Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 81 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

81 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

81 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
50
4 stars
19
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
5
1-20 of 73 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 73 total reviews
1-20 of 73 reviews
Great gate for the right situation
10/12/2011

Customer review by Graphomanicgirl

5.0 stars 10/12/2011 by Graphomanicgirl
by Graphomanicgirl

This came exactly as expected and was perfect for my situation... I have a corgi who doesn't quite know that he can jump over things, so this is the perfect height to keep him out while us humans can step right over it. The door was the perfect size for the cats to fit through (and surprisingly the corgi too, but he hasn't dared it again) and it is pretty good at staying open without being propped. In addition to being satisfied with the product, I'm super impressed with Walmart.com. I ordered this on a Monday, standard delivery, and it arrived 2 days later!

Was this review helpful? (19) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Graphomanicgirl
Sonoma County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exactly what we needed.
2/1/2014

Customer review by Wellsosborne

5.0 stars 2/1/2014 by Wellsosborne
by Wellsosborne
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This gate is what we had been looking for for a long time. We had been using children gates but they were too tall. We couldn't step over them and we had to completely remove them to go into another room. With the Carlson gate that is only 18inches tall, we can easily step over this gate to move from room to room. The little doggy gate is the perfect gate for our little chihuahua to run from the living room to her kennel. We did need to purchase an addition extension in addition to the 2 that are provided but we have an extremely large doorway into our hallway. For most homes with everything which is provided in the product, you shouldn't need to get any additional pieces. If you have more than one small to medium-small dogs this gate is perfect for you! Dogs will be stopped from moving from room to room and only the dog you want to be allowed through will get in. Only wish I would have found this gate years ago! That you Carlson for thinking about the needs of smaller dog owners!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wellsosborne
Nashville Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top notch per gate.
7/26/2016

Customer review by Erin

5.0 stars 7/26/2016 by Erin
by Erin
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very sturdy gate, even with an extension added. Love the shorter gate for smaller dogs. The gate is nice looking and much easier to step over. This gate wouldn't be my first pick for spots where you're going to need to take it up and down all the time due to the way you secure it. It's not difficult, but definitely takes a little more time. Love the pet door too. My dog goes in and out the door with ease.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Erin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A must have if you have a little dog
12/22/2009

Customer review by MrsGallego1

5.0 stars 12/22/2009 by MrsGallego1
by MrsGallego1

The sides of the gate worried me that my yorkie might squeeze through. However, to my surprise this was a great buy she didn't even try. My dog is not that daring. I would recommend!

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsGallego1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very handy
7/4/2009

Customer review by kaydeedid

5.0 stars 7/4/2009 by kaydeedid
by kaydeedid

I bought this gate to give my cat a room where he can get away from the dogs. This gate is perfect. It is low enough for the cat to jump over, and for me to step over while keeping the Scottish terriers out. The door is big enough to allow the runt in, but not the regular sized adult male.

Was this review helpful? (36) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kaydeedid
Deltona, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value & very flexible.
12/23/2011

Customer review by gxlysmth

5.0 stars 12/23/2011 by gxlysmth
by gxlysmth

I needed 3 step-over gates for my large (60#) but mild mannered mixed breed dog, 'Chuta. The widths I needed varied from 30" to 60". This gate "system" is sectional so I was able to get extensions (4", 6", 12", 24") to get all the widths. Some comments: - For my 60# dog the door is too small to be useful. Also, if she were a different dog she might jump it and/or possibly push through it but she's very respectful of boundaries/limits. - The adjustment knobs work great but were counter-intuitive to me; ie., CCW to tighten & CW to loosen. - I was confused by the description relative to width given on retail sites. Go to the Carson site & check the manual. The basic mini gate (#068PW) is as follows: Main Gate Frame (~14"), 2 ea. 6" extensions, 1 ea. 4" extension.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gxlysmth
Stephentown, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for........
5/15/2011

Customer review by Sdmil

3.0 stars 5/15/2011 by Sdmil
by Sdmil

dogs larger than possibly 5#. Our 3# Teacup Yorkie can get out through both sides. I am not sure if there are additional posts (the extension would not help this situation) for this or not but that may work. It is perfect for our 15# Malti-Poo and our adult cats. Great gate, just not for the tiny ones. :)

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sdmil
Newark, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Carlson Mini Gate with Pet Door
7/22/2016

Customer review by ls61

5.0 stars 7/22/2016 by ls61
by ls61
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This item was absolutely perfect for my needs. I have several of the Carlson walk through gates with the small pet doors and unfortunately the pet door is of a size that my small dogs as well as the cat can walk through as well so I don't even open it. I have an elderly diabetic kitty, with very expensive food that my small dogs love to eat. Jumping up on the washing machine to eat is no longer an option for her, but she can easily jump over the gate and the dogs can't. It leaves her to eat and use her litter box in peace and quiet from the dogs. And I can easily step over it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ls61
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Too short
1/17/2014

