two hands. We found that we can leave the gate unlocked for one-handed operation; it is still secure enough that our dog cannot accidentally open the gate when it is not locked, since the gate opens into the room where the dog is located (it might accidentally open if the gate is installed so that it opens away from the direction that the dog might push the gate when jumping/pushing onto it). The cat door is too large for our dog (Cockapoo), so he can easily walk through it; but it would be fine for larger dogs. The cat gate is much more difficult to open/close, since the pin is a little hard to slide (it might just be ours, though, because we have a another, longer gate from the same manufacturer, and the cat gate works better on it). Overall, we are pleased, and would recommend the gate to others.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NVDan
Reno, Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
this should have been seen for different openings
2/24/2014

Customer review by Dor1959

1.0 stars 2/24/2014 by Dor1959
by Dor1959
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very disappointed in the fact that when you make it fit a 48 inch door the extra fence part extents into the walkway of the gate opening. Making it diffacult to pass through.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dor1959
lBrandon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/6/2012

Customer review by Doggate

2.0 stars 3/6/2012 by Doggate
by Doggate

The gate is really nice but VERY wobbly. I had to purchase anchors to bolt it to the floor to keep it steady

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Doggate
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love it.
4/11/2013

Customer review by martinmartinjm

5.0 stars 4/11/2013 by martinmartinjm
by martinmartinjm

I am a 58 year old woman who knows nothing about installing anything. This was so easy to install and looks wonderful. They even include a strip of paper as a guide of where to mark and drill the four wholes. My opening is 58 3/4 inches and it easily fit. My dog is a 12lb miniture shi/poo and she cannot get through the openings. It took me less than an hour to install with no measuring. Wonderful product

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
martinmartinjm
Fox Island,WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Product, bad hardware
5/4/2011

Customer review by Quiltingchild

4.0 stars 5/4/2011 by Quiltingchild
by Quiltingchild

I love this gate. It solved a problem with keeping the dogs and children out of the kitchen. The only problem we had with this was that 2 of the 4 brackets broke while installing. My husband was able to figure out a way to secure this but the hardware should be much stronger.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Quiltingchild
Conover, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Puppy Blocker
3/17/2011

Customer review by MrsBrownfield

3.0 stars 3/17/2011 by MrsBrownfield
by MrsBrownfield

We purchased this gate after bringing home our Lab puppy. She is 4 months old and a big girl already. The gate is doing the trick for now, but may not work once gets bigger. Unfortunately the disappointment was in the manufacture of the gate. We purchased it for a large doorway and was supposed to fit and it barely made it with the extenders! My husband also had to drill new holes in it because the center section allowed her to walk right through it! In theory this is a great date, love the idea of the door, but there are definitely some ways that the manufacturer can improve. Also, it did not come with enough of the hardware. We had to run out and purchase some at our local hardware store.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsBrownfield
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/14/2009

Customer review by yellomB

4.0 stars 10/14/2009 by yellomB
by yellomB

Directions to put the gate together are confusing, but once understood it was fairly easy to install. Only problem is that the small pet door at the bottom of the gate is too big. My german shepherd dog is able to squeeze through it! I've had to put a block of wood on part of the opening to prevent this.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yellomB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Really great gate.
9/24/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/24/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

It took a while to install and get all of the holes in the right place. It works really well with our 1 year old puppy, she hasn't tried to chew it up and even if she did she probably couldn't get through it. I'd do it again and recommend it to others. The cat door is unneccesary since all 3 of our cats walk right through the bars. Maybe it could be cheaper without that gate. We are very happy overall, it does the job. I don't know how bigger dogs would take to it. A Rottweiler or Shepard might easily jump it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Attractive and does it's job
12/26/2010

Customer review by dogpak

5.0 stars 12/26/2010 by dogpak
by dogpak

This product is better than I expected. Attractive, and secure. My only negative comment is that the people gate is too narrow. Mostly because it's used at the top of a stairway, and it causes me to really stop and evaluate how I'm going to step through and down and the same time. I have two, and the 2nd into an open room is okay, but not for a large person. They are doing their job, and I do love them, just would ask for that change.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dogpak
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Carlson maxi gate with pet door
3/12/2016

Customer review by Lindalou

5.0 stars 3/12/2016 by Lindalou
by Lindalou

I love this gate!!! It was very easy to install, very strong and looks nice! The maxi gate with pet door is just what I needed for my pets!! I keep the pet door open with a plastic tie. This lets my cat and small dog in and out at their pleasure while keeping my larger dog from having the run of the house-she will eat anything that is edible, whether it is hers or not!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lindalou
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Looks nice, solved problem!
11/18/2010

Customer review by MiraMama

4.0 stars 11/18/2010 by MiraMama
by MiraMama

We have a busy toddler (15 months). We have a home with an open floorplan that we loved as a couple but just wasn't working for the 3 of us. Specifically troublesome was a wide (55 inch) staircase that we could not block off. We were able to attach this gate across the bottom step and secure it to the walls on either side. It does not obstruct the view and actually looks nice for what it actually is; a cage! The gate can be opened with one hand (with some practice) and opens for us to walk through or her to crawl up the stairs when there is someone there to watch her. It is anchored securely to the walls so I feel safe with it. Yes, it will leave some pretty nasty holes in the wall that we will have to fill in, but it will be worth it to have a safe contained play area for her for the next couple years.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MiraMama
Toledo, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Doesn't work well on a 45" opening
3/23/2010

Customer review by glopurple217

3.0 stars 3/23/2010 by glopurple217
by glopurple217

To fit a 45" opening we had to hack saw a piece off of the center panel to clear the walk thru gate. Then the screw holes do not line up either and we had to attach it with zip ties. Looks tacky.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
glopurple217
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 70 total reviews
1-20 of 70 reviews