Customer review by Ruby512

1.0 stars 1/17/2014 by Ruby512
by Ruby512
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The gate said it was 48" however that was with the extensions that hold it in place. After setting it up my Morkie ran right through the side of it because the space was to large.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ruby512
Saddle Brook, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good barrier for small dogs
8/15/2009

Customer review by Swiftsoni

4.0 stars 8/15/2009 by Swiftsoni
by Swiftsoni

Mini gate was perfect for my needs - have a mini dachshund puppy I needed to keep of the stairs, while allowing others to go over easily. Unfortunately, I needed to also purchase an extension, as we have a wide staircase. But gate works well for purpose.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Swiftsoni
Toledo, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect! Lightweight.
12/31/2011

Customer review by MYLADY1

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by MYLADY1
by MYLADY1

This gate worked perfectly for my siuation. Having a small dog and cat but one very large dog that I wanted to keep out of certain areas. The little guys had no problem going through the little door and kept the big guy at bay. It is very lightweight. I purchased a second already for another room. The height of the gate is low so as not to appear that you have barracades all over your home. Easy to step over.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MYLADY1
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great item!
8/20/2011

Customer review by 1pugsmom

5.0 stars 8/20/2011 by 1pugsmom
by 1pugsmom

I love this little gate... I wish I'd known such things existed long ago..I've been stepping over the normal sized baby gate for a long time.. It was so easy to install (I didn't use the screws.. just the pressure items); works well; the elder cat loves walking through the door but will reluctantly jump over to get his food if he must.. which is now b/c the pug has learned that she can very slowly just fit her chubby body and her head through the little door ... so.. we have to keep that closed... a lot of kitty food came up missing lately!...

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1pugsmom
Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/28/2010

Customer review by Yorkiesrockynteacup

4.0 stars 12/28/2010 by Yorkiesrockynteacup
by Yorkiesrockynteacup

It works well if you have it in a high traffic area where you need to pass by especially for smaller children to get through. The down side is the width did not quiet fit the small hallway(too small) or doorway it left a gab on the side. I recommend getting the extension gate just in case.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Yorkiesrockynteacup
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This pet gate worked!!!!
1/30/2012

Customer review by Amy93

5.0 stars 1/30/2012 by Amy93
by Amy93

I need a dog gate for my front room because dog wouldn't stop doing her business on my carpet. I couldn't find one that fits a 60'' inch doorway. And that wasn't that high. This gate look nice, easy to put together and I'm 7 months pregnant so it made it so much easier that it was that quick and simple. It stays put and won't fall over if its put together right. The little pet door works for my toy and I'm in love with it. Just hope it works OK when the baby gets here. Thanks so much Walmart. You've save me a lot of time and money

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Amy93
Branson, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
You will love this gate.
7/4/2016

Customer review by Cakes

5.0 stars 7/4/2016 by Cakes
by Cakes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We got this gate to keep our rabbit in the kitchen, which works for him fine. Our cat and small dog can jump over it. We moved it higher and the dog went under it. But, it is a great gate to keep any animal out that cannot jump over it. Probably a big dog it would work fine, maybe. We love it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cakes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for shorter people
1/9/2016

Customer review by Alison

5.0 stars 1/9/2016 by Alison
by Alison

I'm 5' 3" and always have a hard time getting over traditional wooden gates. The little door is awesome. My small dog can walk thru when allowed in bedroom and I don't have to always take down gate or pick her up. My cats love the door also. Guess they get tired of jumping over. Lol. Make sure you measure bottom baseboard for width for fitting. Wanted to purchase another one but its 1/2 inch too wide to fit at baseboard area. Seems a little wobbly while installing but once in place it's very secure. Alison, Florida

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Alison
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
just what I was looking for
7/15/2009

Customer review by beebee2009

5.0 stars 7/15/2009 by beebee2009
by beebee2009

This product was perfect in price and in functionality, and was easy to assemble. Enough said!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
beebee2009
clovis, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
useful
7/29/2011

Customer review by Bookery

4.0 stars 7/29/2011 by Bookery
by Bookery

This is being used under a computer desk to stop baby from reaching wires and such. Perfect for this.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bookery
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works well
10/12/2013

Customer review by drShopper

5.0 stars 10/12/2013 by drShopper
by drShopper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works just like I hoped. Keeps our medium size dog from getting to the litter boxes but cats go through the door easily. I can step over it without a problem. Glad I ordered it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
drShopper
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this gate
6/2/2016

Customer review by JenniferP

5.0 stars 6/2/2016 by JenniferP
by JenniferP
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This gate works perfectly to allow my cats into the basement while keeping the dogs out. It is surprisingly sturdy compared to other gates I've had, easy for all family members to step over, and isn't damaging my drywall. I recommend this unless you have a large dog. A visiting pitbull easily jumped over it, but smaller dogs don't even try.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JenniferP
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 73 total reviews
1-20 of 73 reviews